Aviation Investigation Report A04A0079

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Aerodynamic Stall and Loss Of Control
Bluenose Soaring Club
Schreder HP 18 (Amateur-Built Glider) C-GSTL
CCW4 Stanley Airport, Nova Scotia
18 July 2004

Summary

The pilot of an amateur-built Schreder HP 18 glider (registration C-GSTL, serial number 18105) was prepared for a winch-assisted take-off from the grass adjacent to Runway 02 at Stanley Airport, Nova Scotia. The wind was from the northwest at approximately four knots. At approximately 1445 Atlantic daylight time, the pilot gave the signal to commence the launch. The winch was activated and after a normal ground roll the glider lifted off the surface. The glider then pitched up to an estimated angle of 45 degrees and climbed steeply to about 100 feet above ground level. The aircraft then rolled to the right, pitched nose-down, and completed one or two rolls before it struck the runway in a left-wing-low, nose-down attitude. The pilot was fatally injured and the glider was destroyed.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The Schreder HP 18 is a single-place, high-performance glider. In the HP 18, the pilot is seated in a nearly horizontal (lying-down) position. A head rest props up the pilot's head, allowing for better forward visibility and support, and prevents the pilot from moving rearward during acceleration on a launch. The glider was owned and operated solely by the accident pilot.

The pilot held a current glider pilot licence. He had completed 179 winch-assisted launches in low- to medium- performance gliders, accumulating 63 flight hours, before beginning to fly the high-performance HP 18 in 2003. During his first few flights in the HP 18, it was noted that the pilot initiated a climb attitude that was steeper than necessary during take-off. The pilot was debriefed by his fellow glider pilots, and on subsequent flights the climb attitude was corrected. He had accumulated a total of 16 winch-assisted launches and 21 hours in the HP 18 at the time of the accident. The accident pilot was a member of the Bluenose Soaring Club (BSC), and operated the glider within the organizational structure of the club.

Activities on the field throughout day were proceeding normally and were uneventful up to the time of the accident. Wind conditions were very light from the northwest. The pilot had flown the same glider once that day, approximately 30 minutes before accident flight. The first launch and flight were normal, but thermal activity was not found. The pilot landed after only a few minutes aloft and immediately began to prepare for the next launch. The winch speed used on the second launch was similar to that used on the first launch. No anomalies were found with the operation of the winch.

Post-crash examinations did not reveal any deficiencies in the construction or maintenance of the glider. The flight controls were connected, and there was no indication of airframe structural failure prior to impact. The right and left shoulder harness straps of the five point safety harness were not attached to the latch mechanism, and examination revealed they were likely not attached at impact. Both lap belt airframe attachments were torn free of the fuselage structure.

Analysis

Because of the severity of the breakup, it is unlikely that use of the shoulder harness straps would have reduced the severity of the injuries. The failure of the lap belt attachments at the airframe was likely due to both the destruction of the fuselage in the area of the attachments and the extra load created because the shoulder harnesses were not latched.

As there were no mechanical anomalies found with the glider, it is not likely that the steep climb was due to a mechanical failure. The possibility that the steeper-than-normal climb attitude was caused by the pilot sliding rearward during the launch, because he did not have his shoulder harness attached, was considered. However, the HP-18 seat position restricts rearward movement even if the shoulder harness is undone. The lack of shoulder harness restraint likely did not result in the pilot moving rearward during the launch.

The same winch launch speed was used on the earlier flight, and it is therefore unlikely that the steep climb was due to a change in the winch speed. The previous unsuccessful flight may have prompted the pilot to attempt to gain more altitude from the second launch to increase the likelihood of finding thermal activity. Although it is likely that the pilot initiated the steep climb, this could not be shown conclusively.

The steep climb angle followed by the wing drop is consistent with a wing stall due to excessive angle of attack. Once the wing stalled and the roll commenced, there was insufficient altitude remaining for the pilot to effect a recovery.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. Shortly after lifting off, the aircraft entered a steep climbing attitude and a wing stall ensued; there was insufficient altitude for the pilot to effect recovery.

Findings as to Risk

  1. The shoulder harness straps were not latched prior to take-off; however, it is unlikely that their use would have lessened injuries in this accident.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 02 March 2005.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A04A0079

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Décrochage aérodynamique et perte de contrôle
du planeur de construction amateur
Schreder HP 18 C-GSTL
exploité par le Bluenose Soaring Club
à l'aéroport CCW4 de Stanley (Nouvelle-Écosse)
le 18 juillet 2004

Résumé

Le pilote du planeur de construction amateur Schreder HP 18 (immatriculé C-GSTL et portant le numéro de série 18105) est prêt pour un décollage par treuillage sur l'herbe près de la piste 02 de l'aéroport de Stanley (Nouvelle-Écosse). Le vent souffle du nord-ouest à environ quatre noeuds. Vers 14 h 45, heure avancée de l'Atlantique, le pilote donne le signal de treuillage. Le treuil est actionné et, après une course au sol normale, le planeur décolle. Puis il se cabre à un angle estimé de 45 degrés et poursuit sa montée à grand angle jusqu'à une altitude d'environ 100 pieds. Il s'incline ensuite sur la droite, pique du nez et effectue un ou deux tonneaux avant de heurter la piste en piqué, l'aile gauche basse. Le pilote est blessé mortellement et le planeur est détruit.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le Schreder HP 18 est un planeur monoplace à performances élevées. Dans le HP 18, le pilote est en position presque horizontale (couché). L'appuie-tête du siège donne une meilleure visibilité vers l'avant et un meilleur soutien de la tête, et empêche le pilote de glisser vers l'arrière pendant l'accélération du lancement. Le pilote accidenté était l'unique propriétaire et exploitant du planeur.

Le pilote détenait une licence de pilote de planeur en règle. Il avait effectué 179 décollages par treuillage dans des planeurs à performances basses à moyennes, et totalisait 63 heures de vol quand il avait commencé à piloter le HP 18 à performances élevées en 2003. Dans ses premiers vols en HP 18, on avait remarqué qu'il adoptait une configuration de montée plus prononcée que nécessaire au décollage. Ses camarades pilotes de planeur lui avaient fait des observations et dans les vols suivants le pilote avait corrigé le problème. Il totalisait 16 décollages par treuillage et 21 heures de vol sur HP 18 au moment de l'accident. Le pilote accidenté était membre du Bluenose Soaring Club (BSC) et exploitait le planeur dans le cadre du club.

Les activités sur le terrain se déroulaient normalement ce jour-là et il n'y avait rien eu d'anormal jusqu'au moment de l'accident. Il y avait un vent très léger du nord-ouest. Le pilote avait déjà effectué un vol sur le même planeur, environ 30 minutes avant le vol de l'accident. Le premier décollage et le premier vol avaient été normaux, mais il n'y avait pas de courants ascendants. Le pilote avait atterri après quelques minutes de vol et avait commencé à se préparer immédiatement pour le prochain décollage. La vitesse de treuillage pour le second décollage a été similaire à celle du premier. On n'a constaté aucune anomalie dans le fonctionnement du treuil.

Les examens postérieurs à l'écrasement n'ont révélé aucune déficience dans la construction ou la maintenance du planeur. Les commandes de vol étaient connectées, et il n'y avait aucun signe de défaillance structurale de la cellule avant l'impact. Les sangles gauche et droite du harnais de sécurité à cinq points n'étaient pas verrouillées, et l'examen a révélé qu'elles ne l'étaient vraisemblablement pas au moment de l'impact. Les deux fixations de la ceinture de siège étaient arrachées de la structure du fuselage.

Analyse

À cause de la violence du choc, il est peu probable que l'utilisation du harnais aurait réduit la gravité des blessures. La défaillance des fixations de la ceinture à la cellule a été vraisemblablement causée par la destruction du fuselage à cet endroit et à la surcharge créée par le harnais qui n'était pas attaché.

Comme on n'a pas trouvé d'anomalie mécanique dans le planeur, il est peu probable que le grand angle de montée ait été causé par une défaillance mécanique. On a examiné la possibilité que cet angle plus prononcé que la normale ait été causé par le glissement du pilote vers l'arrière au moment du décollage, parce que son harnais n'était pas attaché. Toutefois, la position du siège du HP 18 limite le déplacement vers l'arrière, même si le harnais n'est pas attaché. L'absence d'immobilisation par le harnais n'a vraisemblablement pas causé le glissement du pilote vers l'arrière durant le décollage.

Comme on avait utilisé la même vitesse de treuillage pour le vol précédent, il est peu probable que la montée à grand angle ait été provoquée par un changement de la vitesse de treuillage. L'insuccès du vol précédent a peut-être incité le pilote à prendre plus d'altitude au deuxième décollage pour accroître la possibilité de trouver des courants ascendants. Selon toute vraisemblance, c'est le pilote qui a amorcé la montée à grand angle, bien que cela n'ait pas pu être démontré de façon concluante.

La montée à grand angle suivie de l' inclinaison de l'aile est typique d'un décrochage de l'aile dû à un angle d'attaque excessif. Après le décrochage et l'inclinaison de l'aile, il n'a pas été possible d'effectuer un rétablissement à cause de l'altitude insuffisante.

Fait établi quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Peu après avoir décollé, le planeur a commencé une montée à grand angle et un décrochage de l'aile a suivi; l'altitude était insuffisante pour permettre un rétablissement.

Fait établi quant aux risques

  1. Les sangles du harnais n'étaient pas attachées avant le décollage; toutefois, il est peu probable que leur utilisation aurait réduit la gravité des blessures dans cet accident.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 2 mars 2005.