Aviation Investigation Report A03C0118

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Engine Failure - Forced Landing
Whiteshell Air Service Ltd
de Havilland DHC-3 Otter C-GGON
Lac du Bonnet, Manitoba 2 nm E
22 May 2003

Summary

The Whiteshell Air Service Ltd. float-equipped de Havilland DHC-3 Otter, C-GGON, serial number 225, with one pilot and three passengers on board, departed the Lac du Bonnet, Manitoba, water base at approximately 1100 central daylight time on a day, visual flight rules flight to George Lake. The pilot completed a normal take-off from the Winnipeg River in an easterly direction and began a shallow climb over the shoreline. As the aircraft levelled at approximately 400 feet above ground level (agl), there was a loud backfire followed by a complete loss of engine power. The pilot force landed straight ahead; the aircraft struck several large trees and came to rest in a swampy area. The aircraft struck the ground on its left side, both wings broke off, and the engine was buried in the swampy ground. There was no fire.

The pilot and one of the passengers were seated in the cockpit and suffered minor injuries. One of the passengers seated in the cabin of the aircraft was thrown clear of the aircraft still strapped in the seat and sustained minor injuries. The other cabin passenger was thrown forward still strapped in the seat, struck the interior structure of the aircraft, and sustained serious injuries.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

On the day before the accident, the aircraft had returned to Lac du Bonnet, Manitoba, with an unusual engine noise. The engine was inspected by the operator's own approved maintenance organization (AMO), and the No. 1 cylinder showed signs of excessive blow-by. The cylinder was removed and inspected. The cylinder head was found to be separating from the cylinder barrel. A new cylinder was installed. On the day of the accident, prior to the first flight following the cylinder replacement, a lengthy engine run-up was completed with no anomalies noted. At take-off, the pilot determined that the engine was performing satisfactorily by confirming that the engine's rpm was 2250 at a manifold pressure of 36.5 inches.

The power output of this type of aircraft engine is checked by measuring the engine rpm at a given manifold pressure. The field barometric pressure is used to establish the manifold pressure. This check requires that the engine rpm be measured at this pressure when the propeller blades are at their low pitch stops. The aircraft manufacturer specifies the rpm at which this occurs. The approved aircraft flight manual for C-GGON indicates that the engine's rpm should range from 2000 to 2200 rpm when the manifold pressure is equal to the field barometric pressure.

The weather at the time of the accident was reported as visual meteorological conditions (VMC) with light winds from the east. The weather at Kenora, Ontario, approximately 75 statute miles east, was representative of the area weather and was reported as follows: visibility greater than 15 miles; a few clouds at 3700 feet agl; temperature 15ºC; dewpoint 6ºC; wind 150 degrees true at 7 knots.

The pilot, who was also the owner of the company, held a valid commercial pilot licence. The pilot had extensive flying experience with over 32 000 flying hours, over 8000 hours on type, and 2.7 hours in the last 30 days. The pilot was also the sole aircraft maintenance engineer (AME) for the company's AMO. The pilot's AME licence had expired in 05 October 2000 and had not been renewed. The last aircraft inspection was completed by the pilot/AME, after the expiry date of his licence.

After the accident, no emergency locator transmitter (ELT) signal was received from the downed aircraft. The ELT had been removed by a company apprentice for re-certification on 08 May 2003 during an annual inspection of the aircraft. An entry was made in the journey log book stating that the ELT had been removed. Information provided, however, indicated that the pilot of the aircraft was under the impression that a re-certified ELT had been installed in the aircraft in the interim.

The Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) allow an aircraft to be operated without a serviceable ELT for a period of up to 30 days, providing certain conditions are met. One condition is that the operator display a placard in the cockpit noting the removal. Although there was an entry in the log book stating that the ELT had been removed from the aircraft, the aircraft was not placarded to indicate that the aircraft was operating without an ELT.

Photo 1 - Photo showing details of improper exhaust valve adjustment for No. 3 cylinder

Photo 1.  A - Insufficient protrusion of adjustment screw B - Excessive valve clearance

An examination of the airframe did not reveal any pre-impact anomalies. The engine, a Pratt & Whitney Wasp R-1340-S3H1-G, was removed from the accident site and taken to a local overhaul facility for tear-down analysis. During the rotation of the crankshaft, it was noted that the No. 3 cylinder exhaust valve did not open. The valve adjustment screw assembly was observed to protrude above the lock nut by 1/16 of an inch and the valve clearance was measured at 0.233 of an inch. The engine's maintenance manual specifies a minimum protrusion of the valve adjustment screw of 1/8 of an inch and a valve clearance of 0.035 of an inch Photo 1).

The front engine case was removed and the No. 3 cylinder exhaust roller was found to be excessively worn. The top portion of the cam roller slot tappet guide had split off and broken. The cam roller was measured and found to be worn 0.249 of an inch with a flat spot on one side (Appendix A). The cam ring was inspected and all four exhaust lobes were found to be excessively worn and out of limits. The No. 3 cylinder exhaust valve push rod was inspected and the ball ends were removed to check for the number of adjustment spacers under the ends. Push rods can be lengthened or shortened by adding spacers underneath the ball ends to accommodate valve adjustments during overhaul or cylinder replacement. Two spacers were noted under one end with one spacer found on the opposite end. The single spacer, however, had been installed standing on end and had been forcibly folded over at a right angle.

A review of the aircraft maintenance records indicated that the engine had accumulated a total of 821.1 hours since the last major overhaul by Covington Aircraft Engines Inc. Reportedly, the valve clearances had been checked and adjusted twice since overhaul, once at 100 hours and again at 810.7 hours time in service (10.4 hours prior to the accident). During both adjustments, no significant anomalies were noted; however, it was not determined whether the No. 3 exhaust valve had been adjusted. Reportedly, the push rods had not been lengthened or shortened to achieve the required valve clearances. Aircraft maintenance records indicate that the No. 3 cylinder had not been replaced since overhaul. The valves were adjusted using the "Positive Method," as specified in the engine's maintenance manual, to eliminate cam float during the adjustment procedure. The operator's inspection program specifies that the valve clearances are to be checked at 400-hour intervals. It could not be determined when the No. 3 exhaust valve was last adjusted or when the valve adjustment screw protrusion was set beyond limits.

Both cabin passengers were seated in the rearmost row of seats. The seats in the two rows immediately ahead of them had been folded up because they were not in use. The seat structures of both passengers failed. The passenger in the left seat was thrown clear of the aircraft still strapped in his seat through the side door and received only minor injuries. The seriously injured passenger was seated in the right seat. This passenger, still strapped in the seat, was thrown forward violently and seriously injured when he came in contact with the folded seats and other parts of the aircraft's structure. Inspection of the cabin revealed that the seats were all factory-approved installations and were correctly installed. Examination of the crash site revealed that the aircraft experienced high deceleration forces during the crash sequence.

Analysis

The failure of the No. 3 cylinder exhaust valve to fully open was progressive as the cam roller wore. Because the required field barometric power reference check was not completed after the replacement of the No. 1 cylinder or prior to take-off, the operator did not ascertain whether the engine was operating correctly at higher power settings. Consequently, the effects of the closed or near closed exhaust valve went undetected and may have been masked by the failure of the No. 1 cylinder.

During assembly of the No. 3 cylinder exhaust push rod, a spacer was incorrectly installed end-wise under the ball end. When the ball end was pressed into place, the spacer was likely set and partially bent within the tube, bringing the overall length of the push rod into a range that was considered satisfactory during installation. The investigation was unable to determine when the spacer was incorrectly installed.

During normal engine operation, the repetitive lifting action of the valve would have further bent the spacer, effectively shortening the overall length of the push rod and increasing the clearance between the valve and the valve rocker. This increased clearance would have resulted in a pounding action of the cam roller against the cam ring lobes. An adjustment of the valve clearance during the inspection conducted at 100 hours time in service would likely have brought the clearances back into tolerance; however, the cam roller and cam ring had already been damaged. Small fragments of cam roller material would have begun to break off, creating a flat spot on the roller. As the roller stopped turning and began to slide over the cam lobes, an increased wear pattern developed. At some point, the valve was again adjusted, accounting for the valve screw protrusion being out of limits. The adjustment was likely made in an attempt to bring the ever-diminishing valve clearance back into tolerance. The wear eventually progressed to the point where the exhaust valve was not opening. The failure of the exhaust valve to open would have resulted in the exhaust gases accumulating in the combustion chamber and migrating back through the opening of the intake valve into the induction system. The hot exhaust gases would have ignited the fuel/air mixture in the induction, resulting in a backfire and the loss of engine power.

The breakage or failure of the top portion of the cam roller slot tappet guide likely occurred because the combination of wear on the No. 3 exhaust cam roller and cam lobes resulted in a longer stroke of the tappet assembly and the eventual protrusion of the cam roller pin beyond the tappet guide. This protrusion of the cam roller pin would have resulted in the cam roller pin drifting outward and splitting the top portion of the tappet guide roller slot. It is likely that the failure of the top portion of the tappet guide roller slot was the result of the engine backfire and did not contribute to the loss of engine power.

It could not be determined when the No. 3 exhaust valve was last adjusted or when the valve adjustment screw protrusion was set beyond limits. The company did not check the valve clearances on a progressive 400-hour schedule, as required by the maintenance manual and could not account for the valve adjustment screw protrusion being set beyond limits. Had the out-of-limits screw protrusion been noted during the adjustment of the valve or during a regularly scheduled inspection, an examination might have revealed the excessive wear in the valve train and prevented the engine power loss.

High deceleration forces when the aircraft struck the ground and trees likely exceeded the design strength of the cabin passengers' seats, resulting in an overload failure of the support structure of the seats.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. A spacer in the No. 3 cylinder push rod tube was installed incorrectly. This initiated the increased wear that eventually prevented the No. 3 exhaust valve from opening, resulting in hot exhaust gases migrating into the induction system and causing the engine failure.
  2. Following replacement of the No. 1 cylinder, the operator did not complete a field barometric power reference check, which is used in early identification of an engine problem.
  3. The valve adjustment screw protrusion was set beyond specified limits. Had the out-of-limits screw protrusion been noted during adjustment or during a scheduled inspection, an examination might have revealed the excessive wear in the valve train and prevented the engine failure.

Findings as to Risk

  1. The licence of the AME who signed the aircraft journey log entries had expired.

Other Findings

  1. The removal of the ELT was not placarded as required by CARs; the pilot was not aware that the ELT was not installed.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 23 February 2004.

Appendix A - Worn Cam Roller

Appendix A - Worn Cam Roller

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A03C0118

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Panne moteur - Atterrissage forcé
du de Havilland DHC-3 Otter C-GGON
de Whiteshell Air Service Ltd
à 2 nm à l'est du Lac du Bonnet (Manitoba)
le 22 mai 2003

Résumé

Vers 11 h, heure avancée du Centre, le de Havilland DHC-3 Otter monté sur flotteurs, immatriculé C-GGON et portant le numéro de série 225, appartenant à Whiteshell Air Service, quitte l'hydroaérodrome du Lac du Bonnet (Manitoba) avec à son bord un pilote et trois passagers pour effectuer un vol de jour selon les règles de vol à vue à destination du lac George. Le pilote effectue un décollage normal à partir de la rivière Winnipeg en direction est et amorce une montée à faible pente au-dessus de la berge. Au moment où l'hydravion se met en palier à quelque 400 pieds au-dessus du sol, un bruyant retour de flamme retentit et le moteur s'arrête complètement. Le pilote effectue un atterrissage forcé droit devant; l'appareil heurte plusieurs gros arbres et s'immobilise dans une zone marécageuse. Le côté gauche de l'hydravion heurte le sol en premier, les deux ailes se détachent, et le moteur s'enfonce dans le sol marécageux. Il n'y a pas d'incendie.

Le pilote et le passager assis dans le poste de pilotage subissent des blessures légères. L'un des passagers qui prend place dans la cabine est projeté à l'extérieur de l'appareil, toujours retenu à son siège, et il est légèrement blessé. L'autre passager de la cabine est projeté vers l'avant, toujours retenu à son siège, il heurte la structure intérieure de l'hydravion et il est grièvement blessé.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

La veille de l'accident, l'appareil était retourné au Lac du Bonnet (Manitoba) alors que le moteur faisait entendre un bruit inhabituel. Le propre organisme de maintenance agréé (OMA) de l'exploitant a inspecté le moteur et a constaté que le cylindre no 1 montrait des signes d'une fuite de gaz excessive. On a déposé le cylindre afin de l'inspecter. On a constaté que la tête du cylindre avait commencé à se séparer du corps du cylindre et on a installé un nouveau cylindre. Le jour de l'accident, avant le premier vol faisant suite au remplacement du cylindre, on a effectué un long point fixe moteur sans constater aucune anomalie. Au décollage, le pilote a jugé que le moteur fonctionnait correctement en constatant qu'il tournait à un régime de 2250 tr/min avec une pression d'admission de 36,5 pouces.

Sur ce type de moteur d'aviation, on détermine la puissance produite en mesurant le régime du moteur pour une pression d'admission donnée. On se sert de la pression barométrique locale pour établir la pression d'admission. La vérification nécessite que le régime du moteur soit mesuré à cette pression lorsque les pales de l'hélice appuient contre les butées de petit pas. L'avionneur précise à quel régime cette condition est remplie. Le manuel d'utilisation approuvé de l'aéronef GGON stipulait que le régime du moteur devait se situer entre 2000 et 2200 tr/min lorsque la pression d'admission était égale à la pression barométrique locale.

Selon ce qui a été rapporté, les conditions météorologiques locales au moment de l'accident étaient des conditions de vol à vue (VMC) avec un vent léger soufflant de l'est. Les conditions météorologiques enregistrées à Kenora (Ontario), à quelque 75 milles terrestres à l'est du lieu de l'accident, étaient représentatives des conditions régionales et étaient les suivantes : visibilité supérieure à 15 milles; quelques nuages à 3700 pieds au-dessus du sol (agl); température de 15 ºC; point de rosée à 6 ºC; vent du 150 degrés vrais à 7 noeuds.

Le pilote, qui était également le propriétaire de la compagnie, était titulaire d'une licence de pilote professionnel valide. Il avait une grande expérience, puisqu'il totalisait plus de 32 000 heures de vol, dont plus de 8000 heures sur type, et 2,7 heures au cours des 30 derniers jours. Le pilote était également l'unique technicien d'entretien d'aéronefs (TEA) de l'OMA de la compagnie aérienne. La licence de TEA du pilote avait expiré le 5 octobre 2000 et il ne l'avait pas renouvelée. La dernière inspection de l'aéronef avait été effectuée par le pilote/TEA après la date d'expiration de sa licence.

Après l'accident, aucun signal de radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT) n'a été reçu de l'appareil accidenté. L'ELT avait été déposée le 8 mai 2003 par un apprenti de la compagnie à des fins de recertification dans le cadre d'une inspection annuelle de l'aéronef. Une inscription à cet effet avait été consignée dans le carnet de bord de l'appareil. Toutefois, les renseignements obtenus indiquaient que le pilote de l'hydravion était sous l'impression qu'une ELT recertifiée avait été installée à bord provisoirement.

Le Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) autorise l'exploitation d'un aéronef sans la présence d'une ELT en état de marche pendant une période maximale de 30 jours, sous réserve de certaines conditions. L'une de ces conditions veut que l'exploitant installe une affichette dans le poste de pilotage pour signaler l'absence de l'ELT. Même si une inscription dans le carnet de bord indiquait que l'ELT avait été déposée de l'appareil, il n'y avait pas d'affichette dans le poste de pilotage pour indiquer que l'hydravion était exploité sans ELT.

Photo 1 - Lacunes observées dans le réglage de la soupape déchappement du cylindre numéro 3

Photo 1.  A - Dépassement insuffisant de la vis de réglage
B - Jeu de soupape excessif

L'examen de la cellule n'a révélé aucune anomalie antérieure à l'impact. Le moteur, un Pratt & Whitney Wasp R-1340-S3H1-G, a été récupéré sur les lieux de l'accident et envoyé à un atelier de révision générale local pour y subir une analyse en cours de démontage. Pendant qu'on faisait tourner le vilebrequin, on a constaté que la soupape d'échappement du cylindre numéro trois ne s'ouvrait pas. On a mesuré que la vis de réglage de soupape dépassait le

On a déposé le carter avant du moteur et on a constaté que le galet de came de la soupape d'échappement du cylindre no 3 était excessivement usé. La partie supérieure du guide de galet de came à rainure était fendue et brisée. On a mesuré le galet de came et on a constaté qu'il était usé de 0,249 pouce et qu'il présentait un méplat sur un côté (voir l'annexe A). On a inspecté la couronne à cames et on a découvert que les quatre bossages d'échappement étaient excessivement usés et hors limites. On a inspecté la tige poussoir de la soupape d'échappement du cylindre no 3 et on a déposé les rotules d'embout pour vérifier le nombre de rondelles d'espacement placées sous les rotules. On peut allonger ou raccourcir la portée des tiges poussoirs en ajoutant des rondelles d'espacement sous les rotules d'embout de manière à régler le jeu des soupapes au moment d'une révision générale ou du remplacement d'un cylindre. Il y avait deux rondelles d'espacement à l'une des extrémités, et une seule à l'extrémité opposée. Toutefois, la rondelle d'espacement unique avait été installée en position verticale et avait été repliée de force à angle droit.

L'analyse des dossiers de maintenance de l'aéronef a indiqué que le moteur totalisait 821,1 heures depuis sa dernière révision générale majeure effectuée par la firme Covington Aircraft Engines Inc. Selon ce qui a été rapporté, le jeu des soupapes avait été vérifié et réglé à deux reprises depuis la révision générale, une fois après le premier intervalle de 100 heures et de nouveau lorsque le moteur avait atteint 810,7 heures en service (soit 10,4 heures avant l'accident). Au moment de ces deux réglages, on n'a remarqué aucune anomalie significative; toutefois, il a été impossible de déterminer si on avait procédé au réglage de la soupape d'échappement no 3 à ces occasions. Toujours selon ce qui a été rapporté, on n'a ni allongé ni raccourci les tiges de poussoir pour obtenir les jeux de soupape requis. Les dossiers de maintenance de l'aéronef ont révélé que le cylindre no 3 n'avait pas été remplacé depuis la révision générale. Les soupapes avaient été réglées à l'aide de la « méthode positive » qui est préconisée dans le manuel de maintenance du moteur afin d'éliminer le flottement des cames au cours de la procédure de réglage. Le programme d'inspection de l'exploitant stipule que le jeu des soupapes doit être vérifié à des intervalles de 400 heures. Il a été impossible de déterminer à quel moment la soupape d'échappement no 3 avait été réglée pour la dernière fois, ni à quel moment on avait réglé la vis de réglage de la soupape avec un dépassement hors limites.

Les deux passagers de la cabine prenaient place sur la rangée de sièges la plus reculée. Les sièges des deux rangées plus à l'avant avaient été repliés, car ils étaient inoccupés. La structure des sièges des deux passagers s'est rompue. Le passager assis sur le siège gauche a été projeté à l'extérieur de l'appareil en passant par la porte latérale et il est demeuré sanglé sur son siège. Ce passager a subi des blessures légères. Le passager qui a été grièvement blessé était assis sur le siège droit. Il a été violemment propulsé vers l'avant en demeurant lui aussi sanglé à son siège. Il a subi de graves blessures lorsqu'il a heurté les sièges repliés et d'autres parties de la structure de l'aéronef. L'inspection de la cabine a révélé que l'installation de tous les sièges était approuvée par le fabricant et que ceux-ci avaient été bien installés. L'examen des lieux de l'écrasement a révélé que l'hydravion avait subi des forces de décélération élevées au moment de l'écrasement.

Analyse

La soupape d'échappement du cylindre no 3 a graduellement refusé de s'ouvrir à mesure que le galet de came s'usait. Comme on a omis d'effectuer la vérification de la puissance nominale fournie par le moteur, pourtant obligatoire, après le remplacement du cylindre no 1 ou avant le décollage, l'exploitant ignorait si le moteur fonctionnait correctement aux régimes élevés. Par conséquent, les effets de la fermeture complète ou presque complète de la soupape d'échappement sont passés inaperçus et ont peut-être été masqués par la défaillance du cylindre no 1.

Pendant le montage de la tige poussoir de la soupape d'échappement du cylindre no 3, une rondelle d'espacement a été incorrectement montée en position verticale sous la rotule d'embout. Lorsque la rotule d'embout a été enfoncée en place, la rondelle d'espacement a sans doute été partiellement déformée à l'intérieur du tube, ce qui a amené la longueur totale de la tige poussoir dans une plage de valeurs qui a par la suite été jugée satisfaisante lors de l'installation. L'enquête n'a pas permis de déterminer à quel moment la rondelle d'espacement avait été mal installée.

Pendant le fonctionnement normal du moteur, le soulèvement répété de la soupape a sans doute déformé encore plus la rondelle d'espacement, ce qui a eu pour effet de raccourcir la longueur totale de la tige poussoir et d'augmenter le jeu entre la soupape et le culbuteur de soupape. Le jeu excessif a sans doute provoqué un martellement du galet de came contre les bossages de la couronne à cames. Il est probable que le réglage de la soupape effectué au premier intervalle d'inspection aux 100 heures a ramené le jeu à l'intérieur des tolérances, mais le galet de came et la couronne à cames avaient déjà subi des dommages. De petits fragments de matériau du galet de came avaient sans doute commencé à se détacher, ce qui a engendré un méplat sur le galet de came. Lorsque le galet a cessé de tourner et a commencé à glisser sur les bossages de came, le processus d'usure a commencé à s'accélérer. À un moment donné, il y a eu un nouveau réglage de la soupape, ce qui explique pourquoi le dépassement de la vis de réglage était hors limites. Ce réglage avait sans doute pour objectif de ramener à l'intérieur des limites le jeu de la soupape qui ne cessait de diminuer. L'usure s'est poursuivie jusqu'au moment où la soupape d'échappement a refusé complètement de s'ouvrir. Lorsque la soupape d'échappement est demeurée fermée, les gaz d'échappement se seraient accumulés dans la chambre de combustion avant de revenir vers l'arrière pour passer à travers l'ouverture de la soupape d'admission et atteindre le circuit d'admission. Les gaz chauds auraient alors enflammé le mélange air-carburant dans le circuit d'admission, d'où le retour de flamme et la perte de puissance moteur.

La rupture ou la défaillance de la partie supérieure du guide de galet de came à rainure est sans doute survenue à cause de l'usure des galets et des bossages de came de la soupape d'échappement du cylindre no 3 qui a augmenté la course du poussoir et éventuellement fait dépasser la tige du galet de came au-delà du guide de poussoir. Le dépassement de la tige du galet de came aurait entraîné son déplacement vers l'extérieur, où elle aurait fendu la partie supérieure du guide de galet de came à rainure. Il est probable que la rupture de cette dernière pièce a été causée par le retour de flamme et qu'elle n'a pas contribué à la perte de puissance du moteur.

Il a été impossible de déterminer à quel moment la soupape d'échappement du cylindre no 3 a été réglée pour la dernière fois ni à quel moment on a réglé la vis de réglage de la soupape hors de la limite de dépassement permise. La compagnie n'a pas vérifié le jeu des soupapes selon un calendrier progressif aux 400 heures, comme le manuel de maintenance l'exigeait, et n'a pu expliquer comment le dépassement de la vis de réglage de la soupape s'était retrouvé hors limites. Si le dépassement hors limites de la vis de réglage avait été découvert à l'occasion d'un réglage de la soupape ou lors d'une inspection régulière, un examen subséquent aurait sans doute révélé l'usure excessive de la culbuterie de la soupape d'échappement et l'on aurait pu ainsi éviter la panne moteur.

Tout porte à croire que les forces de décélération élevées qu'a subies l'appareil lorsqu'il a heurté le sol et les arbres ont dépassé la résistance de calcul des sièges de cabine occupés par les passagers, ce qui a entraîné une rupture en surcharge de la structure de support des sièges.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Une rondelle d'espacement a été mal installée dans le tube de la tige poussoir du cylindre no 3. Ce montage incorrect a causé une usure qui a progressivement empêché l'ouverture de la soupape d'échappement du cylindre no 3, entraînant ainsi une migration des gaz d'échappement chauds à l'intérieur du circuit d'admission, ce qui a provoqué la panne moteur.
  2. Après le remplacement du cylindre no 1, l'exploitant n'a pas effectué une vérification de la puissance nominale fournie par le moteur, ce qui permet normalement de détecter précocement un problème moteur.
  3. La vis de réglage de soupape était réglée à un dépassement qui ne respectait pas les limites prescrites. Si cette anomalie avait été détectée au moment d'un réglage ou d'une inspection régulière, un examen subséquent aurait sans doute révélé la présence d'une usure excessive de la culbuterie de la soupape d'échappement, ce qui aurait permis de prévenir la panne moteur.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. La licence du technicien d'entretien d'aéronefs qui avait signé les inscriptions dans le carnet de bord de l'aéronef était expirée.

Autres faits établis

  1. Contrairement à ce qu'exige le Règlement de l'aviation canadien, on a déposé l'ELT sans placer une affichette d'avertissement dans le poste de pilotage; le pilote ignorait qu'il n'y avait pas d'ELT à bord.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 23 février 2004.

Annexe A - Galet de came usé

Annexe A - Galet de came usé