Aviation Investigation Report A03W0148

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of Power - Mechanical Malfunction
Delta Helicopters Ltd.
Bell 204B C-GTNP
Manning, Alberta 75 nm NE
13 July 2003

Summary

The Delta Helicopters Ltd. Bell 204B helicopter (registration C-GTNP, serial number 2028) was conducting slinging operations in the Wadlin Lake, Alberta, area. At approximately 1420 mountain daylight time, as the helicopter was descending to position a load of seedlings, the pilot heard a scraping sound from the engine. The engine then lost power and the helicopter descended rapidly, resulting in a hard landing and substantial damage. The helicopter remained upright with the load attached to the longline. Another company pilot located the wreckage at approximately 1915 and found the pilot with serious, but non-life-threatening, injuries. The pilot was extracted from the site at 2145.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The helicopter had departed Wadlin Lake for Block 106 with a load of tree seedlings in three cargo nets hooked onto a carousel at the end of a 150-foot longline. In the final stage of the approach at destination, when the helicopter was approximately 250 feet above ground while descending and reducing forward speed, the pilot heard a scraping sound and noticed a vibration, and the engine lost power. During the ensuing rapid descent, the load contacted the ground at the intended landing site, and the helicopter continued to descend in the direction of flight until ground impact approximately 80 feet beyond the load. The time of the occurrence was approximately 1420 mountain daylight time.1

Disassembly and examination of the engine (Lycoming T53-11B, serial number LE08253) revealed that two blades had separated from the power turbine disc and caused extensive damage to the other blades, the shrouds and the power turbine nozzle. Blade No. 1 had fractured at the disc platform from a pre-existing fatigue crack that extended for approximately 50 per cent of the blade chord back from the leading edge. Blade No. 52 had fractured approximately ¼ inch above the platform from a pre-existing fatigue crack; the fracture extended for approximately 35 per cent of the blade chord forward from the trailing edge. It could not be determined which blade had failed initially, but the second weakened blade failed from debris impact. Scanning electron microscope examination of the crack-initiation points did not reveal the cause of the cracks, as none of the usual indications such as mechanical damage, discontinuities, inclusions or corrosion was evident.

All remaining blades on the turbine disc were examined, and no further cracks were found. Two of the remaining blades were sectioned to try to determine if an overheat situation may have been responsible for a metallurgical weakness due to changes in the alloy microstructure. However, the results were inconclusive due to a lack of comparison data from the manufacturer. Other hot-section components between the combustion chamber and the power turbine nozzle were undamaged and did not exhibit heat distress.

The turbine disc (part number 140-250-6, serial number 4454) was new with an overhaul life of 2000 hours when installed during the previous engine overhaul on 14 June 2000. Total engine time in service since the overhaul was 1284 hours. The turbine blades were "on condition," with no timed overhaul or replacement life, and no time-in-service history. The last major inspection was the engine mid-life hot-section inspection, which had been completed about 191 hours prior to the occurrence on 13 July 2002, at 1092.7 hours since overhaul.

The current engine type certificate holder researched the original manufacturer's database and found one previous similar occurrence for the T53-11B engine. In that occurrence, the stress rupture was induced by "temperatures in excess of the design operational limits." Transport Canada's Service Difficulty Report database contained one reported occurrence since 1995, and the airframe manufacturer's database listed two possible events since 1965. T53-11 model engines were manufactured from 1963 to 1967.

The load consisted of 130 boxes of seedlings; the average weight of each box, from a 10-box sample, was approximately 28.5 pounds (lb). With a weight reduction of one pound per box to allow for the weight of water from a light rain shower between the time of the occurrence and the weighing of the boxes, the weight of the load of seedlings was calculated to be approximately 3575 lb. These weights were consistent with the tree nursery projected weight of 27 to 33 lb per box, depending on moisture content. The carousel weighed 80 lb, and the weight of the nets and longline were estimated to be 120 lb, for a total load weight of approximately 3775 lb. The gross weight of the helicopter was calculated to be approximately 9680 lb at take-off and 9480 lb at the crash site. C-GTNP had been modified as per Bell Service Instruction 204-3 to increase the maximum allowable gross weight with external load from 8500 lb to 9500 lb. Calculated out-of-ground-effect hover weight for the conditions was 8600 lb.

Figure 1 - Height-velocity diagram Bell 204B (Bell Helicopter)

Figure 1.  Height-velocity diagram Bell 204B (Bell Helicopter)

Section 1 of the approved flight manual for the Bell 204B (BH204) contains a height-velocity (H-V) chart, which has a shaded area that was originally a flight limitation ". . . critical in the event of an engine failure during take-off, landing or other operation near the surface" (see Figure 1). Operation in this critical area reduces the possibility of a successful autorotative landing in the event of an engine failure. This H-V chart has been appended as an operating limitation for Canadian-operated helicopters conducting external load operations, as an addendum (BHT-204-FM-CAN-O) to the flight manual. However, the information is relevant for all low-level operations.

Records indicate that the pilot was certified and qualified for the flight, in accordance with existing regulations. His total flying time was approximately 13 250 hours, of which approximately 4500 hours were on the BH204 series. His medical was valid to 05 November 2003, and his pilot proficiency check was valid to 01 November 2003.

During the investigation, weather information was obtained from Alberta Forestry Services observation towers in the vicinity. The report for the Wadlin Lookout Tower (17 nautical miles [nm] northeast of the occurrence area) at 1200 was as follows: sky condition 6/10 covered, mid-level cloud, visibility 20 nm, winds east at 4 knots, temperature 14ºC, dew point 10ºC. The report for the Talbot Lookout Tower (17 nm southeast of the occurrence area) at 1200 was as follows: sky condition 1/10 cumulonimbus, 2/10 low cloud, visibility 20 nm, winds southeast at 6 knots, temperature 15ºC, dew point 13ºC. Weather was not considered a factor in this occurrence.

Analysis

The engine failure was the result of damage to the power turbine and nozzle, following the fracture of two turbine blades. The turbine blades failed due to the overstress extension of pre-existing fatigue cracks. It was not determined what initiated the cracks, but the most common initiators are mechanical damage (nicks), manufacturing faults (inclusions or discontinuities), corrosion and metallurgical deterioration due to heat. No damage, faults or corrosion were found, and the metallurgical examination was inconclusive.

The history of the failed turbine blades could not be ascertained because they were maintained "on condition." Therefore, the blades had been in service in this engine or other engines for an undetermined time. Database information confirms that power turbine blade failures have not been a problem area with this model of engine.

The helicopter was being operated at a weight exceeding the maximum out-of-ground-effect hover weight, but within the increased gross weight limit with an external load at the time of the accident. The increased weight would have required a significant amount of collective pitch for all phases of flight, especially at lower speeds or in a hover. When the engine failed, the undriven main rotor blades generated a considerable amount of drag, resulting in the rapid decay of the main rotor speed. This loss of rotor speed reduced the rotor system kinetic energy available to the pilot for control of the helicopter's descent, and, combined with the low altitude, the attached load and airspeed delineated within the critical area of the H-V chart, thereby increasing the severity of the impact and injuries.

The following TSB Engineering Laboratory report was completed:

  • LP 64/03 - Examination and Analysis of Turbines

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. Two turbine blades failed due to the overstress extension of pre-existing fatigue cracks, resulting in the substantial damage of the power turbine section and loss of engine power. The cause of the fatigue cracks could not be determined.
  2. The loss of engine power occurred at a low altitude and airspeed, and a hard landing ensued.

Findings as to Risk

  1. The helicopter was being operated at a weight that exceeded the maximum out-of-ground-effect hover weight, and within the speed and height parameters that the aircraft flight manual H-V diagram states should be avoided.

Safety Action

The company has initiated several changes to improve flight crew awareness of situations they encounter during daily operations. These changes include the following:

  • Training (during annual recurrence training ground school):

    • stressing the importance of understanding and applying aircraft performance charts, specifically, hover in and out-of-ground-effect charts and the H-V charts;
    • including more detailed questions regarding performance charts on the written aircraft type examinations; and
    • establishing an in-house pilot decision making course, using in-house examples for review.
  • Management Supervision:

    • greater emphasis placed on field supervision; and
    • reviews of work zone plans, aircraft load control, communications and field maintenance on the job site with crews and customers.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 15 December 2004.


1. All times are mountain daylight time (Coordinated Universal Time minus six hours).

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A03W0148

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de puissance et défectuosité mécanique
du Bell 204B C-GTNP
exploité par Delta Helicopters Ltd.
à 75 nm au nord-est de Manning (Alberta)
le 13 juillet 2003

Résumé

L'hélicoptère Bell 204B (immatriculé C-GTNP et portant le numéro de série 2028) exploité par la compagnie Delta Helicopters Ltd. effectue des opérations d'élingage dans la région du lac Wadlin (Alberta). Vers 14 h 20, heure avancée des Rocheuses, pendant que l'hélicoptère est en descente pour déposer une charge de semis, le pilote entend un bruit de raclage en provenance du moteur. Le moteur cesse alors de produire de la puissance et l'hélicoptère descend rapidement, ce qui donne lieu à un atterrissage brutal qui endommage lourdement l'appareil. L'hélicoptère demeure à l'endroit avec la charge toujours fixée à l'extrémité de la longue élingue. Un autre pilote de la compagnie repère l'épave vers 19 h 15 et constate que le pilote est gravement blessé, mais que sa vie n'est pas en danger. Le pilote est emmené hors du lieu de l'accident à 21 h 45.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

L'hélicoptère avait quitté le lac Wadlin à destination du Bloc 106 avec une charge d'arbres de semis composée de trois filets à marchandises suspendus à un carrousel à l'extrémité d'une élingue de 150 pieds de longueur. Pendant la dernière étape de l'approche à destination, alors que l'hélicoptère se trouvait à quelque 250 pieds au-dessus du sol, pendant la descente à vitesse de translation réduite, le pilote a entendu un bruit de raclage et a ressenti des vibrations, puis le moteur a cessé de produire de la puissance. Pendant la descente rapide qui a suivi, la charge a heurté le sol à l'endroit prévu pour l'atterrissage et l'hélicoptère a poursuivi sa descente dans la direction du vol jusqu'à ce qu'il heurte le sol à son tour, à quelque 80 pieds au-delà de la charge. L'accident s'est produit vers 14 h 20, heure avancée des Rocheuses (HAR)1.

Le démontage et l'examen du moteur (Lycoming T53-11B, numéro de série LE08253) ont révélé que deux aubes du disque de la turbine de travail s'étaient séparées du disque et avaient causé d'importants dommages aux autres aubes, aux anneaux de cerclage et au distributeur de la turbine de travail. L'aube no 1 s'était rompue au niveau de la plate-forme du disque, à partir d'une crique de fatigue préexistante qui s'étendait sur approximativement la moitié de la corde de l'aube en allant vers l'arrière depuis le bord d'attaque. L'aube no 52 s'était rompue à environ ¼ pouce au-dessus de la plate-forme, à partir d'une crique de fatigue préexistante; la fracture s'étendait sur quelque 35 pour cent de la corde de l'aube en allant vers l'avant depuis le bord de fuite. Il a été impossible de déterminer quelle aube s'était rompue la première, mais la seconde aube affaiblie a cédé sous la force d'impact des débris. L'examen des points d'amorce des criques à l'aide d'un microscope électronique à balayage n'a pas révélé la cause des criques, car aucun des indices caractéristiques habituels, comme des dommages mécaniques, des discontinuités, des inclusions ou de la corrosion, n'a pu être mis en évidence.

On a examiné toutes les aubes qui restaient sur le disque turbine et on n'y a découvert aucune autre crique. On a sectionné deux des aubes restantes pour tenter de déterminer si une surchauffe avait pu causer une faiblesse métallurgique en provoquant des modifications de la microstructure de l'alliage. Toutefois, les résultats n'ont pas été concluants en raison de l'absence de données de comparaison du motoriste. Les autres composants de la partie chaude du moteur, situés entre la chambre de combustion et le distributeur de la turbine de travail, n'étaient pas endommagés et ne présentaient pas de signes de contrainte thermique.

Le disque turbine (référence 140-250-6 et numéro de série 4454) était neuf et sa durée de vie moyenne avant réparation était de 2 000 heures au moment de son installation lors de la dernière révision du moteur, le 14 juin 2000. Le temps de service total du moteur depuis la dernière révision était de 1 284 heures. Les aubes de turbine étaient entretenues conformément à un calendrier de maintenance selon l'état, sans délai de révision ou de remplacement fixe, et il n'y avait pas d'historique de temps de service. La dernière inspection majeure du moteur avait été l'inspection à mi-vie de la partie chaude, laquelle avait été effectuée quelque 191 heures avant l'accident, le 13 juillet 2002, à 1 092,7 heures depuis la dernière révision.

Le titulaire actuel du certificat de type du moteur a effectué une recherche dans la base de données du motoriste d'origine et il a découvert un accident antérieur semblable mettant en cause le moteur T53-11B. Dans ce dernier cas, la rupture sous tension avait été induite par des températures supérieures aux limites opérationnelles de conception. La base de données des rapports de difficultés en service de Transports Canada contient un événement signalé depuis 1995, tandis que la base de données du cellulier contient deux événements possibles depuis 1965. Les moteurs de modèle T53-11 ont été fabriqués de 1963 à 1967.

La charge à l'élingue était constituée de 130 boîtes de semis; la masse moyenne de chaque boîte, calculée à partir d'un échantillon de 10 boîtes, était d'environ 28,5 livres (lb). On a déduit une livre par boîte, afin de tenir compte de la masse de l'eau provenant d'une légère averse de pluie survenue entre le moment de l'accident et celui de la pesée des boîtes, et on a calculé que la masse totale de la charge des boîtes de semis était d'environ 3 575 lb. Cette masse correspondait à la masse prévue par la pépinière, masse qui allait de 27 à 33 lb par boîte, selon la teneur en eau. Le carrousel pesait 80 lb, et la masse des filets et de l'élingue a été estimée à 120 lb, ce qui donne une charge d'une masse totale d'environ 3 775 lb. On a calculé que la masse brute de l'hélicoptère était d'environ 9 680 lb au décollage et de 9 480 lb sur les lieux de l'accident. Le C-GTNP avait été modifié conformément à l'instruction de service 204-3 de Bell qui permettait de faire passer de 8 500 à 9 500 lb la masse maximale autorisée au décollage avec une charge externe. On a calculé que la masse maximale pour le vol stationnaire hors effet de sol dans les conditions existantes était de 8 600 lb.

Figure 1 - Graphique hauteur-vitesse du Bell 204B (Bell Helicopter)

Figure 1. Graphique hauteur-vitesse du Bell 204B (Bell Helicopter)

Ce document n'existe pas en français.

La Section 1 du manuel de vol approuvé du Bell 204B (BH204) contient un graphique hauteur-vitesse (H-V) avec une zone ombrée qui constituait à l'origine une limitation de vol critique en cas de panne moteur lors du décollage, de l'atterrissage ou de toute autre manoeuvre près de la surface (voir la figure 1). L'utilisation de l'hélicoptère dans cette zone critique réduit la possibilité de réussir un atterrissage en autorotation en cas de panne moteur. Ce graphique H-V a été intégré en annexe au manuel de vol à titre de limite d'utilisation pour les hélicoptères exploités au Canada qui effectuent des vols avec charge externe, et il se présente sous la forme d'un ajout (BHT-204-FM-CAN-O). Toutefois, l'information s'applique à toutes les opérations à basse altitude.

Selon les dossiers, le pilote était certifié et qualifié pour le vol, conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. Il totalisait quelque 13 250 heures de vol, dont quelque 4 500 sur BH204. Son certificat médical était valide jusqu'au 5 novembre 2003, et sa vérification de compétence pilote était valide jusqu'au 1er novembre 2003.

Au cours de l'enquête, on a obtenu des renseignements météorologiques en provenance des tours d'observation de l'Alberta Forestry Services qui étaient situées dans les environs. Le bulletin météorologique de 12 h de la Wadlin Lookout Tower (située à 17 milles marins [nm] au nord-est du lieu de l'accident) indiquait les conditions suivantes : ciel couvert à 6/10, nuages à moyenne altitude, visibilité de 20 nm, vent de l'est à 4 noeuds, température de 14 ºC, point de rosée 10 ºC. Le bulletin de 12 h de la Talbot Lookout Tower (située à 17 nm au sud-est du lieu de l'accident) indiquait les conditions suivantes : ciel couvert à 1/10 avec cumulo-nimbus, 2/10 de nuages bas, visibilité de 20 nm, vent du sud-est à 6 noeuds, température de 15 ºC, point de rosée de 13 ºC. Les conditions météorologiques n'ont pas été considérées comme un facteur contributif au présent accident.

Analyse

La panne moteur a été causée par les dommages subis par la turbine de travail et le distributeur à la suite de la rupture de deux aubes de turbine. Ces dernières se sont rompues à cause de forces d'extension excessives exercées sur des criques de fatigue préexistantes. Il a été impossible de déterminer ce qui a donné naissance à ces criques, mais les déclencheurs les plus fréquents sont les dommages mécaniques (encoches), les défauts de fabrication (inclusions ou discontinuités), la corrosion et la détérioration métallurgique causée par la chaleur. On n'a découvert aucun signe de dommage, de défaut ou de corrosion, et l'examen métallurgique n'a pas été concluant.

Il a été impossible de vérifier les antécédents des aubes de turbine rompues, car elles étaient entretenues conformément à un calendrier de maintenance selon l'état. Par conséquent, ces aubes avaient été en service dans ce moteur ou dans d'autres moteurs pendant une période indéterminée. Selon les bases de données consultées, la défaillance des aubes de turbine de travail n'était pas un problème fréquent sur ce modèle de moteur.

Au moment de l'accident, l'hélicoptère était exploité à une masse supérieure à la masse maximale recommandée pour le vol stationnaire hors effet de sol, mais à l'intérieur de la limite augmentée de masse brute avec charge externe. La masse supérieure devait nécessiter une importante sollicitation du pas collectif pendant toutes les étapes du vol, surtout à basse vitesse ou en vol stationnaire. Lorsque le moteur est tombé en panne, les pales du rotor principal non entraînées ont engendré une importante traînée, ce qui a provoqué une chute rapide de la vitesse de rotation du rotor principal. Cette perte de vitesse a réduit la quantité d'énergie cinétique du système rotor dont disposait le pilote pour maîtriser la descente de l'hélicoptère. De plus, la basse altitude, la charge externe reliée à l'appareil et le fait que l'hélicoptère se trouvait dans la zone critique du graphique hauteur-vitesse se sont combinés pour accroître la force de l'impact et la gravité des blessures.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 64/03 - Examination and Analysis of Turbines (Examen et analyse des turbines).

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Deux aubes de turbine se sont rompues à cause de forces d'extension excessives exercées sur des criques de fatigue préexistantes, ce qui a lourdement endommagé la turbine de travail et provoqué une perte de puissance moteur. Il a été impossible de déterminer la cause des criques de fatigue.
  2. La perte de puissance moteur est survenue à basse altitude et à faible vitesse, ce qui s'est traduit par un atterrissage brutal.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. L'hélicoptère était exploité à une masse supérieure à la masse maximale recommandée pour le vol stationnaire hors effet de sol, et à l'intérieur des paramètres de vitesse et de hauteur que le graphique H-V du manuel de vol de l'aéronef recommande d'éviter.

Mesures de sécurité

La compagnie a instauré plusieurs changements visant à sensibiliser davantage les équipages de conduite aux diverses situations qu'ils peuvent rencontrer dans leurs opérations quotidiennes. Ces changements comprennent notamment les éléments suivants :

  • Formation (lors des cours théoriques de la formation périodique annuelle) :

    • insister sur l'importance de bien comprendre et d'utiliser les graphiques de performances des aéronefs, surtout ceux sur le vol stationnaire hors effet de sol et les graphiques H-V;
    • inclure des questions plus précises concernant les graphiques de performances dans les examens écrits sur le type d'aéronef;
    • préparer un cours interne sur la prise de décisions des pilotes comprenant des exemples propres à la compagnie.
  • Supervision de la gestion :

    • insister davantage sur la supervision sur le terrain;
    • étudier les plans des zones d'activité, le contrôle de la charge des aéronefs, les communications et la maintenance sur le terrain avec les équipages et les clients sur les lieux de travail.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 15 décembre 2004.


1. Les heures sont exprimées en HAR (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins six heures).