Aviation Investigation Report A03P0136

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Engine Power Loss - Hard Landing and Rollover
Cariboo Chilcotin Helicopters Ltd.
Bell 206B C-GPOS
Ward Creek, British Columbia
06 June 2003

Summary

The Bell 206 helicopter, serial number 845, registration C-GPOS, with one pilot and two forestry workers aboard, was hovering approximately 150 feet above a forestry cut block, about 4000 feet above sea level. It was about 0600 Pacific daylight time, the sky was clear, the winds were light and variable, and the outside air temperature was about 14ºC. The crew were scanning for hot spots in the cut block when black smoke engulfed the cabin. The pilot turned the helicopter to the right, lowered the collective, and descended in an attempt to reach a road.

As he applied collective in a high flare to reduce the helicopter's rate of descent, the pilot sensed a deterioration of power by way of diminishing rotor rpm. He immediately "bottomed" the collective then raised it in the final stages of the emergency landing. The helicopter landed hard, nose down, short of the road, and the skid landing gear collapsed. The helicopter turned about 180 degrees and rolled onto its left side. The engine continued to run and was shut down by the pilot. The smoke was not apparent after the emergency landing and there was no post-impact fire. The pilot and the front seat passenger were trapped in the wreckage for a short time until the back seat passenger was able to assist them. The pilot suffered a back injury and both passengers suffered minor injuries. The helicopter was substantially damaged.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The wreckage was transported to the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) facility in Richmond, British Columbia, for examination. External inspection of the engine revealed no anomalies, and both the compressor and power turbine wheels rotated freely. The engine to main rotor transmission coupling was found separated and its grease had flung out, and one of the coupling boots was burnt. Close examination of the coupling indicated that it had been compressed and pulled apart. The main-rotor transmission area revealed damage consistent with the main-rotor transmission rocking fore and aft before deforming its mounting and coming to rest in a forward tilt of approximately 20 degrees. The fuel cell was intact and contained about 500 pounds of fuel. The fuel valve was selected off, and the throttle was in the closed position.

The landing gear skid tubes and forward cross tube were broken and the cross tubes had rotated aft and up. There were marks where the after-market step attached to the cross tubes had come up against the pilot's door, preventing it from opening. Bell 206 series helicopters are not normally equipped with doors or windows that have emergency release systems, and this helicopter had none. The bottom of the pilot's seat was deformed slightly, but not enough to allow contact with the seat support honeycomb plate.

Photo 1 - Sulfidation of number 1 GP turbine

Photo 1.  Sulfidation of number 1 GP turbine

During the examination of the engine, it was installed in an approved engine test facility where a full test was attempted; however, the engine vibrated excessively and the test was aborted. Some smoke was evident during the spool down of the engine. The engine was then disassembled for inspection. Of the 38 blades on the number 1 gas producer (GP) turbine,29 were damaged significantly. One was broken off close to its root, and most of the others were missing pieces. Examination of the remaining fracture surface of the blade that broke close to its root showed indications of a progressive failure (fatigue crack). The other fracture surfaces showed failure by overload. More detailed examination of the GP turbine blades showed extensive sulfidation corrosion1 (see Photo 1). The blade surfaces were flaking and there were fatigue cracks in many of the blades. The turbine first-stage nozzle labyrinth seal was damaged and the outer fibreglass packing was partially missing. There was soot at the joint between the turbine nozzle and number 1 GP turbine and thick, black, wet soot around the labyrinth seal and on the turbine coupling.

Engine compressor washing is recommended in corrosive and dirty environments. It is also prescribed when engine performance has depreciated, as noted from power assurance checks. However, there has been concern that some tap water can in itself be corrosive. Operators rarely do compressor washes when their helicopters are operating away from a salt environment. They will wash compressors when they can see dirt building up at the air intake, or when an engine is performing below specifications. It is not clear if compressor washing effectively cleans the GP turbine wheel.

On 10 February 2000, Rolls-Royce Allison issued a Commercial Service Letter, Hot Corrosion-Sulfidation, describing hot corrosion (sulfidation) and suggesting that operators look for it. However, no periodic maintenance inspection was directed by Transport Canada (TC) and none was implemented by the operator with regard to sulfidation corrosion.

A review of the helicopter's log books and maintenance documentation revealed that the helicopter was maintained in accordance with the standards approved by TC, and that there was no requirement for the company to comply with the manufacturer's recommendations regarding maintenance. The GP turbine had reached 1374.4 hours since new, which is 400.6 hours before reaching its time for replacement. Documented engine power assurance checks, after the turbine was installed, show the engine to be performing above specifications. However, there were no power assurance checks documented just before the accident, and there were no compressor washes documented, nor were either required by regulation. During the time this turbine was installed, this helicopter operated primarily in what is perceived to be a non-corrosive environment (dry, sparsely populated, inland, etc.) However, sulfidation can be triggered by corrosive substances found in most environments, such as smoke. The number 1 GP turbine wheel had been installed with about 200 hours of previous use in an unknown environment.

Operating a single-engine helicopter at 150 feet above ground at a slow airspeed or hovering compromises the pilot's ability to complete an emergency landing successfully in the event of an engine power loss. The helicopter flight manual includes a height /velocity chart that documents this risk. The risk is enhanced by increased helicopter gross weight and high density altitude. At the time of the accident, the helicopter was being operated at a density altitude of approximately 4500 feet and at a gross weight of approximately 3000 pounds, within the limitations set out by the manufacturer. The maximum gross weight of the helicopter is 3200 pounds.

The pilot's experience on the helicopter type was extensive. His training and certifications were current and appropriate for the operation.

Analysis

The investigation first focussed on the failure of the input drive coupling between the engine and the main-rotor transmission. Close examination of the coupling indicated that it had been compressed and pulled apart. The extent of transmission and/or engine movement to facilitate this disconnect was not possible under any flight conditions. Furthermore, damage from the hard landing showed that the main rotor transmission rocked fore and aft, deformed its mounts, and allowed the transmission to tilt forward enough to pull the coupling apart. It was, therefore, concluded that all of the damage to the helicopter, excluding the engine, was the result of the hard landing and rollover. The following analysis focuses on the engine.

The vibrations experienced when the engine was run in the test facility were extreme enough that they would have been detected by the pilot had they been present before the occurrence. Also, because the engine did not appear to suffer any damage from the hard landing, it was concluded that the imbalance occurred at about the time the smoke came into the cabin. This imbalance was determined to have been caused by the separation of parts of the GP turbine blades.

There were no periodic power checks carried out, or required, by the operator to detect a power loss, nor maintenance inspections required by the manufacturer or the operator for sulfidation corrosion. It is suggested that either power checks or maintenance inspections would have led to the discovery of the corroded turbine components. The identified sulfidation weakened the GP turbine blades, fatigue cracks occurred on many of the blades, and one of the blades separated. Parts of other GP turbine blades broke off and engine power was lost.

The loss of the blade and other blade sections caused an imbalance, which then likely resulted in damage to the turbine seals. It is likely that the seal damage allowed the release of oil onto hot engine areas, resulting in the soot in the turbine at the joint between the turbine nozzle and the number 1 GP turbine and the smoke in the cabin. Another scenario is that the smoke came from the burnt boot for the input drive coupling. This scenario, however, is not supported by the information gathered during the investigation, which clearly indicates that the coupling failed during the hard landing.

The pilot reacted immediately to the smoke by lowering the collective. The helicopter was operating in a hover, about 150 feet above the ground at a relatively high density altitude, and at a weight near the maximum allowable. Regardless of the reason for the smoke or when power was lost, a successful landing with reduced power was unlikely. As the pilot tried to arrest the helicopter's descent, rotor rpm decayed, and not enough thrust was available to cushion the landing.

When the landing gear skid tubes and forward cross tube broke, the cross tubes rotated aft and up. The after-market step that was attached to the cross tubes came up against the pilot door and the rotated cross tubes caused the step to be jammed against the door, preventing it from opening normally, and there was no emergency release system for the doors or windows. Because the helicopter was on its side, the other door was not usable, and the pilot and front passenger were trapped inside the helicopter.

The following TSB Engineering Laboratory report was completed:

  • LP 037/04 - Gas Producer Wheel, Bell Helicopter 206B, C-GPOS

This report is available from the Transportation Safety Board of Canada upon request.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. Periodic power checks or inspections for sulfidation corrosion, which most likely would also have detected a power loss and the corroded turbine components, were not undertaken, nor were they required.
  2. A blade in the number 1 GP turbine failed as a result of fatigue, which resulted from sulfidation corrosion; the engine lost power as a result of the blade failure.
  3. The helicopter was operating in a high hover when the engine lost power. The ensuing forced landing was hard, the landing gear broke, and the helicopter rolled over.

Findings as to Risk

  1. The after-market step that was attached to the landing gear cross tubes blocked the pilot's door and trapped the pilot and passenger in the wreckage.
  2. Bell 206 series helicopters are not normally equipped with doors or windows that have emergency release systems.

Safety Action Taken

On 18 July 2003, the TSB sent a Safety Information Letter to TC, with copies to Bell Helicopter Textron; Aeronautical Accessories, Inc.; British Columbia Forest Service; and Cariboo Chilcotin Helicopters Ltd. The letter described the conditions that resulted in the pilot's door being blocked by the after-market step. This information was provided to TC, to take whatever action it deemed necessary.

On 03 October 2003, the TSB sent a Safety Advisory (A030018) to TC, with copies to Rolls-Royce, Bell Helicopter Textron, and Cariboo Chilcotin Helicopters Ltd., drawing attention to the predominant cause for the engine power loss - sulfidation corrosion. Because periodic inspections are not required, the risk of this corrosion going undetected in other aircraft powered by Rolls-Royce 250 engines remains. The letter stated that TC may wish to consider whether periodic inspections should be carried out to help detect damage caused by sulfidation corrosion.

TC responded to the Safety Advisory on 05 February 2004, suggesting that in the absence of data substantiating the need for scheduled washings of the compressor (and turbine) blades, the introduction of such a schedule is deemed unnecessary. The response also stated that although there was evidence of sulfidation found on the failed turbine, it is not linked directly to the cause of failure of the blades. In the absence of such a link, TC deemed it appropriate to continue to rely on visual inspection and performance runs as the means for limiting the effects of turbine blade sulfidation.

Subsequent to TC's first response, the TSB Engineering Branch conducted a further examination and testing, and documented its findings in report LP 037/04. On reading that report, TC provided a second response, dated 15 April 2004, in which it concluded that sulfidation was indeed the process by which the turbine blades deteriorated and eventually failed due to fatigue. TC will recommend to the engine manufacturer that an inspection for sulfidation on the turbine blades of this engine be implemented, and that this recommendation will be tracked in TC's Civil Aviation database.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 21 July 2004.


1. Sulfidation corrosion is hot corrosion of airfoil material aggravated by a deposition of contaminants, particularly sea salts.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A03P0136

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de puissance moteur, atterrissage dur et capotage
du Bell 206B C-GPOS
exploité par Cariboo-Chilcotin Helicopters Ltd.
à Ward Creek (Colombie-Britannique)
le 6 juin 2003

Résumé

L'hélicoptère Bell 206 portant le numéro de série 845 et immatriculé C-GPOS, ayant à son bord un pilote et deux travailleurs forestiers, vole en stationnaire à quelque 150 pieds au-dessus d'une zone de coupe forestière située à environ 4000 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer. Il est environ 6 h, heure avancée du Pacifique, le ciel est dégagé, le vent est faible et de direction variable, et la température extérieure est de 14 ºC. L'équipage cherche des yeux des points névralgiques dans la zone de coupe lorsque de la fumée noire envahit la cabine. Le pilote vire à droite, abaisse le collectif et descend pour tenter de se poser sur un chemin.

Pendant un arrondi loin du sol, lorsque le pilote met du collectif pour réduire le taux de descente de l'hélicoptère, il sent une réduction de la puissance sous la forme d'une diminution du régime rotor. Il abaisse immédiatement le collectif « à fond », puis le relève dans les derniers instants de l'atterrissage d'urgence. L'hélicoptère effectue un atterrissage dur et pique du nez avant d'avoir pu atteindre le chemin, et son train d'atterrissage à patins s'affaisse. L'hélicoptère pivote de quelque 180º et verse sur le côté droit. Le moteur continuant de tourner, le pilote l'arrête. Après l'atterrissage d'urgence, la fumée n'est pas apparente et aucun incendie après impact ne se déclare. Le pilote ainsi que le passager assis en place avant restent coincés à l'intérieur de l'épave pendant une courte période, jusqu'à ce que le passager assis en place arrière soit en mesure de les aider. Le pilote est blessé au dos et les deux passagers subissent des blessures mineures. L'hélicoptère est lourdement endommagé.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

L'épave a été transportée à l'installation du Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) de Richmond (Colombie-Britannique) pour y être examinée. L'inspection extérieure du moteur n'a révélé la présence d'aucune anomalie, et les roues du compresseur et de la turbine de puissance tournaient librement toutes les deux. L'accouplement entre le moteur et la transmission du rotor principal a été retrouvé séparé et dépourvu de sa graisse, et l'une des gaines de l'accouplement était brûlée. Une inspection détaillée de l'accouplement a permis d'établir que ce dernier avait été comprimé et qu'il s'était rompu par étirement. La région de la transmission du rotor principal comportait des dommages qui avaient été causés par le balancement vers l'avant et vers l'arrière de la transmission du rotor principal, laquelle avait déformé son support et s'était immobilisée avec une inclinaison vers l'avant de quelque 20º. Le réservoir souple de carburant était intact et il contenait quelque 500 livres de carburant. Le robinet de carburant était fermé et la manette des gaz se trouvait à la position coupée.

Les tubes des patins du train d'atterrissage et la traverse tubulaire avant étaient rompus, et les traverses tubulaires avaient pivoté vers l'arrière et vers le haut. Il y avait des marques là où la marche rajoutée fixée aux traverses tubulaires avait remonté contre la porte du pilote et empêchait cette dernière d'ouvrir. Les hélicoptères Bell 206 ne sont habituellement pas équipés de portes ou de fenêtres munies d'un système de déverrouillage de secours, et l'hélicoptère en cause dans cet accident ne l'était pas non plus. Le fond du siège du pilote a été légèrement déformé, mais pas assez pour permettre le contact avec la plaque en nid d'abeilles du support du siège.

Photo 1 - Sulfidation de la turbine du générateur de gaz numéro 1

Photo 1.  Sulfidation de la turbine du générateur de gaz numéro 1

Au cours de l'examen, le moteur a été monté sur un dispositif homologué d'essais moteur où on a tenté d'effectuer des essais complets, lesquels ont été interrompus parce que le moteur vibrait trop. Il y a eu un dégagement visible de fumée au cours de la décélération du moteur. On a ensuite démonté ce dernier aux fins d'inspection. Des 38 aubes mobiles de la turbine du générateur de gaz numéro 1, 29 avaient subi des dommages importants. L'une s'était rompue près de son emplanture, et des morceaux manquaient à la plupart des autres. L'inspection de la surface de fracture du reste de l'aube qui s'était rompue près de l'emplanture a permis de découvrir des signes de rupture progressive (crique de fatigue). Les autres surfaces de fracture présentaient des signes de surcharge. Une inspection plus détaillée des aubes mobiles de la turbine du générateur de gaz a permis de découvrir la présence de signes importants de corrosion par sulfuration1 (photo 1). Les surfaces des ces aubes étaient écaillées et de nombreuses aubes présentaient des criques de fatigue. Le joint labyrinthe du distributeur du premier étage de la turbine avait été endommagé et une partie de la garniture externe en fibre de verre manquait. Il y avait de la suie au joint situé entre le distributeur de la turbine et la turbine du générateur de gaz numéro 1 ainsi qu'une épaisse couche de suie humide noire autour du joint labyrinthe et sur l'accouplement de la turbine.

Le 10 février 2000, Rolls-Royce Allison avait publié une lettre de service commercial intitulée Hot Corrosion Sulfidation (corrosion thermique par sulfuration) qui décrivait la corrosion thermique (sulfuration) et suggérait aux exploitants d'en vérifier la présence. Cependant, aucune inspection de maintenance périodique n'a été imposée par Transports Canada ni mise en oeuvre par l'exploitant pour déceler des signes de corrosion par sulfuration.

On recommande le lavage du compresseur du moteur dans les environnements corrosifs et salissants. Le lavage est également prescrit lorsque les vérifications de puissance montrent une diminution des performances du moteur. On est cependant préoccupé par le fait que l'eau du robinet peut elle-même être corrosive. Les exploitants lavent rarement les compresseurs lorsque leurs hélicoptères sont utilisés loin d'un environnement salin. Ils les lavent plutôt lorsqu'ils voient de la saleté s'accumuler à l'entrée d'air ou lorsque les performances d'un moteur sont inférieures à celles mentionnées dans les spécifications. Il n'est pas certain que le lavage du compresseur nettoie efficacement la roue de la turbine du générateur de gaz.

L'étude des carnets de vol et des documents de maintenance de l'hélicoptère a permis d'établir que ce dernier était entretenu conformément aux normes approuvées par Transports Canada et que l'entreprise n'était pas tenue de se conformer aux recommandations du constructeur en matière de maintenance. La turbine du générateur de gaz totalisait 1374,4 heures depuis sa mise en service initiale, ce qui signifie qu'elle pouvait encore être utilisée pendant 400,6 heures avant d'être remplacée. Une fois la turbine installée, des vérifications documentées de puissance du moteur avaient démontré que les performances du moteur étaient supérieures à celles mentionnées dans les spécifications. Cependant, aucune vérification documentée de puissance n'avait été effectuée juste avant l'accident et aucun lavage de compresseur n'avait été documenté, mesures que la réglementation n'exigeait pas non plus. Pendant la période où cette turbine a été installée, l'hélicoptère a été principalement exploité dans ce que l'on perçoit comme un environnement non corrosif (sec, à population clairsemée, dans les terres, etc.). Cependant, la sulfuration peut être déclenchée par des substances corrosives, comme de la fumée, que l'on trouve dans la plupart des environnements. La roue de la turbine du générateur de gaz numéro 1 avait été installée après avoir été utilisée pendant quelque 200 heures dans un environnement inconnu.

Piloter un hélicoptère monomoteur à 150 pieds au-dessus du sol à basse vitesse ou en stationnaire compromet la capacité du pilote à réussir un atterrissage d'urgence en cas de perte de puissance moteur. Le manuel de vol de l'hélicoptère renferme un tableau de l'altitude en fonction de la vitesse qui traite de ce risque, lequel augmente avec la masse totale de l'hélicoptère et l'altitude-densité. Au moment de l'accident, l'hélicoptère volait à une altitude-densité de quelque 4500 pieds et sa masse totale était de quelque 3000 livres, ce qui est dans les limites prescrites par le constructeur. La masse maximale totale de l'hélicoptère est de 3200 livres.

Le pilote possédait une grande expérience sur le type d'hélicoptère en cause dans cet accident. Sa formation et ses licences étaient à jour et lui permettaient d'effectuer le vol.

Analyse

L'enquête s'est d'abord concentrée sur la rupture de l'accouplement de l'arbre d'entraînement se trouvant entre le moteur et la transmission du rotor principal. L'inspection détaillée de cet accouplement a permis d'établir que ce dernier avait été comprimé et qu'il s'était rompu par étirement. Aucune condition de vol n'a pu permettre un déplacement de la transmission et/ou du moteur suffisant pour faciliter une telle rupture. De plus, d'après les dommages causés par l'atterrissage dur, la transmission du rotor principal avait oscillé vers l'avant et vers l'arrière avant de déformer son support et de s'incliner suffisamment vers l'avant pour provoquer la rupture par étirement de l'accouplement. On a donc conclu que tous les dommages qu'avait subis l'hélicoptère, sauf ceux causés au moteur, étaient dus à l'atterrissage dur et au capotage. L'analyse qui suit se concentre sur le moteur.

Les vibrations qui sont apparues pendant que le moteur tournait à l'installation d'essais étaient si intenses que le pilote les aurait décelées si elles s'étaient produites avant l'accident. De plus, comme le moteur ne semblait pas avoir été endommagé lors de l'atterrissage dur, on a conclu que le déséquilibre était apparu presque au moment où la fumée avait pénétré dans la cabine. Il a été établi que ce déséquilibre avait été provoqué par le détachement de morceaux d'aubes mobiles de la turbine du générateur de gaz.

L'exploitant n'avait effectué aucune vérification périodique de puissance pour déceler une perte de puissance, ni n'était tenu de le faire. Le constructeur et l'exploitant n'exigeaient pas non plus d'inspections de maintenance pour déceler des signes de corrosion par sulfuration. Tout semble indiquer que des vérifications de puissance ou des inspections de maintenance auraient permis de déceler les composants corrodés de la turbine. La sulfuration décelée a affaibli les aubes mobiles de la turbine du générateur de gaz, des criques de fatigue sont apparues sur beaucoup de ces aubes et l'une d'elles s'est rompue. Des morceaux d'autres aubes mobiles de la turbine du générateur de gaz se sont détachés, et il y a eu perte de puissance du moteur.

La perte de l'aube mobile et des autres parties d'aubes mobiles a provoqué un déséquilibre, lequel a, semble-t-il, causé par la suite des dommages aux joints de la turbine. Il est probable que les dommages causés aux joints ont provoqué un écoulement d'huile sur les parties chaudes du moteur, ce qui aurait causé l'introduction de suie dans la turbine, au niveau du joint se trouvant entre le distributeur de la turbine et la turbine du générateur de gaz numéro 1, et l'apparition de fumée dans la cabine. Un autre scénario veut que la fumée aurait été dégagée par la gaine brûlée de l'accouplement de l'arbre d'entraînement. Ce scénario n'est cependant pas étayé par les renseignements recueillis au cours de l'enquête, lesquels indiquent clairement que l'accouplement s'est rompu lors de l'atterrissage dur.

Lorsqu'il a aperçu la fumée, le pilote a immédiatement réagi en abaissant le collectif. L'hélicoptère volait en stationnaire à quelque 150 pieds au-dessus du sol, à une altitude-densité relativement élevée et à une masse presque égale à la masse maximale permise. Sans égard à la cause de la fumée ni au moment où il y a eu perte de puissance, il était peu probable qu'il réussisse à atterrir, compte tenu de la réduction de puissance. Pendant que le pilote tentait de stopper la descente de l'hélicoptère, le régime rotor a diminué et la poussée est devenue insuffisante pour amortir l'atterrissage.

Lorsque les tubes des patins du train d'atterrissage et la traverse tubulaire avant se sont rompus, les traverses tubulaires ont pivoté vers l'arrière et vers le haut. La marche rajoutée qui était fixée aux traverses tubulaires a alors remonté contre la porte du pilote et les traverses tubulaires qui avaient pivoté ont bloqué la marche contre la porte, ce qui empêchait l'ouverture normale de cette dernière; de plus, il n'y avait pas de système de déverrouillage de secours des portes et des fenêtres. Comme l'hélicoptère reposait sur son autre côté, il était impossible d'ouvrir l'autre porte, et le pilote ainsi que le passager qui était assis en place avant sont restés coincés à l'intérieur de l'hélicoptère.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 037/04 - Gas Producer Wheel, Bell Helicopter 206B, C-GPOS (Roue du générateur de gaz de l'hélicoptère Bell 206B C-GPOS)

On peut obtenir ce rapport en s'adressant au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Les vérifications périodiques de puissance ou les inspections visant à déceler les signes de corrosion par sulfuration, qui auraient fort probablement permis de déceler la perte de puissance et les composants corrodés de la turbine, n'ont pas été effectuées et elles n'étaient pas requises.
  2. Une aube mobile de la turbine du générateur de gaz numéro 1 s'est rompue en fatigue à cause d'une corrosion par sulfuration; la rupture de cette aube mobile a provoqué la perte de puissance du moteur.
  3. L'hélicoptère volait en stationnaire à une altitude élevée lorsqu'il y a eu perte de puissance du moteur. Cela a donné lieu à un atterrissage forcé dur, puis à la rupture du train d'atterrissage et au capotage de l'hélicoptère.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. La marche rajoutée qui était fixée aux traverses tubulaires du train d'atterrissage a bloqué la porte du pilote. Ce dernier est resté coincé à l'intérieur de l'épave, tout comme un passager.
  2. Les hélicoptères Bell 206 ne sont habituellement pas équipés de portes ou de fenêtres munis de systèmes de déverrouillage de secours.

Mesures de sécurité prises

Le 18 juillet 2003, le BST a envoyé à Transports Canada (TC) une lettre d'information sur la sécurité ainsi qu'une copie de cette lettre à Bell Helicopters Textron, à Aeronautical Accessories, aux services forestiers de la Colombie-Britannique et à Cariboo-Chilcotin Helicopters. Cette lettre décrivait les conditions qui ont fait que la porte du pilote a été bloquée par la marche rajoutée. Ces renseignements ont été fournis pour que TC prenne les mesures qu'il juge nécessaires.

Le 3 octobre 2003, le BST a envoyé à TC un avis de sécurité (A030018) ainsi qu'une copie de cet avis à Rolls-Royce, à Bell Helicopters et à Cariboo-Chilcotin Helicopters pour attirer leur attention sur la principale cause des pertes de puissance moteur, c'est-à-dire la corrosion par sulfuration. Comme aucune inspection périodique n'est exigée, le risque que ce type de corrosion ne soit pas décelé sur d'autres appareils équipés de moteurs Rolls-Royce 250 subsiste. La lettre mentionnait qu'il se pouvait que TC désire étudier la possibilité que des inspections périodiques soient effectuées pour aider à déceler les dommages dus à la corrosion par sulfuration.

Le 5 février 2004, TC a répondu à cet avis de sécurité en laissant entendre que, en raison de l'absence de données pour corroborer la nécessité d'un lavage périodique des aubes mobiles du compresseur (et de la turbine), l'introduction de tâches périodiques de lavage ne semblaient pas nécessaires. Sa réponse mentionnait de plus que, même si des traces de sulfuration avaient été décelées sur la turbine qui s'était rompue, celles-ci n'étaient pas directement liées à la cause de la rupture des aubes mobiles et qu'en raison de cette absence de liens directs de cause à effet, il était jugé approprié de continuer de se fier à l'inspection visuelle et aux essais de rendement pour limiter les effets de la sulfuration des aubes mobiles des turbines.

Après la première réponse de TC, le Laboratoire technique du BST a procédé à une autre inspection et à d'autres essais qui sont décrits dans le rapport LP 037/04. À la lecture de ce rapport, TC a fourni une deuxième réponse, en date du 15 avril 2004, laquelle concluait que la sulfuration était bien le processus par lequel les aubes mobiles de la turbine s'étaient détériorées et avaient fini par se rompre en fatigue. TC recommandera que le motoriste mette en oeuvre une inspection visant à déceler les signes de sulfuration sur les aubes mobiles de la turbine de ce type de moteur. Il recommandera aussi que la recommandation à cet effet fasse l'objet d'un suivi dans la base de données de l'Aviation civile de TC.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 21 juillet 2004.


1. La corrosion par sulfuration est une corrosion thermique des matériaux constituant les profils aérodynamiques qui est aggravée par le dépôt de contaminants, en particulier de sels marins.