Aviation Investigation Report A04P0033

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

In-flight Breakup
Bear Creek Contracting Ltd.
Robinson R22 (Helicopter) C-FILW
Kumealon Inlet, British Columbia
20 February 2004

Summary

The Robinson R22 helicopter (registration C-FILW), serial number 1457M) was on a flight from a logging camp at Kumealon Inlet to Prince Rupert and return, a distance of approximately 40 nautical miles. There had been a passenger on the leg of the flight to Prince Rupert and the pilot was returning alone. When the helicopter did not arrive at the logging camp, a search was carried out, and a day later the helicopter wreckage was located in the forest near its intended destination at Kumealon Inlet. The helicopter had suffered an in-flight breakup, and one of its two main-rotor blades was missing. The pilot was fatally injured during the in-flight breakup, and his body was found 15 metres away from the cabin/main wreckage. There was no fire. The accident occurred at approximately 1240 Pacific standard time.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The weather reported from Prince Rupert for that day was suitable for visual flight, with winds at 10 to 18 knots. The crew of a Boeing 107 helicopter reported moderate to severe turbulence and winds blowing at 30 to 40 knots in the area that day. They had also encountered turbulence in the area of the accident, at the approximate time of the accident, 1240 Pacific standard time.1 This turbulence was sufficient to leave the entire contents of the co-pilot's coffee cup in the air and was described as an unusually sharp blow to the Boeing 107, which is a heavy and forgiving helicopter in turbulence.

The accident helicopter was owned and operated by Bear Creek Contracting Ltd. and was being used by the logging manager, the pilot, to get around the area (like one would use a pick-up truck if terrain and roads permitted). It was registered for private use.

The pilot carried out an extensive pre-flight inspection before the first leg of the accident flight. The flight to Prince Rupert was normal and relatively smooth. A few moments before the estimated time of the accident the helicopter was seen flying towards the logging camp, its destination.

The Robinson R22 flight manual has flight restrictions if surface winds exceed 25 knots, or if the wind gust spread exceeds 15 knots. There are also restrictions on continued flight in moderate, severe, or extreme turbulence. These restrictions apply only to pilots with less than 200 hours on helicopters, or less than 50 flight hours on type, or have not completed the awareness training specified in United States Special Federal Aviation Regulation No. 73. The pilot had approximately 1200 hours of flying experience on Robinson R22 helicopters, had the awareness training specified, and was very familiar with the local environment.

The area in the vicinity of the accident site was examined for main-rotor blade strikes to trees. None was found, but the tree branches immediately above the main wreckage impact area were damaged. That damage was not consistent with that found when rotating blades strike a tree.

The detached main-rotor blade was found three days after the accident approximately

 
Photo 1 - Accident site

Photo 1. 

Accident site

150 metres from the main wreckage site. It was bent more than 90 degrees down at approximately 78 cm from the blade root. The pitch horn was bent and the pitch change rod was broken. Examination of the wreckage indicated that the blade attachment bolt had broken at the coning hinge, so an extensive search of the area was carried out. Part of the subject bolt was found a week later. It was examined with optical enhancement and determined to have broken/sheared from overload. The other blade attachment bolt was examined and found to demonstrate signatures of an impending shear. Both bolts were tested for hardness and dimension; they met design specifications.

The examination also revealed damage to the rotor system droop stops and teeter stops. The teeter stops were of an early design made of aluminium brackets with elastomeric bumpers. The elastomeric bumpers were missing. The droop stops were sheared off in a manner similar to that found when like rotor systems are subjected to negative loading. However, contrary to previous accidents where rotor systems were unloaded, there were no obvious main-rotor strikes to the cabin, landing gear or tail.

Robinson Helicopters, the manufacturer of the helicopter, issued a service bulletin (SB-78) in 1995 calling for the teeter stops to be changed to a newer design made of stainless steel brackets with elastomeric bumpers. The bulletin was to mitigate the risk of losing the elastomeric bumpers because of failures of the aluminium brackets. While the helicopter manufacturer stated a date of compliance (31 July 1995) for this airworthiness-related service bulletin, Transport Canada does not require compliance with service bulletins. It is however noteworthy that the service bulletin only referred to problems during starting and stopping the rotors in windy conditions.

The main-rotor damage signatures did not indicate excessively low rpm. The engine and its accessories demonstrated signatures of power/rotation at impact. The main-rotor transmission attachment area was torn and deformed. The structural firewall - the aft wall of the cabin - was deformed forward. The plexiglass windshield and roof were broken, and the pieces were found approximately 100 metres from the wreckage impact site. The centre post for the windshield was also broken; and part of it, with the compass, was found close to the pilot's body, which was resting along the debris trail before the main wreckage impact site. The main-rotor blade that remained attached to the helicopter had blood stains on the leading edge at 91 to 101 centimetres from the blade root. The tail-rotor and tail boom damage indicate that the tail-rotor deflected into the tail boom.

The sprag clutch assembly was damaged and excessively worn, the wear being uneven, and there were indications of hard engagements and slipping. While the helicopter manufacturer's assigned life for the sprag clutch assembly is 2200 hours, the sprag clutch assembly that was installed had 2906.5 hours of logged flight time on it. There were several other components that were over their time limits, but there were no indications of excessive wear and tear on them.

Light bulb analysis of the caution lights indicate that the main transmission chip (MR CHIP) detector caution light was illuminated at impact.

An autopsy of the pilot's body found, among other injuries, an incomplete tear of the pontomedullary junction of the brainstem. The fatal upper body and head injuries suffered by the pilot are consistent with what would be caused by the violent thrashing forces that deformed the helicopter in flight.

Analysis

The wreckage debris trail, the damage to the trees, the resting location of the pilot's body, and the damage to the helicopter were indicative of an in-flight breakup.

All indications are that the accident helicopter and pilot encountered quite severe turbulence. The turbulence, specifically a down draught, caused the rotor system to unload, evident by the droop stop and teeter stop/bumper damage. Because stops and bumpers from both blades were damaged, it was concluded that some of this damage occurred before one of the main-rotor blades separated.

When the down draught unloaded the rotor system it was sufficient to allow the main-rotor blades to flap and teeter enough to shear the droop stops and damage the aluminium brackets. At some point, the elastomeric bumpers fell out allowing the main-rotor to teeter excessively and overload the pitch change rod associated with the separated main-rotor blade. The pitch change rod broke, resulting in loss of control of the rotor system and the helicopter. The blade likely pitched down allowing aerodynamic forces to bend it. The uncontrolled behaviour of the rotor blades likely loaded the rotor system beyond its design strength, and one of the coning hinge bolts broke. The loads would have been immediately relaxed from the opposing blade and the coning hinge bolt; so while it showed signs of impending failure, it did not break. The blade associated with the broken bolt separated as that bolt served to attach the blade to the main-rotor head.

The imbalance resulting from the loss of one of only two main-rotor blades shook the helicopter violently. The main-rotor transmission tilted forward, port, aft, and starboard as the top of the mast was pulled away from its centre of rotation. The tube-frame main structure was deformed and broken, and the aft cabin fire wall was deformed forward. The deformation of the cabin fire wall allowed the pilot restraint system to loosen, and the pilot's body was ejected through the windshield into the path of the remaining main-rotor blade.

The illumination of the MR CHIP detector caution light was likely caused by the in-flight break-up, illuminating before impact.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The helicopter encountered turbulent air that unloaded the main-rotor system resulting in damage that led to the helicopter becoming uncontrollable. Subsequent forces overloaded and broke one of the main-rotor blade attachment bolts, and the blade separated.

  2. Gross imbalance resulted in deformation of the attachment area of the main-rotor transmission, and the helicopter broke up in-flight.

Findings as to Risk

  1. There was extensive wear and tear on the freewheel unit sprag clutch, likely because it had remained in operation for more than 700 hours beyond its time limit before removal.

  2. The operator continued to operate the helicopter after some component life limits had been exceeded.

  3. The operator did not incorporate SB 78 nor was he required to. There was a risk that the teeter stops would fail during flight in severe turbulence, though not referenced in the bulletin.

Safety Action

On 11 March 2004, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) issued an Occurrence Bulletin revealing the relevant facts as they were known at that time.

On 27 May 2004, Robinson Helicopter Company issued an updated Service Bulletin (SB-78A), that included background information regarding a recent accident and the risk of excessive teetering of the main-rotor, should the brackets fail. That service bulletin requested that owners, operators, and service centres determine if SB-78A was complied with, and, if not, to proceed with the instructions for SB-78A.

The USA Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) plans to issue a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking Airworthiness Directive (AD) to mandate the installation of the manufacturer's higher strength teeter stop brackets.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 19 October 2004.


1. All times are Pacific standard time (Coordinated Universal Time minus eight hours).

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A04P0033

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Rupture en vol
de l'hélicoptère Robinson R22 C-FILW
exploité par Bear Creek Contracting Ltd
à Kumealon Inlet (Colombie-Britannique)
le 20 février 2004

Résumé

L'hélicoptère Robinson R22 (portant l'immatriculation C-FILW et le numéro de série 1457M) effectue un vol aller-retour en partance d'un chantier forestier situé à Kumealon à destination de Prince Rupert, ce qui correspond à une distance de quelque 40 milles marins. Il transporte un passager pendant l'étape du vol vers Prince Rupert, mais le pilote revient seul. Comme l'hélicoptère n'arrive pas au chantiet forestier, des recherches sont lancées et, le lendemain, on repère l'épave de l'hélicoptère dans la forêt, près de la destination prévue, c'est-à-dire Kumealon Inlet. L'hélicoptère a subi une rupture en vol et il manque l'une des deux pales de son rotor principal. Le pilote a subi des blessures mortelles au moment de la rupture en vol. Son corps est retrouvé à 15 mètres de l'épave. Aucun incendie ne s'est déclaré. L'accident est survenu vers 12 h 40, heure normale du Pacifique.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Ce jour-là, les conditions météorologiques signalées à Prince Rupert convenaient au vol à vue, et le vent soufflait de 10 à 18 noeuds. L'équipage d'un hélicoptère Boeing 107 avait signalé de la turbulence variant de modérée à forte ainsi qu'un vent soufflant de 30 à 40 noeuds sur la région ce jour-là. L'équipage de ce même hélicoptère avait également rencontré de la turbulence dans la région et vers l'heure où est survenu l'accident, c'est-à-dire 12 h 40, heure normale du Pacifique1. Cette turbulence avait suffi à projeter dans les airs tout le contenu de la tasse de café du copilote, et elle a été décrite comme une sorte de projection brusque inhabituelle pour le Boeing 107, hélicoptère qui est lourd et qui supporte assez bien la turbulence.

Bear Creek Contracting Ltd était le propriétaire et l'exploitant de l'hélicoptère en cause dans cet accident, lequel hélicoptère était utilisé par le gestionnaire en exploitation forestière, à savoir le pilote, pour se déplacer dans la région (comme on utilise une camionnette lorsque le relief et les routes le permettent). L'appareil avait une immatriculation privée.

Le pilote avait procédé à une importante inspection prévol avant la première étape du vol au cours duquel est survenu l'accident. Le vol vers Prince Rupert a été normal et relativement stable. Quelques instants avant l'heure à laquelle on a estimé que l'accident était survenu, l'hélicoptère a été vu alors qu'il se dirigeait vers le chantier forestier, sa destination.


Le manuel de vol du Robinson R22 comporte des restrictions de vol dans les cas où la vitesse des vents de surface dépasse 25 noeuds ou dans les cas où l'écart dans les rafales de vent dépasse 15 noeuds. Il existe également des restrictions relativement au vol continu dans de la turbulence modérée, forte ou extrême; cependant, ces restrictions ne s'appliquent qu'aux pilotes totalisant moins de 200 heures sur les hélicoptères, ou moins de 50 heures de vol sur le type d'hélicoptère en cause, ou n'ayant pas suivi la formation de sensibilisation mentionnée dans la Special Federal Aviation Regulation nº 73 des États-Unis. Le pilote totalisait quelque 1200 heures d'expérience de pilotage sur des hélicoptères Robinson R22, il avait suivi la formation de sensibilisation mentionnée et il connaissait bien le milieu environnant.

Dans la région se trouvant près des lieux de l'accident, on a examiné les arbres pour voir s'ils portaient des marques produites par les pales du rotor principal. Aucune marque n'a été décelée, mais les branches des arbres se trouvant immédiatement au-dessus de la zone d'impact du corps de l'épave étaient endommagées. Les dommages décelés ne correspondaient cependant pas aux dommages

 
Photo 1 - Lieu de l'accident

Photo 1. 

Lieu de l'accident

provoqués par des pales en rotation qui heurtent un arbre.


Trois jours après l'accident, on a retrouvé à quelque 150 mètres du corps de l'épave la pale qui s'était détachée du rotor principal. Elle était pliée de plus de 90 degrés vers le bas, à quelque 78 cm de son emplanture. Le guignol de pas était plié et la biellette de changement de pas s'était rompue. Comme l'inspection de l'épave a permis d'établir que le boulon de fixation de la pale s'était rompu à l'articulation de conicité, on a entrepris des recherches importantes dans la région. Une semaine plus tard, on a retrouvé une partie du boulon en question. On l'a inspecté au moyen d'un dispositif de grossissement optique et il a été établi qu'il avait subi une rupture/un cisaillement par surcharge. On a inspecté l'autre boulon de fixation de pale, et il a été établi qu'il présentait des marques de cisaillement imminent. La dureté et les dimensions des boulons ont été vérifiées; les deux boulons respectaient les normes de conception.


L'inspection a également permis de déceler des dommages aux butées d'affaissement et de basculement du système du rotor. Les butées de basculement étaient de conception ancienne, faites de ferrures en aluminium munies de tampons en élastomère, lesquels étaient absents. Les butées d'affaissement avaient été cisaillées comme lorsque des systèmes de rotors semblables sont soumis à des charges négatives. Cependant, contrairement aux accidents antérieurs au cours desquels des systèmes de rotors avaient perdu toute sustentation, il n'y avait aucune marque apparente d'impact du rotor principal avec la cabine, le train d'atterrissage ou la queue.

En 1995, l'hélicoptériste Robinson Helicopters avait publié un bulletin de service (SB-78) invitant à remplacer les butées d'affaissement par des dispositifs d'une nouvelle conception fabriqués de ferrures en acier inoxydable munies de tampons en élastomère. Ce bulletin de service visait à réduire les risques de perte des tampons en élastomère à cause de ruptures des ferrures en aluminium. Même si l'hélicoptériste mentionnait une date d'entrée en vigueur (31 juillet 1995) pour ce bulletin de service ayant trait à la navigabilité aérienne, Transports Canada n'exige aucunement de se conformer aux bulletins de service. Il faut cependant noter que ce bulletin de service ne concernait que des problèmes rencontrés au démarrage et à l'arrêt des rotors dans de grands vents.


Les marques de dommages au rotor principal n'indiquaient pas un régime rotor particulièrement faible. Le moteur et ses accessoires portaient des marques qui montraient que le moteur fournissait une puissance/tournait à l'impact. Le point de fixation de la transmission du rotor principal était tordu et déformé. La cloison pare-feu structurale - la paroi arrière de la cabine - avait été déformée vers l'avant. Le pare-brise et le toit en plexiglass s'étaient rompus, et des morceaux ont été retrouvés à quelque 100 mètres des lieux d'impact où se trouvait l'épave. Le montant central du pare-brise s'était également rompu, et on en a retrouvé une partie avec le compas, près du corps du pilote, lequel reposait le long de la trace laissée par les débris, avant les lieux d'impact où se trouvait le corps de l'épave. Le bord d'attaque de la pale du rotor principal qui était demeurée fixée à l'hélicoptère comportait des taches de sang entre 91 et 101 centimètres de l'emplanture de la pale. D'après les dommages qu'ont subis le rotor de queue et la poutre de queue, tout indique que le rotor de queue s'est affaissé sur la poutre de queue.

L'embrayage à roue libre était endommagé et fortement usé de façon inégale, et il présentait des signes d'embrayage dur et de glissement. Alors que l'hélicoptériste avait attribué à l'embrayage à roue libre une durée de vie de 2200 heures, l'embrayage à roue libre installé sur l'hélicoptère en cause dans cet accident totalisait 2906,5 heures de vol consignées. Plusieurs autres composants dépassaient le nombre maximal d'heures de vol qui leur était prescrit, mais ils ne comportaient aucune marque d'usure ni de détérioration excessive.

Une analyse des ampoules a révélé que le voyant d'avertissement du détecteur de limaille de la transmission principale (MR CHIP) était allumé à l'impact.

L'autopsie a permis d'établir que le pilote avait subi, en plus d'autres blessures, une déchirure partielle de la jonction médullo-pontine du tronc cérébral. Les blessures mortelles que le pilote a subies au haut du corps et à la tête correspondent à des blessures pouvant être causées par les violentes forces d'agitation qui ont déformé l'hélicoptère en vol.

Analyse

La trace laissée par les débris de l'épave, les dommages aux arbres, l'endroit où reposait le corps du pilote et les dommages à l'hélicoptère indiquaient qu'il y avait eu rupture en vol.

Tout indique que l'hélicoptère et le pilote en cause dans cet accident ont rencontré de la turbulence relativement forte. Cette turbulence, plus précisément un courant descendant, a fait que le rotor a perdu toute sustentation, comme le montrent les dommages qu'ont subis les butées d'affaissement et les tampons des butées de basculement. Comme les butées et les tampons des deux pales avaient subi des dommages, on en a conclu que certains de ces dommages s'étaient produits avant que l'une des pales du rotor principal ne se détache.

Lorsque le courant descendant a fait perdre toute sustentation au du rotor, cela a suffi pour que les pales du rotor principal puissent se rabattre et basculer suffisamment pour cisailler les butées d'affaissement et endommager les ferrures en aluminium. À un moment donné, les tampons en élastomère se sont rompus et ont permis au rotor principal de basculer fortement tout en provoquant une surcharge de la biellette de changement de pas associée à la pale du rotor principal qui s'était détachée. Cette biellette de changement de pas s'est rompue, ce qui a donné lieu à une perte de maîtrise du du rotor et de l'hélicoptère. Le pas de la pale a probablement été réduit, ce qui a permis aux forces aérodynamiques de plier cette dernière. Le comportement intempestif des pales du rotor a probablement imposé au rotor des charges dépassant sa résistance nominale, et l'un des boulons de l'articulation de conicité s'est rompu. Les charges ont immédiatement été libérées de la pale et du boulon de l'articulation de conicité opposés, ce qui fait que, même si ce dernier présentait des marques de rupture imminente, il ne s'est pas rompu. La pale associée au boulon qui s'est rompu s'est détachée parce que ce boulon servait à fixer la pale à la tête de rotor principal.


Le déséquilibre provoqué par le détachement de l'une des deux seules pales du rotor principal a secoué violemment l'hélicoptère. La transmission du rotor principal a basculé vers l'avant, vers la gauche, vers l'arrière et vers la droite lorsque la partie supérieure du mât a été arrachée de son centre de rotation. La structure principale à châssis tubulaire a été déformée et s'est rompue, et la cloison pare-feu arrière de la cabine a été déformée vers l'avant. Cette déformation de la cloison pare-feu de la cabine a permis au système de retenue du pilote de se desserrer, et le corps du pilote a été éjecté au travers du pare-brise, sur la trajectoire de la pale du rotor principal qui était demeurée fixée à l'hélicoptère.

Le fait que le voyant d'avertissement du détecteur MR CHIP se soit allumé a probablement été causé par la rupture en vol.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. L'hélicoptère a rencontré de l'air turbulent qui a fait perdre toute sustentation au rotor principal, ce qui a causé des dommages qui ont entraîné la perte de maîtrise de l'hélicoptère. Par la suite, des forces ont provoqué une surcharge ainsi que la rupture de l'un des boulons de fixation d'une pale du rotor principal, et cette pale s'est détachée.

  2. Un violent déséquilibre a provoqué la déformation du point de fixation de la transmission du rotor principal, et il y a eu rupture en vol de l'hélicoptère.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. L'embrayage à roue libre était fortement usé et détérioré, probablement parce qu'il était toujours en exploitation alors qu'il avait dépassé de plus de 700 heures sa durée de vie prévue.

  2. L'exploitant a continué d'exploiter l'hélicoptère, même si la durée de vie de certains de ses composants était dépassée.

  3. L'exploitant n'avait pas incorporé les mesures que préconisait le bulletin de service SB-78, mais il n'était pas tenu de le faire. Même si cela n'était pas mentionné dans le bulletin de service, en cas de forte turbulence, il y avait risque de rupture en vol des butées de basculement.

Mesures de sécurité

Le 11 mars 2004, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) du Canada a publié un bulletin d'information sur l'événement révélant les faits pertinents qui étaient alors connus.

Le 27 mai 2004, Robinson Helicopter a publié une mise à jour du bulletin de service (SB-78A) comportant des renseignements sur les antécédents relatifs à un récent accident et au risque de basculement excessif du rotor principal en cas de rupture des ferrures. Ce bulletin de service demandait aux propriétaires, aux exploitants et aux centres de service de vérifier si le bulletin de service SB-78A avait été exécuté et, dans la négative, de se conformer aux directives figurant dans le bulletin de service SB-78A.

Dans le cadre de son processus réglementaire, la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) des États-Unis a l'intention de publier une consigne de navigabilité (CN) pour rendre obligatoire l'installation des ferrures des butées de basculement plus robustes de l'hélicoptériste.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 19 octobre 2004.


1.   Les heures sont exprimées en heure normale du Pacifique (temps universel coordonné moins huit heures), sauf indication contraire.