Aviation Investigation Report A04C0064

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

In-flight Breakup / Collision With Terrain
Baby Belle (Helicopter-Amateur Built) C-FZQN
Ralph, Saskatchewan
20 March 2004

Summary

On 20 March 2004, the Baby Belle amateur-built helicopter (registration C-FZQN, serial number BB2066) departed from a farm located near Ralph, Saskatchewan, on a local visual-flight-rules flight. The purpose of the flight was to inspect grid road and highway intersections for snow accumulation.

Shortly after take-off, debris began to fall from the helicopter while it was flying in a northwesterly direction at approximately 500 feet above ground level. The helicopter dropped vertically; the nose pitched down; and the helicopter, while in a steep, nose-down attitude, crashed on a farm field. The pilot, the sole occupant, was fatally injured. The helicopter was destroyed by a post-impact fire. The accident occurred at approximately 1000 central standard time.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot held a valid private pilot helicopter licence with Baby Belle and RH22 endorsements, daylight only, and was properly certified for the intended flight. The pilot, who also constructed and maintained the helicopter, had a total of 208 hours of flight time, of which 137 hours were on type. The helicopter was an amateur-built aircraft constructed from a kit. Construction was completed in 2003, and the helicopter had a total flight time of 169 hours.

The closest meteorological reporting office was at the Regina Airport, approximately 75 miles northwest of the accident site. At 1000 central standard time,1 the weather recorded at the Regina airport was as follows: ceiling unlimited, visibility 15 statute miles, temperature -10ºC, wind 350º at 11 knots gusting to 16 knots, and altimeter setting 30.60. The meteorological conditions were similar at the accident site, where they were reported as clear with strong, gusting northwesterly winds.

The helicopter struck the ground at a steep angle. Fuel samples and instrument readings were not available because of the post-impact fire. The main rotor blades had separated from the main mast yoke and were found at the main wreckage site. Indentation marks on the yoke were consistent with mast bumping, and the main rotor blades exhibited extensive downward bending. The spar of one rotor blade had failed in overload. Damage to the engine cooling fan, which is driven by the engine, was consistent with little or no engine power at the time of impact. The flight controls were inspected, and no pre-impact anomalies were found.

Several searches of the accident site and the surrounding area were conducted. Scattered pieces of the bubble canopy and 4130-tubular-steel tail boom structure were found one-half kilometre from the main wreckage. Station 214-241 of the tail boom structure, with the tail rotor gear box still attached to its mount, was found 40 metres from the main wreckage. The tail rotor, which had separated at the gear box shaft, was found approximately 100 metres from the main wreckage. Analysis of the fractured shaft revealed an overload failure. The horizontal stabilizer attachment structure (see Photo 1) had broken off the tail boom and was found adjacent to station 214-241 of the tail boom structure. The attachment structure had a piece of stabilizer spar still attached. This piece of horizontal stabilizer spar revealed a complete fracture at the first rivet hole of the root end. Despite several searches of the area under and surrounding the flight path, the horizontal stabilizer airfoil was not found. Analysis of the fracture revealed 75 per cent fatigue cracking around the circumference of the spar tube (see Photo 2). The remainder of the spar tube had failed in overload. Although the horizontal stabilizer airfoil was not found, the horizontal stabilizer was still attached to the helicopter at the conclusion of the previous flight.

Photo 1 - Horizontal stabilizer attachment structure and spar section

Photo 1.  Horizontal stabilizer attachment structure and spar section

Photo 2 - Horizontal stabilizer spar fracture

Photo 2. Horizontal stabilizer spar fracture

The horizontal stabilizer is a 22-inch long symmetrical airfoil mounted with a 2-degree positive angle of incidence, opposite the tail rotor at station 241 (see Appendix A). The horizontal stabilizer is constructed of 4130-steel spar tubing and has holes drilled through it for attaching the airfoil with rivets. In forward cruise flight, the stabilizer aids in controlling the helicopter. At speeds below 70 mph, the stabilizer lifts the tail. At speeds above 70 mph, it forces the tail downward. At speeds above 70 mph, the slipstream acts upon the bubble canopy, pitching the nose down and the tail up. As the tail pitches up, the top surface of the horizontal airfoil engages with the slipstream, resulting in a downward force to achieve an equilibrium. The stabilizer also dampens vibrations caused by the tail rotor.

The horizontal stabilizer attachment structure found at the site was equipped with an aluminum end cap that was mounted against the airfoil at the root end (see Photos 1 and 2). A review of the construction drawings and a discussion with the kit manufacturer, revealed that the stabilizer is equipped with an end cap on the outboard end of the airfoil and is not designed with an end cap at the root end.

The helicopter had previously been subject to a tail-rotor blade separation and two tail-rotor strikes during hovering manoeuvres. A review of the maintenance records indicated that the tail rotor had been replaced 111 flight hours prior to the accident flight. No record of any tail-rotor strike was found. The Canadian Aviation Regulations require that the particulars of any abnormal occurrence involving an aircraft be recorded in the aircraft journey log.

The tail-rotor blade separation that occurred previous to the accident flight caused the horizontal stabilizer spar to bend. The spar was subsequently bent back and cold straightened using a press. This process for straightening a tubular horizontal stabilizer spar is not a recommended maintenance practice. No record of the spar repair was found in the aircraft maintenance records.

Analysis

During the accident flight, it is likely that the horizontal stabilizer separated while the helicopter was cruising at speeds in excess of 70 mph, causing the tail of the helicopter to pitch up, and the pilot to lose control. Forces produced by the sudden upward movement of the tail boom bent the main rotor blades down, resulting in tail structure interference with the main rotor disc (see Photos 3 and 4). Continued rotation and mast bumping of the main rotor blades destroyed the bubble canopy, and caused the in-flight break up of the helicopter. It is likely that during ground impact the forward protruding rotor blade was forced up, resulting in an overload failure of the rotor spar.

Photo 3 - Wreckage reconstruction showing interference of tail boom with rotor

Photo 3.  Wreckage reconstruction showing interference of tail boom with rotor

Photo 4 - All components situated relative to normal positions on type

Photo 4.  All components situated relative to normal positions on type

The separation of the horizontal stabilizer during the accident flight is probably related to the previous separation of the tail-rotor blade and its subsequent repair. The separation of the tail-rotor blade induced an excessive amount of vibration in the stabilizer that, when combined with the 22-inch arm of the airfoil, bent the stabilizer spar at the root end. The repair, in which the stabilizer spar was bent back and cold straightened, in combination with the excessive vibration, would concentrate forces at the first rivet hole of the root end. The subsequent two tail-rotor strikes then would have aggravated the localized stress concentrations. The vibrations induced by the tail-rotor blade separation and tail-rotor strikes initiated fatigue cracking. Continued operation of the helicopter resulted in continued fatigue cracking and in the eventual overload failure of the stabilizer spar. Installation of the aluminum end cap at the root of the horizontal stabilizer airfoil did not allow inspection of the area, effectively hiding the fatigue crack.

The following laboratory report was completed:

  • LP 038/04 - Horizontal Stabilizer Spar Failure.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. Separation of the tail-rotor blade during a previous flight had induced an excessive amount of vibration in the stabilizer, resulting in bending of the horizontal stabilizer spar.
  2. Cold straightening the stabilizer spar, which was not a recommended maintenance practice, concentrated stresses at the first rivet hole, resulting in fatigue cracking. Subsequent tail-rotor strikes aggravated localized stress concentrations.
  3. Separation of the horizontal stabilizer resulted in a loss of control and in a sudden upward pitch of the tail boom, resulting in the bending of the rotor blades, and causing interference of the tail-boom structure with the rotor disc.

Finding as to Risk

  1. Installation of the end cap at the root end of the stabilizer spar hid the fatigue crack.

Other Finding

  1. No record of the stabilizer spar repair was found in the maintenance records, contrary to the Canadian Aviation Regulations.

Safety Action

The Transportation Safety Board completed and distributed an occurrence bulletin to the manufacturer and to recreational aircraft organizations advising of the stabilizer failure.

The manufacturer of the Baby Belle kit has issued a technical bulletin informing operators of the occurrence and of the recommended inspection criteria. The bulletin also advises operators to comply with the design by removing the end cap, if installed, at the root end.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 14 October 2004.

Appendix A - Diagram of Horizontal Stabilizer

Appendix A - Diagram of Horizontal Stabilizer


1. All times are central standard time unless otherwise noted.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A04C0064

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Dislocation en vol et collision avec le relief
de l'hélicoptère de construction amateur
Baby Belle C-FZQN
à Ralph (Saskatchewan)
le 20 mars 2004

Résumé

Le 20 mars 2004, l'hélicoptère de construction amateur Baby Belle, immatriculé C-FZQN et portant le numéro de série BB2066, décolle d'une ferme située près de Ralph (Saskatchewan) pour un vol local selon les règles de vol à vue. Le pilote effectuait ce vol pour voir s'il y avait des accumulations de neige aux intersections entre les routes de section et une autoroute.

Peu après le décollage, des débris commencent à tomber de l'hélicoptère pendant qu'il vole en direction nord-ouest à environ 500 pieds au-dessus du sol. L'hélicoptère chute verticalement, le nez s'incline vers le bas, et l'hélicoptère, alors dans un piqué prononcé, s'écrase dans un champ de ferme. Le pilote, seul occupant à bord, est mortellement blessé, et l'hélicoptère est détruit par un incendie après l'impact. L'accident s'est produit vers 10 h, heure normale du Centre.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote était titulaire d'une licence de pilote privé d'hélicoptère valide avec annotations pour Baby Belle et RH22, valide de jour seulement, et il était certifié comme il se doit pour le vol prévu. Le pilote, qui avait construit et entretenu l'hélicoptère, totalisait 208 heures de vol, dont 137 sur type. L'hélicoptère était un aéronef de construction amateur construit à partir d'un ensemble préfabriqué (kit). La construction avait été terminée en 2003, et l'hélicoptère avait accumulé 169 heures de vol depuis sa mise en service initiale.

Le bureau météorologique le plus proche se trouvait à l'aéroport de Regina, à environ 75 milles au nord-ouest du lieu de l'accident. À 10 h, heure normale du Centre1, les conditions météorologiques enregistrées à l'aéroport de Regina étaient les suivantes : plafond illimité, visibilité de 15 milles terrestres, température de -10 ºC, vent du 350º à 11 noeuds, en rafales à 16 noeuds, et calage altimétrique de 30,60. Les conditions météorologiques étaient similaires sur le lieu de l'accident, où le temps était clair avec un fort vent soufflant en rafales vers le nord-ouest.

L'hélicoptère a heurté le sol en position très inclinée. En raison de l'incendie qui a suivi l'impact, les enquêteurs n'ont pas pu prélever d'échantillons de carburant ni relever les indications des instruments. Les pales du rotor principal se sont détachées de la chape du pylône principal et ont été retrouvées sur le lieu de l'épave principale. Des marques d'indentation sur la chape indiquaient qu'il y avait eu heurt du pylône, et les pales du rotor principal étaient fortement repliées vers le bas. Le longeron d'une pale de rotor s'était rompu en surcharge. Les dommages relevés sur le ventilateur de refroidissement du moteur entraîné par ce dernier indiquaient que le moteur développait peu ou pas de puissance au moment de l'impact. Les commandes de vol ont été inspectées, et aucune anomalie avant impact n'a été découverte.

Plusieurs recherches ont été menées sur le lieu de l'accident et dans le voisinage immédiat. Des morceaux éparpillés de la verrière en goutte d'eau et de la structure tubulaire de la poutre de queue en acier 4130 ont été trouvés à un demi-kilomètre de l'épave principale. La section de la structure de la poutre de queue comprise entre les références 214 et 241 a été trouvée avec le boîtier d'engrenages du rotor de queue toujours fixé à son attache, à 40 mètres de l'épave principale. Le rotor de queue, qui s'était détaché au niveau de l'arbre du boîtier d'engrenages, a été trouvé à environ 100 mètres de l'épave principale. L'analyse de l'arbre rompu a révélé une défaillance en surcharge. La structure de fixation du stabilisateur (photo 1) s'était rompue de la poutre de queue et elle a été trouvée près de la section de la structure de la poutre de queue comprise entre les références 214 et 241. Un morceau de longeron du stabilisateur était toujours relié à la structure de fixation. Ce morceau de longeron de stabilisateur présentait une fracture complète au premier trou de rivet de l'emplanture. Malgré plusieurs recherches dans la zone située sous la trajectoire de vol et autour de celle-ci, le stabilisateur lui-même n'a pas été retrouvé. Une analyse de la fracture a révélé la présence d'une crique de fatigue sur 75 % de la circonférence du tube longeron (photo 2); le reste s'était rompu en surcharge. On n'a pas trouvé le stabilisateur, mais celui-ci était toujours fixé à l'hélicoptère à la fin du vol précédent.

Photo 1 - Structure de fixation du stabilisateur et morceau de longeron

Photo 1.  Structure de fixation du stabilisateur et morceau de longeron

Photo 2 - Fracture du tube longeron du stabilisateur

Photo 2.  Fracture du tube longeron du stabilisateur

Le stabilisateur est un plan aérodynamique symétrique de 22 pouces de longueur, monté selon un angle d'incidence positif de 2 degrés du côté opposé au rotor de queue, à la référence 241 (voir l'annexe A). Le stabilisateur comprend un tube longeron en acier 4130 et il est percé de trous pour permettre la fixation du plan au moyen de rivets. Au cours des vols en translation en croisière, le stabilisateur aide à la maîtrise de l'hélicoptère. À des vitesses inférieures à 70 milles à l'heure, le stabilisateur soulève la queue, et à des vitesses supérieures à 70 milles à l'heure, il force la queue vers le bas. À des vitesses supérieures à 70 milles à l'heure, l'écoulement aérodynamique autour de la verrière en goutte d'eau fait piquer le nez de l'hélicoptère et soulève la queue. Lorsque la queue se soulève, l'extrados du stabilisateur est exposé à l'écoulement aérodynamique, ce qui produit une force vers le bas qui permet de conserver un équilibre. Le stabilisateur amortit aussi les vibrations causées par le rotor de queue.

La structure de fixation du stabilisateur trouvée sur le lieu de l'accident était équipée d'une plaque d'extrémité en aluminium qui était montée perpendiculairement au plan aérodynamique au niveau de l'emplanture (photos 1 et 2). Un examen des dessins de construction et un échange avec le producteur du kit ont révélé que le stabilisateur est équipé d'une plaque d'extrémité du côté extérieur du plan aérodynamique et qu'il n'est pas conçu pour recevoir une plaque d'extrémité du côté emplanture.

L'hélicoptère avait déjà subi un détachement de pale de rotor de queue et deux impacts de rotor de queue lors de manoeuvres en stationnaire. Un examen des dossiers de maintenance a indiqué que le rotor de queue avait été remplacé 111 heures de vol avant le vol en question. Aucune indication d'impact de rotor de queue n'a été trouvée. Le Règlement de l'aviation canadien exige que les détails relatifs à tout événement anormal subi par un aéronef soient inscrits dans le carnet technique de cet aéronef.

Le détachement d'une pale du rotor de queue qui s'était produit avant le vol en question avait eu pour effet de plier le tube longeron du stabilisateur. Par la suite, le tube longeron avait été redressé à froid au moyen d'une presse. Ce procédé de redressement d'un tube longeron de stabilisateur n'est pas une pratique de maintenance recommandée. Aucune indication de réparation au tube longeron n'a été trouvée dans les dossiers de maintenance de l'hélicoptère.

Analyse

Au cours du vol en question, il est probable que le stabilisateur s'est détaché lorsque la vitesse en croisière était supérieure à 70 milles à l'heure, ce qui a soulevé la queue de l'hélicoptère et fait perdre la maîtrise de ce dernier par le pilote. Les forces exercées par un brusque mouvement vers le haut de la poutre de queue ont défléchi les pales du rotor principal vers le bas, et le disque rotor principal a alors heurté la structure de la poutre de queue (photos 3 et 4). Les pales du rotor principal ont continué à tourner, il s'en est suivi un heurt du pylône, la verrière en goutte d'eau a été détruite, et l'hélicoptère s'est disloqué en vol. Il est probable qu'au moment de l'impact avec le sol, la pale avançante du rotor a été forcée vers le haut, rompant ainsi en surcharge le tube longeron du stabilisateur.

 

Photo 3 - Reconstruction de l'épave montrant le contact de la poutre de queue avec le rotor

Photo 3.  Reconstruction de l'épave montrant le contact de la poutre de queue avec le rotor

Photo 4 - Positionnement de tous les composants selon leur position normale sur l'hélicoptère

Photo 4.  Positionnement de tous les composants selon leur position normale sur l'hélicoptère

Le détachement du stabilisateur lors du vol en question est probablement lié au détachement antérieur d'une pale du rotor de queue et à la réparation qui a suivi. Le détachement de la pale du rotor de queue a induit des vibrations excessives dans le stabilisateur qui, combinées à un bras de levier de 22 pouces du plan aérodynamique, ont plié le tube longeron à l'emplanture. Le redressement à froid du tube longeron du stabilisateur, allié aux vibrations excessives, aurait pour effet de concentrer les contraintes au premier trou de rivet du côté emplanture. Les deux impacts de rotor de queue qui ont suivi auraient alors aggravé les concentrations de contraintes localisées. Les vibrations induites par le détachement de la pale du rotor de queue et les impacts de ce dernier ont amorcé une crique de fatigue. L'hélicoptère a continué à être utilisé, la crique de fatigue a continué à progresser, et le tout s'est soldé par une défaillance en surcharge du tube longeron du stabilisateur. Le montage d'une plaque d'extrémité en aluminium à l'emplanture du plan aérodynamique du stabilisateur ne permettait pas d'inspecter la zone, ce qui a effectivement masqué la crique de fatigue.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 038/04 - Horizontal Stabilizer Spar Failure (Défaillance du tube longeron du stabilisateur).

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Le détachement d'une pale du rotor de queue au cours d'un vol précédent avait induit des vibrations excessives dans le stabilisateur, ce qui a eu pour effet de plier le tube longeron de ce dernier.
  2. Le redressement à froid du tube longeron du stabilisateur, qui n'était pas une pratique de maintenance recommandée, a concentré les contraintes au premier trou de rivet et donné naissance à une crique de fatigue. Les impacts subséquents du rotor de queue ont aggravé les concentrations de contraintes localisées.
  3. Le détachement du stabilisateur a causé une perte de maîtrise et un brusque mouvement vers le haut de la poutre de queue, ce qui a défléchi les pales du rotor principal vers le bas, lesquelles sont alors entrées en contact avec la structure de la poutre de queue.

Fait établi quant aux risques

  1. Le montage d'une plaque d'extrémité du côté emplanture du tube longeron du stabilisateur a masqué la crique de fatigue.

Autre fait établi

  1. Aucune indication de la réparation apportée au tube longeron du stabilisateur n'a été trouvée dans les dossiers de maintenance, contrairement à ce que prévoit le Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

Mesures de sécurité

Le BST a rédigé et envoyé un bulletin sur l'événement au producteur du kit et aux organisations de l'aviation de loisir, les avisant de la défaillance du stabilisateur.

Le producteur du kit du Baby Belle a publié un bulletin technique informant les utilisateurs de l'événement et des critères d'inspection recommandés. Le bulletin avise aussi les utilisateurs de se conformer à la conception en retirant toute plaque d'extrémité montée du côté emplanture, le cas échéant.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 14 octobre 2004.

Annexe A - Diagramme du stabilisateur

Annexe A - Diagramme du stabilisateur


1. Toutes les heures sont exprimées en heure normale du Centre, sauf indication contraire.