Aviation Investigation Report A03A0013

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Fuel Starvation / Forced Landing
ComputaPlane Ltd.
Cessna 188B N6606Q
Badger, Newfoundland and Labrador 19 nm WNW
04 February 2003

Summary

The single-engine Cessna 188B aircraft, N6606Q, serial number 18802951T, was being ferried from Canada to Africa and was en route from St John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, to Goose Bay. On the first leg of the trip, approximately 1 hour 30 minutes into the flight, the pilot attempted to transfer fuel from a modified fuel tank to the wing tanks. The engine stopped producing power, and the pilot then carried out a forced landing in a snow-covered frozen bog. The aircraft nosed over during the landing roll and came to rest in a nose-down attitude. The pilot was not injured.

An overflying aircraft received the MAYDAY call sent out by the pilot, proceeded to the given coordinates, located the occurrence aircraft, and reported one person standing outside the aircraft. Halifax Rescue Co-ordination Centre requested an AS350 helicopter, which was on a training flight, to proceed to the crash site for pickup. The helicopter arrived at the crash site approximately one hour after the accident, picked up the pilot, and transported him to Deer Lake.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot held a valid airline transport pilot licence and had approximately 2500 hours' flying time.

The accident occurred at approximately 1625 Newfoundland daylight time, 19 nautical miles west-northwest of Badger, Newfoundland and Labrador. The nearest weather reporting station, at Deer Lake airport, 40 miles west-northwest of the landing site, was reporting good weather conditions at the time of the occurrence with light westerly winds, visibility of 15 statute miles, ceiling 2400 feet, and a temperature of -2ºC. The conditions at the accident site were similar.

This was the second attempt made to ferry this aircraft from Canada to its new owner, a company based in Kampala, Uganda. On 23 March 2002, an attempt to ferry the aircraft had failed after a different ferry pilot experienced problems while attempting to transfer fuel. The aircraft had safely returned to St. John's, where it remained in a hangar until the accident flight. The fuel transfer problem was not entered in the aircraft logbook, nor was it included on the list of snags (unserviceabilities) e-mailed by the pilot of the March 2002 flight to the ferry company. There was, however, verbal communication between these two parties about a fuel transfer problem.

The aircraft was being operated under Part 91 of the Federal Aviation Regulations, and as such would not be required to carry a flight/journey logbook or have the discrepancy recorded in a logbook. Federal Aviation Regulation (FAR) 91.7 states that the pilot in command of a civil aircraft is responsible for determining whether that aircraft is in a condition for safe flight. FAR 91.403(a) places the responsibility for maintaining the aircraft in an airworthy condition on the owner or operator of the aircraft. FAR 91.405(a) requires the owner or operator to ensure that discrepancies are repaired between required inspections and that maintenance personnel make appropriate entries in the maintenance records indicating that the aircraft has been approved for return to service.

The operator contracted with a local maintenance company to carry out specific maintenance tasks on the aircraft after the initial ferry flight: inspect the mixture control cable for proper operation and safety; replace the seal on the plexiglass window located on the top of the ferry tank (to facilitate the replacement of the seal, all the fuel was drained from the ferry tank and a large quantity of water was found in the drained fuel); replace the tail wheel tire; replace the magnetic compass; and perform periodic engine run-ups. The operator did not ask the maintenance company to troubleshoot the fuel transfer problem because they had dismissed this as being caused by improper operation of the fuel system. Consequently, the validity of the US flight authority and the Canadian validation of the US flight authority are suspect.

Because the aircraft was being ferried a long distance, it had been equipped with a Federal Aviation Authority-approved, modified fuel system to increase its range. This system allowed fuel to be carried in a hopper tank normally used on this type of aircraft for aerial application of agricultural chemicals. When using this system, the pilot would use fuel from the two wing tanks until the wing tank fuel quantity indicators showed half full. He would then transfer fuel from the hopper (ferry) tank to replenish the wing tanks. Fuel from the ferry tank is drawn through a Wicks filter assembly by electric fuel pumps and is introduced into the main fuel system on the forward fuel line from the right wing tank. With both wing tanks interconnected by a common fuel reservoir, as fuel is transferred from the ferry tank, fuel quantity increases evenly in the left and right wing tanks. The Wicks filter assembly incorporates a clear glass bowl and drain valve that serves as a means to determine if contamination is present in the filter assembly and as a means to carry out a fuel drain check on a pre-flight inspection. There were no specific instructions in the flight supplement regarding pre-flight inspection of the filter assembly.

About an hour into the flight, while level at 5500 feet and with the power set at 2400 rpm and 24 inches, the fuel flow was 15 gallons per hour (gph). Without any change in the outside temperature or the power setting, the fuel flow dropped to 13 gph and was oscillating plus or minus 1 gph. The pilot selected the auxiliary fuel pump on; the fuel flow increased to 18 gph and stabilized at 17 gph with the pump off.

Approximately one and one-half hours into the flight, the occurrence pilot attempted to transfer fuel from the ferry tank to the wing tanks, from which about 25 US gallons had been consumed. At the time, the aircraft was flying above a cloud layer at an altitude of 5500 feet and the outside air temperature was -16ºC. After 30 minutes, no fuel appeared to have transferred, and the fuel gauges for the wing tanks were indicating one-half on the left and one-quarter on the right. The pilot observed a large bubble in the transparent fuel line linking the ferry tank to the fuel transfer pumps. He turned off the transfer pumps and twisted the fuel lines on the transfer pumps to check for a possible loose fitting. When he turned on the fuel transfer pumps again, the bubble was still there. He then noted that the fuel flow indication had dropped to zero and that the engine had stopped producing power, but the propeller was still windmilling. Before the engine stoppage, there were no indications of an impending problem (such as sputtering, rough running, or vibrations).

When the occurrence pilot arrived in St. John's to start the ferry flight, he checked the aircraft paperwork and logbooks and found them to be in order. There was no entry in the logbook concerning the fuel transfer problem on the previous flight. When he performed his pre-flight inspection, he found that the ferry tank was dry and clean, and fuel samples drained from the main fuel system were the correct colour and had no residues. No attempt was made to drain fuel from the Wicks filter for the ferry tank, possibly because the ferry tank was found to be dry and clean. The operating instructions for the ferry tank fuel system did not contain specific instructions to drain fuel from the Wicks filter during the pre-flight. The pilot checked the operation of the fuel transfer pumps during his pre-flight and observed that they were drawing current and vibrating; however, no fuel was transferred because the ferry tank was dry. Before refuelling the aircraft, the manager of the refuelling company advised the pilot to drain the remaining fuel out of the main tanks because it had been in the tanks for a long time. The pilot declined to do this because he had never experienced a problem with old fuel. He did, however, carry out a fuel drain check of the main tanks after they had been filled, and again the fuel was found to be the correct colour and had no contamination.

Conflicting reports exist as to whether the occurrence pilot was made aware of the fuel transfer problems experienced on the first ferry attempt or of the fact that water had been found in the ferry tank when it was drained to replace the seal on the plexiglass window. The fuel transfer problem had not been entered in the aircraft logbook, nor was it required to be entered by Part 91 of the FARs, under which the aircraft was operating, nor did the maintenance entry in the logbooks regarding the replacement of the seal mention that water was found in the tank when it was drained to facilitate this work. However, the maintenance company and Transport Canada airworthiness inspectors both suggested to the pilot that a test flight be carried out before the ferry flight, to check for proper operation of the fuel transfer system. A test flight was not conducted.

After the accident and before TSB investigators arrived at the accident site, the wind flipped the aircraft over onto its back. The wing tanks and the ferry tank were found to be empty during the on-site examination of the aircraft. Discolouration of the snow indicated that fuel had drained from the tanks after the aircraft flipped over, indicating that there had been fuel in the tanks when the accident occurred.

After the aircraft was removed from the accident site, components of the fuel system were removed and examined. The following observations were made:

  1. The Wicks filter for the ferry tank contained a mixture of fuel and water (approximately 60 per cent water). The filter also had a large amount of corrosion residue.
  2. The bowl on the airframe fuel strainer assembly contained only a small quantity of a fuel/water mixture, which was mostly water. The interior of the bowl was heavily corroded, and the fuel strainer screen was severely contaminated with solid particles.
  3. The line between the engine firewall and the engine-driven fuel pump contained a small quantity of fuel. This line had been cross-threaded onto the fuel pump fitting, but there was no sign of fuel leakage.
  4. The fuel servo injector screen contained a small quantity of water and small particles of solid contaminants.
  5. The fuel flow divider screen was heavily contaminated with solid particles and had signs of water contamination.
  6. The fuel injector nozzles were examined by holding them up to a light and looking through them. Light is clearly visible through clean nozzles, but no light was visible through the nozzles removed from cylinders 1, 3, and 5. About 20 per cent of the light that would normally be seen through a clean nozzle was viewed through the nozzles from cylinders 2 and 4; about 80 per cent of the light was viewed through the nozzle from cylinder 6.

The fuel line between the engine firewall and the engine-driven fuel pump was forwarded to the TSB Engineering Laboratory, where it was subjected to a suction test, a pressure test, and an internal examination. No discrepancies were found that would have prevented fuel from flowing through the fuel line. The engine-driven fuel pump was examined and tested in the TSB regional wreckage facility, and it operated normally.

Analysis

The entire aircraft fuel system was found to be heavily contaminated with water and solid particle contaminants. The water in the system probably led to internal corrosion, which resulted in the fuel screens becoming severely contaminated with solid particles.

The combination of solid particle contaminants and ice forming after exposure to the cold temperatures at altitude probably resulted in a partial blockage, causing the initial drop in fuel flow. Activating the auxiliary fuel pump increased the fuel pressure and temporarily cleared this blockage. However, the particle contamination and the ice eventually completely blocked the flow of fuel to the engine, and the engine stopped. The fuel transfer failure could also be attributed to ice, with water freezing in the fuel line linking the ferry tank to the transfer pumps.

The water contamination could have been introduced into the system from rain leaking through the defective seal on the ferry tank plexiglass window before or during the previous ferry flight attempt, from water condensing in the fuel tanks while the aircraft was on the ground for nine months with partial fuel in the fuel tanks, or during previous fuelling of the aircraft.

The conclusion that the initial fuel transfer problem was attributable to incorrect operation of the transfer system was not based on any firm data. An adequate examination of the fuel system after the initial ferry flight attempt would probably have revealed discrepancies (such as an improperly operating fuel system or fuel contamination) that would have been corrected before the second ferry flight attempt.

The following TSB Engineering Laboratory report was completed and is available on request:

  • LP30/2003 Fuel Supply Hose Examination

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. Water contamination in the fuel system led to internal corrosion and solid particle contamination of the fuel screens. The contamination and water/ice led to a complete blockage of fuel flow to the engine, and the engine stopped.
  2. The operator dismissed the fuel transfer problem on the initial ferry flight attempt as being caused by improper operation of the fuel system. The operator did not ask the maintenance company, which was contracted only to carry out specific tasks, to do a thorough inspection of the ferry tank fuel system.
  3. An adequate examination of the fuel system after the initial ferry flight attempt would probably have revealed discrepancies (such as an improperly operating fuel system or fuel contamination) that would have been corrected before the second ferry flight attempt.

This report concludes the TSB's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 22 October 2003.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A03A0013

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Panne d'alimentation carburant et atterrissage forcé
du Cessna 188B N6606Q
exploité par ComputaPlane Ltd.
à 19 nm à l'ouest-nord-ouest de Badger
(Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)
le 4 février 2003

Résumé

Le Cessna monomoteur 188B, immatriculé N6606Q et portant le numéro de série 18802951T, effectue un vol de convoyage du Canada vers l'Afrique et se trouve en route de Saint-John's (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador) à Goose Bay. Pendant la première étape du voyage, environ une heure et demie après son départ, le pilote tente de transférer du carburant d'un réservoir modifié aux réservoirs d'aile. Le moteur s'arrête, et le pilote effectue un atterrissage forcé dans une tourbière gelée recouverte de neige. L'avion capote au cours de l'atterrissage et s'immobilise dans une assiette en piqué. Le pilote n'est pas blessé.

Un aéronef survolant la région capte le message de détresse MAYDAY envoyé par le pilote et se rend aux coordonnées transmises par ce dernier. Le pilote de l'aéronef trouve le lieu de l'accident et signale qu'il y a une personne debout à l'extérieur de l'avion. Le Centre de coordination des opérations de sauvetage de Halifax fait appel à un hélicoptère AS350, qui effectue alors un vol d'entraînement, et lui demande de se rendre au lieu de l'accident pour recueillir le pilote. L'hélicoptère arrive sur les lieux environ une heure après l'accident, prend le pilote et le ramène à Deer Lake.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote possédait une licence de pilote de ligne valide et il avait cumulé approximativement 2500 heures de temps de vol.

L'accident est survenu vers 16 h 25, heure avancée de Terre-Neuve, à 19 milles marins à l'ouest-nord-ouest de Badger. La station d'observation météorologique la plus proche, située à l'aéroport de Deer Lake à 40 milles à l'ouest-nord-ouest du lieu de l'atterrissage, annonçait de bonnes conditions météo au moment de l'accident : vents légers de l'ouest, visibilité de 15 milles terrestres, plafond de 2400 pi et température de -2 ºC. Les conditions étaient similaires sur les lieux de l'accident.

Il s'agissait de la seconde tentative de convoyage du même avion du Canada à son nouveau propriétaire, une entreprise de Kampala, en Ouganda. Le 23 mars 2002, une tentative de convoyage de cet avion par un pilote différent avait échoué en raison de problèmes de transfert de carburant. L'avion avait réussi à retourner à Saint-John's en toute sécurité, où il est resté dans un hangar jusqu'au vol en question. Le problème de transfert de carburant n'avait pas été inscrit dans le carnet de bord et n'avait pas non plus été ajouté à la liste des anomalies techniques (indisponibilités) que le pilote du vol de mars 2002 avait envoyé par courrier électronique à l'entreprise de convoyage. Cependant, il y avait eu des échanges verbaux entre les deux parties sur le problème de transfert de carburant.

L'avion était exploité en vertu de la partie 91 des Federal Aviation Regulations (FAR) et, à ce titre, il n'était pas obligatoire qu'il ait un carnet de bord ni que l'anomalie soit inscrite dans un carnet de bord. L'article 91.7 des FAR précise que le pilote commandant de bord d'un aéronef civil est responsable de décider si son appareil est en état de voler en toute sécurité. D'après l'alinéa 91.403 (a) des FAR, il incombe au propriétaire ou à l'exploitant de l'appareil de maintenir l'aéronef en état de navigabilité. L'alinéa 91.405 (a) des FAR exige que le propriétaire ou l'exploitant s'assure de faire réparer les anomalies techniques entre les inspections exigées et que le personnel de maintenance fasse les inscriptions appropriées dans les dossiers de maintenance pour indiquer que le retour en service de l'aéronef a été approuvé.

L'exploitant a engagé à contrat une entreprise de maintenance locale pour effectuer des tâches de maintenance spécifiques sur l'avion après le premier vol de convoyage. Voici en quoi consistaient ces tâches de maintenance : inspecter les câbles de commande de mélange pour s'assurer de leur bon fonctionnement et de leur sécurité; remplacer le joint d'étanchéité sur la fenêtre en plexiglas se trouvant sur le dessus du réservoir de convoyage (pour faciliter le remplacement du joint, le réservoir de convoyage a été complètement vidé de son contenu, et une importante quantité d'eau a été trouvée dans le carburant); remplacer la roulette de queue; remplacer le compas magnétique; effectuer des points fixes périodiques du moteur. L'exploitant n'a pas demandé à l'entreprise de maintenance de rechercher les causes du problème de transfert de carburant, l'entreprise n'ayant pas cru qu'il s'agissait d'un problème causé par le mauvais fonctionnement du circuit carburant. C'est pour cette raison que la validité de l'autorité de vol américaine et sa validation canadienne sont douteuses.

En raison de la longue distance de convoyage, l'avion avait été équipé d'un circuit carburant modifié approuvé par la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) pour accroître sa distance franchissable. Ce circuit permettait au carburant d'être transporté dans un réservoir auxiliaire qui est habituellement utilisé sur ce modèle d'avion pour l'épandage aérien de produits chimiques agricoles. Avec un tel circuit, le pilote utilise d'abord le carburant des deux réservoirs d'aile jusqu'à ce que les jauges de carburant indiquent qu'ils sont à moitié vides. Le pilote transfère alors le carburant du réservoir auxiliaire (de convoyage) pour remplir les réservoirs d'aile. Des pompes à carburant électriques font passer le carburant du réservoir auxiliaire à travers un filtre Wicks et l'introduisent dans le circuit carburant principal par la conduite carburant avant du réservoir de l'aile droite. Puisque les deux réservoirs d'aile sont reliés par un réservoir de carburant commun, le carburant transféré du réservoir auxiliaire remplit de façon égale le réservoir de l'aile droite et celui de l'aile gauche. Le filtre Wicks comprend un bol de verre transparent et un robinet de vidange qui servent à déterminer si le filtre est contaminé et à effectuer une vérification de purge du carburant pendant l'inspection prévol. Le supplément de vol ne comprenait aucune consigne particulière quant à l'inspection prévol du filtre.

Environ une heure après le décollage, l'avion était en palier à 5500 pieds d'altitude, le régime du moteur était réglé à 2400 tr/min et 24 pouces et le débit carburant était de 15 gallons à l'heure (gal/h). Sans changement de température à l'extérieur ni réglage du régime du moteur, le débit carburant a chuté à 13 gal/h et variait de plus ou moins 1 gal/h. Le pilote a donc mis en marche la pompe carburant auxiliaire, et le débit carburant a augmenté à 18 gal/h, puis s'est stabilisé à 17 gal/h lorsque le pilote a coupé la pompe.

Environ une heure et demie après le décollage, le pilote en question a essayé de transférer du carburant du réservoir auxiliaire aux réservoirs d'aile, desquels 25 gallons américains avaient été consommés. À ce moment, l'avion volait au-dessus d'une couche nuageuse à 5500 pieds d'altitude, et la température extérieure était de -16 ºC. Après 30 minutes, le transfert du carburant ne s'était apparemment pas produit, et les jauges carburant des réservoirs d'aile indiquaient que celui de gauche n'était qu'à moitié plein et que celui de droite n'était rempli qu'au quart. Le pilote a remarqué une grosse bulle dans la conduite carburant transparente qui relie le réservoir auxiliaire aux pompes de transfert de carburant. Il a coupé les pompes de transfert et tordu les conduites carburant sur lesdites pompes pour vérifier la présence éventuelle d'un raccord desserré. Quand il a remis en marche les pompes de transfert de carburant, la bulle était toujours là. Il a alors remarqué que l'indicateur de débit carburant était tombé à zéro et que le moteur s'était arrêté, même si l'hélice continuait à tourner en moulinet. L'arrêt du moteur n'avait été précédé d'aucun signe indicateur d'un problème imminent, comme des ratés, des bafouillages ou des vibrations.

Lorsque le pilote en question était arrivé à Saint-John's pour entamer le vol de convoyage, il avait vérifié les documents de l'avion et les carnets de bord et les avaient trouvés en ordre. Aucune inscription dans le carnet de bord n'indiquait qu'il y avait eu un problème de transfert de carburant au cours du vol précédent. Lorsqu'il avait effectué son inspection prévol, le pilote avait trouvé que le réservoir auxiliaire était sec et propre, les échantillons de carburant tirés du circuit carburant principal étant de la bonne couleur et ne contenant aucun résidu. Le pilote n'avait pas essayé de purger le carburant du filtre Wicks du réservoir auxiliaire, peut-être parce que ce dernier était sec et propre et que les consignes d'exploitation du circuit carburant du réservoir auxiliaire ne précisaient pas de purger le carburant du filtre Wicks au cours de l'inspection prévol. Le pilote avait vérifié le fonctionnement des pompes de transfert de carburant lors de son inspection prévol et il avait constaté qu'elles aspiraient de l'air et qu'elles vibraient, mais aucun carburant n'a été pompé puisque le réservoir auxiliaire était vide. Avant l'avitaillement de l'avion, le gérant de l'entreprise d'avitaillement avait conseillé au pilote de vidanger le carburant qui restait dans les réservoirs principaux puisqu'il y était resté longtemps. Le pilote a refusé de le faire étant donné qu'il n'avait jamais eu de problèmes avec du vieux carburant. Il a quand même effectué une vérification des purgeurs des réservoirs principaux après qu'ils ont été remplis. Le carburant était toujours de la bonne couleur et ne montrait aucune trace de contamination.

Les comptes rendus ne concordent pas quant au fait de savoir si le pilote en question avait été mis au courant ou non du problème de transfert de carburant qui était survenu lors de la première tentative de convoyage ni du fait qu'il y avait de l'eau dans le réservoir auxiliaire lorsque ce dernier avait été vidé lors du remplacement du joint d'étanchéité sur la fenêtre en plexiglas. La partie 91 des FAR, en vertu desquelles l'avion était exploité, n'exigeait pas la consignation du problème de transfert de carburant dans le carnet de bord de l'avion, et le problème n'a donc pas été inscrit dans le carnet. L'inscription de maintenance dans le carnet de bord n'a pas non plus indiqué qu'il y avait de l'eau au fond du réservoir après que ce dernier avait été vidé pour faciliter le remplacement du joint. Cependant, l'entreprise de maintenance et des inspecteurs de Transports Canada avaient suggéré au pilote d'effectuer un vol d'essai avant le début du convoyage pour vérifier le bon fonctionnement du circuit de transfert du carburant. Aucun vol d'essai n'a été effectué.

Après l'accident, mais avant l'arrivée des enquêteurs du BST, le vent a renversé l'avion sur le dos. L'inspection de l'avion sur place a permis de constater que les réservoirs d'aile et le réservoir auxiliaire étaient vides. La coloration de la neige indiquait que du carburant s'était vidé des réservoirs après le renversement de l'avion, ce qui prouve qu'il y avait du carburant dans les réservoirs au moment de l'accident.

Une fois l'avion retiré des lieux de l'accident, les composants du circuit carburant ont été déposés et examinés. Les observations suivantes sont tirées de cet examen :

  1. Le filtre Wicks du réservoir auxiliaire contenait un mélange de carburant et d'eau, cette dernière comptant pour environ 60 % du mélange. Il y avait aussi une quantité importante de résidus de corrosion dans le filtre.
  2. Le bol du filtre à carburant de la cellule contenait seulement une petite quantité d'un mélange de carburant et d'eau, principalement constitué d'eau. L'intérieur du bol était très corrodé, et le filtre à carburant était fortement contaminé de particules solides.
  3. Une petite quantité de carburant se trouvait dans la conduite entre la cloison coupe-feu du moteur et la pompe carburant entraînée par le moteur. Le filetage de cette conduite avait été faussé sur le raccord de la pompe carburant, mais aucun signe de fuite de carburant n'était visible.
  4. Une petite quantité d'eau et de petites particules solides de contaminant ont été trouvées dans le filtre de servo-injection du carburant.
  5. Le filtre du diviseur de débit carburant était fortement contaminé par des particules solides et il montrait aussi des signes de contamination par l'eau.
  6. On a examiné les injecteurs de carburant en les tenant devant une lumière et en regardant à travers. La lumière est nettement visible à travers un injecteur propre, pourtant aucune lumière n'était visible à travers les injecteurs provenant des cylindres 1, 3 et 5. Les injecteurs des cylindres 2 et 4 laissaient passer environ 20 % de la lumière normalement visible à travers un injecteur propre, tandis que l'injecteur du cylindre 6 laissait passer environ 80 % de la lumière visible dans un injecteur propre.

La conduite carburant se trouvant entre la cloison coupe-feu du moteur et la pompe carburant entraînée par le moteur a été acheminée au Laboratoire technique du BST où elle a été soumise à un essai de dépression, à un essai de pression et à un examen interne. Aucune anomalie n'a été découverte qui aurait empêché le carburant de circuler dans la conduite. La pompe carburant entraînée par le moteur a été examinée et mise à l'essai dans l'atelier du bureau régional du BST, et elle fonctionnait normalement.

Analyse

L'ensemble du circuit carburant était fortement contaminé par de l'eau et par des particules solides de contaminant. L'eau qui se trouvait dans le circuit a probablement causé la corrosion interne qui a entraîné l'importante contamination des filtres à carburant par des particules solides.

L'effet combiné de la contamination par des particules solides et de la glace qui s'est formée après l'exposition aux températures froides en altitude a probablement causé une obstruction partielle qui serait à l'origine de la chute initiale du débit carburant. L'action de la pompe carburant auxiliaire a augmenté la pression du carburant et a temporairement dégagé cette obstruction. Cependant, les particules de contamination et la glace ont finalement bloqué complètement l'arrivée du carburant au moteur, lequel s'est ainsi arrêté. Le problème de transfert de carburant peut aussi être attribuable à la glace qui s'est formée à la suite du gel de l'eau se trouvant dans la conduite carburant reliant le réservoir auxiliaire aux pompes de transfert.

L'eau qui contaminait le circuit avait pu provenir soit de la pluie qui se serait introduite par le joint défectueux de la fenêtre en plexiglas du réservoir auxiliaire avant ou pendant la tentative de convoyage précédente, soit de la condensation d'eau qui s'était formée dans les réservoirs partiellement remplis de carburant au cours des neuf mois que l'avion a passé au sol; elle avait pu aussi s'introduire au cours de l'avitaillement en carburant précédent de l'avion.

La conclusion selon laquelle le problème initial de transfert de carburant était attribuable au fonctionnement défectueux du circuit de transfert ne reposait sur aucune donnée précise. Un examen approfondi du circuit carburant après la tentative initiale de vol de convoyage aurait probablement révélé des anomalies, comme un mauvais fonctionnement du circuit carburant ou la contamination du carburant, anomalies qui auraient été corrigées avant la seconde tentative de convoyage.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

LP30/2003 - Fuel Supply Hose Examination (Examen de la conduite d'alimentation carburant)

Faits établis quant aux causes et facteurs contributifs

  1. La contamination par l'eau a causé la corrosion interne du circuit et la contamination par des particules solides des filtres à carburant. La contamination et l'eau (la glace) ont bloqué complètement l'arrivée de carburant au moteur, et ce dernier s'est arrêté.
  2. L'exploitant n'a pas cru que le problème de transfert de carburant lors de la première tentative de convoyage était attribuable au mauvais fonctionnement du circuit carburant. L'exploitant n'a pas demandé à l'entreprise de maintenance, engagée à contrat pour accomplir des tâches spécifiques, d'effectuer une inspection approfondie du circuit carburant du réservoir auxiliaire.
  3. Un examen approfondi du circuit carburant à la suite du premier vol de convoyage aurait probablement révélé des anomalies, comme le mauvais fonctionnement du circuit carburant ou la contamination du carburant, anomalies qui auraient été corrigées avant le second vol de convoyage.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 22 octobre 2003.