Aviation Investigation Report A02W0173

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Collision with Terrain
Airco Aircraft Charters Ltd.
Piper PA-34-220T (Seneca III) C-FRKZ
High Prairie, Alberta 07 nm SE
04 September 2002

Summary

The Airco Aircraft Charters Piper PA-34-220T (Seneca III), registration C-FRKZ, serial number 34-8233048, departed the Edmonton City Centre Airport, Alberta, at 0802 mountain daylight time, for High Prairie, Alberta, on an instrument flight rules flight plan with one pilot and one passenger on board. The aircraft was cleared out of the controlled airspace in the vicinity of High Prairie at 0843 mountain daylight time, with an estimated time of arrival of 0906 mountain daylight time. The aircraft did not arrive in High Prairie, and a communications search was initiated without results. No emergency locator transmitter signal was detected by a search and rescue satellite or overflying aircraft. The Trenton, Ontario, Rescue Coordination Centre responded by dispatching search and rescue aircraft to High Prairie, but the search was hampered by low ceilings and visibilities. The aircraft was visually located at 1700 mountain daylight time, approximately seven nautical miles southeast of the High Prairie Airport in a densely wooded area. The aircraft was destroyed by impact forces; there was no post impact fire. The pilot and the passenger were fatally injured.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The flight was chartered to fly a customer to High Prairie for the day and return to Edmonton in the late afternoon. The pilot had performed this trip several times in the past and was familiar with the route and the airport. The flight departed Edmonton a few minutes after the planned departure time of 0800 mountain daylight time (MDT)1, and the aircraft levelled off at the flight planned altitude of 8000 feet above sea level (asl) approximately 15 minutes after take off. Radar information showed that the aircraft tracked approximately 295 degrees magnetic (ºM) at an average ground speed of 165 knots. These figures are consistent with the aircraft's cruise performance, the track to the High Prairie non-directional beacon (NDB) via the transition from the Edmonton NDB , and the upper winds.

At 0843, the Seneca III was cleared out of the controlled airspace via the NDB Runway 25 approach at High Prairie (See Appendix A). A descent was initiated by the pilot at 0849, and the last radar return was at 0854, with the aircraft descending through 6800 feet asl 33 nautical miles (nm) from the High Prairie Airport. The investigation was unable to determine the flight path of the aircraft from the last radar return to the point of impact, or the exact time of the accident. At no time did the pilot report any malfunctions or anomalies.

The NDB approach for Runway 25 is a non-precision (no glide path) approach that allows for the pilot to descend to a minimum descent altitude of 2660 feet asl (688 feet above ground level [agl]) with the use of a distance measuring equipment (DME) receiver, and provides for lateral approach guidance to Runway 25. When the pilot was cleared for the approach, the minimum safe altitude (MSA) through the transition zone was 6700 feet asl, with 4300 asl (2300 feet agl) as the MSA when within 25 nm of the NDB.

The Seneca III descended into a densely-treed area seven nm southeast of the High Prairie Airport on a heading of 358ºM (see Appendix A). The wreckage trail was approximately 360 feet long. Just prior to striking the ground, tree impact marks showed a descent angle of about 22º with a bank angle to the right of approximately 50º. The aircraft was configured with the landing gear up and the flaps in the retracted position. All control surfaces were accounted for at the accident site, and all damage to the aircraft was attributable to the impact forces.

The global positioning system (GPS) installed in the aircraft was recovered and sent to the manufacturer for data retrieval. The last valid position recorded was very near the beginning of the wreckage trail. The last recorded active flight plan was direct from Edmonton to the High Prairie Airport. The GPS was not certified under Technical Standard Order C129 or C129A for domestic en route instrument flight rules (IFR) flight guidance.

Almost all cockpit instrumentation was destroyed at impact. The electric powered gyro for the horizontal situation (heading) indicator and the vacuum (suction) powered gyro for the attitude indicator were recovered and examined at the TSB Engineering Branch Laboratory. It was determined that both gyros were functional at the time of impact. A two-axis autopilot was installed in the aircraft, as required by regulation, but because of impact damage, no information could be obtained as to whether the autopilot was in use during or prior to the occurrence.

The engines were initially examined at the site and more extensively after the wreckage was recovered, with the engine manufacturer assisting. No engine components showed discrepancies that would have prevented the engine from operating prior to the impact, and the engine damage was consistent with the engines producing considerable power at impact.

All six blades on the two propellers exhibited bending and twisting, to varying degrees, with little or no leading-edge or chord-wise damage. The damage was consistent with deceleration forces encountered as a result of the propellers being powered by the engines when coming into contact with materials such as trees.

Records show that the aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. At the time of the accident, the aircraft's weight and centre of gravity were within the prescribed limits. The aircraft was certified for flight into known icing conditions.

A trough was located in the vicinity of the High Prairie Airport during the time period associated with the accident. Weather forecasted was as follows: overcast layers of cloud from 5000 feet asl to 20 000 feet asl, visibility forecast to be 2 to 6 statute miles (sm) in light rain and mist, scattered embedded altocumulus castellanus type clouds with associated visibilities of 1 sm in rain showers and mist, ceilings of 500 to 1200 feet agl. Moderate mixed icing was forecast from the freezing level to 15 000 feet asl. The freezing level in the High Prairie area was forecast to be at 7500 feet asl increasing to 10 000 feet asl at the point of departure. There were no pilot reports of icing in the High Prairie area at or after the time of the accident.

There is no weather reporting service located at High Prairie Airport. The nearest weather reporting stations are at Slave Lake, Alberta, 59 nm east of High Prairie Airport, and Peace River, Alberta, 60 nm north of High Prairie Airport. The automatic weather observation system (AWOS) weather special (SPECI) for Slave Lake Airport issued at 0824 was as follows: wind 260ºT at 7 knots, visibility 9 sm, overcast cloud at 2200 feet agl, overcast cloud at 8600 feet agl, temperature 8ºC, dew point 7ºC, and altimeter setting 29.94 inches.

The observed weather (SPECI) for Peace River issued at 0850 was as follows: wind 360ºT at 9 knots, visibility 10 sm in light rain, broken cloud at 900 feet agl, overcast cloud at 3000 feet agl, temperature 7ºC, dew point 5ºC, and altimeter setting 30.02 inches.

A company pilot overflying the route passed along reports of weather in the vicinity of High Prairie to the pilot of C-FRKZ via the company radio frequency when the flight was about 25 miles north of High Prairie. The pilot was advised of lower weather in the High Prairie area. Search and rescue aircraft encountered cloud layers from tree top height to about 500 feet agl late in the morning and throughout the afternoon. Visibilities varied from one to five miles in rain and mist.

The pilot possessed an Airline Transport Pilot License, and was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. According to company and personal logs, the pilot had accumulated 2390 total flight hours, with 955 hours of multi-engine experience, 315 hrs of instrument experience, and 181 hours on the occurrence aircraft. A detailed examination of the pilot's work and rest schedule did not reveal any indicators of chronic or acute fatigue. The pilot was reported to be content with his current employer and working conditions. Based on the autopsy, toxicology, and medical records, there was no evidence to indicate that the pilot's performance was degraded by physiological factors.

Airco Aircraft Charters Ltd. had been in operation for approximately 11 years with a mixed fleet of turbine and piston powered twin-engine aircraft. The Operations Certificate (OC) issued by Transport Canada permitted Airco to operate commercial air services under Canadian Aviation Regulations (CAR) 703 Air Taxi operations and CAR 704 Commuter operations. The Seneca III was operated under CAR 703 with the approval for single-pilot IFR operations.

The degree of destruction of the aircraft systems and components prevented the investigation from gathering important data points. Compounding this was that neither occupant survived, radar coverage in that area ceased at about 7000 feet, there were no eyewitnesses, and the aircraft was not equipped with a flight data recorder (FDR) or a cockpit voice recorder (CVR). The installation of an FDR or a CVR was not required by regulation for this aircraft.

Aircraft typically used in CAR 703 operations are not fitted at manufacture with the electrical infrastructure required to support an FDR, and the installation of FDRs in this category of aircraft would require extensive system upgrades. A light-weight, comparatively simple and inexpensive alternative to an FDR is a cockpit video digital recorder (CVDR). While CVDR technology exists to record the instrument panel and the view forward from an aircraft in flight, there is no regulatory requirement or schedule to install this equipment in commercially operated, non-FDR equipped aircraft. A functioning crash-protected CVDR would have allowed investigators to reconstruct the flight sufficiently to better understand the circumstances that led to the accident. There have been numerous other recent CAR 703 fatal occurrences where the availability of CVDRs would have provided investigators a better opportunity to identify safety deficiencies related to the occurrence.

The U.S. National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) recently forwarded Safety Recommendation No A-99-60 to the U.S. Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), urging the installation of crash-protective CVDRs on all turbine-powered aircraft that are not currently required to be equipped with an FDR once an applicable technical standard order has been issued. The recommendation has not yet been implemented. This issue had been previously raised in TSB Report number A01W0261.

Analysis

The accident was precipitated by an unexplained descent below the 25-mile minimum safe altitude as depicted on the approach plate. It could not be determined why the aircraft descended to ground impact or if it was under the control of the pilot at the time. The analysis will examine some factors which may have been involved in this occurrence.

Weather forecasts and observations in the High Prairie area indicated that the latter portions of the flight were conducted in instrument meteorological conditions (IMC). Forecast icing conditions and an absence of icing reports in local pilot reports (PIREPS) suggest that aircraft icing was not an influencing factor in this accident.

The configuration of the aircraft - flaps retracted and gear up - and the length of the wreckage trail are indicators that the aircraft struck the trees in a fairly steep dive with a considerable amount of speed. Because of the severity of the impact, limited information was available as to the aircraft's performance and functionality. Inspection of the aircraft's engines and propellers indicated that they were developing power at the time of impact. All of the aircraft control surfaces and airframe components were accounted for at the site; it is therefore unlikely that an in-flight component failure occurred.

The autopsy and toxicology report, pilot's rest schedule, training and experience indicate that the pilot's performance was not affected by physiological factors. There was nothing abnormal in the pilot's conversations with a company pilot when receiving weather information prior to the occurrence. It is not known if the pilot suffered a loss of situational awareness, as it appears the aircraft was on track to the NDB, and the pilot was familiar with the airport and the approach.

Because of low cloud ceilings in combination with low visibilities in rain and mist, the pilot may have had limited external visual references to determine the aircraft's attitude and altitude above the ground for recovery, if control was lost in cloud on descent to the MSA.

The following TSB Engineering Branch report was completed:

  • LP 93/02 - Flight Instrument Analysis

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. For undetermined reasons, the aircraft descended below the minimum safe altitude as prescribed on the NDB 25 approach for High Prairie and struck the terrain.

Other Findings

  1. Had the accident aircraft been equipped with a CVDR or similar device, the investigation might have been able to determine the initiating events and associated safety deficiencies that resulted in this accident.

This report concludes the TSB's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 05 May 2003.


Appendix A -  High Prairie NDB 25 Approach Plate

Ce document n'existe pas en français.

Appendix A - High Prairie NDB 25 Approach Plate

Not for navigational use.


1. All times are mountain daylight time (Coordinated Universal Time minus six hours) unless otherwise noted.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A02W0173

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Collision avec le sol
du Piper PA-34-220T (Seneca III) C-FRKZ
exploité par Airco Aircraft Charters Ltd.
à 7 nm au sud-est de High Prairie (Alberta)
le 4 septembre 2002

Résumé

Le Piper PA-34-220T de la Airco Aircraft Charters Ltd., immatriculé C-FRKZ, et portant le numéro de série 34-8233048, part de l'aéroport Edmonton City Centre (Alberta) à 8 h 02, heure avancée des Rocheuses, à destination de High Prairie (Alberta), après le dépôt d'un plan de vol selon les règles de vol aux instruments, avec un pilote et un passager à bord. L'aéronef a été autorisé à quitter l'espace aérien contrôlé à proximité de High Prairie à 8 h 43, heure avancée des Rocheuses, et son heure d'arrivée prévue était 9 h 06, heure avancée des Rocheuses. Puisque l'appareil n'est pas arrivé à High Prairie, des recherches par moyens de télécommunications ont été entreprises, mais en vain. Aucun signal de radiobalise de repérage d'urgence n'a été capté par un satellite de recherche et de sauvetage ou par des aéronefs de passage. Le centre de coordination des opérations de sauvetage de Trenton (Ontario) est intervenu en dépêchant un aéronef de recherche et de sauvetage à High Prairie, mais les recherches ont été retardées par le plafond bas et la visibilité réduite. L'avion a été repéré visuellement à 17 h, heure avancée des Rocheuses, à sept milles marins environ au sud-est de l'aéroport de High Prairie, dans une zone fortement boisée. L'appareil a été détruit par les forces d'impact; aucun incendie ne s'est produit suite à l'impact. Le pilote et le passager ont subi des blessures mortelles.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

L'aéronef a été nolisé pour transporter un client jusqu'à High Prairie (Alberta) en plein jour. Il devait retourner à Edmonton (Alberta) en fin d'après-midi. Le pilote avait effectué ce trajet plusieurs fois déjà et il connaissait bien la route et l'aéroport. L'appareil a quitté Edmonton quelques minutes après l'heure de départ prévue de 8 h, heure avancée des Rocheuses1, et il s'est mis en palier à l'altitude de vol prévue de 8 000 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (asl), une quinzaine de minutes après le décollage. D'après l'information radar, l'avion suivait une route d'environ 295 degrés magnétique (ºM) à une vitesse-sol moyenne de 165 noeuds. Ces chiffres correspondent aux performances en croisière de l'appareil, à la route vers le radiophare non directionnel (NDB) de High Prairie en passant par le NDB d'Edmonton, et les vents en altitude.

À 8 h 43, le Seneca III a été autorisé à sortir de l'espace aérien contrôlé en vue d'une approche NDB vers la piste 25 de High Prairie (voir l'annexe A). Le pilote a amorcé sa descente à 8 h 49, et le dernier écho radar de l'appareil a été capté à 8 h 54. Ce dernier franchissait alors 6 800 pieds asl en descente et se trouvait à 33 milles marins (nm) de l'aéroport de High Prairie. L'enquête n'a pas pu déterminer la trajectoire de vol de l'avion entre le dernier écho radar et le point d'impact, ni l'heure exacte de l'accident. Le pilote n'a jamais signalé de mauvais fonctionnements ni d'anomalies quelconques.

L'approche NDB vers la piste 25 est une approche de non précision (sans alignement de descente). Elle permet au pilote de descendre jusqu'à une altitude de descente minimale de 2 660 pieds asl (688 pieds au-dessus du sol [agl]) à l'aide d'équipement de mesure de distance (DME) et elle assure un guidage latéral en phase d'approche vers la piste 25. Lorsque le pilote a été autorisé à exécuter l'approche, l'altitude minimale de sécurité dans la zone de transition était de 6 700 pieds asl, et cette altitude passait à 4 300 pieds asl (2 300 pieds agl) à 25 nm du NDB.

Le Seneca III est descendu dans une zone fortement boisée à 7 nm au sud-est de l'aéroport deHigh Prairie, au cap 358 ºM (voir l'annexe A). Le sillon laissé par l'épave mesurait approximativement 360 pieds de long. Juste avant le contact avec le sol, d'après les marques d'impact sur les arbres, l'appareil descendait sous un angle d'environ 22 degrés dans une inclinaison latérale droite d'à peu près 50 degrés. Le train de l'appareil était rentré et les volets sortis. Toutes les gouvernes ont été retrouvées sur le lieu de l'accident, et les dommages à l'aéronef ont tous été attribués aux forces d'impact.

Le système mondial de localisation (GPS) de bord a été récupéré et envoyé chez le fabricant pour que ses données soient récupérées. La dernière position valide enregistrée se trouvait très près du début du sillon laissé par l'épave. Le dernier plan de vol actif consigné indiquait un vol direct depuis Edmonton jusqu'à l'aéroport de High Prairie. Le GPS n'était pas certifié en vertu de l'Instruction technique normalisée (TSO) C129 ou C129A pour le guidage en vol selon les règles de vol aux instruments (IFR) en route au Canada.

Presque tous les instruments de bord ont été détruits à l'impact. Le gyroscope électrique de l'indicateur de situation horizontale (de cap) et le gyroscope à vide (par aspiration) de l'indicateur d'assiette ont été récupérés et examinés au Laboratoire technique du BST. On a trouvé que les deux gyroscopes fonctionnaient convenablement au moment de l'impact. Un pilote automatique deux axes était installé à bord, comme l'exige la réglementation, mais à cause des dommages qu'il a subi à l'impact, il a été impossible de savoir s'il a été utilisé avant ou pendant l'accident.

Les moteurs ont initialement été examinés sur les lieux et plus en détail une fois l'épave récupérée, et ce, avec l'aide du motoriste. Aucun composant des moteurs ne comportait d'anomalies qui auraient pu empêcher les moteurs de fonctionner avant l'impact. D'après les dommages que ces derniers ont subis, on a pu déduire qu'ils affichaient une puissance considérable à l'impact.

Les six pales des deux hélices étaient arquées et tordues à différents degrés, et aucun dommage n'a été décelé sur leurs bords d'attaque ou dans le sens de la corde. Leurs dommages semblent avoir été causés par des forces de décélération produites par des impacts avec des matériaux tels que des arbres.

Les dossiers indiquent que l'appareil était homologué, équipé et avait été entretenu conformément à la réglementation existante et aux procédures approuvées. Au moment de l'accident, la masse et le centrage de l'avion se trouvaient dans les limites prescrites. L'avion était homologué pour voler dans des conditions givrantes connues.

Un creux barométrique se trouvait dans les environs de l'aéroport de High Prairie pendant la période associée à l'accident. Les prévisions étaient les suivantes : ciel couvert par des couches nuageuses entre 5 000 pieds asl et 20 000 pieds asl, visibilité de deux à six milles terrestres avec pluie faible et bruine, altocumulus castellanus imbriqués et épars associés à une visibilité d'un mille terrestre ainsi qu'à des averses de pluie et de la bruine, plafond entre 500 et 1 200 pieds agl. Entre le niveau de congélation et 15 000 pieds asl, on prévoyait du givre mixte modéré. Dans la région de High Prairie, le niveau de congélation prévu était 7 500 pieds asl et devait augmenter à 10 000 pieds asl au point de départ. Au moment de l'accident et par la suite, aucun pilote n'a signalé du givrage dans la région de High Prairie.

L'aéroport de High Prairie n'avait aucun service de compte rendu météorologique. Les stations d'observation météorologique les plus proches sont à Slave Lake (Alberta), à 59 nm à l'est de l'aéroport de High Prairie, et à Peace River (Alberta), à 60 nm au nord de l'aéroport. Le message d'observation spéciale sélectionné (SPECI) du système automatique d'observation météorologique (AWOS) pour l'aéroport de Slave Lake diffusé à 8 h 24 était le suivant : vent de 260 ºV à 7 noeuds, visibilité de 9 milles terrestres, couvert à 2 200 pieds agl et à 8 600 pieds agl, température de 8 ºC, point de rosée de 7 ºC et calage altimétrique de 29,94 pouces.

Le SPECI pour Peace River diffusé à 8 h 50 était le suivant : vent de 360 ºV à 9 noeuds, visibilité de 10 milles terrestres avec pluie faible, nuages fragmentés à 900 pieds agl, couvert à 3 000 pieds agl, température de 7 ºC, point de rosée de 5 ºC et calage altimétrique de 30,02 pouces.

Un pilote de la compagnie qui survolait la route en question avait envoyé au pilote du C-FRKZ, sur la fréquence de la compagnie, des comptes rendus météorologiques à proximité de High Prairie alors qu'il était à 25 milles environ au nord de cette localité. Ce pilote avait été avisé que la météo était moins bonne dans la région de High Prairie. Les aéronefs de recherche et de sauvetage ont rencontré des couches nuageuses entre la cime des arbres et 500 pieds agl environ vers la fin de la matinée et pendant l'après-midi. La visibilité variait de un à cinq milles en présence de pluie et de bruine.

Le pilote était titulaire d'une licence de pilote de ligne et possédait les licences et les qualifications nécessaires pour effectuer le vol conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. D'après les registres de la compagnie et du pilote, ce dernier avait accumulé 2 390 heures de vol, dont 955 heures sur multimoteur, 315 heures aux instruments et 181 heures sur l'aéronef en cause. L'examen détaillé de l'horaire de travail et de repos du pilote n'a rien révélé de favorable à la fatigue chronique ou aiguë. Il semble que le pilote était satisfait de son employeur existant et de ses conditions de travail. D'après les dossiers d'autopsie, de toxicologie et médicaux, rien n'indique que l'efficacité du pilote ait été perturbée par des facteurs physiologiques.

La société Airco Aircraft Charters Ltd. était exploitée depuis 11 ans environ et possédait une flotte mixe de bimoteurs à turbine et à piston. Le certificat d'exploitation délivré par Transports Canada lui permettait d'exploiter des services aériens commerciaux en vertu de l'article 703 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) (Exploitation d'un service aérien) et de l'article 704 du RAC (Exploitation d'un service aérien de navette). Le Seneca III était exploité en vertu de l'article 703 du RAC et il était autorisé à effectuer des vols IFR avec un seul pilote à bord.

L'ampleur de la destruction des systèmes et des composants de l'aéronef a empêché les enquêteurs de recueillir d'importantes données. En outre, il n'y a eu aucun survivant, la couverture radar dans ce secteur a cessé vers 7 000 pieds, il n'y a eu aucun témoin oculaire, et l'avion n'avait pas d'enregistreur de données de vol (FDR) ni d'enregistreur de conversations de poste de pilotage (CVR). La réglementation n'exigeait pas qu'un FDR ou un CVR soit installé sur l'appareil en question.

Règle générale, un aéronef qui doit être exploité en vertu de l'article 703 du RAC n'est pas doté, à l'usine, de l'infrastructure électrique requise par un FDR, et l'installation d'un FDR sur cette catégorie d'aéronef nécessiterait d'importantes mises à jour des systèmes de bord. Une solution de rechange relativement moins coûteuse qu'un FDR est l'enregistreur vidéo numérique de poste de pilotage (CVDR), plus léger. Bien que la technologie du CVDR permette déjà d'enregistrer le tableau de bord et la vue avant d'un aéronef en vol, il n'existe aucun règlement ni calendrier prévoyant l'installation de cet équipement à bord des aéronefs commerciaux non dotés d'un FDR. La présence d'un CVDR antichoc en marche aurait permis aux enquêteurs de reproduire suffisamment le vol pour mieux comprendre les circonstances qui ont mené à l'accident. Dans le cas de nombreux autres accidents mortels récents d'aéronefs exploités en vertu de l'article 703 du RAC, la présence d'un CVDR à bord aurait permis aux enquêteurs de mieux déterminer les manquements à la sécurité liés aux accidents en cause.

Récemment, le National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) a envoyé à la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) la recommandation de sécurité A-99-60. Cette dernière recommandait avec insistance l'installation de CVDR antichocs à bord de tous les aéronefs à turbine qui n'ont pas de FDR, une fois l'Instruction technique normalisée publiée. Cette recommandation n'a toujours pas été mise en oeuvre. Cette question a déjà été soulevée dans le rapport A01W0261 du BST.

Analyse

Comme le montre la carte d'approche, l'accident a été précédé d'une descente inexplicable au-dessous de l'altitude minimale de sécurité, à 25 milles. Il a été impossible de déterminer pourquoi l'avion s'est écrasé ni s'il était maîtrisé par le pilote à ce moment. La présente analyse examine certains facteurs qui ont pu jouer un rôle dans cet événement.

Les prévisions et observations météorologiques dans la région de High Prairie indiquent que la dernière partie du vol s'est déroulée dans des conditions météorologiques de vol aux instruments (IMC). Les conditions de givrage prévues et l'absence de la mention givrage dans les rapports de pilotes (PIREP) locaux suggèrent que le givrage en vol n'a pas été un facteur déterminant de l'accident.

Si l'on en juge d'après la configuration de l'avion (volets sortis et train rentré) et la longueur du sillon laissé par l'épave, l'appareil aurait heurté des arbres dans un piqué très accentué, et ce, à très grande vitesse. Étant donné la gravité de l'impact, peu d'information était disponible concernant les performances et l'état de fonctionnement de l'aéronef. L'inspection des moteurs et des hélices de l'appareil a révélé qu'ils tournaient avec puissance au moment de l'impact. Toutes les gouvernes et tous les composants de la cellule ont été retrouvés sur les lieux. Il est donc peu probable qu'une défaillance de ces composants se soit produite en vol.

D'après le rapport d'autopsie et de toxicologie, l'horaire de repos, la formation et l'expérience du pilote, tout indique que l'efficacité de ce dernier n'a pas été atténuée par des facteurs physiologiques. Pendant les conversations du pilote avec un autre pilote de la compagnie qui lui transmettait de l'information météorologique avant l'accident, rien n'a semblé anormal. On ne sait pas si le pilote a subi une perte de conscience de la situation puisqu'il semble que l'avion suivait la trajectoire prévue vers le NDB et que le pilote connaissait bien l'aéroport et l'approche.

Si le pilote a perdu la maîtrise de l'avion dans les nuages pendant la descente jusqu'à l'altitude minimale de sécurité, puisqu'il y avait un plafond de nuages bas et que la visibilité était réduite par la pluie et la bruine, il est possible que les repères visuels externes étaient insuffisants pour que le pilote puisse déterminer son assiette et son altitude au-dessus du sol afin de redresser.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport suivant du Laboratoire technique du BST :

  • LP 93/02 - Analyse des instruments de vol

Faits établis quant aux causes et facteurs contributifs

  1. Pour des motifs indéterminés, l'appareil est descendu au-dessous de l'altitude minimale de sécurité prévue pour l'approche NDB vers la piste 25 de High Prairie et il s'est écrasé.

Autres faits établis

  1. Si l'aéronef en cause avait été doté d'un CVDR ou d'un dispositif similaire, les enquêteurs auraient probablement pu déterminer les événements déclencheurs et les manquements connexes à la sécurité qui se sont soldés par cet accident.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 5 mai 2003.

Annexe A -  Carte d'approche NDB 25 de High Prairie

Ce document n'existe pas en français.

Annexe A - Carte d'approche NDB 25 de High Prairie

Ne pas utiliser pour la navigation.


1. Les heures sont exprimées en heure avancée des Rocheuses (temps universel coordonné moins six heures) sauf indication contraire.