Aviation Investigation Report A03O0135

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of Control on Water
Ministry of Natural Resources
de Havilland DHC-6-300 (Amphibious) C-GOGC
Lake Wicksteed, Ontario
05 June 2003

Summary

The de Havilland DHC-6-300 amphibious aircraft (registration C-GOGC, serial number 750) with a single pilot on board was performing firefighting operations in the vicinity of Lake Wicksteed, approximately 10 nautical miles north of Hornepayne, Ontario. The aircraft was scooping water from Lake Wicksteed for the nearby fire. The lake is approximately 7300 feet in length with gentle rising terrain along its shoreline. This was the third scooping from the lake, and the approach was flown in an easterly direction in light wind conditions. The pilot performed the inbound checks, lowered the water probes to begin filling the float water tanks, and touched down on the lake. Within a short time, he observed water spraying from the overflow vents located on top of the floats, indicating that the tanks were filled to capacity. He pressed a button on the yoke to retract the probes, and the aircraft immediately nosed over into the lake in a wings-level attitude and began to sink. The accident occurred at approximately 1800 eastern daylight time.

The pilot extricated himself from the aircraft and held on to the side of the partially submerged aircraft. A witness to the occurrence immediately boarded a powered, aluminum boat and went to assist the pilot, while a second witness travelled to Hornepayne to notify the authorities and emergency services. Once the pilot reached the shore, he was taken to a nearby cottage where he remained until emergency services arrived. The aircraft came to rest on the bottom of the shallow lake in an inverted attitude with the floats above the surface of the water.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The Ministry of Natural Resources (MNR) operates five de Havilland DHC-6 Twin Otters for firefighting operations. The aircraft are equipped with amphibious Wipline 13000 floats, modified with water holding tanks and probes. The probes, located on the bottom of the floats, are extended and provide the filling points for the water tanks. The water bomb doors, two on the bottom of each float, and the probes are electro-hydraulically operated and share hydraulic pressure and fluid with the aircraft's hydraulic system. They are controlled by two push-button switches located side-by-side on the left yoke. To prevent inadvertent operation of the bomb doors, the bomb door push-button switch is covered with a hinged plate that must be raised to expose the button. The door system also incorporates a door armed switch on the centre panel that must be selected ON for the system to be active.

Position indication for the doors and probes is provided by six green lights on the centre panel. When the six lights are illuminated, they indicate that the bomb doors are retracted, the probes are stowed, and the door jacks are fully retracted. There is an amber light co-located in the centre panel with the green lights and, when illuminated, indicates that the door armed switch is ON. A separate amber light on the panel directly in front of the pilot illuminates if either the doors or probes are extended. A red light located directly above the amber light illuminates and a horn sounds if the bomb doors become open without being selected.

The water bombing system incorporates a dump lever that, in an emergency, allows the water to eject through the mechanical free-fall capability of the doors. A hydraulic hand pump retracts the doors if the aircraft's electric hydraulic pump fails.

Photo 1 - Bomb door and probe switches on aircraft yoke

Photo Bomb door and probe switches on aircraft yoke

There is a probe control switch toggle switch located on the centre panel. At the request of flight crews, a push button probe switch was added to the control yoke. Once the modification was complete, the probes were controlled by the push button switch installed adjacent to the bomb door push button switch on the yoke (Photo 1). The pilots could now operate the doors and probes by moving the thumb between the two switches, while maintaining both hands on the yoke. The bomb door push button switch and probe switch are similar in size and type.

During a scooping operation, the pilot presses the push button probe switch to extend the probes. After touchdown, engine power is advanced and yoke back pressure is applied to maintain the planing attitude while the tanks are filling. When the tanks are full, the probe button is pressed a second time and the probes retract. After lift-off, when the aircraft attains a positive rate of climb, the bomb door armed switch on the centre panel is selected ON, and the bomb doors can then be opened by the bomb door push button switch on the yoke.

Photo 2 - System indicating lights and door armed switch (indicated by white arrow) in the On position

Photo 2. System indicating lights and door armed switch (indicated by white arrow) in the On position

Photo 3 - Left bomb door open

Photo 3.  Left bomb door open

Prior to scooping, the bomb door armed switch on the centre panel must be selected OFF to prevent the inadvertent activation of the bomb door open operation if the bomb door push button switch is pressed. The armed switch should be ON only after the scooping operation is complete and the floats have cleared the water surface. After the occurrence, when the position of the centre panel switches were examined, the door armed switch was found in the ON position.

On initial examination of the aircraft, the right bomb doors were found in the extended position. The left bomb doors were closed, but there were indications of damage where the trailing edge of the doors and the float interface. When the aircraft was raised to an upright position, both sets of left bomb doors free fell to the extended position. The probes were fully extended.

On initial examination of the aircraft, the right bomb doors were found in the extended position. The left bomb doors were closed, but there were indications of damage where the trailing edge of the doors and the float interface. When the aircraft was raised to an upright position, both sets of left bomb doors free fell to the extended position. The probes were fully extended.

The DHC-6 Standard Operating Procedures (SOP), Pre-Water Pick-up procedures, state that the pilot will complete the Vital Action checklist and a short final gear and bomb door status check prior to each scooping operation. One of the Vital Action checks is to select the bomb door arming switch OFF. The last check on the list is a short-final, visual gear check.

The DHC-6 SOP section for Pre-Water Pick-up emphasizes the importance of completing the Vital Action checklist and Short-Final checks. There is a warning to pilots not to abbreviate the checklists in order to minimize the turn around time during the scooping operation. It further states that it is the pilot's responsibility to ensure that sufficient time and space are provided to complete all required checks.

The pilot held a valid airline transport pilot licence. He had accumulated a total flying time of approximately 22 000 hours, with 8500 hours on type. The pilot recently completed a Twin Otter pilot recurrent course, the sea survival and underwater escape training course, and the DHC-6 amphibious water bomber competency test. He was familiar with the firefighting operations and this type of aircraft from previous employment with the MNR.

Weather information was obtained from two different locations. Geraldton, Ontario, located approximately 135 miles west of Hornepayne, was reporting a mostly-cloudy sky condition, 15 miles visibility, and wind at 18 to 20 miles per hour. Kapuskasing, located approximately the same distance east of Hornepayne, was reporting an overcast sky condition, 15 miles visibility, and wind at 9 miles per hour.

Analysis

The environmental conditions at the time of the accident were favourable for the type of operation being conducted. The pilot was experienced and current on the type of aircraft and he was familiar with the operation.

Photo 4 - Bomb doors open (float upside down)

Photo 4. Bomb doors open (float upside down)

During the approach, the Vital Action checklist was not completed as per the SOPs, and the bomb door armed switch was left in the ON position. After completing the scooping operation, the pilot intended to retract the probes by pressing the probe switch but inadvertently pressed the adjacent bomb door switch. Since this system remained armed from the previous bombing run, the doors extended into the water. The drag from the doors and the water rushing into the floats through the door openings resulted in the aircraft nosing over. The proximity of the probe and bomb door push button switches and the missing cover plate on the bomb door switch increased the likelihood of selecting the bomb door switch instead of the probe switch.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. Ministry of Natural Resources DHC-6 SOPs were not followed, and the Vital Action checklist was not fully completed during the approach. As a result, the bomb door armed switch on the centre panel was not selected OFF after the previous water bombing run and prior to the scooping operation.
  2. After completing the water scooping operation, the pilot unintentionally selected the bomb door push button switch instead of the adjacent probe switch. Because the bomb door armed switch on the centre panel was left ON, the bomb doors extended into the water. Drag from the doors and the water rushing into the door openings resulted in the aircraft nosing over in the water.
  3. The hinged cover plate for the bomb door push button switch was not re-installed following maintenance to replace the push button switch. The push button was exposed, making an inadvertent selection more likely.

Safety Action

The MNR has verified that every Twin Otter aircraft in their fleet is equipped with the cover plate over the bomb door push button switch. The MNR will ensure that any future modifications to aircraft will be standardized to decrease the potential for inadvertent operation of systems.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 14 April 2004.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A03O0135

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique
Perte de maîtrise sur l'eau
du de Havilland DHC-6-300 (amphibie) C-GOGC
exploité par le ministère des Richesses naturelles
au lac Wicksteed (Ontario)
le 5 juin 2003

Résumé

L'avion amphibie de Havilland DHC-6-300, immatriculé C-GOGC et portant le numéro de série 750, participe avec un seul pilote à bord à des opérations de lutte contre les incendies dans les environs du lac Wicksteed, soit à environ 10 milles marins au nord de Hornepayne (Ontario). L'avion effectue de l'écopage à partir du lac Wicksteed afin de combattre un incendie qui fait rage tout près. Le lac est d'une longueur d'environ 7 300 pieds, et le relief s'élève doucement autour de ses rives. Il s'agit du troisième écopage à partir du lac, et l'approche est exécutée vers l'est dans des vents légers. Le pilote effectue les vérifications à l'arrivée, sort les écopes afin de commencer le remplissage des flotteurs-réservoirs et touche le plan d'eau. Peu de temps après, il voit de l'eau qui est projetée les évents de trop-plein situés sur le dessus des flotteurs, indiquant que les réservoirs sont pleins. Il appuie sur un bouton se trouvant sur le manche pilote afin de rentrer les écopes, et l'avion pique immédiatement du nez dans l'eau, les ailes à l'horizontale, puis commence à couler. L'accident se produit vers 18 h, heure avancée de l'Est.

Le pilote se dégage de l'avion et s'agrippe au côté de l'avion partiellement submergé. Un témoin de l'accident saute immédiatement dans une embarcation motorisée en aluminium et porte secours au pilote, tandis qu'un second témoin se rend à Hornepayne afin d'alerter les autorités et les services d'urgence. Dès que le pilote regagne la rive, il est amené dans un chalet qui se trouve tout près, où il demeure jusqu'à l'arrivée des services d'urgence. L'avion se dépose sur le dos au fond du lac peu profond, les flotteurs dépassant au-dessus de l'eau.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le ministère des Richesses naturelles exploite cinq appareils de Havilland DHC-6 Twin Otter dans le cadre d'opérations de lutte contre les incendies. Les avions sont équipés de flotteurs amphibies Wipline 13000 auxquels on a ajouté des réservoirs de rétention et des écopes. Lorsqu'elles sont sorties, les écopes, situées sous les flotteurs, servent au remplissage des réservoirs d'eau. Les trappes de largage (deux sur chaque flotteur) et les écopes sont commandées par un circuit électrohydraulique dont la pression et le liquide proviennent du circuit hydraulique de l'avion. Elles sont actionnées à l'aide de deux boutons-poussoirs situés côte à côte sur le manche gauche. Afin de prévenir toute ouverture involontaire des trappes de largage, les boutons-poussoirs de ces dernières sont munis d'un cache à charnière qui doit être relevé pour y avoir accès. Le système des trappes comprend aussi un interrupteur d'armement de celles-ci, situé sur le tableau central, qui doit être placé sur « ON » pour que le système fonctionne.

La position des trappes et des écopes est indiquée par l'entremise de six voyants verts situés sur le tableau central. Lorsque les six voyants sont allumés, les trappes de largage sont fermées, les écopes sont rangées et les vérins des trappes sont entièrement rentrés. Il y a un voyant jaune, également situé sur le tableau central avec les voyants verts. Lorsque le voyant jaune est allumé, l'interrupteur d'armement des trappes est réglé sur « ON ». Un autre voyant jaune situé sur le tableau directement devant le pilote s'allume si les trappes sont ouvertes ou si les écopes sont sorties. Un voyant rouge situé directement au-dessus du voyant jaune s'allume et fait retentir une alarme si les trappes de largage s'ouvrent sans que leur ouverture ait été commandée.

Le système de largage d'eau comprend un levier de largage qui, en cas d'urgence, permet à l'eau d'être évacuée grâce à la capacité mécanique des trappes de s'ouvrir par gravité. Une pompe hydraulique manuelle permet d'ouvrir les trappes si la pompe électrohydraulique tombe en panne.

Photo 1 - Boutons-poussoirs destrappes de largage et des écopes situés sur le manche pilote de l'avion

Photo 1.  Boutons-poussoirs destrappes de largage et des écopes situés sur le manche pilote de l'avion

Au centre du tableau central se trouve un commutateur à bascule qui commande les écopes. À la demande des équipages, un bouton-poussoir pour les écopes a été ajouté au manche. Une fois la modification incorporée, les écopes pouvaient être commandées par l'entremise du bouton-poussoir installé juste à côté du bouton-poussoir commandant les trappes de largage sur le manche (photo 1). Les pilotes étaient alors en mesure de commander les trappes et les écopes en déplaçant leur pouce d'un bouton à l'autre tout en ayant les deux mains sur le manche. La taille et le type des boutons-poussoirs des trappes de largage et des écopes sont similaires.

Le bouton-poussoir des trappes de largage de C-GOGC n'était pas équipé d'un cache à charnière. Selon ce qui a été rapporté, le bouton-poussoir d'origine était devenu défectueux et il avait été remplacé; toutefois, le cache à charnière n'avait pas été reposé. Au cours de l'enquête, un second Twin Otter du ministère des Richesses naturelles a été dépêché à Hornepayne, et on a pu observer que le bouton-poussoir des trappes de largage était muni d'un cache à charnière. Au cours d'une opération d'écopage, le pilote appuie sur le bouton-poussoir des écopes afin de sortir ces dernières. Après le toucher des flotteurs, on augmente la puissance des moteurs et on tire sur le manche afin de maintenir l'assiette de déjaugeage pendant le remplissage des réservoirs. Lorsque les réservoirs sont pleins, on enfonce le bouton-poussoir une seconde fois pour faire rentrer les écopes. Après le déjaugeage et lorsque l'avion atteint un angle de montée franc, on place sur « ON » l'interrupteur d'armement des trappes de largage, lequel est situé sur le tableau central. Les trappes de largage peuvent alors être ouvertes à l'aide du bouton-poussoir situé sur le manche pilote.

Photo 2 - Voyant d'indication du système et interrupteur d'armement des trappes de largage (flèche blanche) en position ON

Photo 2.  Voyant d'indication du système et interrupteur d'armement des trappes de largage (flèche blanche) en position « ON »

Photo 3 - Trappe de largage gauche ouverte

Photo 3.  Trappe de largage gauche ouverte

Avant l'écopage, il faut régler sur « OFF » l'interrupteur d'armement des trappes de largage situé sur le tableau central afin de prévenir l'ouverture accidentelle des trappes si jamais on appuyait sur le bouton-poussoir de celles-ci. L'interrupteur d'armement doit se trouver sur « ON » uniquement après la fin de l'opération d'écopage et après que les flotteurs ont quitté la surface de l'eau. Après l'accident, lors de l'examen de la position des interrupteurs du tableau central, l'interrupteur d'armement des trappes de largage a été retrouvé sur « ON ».

Au cours de l'examen initial de l'avion, on a constaté que les trappes de largage de droite étaient ouvertes. Les trappes de largage de gauche étaient fermées, mais on pouvait constater des dommages là où le bord de fuite des trappes et les flotteurs se rejoignent. Lorsque l'avion a été remis à l'endroit, les deux ensembles de trappes de largage se sont ouverts librement par gravité. Les écopes étaient entièrement sorties.

Les procédures d'utilisation normalisées du DHC-6 relatives aux procédures précédant l'écopage stipulent que le pilote doit passer en revue la liste de vérifications intitulée Actions vitales et procéder à une vérification en courte finale de l'état du train d'atterrissage et des trappes de largage avant chaque opération d'écopage. L'une des vérifications relatives aux actions vitales consiste à placer l'interrupteur d'armement des trappes de largage en position « OFF ». Le dernier point de la liste est une vérification visuelle du train en courte finale.

La section relative aux procédures précédant l'écopage figurant dans les procédures d'utilisation normalisées du DHC-6 souligne l'importance de passer en revue la liste de vérifications intitulée Action vitales et de procéder aux vérifications en courte finale. On lance aussi un avertissement au pilote de ne pas abréger la liste de vérifications dans le but de réduire au minimum le temps sur l'eau pendant les opérations d'écopage. Les procédures soulignent également qu'il revient au pilote de s'assurer qu'il dispose de suffisamment de temps et d'espace pour procéder à toutes les vérifications requises.

Le pilote était titulaire d'une licence de pilote de ligne valide. Il cumulait environ 22 000 heures de vol, dont 8500 sur type. Le pilote avait récemment suivi une formation périodique sur Twin Otter, un cours de survie en mer et de formation aux évacuations sous l'eau et il avait subi le test de compétence sur bombardier à eau amphibie DHC-6. Il connaissait bien les opérations de lutte contre les incendies et le type d'avion en question grâce à un emploi qu'il occupait auparavant au sein du ministère des Richesses naturelles.

Les renseignements relatifs aux conditions météorologiques ont été obtenus de deux endroits différents. Geraldton (Ontario), située à environ 135 milles à l'ouest de Hornepayne, signalait un ciel généralement nuageux, une visibilité de 15 milles et un vent soufflant entre 18 et 20 milles à l'heure. Kapuskasing, situé à environ la même distance mais à l'est de Hornepayne, signalait un ciel couvert, une visibilité de 15 milles et un vent soufflant à 9 milles à l'heure.

Analyse

Les conditions météorologiques au moment de l'accident se prêtaient au type d'opération exécutée. Le pilote était expérimenté, ses connaissances relatives à l'avion étaient à jour et il connaissait bien la nature de l'opération.

Photo 4 - Trappes de largage ouvertes (flotteurs à l'envers)

Photo 4.  Trappes de largage ouvertes (flotteurs à l'envers)

Au cours de l'approche, la liste de vérifications Actions vitales n'a pas été passée en revue comme l'exigent les procédures d'utilisation normalisées, et l'interrupteur d'armement des trappes de largage a été laissé en position « ON ». Après l'opération d'écopage, le pilote a voulu commander la rentrée des écopes en appuyant sur le bouton-poussoir des écopes, mais il a plutôt appuyé par mégarde sur le bouton-poussoir des trappes de largage qui se trouvait à proximité. Puisque le système était demeuré armé depuis le dernier largage, les trappes se sont ouvertes dans l'eau. La traînée occasionnée par les trappes et par l'eau qui s'engouffrait dans les flotteurs par les trappes a fait piquer l'avion du nez. La proximité des boutons-poussoirs des écopes et des trappes de largage ainsi que l'absence de cache ont augmenté le risque que se produise une erreur de sélection entre le bouton-poussoir des trappes de largage et celui des écopes.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Les procédures d'utilisation normalisées du DHC-6 du ministère des Richesses naturelles n'ont pas été respectées, et la liste de vérifications intitulée Actions vitales n'a pas été passée en revue en entier pendant l'approche. Par conséquent, l'interrupteur d'armement des trappes de largage du tableau central n'a pas été placé en position « OFF » après le largage d'eau précédent et avant l'opération d'écopage.
  2. Après avoir terminé l'opération d'écopage, le pilote a appuyé par mégarde sur le bouton-poussoir des trappes de largage au lieu du bouton-poussoir des écopes qui se trouvait à proximité. Puisque l'interrupteur d'armement des trappes de largage était demeuré en position « ON », les trappes se sont ouvertes dans l'eau. La traînée occasionnée par les trappes et par l'eau qui s'engouffrait dans les flotteurs par les trappes a fait piquer l'avion du nez dans l'eau.
  3. Le cache à charnière du bouton-poussoir des trappes de largage n'avait pas été reposé après les travaux de maintenance visant à remplacer le bouton-poussoir. Ce dernier n'était plus protégé, ce qui augmentait les risques d'un actionnement intempestif.

Mesures de sécurité

Le ministère des Richesses naturelles a vérifié tous les Twin Otter de sa flotte afin de s'assurer que chacun des boutons-poussoirs des trappes de largage était bien équipé d'un cache. Le ministère des Richesses naturelles s'assurera à l'avenir de l'uniformisation de toutes les modifications apportées aux avions afin de réduire les risques d'actionnement intempestif des systèmes.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 14 avril 2004.