Aviation Investigation Report A04A0050

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Main Rotor Overspeed - Difficult to Control
Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Eurocopter AS350-B3 C-FMPH
Tabusintac, New Brunswick 2 nm E
15 May 2004

Summary

The AS350-B3 (Astar) helicopter (C-FMPH, serial number 3683) was conducting aerial surveillance of a lobster fishing dispute off the coast of Tabusintac, New Brunswick, at an altitude of 700 feet above sea level. During a right turn, at approximately 1600 Atlantic daylight time, the cockpit alarm sounded, accompanied by illumination of the red GOV (governor) warning light. The pilot continued the right turn and headed toward the shore for a precautionary landing. Seconds later, the rotor rpm increased above the maximum limit, and a severe rotor vibration developed. The pilot lowered the collective and reduced twist grip throttle, but there was no apparent reduction in rotor rpm. Believing that manual control of the throttle was lost, the pilot reopened the throttle to the "FLIGHT" detent, and tried to reach the overhead fuel control mode selector switch to move it to the manual position; however, the severe vibrations made it difficult to activate the caged switch. The pilot then raised the collective, attempting to decrease rotor rpm, but there was no apparent change. The aircraft was in a rapid descent and nearing the ground, so the pilot focused on landing the aircraft. After landing, a severe ground resonance developed, and the pilot lifted the helicopter into a hover to stop it. The vibrations continued, so the pilot landed a second time then pulled the ceiling-mounted fuel shut-off lever to shut down the engine. After the main rotor came to a stop, the pilot and two passengers exited the helicopter uninjured.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

Other than bending of the right skid tube, there was no structural damage to the helicopter. The helicopter's vehicle and engine multi-function display (VEMD) recorded severe overspeeding of the dynamic components by at least 510 rpm, which is the highest value that the VEMD will capture. Because of the overspeed condition, some of the power train components were to be removed from service.

Fuel flow to the Turbomeca Arriel 2B engine is controlled automatically by the digital engine control unit (DECU), also referred to as the full authority digital engine control (FADEC). The DECU monitors engine and flight control parameters and sends a signal to the stepper motor in the hydro-mechanical unit (HMU). The stepper motor then positions the fuel metering valve appropriately. If the DECU detects a discrepancy in any of the monitored parameters, it will illuminate the red GOV warning light and sound an aural warning to indicate a failure of the fuel metering system. Moving the mode control switch from the auto position to the manual position also illuminates the red GOV light. In either instance, the stepper motor freezes fuel flow at the last setting prior to the red GOV light illumination. The sole purpose of the two-position (auto and manual) mode control selector switch is to provide a means of simulating a failure in the automatic fuel metering system for training purposes. In the event of an actual failure of the fuel metering system, it is not necessary to move this switch to the manual position to have manual twist grip throttle control.

In the event of a red GOV light illumination, the emergency section of the flight manual calls for the following pilot actions:

  • Check flight parameters.
  • Maintain the Nr (main rotor rpm) in the green arc.
  • Unlock the "FLIGHT" notch, the fuel flow can be increased or decreased by turning the twist grip.
  • Only apply small amplitude adjustments, synchronized with the collective pitch control in order to maintain Nr in the green range.
  • Fly the approach at 40 knots and adjust the fuel flow rate to maintain Nr within the upper section of the green range. Slowly reduce the speed if necessary adjust the fuel flow rate slightly on the twist grip to maintain Nr within the green range. On final approach, when the collective pitch is increased on reaching the hover, let the Nr drop for touchdown. After touchdown, reduce the fuel flow rate before lowering the collective pitch.

The HMU (serial number 970B) and DECU (serial number 857) were removed from the aircraft and forwarded to Turbomeca-USA in Grand Prairie, Texas, where they were examined under the supervision of a TSB investigator. The HMU was placed on a test bench and a full functional test was run. The HMU met the test criteria in all but four areas where it was found to be slightly outside the limits, none of which would have caused the red GOV light to illuminate or prevent manual fuel metering with the twist grip throttle. The data from the DECU were downloaded, and the only failure listed was fault code 14-stepper motor-with associated location code 45-DECU or stepper motor. The DECU was forwarded to Turbomeca-France to determine a cause for the red GOV light illumination. Examination of the DECU confirmed that its operation did not conform to specifications. At about 70ºC, a stepper motor command did not operate. Further testing by the manufacturer (Thales) confirmed the DECU's internal component "U 13 optocoupler" as the origin of the GOV light. However, nothing was found that would have prevented manual control of the fuel flow to the engine during the occurrence.

The pilot had approximately 15 000 hours of helicopter flight time, the majority of which was on the Bell Helicopter 206 series. The pilot had not flown a helicopter equipped with an electronic engine fuel management system (DECU or FADEC) prior to his initial AS350-B3 training in September 2003.

The pilot's initial AS350-B3 training consisted of one day of ground school and two hours of flight training at Eurocopter-Canada's facility, located at Fort Erie, Ontario. The Eurocopter training syllabus calls for FADEC/GOVERNOR FAILURES emergency procedures training to be conducted in flight at high, medium and low power settings. Neither the occurrence pilot nor another RCMP pilot who attended the same training session could recall completing any in-flight governor failure training at the Eurocopter facility; however, they did recall that governor failures were discussed during ground school. It was established that all the other RCMP B3 pilots had received in-flight FADEC governor failure training during their initial course at Eurocopter-USA.

In early November 2003, at the request of RCMP Air Services management, an experienced AS350-B3 RCMP pilot from another detachment spent a week in Moncton to follow up on the initial training. The focus of the visit was to familiarize the Moncton pilots with the use of the helicopter's optional systems. In-flight emergency training was not planned and was not conducted; however, all caution lights were discussed during ground sessions. The visiting pilot was satisfied with the operational performance of the Moncton pilots. However, as a result of the visit, a number of recommendations were made in a memo, dated 18 November 2003, to RCMP Air Services management. One of the recommendations was that all pilots transferring to the AS350-B3 should be provided with the standard three-day ground school, three flying-hour course offered at the Eurocopter-USA factory, where most of the other AS350-B3 pilots had received their training.

Later in November 2003, the occurrence pilot attended recurrent training at Canadian Helicopters in Penticton, British Columbia, where he received seven hours of ground school and 2.5 hours of flight training. The flight training, however, was on an AS350-B, which is a substantially different helicopter from the B3. Among other differences, the AS350-B does not have a FADEC (DECU). Because of this, FADEC emergency procedures for the AS350-B3 could not be simulated in flight. As part of the AS350-B emergency flight training at Penticton, pilots are advised to land as soon as possible for any red warning light.

The RCMP Air Services operate their aircraft under a Private Operators Certificate (POC) issued by the Canadian Business Aircraft Association (CBAA). An audit conducted prior to the issuance of the POC found that the RCMP Air Services Operations (Ops) Manual met the requirements of the CBAA operational safety standards. The RCMP Air Services Ops Manual (6.2.4) requires that all fixed-wing pilots fly either a pilot proficiency check (PPC) or a pilot competency check (PCC) every 24 months; however there was no requirement for helicopter pilots to fly a PPC or PCC, and the occurrence pilot had not flown a proficiency ride on the B3.

Analysis

The pilot applied the general rule for red warning lights that he had learned in Penticton, and immediately began a precautionary landing. However, during the approach, he did not carefully follow the flight manual procedures necessary to manage a red GOV light emergency: slight adjustments to fuel flow, and only apply small amplitude adjustments, synchronized with the collective pitch control in order to maintain Nr in the green range. The initial decrease in twist grip throttle setting was accompanied by both a descending turn and the lowering of the collective. The descending turn and decreased collective masked the effect of the decreased throttle, resulting in too high a fuel setting for the flight regime, a corresponding increase in rotor rpm, and the subsequent overspeed. By returning the throttle to the "FLIGHT" detent, the pilot increased fuel flow, setting the fuel metering valve to the position it was in just prior to the illumination of the GOV light. This exacerbated the overspeed and reinforced his belief that the fuel system had failed to switch to manual mode.

The amount of initial type flight and ground training provided to the occurrence pilot was less than that normally received during the recommended factory training course. The mishandling of the governor problem, and the lack of recall of any related in-flight training, suggests that the level of flight training the occurrence pilot received on governor failures was insufficient to allow him to understand and respond appropriately to the red GOV light illumination.

RCMP Air Services management were not aware that the two Moncton-based pilots had not received sufficient and appropriate in-flight emergency training. Because a proficiency or competency check was not conducted, there was no opportunity to verify the effectiveness of the training or the competency of their helicopter pilots. If the pilot had been required to fly a competency check prior to the commencement of line operations, the deficiencies in flight training may have been detected.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The pilot had not received adequate flight training for the red GOV light emergency and did not realize that the twist grip throttle still controlled fuel flow to the engine. Consequently, the emergency was mishandled, resulting in a severe overspeed of the aircraft's dynamic components.
  2. Examination of the digital engine control unit (DECU) confirmed the origin of the red GOV light to be an internal component "U 13 optocoupler" of the DECU.

Findings as to Risk

  1. At the time of the occurrence, the RCMP Air Services operations manual did not require either a pilot proficiency check or a pilot competency check for their helicopter pilots, which would help detect deficiencies in flight training and any lack of proficiency.
  2. The RCMP Air Services management was not aware that the pilot had received less than adequate training on the occurrence helicopter type.

Safety Action Taken

The RCMP Air Services have taken the following action:

  • Immediately following the occurrence, a memorandum explaining the meaning of a red GOV light was sent to all their AS350-B3 pilots.
  • Arrangements were made for all pilots who did not have a current proficiency check ride to have one done.
  • The operations manual has been amended to reflect a requirement for their helicopter pilots to have a proficiency check ride every two years and a route check on alternate years.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 22 December 2004.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A04A0050

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Emballement du rotor principal et maîtrise difficile
de l'Eurocopter AS350-B3 C-FMPH
exploité par la Gendarmerie royale du Canada
à 2 nm à l'est de Tabusintac (Nouveau-Brunswick)
le 15 mai 2004

Résumé

L'hélicoptère AS350-B3 (Astar) portant l'immatriculation C-FMPH et le numéro de série 3683 effectue la surveillance aérienne d'un conflit de pêche au homard, au large de la côte de Tabusintac (Nouveau-Brunswick), à 700 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer. Vers 16 h, heure avancée de l'Atlantique, l'alarme du poste de pilotage se fait entendre au cours d'un virage à droite, et le voyant d'alarme rouge GOV (régulateur) s'allume. Le pilote poursuit son virage à droite et il se dirige vers la côte en vue d'un atterrissage de précaution. Quelques secondes plus tard, le régime rotor dépasse sa limite maximale et de fortes vibrations du rotor se manifestent. Le pilote abaisse le collectif et réduit la puissance à l'aide de la poignée tournante de la manette des gaz, mais le régime rotor ne semble pas diminuer. Croyant qu'il est devenu impossible de contrôler manuellement la manette des gaz, il remet la manette sur le cran « FLIGHT », puis il tente d'atteindre le sélecteur de mode carburant supérieur pour le mettre à la position manuelle. À cause des fortes vibrations, il a cependant de la difficulté à régler le commutateur qui se trouve en position bloquée. Le pilote relève donc le collectif pour faire chuter le régime rotor, mais sans effet apparent. Puisque l'hélicoptère descend rapidement et s'approche du sol, le pilote se concentre sur l'atterrissage. Après ce dernier, une puissante résonance au sol se produit, et le pilote redécolle pour se mettre en vol stationnaire afin de la faire cesser. Puisque les vibrations persistent, le pilote atterrit une seconde fois, puis il tire sur la manette coupe-feu au plafond pour arrêter le moteur. Une fois le rotor principal immobilisé, le pilote et les deux passagers débarquent, indemnes.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Mis à part la déformation du tube de patin droit, la structure de l'hélicoptère n'a pas été endommagée. Le système de surveillance des paramètres moteur (VEMD) de l'hélicoptère a enregistré une forte survitesse des composants dynamiques d'au moins 510 tours/minute, la valeur maximale que le VEMD peut capter. À cause de cette survitesse, certains composants de la chaîne dynamique ont dû être retirés du service.

L'alimentation en carburant du moteur Turbomeca Arriel 2B est commandée automatiquement par un dispositif de régulation numérique du moteur (DECU), également appelé « régulateur automatique à pleine autorité redondante (FADEC) ». Le DECU surveille les paramètres du moteur et des commandes de vol, puis il achemine un signal au moteur pas-à-pas du régulateur hydromécanique (HMU). Le moteur pas-à-pas positionne ensuite convenablement le doseur de carburant. Si le DECU décèle la moindre anomalie dans les paramètres surveillés, il allume le voyant d'alarme rouge GOV et déclenche une alarme sonore pour annoncer que l'ensemble de dosage carburant est en panne. Ce voyant s'allume également lorsque le sélecteur de mode passe de la position automatique à la position manuelle. Dans ces deux cas, le moteur pas-à-pas bloque le débit carburant au niveau du réglage qui existait juste avant que le voyant GOV ne s'allume. Le sélecteur de mode à deux positions (automatique et manuelle) a pour seule utilité de simuler la panne de l'ensemble de dosage carburant automatique pendant la formation. Si cet ensemble tombe réellement en panne, il est inutile de mettre le sélecteur à la position manuelle pour commander manuellement la poignée tournante de la manette des gaz.

En cas d'apparition du voyant rouge GOV, la section sur les urgences du manuel de vol énonce les mesures suivantes que le pilote doit prendre :

  • vérifier les paramètres de vol;
  • maintenir Nr (régime du rotor principal) dans l'arc vert;
  • dégager le cran « FLIGHT » pour que la poignée puisse être tournée afin d'augmenter ou de diminuer le débit carburant;
  • n'apporter que de petites corrections synchronisées avec le pas collectif pour maintenir Nr dans l'arc vert;
  • exécuter l'approche à 40 noeuds et doser le débit carburant pour maintenir Nr dans la partie supérieure de l'arc vert. Réduire lentement la vitesse et, si nécessaire, doser légèrement le débit carburant à l'aide de la poignée tournante pour maintenir Nr dans l'arc vert. En approche finale, au moment de tirer sur le collectif à l'approche du vol stationnaire, laisser Nr chuter jusqu'à la prise de contact. Immédiatement après, réduire le débit carburant avant d'abaisser le collectif.

Le HMU (numéro de série 970B) et le DECU (numéro de série 857) ont été retirés de l'aéronef et ont été envoyés chez Turbomeca-USA à Grand Prairie (Texas) où ils ont été examinés sous la surveillance d'un enquêteur du BST. Le HMU a été placé sur un banc d'essai où il a subi un essai de fonctionnement complet. Il a satisfait à tous les critères d'essai, sauf pour quatre points où il se situait légèrement en dehors des tolérances, mais sans que cela aurait pu faire allumer le voyant GOV ou empêcher le dosage manuel de carburant à l'aide de la poignée tournante de la manette des gaz. Les données du DECU ont été téléchargées, et la seule anomalie relevée était le code de défaillance 14 (moteur pas-à-pas) et le code d'emplacement connexe 45 (DECU ou moteur pas-à-pas). Le DECU a été envoyé chez Turbomeca-France pour que la cause de l'apparition du voyant rouge GOV soit déterminée. L'examen du DECU a confirmé que le fonctionnement du dispositif n'était pas conforme aux spécifications. Vers 70 ºC, l'une des commandes du moteur pas-à-pas n'a pas été exécutée. D'autres essais chez le constructeur (Thales) ont confirmé que le composant interne « coupleur optique U 13 » du DECU est celui qui a fait allumer le voyant GOV. On n'a toutefois rien décelé qui aurait pu empêcher le contrôle manuel du débit carburant vers le moteur pendant l'incident.

Le pilote totalisait environ 15 000 heures de vol sur hélicoptère, la majorité sur les hélicoptères Bell 206. Il n'avait jamais piloté d'hélicoptères dotés d'un système de gestion de carburant moteur électronique (DECU ou FADEC) avant sa formation initiale sur l'AS350-B3 en septembre 2003.

Cette formation initiale comprenait une journée d'instruction au sol et deux heures d'instruction en vol chez Eurocopter-Canada, à Fort Erie (Ontario). Le programme de formation d'Eurocopter comportait des exercices de pannes du FADEC en vol, à puissances élevée, moyenne et faible. Ni le pilote en cause ni un autre pilote de la GRC qui ont suivi la même séance de formation ne se souviennent d'avoir effectué de tels exercices chez Eurocopter. Ils se sont toutefois souvenus que les pannes du FADEC avaient été abordées pendant l'instruction au sol. Il a été établi que tous les autres pilotes de B3 de la GRC avaient effectué des exercices de pannes du FADEC pendant leur formation initiale chez Eurocopter-USA.

Au début de novembre 2003, à la demande des Services de l'air de la GRC, un pilote expérimenté sur AS350-B3 appartenant à un autre détachement de la GRC a passé une semaine à Moncton pour observer la formation initiale. Le but de sa visite était de familiariser les pilotes de Moncton à l'utilisation des systèmes optionnels de l'hélicoptère. Aucun exercice d'urgence en vol n'était prévu ni n'a été effectué, mais on a discuté de tous les voyants d'avertissement pendant l'instruction au sol. Le pilote en visite était satisfait de l'efficacité opérationnelle des pilotes de Moncton. À la suite de cette visite toutefois, certaines recommandations ont fait l'objet d'une note de service qui a été présentée aux Services de l'air de la GRC le 18 novembre 2003. On y recommandait, entre autres, que tous les pilotes qui se convertissent à l'AS350-B3 suivent la formation réglementaire de trois jours d'instruction au sol et de trois heures d'instruction en vol chez Eurocopter-USA, où la plupart des autres pilotes d'AS350-B3 avaient reçu leur formation.

Plus tard en novembre 2003, le pilote en cause a suivi une formation périodique chez Canadian Helicopters à Penticton (Colombie-Britannique), dont sept heures d'instruction au sol et 2,5 heures d'instruction en vol. La formation en vol a toutefois été donnée sur AS350-B, un hélicoptère très différent du B3. En particulier, l'AS350-B n'a pas de FADEC (DECU). Pour cette raison, les procédures d'urgence du FADEC sur AS350-B3 n'ont pas pu être simulées en vol. Dans le cas des exercices d'urgence en vol sur AS350-B à Penticton, il est recommandé aux pilotes de se poser le plus tôt possible lorsqu'un voyant d'avertissement rouge s'allume.

Les Services de l'air de la GRC exploitent leurs aéronefs en vertu d'un certificat d'exploitation privée (CEP) délivré par l'Association canadienne de l'aviation d'affaires (ACAA). La vérification préalable à la délivrance du CEP a confirmé que le manuel d'exploitation des Services de l'air de la GRC était conforme aux normes de sécurité opérationnelle de l'ACAA. La rubrique 6.2.4 dudit manuel oblige tous les pilotes d'aéronefs à voilure fixe à se soumettre à un contrôle de compétence pilote (CCP) ou à une vérification de compétence pilote (VCP) tous les 24 mois. Cependant, rien n'oblige les pilotes d'hélicoptère à se soumettre à un CCP ou à une VCP, et le pilote en cause n'avait pas effectué de vol de contrôle ou de vérification de compétence sur le B3.

Analyse

Après avoir appliqué la règle générale concernant les voyants d'avertissement rouges qu'il avait apprise à Penticton, le pilote a aussitôt commencé un atterrissage de précaution. Pendant l'approche cependant, il n'a pas suivi soigneusement les procédures du manuel de vol nécessaires pour gérer une urgence concernant le voyant rouge GOV, à savoir : corriger légèrement le débit carburant et n'apporter que de petites corrections synchronisées avec le pas collectif pour maintenir Nr dans l'arc vert. La réduction initiale des gaz au moyen de la poignée tournante de la manette des gaz a été accompagnée à la fois d'un virage en descente et de la diminution du pas collectif. La combinaison du virage en descente et de la diminution du pas collectif ont masqué les effets de la diminution des gaz de sorte que le débit carburant était trop élevé compte tenu du régime de vol, ce qui s'est traduit par une augmentation du régime rotor et par la survitesse qui a suivi. En ramenant la manette au cran « FLIGHT », le pilote a augmenté le débit carburant, réglant ainsi le doseur de carburant à la position dans laquelle il était, juste avant que le voyant GOV s'allume. Cette mesure a eu pour effet d'amplifier la survitesse et de convaincre davantage le pilote que le circuit carburant n'avait pas réussi à passer au mode manuel.

La formation initiale sur type donnée en vol et au sol au pilote en question était moindre que celle qui est normalement fournie pendant la formation recommandée chez l'hélicoptériste. Puisque le pilote en cause a mal réagi devant le problème du régulateur et qu'il ne se souvenait pas avoir reçu une formation en vol à ce sujet, il est permis de penser que sa formation en vol sur les pannes de régulateur était insuffisante pour lui permettre de comprendre ce qui se passe lorsque le voyant GOV s'allume et de réagir convenablement.

Les Services de l'air de la GRC ne savaient pas que deux pilotes de Moncton n'avaient pas suivi une formation suffisante et convenable sur les urgences en vol. Puisqu'aucun contrôle ni aucune vérification de la compétence des pilotes n'avait été effectuée, les services en question n'ont eu aucun moyen de vérifier l'efficacité de la formation ou la compétence de leurs pilotes d'hélicoptère. Si le pilote en cause avait été tenu de subir une vérification de compétence en vol avant le début des opérations en ligne, les lacunes de sa formation en vol auraient sans doute pu être décelées.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Le pilote n'avait pas reçu une formation en vol convenable sur les urgences concernant le voyant rouge GOV et il ne s'est pas rendu compte que la poignée tournante de la manette des gaz commandait encore le débit carburant vers le moteur. Il a donc mal réagi devant l'urgence, ce qui a causé une importante survitesse des composants dynamiques de l'hélicoptère.
  2. L'examen du dispositif de régulation numérique du moteur (DECU) a confirmé que le voyant rouge GOV s'était allumé à cause du composant interne « coupleur optique U 13 » du DECU.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. Au moment de l'incident, le manuel d'exploitation des Services de l'air de la GRC n'obligeait pas les pilotes d'hélicoptère à se soumettre à un contrôle ou à une vérification de compétence pilote, ce qui aurait aidé à déceler les lacunes de la formation en vol et une compétence insuffisante.
  2. Les Services de l'air de la GRC ne savaient pas que le pilote avait reçu une formation insuffisante sur le type d'hélicoptère en cause.

Mesures de sécurité prises

Les Services de l'air de la GRC ont pris les mesures suivantes :

  • Immédiatement après l'incident, une note de service expliquant la signification d'un voyant rouge GOV allumé a été envoyée à tous les pilotes d'AS350-B3.
  • Des mesures ont été prises pour que tous les pilotes dont le contrôle de compétence n'était pas à jour se soumettent à un tel contrôle.
  • Le manuel d'exploitation a été modifié pour que tous les pilotes d'hélicoptère subissent un contrôle de compétence tous les deux ans et une vérification en route les années où ils ne subissent pas de contrôle de compétence.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 22 décembre 2004.