Aviation Investigation Report A04P0158

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of Control
Cessna 305A C-GYHF
Thetis Island, British Columbia
08 May 2004

Summary

The pilot, flying a privately-owned Cessna 305A float plane (registration C-GYHF, serial number 23260) departed Ganges Harbour on Saltspring Island, British Columbia at about 0840 Pacific daylight time (Coordinated Universal Time minus seven hours) and flew to Thetis Island to pick up a passenger. They then took off on a local flight to photograph boats and fleet activities related to an annual regatta at Thetis Island. The passenger was seated in the rear cockpit. Both rear windows of the aircraft were opened inward and secured to permit photography. During low-level manoeuvring near the fleet, just before the accident occurred, the aircraft flew in an easterly direction, south of the fleet (see Appendix A).

The aircraft was being flown in slow flight at a high power setting; the flaps were extended 15 to 20 degrees and the nose of the aircraft was 10 to 15 degrees nose up. During the initial portion of the pass, the aircraft's height was estimated to be 30 to 50 feet above the water. As the aircraft approached Thetis Island, the engine sound increased and the aircraft began to climb in a steep attitude to 70 to 100 feet above the water. The aircraft then banked sharply to the left and the nose dropped abruptly to a steep, nose-down attitude. There was no recovery from the descent, and the aircraft struck the water in a left-wing-down, nose-low attitude. The pilot was fatally injured on impact; the passenger escaped through the left-side rear window and was rescued from the water by nearby boaters. The accident occurred at 1019.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

Pilot Qualifications and Experience

The pilot held a private pilot licence and valid Category 3 medical certificate at the time of the accident. His total flight experience at the time of his last medical was about 800 hours, and he had been flying at a rate of 100 to 150 hours per year. He had owned and operated the aircraft since July 1998 and was well acquainted with the aircraft's performance. He had flown a similar flight profile with this same photographer on a number of previous occasions.

Aircraft

The aircraft was built by Cessna Aircraft Corporation in 1952 and was initially operated by the military. This aircraft type is approved for civilian operation in Canada under the authority of Type Certificate 5A5. Cessna Aircraft Corporation has sold the rights to this Type Certificate to Regal Air, Inc. of Fort Collins, Colorado, United States.

The aircraft had been flown a total of about 6100 hours since manufacture and about 70 hours over the last calendar year. The most recent annual inspection was completed on 04 August 2003.

The engine was replaced in February 2004. The pilot had noted that several of the engine instruments were not working properly after the installation; however, these problems had been repaired well in advance of the accident flight. The aircraft log books do not record any mechanical problem related to the new engine.

The aircraft's most recent empty weight was documented as 1721.8 pounds; the maximum allowable weight in the seaplane configuration is 2400 pounds. Based on the documented weight of the pilot at his last medical and an estimated weight of the passenger, the aircraft would have been within the certificated weight and balance envelope regardless of the fuel load.

Normally a Cessna 305A aircraft has one access door on the right side of the fuselage. This particular aircraft had been modified with a second access door on the left side of the aircraft. That door could not be opened from outside the aircraft.

The aircraft's airspeed indicator had markings on it to indicate various speeds. However, the following markings were improperly placed:

  • The maximum flap speed was placed at 100 knots rather than at 87 knots, as required by the Type Certificate.
  • The never-exceed speed was placed at 170 knots rather than at 137 knots, as required by the Type Certificate.
  • The normal stall speed (bottom of the green arc) was located at 100 knots; it should have been located at 48 knots, based on the aircraft flight manual.
  • The stall speed with flaps extended (bottom of the white arc) was located at 65 knots; it should have been located at 44 knots, based on the aircraft flight manual.

Aircraft Stall Warning System

After removal from military service, the aircraft was equipped with a "Safe Flight" stall warning system, as required by the aircraft's Type Certificate. This system incorporates a vane-type actuator mounted in the leading edge of the left wing with a combination light and horn warning component that is designed for mounting in a standard hole in the aircraft's instrument panel. In the accident aircraft, the warning light and horn component was mounted under the instrument panel to the right of the pilot's right knee. The placement of the instrument in this position rendered the visual warning ineffective because it was outside the pilot's normal field of view.

The stall warning system also generates a tone to provide aural warning of an impending stall. The horn was bench-tested after the accident and found to generate a 93 to 96 decibels-level sound at a distance of 2.5 to 3 feet. The effectiveness of this aural warning will vary depending on ambient sound levels in the cockpit. During a test on a similar aircraft operating under high power with the rear windows open, the ambient noise levels in the cockpit were measured to be as high as 120 to 130 decibels absolute. Under those flight conditions, the audibility of the aural warning was reduced significantly.

Wreckage Examination

A technical examination and analysis of the wreckage following the accident found the following:

  • The engine was producing power at impact. This conclusion is supported by the tip curling of the propeller blades and by the impact damage caused to the float system by the propeller rotation.
  • It is unlikely that there was any control malfunction. Control continuity was confirmed for aileron, elevator, rudder, and trim control systems. The flaps were found to be selected to between 15 and 20 degrees.
  • There was no indication of a structural failure. All flight control surfaces were accounted for, and bending and breakage of structural components was consistent with the crash dynamics. Overload damage to the main spars of the wings was consistent with a steep, left-wing-low impact. Damage to the seat restraint system and the seat structures support this conclusion.
  • Although the aircraft was equipped with an entry door on each side of the aircraft, only the door on the right side was operable from outside the aircraft; any rescue attempt from the left side of the aircraft would have been impeded by a lack of external access. Both rear windows were open.

Aerodynamic Stall

Transport Canada's Flight Training Manual states that an aerodynamic stall occurs when the aircraft's wing is no longer capable of providing the lift required to counteract the aircraft's weight. An aircraft may be stalled in practically any attitude and airspeed. When an aircraft stalls at low airspeed with power on, the stall speed will be slightly lower than for a power-off stall; therefore, there will be a decrease in aileron effectiveness. Other factors, such as engine torque, will contribute to the difficulty of controlling a power-on stall. Generally, a power-on stall will be more violent than a power-off stall, and the resultant decrease in controllability will be greater.

Life Jackets

Neither occupant was wearing a life jacket at the time of the accident, and the survivor exited the aircraft without getting one. The TSB has, on several occasions, raised concerns regarding the availability of life jackets for those escaping from float plane accidents. Data show that following a crash, because occupants think only about escaping from the aircraft, they often do not take the time to get the life jackets that are provided for their safety. Once clear of the aircraft, many drown because they lack an appropriate flotation device. To date there is no regulation requiring either crew members or passengers to wear flotation devices while on board a float plane.

Analysis

Various descriptions of the flight are consistent with a power-on, aerodynamic stall. This type of stall will typically result in a more complete loss of control than a power-off stall, and more altitude will be required for recovery. Low-altitude, slow-speed manoeuvring increases the risk of an inadvertent stall and reduces the available recovery time.

Positioning the stall warning system under the instrument panel rendered the visual warning ineffective because it was outside the pilot's normal field of view. High engine power operation with rear windows open raised the ambient noise levels in the cockpit and reduced the effectiveness of the aural stall warning.

The improperly placed airspeed range markings provided no assistance in visually recognizing the normal operating speeds of the aircraft, and could not be used as a defence against either an aerodynamic stall or an aircraft over speed.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The aircraft stalled at an altitude from which there was insufficient time or altitude to recover.
  2. High ambient sound levels reduced the effectiveness of the aural stall warning system.
  3. Mounting the stall warning system under the dash placed it outside the pilot's normal field of view and rendered the visual stall warning ineffective.
  4. Improperly placed airspeed range markings eliminated their effectiveness as visual indicators of the normal safe-flight ranges.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 25 January 2005.

Appendix A - Aircraft Flight Path

Appendix A - Aircraft Flight Path

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A04P0158

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de maîtrise
du Cessna 305A C-GYHF
à l'île de Thetis (Colombie-Britannique)
le 8 mai 2004

Résumé

Vers 8 h 40, heure avancée du Pacifique (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins sept heures), le pilote aux commandes d'un Cessna 305A privé monté sur flotteurs (immatriculé C-GYHF et portant le numéro de série 23260) décolle de Ganges Harbour, sur l'île de Saltspring (Colombie-Britannique), et se rend jusqu'à l'île de Thetis pour prendre un passager. Il redécolle ensuite avec ce passager à bord pour effectuer un vol local, le but étant de photographier des bateaux et des activités nautiques qui se déroulent dans le cadre de la régate annuelle de l'île de Thetis. Le passager prend place sur le siège arrière. Les deux fenêtres arrière de l'appareil sont ouvertes vers l'intérieur et bloquées dans cette position afin que le passager puisse prendre des photos. Juste avant l'accident, pendant une manoeuvre à basse altitude près de la flotte de bateaux, l'appareil vole en direction est, au sud de la flotte (voir l'annexe A).

L'appareil est en vol lent à puissance moteur élevée; les volets sont sortis de 15 à 20 degrés et l'appareil est cabré de 10 à 15 degrés. Pendant la première phase du survol, on estime que l'appareil vole à une altitude de 30 à 50 pieds au-dessus de la surface de l'eau. À mesure que l'appareil s'approche de l'île de Thetis, le son du moteur s'intensifie et l'appareil commence à monter en cabré prononcé jusqu'à ce qu'il atteigne 70 à 100 pieds au-dessus de la surface de l'eau. L'appareil s'incline ensuite brusquement à gauche et le nez bascule subitement dans un piqué prononcé. Il n'y a aucun rétablissement consécutif à cette descente et l'appareil heurte la surface de l'eau en piqué, l'aile gauche basse. Le pilote subit des blessures mortelles à l'impact; quant au passager, il évacue l'appareil par la fenêtre arrière gauche avant d'être sauvé des eaux par des plaisanciers qui se trouvent à proximité. L'accident survient à 10 h 19.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Qualifications et expérience du pilote

Au moment de l'accident, le pilote était titulaire d'une licence de pilote privé et d'un certificat médical valide de catégorie 3. Lors de sa dernière visite médicale, il totalisait environ 800 heures de vol, et il volait au rythme de 100 à 150 heures par année. Il était propriétaire et exploitant de l'appareil depuis le mois de juillet 1998 et il en connaissait bien les performances. Il avait, à de nombreuses reprises, effectué des vols ayant un profil de vol similaire avec le même photographe.

Aéronef

L'aéronef avait été construit en 1952 par Cessna Aircraft Corporation et il avait d'abord été exploité à des fins militaires. L'exploitation civile de ce type d'aéronef est approuvée au Canada en vertu du certificat de type 5A5. Cessna Aircraft Corporation a vendu les droits de ce certificat de type à Regal Air Inc., de Fort Collins (Colorado), aux États-Unis.

L'aéronef totalisait environ 6100 heures de vol depuis sa construction, dont environ 70 heures au cours de la dernière année civile. La plus récente inspection annuelle avait été effectuée le 4 août 2003.

Le moteur avait été remplacé en février 2004. Le pilote avait noté que plusieurs des instruments moteur ne fonctionnaient pas bien après l'installation, mais ces problèmes avaient été réglés bien avant le vol dont il est question ici. Les livrets techniques de l'aéronef ne font mention d'aucun problème mécanique relié au nouveau moteur.

La plus récente masse à vide de l'aéronef qui avait été notée était de 1721,8 livres; la masse maximale admissible dans la configuration hydravion est de 2400 livres. Compte tenu du poids du pilote qui avait été consignée lors de sa dernière visite médicale et de l'estimation du poids du passager, la masse et le centrage de l'aéronef devaient se trouver à l'intérieur de la plage certifiée de masse et centrage, quelle que soit la quantité de carburant à bord.

Habituellement, un Cessna 305A comporte une porte d'accès du côté droit du fuselage. Cet appareil en particulier avait été modifié et il comportait une deuxième porte d'accès du côté gauche, laquelle ne pouvait être ouverte de l'extérieur de l'appareil.

L'anémomètre de l'appareil comportait des marques indiquant différentes vitesses, mais les marques suivantes ne se trouvaient pas aux bons endroits :

  • La marque de vitesse maximale volets sortis avait été placée à 100 noeuds au lieu de 87 noeuds, comme l'exige le certificat de type.
  • La marque de vitesse limite avait été placée à 170 noeuds au lieu de 137 noeuds, comme l'exige le certificat de type.
  • La marque de vitesse normale de décrochage (bas de l'arc vert) se trouvait à 100 noeuds; elle aurait dû se trouver à 48 noeuds d'après le manuel de vol de l'avion.
  • La marque de vitesse de décrochage volets sortis (bas de l'arc blanc) se trouvait à 65 noeuds; elle aurait dû se trouver à 44 noeuds d'après le manuel de vol de l'avion.

Avertisseur de décrochage de l'aéronef

Une fois démilitarisé, l'aéronef a été muni d'un avertisseur de décrochage permettant le « vol en toute sécurité », comme l'exigeait son certificat de type. Cet avertisseur comporte un actionneur à ailettes monté dans le bord d'attaque de l'aile gauche ainsi qu'un dispositif combiné d'avertissement sonore et lumineux conçu pour être monté dans un orifice standard du tableau de bord de l'aéronef. Sur l'aéronef en question dans cet accident, le dispositif d'avertissement sonore et lumineux était monté sous le tableau de bord, à droite du genou droit du pilote. Cet emplacement rendait inefficace l'avertisseur lumineux, car ce dernier se trouvait hors du champ de vision normal du pilote.

L'avertisseur de décrochage produit également une tonalité destinée à donner un avertissement sonore de l'imminence d'un décrochage. Après l'accident, on a procédé à des essais au banc de l'avertisseur, et il a été établi que ce dernier produisait une tonalité de 93 à 96 décibels à une distance de 2,5 à 3 pieds. L'efficacité de cet avertisseur sonore varie selon les divers niveaux sonores ambiants dans le poste de pilotage. Au cours d'essais sur un aéronef similaire évoluant à une puissance moteur élevée, fenêtres arrière ouvertes, on a mesuré dans le poste de pilotage des niveaux sonores ambiants absolus atteignant de 120 à 130 décibels. Dans de telles conditions de vol, l'audibilité de l'avertissement sonore était fortement réduite.

Examen de l'épave

Un examen technique et une analyse de l'épave effectués à la suite de l'accident ont permis de tirer les conclusions suivants :

  • Le moteur fournissait de la puissance à l'impact. Cette conclusion est corroborée par le fléchissement de l'extrémité des pales de l'hélice ainsi que par les dommages à l'impact subis par les flotteurs et causés par la rotation de l'hélice.
  • Il est peu probable qu'il y ait eu mauvais fonctionnement des commandes. La continuité des commandes a été confirmée pour les systèmes des ailerons, de la gouverne de profondeur, de la gouverne de direction et de la commande de compensation. Il a été établi que les volets étaient sortis entre 15 et 20 degrés.
  • Rien n'indique qu'il y ait eu défaillance de la structure. Toutes les gouvernes étaient présentes, et les déformations et ruptures des éléments structuraux étaient compatibles avec les forces d'impact. Les dommages par surcharge qu'ont subis les longerons principaux des ailes étaient compatibles avec un impact en piqué, aile gauche basse. Les dommages au système de retenue et aux structures des sièges corroborent cette conclusion.
  • Même si l'appareil comportait une porte d'entrée de chaque côté, seule celle de droite pouvait être ouverte de l'extérieur; l'impossibilité d'entrer par la gauche aurait rendue vaine toute tentative de sauvetage par le côté gauche de l'appareil. Les deux fenêtres arrière étaient ouvertes.

Décrochage aérodynamique

Le Manuel de pilotage de Transports Canada stipule qu'un décrochage aérodynamique survient lorsque les ailes d'un aéronef ne sont plus en mesure de fournir la portance nécessaire pour compenser la masse de cet aéronef. Un aéronef peut décrocher pratiquement dans n'importe quelle assiette et à n'importe quelle vitesse. Lorsqu'un aéronef décroche au moteur à faible vitesse, la vitesse de décrochage est légèrement inférieure à celle d'un décrochage sans moteur; il y a donc réduction de l'efficacité des ailerons. D'autre facteurs, comme le couple moteur, rendent difficile de maîtriser un décrochage au moteur. En général, un décrochage au moteur est plus violent qu'un décrochage sans moteur et il engendre une plus grande réduction de la pilotabilité.

Gilets de sauvetage

Au moment de l'accident, aucun des occupants ne portait de gilet de sauvetage, et le survivant a évacué l'appareil sans en emporter un. À plusieurs reprises, le BST a fait part de ses préoccupations concernant la disponibilité des gilets de sauvetage pour ceux qui évacuent un hydravion après un accident. Les données recueillies montrent qu'à la suite d'un accident, les occupants ne pensent qu'à évacuer l'appareil, et il arrive donc souvent qu'ils ne prennent pas le temps d'emporter les gilets de sauvetage fournis pour leur sécurité. Une fois hors de l'appareil, nombre de ces occupants se noient parce qu'ils n'ont pas de dispositif de flottaison approprié. Il n'existe actuellement aucune réglementation obligeant les membres d'équipage ou les passagers à porter un dispositif de flottaison lorsqu'ils se trouvent à bord d'un hydravion.

Analyse

Différentes descriptions du vol correspondent à un décrochage aérodynamique au moteur. Ce type de décrochage entraîne habituellement une perte de maîtrise plus complète qu'un décrochage sans moteur, et il faut une altitude plus grande pour en sortir. Le vol à basse altitude et à faible vitesse augmente les risques de décrochage intempestif et réduit le temps de rétablissement disponible.

L'emplacement de l'avertisseur de décrochage sous le tableau de bord a rendu inefficace l'avertisseur lumineux, car ce dernier se trouvait hors du champ de vision normal du pilote. Le vol effectué à puissance moteur élevée, fenêtres arrière ouvertes, a contribué à augmenter les niveaux sonores ambiants dans le poste de pilotage et à réduire l'efficacité de l'avertisseur sonore de décrochage.

Les marques de vitesse placées aux mauvais endroits n'ont été d'aucune aide en matière de reconnaissance visuelle des vitesses normales d'utilisation de l'appareil, et elles n'auraient pu servir à éviter un décrochage aérodynamique ou une survitesse de l'appareil.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. L'appareil a décroché à une altitude trop peu élevée pour que le pilote ait assez de temps et d'altitude pour faire un rétablissement.
  2. Des niveaux sonores ambiants élevés ont réduit l'efficacité de l'avertisseur sonore de décrochage.
  3. Le fait d'avoir monté l'avertisseur de décrochage sous le tableau de bord, hors du champ de vision normal du pilote, a rendu inefficace l'avertisseur lumineux de décrochage.
  4. Placées aux mauvais endroits, les marques de vitesse ne pouvaient être utilisées efficacement comme indicateurs visuels des plages normales de vol en toute sécurité.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 25 janvier 2005.

Annexe A - Trajectoire de vol de l'appareil

Annexe A - Trajectoire de vol de l'appareil