Aviation Investigation Report A06C0204

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.


Cargo Door Opening on Take-Off
Kelowna Flightcraft Air Charter Ltd.
Boeing 727-227 C-GJKF
Regina, Saskatchewan
13 December 2006

Summary

Kelowna Flightcraft Air Charter Ltd. Flight 284 (KFA284), a Boeing 727-227 (registration C-GJKF, serial number 21042), departed Regina, Saskatchewan, on a scheduled cargo flight to Hamilton, Ontario. Shortly after rotation, the crew noticed that the aft cargo door warning light was illuminated, followed by irregular indications of the number 3 engine. The crew decided to shut down the number 3 engine and divert to Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, at an altitude of 10 000 feet. The aircraft landed safely at 0710 central standard time with airport rescue and firefighting (ARFF) on standby. The aft cargo door was found open with the door handle stowed in the locked position. There were no injuries. The aircraft sustained minor damage to the aft cargo door hinges. There was no damage to the door structure or latching mechanism.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

KFA284 was operated by Kelowna Flightcraft Air Charter Ltd. and was chartered by Purolator Courier, a cargo transport service. Purolator Courier provided the ground handling for the aircraft.

Records indicate that the aircraft was maintained in accordance with Kelowna Flightcraft Air Charter Ltd.'s approved maintenance control system. The flight crew was certified, qualified, and met the crew rest requirements for the flight, in accordance with existing regulations. Weather and runway conditions were not factors in this occurrence.

Information from the flight data recorder (FDR) was retrieved. The FDR was an older model capable of recording only 11 parameters; it did not record the status of the annunciator panel lights. FDR data indicated a sudden fluctuation of the number 3 engine pressure ratio (EPR) approximately 2 minutes 30 seconds after rotation, at an altitude of 7600 feet above sea level (asl). The cockpit voice recorder (CVR) was a 30-minute tape unit, and details concerning the occurrence flight were overwritten during the flight.

The cargo door, hinges, latch cams and microswitch were sent to the TSB Engineering Laboratory for further analysis. Inspection and bench testing of the door and microswitch revealed no anomalies. The aft cargo door is equipped with an instructional placard indicating how the door should be locked. The instruction reads as follows: "LEAVE HANDLE EXTENDED WHEN LOCKING DOOR" (see Photo 1). Discussions with the operator indicate that the placard was viewed by the operator as an instruction. The manufacturer viewed the placard as a caution only, to avoid damage to the door mechanism.

Photo 1 - Placard instructions
Photo 1. Placard instructions

KFA284 arrived in Regina on a flight from Hamilton, and the aft cargo hold area of the aircraft was unloaded at approximately 0500 central standard time.1 After unloading the aft cargo hold, the ramp attendant was advised by another ramp attendant to leave the door open. The ramp attendant then left the rear of the aircraft to assist in loading the main cargo compartment. Another ramp attendant, on instructions from the lead hand, determined that the aft cargo hold would not be used. None of the ramp attendants recalled locking the aft cargo door.

The Purolator Courier aircraft ramp operations manual, which governs cargo door operation by the ramp attendants, did not designate a specific ramp attendant as responsible for belly compartment cargo door operation and security. There was no consistent understanding as to who was responsible for cargo door procedures among the ramp attendants who serviced the occurrence flight.

The Boeing 727 normal checklist indicates that the second officer is to check for door security before engine start. This check includes the examination of the cargo doors through an actual physical inspection of the door during the walk-around, and a check of the warning light in the cockpit. After the ground personnel finished loading the aircraft, the second officer conducted the walk-around inspection of the aircraft and did not notice any anomalies with the aft cargo door. After securing the aircraft entrance door, the second officer began a pre-start check. He did not see the aft cargo door warning light illuminated.

The aft cargo door warning light is designed to be illuminated when the aft cargo door is not locked. The aft cargo door warning light does not activate the master warning system, and is located such that it is normally only visible to the second officer; it is on the second officer's annunciator panel, directly below the auxiliary power unit (APU) light. The engines were started andKFA284 taxied to the runway for departure. The aircraft was observed from a distance, and no anomalies were noticed with the aft cargo door.

After departure, when the cargo door anomaly was noted, the crew was not certain of the cause of the indication, or of the aircraft's flight characteristics during a turn, if the aft cargo door was open. They elected to divert the flight to Saskatoon because of its proximity.

After landing, inspection of the aft cargo door and airframe structure revealed that the forward door hinge was bent rearward as a result of air loads on the open door in flight. The door, door frame structure, surrounding airframe structure, and latching mechanisms were not damaged. Inspection and operational tests of the aft cargo door warning light system revealed no discrepancies. A visual and borescope inspection of the number 3 engine revealed no anomalies.

The cargo door is opened from the outside by depressing a small, finger-access panel and pulling the door handle out of its recess approximately 90º perpendicular to the cargo door. The door handle, assisted by an overcentre spring, actuates a torque tube that unlocks/withdraws the overcentre latch rollers from their respective cams, resulting in an upward and outward movement of the door. A door counter-balance system assists in opening the door, and a telescopic strut is used to support the door once it is open. A handle on the inside of the door can also be used to open the cargo door, but cannot be used to lock the door.

The first step in locking the cargo door is to close the door against the door frame while the external handle is fully extended. When the door is fully closed, the latch rollers are lined up with their respective cams. Movement/retraction of the handle inserts the overcentre latch rollers into their respective cams, resulting in the locking/inward and downward movement of the door. The door handle is then stowed into its recess (see Photo 2).

Photo 2 - Aft cargo door handle stowed
Photo 2. Aft cargo door handle stowed

Further tests were carried out on an exemplary Boeing 727-227 aircraft. Numerous operational tests of the aft cargo door could not produce a condition that would extinguish the aft cargo door light on the second officer's annunciator panel and yet leave the door unlocked. Tests revealed that the door was able to close against the door frame and remain in position, with the handle fully extended (see Photo 3).

When the cargo door is open, the handle extends outward approximately 90º into the slip stream (see Photo 3). Previous analysis was conducted by Boeing and the United States National Transportation Safety Board on the external door handle of the cargo door, as a result of a similar occurrence. The analysis concluded that an airspeed of 190 knots produced a sufficient aerodynamic force to close the handle far enough to allow the spring forces inside the cargo door to pull the handle completely closed, even though the cargo door itself remained open. The maximum speed attained during the occurrence flight was in excess of 250 knots indicated airspeed.

Photo 3 - Aft cargo door closed and unlocked
Photo 3. Aft cargo door closed and unlocked

A search of the United States Federal Aviation Administration's Service Difficulty Report website revealed several occurrences involving false cargo door warning indications. In nearly all occurrences, the false warning was the result of a dirty or contaminated microswitch.

Analysis

The wording on the instructional placard of the aft cargo door can be misleading. Literal adherence to the instruction suggests that the door is locked when the handle is extended. It was determined that the wording on the instructional placard did not contribute to the occurrence.

The loading and unloading of KFA284 was carried out during the early hours of the morning, in the dark. It is likely that the cargo door was closed but not locked. Despite the position of the door handle, an unlocked aft cargo door in a closed position may appear to be locked, especially from a distance in the dark (see photos 2 and 3).

After the aircraft became airborne, aerodynamic forces caused the unlocked aft cargo door to open. The door is located in close proximity to the number 3 engine inlet. Opening of the door would have produced an interruption in air flow to the number 3 engine inlet, resulting in irregular EPR indications. It is likely that the slip stream produced enough force in flight to close the extended door handle.

It was determined that the geometry of the door and latching mechanisms do not allow the aft cargo door light to extinguish unless the cargo door is properly closed in place and locked. Functional tests of the aft cargo door warning system and examination of the microswitch suggest that the warning system was functioning normally.

Because of the relative position of the door warning and APU caution lights, the two lights can be confused with one another. If the door warning light is mistaken for the APU light (with the APU shutdown), it is possible that the door warning may not be noticed until after take-off where it is again required to be checked.

The following TSB Engineering Laboratory report was completed:

LP127/2006 - Analysis of Cargo Door

This report is available from the Transportation Safety Board of Canada upon request.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The aft cargo door was most likely closed but not locked before take-off, and it opened after departure due to aerodynamic forces.

  2. The ground crew did not check the aft cargo door for security before take-off, and as a result, the door was not locked.

  3. The flight crew members did not discover the unlocked aft cargo door during the walk-around inspection, nor did they notice the aft cargo door warning light before departure.

Findings as to Risk

  1. The ramp attendants were not required by their procedures to ensure that the cargo doors were properly closed.

  2. The instructional placard on the aft cargo door describing how to lock the door contained misleading instructions.

Safety Action Taken

After the occurrence, Purolator Courier amended its ramp operations manual by introducing a checklist that requires ramp attendants to ensure the security of cargo doors. The checklist is required to be initialled by ramp personnel after the completion of each aircraft loading operation.

On 27 February 2007, the TSB issued two occurrence bulletins concerning the instructions on the cargo door placard, and the cargo door closing procedures. The purpose of occurrence bulletins is to apprise Transport Canada and others in the aviation community in a timely manner of certain information that may raise potential operational or technical concerns.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 08 November 2007.


  1. All times are eastern standard time (Coordinated Universal Time minus five hours).

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A06C0204

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Ouverture d'une porte de soute au décollage
du Boeing 727-227 C-GJKF
exploité par Kelowna Flightcraft Air Charter Ltd.
à Regina (Saskatchewan)
13 décembre 2006

Résumé

Le Boeing 727-227 (immatriculation C-GJKF, numéro de série 21042), exploité par Kelowna Flightcraft Air Charter Ltd., quitte Regina (Saskatchewan) pour effectuer un vol de transport de marchandises régulier (KFA284) à destination de Hamilton (Ontario). Peu après le cabrage, l'équipage de conduite remarque que le voyant d'avertissement de la porte de soute arrière est allumé, puis il un signal d'anomalie concernant le moteur numéro 3. L'équipage de conduite décide de couper le moteur numéro 3 et d'effectuer un déroutement vers Saskatoon (Saskatchewan) à une altitude de 10 000 pieds. L'avion se pose en toute sécurité à 7 h 10, heure normale du Centre. Il est attendu par les services de sauvetage et de lutte contre les incendies d'aéronefs. On constate que la porte de soute arrière est ouverte et que la poignée de la porte est rangée en position verrouillée. Personne n'est blessé. Les charnières de la porte de soute arrière sont légèrement endommagées. La structure de la porte et le mécanisme de verrouillage ne subissent aucun dommage.

This report is also available in English.


Autres renseignements de base

L'avion utilisé pour le vol KFA284 de Kelowna Flightcraft Air Charter Ltd. avait été affrété par Purolator Courier, un transporteur de fret. Purolator Courier a assuré la manutention au sol pour l'avion en question.

Les dossiers indiquent que l'avion avait été entretenu conformément au système approuvé de contrôle de la maintenance de Kelowna Flightcraft Air Charter Ltd. L'équipage de conduite était en règle et qualifié, et il satisfaisait aux exigences prescrites pour le vol en question, conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. Les conditions météorologiques et l'état de la piste n'ont pas eu d'incidence sur l'événement en question.

Des renseignements ont été récupérés de l'enregistreur de données de vol (FDR). Le FDR était un ancien modèle qui pouvait seulement enregistrer 11 paramètres; il n'a pas enregistré l'état des voyants du panneau annonciateur. Les données du FDR ont indiqué une fluctuation soudaine du rapport de pression du moteur numéro 3, environ 2 minutes et 30 secondes après le cabrage, à une altitude de 7600 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (asl). L'enregistreur de conversations dans le poste de pilotage (CVR) consistait en une unité à bande pouvant enregistrer pendant 30 minutes, et les détails relatifs au vol en question ont été oblitérés durant le vol.

La porte de soute, les charnières, les cames de verrouillage et le microcontact ont été envoyés au Laboratoire technique du BST pour des analyses plus poussées. L'inspection et les essais au banc de la porte et du microcontact n'ont révélé aucune anomalie. La porte de soute arrière comprend une affichette donnant des instructions sur son verrouillage. Les instructions sont les suivantes : « LEAVE HANDLE EXTENDED WHEN LOCKING DOOR » (laisser la poignée sortie au moment de verrouiller la porte) (voir la photo 1). À la suite d'entretiens avec l'exploitant, il a été établi que celui-ci considérait l'affichette comme donnant des instructions, tandis que le constructeur considérait que l'affichette présentait seulement une mise en garde pour éviter tout dommage au mécanisme de la porte.

Photo 1 - Affichette d'instructions
Photo 1. Affichette d'instructions


Le vol KFA284 est arrivé à Regina en provenance de Hamilton, et la soute arrière de l'avion a été vidée à environ 5 h, heure normale du Centre (HNC)1. Une fois la soute arrière vidée, un préposé de piste a avisé son collègue de laisser la porte ouverte. Ce dernier a donc quitté l'arrière de l'avion pour aider au chargement de la soute principale. Après avoir reçu des instructions du chef d'équipe, un autre préposé de piste a déterminé que la soute arrière ne serait pas utilisée. Aucun des préposés de piste ne s'est souvenu d'avoir verrouillé la porte de soute arrière.

Chez Purolator Courier, le manuel des opérations de piste prescrivant la façon dont le personnel de piste assure le fonctionnement des portes de soute n'affectait pas un préposé en particulier au fonctionnement des portes de soute du compartiment ventral ainsi qu'à la vérification de la fermeture et du verrouillage de ces portes. Parmi le personnel de piste qui a assuré la manutention pour le vol en question, les avis divergeaient quant à la personne responsable des procédures relatives à la porte de soute.

La liste normale de vérifications du Boeing 727 indique que le copilote doit vérifier si les portes sont bien fermées et verrouillées avant le démarrage des moteurs. Cette vérification comprend une inspection visuelle des portes au moment de la vérification avant vol ainsi que la vérification des voyants d'avertissement dans le poste de pilotage. Après le chargement de l'avion par le personnel de piste, le copilote a effectué une inspection extérieure de l'avion, et il n'a remarqué aucune anomalie concernant la porte de soute arrière. Après avoir verrouillé la porte d'entrée de l'avion, le copilote a commencé la vérification avant démarrage. Il n'a pas vu le voyant d'avertissement de la porte de soute arrière allumé.

Le voyant d'avertissement de la porte de soute arrière est conçu de façon à s'allumer si la porte de soute arrière n'est pas verrouillée. Le voyant en question ne déclenche pas le système avertisseur principal, et il est habituellement placé de façon à être vu uniquement par le copilote. Il se trouve sur le panneau annonciateur du copilote, directement sous le voyant du groupe auxiliaire de bord (APU). On a démarré les moteurs, et KFA284 a roulé vers la piste pour le décollage. On a observé l'avion de loin, et aucune anomalie n'a été remarquée relativement à la porte de soute arrière.

Après le décollage, lorsque le voyant indiquant une anomalie de la porte a été remarqué, l'équipage de conduite n'était pas certain de la cause de l'avertissement ni des caractéristiques de vol de l'aéronef pendant un virage si la porte de soute arrière était ouverte. L'équipage de conduite a donc décidé d'effectuer un déroutement vers Saskatoon en raison de sa proximité.



Après l'atterrissage, une inspection de la porte de soute arrière et de la structure de cellule a révélé que la charnière avant de la porte avait plié vers l'arrière en raison de la charge aérodynamique subie par la porte ouverte en vol. La porte, la structure du cadre de porte, la structure immédiate de la cellule et les mécanismes de verrouillage n'ont pas été endommagés. L'inspection et les essais de fonctionnement du voyant d'avertissement de la porte de soute arrière n'ont révélé aucune anomalie, tout comme l'inspection visuelle et endoscopique du moteur numéro 3.

La porte de soute s'ouvre de l'extérieur. Pour ce faire, il faut enfoncer un petit panneau du bout des doigts et tirer sur la poignée de porte pour la sortir de son logement perpendiculairement à la porte de soute, soit à un angle d'environ 90 degrés. À l'aide d'un ressort à arc-boutement, la poignée de porte commande un tube de torsion qui dégage les rouleaux du verrou à arc-boutement de leur came respective, ce qui entraîne la porte vers le haut et vers l'extérieur. Un dispositif à contrepoids facilite l'ouverture de la porte, et une contrefiche télescopique tient la porte ouverte. Une poignée à l'intérieur de la porte peut également ouvrir la porte de soute, mais elle ne permet pas de la verrouiller.

Pour verrouiller la porte, il faut d'abord pousser la porte de soute contre le cadre de porte tout en maintenant la poignée extérieure complètement sortie. Une fois la porte complètement fermée, les rouleaux du verrou sont alignés avec leur came respective. Le mouvement ou le retrait de la poignée engage les rouleaux de verrouillage à arc-boutement dans leur came respective, ce qui verrouille la porte tout en la poussant vers l'intérieur et vers le bas. La poignée de porte peut alors être rentrée dans son logement (voir la photo 2).

Photo 2 - Poignée de la porte de soute arrière rentrée
Photo 2. Poignée de la porte de soute arrière rentrée


D'autres essais ont été menés sur un modèle identique du Boeing 727-227. De nombreux essais de la porte de soute arrière ont révélé qu'il n'était pas possible de laisser la porte de soute arrière déverrouillée sans que le voyant d'avertissement de porte de soute arrière, qui est situé sur le panneau annonciateur du copilote, ne reste allumé. Les essais ont révélé que la porte pouvait rester en place dans le cadre de porte et conserver cette position, même si la poignée était complètement sortie (voir la photo 3).

Lorsque la porte de soute est ouverte, la poignée est sortie vers l'extérieur à environ 90 degrés, dans l'écoulement aérodynamique (voir la photo 3). Boeing et le National Transportation Safety Board des États-Unis avaient déjà examiné la poignée extérieure de porte de soute à la suite d'un incident semblable. L'analyse avait permis de conclure que, à une vitesse de 190 nœuds, la force aérodynamique poussait la poignée assez loin pour que la tension du ressort intérieur de la porte de soute rentre complètement la poignée, même si la porte de soute demeurait ouverte. Durant le vol en question, l'avion a atteint une vitesse indiquée maximale de plus de 250 nœuds.

Photo 3 - Poignée de la porte de soute arrière rentrée
Photo 3. Porte de soute arrière fermée et non verouillée

Une recherche effectuée dans le site Web des rapports de difficultés en service de la Federal Aviation Administration des États-Unis a permis de relever plusieurs événements comprenant des avertissements injustifiés relatifs aux portes de soute. Dans presque tous les incidents en question, l'avertissement injustifié avait été causé par un microcontact sale ou contaminé.


Analyse

Le libellé de l'affichette donnant les instructions de verrouillage de la porte de soute arrière peut induire en erreur. Si elles sont appliquées à la lettre, les instructions en question laissent entendre que la porte est verrouillée lorsque la poignée est sortie. Il a été déterminé que le libellé de l'affichette donnant les instructions de verrouillage n'avait pas eu d'incidence dans l'événement en question.

Le chargement et le déchargement du vol KFA284 avaient été effectués au petit matin, à la noirceur. Il est probable que la porte de soute avait été fermée, mais non verrouillée. Malgré la position de la poignée, une porte de soute arrière en position fermée peut sembler verrouillée, surtout de loin et à la noirceur (voir les photos 2 et 3).

Une fois l'avion en vol, la force aérodynamique a ouvert la porte de soute non verrouillée. La porte est située très près de l'entrée d'air du moteur numéro 3. L'ouverture de la porte aurait interrompu le débit d'air entrant dans le moteur 3, ce qui aurait déclenché l'avertissement de rapport de pression anormal. Il est probable que l'écoulement aérodynamique a été assez fort en vol pour rentrer la poignée de porte sortie.

Il a été établi que la géométrie de la porte et des mécanismes de verrouillage ne permet pas au voyant d'avertissement de la porte de soute arrière de s'éteindre à moins que celle-ci ne soit bien fermée et verrouillée. Des essais fonctionnels du circuit d'avertissement de la porte de soute arrière et l'examen du microcontact indiquent que le circuit d'avertissement fonctionnait normalement.

En raison de la position relative des voyants d'avertissement de la porte de soute et de l'APU, il est possible de confondre ces deux voyants. Si l'on confond le voyant d'avertissement de la porte de soute avec le voyant de l'APU (lors de l'arrêt de l'APU), il est possible que le voyant d'avertissement de la porte de soute ne soit remarqué qu'après le décollage lorsqu'il faut de nouveau vérifier le panneau.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

LP127/2006 - Analysis of Cargo Door (Analyse de la porte de soute)


On peut obtenir ce rapport en s'adressant au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada.


Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. La porte de soute arrière a été fort probablement fermée, mais non verrouillée avant le décollage. Elle s'est ouverte après l'envol sous l'effet des forces aérodynamiques.

  2. L'équipe au sol n'a pas vérifié si la porte de soute arrière était bien fermée et verrouillée avant le décollage et, par conséquent, la porte n'était pas verrouillée.

  3. Les membres de l'équipage de conduite n'ont pas découvert que la porte de soute arrière n'était pas verrouillée au moment de l'inspection extérieure de l'avion, et ils n'ont pas remarqué le voyant d'avertissement de la porte de soute arrière avant le décollage.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. Selon ses procédures, le personnel de piste n'était pas tenu de vérifier si les portes de soute étaient bien fermées.

  2. L'affichette sur la porte de soute arrière, qui indique la façon de verrouiller la porte, donnait des instructions pouvant induire en erreur.

Mesures de sécurité prises

Après l'incident en question, Purolator Courier a modifié son manuel des opérations de piste en y intégrant une liste de vérifications qui oblige le personnel de piste à vérifier si les portes de soute sont bien fermées et verrouillées. Le personnel de piste est tenu de parapher la liste de vérification après les opérations de chargement de chaque avion.

Le 27 février 2007, le BST a publié deux bulletins d'information sur l'événement, portant sur les instructions figurant sur l'affichette de la porte de soute ainsi que sur les procédures de fermeture des portes de soute. L'objet de ces bulletins est d'informer en temps opportun Transports Canada et d'autres intervenants du milieu de l'aviation de certains renseignements susceptibles de soulever des préoccupations opérationnelles ou techniques.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 8 novembre 2007.


  1. Les heures sont exprimées en HNC (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins six heures).