Aviation Investigation Report A06A0114

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.


Collision with Obstacle During Take-off
Provincial Airlines Limited
de Havilland DHC-6 Twin Otter C-FIZD
Port of Goose Bay Dock, Happy Valley
Goose Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador
06 November 2006

Summary

The de Havilland DHC-6-300 Twin Otter (registration C-FIZD, serial number 461) had been converted from float to wheel landing gear and was being repositioned from the Marine Atlantic dock to the Goose Bay Airport. During the take-off from the dock, the main wheels of the aircraft struck a wooden safety curb that surrounded the dock perimeter. After visually inspecting the landing gear in flight, the pilots continued the planned flight and landed at the Goose Bay Airport. On landing, the right main gear collapsed and separated from the aircraft. The aircraft veered to the right and came to rest on a taxiway on the right side of the runway. There was damage to the right landing gear, the right wing tip, and the outboard aileron hinge. There were no injuries to the two pilots on board. The accident occurred at 1631 Atlantic standard time during daylight hours.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The accident occurred approximately one hour before sunset. The Goose Bay Airport weather at the time of the accident was as follows: surface wind 250º magnetic (M) at 7 knots, visibility 15 statute miles, scattered clouds, and temperature 0ºC. Strong wind conditions were forecast for several days following the day of the occurrence.

The de Havilland DHC-6 Twin Otter is a fixed landing gear, short take-off and landing (STOL) aircraft designed for use on unprepared, short landing strips. The aircraft is convertible to float-type landing gear. Early on the day of the accident, the aircraft, with minimum fuel on board, was taxied from the floatplane base to the marine dock a short distance away. At the dock, the aircraft was lifted from the water with a crane and suspended while maintenance personnel removed the floats and replaced them with the wheel landing gear. All unnecessary equipment had been removed from the aircraft to reduce the take-off weight and the take-off distance required.

At approximately 0830 Atlantic standard time,1 the captain and first officer arrived at the Port of Goose Bay main dock, two nautical miles east of the Goose Bay Airport, to fly the aircraft to the Goose Bay Airport. This was to be the first take-off from the dock for this operator and for the captain.

The DHC-6 aircraft was operated by the company in accordance with Canadian Aviation Regulations Part VII, Subpart 4, Commuter Operations (CAR 704). The pilot qualifications, training, and operating requirements are delineated in the company operations manual (COM). In particular, the COM contains the operating requirements for a maximum performance STOL (MPS) take-off, which was the procedure used for the take-off from the dock. These requirements included the following:

  • ground and flight training annually;
  • a minimum of three MPS take-offs annually;
  • proof of the training on the pilot's company training file;
  • certification of the MPS qualification by the chief pilot and a copy of that certification kept on the pilot's training file; and
  • prior to first time operations from a site, all operational aspects are to be discussed with the Director of Flight Operations (DFO) or chief pilot "as flight safety is the primary concern."

All of these requirements, with the exception of consultation with the DFO or chief pilot, were met before undertaking the flight.

DHC-6 landing gear conversions and subsequent take-offs from this dock have been conducted for many years by another operator in the area. No one had taken off from the same general area and in the same general direction as the accident flight.

Both the captain and first officer were licensed and qualified for the flight. The captain was also the supervisor of the company's Goose Bay operational base. Both pilots had short field take-off experience. The first officer had taken off from the dock several times previously as pilot-in-command with another operator. The pilots discussed the operation with another company pilot before the decision to take off was made. The captain had 16 000 hours of total flight time, 9000 of which on the Twin Otter. The first officer had 12 500 hours of total flight time, 11 300 of which on the Twin Otter.

The orientation of the concrete-surface dock is northwest to southeast (see Appendix A). There is a dividing chain-link fence at the midpoint of the dock running perpendicular to the dock edge. There is a 14-inch-high wooden safety curb, made of wood beams measuring 12 inches by 12 inches, surrounding the outside perimeter of the dock. Approximately 105 feet from the water side, in the direction of the take-off, there is a depression approximately 60 feet wide and 1.5 feet deep in the surface of the dock, running parallel to the edge or 45º to the direction of take-off.

The captain measured the take-off run by pacing off the distance and estimated the available distance at approximately 400 feet. Using performance charts from the aircraft flight manual (AFM), the captain then calculated the required take-off ground run at approximately 300 feet.2 The captain was aware of the depression in the surface of the dock, and calculated that the aircraft would be airborne before reaching it. The actual take-off run available was measured after the accident; it was 335 feet.

The pilots then taxied the aircraft on the dock to allow for the maximum take-off run available, taking into account the wind speed and direction and obstacles on the dock. The obstacles comprised equipment parked at the southeastern end of the dock and containers and aircraft floats sitting on the southeastern side of the chain-link fence. The take-off run chosen was from the south corner of the concrete surface toward the water edge of the dock, in a northerly direction, approximately 45º to the dock orientation (see Appendix A).

The pilots used an MPS technique to ensure that the aircraft would be airborne in the shortest possible distance. The wheel brakes were applied and engine power was advanced to the maximum power output. When it was determined that the engines and aircraft systems were operating normally, the captain released the wheel brakes while holding the control column to the furthest aft position, and the aircraft accelerated toward the edge of the dock. At approximately three-quarters of the available take-off distance, the aircraft nose landing gear settled into the depression in the dock surface. This caused a momentary decrease in the wing angle of attack, slightly delaying the rotation of the aircraft, which would increase the ground run.

The right main landing gear struck the wooden safety curb at the perimeter of the dock, and the left main gear struck and severed a partially decomposed 10-foot section of the curb. The aircraft became airborne and the flight continued to Goose Bay.

The pilots were aware that the aircraft had struck an object on departure. However, they considered the impact forces minimal. The pilots carried out an in-flight visual inspection of the landing gear. They concluded that there was no damage, and that the tires appeared to be inflated. After the visual inspection was complete, it was decided to continue the flight to the Goose Bay Airport.

The pilots contacted the Goose Bay control tower to request landing clearance. They did not request any assistance. On landing, the right main gear collapsed and separated from the aircraft. The aircraft settled onto the remaining portion of the landing gear, the right wing tip, and the outboard aileron hinge. The aircraft continued on the runway for approximately 800 feet from the touchdown point, then veered to the right and came to rest on the edge of a taxiway on the right side of the runway. Goose Bay control tower personnel alerted the airport rescue and firefighting services, and they arrived within a few minutes of the aircraft coming to rest.

The cockpit voice recorder (CVR) was removed from the aircraft. It was determined that the CVR had not been recording during the accident flight because the integral inertial switch had activated at some time before the accident flight. The time and date that the switch had activated could not be established. The activation of this switch removes electrical power from the recorder. Further inspection by the operator's maintenance personnel found that the switch could be activated with less than the certified required g force. It could not be determined if the CVR test function had been completed before the incident flight.

Examination of the aircraft did not reveal any mechanical, maintenance, or performance discrepancy that could have contributed to the accident.

The emergency locator transmitter (ELT), manufactured by Pointer Sentry (model 4000-10, serial number 408997), was found detached from its mounting bracket, likely as a result of impact forces. It was hanging by the antenna coaxial cable. The mounting bracket (part number 2017) uses a rear bracket clip to hold the ELT in place. Although the ELT had become detached, the rear bracket clip was still fastened to the mounting bracket.

The installed bracket was approved under Technical Standard Order3 (TSO) C91. However, the bracket was intended for an earlier model Pointer Sentry ELT. The 4000-10 ELT that was on the occurrence aircraft was supposed to be installed using a different mounting bracket (part number 2017-10). This bracket uses a hold-down strap instead of a rear bracket clip. TSO C91A, not TSO C91, pertains to this installation, and the manufacturer has advised that only part number 2017-10 is the correct installation with the model 4000-10 ELT.

The TSB is aware of at least three other occurrences4 where a TSO C91 Pointer ELT rear bracket clip did not restrain the ELT. In these accidents, the ELTs became detached from their antennae, resulting in either a weak signal or no signal. Other agencies have identified problems with the TSO C91-compliant Pointer ELT bracket. In the preamble to its ELT-related recommendations (A-99-62 and A-99-63), the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) stated the following: "Since the TSO for C91 ELTs was issued in 1971, unsatisfactory performance associated with TSO C91 units has included dislodgment from aircraft because of impact. . . ."

The NTSB recommendation emphasized that "A reliably functional ELT not only aids in rapidly pinpointing crash sites but also reduces search teams' exposure to potential hazards, the expense of rescue efforts, and the amount of time family members must wait for survivor information."

The New Zealand Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) issued Airworthiness Directive (AD) DCA/RAD/8D, effective 15 January 1999. The AD requires all aircraft fitted with Pointer model 3000, 3001-10 or 4000 ELTs to have TSO C91A brackets (part number 2017-10) installed "to prevent failure of the ELT mounting bracket." Transport Canada has not issued any similar directives.

The TSB is not aware of any TSO C91A-compliant Pointer ELT mounting bracket (part number 2017-10) failures in survivable accidents.

Analysis

No mechanical fault was found with the aircraft. This analysis will focus on the operational, environmental, and human elements that were present.

There is a history of DHC-6 operators successfully conducting take-offs from the marine dock after float-to-wheel conversions. Although this was the first attempt by this captain to take off from the dock, the first officer had completed a number of take-offs from the dock with another operator. Both pilots were highly experienced on type, and both mentally calculated that there was sufficient distance on the planned take-off path to get airborne safely. However, the take-off distance available measurement was shorter than estimated, and the reduction in take-off performance due to the effect of the dock depression was unforeseen. The combination of these circumstances resulted in the landing gear striking the wooden safety curb.

The aircraft was being operated under CAR 704 and the associated requirements of the COM. However, not all of these requirements were met in that the discussion between the captain and the DFO or chief pilot did not take place. This discussion might have led to an alternative course of action to mitigate the risks associated with taking off from the dock.

The CVR had not operated during the accident flight due to a faulty inertial switch. In a more serious accident, crucial investigation data and safety information could have been lost.

TSO C91-compliant Pointer ELT mounting brackets (part number 2017) continue to fail, even in accidents where impact forces are relatively low. Although the ELT was inconsequential in this occurrence, its function in a more severe or remote accident could be critical to the survival of aircraft occupants. Failure of TSO C91-compliant Pointer ELT mounting brackets (part number 2017) in a survivable accident could cause a malfunction of the transmitter and prevent a timely and effective search and rescue (SAR) response.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The take-off length available on the dock was shorter than estimated. This, in combination with the reduction in take-off performance due to the effect of the dock depression, resulted in the landing gear striking the wooden safety curb.
  2. The right main landing gear collapsed on landing as a result of damage incurred when the gear struck the wooden safety curb.

Findings as to Risk

  1. The company operations manual (COM) requirement for a discussion between the captain and the Director of Flight Operations (DFO) or chief pilot did not take place. This discussion might have led to an alternative course of action to mitigate the risks associated with taking off from the dock.
  2. The cockpit voice recorder (CVR) was not operating because of a faulty inertia switch. In a more serious accident, crucial investigation data and safety information could have been lost.
  3. Failure of Technical Standard Order (TSO) C91-compliant Pointer emergency locator transmitter (ELT) mounting brackets (part number 2017) in an accident could cause a malfunction of the transmitter and prevent a timely and effective search and rescue response.

Other Finding

  1. If the actual take-off distance available had been what was estimated by the captain (400 feet), the take-off would likely have been successful.

Safety Action Taken

On 13 July 2007, the TSB issued Safety Advisory A06A0114-D1-A1 (Emergency Locator Transmitter - Pointer Mounting Bracket P/N 2017) to Transport Canada regarding the detachment of the emergency locator transmitter (ELT) from its mounting bracket.

On 03 October 2007, Transport Canada responded to Safety Advisory A06A0114-D1-A1 and indicated that it would review the design approval to determine compliance with Technical Standard Order (TSO) C91. If required, the design standard of Airworthiness Manual 551.104 will be reviewed and updated. The Department will also request a position from Pointer Sentry regarding this advisory. Pointer, as the manufacturer of the subject mounts, should take the lead on any required action concerning its design of the earlier TSO C91 mounting brackets.

As a result of this accident, the operator has taken the following actions: ceased take-off operations from the dock; submitted a Service Difficulty Report on the faulty cockpit voice recorder (CVR) inertial switch to Transport Canada; and removed the clip-type ELT mounting bracket and replaced it with the mounting bracket with the hold-down strap.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 18 October 2007.

Appendix A - Take-Off Run - Plan View

Appendix A - Take-Off Run - Plan View


  1. All times are Atlantic standard time (Universal Coordinated Time minus four hours).

  2. The AFM states the conditions assuming that the take-off is from a "dry, hard, level surface."

  3. A Technical Standard Order (TSO) is a minimum performance standard issued by the United States Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) for specified materials, parts, processes, and appliances used on civil aircraft. Articles with TSO design approval are eligible for use on the United States type-certificated products. The TSO authorization or a letter of TSO design approval does not necessarily convey approval for installation.

  4. TSB reports A87O0076, A95C0197, and A02A0098

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A06A0114

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Collision avec un obstacle pendant le décollage
du de Havilland DHC-6 Twin Otter C-FIZD
exploité par Provincial Airlines Limited
au quai du port de Goose Bay, Happy Valley
Goose Bay (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)
le 6 novembre 2006

Résumé

Les flotteurs du de Havilland DHC-6-300 Twin Otter (immatriculation C-FIZD, numéro de série 461) sont convertis en train d'atterrissage sur roues, et l'avion est transféré du quai Marine Atlantic à l'aéroport de Goose Bay. Pendant le décollage du quai, les roues du train principal de l'avion heurtent la bordure de sécurité en bois qui entoure le périmètre du quai. Après avoir inspecté visuellement le train d'atterrissage en vol, les pilotes poursuivent le vol prévu et se posent à l'aéroport de Goose Bay. À l'atterrissage, le train principal droit s'affaisse et se détache de l'avion. L'avion part en embardée à droite et s'immobilise sur la voie de circulation, du côté droit de la piste. Le train d'atterrissage droit, l'extrémité de l'aile droite et la charnière de l'aileron extérieur sont endommagés. Les deux pilotes à bord ne sont pas blessés. L'accident se produit à 16 h 31, heure normale de l'Atlantique, alors qu'il fait clair.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

L'accident s'est produit environ une heure avant le coucher du soleil. Les conditions météorologiques à l'aéroport de Goose Bay au moment de l'accident étaient les suivantes : vent en surface du 250º magnétiques (M) à 7 nœuds, visibilité de 15 milles terrestres, nuages épars et température de 0 ºC. De forts vents étaient prévus pendant plusieurs jours suivant l'accident.

Le DHC-6 Twin Otter de de Havilland est un avion à décollage et à atterrissage courts (ADAC), à train fixe, conçu pour être utilisé sur des pistes courtes non aménagées. Le train d'atterrissage de cet avion peut être converti sur flotteurs. Tôt le jour de l'accident, l'avion, n'ayant qu'une quantité minimale de carburant à bord, avait circulé de l'hydrobase à un quai maritime situé non loin de là. Au quai, l'avion avait été soulevé de l'eau au moyen d'une grue et suspendu pendant que le personnel de maintenance retirait les flotteurs et les remplaçait par un train d'atterrissage à roues. Tout l'équipement non nécessaire avait été retiré de l'avion pour réduire la masse au décollage et la distance de décollage requise.

Vers 8 h 30, heure normale de l'Atlantique (HNA)1, le commandant de bord et le copilote sont arrivés au quai principal du port de Goose Bay, deux milles marins à l'est de l'aéroport de Goose Bay, pour piloter l'avion jusqu'à l'aéroport de Goose Bay. Ce serait le premier décollage à partir du quai pour cet exploitant et pour le commandant de bord.

Le DHC-6 était exploité par la compagnie conformément au Règlement de l'aviation canadien, Partie VII, sous-partie 4, Exploitation d'un service aérien de navette (RAC 704). Les qualifications des pilotes, la formation et les exigences d'exploitation sont énumérées dans le manuel d'exploitation de la compagnie. Plus particulièrement, ce manuel contient les exigences d'exploitation pour un décollage ADAC à performances maximales, lequel était la procédure utilisée pour décoller à partir du quai. Ces exigences comprennent les éléments suivants :

  • une formation au sol et en vol à chaque année;
  • un minimum de trois décollages ADAC à performances maximales chaque année;
  • une preuve de formation dans le dossier de formation du pilote à la compagnie;
  • une certification de la qualification de décollages ADAC à performances maximales par le chef pilote et une copie de cette certification dans le dossier de formation du pilote;
  • avant les opérations initiales à un endroit, tous les aspects opérationnels doivent faire l'objet de discussions avec le directeur des opérations de vol ou le pilote en chef « puisque la sécurité aérienne est la préoccupation principale ».

Toutes ces exigences, à l'exception de la consultation avec le directeur des opérations de vol ou le pilote en chef, avaient été satisfaites avant le vol.

Des conversions de train d'atterrissage de DHC-6 et des décollages subséquents de ce quai ont été réalisés depuis de nombreuses années par un autre exploitant de l'endroit. Personne n'avait déjà décollé du même endroit et dans la même direction que le vol en question.

Le commandant de bord et le copilote étaient titulaires des licences et des qualifications convenant au vol. Le commandant de bord était aussi le superviseur de la base d'opérations de la compagnie à Goose Bay. Les deux pilotes avaient de l'expérience dans les décollages sur terrain court. Le copilote avait décollé du quai à plusieurs reprises auparavant comme pilote commandant de bord auprès d'un autre exploitant. Les pilotes ont discuté de l'opération avec un autre pilote de la compagnie avant de prendre la décision de décoller. Le commandant de bord totalisait 16 000 heures de vol, dont 9000 sur Twin Otter. Le copilote totalisait 12 500 heures de vol, dont 11 300 sur Twin Otter.

Le quai à surface de béton est orienté nord-ouest sud-est (voir l'Annexe A). Il y a une clôture à mailles métalliques au milieu du quai qui court perpendiculairement au bord du quai. Il y a aussi une bordure de sécurité en bois de 14 pouces de hauteur, constituée de poutres en bois mesurant 12 pouces de côté, entourant le périmètre extérieur du quai. À environ 105 pieds du côté eau, dans le sens du décollage, il y a une dépression mesurant environ 60 pieds de largeur sur 1,5 pied de profondeur à la surface du quai, et elle se prolonge parallèlement au bord ou à 45º par rapport au sens du décollage.

Le commandant de bord a mesuré la course au décollage en marchant la distance et il a estimé que la distance disponible était d'environ 400 pieds. À l'aide des tableaux de performances du manuel de vol de l'avion, le commandant de bord a alors calculé que la course au décollage requise correspondait à environ 300 pieds2. Le commandant de bord était au courant de la dépression à la surface du quai, et il a calculé que l'avion prendrait l'air avant de l'atteindre. La course au décollage réelle disponible a été mesurée après l'accident et elle se chiffrait à 335 pieds.

Les pilotes ont alors fait circuler l'avion sur le quai pour disposer de la course maximale au décollage disponible, tenant compte de la vitesse et de la direction du vent ainsi que des obstacles sur le quai. Les obstacles comprenaient du matériel se trouvant à l'extrémité sud-est du quai ainsi que des conteneurs et des flotteurs d'avion situés sur le côté sud-est de la clôture à mailles métalliques. La course au décollage choisie partait du coin sud de la surface en béton jusqu'au bord de l'eau du quai, en direction nord, à environ 45º par rapport à l'orientation du quai (voir l'Annexe A).

Les pilotes ont utilisé la technique de décollage ADAC à performances maximales pour assurer que l'avion prendrait l'air sur la distance la plus courte possible. Les freins de roues ont été serrés, et la puissance moteurs a été poussée au maximum. Lorsqu'on a déterminé que les moteurs et les systèmes de bord fonctionnaient normalement, le commandant de bord a relâché les freins tout en maintenant le manche pilote complètement tiré vers l'arrière, et l'avion a accéléré vers le bord du quai. À peu près aux trois quarts de la distance de décollage disponible, le train avant de l'avion est descendu dans la dépression à la surface du quai. Il s'en est suivi une diminution momentanée de l'angle d'attaque de la voilure, ce qui a légèrement retardé le cabrage de l'avion et prolongé la course au décollage.

Le train d'atterrissage droit a heurté la bordure de sécurité en bois située à la périphérie du quai, et le train d'atterrissage gauche a heurté et sectionné une section partiellement décomposée de la bordure d'une longueur de 10 pieds. L'avion a pris l'air, et le vol s'est poursuivi jusqu'à Goose Bay.

Les pilotes savaient que l'avion avait heurté un objet au décollage. Cependant, ils ont jugé les forces d'impact minimales. Ils ont effectué une inspection visuelle en vol du train d'atterrissage pour conclure que le train n'était pas endommagé et que les pneus semblaient gonflés. Une fois l'inspection visuelle effectuée, il a été décidé de poursuivre le vol jusqu'à l'aéroport de Goose Bay.

Les pilotes ont contacté la tour de contrôle de Goose Bay pour obtenir une autorisation d'atterrissage. Ils n'ont demandé aucune assistance. À l'atterrissage, le train droit s'est affaissé et détaché de l'avion. L'avion s'est reposé sur ce qui restait du train d'atterrissage, l'extrémité de l'aile droite et la charnière de l'aileron extérieur. L'avion a continué sur la piste sur une distance d'environ 800 pieds par rapport au point de toucher des roues, puis il est parti dans une embardée à droite et s'est immobilisé sur le bord d'une voie de circulation, du côté droit de la piste. Le personnel de la tour de contrôle de Goose Bay a alerté les services de sauvetage et de lutte contre les incendies de l'aéroport, et ceux-ci sont arrivés sur les lieux quelques minutes après que l'avion s'est immobilisé.

L'enregistreur de la parole dans le poste de pilotage (CVR) a été retiré de l'avion. On a déterminé que le CVR n'avait rien enregistré pendant le vol en question parce que le contact à inertie intégré s'était déclenché à un moment donné avant le vol. L'heure et la date auxquelles le contact s'était déclenché n'ont pu être établis. Le déclenchement de ce contact coupe l'alimentation électrique à l'enregistreur. Une inspection plus poussée par le personnel de maintenance de l'exploitant a permis de découvrir que le contact pouvait se déclencher à une force d'accélération inférieure à la force requise certifiée. Il n'a pas été possible de déterminer si l'essai du CVR avait été exécuté avant le vol en question.

L'examen de l'avion n'a révélé aucune anomalie mécanique, ni aucun problème de maintenance ou de rendement qui aurait pu contribuer à l'accident.

La radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT), fabriquée par Pointer Sentry (modèle 4000-10, numéro de série 408997), a été retrouvée détachée de son support de montage, probablement à cause des forces d'impact. Elle pendait par le câble coaxial de l'antenne. Le support de montage (référence 2017) est pourvu d'une pince arrière pour retenir la radiobalise en place. Même si la radiobalise s'était détachée, la pince arrière était toujours fixée au support de montage.

Le support monté avait été approuvé en vertu du Technical Standard Order3 (TSO) C91. Toutefois, le support était destiné à un modèle plus ancien de radiobalise Pointer Sentry. La radiobalise 4000-10 qui équipait l'avion accidenté devait être montée sur un support différent (référence 2017-10). Ce support comprend une sangle de retenue plutôt qu'une pince arrière de support. Le TSO C91A, et non TSO C91, a trait à ce montage, et le fabricant a indiqué que seule la référence 2017-10 convenait à la radiobalise 4000-10.

Le BST est au courant d'au moins trois autres événements4 dans lesquels la pince arrière du support de la radiobalise Pointer conforme au TSO C91 n'avait pas retenu la radiobalise. Dans ces accidents, les radiobalises s'étaient détachées de leur antenne, ce qui avait causé un faible signal ou aucun signal. D'autres organismes ont cerné des problèmes avec le support de radiobalise Pointer conforme au TSO C91. Dans le préambule à ses recommandations liées aux radiobalises (A-99-62 et A-99-63), le National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) a indiqué que comme le TSO pour les radiobalises de repérage d'urgence C91 avait été publié en 1971, le fonctionnement insatisfaisant des radiobalises conformes au TSO C91 comprenait, entre autres, le fait qu'elles se délogeaient de l'aéronef à la suite d'un impact.

La recommandation du NTSB insistait sur le fait qu'une radiobalise de repérage d'urgence fonctionnant de façon fiable non seulement aidait à retrouver rapidement les lieux d'un accident, mais réduisait aussi l'exposition des équipes de recherche aux dangers, l'ampleur des opérations de sauvetage et la durée pendant laquelle devaient attendre les parents pour obtenir de l'information sur les survivants.

L'autorité de l'aviation civile (CAA) de Nouvelle-Zélande a publié la consigne navigabilité (CN) DCA/RAD/8D, entrée en vigueur le 15 janvier 1999. La consigne exigeait que tous les aéronefs équipés des radiobalises de repérage d'urgence Pointer, modèles 3000, 3001-10 ou 4000 soient munies des supports (référence 2017-10) conformes au TSO C91A pour éviter toute défaillance du support de montage. Transports Canada n'a publié aucune consigne similaire.

Le BST ne sait si les supports de montage de radiobalises Pointer conformes au TSO C91A ont subi des défaillances dans des accidents auxquels il était possible de survivre.

Analyse

L'avion en question ne présentait aucune anomalie mécanique. L'analyse va donc porter sur les éléments opérationnels, environnementaux et humains qui étaient présents.

Il y a des antécédents selon lesquels des exploitants ont réussi à décoller du quai maritime après le remplacement de flotteurs par un train d'atterrissage à roues. C'était la première tentative du commandant de bord de décoller à partir du quai, mais le copilote l'avait fait un certain nombre de fois pour un autre exploitant. Les deux pilotes étaient très expérimentés sur type, et les deux avaient calculé mentalement qu'ils disposaient d'une distance suffisante sur la trajectoire de décollage prévue pour prendre l'air en toute sécurité. Toutefois, la mesure de la distance de décollage disponible s'est révélée plus courte que leur estimation, et la réduction des performances de décollage à cause de la dépression sur le quai était imprévue. La combinaison de ces situations s'est traduite par l'impact du train d'atterrissage sur la bordure de sécurité en bois.

L'exploitation de l'avion était régie par le RAC 704 et les exigences connexes du manuel d'exploitation de la compagnie. Cependant, ce ne sont pas toutes les exigences qui ont été satisfaites, puisque les discussions entre le commandant de bord et le directeur des opérations de vol ou le pilote en chef n'ont pas eu lieu. Ces discussions auraient pu amener à l'adoption d'un autre plan d'action en vue de réduire les risques d'un décollage à partir du quai.

Le CVR n'avait pas fonctionné pendant le vol en question à cause d'un contact à inertie défectueux. Dans un accident plus grave, des données d'enquête et de l'information sur la sécurité essentielles auraient pu être perdues.

Les supports de montage (référence 2017) des radiobalises de repérage d'urgence Pointer conformes au TSO C91 continuent à être défectueux, même dans des accidents où les forces d'impact sont relativement faibles. La radiobalise n'a pas été un facteur dans le présent accident, mais son fonctionnement dans un accident plus grave ou en région éloignée pourrait être critique pour la survie des occupants d'un aéronef. La défaillance des supports de montage (2017) des radiobalises Pointer conformes au TSO C91 dans un accident auquel il est possible de survivre pourrait causer une défectuosité de l'émetteur et empêcher une intervention rapide et efficace en termes de recherche et de sauvetage.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. La distance de décollage disponible sur le quai était plus courte que les estimations. Ce fait, combiné à la réduction des performances de décollage à cause de l'effet de la dépression, s'est traduit par l'impact du train d'atterrissage contre la bordure de sécurité en bois.
  2. Le train d'atterrissage droit s'est affaissé à l'atterrissage à la suite des dommages subis lorsque le train d'atterrissage a heurté la bordure de sécurité en bois.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. L'exigence figurant dans le manuel d'exploitation de la compagnie selon laquelle il doit y avoir des discussions entre le commandant de bord et le directeur des opérations de vol ou le pilote en chef n'a pas été respectée. Ces discussions auraient peut-être amené à adopter un autre plan d'action en vue de réduire les risques associés au décollage à partir du quai.
  2. L'enregistreur de la parole dans le poste de pilotage (CVR) ne fonctionnait pas à cause d'un contact à inertie défectueux. Dans un accident plus grave, des données d'enquête et de l'information sur la sécurité essentielles auraient pu être perdues.
  3. La défaillance des supports de montage (2017) des radiobalises Pointer conformes au TSO C91 dans un accident auquel il est possible de survivre pourrait causer une défectuosité de l'émetteur et empêcher une intervention rapide et efficace en termes de recherche et de sauvetage.

Autre fait établi

  1. Si la distance de décollage réelle disponible avait été celle estimée par le commandant de bord (400 pieds), le décollage aurait été réussi.

Mesures de sécurité prises

Le 13 juillet 2007, le BST a émis l'Avis de sécurité A06A0114-D1-A1 (Emergency Locator Transmitter - Pointer Mounting Bracket P/N 2017) à l'intention de Transports Canada relativement au détachement de la radiobalise de repérage d'urgence de son support de montage.

Le 3 octobre 2007, Transports Canada a répondu à l'Avis de sécurité A06A0114-D1-A1 en indiquant qu'il reverrait l'approbation de conception afin de déterminer la conformité avec le Technical Standard Order (TSO) C91. Le cas échéant, la norme de conception 551.104 du Manuel de navigabilité sera revue et mise à jour. Le ministère va également demander son avis à Pointer Sentry relativement à l'Avis. Pointer, à titre de fabricant des supports en question, devrait prendre l'initiative au sujet de toute mesure requise portant sur la conception des supports de montage TSO C91 plus anciens.

À la suite du présent accident, l'exploitant a pris les mesures suivantes : il a cessé tout décollage à partir du quai, il a soumis à Transports Canada un Rapport de difficultés en service sur le contact à inertie défectueux de l'enregistreur de la parole dans le poste de pilotage (CVR) et il a retiré le support de montage à pince de la radiobalise pour le remplacer par un support de montage à sangle de retenue.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 18 octobre 2007.

Annexe A - Course au décollage - Vue en plan

Annexe A - Course au décollage - Vue en plan


  1. Les heures sont exprimées en HNA (temps universel coordonné moins quatre heures).

  2. Le manuel de vol de l'avion indique les conditions en tenant compte du fait que le décollage s'effectue à partir « d'une surface de niveau, en dur et sèche ».

  3. Un Technical Standard Order (TSO) est une norme de performance minimale émise par la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) des États-Unis pour des matériaux, des pièces, des procédés et des accessoires spécifiques utilisés à bord d'aéronefs civils. Les articles bénéficiant d'une approbation de conception TSO sont admissibles pour utilisation sur les produits dont le type est certifié aux États-Unis. L'autorisation TSO ou une lettre d'approbation de conception TSO ne correspondent pas nécessairement à une approbation d'installation.

  4. Rapports A87O0076, A95C0197 et A02A0098 du BST.