Aviation Investigation Report A03Q0109

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Fuel Exhaustion and Forced Landing
Institut aéronautique de la Capitale
Cessna 172M C-GSZC
Québec, Quebec
26 July 2003

Summary

The Cessna 172M, registration C-GSZC, serial number 17264826, carrying the pilot and three passengers, was on a visual flight rules (VFR) flight from Sept-Îles, Quebec, to Rivière-du-Loup, Quebec. After a short stopover at Rivière-du-Loup to drop off the passengers, the pilot decided to continue the flight to Québec, Quebec, without refuelling. En route, the pilot encountered adverse weather and requested clearance for special VFR to land at the Québec Airport. About nine nautical miles from the threshold of Runway 24, the engine (Lycoming O-320-E2D) sputtered and then stopped. At approximately 2009 eastern daylight time, the pilot declared an emergency and carried out a forced landing onto the de la Capitale highway. The aircraft struck a street lamp and the nose dropped before it collided with the ground. The pilot was seriously injured and the aircraft was severely damaged.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The records indicated that the aircraft was equipped and maintained in accordance with existing regulations. The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight, with a total of 180 flying hours.

As part of the instruction for his commercial pilot licence, the pilot had to complete a cross-country flight. He had planned a flight from Québec to Port-Menier, Quebec, with a stopover at Rivière-du-Loup to pick up three passengers, with a return trip the next day. This cross-country flight, which had been planned for a long time, had been postponed three times during the month because of adverse weather. The weather finally cleared the day before the flight and the flying school instructor permitted the cross-country flight. The pilot flew from Québec to Rivière-du-Loup and from Rivière-du-Loup to Sept-Îles. On the way, the weather conditions deteriorated and the pilot had to land in special VFR conditions at the Sept-Îles Airport. A little later in the evening, after refuelling, he had wanted to take off on a special VFR flight to continue his cross-country flight to Port-Menier. The flight service specialist (FSS) strongly discouraged him from making the flight and explained that he was not authorized to take off on a special night VFR flight. The pilot was obliged to stay in Sept-Îes, and spent the night at a hotel with his passengers.

The next day, after inquiring about the weather conditions at Port-Menier, the pilot decided not to fly there, but to return to Rivière-du-Loup and then Québec. After flying over the cottage of one of the passengers for a while, the pilot landed in Rivière-du-Loup to drop off his passengers. The flight time from Sept-Îles to Rivière-du-Loup was 3.4 hours.

After checking the weather, the pilot decided to continue on his flight to Québec without refuelling. Without checking the Cessna 172 flight manual, the pilot thought the aircraft's flight endurance was 6 hours. Considering the flight time already accumulated, which was 3.4 hours, and the planned en route time for Québec, which was 1.5 hours, the pilot felt it was not necessary to refuel.

After a short stopover, the pilot took off for Québec. On the way, the weather conditions deteriorated, and visibility was reduced by rain showers. The controller warned him that the weather conditions were below the VFR minima and gave him the latest special sequence at 2323 Coordinated Universal Time: 2½ miles in rain showers and mist, ceiling broken at 1400 feet, overcast at 3100 feet. The pilot then requested clearance from the Québec tower for a special VFR flight to land at his destination. The controller guided the pilot, and at about 9 miles on final approach for Runway 24, the engine sputtered. The pilot reported the problem to the controller, who directed him to the de la Capitale highway. A few moments later, the engine stopped and the pilot carried out a forced landing on the highway.

According to the Canadian Aviation Regulations, the pilot of an aircraft in day VFR flight must have sufficient fuel to fly to the destination aerodrome and then to fly for 30 minutes at normal cruising speed, and at night, to fly for 45 minutes. The aircraft's two fuel tanks have a total capacity of 38 U.S. gallons. According to the Cessna 172 owner's manual, the aircraft's flight endurance, at its maximum weight of 2300 pounds, could vary between 3.9 hours and 6.3 hours, depending on the power used and the altitude. To have an endurance of 6 hours, the aircraft would have to be flown at a constant altitude of 10 000 feet with power operation at 2400 rpm, while also making the mixture leaner. Nothing indicates that these conditions were met during the last two legs of flight.

Examination of the aircraft at the accident site made it possible to conclude that no technical defects caused the engine to stop. Verification of the two fuel tanks made it possible to conclude that the engine stopped because of fuel exhaustion.

The following laboratory report was completed:

  • LP 069/03 - ELT & GPS Examination

This report is available upon request from the Transportation Safety Board of Canada.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. Fuel exhaustion caused the engine to stop, requiring the pilot to carry out a forced landing onto the de la Capitale highway.
  2. The pilot did not use the Cessna 172 flight manual to plan the amount of fuel required for his cross-country flight; he thought he had enough fuel to fly from Rivière-du-Loup to Québec.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. The Board authorized the release of this report on 11 May 2005.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A03Q0109

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Panne sèche et atterrissage forcé
du Cessna 172M C-GSZC
exploité par l'Institut aéronautique de la Capitale
à Québec (Québec)
le 26 juillet 2003

Résumé

Le Cessna 172M, immatriculé C-GSZC, numéro de série 17264826, avec à son bord le pilote et trois passagers, effectue un vol selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR), de Sept-Îles (Québec) à destination de Rivière-du-Loup (Québec). Après avoir fait une courte escale à Rivière-du-Loup pour y déposer les passagers, le pilote décide de continuer son vol vers Québec (Québec) sans rajouter de carburant. En route, le pilote rencontre des conditions météorologiques défavorables et demande une autorisation de vol VFR spécial pour atterrir à l'aéroport de Québec. À environ neuf milles marins du seuil de la piste 24, le moteur (Lycoming O-320-E2D) a des ratés puis s'arrête. Vers 20 h 9, heure avancée de l'Est, le pilote déclare une urgence et effectue un atterrissage forcé sur l'autoroute de la Capitale. L'aéronef heurte un lampadaire puis pique du nez avant de s'écraser au sol. Le pilote est grièvement blessé et l'aéronef subit des dommages importants.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

L'examen des dossiers a révélé que l'appareil était équipé et entretenu selon la réglementation en vigueur. Le pilote possédait les compétences et les qualifications nécessaires pour effectuer le vol et totalisait quelque 180 heures de vol.

Dans le cadre de sa formation en vue de l'obtention d'une licence de pilote professionnel, le pilote devait effectuer un vol voyage. Il avait planifié un vol de Québec à Port-Menier (Québec) avec escale à Rivière-du-Loup pour prendre trois passagers, avec retour le lendemain. Ce vol voyage, planifié de longue date, avait été reporté à trois reprises au cours du mois, en raison de conditions météorologiques défavorables. Finalement, la météo s'est dégagée la veille du vol et l'instructeur de l'école a permis le vol voyage. Le pilote a effectué le vol de Québec à Rivière-du-Loup et de Rivière-du-Loup à Sept-Îles. En route, les conditions météo se sont détériorées et le pilote a dû se poser dans des conditions de vol VFR spécial à l'aéroport de Sept-Îles. Un peu plus tard dans la soirée, après avoir fait le plein de carburant, il a voulu décoller en vol VFR spécial pour poursuivre son vol voyage à destination de Port-Menier. Le spécialiste de l'information de vol (FSS) lui a fortement déconseillé d'entreprendre le vol et lui a expliqué qu'il n'était pas permis de décoller en vol VFR spécial de nuit. Le pilote, contraint de rester à Sept-Îes, a passé la nuit dans un hôtel avec ses passagers.

Le lendemain, après s'être renseigné sur les conditions météorologiques de Port-Menier, le pilote a décidé de ne pas s'y rendre, mais plutôt de retourner à Rivière-du-Loup puis Québec. Après avoir survolé le chalet d'un des passagers pendant quelque temps, le pilote a atterri à Rivière-du-Loup pour y déposer ses passagers. Le temps de vol de Sept-Îles à Rivière-du-Loup a été de 3,4 heures.

Après avoir vérifié la météo, le pilote a décidé de continuer son vol vers Québec sans rajouter de carburant. Sans avoir consulté le manuel de vol du Cessna 172, le pilote croyait que l'autonomie de l'aéronef était de 6 heures en vol. En considérant le temps de vol écoulé, soit 3,4 heures et le temps en route prévu pour Québec, soit 1,5 heure, le pilote a jugé qu'il n'était pas nécessaire de rajouter du carburant.

Après une courte escale, le pilote a décollé à destination de Québec. En route, les conditions météorologiques se sont détériorées; la visibilité était réduite par des averses de pluie. Le contrôleur l'a avisé que les conditions météorologiques étaient en dessous des minimums VFR et lui a donné la dernière séquence spéciale à 23 h 23, temps universel coordonné : 2 1/2 milles dans des averses de pluie et de la brume, plafond fragmenté à 1400 pieds, couvert à 3100 pieds. Le pilote a donc demandé à la tour de Québec une autorisation de vol VFR spécial pour atterrir à destination. Le contrôleur a guidé le pilote, et, à environ 9 milles en finale pour la piste 24, le moteur a eu des ratés. Le pilote a signalé l'anomalie au contrôleur qui l'a dirigé vers l'autoroute de la Capitale. Quelques instants plus tard, le moteur s'est arrêté et le pilote a fait un atterrissage forcé sur l'autoroute.

Selon le Règlement de l'aviation canadien, le pilote d'un aéronef en vol VFR doit transporter une quantité de carburant suffisante pour permettre, de jour, d'effectuer le vol jusqu'à l'aérodrome de destination et de poursuivre le vol pendant 30 minutes à la vitesse de croisière normale, et de nuit, pendant 45 minutes. Les deux réservoirs d'essence de l'appareil ont une capacité totale de 38 gallons américains. Selon le manuel du propriétaire du Cessna 172, l'autonomie de l'appareil, à son poids maximal de 2300 livres, peut varier entre 3,9 heures et 6,3 heures, en fonction du régime de puissance utilisé et de l'altitude. Pour atteindre une autonomie de 6 heures, il aurait fallu que l'appareil soit utilisé à une altitude constante de 10 000 pieds, avec un régime de 2400 rpm, tout en appauvrissant le mélange. Rien n'indique que ces conditions aient été rencontrées au cours des deux derniers segments du vol.

L'examen de l'aéronef sur les lieux de l'accident a permis de conclure qu'aucune défectuosité technique n'était à l'origine de l'arrêt du moteur. La vérification des deux réservoirs a permis de conclure que l'arrêt du moteur est dû à une panne sèche.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 069/03 - ELT & GPS Examination (Examen de l'ELT et du GPS).

On peut obtenir ce rapport en s'adressant au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. L'arrêt du moteur dû à une panne sèche a contraint le pilote à effectuer un atterrissage forcé sur l'autoroute de la Capitale.
  2. Le pilote n'a pas utilisé le manuel de vol du Cessna 172 pour planifier la quantité de carburant nécessaire pour son vol voyage; il croyait avoir suffisamment de carburant pour effectuer le vol de Rivière-du-Loup à Québec.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 11 mai 2005.