Aviation Investigation Report A04P0206

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Engine Power Loss
Quantum Helicopters Ltd.
MD Helicopter (Hughes) 369D C-GWPQ
Bob Quinn Airstrip, British Columbia
11 June 2004

Summary

On 11 June 2004, the MD Helicopter (Hughes) 369D (registration C-GWPQ, serial number 700755) was lifting a 900-pound sling load when there was a loud bang accompanied by a partial engine power loss. The pilot performed a forced landing, and the aircraft hit the ground and rolled onto its right side with the main rotor blades still turning. The engine continued to operate on the ground and was shut down by the pilot. There was no post-impact fire. The pilot experienced accident-related health issues some time after the occurrence.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The helicopter was equipped with a modular-type engine, Rolls Royce Allison 250-C20B (S/N CAE-836346). The compressor assembly S/N:CAC-35032 had accumulated 7808.1 hours total time since new (TTSN) and 866.5 hours time since overhaul (TSO). It had been installed on this airframe for 90.5 hours. It was previously installed on a Bell 206B helicopter and operated with a bleed air centrifugal particle separator. The accident helicopter was fitted with a FDC/aerofilter particle separator. There was unremarkable damage discovered on a compressor, first-stage, rotor-blade leading edge during the latest engine installation. However, the damage was considered acceptable by the aircraft maintenance engineer (AME).

Photo 1 - Compressor case half removed exposing damage to blades and vanes leading and trailing edges

Photo 1.  Compressor case half removed exposing damage to blades and vanes leading and trailing edges

The engine was recovered by Quantum Helicopters Ltd. and shipped to a local repair and overhaul facility for teardown and examination under the control of the TSB investigator. The teardown inspection revealed that the compressor (P/N 6890550, S/N 35032) had shed all the 2nd and 3rd stage rotor blades, most of which had departed through the case halves and were recovered in the engine compartment, along with other debris.The failed compressor and related components were forwarded to the TSB Engineering Laboratory for further examination and failure analysis (see Appendix A for the list of components). The primary components of interest were the compressor case halves and the compressor rotor shown in Photo 1. Photo 2 shows the compressor inlet, which was examined for possible foreign object damage.

Compressor Case Halves

Photo 2 - Inlet front support guide vanes and first-stage rotor blades leading edges showing minimal foreign object damage

Photo 2.  Inlet front support guide vanes and first-stage rotor blades leading edges showing minimal foreign object damage.

Examination of the compressor case halves showed burst-type tear damage in the skins of both halves, adjacent to the 2nd stage and 3rd stage rotor paths. Penetration through the skin was from the inside in all instances. The most significant tear was a large hole through the skin of one of the case halves in the 2nd stage rotor path, approximately 70 mm long by 13 mm at its widest opening. It was concluded that most or all of the 2nd stage rotor blades exited the compressor at this location.

The 1st, 4th, 5th, and 6th stage compressor vanes were intact, but showed impact damage on both the leading and trailing edges of the vanes. The damage observed was consistent with the failure debris passing through the compressor while it continued running for a short period following the failure. Five of the 2nd stage stator vanes had fractured at or near the root. The vane stubs were bent over in the direction of rotation, and a sixth vane had completely pulled out of its slot in the vane band. All of the vanes from the 3rd stage stator had also fractured at or near the root with the vane stubs bent over in the direction of rotation. Optical microscopic examination of the vane fractures revealed predominantly impact and rub damage in the direction of compressor rotation, which had obliterated most of the original fracture surface details. However, the vane fracture profiles and damage patterns were consistent with overload failures and secondary damage. The leading and trailing edges of the vanes in all stages were also examined for erosion; no measurable erosion was observed.

A 3rd stage stator vane row band was removed from one of the case halves to examine the condition of the brazed joint from the back of the vane band. All joints showed the washers intact and good braze penetration in the joint. The slot in the 2nd stage stator vane row, where the vane had pulled out, likewise showed complete braze material penetration in the joint. Cross sections through the vanes on either side of the vane pull out location were mounted to examine their joint condition. There were some minor porosities observed, but, in general, the joints were good with complete penetration of the braze material and well-developed fillet radii between the vanes and the vane band.

Compressor Rotor

The leading edges of the compressor front support vanes and 1st stage rotor blades were examined in detail for any indication of foreign object damage (FOD). On the leading edge of the front support vane, located at about the one o'clock position, there were two small indentations (Photo 2). The original surface of the vane at each mark was still visible with some oxidation and was not disturbed by any material smearing, indicating that the marks had been present for quite some time. The leading edges of the 1st stage rotor blades showed some tip damage on a few blades, and a relatively minor impact mark near the root of one blade that warranted a more detailed examination.

Optical examination of the impact mark showed that the leading-edge material of the blade had been disturbed by contact with a small piece of foreign material or debris, and there appeared to be a small particle of material trapped within the indentation. The indentation was examined at higher magnifications in the scanning electron microscope (SEM). Elemental analysis confirmed the presence of a small aluminum-rich particle that was foreign to the surrounding material of the blade (Appendix C, photos 9 and 10). The material debris that had been collected from the engine cowl area during recovery and the compressor rotor blade pieces were examined, and four pieces of what appeared to be broken rivets were identified. An analysis for material composition showed material spectra containing a predominant nickel peak for sample number 1, predominant titanium and cadmium peaks for sample number 2, and predominant iron and chromium peaks for sample number 3. Sample number 4 was almost wholly aluminum with small amounts of magnesium, which is consistent with a standard aluminum rivet material.

All of the blades from the 2nd and 3rd stage rotors had failed at or near the root. All the 4th stage rotor blades showed severe impact damage and tip rub, and were bent opposite to the direction of rotation. Three of these blades had fractured at or slightly below 1/3 span and two blades had fractured at mid-span. The 5th and 6th stage rotor blades showed secondary impact marks, predominantly along the leading edges, with blade damage progressively diminishing rearward.

Optical microscopic examination of the 4th stage rotor blade fractures revealed overload features consistent with secondary damage. However, one of the three 4th stage rotor blades that failed closer to the blade root did show what appeared to be macroscopic features of cyclic overload fracture. This blade fracture was sectioned from the rotor for SEM examination at higher magnifications. Examination revealed only overload fracture features and surface rub patterns, but gave the false appearance of cyclic steps when viewed at lower magnifications.

Optical microscopic examination of the blade fractures from the 2nd and 3rd stage rotors predominantly revealed overload features. All of the blades had failed at or slightly above the blade root and the blade stub remnants were bent opposite to the direction of rotation. However, one blade fracture in the 2nd stage was unique in that it showed a flat, transverse fracture surface from the leading edge back towards mid-spa that changed to a slanted fracture towards the trailing edge. Areas of the fracture surface towards the leading edge showed faint striations indicating a progressive failure mode. This blade fracture was sectioned from the rotor for detailed SEM examination.

A SEM examination of the 2nd stage rotor blade, showing faint striations, confirmed the presence of distinctive fatigue striations beginning near the leading edge of the blade and progressing aft towards approximately mid-span (see Appendix B, photos 3 through 8). The aft section of the blade fracture towards the trailing edge was characteristic of the final overload failure of the blade. All fracture detail in the leading edge region where fatigue initiated had been completely obliterated by post-fracture rub damage.

A cross-section was taken through the fracture just aft of the leading edge for metallurgical examination of the blade near the region of fatigue initiation. No metallurgical anomalies were observed or any other defects that could identify the cause of fatigue initiation. Metallographic assessment of this section showed a uniform grain structure typical of precipitation-hardened stainless steel 17-4 PH. Elemental composition of the compressor rotor blade material was verified by energy dispersive x-ray analysis as a 17-4 PH stainless steel alloy, the material specified for the compressor rotor. The hardness was also uniform and averaged 34.5 HRC, which satisfied the manufacturer's material hardness criteria of 30-38 HRC.

Analysis

High cycle fatigue fracture was confirmed for one of the 2nd stage rotor blades, and separation of this blade is considered to be the lead event in the compressor failure. This is consistent with the damage pattern observed in the compressor, including the shedding of all of the 2nd and 3rd stage rotor blades, and the major penetration observed in the case halves in the 2nd stage rotor path. Failure analysis of the stator vanes did not reveal any indications of premature failure, and the vane failures were all considered to be secondary in nature, resulting from the initial 2nd stage rotor blade failure. This was supported by a review of several other compressor failures for this engine type, which showed that in all cases where a compressor stator vane failure was identified as an initial cause of failure, there was no associated shedding of the compressor rotor blades such as occurred in this incident.

The possibility of FOD as a precursor to the compressor rotor blade failure was considered. But, for a number of reasons, it could not be concluded positively that FOD was a precursor. On this installation, a particle separator was installed; however, there appears to have been impingement by a small foreign particle on one of the 1st stage rotor blades, as evidenced by what appeared to be a recent impact mark and a particle of aluminum metal transfer. The engine had continued to run for a short time after ground impact, and it is possible that something was ingested into the compressor at that time, leaving the mark observed on the 1st stage blade. On the other hand, the mark on the leading edge of the front support vane was oxidized, indicating that it had been present for some time. Since the debris in which the piece of aluminum rivet was found was collected among general debris found in the engine cowl area after the accident, it cannot be positively linked to the presence of the small particle of aluminum in the impact mark. Given these observations, FOD cannot be ruled out. However, the absence of any fractographic evidence near the fatigue initiation zone makes its influence as a probable fatigue crack initiator in the 2nd stage rotor blade inconclusive.

The following TSB Engineering Laboratory Report was completed:

  • LP 082/2004 - Compressor Failure

This report is available from the Transportation Safety Board of Canada upon request.

Finding as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The compressor failure resulted from the separation of a 2nd stage rotor blade due to high cycle fatigue, which had initiated at or near the leading edge of the blade. Post-fracture mechanical damage in the origin area prevented determination of the cause of fatigue initiation.

Other Finding

  1. Indications of foreign object damage (FOD) were observed, but the significance of FOD as a precursor to the 2nd stage compressor rotor blade fracture initiation was inconclusive.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 07 April 2005.


Appendix A - Compressor Components Forwarded for Analysis

Rolls Royce Allison 250-C20B
Engine S/N CAE-836346

Component Part Number Serial Number
Scroll 6851574F AP18581
Front Support 6890530-B 22977
Rear Support 6851430 ER22658
Case Half Set 23057142 26792
Front Diffuser 6870811 ER-29772
Vane Diffuser 6870813  
Spur Adapter Gearshaft 23031922-C CG124630
Bearing Housing 6893617-C260 17
Miscellaneous bolts and nuts N/A N/A
#1 Bearing 6898607 HAZ101
#2 Bearing 6889093 HAQ799
Carbon Seal Mating Ring 23034513B 63005SOCN
Compressor Rotor 1st Stage 6890501 KR69611
Compressor Rotor 2nd and 3rd Stage 23060422 C36140
Compressor Rotor 4th Stage 23060404 C34556
Compressor Rotor 5th Stage 23060405 ER41944
Compressor Rotor 6th Stage 23060406 ER41335
Impeller 3058147-C KR99876
Rotor Blade pieces and debris N/A N/A

Appendix B - Photos 3 to 8 Showing 2nd Stage Compressor Rotor Blade Fatigue Failure

Photo 3

Photo 3. 

Photo 4

Photo 4. 

Photo 5

Photo 5. 

Photo 6

Photo 6. 

Photo 7 - Fracture surface image

Photo 7.  Fracture surface image

Photo 8 - High cycle fatigue

Photo 8.  High cycle fatigue

Appendix C - Analysis of Particle on 1st Stage Rotor Blade

Photo 9

Photo 9. 

Photo 10

Photo 10. 

Photos 9 and 10 are SEM images of impact mark at 1st stage rotor bladeleading edge showing the presence of a small imbedded particle.

Figure 1 - Material analysis spectra of particle revealed a predominantly aluminum composition.

Figure 1.  Material analysis spectra of particle revealed a predominantly aluminum composition.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A04P0206

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de puissance moteur
de l'hélicoptère MD (Hughes) 369D C-GWPQ
exploité par Quantum Helicopters Ltd.
sur la piste d'atterrissage de Bob Quinn
(Colombie Britannique)
le 11 juin 2004

Résumé

Le 11 juin 2004, l'hélicoptère MD (Hughes) 369D (immatriculation C-GWPQ, numéro de série 700755) est en train de soulever une élinguée de 900 livres lorsqu'une forte détonation se fait entendre, suivie d'une perte partielle de puissance moteur. Le pilote exécute un atterrissage forcé, et l'hélicoptère heurte le sol et bascule sur le côté droit alors que les pales du rotor principal tournent toujours. Le moteur continue de fonctionner au sol et est coupé par le pilote. Il n'y a pas d'incendie après impact. Quelque temps après l'accident, le pilote éprouve des ennuis de santé liés à cet événement.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

L'hélicoptère était équipé d'un turbomoteur modulaire Rolls Royce Allison 250-C20B (numéro de série CAE-836346). L'ensemble compresseur (numéro de série CAC-35032) avait totalisé 7808,1 heures depuis sa mise en service initiale et 866,5 heures depuis la dernière révision. Il était monté sur cette cellule depuis 90,5 heures. Il avait précédemment été monté sur un hélicoptère Bell 206B et avait fonctionné avec un séparateur de particules centrifuge à prélèvement d'air. L'hélicoptère accidenté était équipé d'un séparateur de particules FDC/aérofiltre. On a découvert un dommage négligeable sur le bord d'attaque d'une aube de premier étage de compresseur lors de la dernière installation du moteur. Mais ce dommage avait été considéré comme acceptable par le technicien d'entretien d'aéronef (TEA).

Photo 1 - Coquille de carter compresseur enlevée pour exposer les dommages causés aux bords d'attaque et de fuite des aubes fixes et mobiles.

Photo 1.  Coquille de carter compresseur enlevée pour exposer les dommages causés aux bords d'attaque et de fuite des aubes fixes et mobiles.

Le moteur a été récupéré par Quantum Helicopters Ltd., et expédié à un atelier de réparation et de révision local pour être démonté et examiné sous la supervision de l'enquêteur du BST. L'inspection au démontage a révélé que le compresseur (réf. 6890550, numéro de série 35032) avait perdu toutes ses aubes rotor des 2e et 3e étages, la plupart ayant traversé les coquilles de carter et s'étant retrouvées dans le compartiment moteur avec d'autres débris.Le compresseur défectueux et ses composants connexes ont été expédiés au Laboratoire technique du BST pour un examen plus approfondi et une analyse de défaillances (voir la liste des composants à l'annexe A). Les composants dignes d'intérêt étaient les coquilles de carter compresseur et le rotor compresseur montrés sur la photo 1. La photo 2 montre l'entrée du compresseur, qu'on a examiné pour y déceler un dommage possible causé par un corps étranger.

Coquilles de carter compresseur

Photo 2 - Aubage directeur d'entrée avant et bord d'attaque d'aubes mobiles du premier étage montrant des dommages minimes causés par des corps étrangers.

Photo 2.  Aubage directeur d'entrée avant et bord d'attaque d'aubes mobiles du premier étage montrant des dommages minimes causés par des corps étrangers.

L'examen des coquilles de carter compresseur a révélé des dommages d'arrachement par éclatement sur le revêtement des deux coquilles, près du passage des 2e et 3e étages rotor. Dans tous les cas, la pénétration dans le revêtement s'était faite à partir de l'intérieur.

L'arrachement le plus important était un gros trou dans le revêtement d'une des coquilles de carter, sur le passage du 2e étage rotor, d'une longueur d'environ 70 mm sur 13 mm à son point d'ouverture le plus grand. On a conclu que la plupart des aubes mobiles, sinon toutes, du 2e étage étaient sorties du compresseur à cet endroit.

Les aubes fixes des 1er, 4e, 5e et 6e étages compresseur étaient intactes, mais leurs bords d'attaque et de fuite présentaient des signes de dommage par impact. Les dommages relevés correspondaient au passage de débris dans le compresseur alors qu'il continuait à tourner pendant une courte période après la défaillance. Cinq des aubes fixes du 2e étage s'étaient rompues au talon d'aube ou près de celui-ci. Les embouts d'aube fixe étaient pliés dans le sens de la rotation, et une sixième aube fixe avait été complètement arrachée de sa fente dans la bande de fixation. Toutes les aubes fixes du 3e étage s'étaient également rompues au talon d'aube ou près de celui-ci, et leurs embouts étaient pliés dans le sens de la rotation. Un examen au microscope optique des faciès de rupture des aubes fixes a révélé que les dommages étaient de façon prédominante des dommages par impact et de frottement dans le sens de la rotation du compresseur, lesquels avaient oblitéré la plus grande partie des détails des faciès de rupture d'origine. Néanmoins, les profils de rupture des aubes fixes et les types de dommage correspondaient à une défaillance en surcharge et à des dommages secondaires. Les bords d'attaque et de fuite des aubes fixes de tous les étages ont également fait l'objet d'un contrôle d'érosion; aucune érosion mesurable n'a été relevée.

Une bande de fixation des aubes fixes du 3e étage a été enlevée d'une des coquilles de carter afin qu'on puisse examiner le joint brasé se trouvant au dos de la bande de fixation. Tous les joints présentaient des rondelles intactes et une bonne pénétration du brasage dans le joint. La fente à partir de laquelle l'aube fixe avait été arrachée dans la rangée des aubes fixes du 2e étage montrait aussi une pénétration complète du matériau de brasage dans le joint. On a procédé à des coupes transversales des aubes fixes situées de part et d'autre de l'aube arrachée afin d'examiner l'état des joints. On a observé de légères porosités mais, en général, les joints étaient bien faits, il y avait pénétration complète du matériau de brasage, et les congés de raccordement étaient bien exécutés entre les aubes fixes et leur bande de fixation.

Rotor compresseur

On a examiné en détail le bord d'attaque de l'aubage directeur d'entrée du compresseur et les aubes mobiles du 1er étage pour y rechercher des signes de dommages causés par un corps étranger. Sur le bord d'attaque d'une aube fixe de l'aubage d'entrée se trouvant à peu près à la position une heure, il y avait deux petites marques (photo 2). La surface d'origine de l'aube fixe à chaque marque était toujours visible avec un peu d'oxydation et elle n'avait pas été touchée par le transfert de quelque matériau, ce qui indique que ces marques étaient présentes depuis un bon bout de temps. Le bord d'attaque des aubes mobiles du 1er étage présentait un peu de dommages à l'extrémité de quelques aubes, et une marque d'impact relativement légère près du talon d'une des aubes mobiles qui a justifié un examen plus approfondi.

Un examen optique de la marque d'impact a montré que le matériau du bord d'attaque de l'aube mobile avait été touché par un petit morceau de corps étranger ou de débris, et qu'une petite particule de matériau semblait piégée à l'intérieur de cette marque. Celle-ci a été examinée sous un grossissement plus fort au moyen d'un microscope électronique à balayage (MEB). L'analyse des éléments a confirmé la présence d'une petite particule riche en aluminium, étrangère au matériau environnant de l'aube mobile (annexe C, photos 9 et 10). Les débris de matériau recueillis du capotage moteur lors de la récupération et les morceaux d'aubes mobiles du compresseur ont fait l'objet d'un examen, et quatre morceaux de ce qui a semblé provenir de rivets brisés ont été identifiés. Une analyse de la composition des matériaux a montré des spectres contenant surtout du nickel pour l'échantillon numéro 1, surtout du titane et du cadmium pour l'échantillon numéro 2, et surtout du fer et du chrome pour l'échantillon numéro 3. L'échantillon numéro 4 était presque entièrement composé d'aluminium et de petites quantités de magnésium, ce qui correspond au matériau d'un rivet standard en aluminium.

Toutes les aubes mobiles des 2e et 3e étages s'étaient rompues au talon ou près de celui-ci. Toutes les aubes mobiles du 4e étage montraient de graves dommages par impact et un frottement des extrémités, et elles étaient pliées dans le sens contraire de la rotation. Trois de ces aubes mobiles s'étaient rompues au tiers de leur envergure ou un peu avant, et deux aubes mobiles s'étaient rompues en leur milieu. Les aubes mobiles des 5e et 6e étages présentaient des marques d'impact secondaires, surtout le long du bord d'attaque, les dommages des aubes diminuant progressivement vers l'arrière.

Un examen au microscope optique des fractures des aubes mobiles du 4e étage a révélé des signes de surcharge correspondant à des dommages secondaires. Toutefois, une des trois aubes mobiles du 4e étage qui s'étaient rompues proche du talon montrait ce qui a semblé être des signes macroscopiques d'une rupture par surcharge cyclique. On a pratiqué une coupe de cette fracture du rotor pour l'examiner au MEB sous un grossissement plus fort. L'examen n'a révélé que des signes de rupture en surcharge et des traces de frottement en surface, mais il donnait la fausse impression, à un grossissement plus faible, de la présence de caractéristiques cycliques.

Un examen au microscope optique des fractures des aubes mobiles des 2e et 3e étages a surtout révélé des signes de surcharge. Toutes les aubes mobiles s'étaient rompues au talon d'aube ou légèrement au-dessus, et les embouts d'aube étaient pliés dans le sens opposé à la rotation. Toutefois, une rupture d'aube mobile du 2e étage était particulière en ce qu'elle se présentait sous la forme d'une fracture transversale plate partant du bord d'attaque jusqu'à mi-envergure de l'aube pour devenir une fracture inclinée vers le bord de fuite. Des zones du faciès de rupture vers le bord d'attaque montraient de légères stries, révélatrices d'un mode de défaillance progressif. On a pratiqué une coupe de cette fracture de l'aube du rotor pour un examen détaillé au MEB.

Un examen au MEB de l'aube mobile du 2e étage, celle qui montrait de légères stries, a confirmé la présence de stries de fatigue bien nettes commençant près du bord d'attaque de l'aube et progressant vers l'arrière jusqu'à mi-envergure de cette dernière (voir l'annexe B, photos 3 à 8). La partie arrière de la fracture de l'aube mobile en direction du bord de fuite était caractéristique de la défaillance finale de l'aube en surcharge. Tous les détails de cette fracture sur le bord d'attaque où s'était amorcée la fatigue avaient été complètement oblitérés par les dommages par frottement occasionnés après la rupture.

On a pratiqué une coupe transversale de la fracture tout juste derrière le bord d'attaque afin de procéder à un examen métallurgique de l'aube mobile près de la zone d'amorçage de la fatigue. Aucune anomalie métallurgique n'a été relevée, et aucun autre défaut n'a permis de cerner la cause de l'amorce de fatigue. Une évaluation métallographique de cette coupe a révélé une structure uniforme du grain, caractéristique d'un acier inoxydable 17-4 PH durci par précipitation. La composition des éléments du matériau des aubes mobiles du compresseur a fait l'objet d'une vérification au moyen d'une analyse par rayons X à dispersion d'énergie pour vérifier qu'il s'agissait bien de l'alliage d'acier inoxydable 17-4 PH, le matériau spécifié pour le rotor compresseur. La dureté était uniforme, la valeur moyenne étant de 34,5 à l'échelle Rockwell C (HRC), ce qui est conforme au critère de dureté établi par le constructeur pour ce matériau, soit entre 30 et 38 HRC.

Analyse

Une rupture de fatigue mégacyclique a été confirmée pour une des aubes mobiles du 2e étage, et la séparation de cette aube est considérée comme l'élément déclencheur de la défaillance du compresseur. Cette constatation correspond aux types de dommage observés dans le compresseur, y compris la perte de toutes les aubes mobiles des 2e et 3e étages ainsi que le gros trou observé sur les coquilles de carter dans la zone de passage du 2e étage rotor. L'analyse de la défaillance des aubes fixes n'a révélé aucun signe de défaillance prématurée, et les défaillances de ces aubes ont été considérées comme étant un phénomène secondaire qui ont entraîné la rupture initiale des aubes mobiles de 2e étage. Cette constatation est appuyée par l'examen de plusieurs autres défaillances de compresseur pour ce type de moteur, lesquelles ont montré que dans tous les cas où une défaillance d'aubes fixes de compresseur était identifiée comme la cause initiale de défaillance, il n'y avait aucune perte connexe d'aubes mobiles de compresseur comme dans le présent accident.

On a envisagé la possibilité que des dommages par des corps étrangers aient précédé la défaillance des aubes mobiles de compresseur. Néanmoins, pour un certain nombre de raisons, on n'a pu déterminer avec certitude que c'était bien ce qui s'était passé. Le moteur en question était équipé d'un séparateur de particules; cependant, il semble y avoir eu impact par un petit corps étranger sur une des aubes mobiles du 1er étage, comme le montre ce qui semble être une marque d'impact récente et le transfert d'une particule d'aluminium. Le moteur avait continué à tourner pendant une courte période à la suite de l'impact, et il est possible que le compresseur ait ingéré quelque chose à ce moment-là, ce qui aurait laissé la marque observée sur l'aube mobile du 1er étage. Par ailleurs, la marque présente sur le bord d'attaque de l'aube directrice d'entrée était oxydée, indiquant qu'elle était présente depuis un certain temps. Comme les débris dans lesquels le morceau de rivet d'aluminium a été trouvé avaient été recueillis parmi l'ensemble des débris trouvés dans le capotage moteur après l'accident, on ne peut les lier à la présence de la petite particule d'aluminium dans la marque d'impact. Compte tenu de ces observations, on ne peut écarter l'hypothèse d'un dommage causé par des corps étrangers. Toutefois, l'absence de tout signe fractographique près de la zone d'amorçage de la crique rend son influence comme élément déclencheur probable d'une crique de fatigue sur l'aube mobile du 2e étage peu concluante.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 082/2004 - Compressor Failure (défaillance du compresseur)

Ce rapport peut être obtenu sur demande au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada.

Fait établi quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. La défaillance du compresseur a été causée par la séparation d'une aube mobile du 2e étage sous l'effet d'une fatigue mégacyclique, laquelle avait pris naissance au bord d'attaque de cette aube ou près de ce bord. Les dommages mécaniques causés après la rupture dans la zone d'origine ont empêché de déterminer la cause de l'amorce de fatigue.

Autre fait établi

  1. Des signes de dommages causés par des corps étrangers ont été relevés, mais leur influence à titre d'élément déclencheur de l'amorce de rupture de l'aube mobile du 2e étage compresseur n'est pas concluante.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 7 avril 2005.

Annexe A - Composants du compresseur expédiés pour analyse

Moteur Rolls Royce Allison 250-C20B,
numéro de série CAE-836346

Composant Référence Numéro de série
Volute 6851574F AP18581
Carter d'admission 6890530-B 22977
Support arrière 6851430 ER22658
Coquilles de carter 23057142 26792
Diffuseur avant 6870811 ER-29772
Distributeur 6870813  
Arbre porte pignons à accouplement droit 23031922-C CG124630
Boîtier de roulement 6893617-C260 17
Boulons et écrous divers N/D N/D
Roulement numéro 1 6898607 HAZ101
Roulement numéro 2 6889093 HAQ799
Bague d'appui du joint carbone 23034513B 63005SOCN
1er étage rotor du compresseur 6890501 KR69611
2e et 3e étages rotor du compresseur 23060422 C36140
4e étage rotor du compresseur 23060404 C34556
5e étage rotor du compresseur 23060405 ER41944
6e étage rotor du compresseur 23060406 ER41335
Rouet centrifuge 3058147-C KR99876
Débris et morceaux d'aubes mobiles N/D N/D

Annexe B - Photos 3 à 8 montrant la défaillance par fatigue de l'aube mobile du 2e étage compresseur

Photo 3

Photo 3. 

Photo 4

Photo 4. 


Photo 5

Photo 5. 

Photo 6

Photo 6. 

Photo 7 - Image de la surface de la fracture

Photo 7. Image de la surface de la fracture 

Photo 8 -  Fatigue mégacyclique

Photo 8.  Fatigue mégacyclique

Annexe C -  Analyse de la particule présente sur l'aube mobile du 1er étage

Photo 9

Photo 9. 

Photo 10

Photo 10. 

Les photos 9 et 10 sont des images du MEB montrant la marque d'impact au bord d'attaque de l'aube mobile du 1er étage où se trouve une petite particule incrustée.

Figure 1 - Spectre d'analyse métallographique du matériau de la particule montrant qu'elle est surtout constituée d'aluminium.

Figure 1.  Spectre d'analyse métallographique du matériau de la particule montrant qu'elle est surtout constituée d'aluminium.