Aviation Investigation Report A03P0199

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Collision with Terrain
Pacific Professional Visual Flight Training Ltd.
Cessna 172M C-GDPD
Approximately 24 nm NNW of
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
18 July 2003

Summary

The Cessna 172M (registration C-GDPD, serial number 17262636) departed Boundary Bay Airport, British Columbia at 1848 Pacific daylight time. There was a flight instructor, a student pilot, and an observer on board to conduct mountain flying training in the areas around Stave Lake and Harrison Lake. About one hour later, during a practice forced approach conducted west of Harrison Lake, the aircraft struck the ground and was destroyed. There was no fire. The two front seat occupants were seriously injured, and the rear seat occupant received minor injuries. An emergency locator transmitter signal was reported about three hours after the accident, and the aircraft was located about 24 nautical miles north-northwest of Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia. All three occupants were evacuated from the site by helicopter.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The student pilot, who was in the left front seat, held a valid Canadian private pilot licence and had accumulated 78 hours at the time of the accident. The instructor pilot, who was employed by Pacific Professional Visual Flight Training Ltd., held a valid Canadian commercial pilot licence endorsed with a Class 2 instructor rating and was in the right front seat. He had accumulated over 6000 hours, the majority as a flight instructor in Cessna 150 and 172 series aircraft. Both pilots were appropriately certified for the type of flight being conducted. A review of records revealed that the instructor's flight and duty times were in accordance with existing regulations. The rear seat occupant, who was training to become a flight instructor, was invited on the flight to observe the mountain flying instruction.

The student pilot carried out the pre-flight inspection of C-GDPD and calculated the aircraft's weight and balance. He also gathered the weather information and filed a visual flight rules (VFR) flight plan indicating that they would depart Boundary Bay Airport, British Columbia1 at 1800 Pacific daylight time,2 proceed northeast into the mountains, and return to Boundary Bay Airport at 2100. Nine imperial gallons of fuel were added to bring the total fuel on board to 38 imperial gallons, sufficient for the three-hour flight plus adequate reserve, and a ground briefing was conducted. The aircraft departed Boundary Bay Airport at 1848 and flew northeast along the flight-plan route into the mountains.

Two practice precautionary approaches were carried out at an abandoned airstrip at the north end of Stave Lake, and some minimum-radius (confined-area) turns were conducted in the same area. The aircraft continued on the flight-plan route and entered the Tretheway Creek valley, nine nautical miles (nm) south-southwest of Harrison Lake. While flying down the Tretheway Creek valley toward Harrison Lake, the instructor reduced the throttle to idle and suggested that the student perform a practice forced approach. The student conducted a 180-degree turn and established the aircraft on a descent toward a meadow-like area that they had overflown when they entered the Tretheway Creek valley. The aircraft descended until it was abeam of the selected landing site at a height significantly below 500 feet above ground level (agl); the exact height to which the aircraft descended was not determined. At that time, the instructor took control of the aircraft to conduct an overshoot. The instructor increased the throttle to full power, selected carburetor heat off, and fully retracted the flaps. Despite normal engine and flight control response, the aircraft continued to approach the rising terrain, and the instructor initiated an evasive left turn. During the turn, the aircraft struck the hillside, approximately 24 nm north-northwest of Harrison Hot Springs. Air traffic control radar and flight path calculations show that the accident occurred at about 1948.

The two front seat occupants were seriously injured. The rear seat occupant received minor injuries and was able to locate the first aid kit and assist the injured pilots. The survival kit and some of the occupants' personal effects, such as spare clothing, were ejected from the aircraft during the accident and could not be located due to the darkness and ground cover. All occupants were wearing lap belts, and both front seat occupants were wearing shoulder harnesses. The occupants moved the emergency locator transmitter (ELT) function switch from the AUTO position to the ON position shortly after the accident, and a signal was reported to the rescue coordination centre at 2230, approximately three hours after the accident. A night search was conducted and C-GDPD was located by a search aircraft at 0230 the following morning. Search and rescue located the accident site more readily because the aircraft had not deviated from its flight-planned route and because the occupants of the crashed aircraft directed a camera flash at the search aircraft.

The mountain peaks in the vicinity of the accident site vary in height between 6400 feet and 7400 feet above sea level (asl), and there was some snow at higher elevations, particularly on the north-facing slopes. The wreckage was located at approximately 2100 feet asl on a northwest-facing slope at the juncture of two U-shaped glacial valleys: Tretheway Creek valley and a slightly narrower, unnamed valley. The wreckage was situated about 1000 feet south and 300 feet above Tretheway Creek. The mountainside in the immediate area of the accident site was covered with low, light-green vegetation typically found in sub-alpine avalanche chutes; the predominant vegetation elsewhere in the area was dark, coniferous forest.

Photo 1 - Aerial photograph of crash site, facing southwest

Photo 1. Aerial photograph of crash site, facing southwest

During impact, the left wing, engine, firewall, and nose landing gear detached from the fuselage and the battery was ejected from the aircraft. Pieces of the left wingtip and navigation light were found embedded in the ground 130 feet west of the main wreckage and at approximately the same elevation. A series of impact marks and aircraft parts extended horizontally across the hillside between the wingtip pieces and the main wreckage. A section of propeller blade tip found near the beginning of the wreckage trail exhibited leading-edge damage, chordwise scratching, and torsional damage indicative of applied power. The propeller fractured 20 inches inboard from the tip; the cause was overload. The ELT remained attached to the aft fuselage wall via its mount, but the antenna connection and the function switch at the forward end of the ELT were damaged when the fuselage was crushed. Although a substantial amount of avgas and engine oil was spilled at the accident site, there was no fire.

The weather recorded at 2000 (12 minutes after the accident) at Abbotsford Airport, 190 feet asl and 35 nm south of the accident site, was as follows: a few clouds at 23 000 feet asl, visibility 30 statute miles, temperature 25.3ºC, wind 3 knots at 240º true, and altimeter 30.11. Using the standard lapse rate of 2ºC per 1000 feet of elevation, the outside air temperature at the accident site (2050 feet) would have been about 21ºC. Official sunset was at 2100.

Weight and balance calculations done during the investigation indicated that at take-off, the aircraft weighed approximately 2260 pounds, 40 pounds below its maximum gross weight of 2300 pounds, and was within its centre of gravity (C of G) limitations. At the time of the accident, the aircraft C of G was within allowable limits.

The Cessna model 172M Pilots Operating Handbook (POH) indicates that the best rate of climb for this aircraft at gross weight, flying at 2000 feet asl, with an outside air temperature of 20ºC is 535 feet per minute. The POH also states that, for the best angle of climb, the aircraft should be configured with the flaps retracted, throttle full in, carburetor heat off, and 64 knots indicated airspeed. These best rate-of-climb and best angle-of-climb figures are predicated on the assumption that the aircraft is flying in wings-level flight. In-flight manoeuvring, such as an aggressive turn, will sharply degrade the aircraft's climb performance.

Records show that the aircraft was serviced and maintained in accordance with existing directives. The maintenance log books contained no uncorrected deficiencies.

During the last segment of the flight path, just prior to the 180-degree turn, the aircraft was in sunlight, flying toward the setting sun. The accident site was in a large shadow region and had been for several hours prior to the accident. Although the pilots did not report downdrafts or katabatic wind (the local downward motion of cool air) during the flight, the cooling of air in shadowed areas, and the cooling of air above snow-covered surfaces are known causes of downdrafts in mountainous areas.

Pacific Professional Visual Flight Training Ltd. has verbal guidelines for all instructors who instruct in the mountains, and the Chief Flying Instructor (CFI) offers advice to these instructors on a one-on-one basis. Guidelines can vary from pilot to pilot, based on the CFI's assessment of the instructor. The company states that their minimum safe altitude in mountainous regions is at least 1000 feet above the valley floor. Furthermore, their minimum safe altitude on low level flights in canyons is at least 2000 feet when downdrafts are expected. As well, the CFI also suggests to the instructors that simulated forced approaches in the mountains be initiated only when safe and conducted so as to lose 200 to 300 feet of altitude before terminating the exercise. The company deems this loss of altitude sufficient for the instructor to assess the reaction of the student pilot in that simulated emergency.

The accident instructor used written sheets as an aide-memoire when conducting mountain-flying checkout flights, and they were found in the cockpit wreckage after the accident. The instructor had personally compiled these sheets while employed by a different flying school. These sheets included pertinent notes concerning precautionary approaches, minimum-radius (confined-area) turns, forced approaches, terrain rising more quickly than the aircraft's ability to climb, and visual perception in varying light conditions. Under the subject heading of "Valley Rising Steeper Than A/C Performance" the instructor's notes caution that, following an engine failure, the aircraft should be glided down the valley to lower terrain. On the accident flight, the instructor briefed and demonstrated many of the items on the mountain flying checkout sheets, including confined-area turns and precautionary approaches, but did not brief on or demonstrate in-flight practice forced approaches.

The student's previous forced-approach training had been conducted with other Pacific Professional Visual Flight Training Ltd. instructors and had been conducted over non-mountainous terrain. During that training, the student maintained the aircraft in a descent until the instructor called for an overshoot; this typically occurred when the aircraft reached about 500 feet agl.

Analysis

The aircraft was within weight and balance limits, and there was sufficient fuel on board for the flight. No mechanical malfunction was reported or found that would have resulted in engine power loss or a loss of flight control. The damage to the propeller indicates that the engine was likely developing significant power at impact. Damage to the aircraft and the length and direction of the debris trail indicate that the aircraft was in controlled flight until impact; it does not appear that the aircraft stalled before striking the ground. The absence of a post-crash fire is likely due in part to the aircraft battery being ejected from the aircraft during the breakup sequence, thus preventing an electrical spark from igniting the fuel.

During forced-approach training over non-mountainous terrain with other Pacific Professional Visual Flight Training Ltd. instructors, the student would continue the aircraft's descent until the instructor called for an overshoot. As no briefing was given regarding the forced-approach technique to be used on the accident flight, the student conducted that forced approach in the same manner. While waiting for the instructor to call for an overshoot, the student continued the aircraft's descent to a height above ground much lower than the 500 feet agl overshoot height used during his previous forced-approach training. The exact height to which the aircraft descended before the overshoot was initiated was not determined. It is possible that the visual cues normally used to determine height above terrain were degraded because the accident site was in shadow and, unlike the surrounding areas, was not forested.

Although the instructor's mountain flying checkout sheets indicated that following an engine failure, the aircraft should be glided down the valley toward lower terrain, the instructor did not prevent the student from gliding the aircraft up the valley toward rising terrain after the throttle was retarded to simulate an engine failure.

The aircraft was configured for best angle of climb for the overshoot, and no mechanical problems were reported; however, the aircraft was unable to out-climb the terrain. The aircraft's climb performance was negatively affected by the high weight of the aircraft, the altitude, and the outside air temperature. Climb performance would have been degraded further by the aggressive left turn after the instructor took control. It is possible that downdrafts, caused by the cooling of air in shadowed areas and by snow on the ground at higher elevations in the mountains, negatively affected the aircraft's climb performance.

The following TSB Engineering Laboratory report was completed:

  • LP 131/03 - Terrain Shadow Analysis

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The instructor did not brief the student on forced-approach procedures and allowed the student to continue the forced approach to a height from which the aircraft could not avoid rising terrain.
  2. The aircraft was near gross weight which, combined with the effects of altitude, outside air temperature, and aggressive manoeuvring, degraded the aircraft's ability to out-climb the terrain.

Other Findings

  1. Shadows and lack of visual cues, such as trees, in the area of the forced approach may have adversely affected the pilots' ability to estimate the aircraft's height above ground.
  2. The risk of a fuel-fed post-crash fire was significant; ejection of the aircraft's battery eliminated one potential ignition source.

Safety Action Taken

As a result of this accident, Pacific Professional Visual Flight Training Ltd. has made the following changes:

  1. Aircraft will no longer be dispatched into the mountains in the evening,
  2. Safe flying limits for mountainous terrain have been established.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 22 December 2004.


1. All locations are in British Columbia.

2. All times are Pacific daylight time (Coordinated Universal Time minus seven hours).

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A03P0199

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Collision avec le relief
du Cessna 172M C-GDPD
exploité par Pacific Professional Visual Flight Training Ltd.
à environ 24 nm au nord-nord-ouest
de Harrison Hot Springs (Colombie-Britannique)
le 18 juillet 2003

Résumé

À 18 h 48, heure avancée du Pacifique, le Cessna 172M (portant l'immatriculation C-GDPD et le numéro de série 17262636) décolle de l'aéroport de Boundary Bay (Colombie-Britannique). À son bord se trouvent un instructeur de pilotage, un élève-pilote et un observateur qui vont faire de la formation au vol en montagne dans les environs du lac Stave et du lac Harrison. Environ une heure plus tard, pendant un exercice d'approche forcée effectué à l'ouest du lac Harrison, l'appareil heurte le sol et est détruit. Aucun incendie ne se déclare. Les occupants des deux sièges avant sont grièvement blessés, et l'occupant du siège arrière subit de légères blessures. Environ trois heures après l'accident, on rapporte un signal de radiobalise de repérage d'urgence, ce qui permet de localiser l'appareil à quelque 24 milles marins au nord-nord-ouest de Harrison Hot Springs (Colombie-Britannique). Les trois occupants sont évacués des lieux par hélicoptère.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

L'élève-pilote, qui prenait place dans le siège avant gauche, était titulaire d'une licence canadienne de pilote privé valide et il totalisait 78 heures de vol au moment de l'accident. Le pilote instructeur, qui était un employé de Pacific Professional Visual Flight Training Ltd., était titulaire d'une licence canadienne de pilote professionnel valide annotée d'une qualification d'instructeur de classe 2, et il prenait place dans le siège avant droit. Il totalisait plus de 6000 heures de vol, dont la majorité en qualité d'instructeur de pilotage sur Cessna 150 et 172. Les pilotes possédaient tous les deux les licences et les qualifications nécessaires pour effectuer le vol. D'après les dossiers, les temps de service et de vol de l'instructeur étaient conformes à la réglementation en vigueur. L'occupant assis dans le siège arrière suivait une formation pour devenir instructeur de pilotage, et il avait été invité à prendre part au vol afin d'observer l'instruction propre au vol en montagne.

L'élève-pilote avait effectué l'inspection prévol du C-GDPD et en avait calculé la masse et le centrage. Il avait également recueilli les renseignements météorologiques et déposé un plan de vol selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR) indiquant que l'appareil décollerait de l'aéroport de Boundary Bay (Colombie-Britannique)1 à 18 h, heure avancée du Pacifique (HAP)2, qu'il se dirigerait au nord-est en direction des montagnes et qu'il reviendrait à l'aéroport de Boundary Bay à 21 h. L'ajout de 9 gallons impériaux de carburant avait porté la quantité totale de carburant à bord à 38 gallons impériaux, une quantité suffisante pour voler trois heures et offrir des réserves adéquates; par la suite, un exposé prévol avait eu lieu. Finalement, l'appareil a décollé de l'aéroport de Boundary Bay à 18 h 48 et s'est dirigé vers le nord-est, le long de la route prévue au plan de vol, en direction des montagnes.

Dans le cadre de l'exercice, on a effectué deux approches de précaution ainsi que des virages à rayon minimal (en zone confinée) aux abords d'une bande d'atterrissage abandonnée située à l'extrémité nord du lac Stave. L'appareil a continué à suivre la route qui figurait au plan de vol et il est entré dans la vallée du ruisseau Tretheway, à 9 milles marins (nm) au sud-sud-ouest du lac Harrison. En descendant dans la vallée du ruisseau Tretheway vers le lac Harrison, l'instructeur a ramené la manette des gaz au ralenti de vol et a proposé à l'élève d'effectuer un exercice d'approche forcée. L'élève a accompli un virage à 180 degrés avant de positionner l'appareil en descente vers une région qui ressemblait à un pré qu'il avait survolée en entrant dans la vallée du ruisseau Tretheway. L'appareil est descendu jusqu'à ce qu'il se trouve par le travers du site d'atterrissage choisi, à une altitude bien inférieure à 500 pieds au-dessus du niveau du sol (agl); il a été impossible d'établir l'altitude exacte jusqu'à laquelle l'appareil était descendu. L'instructeur a alors pris les commandes de l'appareil afin d'effectuer une remise des gaz. Il a mis pleins gaz, coupé le réchauffage du carburateur et rentré complètement les volets. Malgré la réaction normale du moteur et des commandes de vol, l'appareil a continué de s'approcher du relief ascendant et l'instructeur a amorcé un virage d'évitement à gauche. Pendant le virage, l'appareil a heurté le versant montagneux, à environ 24 nm au nord-nord-ouest de Harrison Hot Springs. D'après le radar de contrôle de la circulation aérienne et les calculs de la trajectoire de vol, l'accident serait survenu vers 19 h 48.

Les occupants des deux sièges avant ont été grièvement blessés. Quant à l'occupant du siège arrière, il a subi de légères blessures et a réussi à localiser la trousse de premiers soins et à aider les pilotes blessés. Le nécessaire de survie et les effets personnels de certains des occupants, comme des vêtements de rechange, ont été éjectés de l'appareil lors de l'accident et, à cause de l'obsécuritéé et de la couverture végétale, il a été impossible de les retrouver. Tous les occupants portaient leur ceinture de sécurité et les occupants des deux sièges avant portaient leur baudrier. Peu après l'accident, les occupants ont fait passer le sélecteur de fonction de la radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT) de la position « AUTO » à la position « ON » et, à 22 h 30, soit environ trois heures après l'accident, on a rapporté un signal au Centre de coordination des opérations de sauvetage. Des recherches nocturnes ont été lancées et, à 2 h 30, le lendemain matin, un avion de recherche a localisé le C-GDPD. Le personnel de recherche et de sauvetage a repéré plus facilement les lieux de l'accident parce que l'appareil n'avait pas dévié de la route qui figurait au plan de vol et parce que les occupants de l'appareil qui s'était écrasé ont dirigé une lampe-éclair d'appareil photographique vers l'avion de recherche.

Photo 1 - Photographie aérienne, prise face à l'ouest, des lieux de l'accident

Photo 1.  Photographie aérienne, prise face à l'ouest, des lieux de l'accident

L'altitude des sommets montagneux situés à proximité des lieux de l'accident varie de 6400 à 7400 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (asl), et il y avait de la neige en altitude, en particulier sur les versants faisant face au nord. L'épave a été retrouvée à environ 2100 pieds asl sur un versant faisant face au nord-ouest, à la jonction de deux vallées glaciaires en U : la vallée du ruisseau Tretheway et une vallée sans nom, un peu plus étroite. L'épave se trouvait à environ 1000 pieds au sud et 300 pieds au-dessus du ruisseau Tretheway. Dans la région immédiate entourant les lieux de l'accident, le contrefort montagneux était recouvert d'une végétation rase de couleur vert clair que l'on trouve habituellement dans les couloirs d'avalanche subalpins; ailleurs dans la région, la végétation prédominante était constituée d'une forêt de conifères foncés.

À l'impact, l'aile gauche, le moteur, la cloison pare-feu et le train avant se sont détachés du fuselage, et la batterie a été projetée hors de l'appareil. On a retrouvé des morceaux du saumon de l'aile gauche et du feu de navigation gauche enchâssés dans le sol, à 130 pieds à l'ouest de la partie principale de l'épave, à peu près à la même altitude que cette dernière. Un grand nombre de marques d'impact et de pièces de l'appareil s'étendaient horizontalement sur le versant, entre les morceaux du saumon d'aile et la partie principale de l'épave. Une partie de l'extrémité de pale d'hélice retrouvée près du début du sillon laissé par l'épave présentait des dommages sur son bord d'attaque, des éraflures dans le sens de la corde et des dommages en torsion, ce qui indique que le moteur fournissait de la puissance à l'hélice. Cette dernière s'est fracturée en surcharge à 20 pouces de son extrémité. L'ELT est demeurée fixée par son support à la partie arrière du fuselage, mais la prise d'antenne et le sélecteur de fonction se trouvant à son extrémité avant ont été endommagés lorsque le fuselage a été écrasé. Même si une importante quantité de carburant d'aviation et d'huile moteur s'est déversée sur les lieux de l'accident, aucun incendie ne s'est déclaré.

Les conditions météorologiques enregistrées à 20 h (12 minutes après l'accident) à l'aéroport d'Abbotsford, situé à 190 pieds asl et à 35 nm au sud des lieux de l'accident, étaient les suivantes : quelques nuages à 23 000 pieds asl, visibilité de 30 milles terrestres, température de 25,3 ºC, vent soufflant à 3 noeuds du 240 degrés vrais et calage altimétrique de 30,11. Si on utilise le gradient adiabatique standard de 2 ºC par 1000 pieds d'altitude, la température extérieure sur les lieux de l'accident (à 2050 pieds) aurait été d'environ 21 ºC. L'heure officielle du coucher du soleil était fixée à 21 h.

D'après les calculs de masse et de centrage effectués au cours de l'enquête, la masse de l'appareil au décollage était d'environ 2260 livres, c'est-à-dire 40 livres de moins que sa masse brute maximale totale, laquelle est de 2300 livres, et le centre de gravité se situait dans la plage normale. Au moment de l'accident, le centre de gravité de l'appareil se situait dans la plage normale.

D'après le manuel d'utilisation du Cessna 172M, le meilleur taux de montée de cet appareil à sa masse brute, lorsqu'il vole à 2000 pieds asl par une température extérieure de 20 ºC, est de 535 pieds par minute. Ce manuel mentionne également que, pour obtenir le meilleur angle de montée, l'appareil doit se trouver dans la configuration suivante : volets rentrés, pleins gaz, réchauffage du carburateur coupé et vitesse indiquée de 64 noeuds. Ces valeurs du meilleur taux de montée et du meilleur angle de montée supposent que l'appareil vole les ailes à l'horizontale. Des manoeuvres en vol, comme un virage agressif, entraînent une brusque diminution des performances de montée de l'appareil.

D'après les dossiers, l'aéronef était entretenu conformément aux consignes existantes. Rien dans les livrets techniques d'entretien n'indiquait qu'il restait des anomalies à corriger.

Pendant le dernier segment de la trajectoire de vol, juste avant le virage à 180 degrés, l'aéronef se trouvait face au soleil, alors qu'il volait vers le soleil couchant. Les lieux de l'accident se trouvaient dans une vaste zone ombragée qui était déjà à l'ombre plusieurs heures avant l'accident. Même si les pilotes n'avaient signalé aucun courant descendant ni aucun vent catabatique (mouvement local descendant d'air frais) pendant le vol, le refroidissement de l'air dans les régions ombragées ainsi qu'au-dessus des surfaces recouvertes de neige sont des causes connues de courants descendants en régions montagneuses.

La Pacific Professional Visual Flight Training Ltd. possède des directives verbales destinées à tous les instructeurs enseignant dans les montagnes, et le chef instructeur de vol (CIV) conseille individuellement ces instructeurs. Les directives peuvent varier d'un pilote à l'autre, selon l'évaluation que fait le CIV de l'instructeur. Pour l'entreprise, l'altitude minimale de sécurité en régions montagneuses est d'au moins 1000 pieds au-dessus du fond de la vallée. De plus, cette altitude minimale de sécurité est d'au moins 2000 pieds pendant des vols à basse altitude à l'intérieur de canyons, si des courants descendants sont prévus. De plus, le CIV propose également que les instructeurs ne simulent des approches forcées dans les montagnes que dans des conditions sûres et de manière à perdre 200 à 300 pieds d'altitude avant la fin de l'exercice. L'entreprise estime cette perte d'altitude suffisante pour que l'instructeur évalue la réaction de l'élève-pilote dans une telle situation d'urgence simulée.

L'instructeur en question dans cet accident utilisait des feuilles manuscrites comme aide-mémoire lorsqu'il effectuait des contrôles de vol en montagne, lesquelles feuilles ont été retrouvées à l'intérieur de l'épave du poste de pilotage après l'accident. L'instructeur avait personnellement préparé ces feuilles alors qu'il travaillait pour une autre école de pilotage. Ces feuilles comportaient des notes pertinentes concernant les approches de précaution, les virages à rayon minimal (en zone confinée), les approches forcées, l'augmentation de l'altitude du relief plus rapide que la capacité de l'appareil à monter et, enfin, la perception visuelle dans différentes conditions de luminosité. Sous la rubrique intitulée « Valley Rising Steeper Than A/C Performance » (Augmentation de l'altitude de la vallée trop rapide pour les performances de l'appareil), les notes de l'instructeur comportaient la mise en garde suivante : [Traduction] « à la suite d'une panne moteur, il faut partir en plané vers le fond de la vallée, jusqu'à un endroit où le relief est moins élevé ». Pendant le vol en question dans cet accident, l'instructeur a expliqué et démontré nombre des éléments qui figuraient sur les feuilles de contrôle de vol en montagne, notamment les virages en zone confinée et les approches de précaution, mais il n'a ni expliqué ni démontré comment faire des approches forcées.

La formation qu'avait reçue antérieurement l'élève en matière d'approche forcée lui avait été donnée par d'autres instructeurs de Pacific Professional Visual Flight Training Ltd., et elle avait eu lieu au-dessus d'un relief non montagneux. Pendant cette formation, l'élève avait maintenu l'appareil en descente jusqu'à ce que l'instructeur demande une remise des gaz, ce qui se produisait typiquement lorsque l'appareil atteignait environ 500 pieds agl.

Analyse

La masse et le centrage de l'appareil se trouvaient dans les limites prescrites, et la quantité de carburant à bord était suffisante pour le vol. Aucune anomalie mécanique ayant pu provoquer une perte de puissance moteur ou une perte de maîtrise en vol n'a été signalée ou décelée. Les dommages subis par l'hélice montrent que le moteur fournissait une puissance importante à l'impact. D'après les dommages qu'a subis l'appareil ainsi que la longueur et l'orientation du sillon laissé par les débris, tout indique que le pilote a conservé la maîtrise de l'appareil jusqu'à l'impact; rien n'indique que l'appareil a décroché avant de heurter le sol. L'absence d'incendie après impact est probablement due en partie au fait que la batterie de l'appareil a été projetée hors de ce dernier pendant la séquence de dislocation, ce qui a sans doute empêché qu'une étincelle n'enflamme le carburant.

Pendant la formation sur les approches forcées au-dessus d'un relief non montagneux que lui avait donnée d'autres instructeurs de Pacific Professional Visual Flight Training Ltd., l'élève avait maintenu l'appareil en descente jusqu'à ce que l'instructeur demande une remise des gaz. Comme aucun exposé n'avait été donné quant à la technique à utiliser en cas d'approche forcée pendant le vol en question dans cet accident, l'élève a effectué cette approche forcée de la même façon. En attendant que l'instructeur demande une remise des gaz, l'élève a continué la descente jusqu'à une altitude bien inférieure à l'altitude de remise des gaz de 500 pieds agl utilisée dans le cadre de sa formation antérieure sur les approches forcées. Il a été impossible d'établir l'altitude exacte jusqu'à laquelle l'appareil était descendu avant la remise des gaz. Il se peut qu'il y ait eu détérioration des repères visuels habituellement utilisés pour déterminer l'altitude-sol, parce que les lieux de l'accident étaient ombragés et que, contrairement aux régions environnantes, ils n'étaient pas boisés.

Même si les feuilles de contrôle vol en montagne de l'instructeur indiquaient qu'à la suite d'une panne moteur, il fallait partir en plané vers le fond de la vallée jusqu'à un endroit où le relief est moins élevé, après avoir ramené la manette des gaz pour simuler une panne moteur, l'instructeur n'a pas empêché l'élève de partir en plané vers le haut de la vallée en direction du relief plus élevé.

L'appareil se trouvait dans la configuration lui permettant d'obtenir le meilleur angle de montée à la remise des gaz, et aucun ennui mécanique n'avait été signalé; l'appareil n'a cependant pas été en mesure de monter au-dessus du relief. La masse importante de l'appareil, l'altitude à laquelle il volait et la température extérieure ont eu un effet négatif sur ses performances de montée. Il se peut également que ces dernières se soient détériorées davantage à cause du virage agressif à gauche qui a eu lieu après la prise des commandes par l'instructeur. Il se peut que les courants descendants causés par le refroidissement de l'air dans les régions ombragées ainsi que par la neige recouvrant le sol à haute altitude dans les montagnes, aient eu un effet négatif sur les performances de montée de l'appareil.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

LP 131/03 - Terrain Shadow Analysis (Analyse de l'ombre du relief)

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. L'instructeur n'a pas donné à l'élève d'exposé sur les procédures d'approche forcée et l'a laissé poursuivre l'approche forcée jusqu'à une altitude qui ne permettait pas à l'appareil d'éviter le relief ascendant.
  2. L'appareil était presque à sa masse brute maximale, ce qui, combiné aux effets de l'altitude, de la température extérieure et d'une manoeuvre agressive, a contribué à amoindrir ses capacités de monter au-dessus du relief.

Autres faits établis

  1. Il se peut que l'ombre et l'absence de repères visuels, comme des arbres, dans la région où a été effectuée l'approche forcée aient réduit les capacités du pilote à évaluer l'altitude-sol de l'appareil.
  2. Le risque d'un incendie de carburant après l'impact était élevé, mais la projection de la batterie hors de l'appareil a éliminé une source d'inflammation potentielle.

Mesures de sécurité prises

À la suite de cet accident, Pacific Professional Visual Flight Training Ltd. a apporté les changements suivants :

  1. les aéronefs ne seront plus autorisés à survoler les montagnes le soir,
  2. des limites de survol du relief montagneux ont été établies.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 22 décembre 2004.


1. Tous les lieux mentionnés dans ce rapport se trouvent en Colombie-Britannique.

2. Les heures sont exprimées en HAP (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins sept heures).