Aviation Investigation Report A06O0180

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.


Collision with Water
Cessna 172M C-FKWP
Wilcox Lake, Richmond Hill, Ontario
16 July 2006

Summary


At approximately 1720 eastern daylight time, the float-equipped Cessna 172M aircraft (registration C-FKWP, serial number 17261897) was departing Wilcox Lake, Ontario, for a flight to Manitoulin Island, Ontario, in visual meteorological conditions. Because of the confined area of the lake, the pilot performed a figure-eight manoeuvre while step-taxiing to increase speed for the final take-off run. This manoeuvre entailed two 180-degree turns at opposite ends of the lake. After the aircraft became airborne, a steep, low-altitude turn to the left was initiated to avoid obstacles on the shoreline. As the bank angle increased, the aircraft stalled, struck the water in a nose-down attitude with the left float, and flipped over. The aircraft came to rest inverted in shallow water near the shoreline. The pilot and two passengers escaped without injury.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information


The nearest weather reporting station is located at the Toronto/Buttonville Airport, Ontario, approximately six nautical miles to the south. The Buttonville aviation routine weather report (METAR) at 1700 eastern daylight time1 was reported as follows: winds 270ºT at 9 knots, visibility 15 statute miles, ceiling 28 000 feet, temperature 35ºC. Similar conditions were present at Wilcox Lake; however, the wind was reported as being from the northwest at 10 knots, and the wave height was approximately one foot. Weather was not a factor in the accident.

The pilot obtained a private pilot licence and a seaplane rating in June 2003, and he held a valid Category 3 medical certificate. He had accumulated approximately 340 hours of total flight time, including 260 hours on seaplanes, 170 hours of which were on the occurrence aircraft. He flew regularly; however, investigators could find no documentation to indicate that the pilot complied with any of the recency requirements under Paragraph 401.05 (2) (a) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs).

The aircraft was manufactured in 1973 and was equipped with Canadian Aircraft Products (CAP) model 67 2000 floats, as approved by supplemental type certificate (STC) SA62 7. The aircraft's certificate of airworthiness was valid, and the aircraft had accumulated 17 685 hours of total air time since manufacture. The occurrence pilot had been the registered owner since February 2003. The last annual inspection was performed on 28 June 2006. There were no abnormalities or defects reported in the aircraft log books, and there were no reported mechanical problems with the aircraft during the occurrence flight. The engine, a 150-horsepower Avco Lycoming O 320 E2D, was modified with RAM Aircraft Corporation STC SE3692SW, which increased the five-minute take-off maximum power rating to 160 horsepower. There were no published performance figures or amendments to the Cessna Pilot Operating Handbook for the STC, and none were required. The increase in engine power was not a factor in the occurrence because it was determined that the aircraft systems were functioning correctly, and the engine was producing the requested power during take-off.

To reduce stall speed and improve handling characteristics at slower airspeeds, vortex generators are often installed on aircraft. There is an STC available for the installation of vortex generators on the Cessna 172M. STC SA00831SE calls for the installation of 40 vortex generators just aft of the leading edge of each wing, 40 on the underside of the horizontal stabilizer, and 40 on the vertical stabilizer. The occurrence aircraft had 40 vortex generators installed on each wing, 36 on the underside of the horizontal stabilizer, and none on the vertical stabilizer. Section 605.85 of the CARs requires the signing of a maintenance release before operation of an aircraft that has undergone maintenance; there was no documentation in any of the log books to support this partial installation. There were no data to indicate that the missing vortex generators on the horizontal and vertical stabilizers contributed to the occurrence.

Although a weight and balance had reportedly been completed since the aircraft was equipped with floats, no weight and balance amendment reflecting this configuration could be found. The last Annual Airworthiness Information Report (AAIR) for the occurrence aircraft on file with Transport Canada was for the 2004 calendar year, and it indicated an aircraft empty weight of 1470 pounds. However, this did not reflect the actual weight of the aircraft when equipped with floats. According to STC SA62 7, the approximate empty weight of the aircraft equipped with CAP 67 2000 floats would have been 1625 pounds. The estimated weight of the aircraft during the occurrence take-off was 2220 pounds, which equals the maximum certified take-off weight. The centre of gravity was within limits for a Cessna 172M equipped with floats.

Wilcox Lake is a small lake in a residential area of Richmond Hill. The shoreline is surrounded by residential buildings, and beyond that, numerous subdivisions. The lake is popular for recreational activities such as swimming, boating, and canoeing; during the occurrence, it was being used extensively. The longest section of the lake is approximately 3500 feet in an east-west direction. The direction the aircraft was traveling during the final take-off run was northwest. The total distance available from the southeast shoreline to the northwest shoreline for the take-off run was about 2500 feet. (See Figure 1)


Figure 1 - Wilcox Lake take-off diagram

Figure 1. Wilcox Lake take-off diagram

The Cessna 172M Pilot Operating Handbook only publishes take-off performance figures for aircraft equipped with EDO model 2000 floats. Although there are some minor operational variances compared with CAP model 2000 floats, the difference in take-off performance for the occurrence day was considered inconsequential. The aircraft was configured with 10º of flaps for take-off. Using the atmospheric conditions on the day of the occurrence, the required take-off distance for a Cessna 172M equipped with EDO model 2000 floats was calculated. The calculations were based on using the maximum performance technique, which entails using 10º of flap and an obstacle clearance speed of 58 knots indicated airspeed (KIAS). The distance required for the take-off run into a 10-knot headwind (in this case, toward the northwest) was approximately 2100 feet, while the total distance required to clear a 50-foot obstacle was approximately 3000 feet. Using the entire length of the lake for take-off would require a departure in a westerly direction and would entail a crosswind of approximately 60º, resulting in a headwind component of 7 knots. The distance required for this take-off run was calculated to be approximately 2150 feet, while the distance required to clear a 50-foot obstacle was approximately 3100 feet.

The stall speed for a Cessna 172M at maximum certified take-off weight configured with 10º of flaps and wings level is approximately 42 KIAS. This stall speed increases to 50 KIAS with 45º of bank and to 59 KIAS with 60º of bank. The airspeed of the aircraft during the occurrence could not be determined; however, because of the limited distance available after lift-off, the aircraft did not have sufficient distance to accelerate out of slow flight. The angle of bank used as the aircraft turned to avoid the obstacles was approximately 45º.

During the take-off of a floatplane, it is necessary to get the floats in a planing condition so the aircraft can accelerate. This is commonly referred to as getting the aircraft "on step." When there is sufficient room for take-off and the lake is free of obstacles, this procedure is normally executed straight ahead. If it is necessary for the aircraft to change direction while on step (step taxiing), it requires a larger turning radius than while taxiing at a slow speed. The figure-eight manoeuvre that was used during the take-off entailed changing direction twice and, because of the speed of the aircraft, a large radius turn could be expected. The aircraft was approximately 200 feet from the east-southeast shoreline before turning to a northwest direction for the final take-off run.

There is an inherent risk related with changing directions while step taxiing, depending on the associated wind and wave conditions. During a step taxi turn from a tailwind to a headwind, the wind acts on the underside of the inboard wing, causing it to rise. This, combined with upward movement caused by wave action and pressure from centrifugal forces acting on the aircraft during the turn, can lead to the aircraft capsizing.

The occurrence take-off procedure was self taught and was not published in the Cessna Pilot Operating Handbook as a normal or amplified procedure. According to the CARs, the manoeuvre was not a required procedure to learn or demonstrate for a seaplane rating.

The distance available for take-off into wind, in a northwest direction, was insufficient. While there was enough distance to get airborne, the aircraft would not have been able to climb safely to an obstacle clearance altitude of 50 feet. However, even with the 60º crosswind, the lake was long enough in an east-west direction for a take-off and climb to an obstacle clearance altitude of 50 feet. Although taking off directly into a headwind is the preferred procedure for optimal performance, in this instance, the performance degradation from the crosswind component would have been minor. The pilot elected to use a step-taxi turn in an attempt to shorten the take-off run. However, this had a negligible effect because the turn radius of the aircraft was increased during the final turn, thereby shortening the into-wind take-off distance available. After lift-off, the slow speed of the aircraft did not provide much margin above the stall speed for manoeuvring. As the aircraft banked to avoid obstacles, the stall speed increased, and the aircraft stalled.

The wind and wave conditions at the lake during the occurrence presented a risk of capsizing the aircraft during the step-taxi, figure-eight manoeuvre. The manoeuvre also introduced a potential conflict with watercraft and other persons using the lake for recreational purposes. A take-off conducted in a fixed direction would have reduced the risk of collision.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The pilot attempted to take off into wind in a northwesterly direction, although the distance available to take off and clear a 50-foot obstacle was insufficient.

  2. After becoming airborne with insufficient distance remaining to clear the obstacles ahead, the pilot attempted a steep turn at low altitude, resulting in a stall and impact with the water.

Findings as to Risk

  1. During the step-taxi, figure-eight manoeuvre, because of the associated wind and wave conditions, the aircraft was at risk of capsizing.

  2. The aircraft was step-taxied in a manner that introduced a potential risk of collision with watercraft and other people using the lake.

  3. The figure-eight, take-off manoeuvre employed by the pilot further decreased the into-wind take-off distance available because of the large radius turn of the aircraft while on step.

  4. There is no indication that any of the pilot recency requirements under Paragraph 401.05 (2) (a) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) were complied with.

Other Finding

  1. Due to the absence of a maintenance release for the vortex generator installation, the aircraft was not being operated in accordance with Section 605.85 of the CARs.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 30 May 2007.


  1. All times are eastern daylight time (Coordinated Universal Time minus four hours).

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A06O0180

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Collision avec un plan d'eau
du Cessna 172M C-FKWP
au lac Wilcox à Richmond Hill (Ontario)
16 juillet 2006

Résumé


Vers 17 h 20, heure avancée de l'Est, le Cessna 172M équipé de flotteurs (immatriculation C-FKWP, numéro de série 17261897) quitte le lac Wilcox (Ontario) pour un vol à destination de l'île Manitoulin (Ontario) dans des conditions météorologiques de vol à vue. En raison de la surface exiguë du lac, le pilote exécute une manoeuvre en huit alors qu'il se déplace sur le redan afin d'augmenter la vitesse en vue de la course finale au décollage. Cette manoeuvre oblige à effectuer deux virages à 180 degrés à des extrémités opposées du lac. Après que l'avion eut pris l'air, un virage serré à basse altitude vers la gauche est exécuté pour éviter des obstacles sur la rive. À mesure que l'angle d'inclinaison augmente, l'avion décroche, percute le plan d'eau du flotteur gauche en piqué et capote. L'avion s'immobilise sur le dos en eaux peu profondes, près de la rive. Le pilote et les deux passagers parviennent à sortir de l'avion sans être blessés.

This report is also available in English.


Autres renseignements de base


La station météorologique la plus proche est située à l'aéroport de Toronto/Buttonville (Ontario), à environ six milles marins au sud. Le message d'observation météorologique régulière pour l'aviation (METAR) à 17 h, heure avancée de l'Est1, était le suivant : vent soufflant du 270ºV à 9 noeuds, visibilité de 15 milles terrestres, plafond de 28 000 pieds, température de 35 ºC. Des conditions similaires étaient présentes au lac Wilcox; par contre, on a signalé que le vent soufflait du nord-ouest à 10 noeuds, et la hauteur de la houle était d'environ un pied. Les conditions météorologiques n'ont pas été un facteur dans l'accident.

Le pilote avait obtenu sa licence de pilote privé et sa qualification hydravion en juin 2003, et il était titulaire d'un certificat médical de catégorie 3 valide. Il totalisait 340 heures de vol, dont 260 sur hydravions et 170 sur l'hydravion en question. Il volait régulièrement, mais les enquêteurs n'ont pu mettre la main sur les documents qui attestaient que le pilote se conformait aux exigences de mise à jour des connaissances prévues à l'alinéa 401.05 (2) a) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC).



L'avion avait été construit en 1973 et il était équipé des flotteurs modèle 67 2000 de Canadian Aircraft Products (CAP), en vertu du certificat de type supplémentaire (CTS) SA62 7. Le certificat de navigabilité de l'avion était valide, et l'avion totalisait 17 685 heures de vol depuis sa construction. Le pilote en question était le propriétaire inscrit depuis février 2003. La dernière inspection annuelle avait eu lieu le 28 juillet 2006. Aucune anomalie ni défectuosité n'avait été portée aux livrets techniques de l'avion, et aucun problème mécanique n'avait été signalé au sujet de l'avion lors du vol en question. Le moteur, un Avco Lycoming O 320 E2D de 150 HP, avait été modifié par le CTS SE3692SW de RAM Aircraft Corporation qui augmentait à 160 HP la puissance maximale nominale de cinq minutes au décollage. Le manuel de pilotage du Cessna ne comprenait aucune modification ni valeur de performances réglementaires relativement au CTS, et aucune n'était requise. L'augmentation de la puissance moteur n'a pas été un facteur dans cet accident parce qu'on a déterminé que les systèmes de bord fonctionnaient correctement et que le moteur avait développé la puissance requise au décollage.

Afin de réduire la vitesse de décrochage et d'améliorer les caractéristiques de pilotage à faible vitesse, des générateurs de tourbillons sont souvent installés sur l'avion. Il existe un CTS pour le montage de générateurs de tourbillons sur le Cessna 172M. Le CTS SA00831SE prévoit le montage de 40 générateurs de tourbillons juste en arrière du bord d'attaque de chaque aile, de 40 sur l'intrados du stabilisateur et de 40 sur la dérive. L'avion en question possédait 40 générateurs de tourbillons sur chaque aile, 36 sur l'intrados du stabilisateur et aucun sur la dérive. L'article 605.85 du RAC exige la signature d'une autorisation de remise en service après maintenance avant l'utilisation d'un aéronef ayant subi de la maintenance. Rien n'était documenté dans les livrets techniques de l'avion pour confirmer ce montage partiel. Il n'y avait aucune donnée indiquant que les générateurs de tourbillons manquants du stabilisateur et de la dérive avaient contribué à l'accident.



Un devis de masse et de centrage aurait été rempli du fait que l'avion était équipé de flotteurs, mais aucune modification à la masse et au centrage faisant état de cette configuration n'a pu être trouvée. Le dernier Rapport annuel d'information sur la navigabilité aérienne (RAINA) de l'avion en question conservé dans les dossiers de Transports Canada remontait à l'année civile 2004, et il indiquait une masse à vide de l'avion de 1470 livres. Toutefois, il ne faisait pas état de la masse réelle de l'avion équipé de flotteurs. Selon le CTS 62 7, la masse à vide approximative de l'avion équipé des flotteurs CAP 67 2000 aurait été de 1625 livres. La masse estimée de l'avion pendant le décollage en question était de 2220 livres, ce qui correspond à la masse maximale certifiée au décollage. Le centrage se situait dans les limites pour un Cessna 172M équipé de flotteurs.

Le lac Wilcox est un petit lac situé dans la zone résidentielle de Richmond Hill. La rive est entourée d'immeubles d'habitation et, au-delà de ceux-ci, de nombreux lotissements. Le lac est populaire pour ses activités récréatives, comme la natation, la navigation de plaisance et le canotage. Lors de l'accident, il y avait beaucoup d'activités sur le lac. La plus grande distance sur le lac mesure environ 3500 pieds en direction est-ouest. L'avion circulait vers le nord-ouest lors de la course finale au décollage. La distance totale disponible de la rive sud-est à la rive nord-ouest était d'environ 2500 pieds (voir la Figure 1).


Figure 1 - Schéma du décollage depuis le lac Wilcox

Figure 1. Schéma du décollage depuis le lac Wilcox



Le manuel de pilotage du Cessna 172M ne mentionne que les valeurs de performance au décollage pour un avion équipé des flotteurs EDO, modèle 2000. Bien que les variantes opérationnelles soient légères par rapport aux flotteurs CAP modèles 2000, la différence en performance au décollage le jour de l'accident ne portait pas à conséquence. Les volets de l'avion ont été sortis à 10º pour le décollage. Compte tenu des conditions atmosphériques le jour de l'accident, la distance de décollage nécessaire pour un Cessna 172M équipé de flotteurs EDO, modèle 2000 a été calculée. Ces calculs étaient fonction d'une technique de performance maximale, laquelle demande 10º de volets et une vitesse indiquée de franchissement d'obstacles de 58 noeuds (KIAS). La distance nécessaire pour une course au décollage dans un vent debout de 10 noeuds (dans ce cas-ci, vers le nord-ouest) était d'environ 2100 pieds, tandis que la distance totale pour franchir un obstacle de 50 pieds était d'environ 3000 pieds. Pour se servir de toute la longueur du lac pour décoller, il faudrait effectuer le décollage en direction ouest et tenir compte d'un vent traversier à environ 60º, ce qui donnerait une composante vent debout de 7 noeuds. La distance requise pour la course au décollage en question avait été calculée à environ 2150 pieds, tandis que la distance requise pour franchir un obstacle de 50 pieds était d'environ 3100 pieds.



La vitesse de décrochage pour un Cessna 172M à la masse maximale certifiée pour le décollage, volets sortis à 10º et ailes à l'horizontale est d'environ 42 KIAS. Cette vitesse de décrochage monte à 50 KIAS à une inclinaison latérale de 45º et à 59 KIAS à une inclinaison latérale de 60º. La vitesse de l'avion au cours de l'accident n'a pu être déterminée; par contre, en raison de la distance limitée disponible après le déjaugeage, l'avion ne disposait plus d'une distance suffisante pour accélérer hors du vol lent. L'angle d'inclinaison utilisé lorsque l'avion a viré pour éviter les obstacles a été d'environ 45º.

Au cours du décollage d'un avion à flotteurs, il est nécessaire de faire déjauger les flotteurs pour que l'avion puisse accélérer. C'est ce qu'on désigne communément par l'expression « faire passer l'avion sur le redan ». Lorsqu'il y a suffisamment d'espace pour décoller et qu'il n'y a pas d'obstacles sur le lac, le décollage se fait normalement en ligne droite. S'il est nécessaire que l'avion change de direction pendant qu'il est sur le redan (circulation sur le redan), il nécessite un plus grand rayon de virage que lorsqu'il circule à basse vitesse. La manoeuvre en huit utilisée pendant le décollage nécessitait deux changements de direction et, en raison de la vitesse de l'avion, il fallait s'attende à un virage à grand rayon. L'avion se trouvait à environ 200 pieds de la rive est-sud-est avant de virer en direction nord-ouest pour la course au décollage finale.



Il y a un risque inhérent à changer de direction lorsqu'on circule sur le redan, selon le vent et la houle du moment. Lors d'un virage en circulation sur le redan pour passer de vent arrière à vent debout, le vent agit sur l'intrados de l'aile intérieure, ce qui la soulève. Cette action, combinée au déplacement vers le haut causé par la houle et la pression de la force centrifuge agissant sur l'avion pendant le virage, peut faire chavirer l'avion.

La procédure de décollage en question avait été apprise sur le tas et elle ne figurait pas dans le manuel de pilotage de Cessna comme une procédure normale ou complémentaire. Selon le RAC, un pilote n'était pas tenu d'apprendre ni de démontrer cette procédure pour obtenir une qualification d'avion à flotteurs.



La distance disponible pour un décollage dans le vent, en direction nord-ouest, était insuffisante. S'il y avait suffisamment de distance pour prendre l'air, l'avion n'aurait cependant pas été en mesure de montrer en toute sécurité à une altitude de franchissement d'obstacles de 50 pieds. Toutefois, même dans un vent de travers soufflant à 60º, le lac était suffisamment long en direction est-ouest pour un décollage suivi d'une montée à une altitude de franchissement d'obstacles de 50 pieds. Décoller directement face à un vent debout est la procédure privilégiée pour une performance optimale; dans le cas qui nous occupe, la diminution de la performance résultant de la composante vent de travers aurait été minime. Le pilote a décidé de virer alors qu'il circulait sur le redan afin de raccourcir la course au décollage. Toutefois, l'effet a été négligeable parce que le rayon de virage a augmenté lors du virage final, ce qui a réduit par le fait même la distance de décollage disponible dans le vent. Après le déjaugeage, la vitesse lente de l'avion ne lui a pas laissé beaucoup de marge au-dessus de la vitesse de décrochage pour manoeuvrer. Au moment où l'avion s'est incliné pour éviter les obstacles, la vitesse de décrochage a augmenté, et l'avion a décroché.

Le vent et la houle présents sur le lac lors de l'accident présentaient un risque de chavirement pour l'avion pendant la manoeuvre en huit exécutée en circulation sur le redan. La manoeuvre pouvait aussi entrer en conflit avec les embarcations de plaisance et les autres personnes utilisant le lac à des fins récréatives. Un décollage exécuté dans une seule direction aurait réduit les risques d'abordage.


Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Le pilote a tenté de décoller dans le vent, en direction nord-ouest, alors que la distance disponible pour décoller et franchir un obstacle de 50 pieds était insuffisante.

  2. Après avoir pris l'air alors qu'il n'y avait pas suffisamment de distance pour franchir les obstacles droits devant, le pilote a tenté d'exécuter un virage serré à basse altitude, ce qui s'est soldé par un décrochage et une collision avec un plan d'eau.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. Au cours de la circulation sur le redan et de la manoeuvre en huit, en raison du vent et de la houle du moment, l'avion risquait de chavirer.

  2. L'avion a circulé sur le redan d'une façon qui a engendré un risque d'abordage avec des embarcations de plaisance et d'autres personnes utilisant le lac.

  3. La manoeuvre en huit utilisée pour le décollage par le pilote a réduit encore plus la distance de décollage dans le vent disponible à cause du grand rayon de virage de l'avion alors que celui-ci circulait sur le redan.

  4. Rien n'indique que le pilote s'était conformé aux exigences de mise à jour des connaissances prévues à l'alinéa 401.05 (2) (a) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC).

Autre fait établi

  1. En raison de l'absence d'une autorisation de remise en service après maintenance de l'installation de générateurs de tourbillons, l'avion n'était pas exploité conformément à l'article 605.85 du RAC.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 30 mai 2007.


  1. Les heures sont exprimées en heure avancée de l'Est (temps universel coordonné moins quatre heures).