Aviation Investigation Report A05W0176

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.


Controlled Flight into Terrain
Cessna 180H C-FYIX
Mount Burns, Alberta
22 August 2005

Summary


The privately operated Cessna 180H (registration C-FYIX, serial number 52035) departed Springbank, Alberta, at 1106 mountain daylight time, on a visual flight rules flight to Boundary Bay, British Columbia. The aircraft was last recorded on air traffic control radar approximately 34 miles southwest of Springbank at 8700 feet above sea level. The aircraft did not arrive in Boundary Bay, and there was no further contact with the flight. After an extensive search, the aircraft wreckage was found on the afternoon of 29 August 2005 at the 8850-foot level on the east slope of Mount Burns in the Kananaskis region of Alberta. The aircraft was destroyed by impact forces and a severe post-impact fire. Both occupants sustained fatal injuries.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.




Other Factual Information


The pilot had obtained a telephone weather briefing from the Edmonton Flight Information Centre (FIC) at 0738 mountain daylight time1 on the morning of the flight. The briefing indicated that visual meteorological conditions (VMC) existed in the mountain passes between Alberta and British Columbia, and were expected to persist throughout the flight. The pilot filed a visual flight rules (VFR) flight plan, which included a direct routing from Springbank (CYBW) to Cranbrook, British Columbia (CYXC), at 12 500 feet above sea level.2

The observed 1100 weather at Springbank was as follows: light southerly winds, visibility 30 statute miles (sm), few clouds at 4000 feet above ground level (agl) and 8000 feet agl, broken clouds at 24 000 feet agl, temperature 15ºC and dew point 6ºC. The 1100 weather at Cranbrook was as follows: calm winds, visibility 25 sm, few clouds at 13 000 feet agl, overcast cloud at 22 000 feet agl, temperature 14ºC, and dew point 4ºC.

The graphical area forecast (GFA) valid for six hours from 0600 indicated that a weakening cold front was moving through the planned flight route. Broken cloud layers were expected between 9000 feet and 18 000 feet, with isolated embedded altocumulus castellanus (ACC) giving visibilities more than 6 sm in light rain showers.





Environment Canada's analysis of conditions at the accident site indicated scattered to broken cumulus based at 6000 feet with tops at 7000 feet, and broken to overcast ACC based between 8000 and 9000 feet with tops between 10 000 and 12 000 feet. Downflow and occasional moderate turbulence were predicted on the eastern slopes of the mountains in a southwesterly flow of up to 30 knots. Icing was not likely to have been present.

Generally, VMC existed at the lower levels in the mountain passes between Springbank and Cranbrook. The direct route flown by the pilot did not make use of these passes. Clouds were visible on the mountains to the southwest of Springbank when the pilot obtained a weather update from the FIC at 0934.

Routine weather observations were recorded at two Alberta Forest Protection Service lookout towers: at Moose Mountain (18 nm north of the accident site) and at Junction Mountain (10 nm to the southeast). At the time of the only official observations at 0700, cloud covered both lookouts. The cloud had lifted by 1100; however, the higher mountain tops were still obscured by broken cloud at the time of the accident.

A pilot who flew from Fairmont, British Columbia, to Springbank at about 1000 reported that cloud, which was topped at 10 000 feet, obscured the mountain tops on the east slopes of the Rocky Mountains.





Air traffic control radar at the Calgary NAV CANADA facility tracked the aircraft from shortly after take-off until impact. After departure, the aircraft climbed to 8300 feet on a track of 229º true (T) and gradually drifted down to 7900 feet. The aircraft then commenced a climb and struck the mountain about two minutes later at 1127. The last recorded heading was 195ºT, which was 17º left of the direct track from Springbank to Cranbrook. The aircraft's ground speed was recorded at between 80 and 120 knots during this period.

The aircraft contacted a near vertical cliff on the northeast face of a 9000-foot ridge. The point of impact was about 50 feet from the top of the ridge, which was oriented southeast to northwest. Damage to the aircraft indicated that it was in straight and level flight at the time of impact.

Most of the wreckage came to rest on a steep scree slope about 100 feet below the point of impact. Small pieces of wreckage were found on the other side of the ridge. A fuel-fed, post-impact fire consumed most of the aircraft. The pilot was found with the wreckage, and the passenger was found about 500 feet below. The propeller was not found; however, examination of the engine crankshaft indicated that the engine was delivering some power at impact. Higher terrain existed within one mile on an extension of the aircraft's track past the ridge (see Photo 1).


Photo 1 - View of accident site

Photo 1. View of accident site


Search and rescue (SAR) was activated within one hour of the aircraft being declared overdue on its flight plan. The aircraft had disappeared from radar at the point where normal radar coverage ends from the Calgary site, and, on the day of the accident, radar service was not available past that point. Although the aircraft was found within 2 nm of the flight planned track, visual sighting of the wreckage was difficult due to the large search area involved, extremely rugged mountainous terrain, patchy snow cover, and break up of the aircraft from impact and fire.





The pilot held a private pilot licence restricted to VFR and had accumulated about 1500 flight hours, most of which were on C-FYIX. He had passed a Category 1 medical examination on 26 July 2004, which validated his licence to 01 August 2006. Based on autopsy, toxicology, and medical records, there was nothing found to indicate that the pilot's performance was degraded by physiological factors.

The aircraft, manufactured in 1969, had been owned by the pilot since 1981 and had accumulated 3173 hours. Records indicated that it was certified, maintained, and equipped in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. The aircraft was refuelled with 213 litres of avgas at Springbank on 20 August 2005 and was not flown until the accident flight.

The Flight Safety Foundation defines a controlled flight into terrain (CFIT) accident as "one in which an airworthy aircraft, under the control of the crew, is flown unintentionally into terrain, obstacles, or water with no prior awareness on the part of the crew of the impending collision."3




Analysis


The occurrence fits the definition of CFIT. Since it does not appear that significant, timely evasive manoeuvres were attempted to avoid impact with the mountain, it is likely that the pilot did not have visual contact with the mountain top. The flight profile obtained from air traffic control (ATC) radar data and wreckage trail analysis suggests that, at the time of impact, the aircraft was under control and the engine was developing power. Since the aircraft struck the ridge at a relatively stable airspeed and heading (straight and level flight), it is likely that the pilot's vision was obscured by cloud immediately before impact. It is also possible that, in attempting to cross the ridge, the aircraft entered a downdraft and was unable to out-climb the terrain. Had the aircraft successfully crossed the 9000-foot ridge, its track would have intercepted significantly higher terrain within one mile.

The pilot's weather briefing was correct in that good VFR conditions existed in the mountain passes and at both ends of the first leg of the planned flight route from Springbank to Cranbrook. Although his briefing detailed existing and forecast weather in the passes, a direct route was filed and flown. Since there was broken cloud obscuring most of the high mountain tops along the east slopes of the mountains, weather conditions encountered by the aircraft at the altitude flown on the direct route would have been worse than those at the lower levels in the passes.




Finding as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The aircraft was likely flown into cloud, which prevented the pilot from seeing and avoiding the high mountainous terrain.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 04 January 2007.


  1. All times are mountain daylight time (Coordinated Universal Time minus six hours).

  2. All altitudes are above sea level (asl) unless otherwise noted.

  3. "An Analysis of Controlled Flight Into Terrain (CFIT) Accidents of Commercial Operators, 1998 through 1994," Flight Safety Foundation Flight Safety Digest, April-May 1996, p. 4.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A05W0176

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Impact sans perte de contrôle
du Cessna 180H C-FYIX
au mont Burns (Alberta)
22 août 2005

Résumé


Le Cessna 180H privé, immatriculé C-FYIX et portant le numéro de série 52035, quitte Springbank (Alberta) à 11 h 6, heure avancée des Rocheuses, pour un vol selon les règles de vol à vue à destination de Boundary Bay (Colombie-Britannique). La dernière position de l'avion sur le radar du contrôle de la circulation aérienne est enregistrée à environ 34 milles au sud-ouest de Springbank, à 8700 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer. L'avion n'arrive pas à Boundary Bay, et il n'y a plus aucun contact avec celui-ci. Après de longues recherches, l'épave de l'avion est retrouvée au cours de l'après-midi du 29 août 2005, à 8850 pieds d'altitude sur le flanc est du mont Burns, dans la région de Kananaskis (Alberta). L'avion a été détruit par les forces de l'impact et un grave incendie après impact. Les deux occupants ont subi des blessures mortelles.

This report is also available in English.


Autres renseignements de base


Le pilote avait obtenu un exposé météorologique par téléphone du Centre d'information de vol (FIC) d'Edmonton à 7 h 38, heure avancée des Rocheuses (HAR)1, le matin du vol. L'exposé indiquait que des conditions météorologiques de vol à vue étaient présentes dans les couloirs de montagnes entre l'Alberta et la Colombie-Britannique, et on prévoyait que ces conditions persisteraient pendant toute la durée du vol. Le pilote a déposé un plan de vol selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR), lequel comprenait une route directe de Springbank (CYBW) à Cranbrook (Colombie-Britannique) (CYXC), à 12 500 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer2.

Les conditions météorologiques observées à 11 h à Springbank étaient les suivantes : vent léger du sud, visibilité de 30 milles terrestres (sm), quelques nuages à 4000 pieds au-dessus du sol (agl) et à 8000 pieds agl, nuages fragmentés à 24 000 pieds agl, température de 15 ºC et point de rosée de 6 ºC. Les conditions météorologiques observées à 11 h à Cranbrook étaient les suivantes : vent calme, visibilité de 25 sm, quelques nuages à 13 000 pieds agl, ciel couvert à 22 000 pieds agl, température de 14 ºC et point de rosée de 4 ºC.



La prévision régionale graphique (GFA) valide pour six heures à compter de 6 h indiquait qu'un front froid devenant moins actif se déplaçait à travers la route prévue au plan de vol. Des couches de nuages fragmentés étaient prévues entre 9000 et 18 000 pieds, avec des altocumulus castellanus (ACC) isolés donnant une visibilité de plus de 6 sm dans de légères averses de pluie.

L'analyse d'Environnement Canada des conditions sur le lieu de l'accident a indiqué qu'il y avait des cumulus épars à fragmentés dont le plancher se situait à 6000 pieds, et le sommet, à 7000 pieds, ainsi que des ACC fragmentés à couverts dont le plancher se situait entre 8000 et 9000 pieds, et le sommet, entre 10 000 et 12 000 pieds. Des courants descendants et de la turbulence modérée occasionnelle étaient prévus sur les flancs est des montagnes selon un courant vers le sud-ouest pouvant atteindre 30 noeuds. Il n'y avait probablement pas de givrage.

Généralement, des conditions VMC sont présentes au bas des couloirs de montagne entre Springbank et Cranbrook. La route directe suivie par le pilote ne passait pas par ces couloirs. Des nuages étaient visibles sur les montagnes au sud-ouest de Springbank lorsque le pilote a obtenu une mise à jour météorologique du FIC à 9 h 34.

Les observations météorologiques de routine ont été enregistrées à deux tours d'observation du Service de protection des forêts de l'Alberta : à la montagne Moose (18 nm au nord du lieu de l'accident) et à la montagne Junction (10 nm au sud-est). Au moment des seules observations officielles à 7 h, des nuages recouvraient les deux tours. Les nuages s'étaient dissipés à 11 h; toutefois, les sommets supérieurs des montagnes étaient toujours masqués par des nuages fragmentés au moment de l'accident.



Un pilote qui avait volé de Fairmont (Colombie-Britannique) à Springbank vers 10 h avait signalé que les nuages, qui culminaient à 10 000 pieds, masquaient le sommet des montagnes sur les flancs est des Rocheuses.

Le radar du contrôle de la circulation aérienne de l'installation de NAV Canada à Calgary a suivi l'avion peu après le décollage jusqu'à l'impact. Après le départ, l'avion était monté à 8300 pieds sur un cap de 229º vrais (V), puis était graduellement descendu à 7900 pieds. L'avion avait alors entamé une montée, puis percuté la montagne deux minutes plus tard, à 11 h 27. Le dernier cap enregistré était de 195ºV, soit 17º à gauche de la route directe de Springbank à Cranbrook. Pendant cette période, on a enregistré la vitesse sol de l'avion comme se situant entre 80 et 120 noeuds.

L'avion a percuté une falaise quasiment verticale sur la face nord-est d'une crête de 9000 pieds. Le point d'impact se trouvait à environ 50 pieds du sommet de la crête, laquelle était orientée du sud-est au nord-ouest. Les dommages subis par l'avion indiquaient qu'il se trouvait en vol rectiligne en palier au moment de l'impact.



La plus grande partie de l'épave s'est retrouvée sur un talus d'éboulis pentu à environ 100 pieds sous le point d'impact. De petits morceaux d'épave ont été retrouvés de l'autre côté de la crête. Un incendie après impact, alimenté par le carburant, a consumé la plus grande partie de l'avion. Le pilote a été retrouvé avec l'épave, et le passager, 500 pieds plus bas. L'hélice n'a pas été retrouvée; par contre, un examen du vilebrequin du moteur a indiqué que le moteur développait une certaine puissance au moment de l'impact. Il y avait un relief plus élevé un mille plus loin sur le prolongement de la trajectoire de l'avion, au-delà de la crête (voir la Photo 1).


Photo 1 - Vue du lieu de l'accident

Photo 1. Vue du lieu de l'accident


Les opérations de recherche et de sauvetage (SAR) ont été déclenchées dans l'heure suivant la déclaration de retard de l'avion par rapport à son plan de vol. L'avion était disparu du radar au point où la couverture radar normale se termine pour l'installation de Calgary, et, le jour de l'accident, il n'y avait pas de service radar passé ce point. Même si l'avion a été retrouvé dans les 2 nm de la trajectoire du plan de vol, il était difficile d'apercevoir l'épave à cause de la grande zone de recherche explorée, du relief montagneux extrêmement accidenté, de plaques de neige éparses et de la dislocation de l'avion résultant de l'impact et de l'incendie.



Le pilote était titulaire d'une licence de pilote privé limitée au vol VFR et il totalisait environ 1500 heures de vol, la plupart sur l'avion C-FYIX. Il avait passé avec succès un examen médical de catégorie 1 le 26 juillet 2004, ce qui validait sa licence jusqu'au 1er août 2006. Sur la foi de l'autopsie, des examens toxicologiques et des dossiers médicaux, on n'a rien trouvé qui indiquerait que le comportement du pilote avait été compromis par des facteurs physiologiques.

L'avion, construit en 1969, appartenait au pilote depuis 1981 et il totalisait 3173 heures. Les dossiers indiquent que l'avion était certifié, entretenu et équipé conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. L'avion avait fait le plein de 213 litres d'essence aviation à Springbank le 20 août 2005, et il n'avait pas volé jusqu'au vol en question.

La Flight Safety Foundation définit un impact sans perte de contrôle comme [Traduction] « un accident dans lequel un aéronef apte au vol, sous le contrôle de l'équipage, vole par inadvertance contre le relief, des obstacles ou un plan d'eau sans que l'équipage ne soit conscient au préalable de l'imminence de la collision3. »


Analyse


L'événement correspond à la définition d'un impact sans perte de contrôle. Comme il ne semble pas que des manoeuvres d'évitement importantes, exécutées en temps opportun, aient été tentées en vue d'éviter l'impact avec la montagne, il est probable que le pilote n'avait pas de contact visuel avec le sommet de la montagne. Le profil de vol obtenu des données radar du contrôle de la circulation aérienne (ATC) et de l'analyse du cheminement suivi par l'épave laisse croire que, au moment de l'impact, l'aéronef était piloté et que le moteur développait de la puissance. Comme l'avion a heurté la crête à une vitesse et à un cap relativement stables (vol rectiligne en palier), il est probable que la vision du pilote avait été masquée par des nuages immédiatement avant l'impact. Il est aussi possible qu'en tentant de franchir la crête l'avion soit entré dans un courant rabattant et qu'il n'ait pas été en mesure de monter suffisamment pour franchir le relief. Si l'avion avait réussi à franchir la crête de 9000 pieds, sa trajectoire aurait intercepté un relief considérablement plus élevé un mille plus loin.

L'exposé météorologique du pilote était exact, en ce que de bonnes conditions VFR étaient présentes dans les couloirs des montagnes, aux deux extrémités de la première étape de la route de vol prévue entre Springbank et Cranbrook. Son exposé décrivait en détail les conditions météorologiques existantes et prévues dans les couloirs, mais c'est une route directe qui figure au plan de vol et qui a été suivie. Comme des nuages fragmentés masquaient la plus grande partie des sommets de montagne le long des flancs de ceux-ci, les conditions météorologiques auxquelles l'avion a fait face à l'altitude de vol de la route directe auraient été pires que celles des altitudes inférieures dans les couloirs.


Fait établi quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. L'avion a probablement volé dans des nuages, ce qui a empêché le pilote de voir et d'éviter le relief montagneux élevé.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet incident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 4 janvier 2006.


  1. Les heures sont exprimées en HAR (temps universel coordonné moins six heures).

  2. Les altitudes sont exprimées au-dessus du niveau de la mer (asl), sauf indication contraire.

  3. « An Analysis of Controlled Flight Into Terrain (CFIT) Accidents of Commercial Operators, 1998 through 1994 », Flight Safety Foundation Flight Safety Digest, avril-mai 1996, p. 4. April-May 1996, p. 4.