Aviation Investigation Report A06O0231

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.


Collision with Terrain
Pitts S1S (Amateur-Built) C-FZSF
Melancthon, Ontario
04 September 2006

Summary

The pilot of the amateur-built Pitts S1S aerobatic biplane (registration C-FZSF, serial number 500607-97) was on a local flight from his private grass airstrip in Melancthon, Ontario, when the aircraft struck the ground following a low-level roll. The impact and post-crash fire destroyed the aircraft. The pilot, the only person on board, received fatal injuries. The accident happened at 1959 eastern daylight time during twilight hours.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot held a valid airline transport pilot licence. Since learning to fly in 1973, he had accumulated in excess of 22 000 hours flying in all areas of the world on numerous aircraft types, including the Douglas DC-3, the de Havilland DHC-7 and DHC-8, and the Gulfstream G2, G3, and G4. He was currently employed as chief pilot for a large company, and held current type ratings on 19 different aircraft types.

The pilot had received formal aerobatic training in a Zlin aircraft. Following this training, he purchased a Smith Miniplane, which he used for aerobatic practice. In October 1999, he purchased the Pitts S1S. This Pitts S1S was an amateur-built, single-seat, aerobatic biplane, which had been built in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, and first flown on 19 April 1997. When purchased, the aircraft had a total time of 137 hours. Since that time, the pilot had flown approximately 160 hours in the Pitts S1S. The majority of the flights were for aerobatic practice, and lasted less than one hour. At the time of the accident, there were no outstanding maintenance snags and there was no history of repeating maintenance issues. Transport Canada had issued the pilot a letter of authorization for conducting aerobatic flight below 2000 feet above ground level (agl). There are no competency requirements for this approval.

On the evening of the occurrence, the pilot decided to fly a circuit before tying the aircraft down for the night. At the same time, the pilot of another aircraft, a Piper J-3 Cub, was preparing to fly back to his own airstrip. Each pilot was aware of the other. The Pitts pilot departed to the southwest at approximately 1955 eastern daylight time.1 Shortly after the Pitts took off, the Cub pilot departed to the southwest, turned to the east, and climbed to 500 feet agl. The Pitts pilot then caught up to the Cub and turned in front of it, in a steeply banked turn and at a slightly higher altitude. The Pitts completed two 360-degree turns around the Cub and then entered a roll. Almost immediately after the roll was completed, the Pitts struck the ground in a flat field. The pilots did not discuss this activity before taking off.

The accident site was approximately one mile from the pilot's airstrip. On impact, the aircraft was travelling in an easterly direction in a wings-level, nose-low attitude. Although the exact pitch attitude could not be determined, the aircraft was pitched nose down such that the propeller was the first part of the aircraft to contact the ground.

A post-mortem examination showed that the pilot died as a result of trauma sustained at impact and did not reveal any pre-existing medical conditions that would have contributed to the accident.

There were no identifiable anomalies in the flight control system, aircraft structure, engine (Lycoming IO-360-B1D), or propeller that would have affected the pilot's ability to control the aircraft. All failures in the elevator control system and other aircraft parts and systems were determined to be impact-related, and there was no indication of anything jamming the controls. It was determined that the aircraft was flying at a speed between 120 and 140 mph when it struck the ground. Engine rpm at impact was 2150.

Weather conditions at the time were as follows: calm wind, visibility 15 statute miles, a broken to overcast cloud layer at approximately 1000 feet agl, and the horizon to the west was clear. Sunset was at 1946, and official night, by definition ½ hour after sunset, was at 2016.

The human eye adapts to changing light conditions. However, it is slow to adapt from bright light to low-light conditions. From one extreme to the other can take an adaptation of up to 45 minutes.2 Each time the eye is exposed to the bright light, the process of dark adaptation has to begin again.

Analysis

The pilot had extensive flight experience and had flown the Pitts S1S for 160 hours over the previous seven years. He was also experienced at flying low-level aerobatics. There was no indication that the roll was anything other than an intentional aerobatic manœuvre. The fact that the aircraft struck the ground in a wings-level attitude immediately following the completion of a roll indicates that the pilot was probably controlling the aircraft throughout the manœuvre, and that the rudder and aileron control systems were functional.

It could not be determined why the aircraft struck the ground. There were no identifiable problems with the aircraft, the pilot was fit for the intended flight, and the autopsy did not reveal any pre-existing medical conditions that would have contributed to the accident. As well, it was considered that weather did not play a part in the accident. The analysis will therefore focus on physiological aspects of this flight.

The setting sun to the west was bright and would tend to illuminate the countryside in that direction. It was significantly darker to the east, which would make the horizon more difficult to distinguish in that direction.

The pilot departed to the west and completed at least one turn to the east and two 360-degree turns before beginning the roll manœuvre on an easterly heading. Each time the pilot turned past the setting sun, his eyes would be subjected to the bright light of the sun, and each time he headed in an easterly direction, he would be looking at a relatively dark horizon. Each time the pilot's eyes were exposed to the bright light, the process of dark adaptation would have to begin again. Since there is no way to determine where the pilot was looking as he turned toward the setting sun, the amount of dark adaptation required cannot be quantified. However, each time the aircraft turned from west to east, the eastern horizon would be more difficult to pick up.

Two factors that likely contributed to the accident were the light conditions and the low altitude at which the roll manœuvre was initiated. The low light conditions would have made it more difficult for the pilot to identify the exact attitude of the aircraft in a dynamic manœuvre such as a roll. The horizon to the east was darker than the horizon to the north or south. Thus, while it would be relatively easy to identify that the wings were level, it would be more difficult to identify whether the nose was in a level-flight attitude. The low altitude is significant because it minimized the amount of time that the pilot had to recognize and correct any errors as he completed the roll. It is probable that the pilot did not recognize that the aircraft was descending and flew it into the ground.

The following TSB Engineering Laboratory report was completed:

LP 008/2007 - GPS and Instruments Analysis.

This report is available from the Transportation Safety Board of Canada upon request.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. As the pilot was completing a roll at low altitude, the aircraft descended. It is probable that the pilot did not recognize that the aircraft was descending and flew it into the ground.

  2. The varying light conditions during manœuvring could have made it difficult for the pilot to detect that the aircraft was descending.

Finding as to Risk

  1. The pilot of the Pitts aircraft flew in close proximity to another aircraft without having discussed his plans with the other pilot.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 27 November 2007.


  1. All times are eastern daylight time (Coordinated Universal Time minus four hours).

  2. Richard O. Reinhart, Fit to Fly, A Pilot's Guide to Health & Safety, Blue Ridge Summit, PA, TAB Books, 1993.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A06O0231

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Collision avec le relief
du Pitts S1S (de construction amateur) C-FZSF
à Melancthon (Ontario)
4 septembre 2006

Résumé

Le pilote du biplan de voltige Pitts S1S de construction amateur (immatriculation C-FZSF, numéro de série 500607-97) effectue un vol local à partir de sa bande d'atterrissage gazonnée privée, située à Melancthon (Ontario). Le pilote, seul à bord, effectue un tonneau à basse altitude quand son appareil entre en collision avec le sol. Le pilote est mortellement blessé et l'avion est détruit par les forces d'impact et l'incendie qui suit l'écrasement. L'accident survient à 19 h 59, heure avancée de l'Est, au crépuscule.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote était titulaire d'une licence de pilote de ligne valide. Depuis qu'il avait appris à piloter, en 1973, il avait totalisé plus de 22 000 heures de vol dans toutes les régions du monde et sur de nombreux types d'avions, dont le Douglas DC-3, les de Havilland DHC-7 et DHC-8, ainsi que les Gulfstream G2, G3 et G4. À l'époque où est survenu l'accident, il travaillait comme pilote en chef pour une importante compagnie et il était titulaire de qualifications de type sur 19 types d'avions différents.

Le pilote avait suivi une formation officielle à la voltige sur un avion Zlin. Après cette formation, il avait acheté un Smith Miniplane qu'il avait utilisé pour des exercices de voltige. En octobre 1999, il avait acheté le Pitts S1S. Il s'agissait d'un biplan de voltige monoplace de construction amateur qui avait été construit à Saskatoon (Saskatchewan) et qui avait volé pour la première fois le 19 avril 1997. Lorsqu'il l'a acheté, l'avion totalisait 137 heures de vol. Le pilote avait, depuis cet achat, effectué quelque 160 heures de vol aux commandes du Pitts S1S. La majorité des vols qu'il avait effectués étaient des vols d'exercices de voltige de moins d'une heure. Au moment de l'accident, il n'y avait aucune anomalie technique de maintenance en suspens, ni aucun antécédent lié à des problèmes répétitifs de maintenance. Transports Canada avait envoyé au pilote une lettre d'autorisation lui permettant d'effectuer des vols de voltige au-dessous de 2000 pieds au-dessus du niveau du sol (agl). Il n'y a pas d'exigences en matière de compétence pour une telle approbation.


Le soir de l'accident, le pilote a décidé d'effectuer un circuit avant d'arrimer l'avion pour la nuit. En même temps, le pilote d'un autre avion, un Piper J-3 Cub, se préparait à revenir atterrir sur sa propre bande d'atterrissage. Chacun des pilotes était au courant de la présence de l'autre. Le pilote du Pitts a décollé vers le sud-ouest, vers 19 h 55, heure avancée de l'Est1. Peu après le décollage du Pitts, le pilote du Cub a décollé vers le sud-ouest, il a viré vers l'est et il est monté jusqu'à 500 pieds agl. Le pilote du Pitts a ensuite rattrapé le Cub et il a effectué devant ce dernier un virage fortement incliné, à une altitude légèrement supérieure. Le pilote du Pitts a ensuite effectué deux virages à 360 degrés autour du Cub avant d'amorcer un tonneau. Presque immédiatement après la fin de ce tonneau, le Pitts s'est écrasé au sol, dans un champ plat. Les pilotes n'avaient pas discuté de cette activité avant le décollage.

Les lieux de l'accident se trouvaient à environ un mille de la bande d'atterrissage du pilote du Pitts. Au moment de l'impact, l'avion volait vers l'est, les ailes à l'horizontale, dans une assiette en piqué. Même s'il a été impossible de déterminer l'assiette en tangage exacte de l'avion, ce dernier a piqué du nez de façon telle que l'hélice a été la première partie à toucher le sol.

D'après le rapport d'autopsie, le pilote est mort d'un traumatisme subi à l'impact, et l'autopsie n'a permis de déceler aucun problème médical préexistant qui aurait pu contribuer à l'accident.


Le système de commandes de vol, la structure de l'avion, le moteur (Lycoming IO-360-B1D) et l'hélice ne comportaient aucune anomalie décelable qui aurait pu compromettre la capacité du pilote à maîtriser l'avion. Il a été établi que tous les dommages constatés sur le circuit de la gouverne de profondeur ainsi que sur d'autres parties et systèmes de l'avion ont été causés par l'impact, et rien ne permet de croire qu'il y aurait eu un blocage quelconque des commandes. Il a été établi que l'avion volait à une vitesse comprise entre 120 et 140 mi/h lorsqu'il a heurté le sol. Au moment de l'impact, le moteur tournait à un régime de 2150 tr/min.

Les conditions météorologiques qui prévalaient au moment de l'accident étaient les suivantes : vent calme, visibilité de 15 milles terrestres, couche de nuages fragmentés à ciel couvert à quelque 1000 pieds agl et horizon dégagé vers l'ouest. Le soleil s'est couché à 19 h 46 et la tombée de la nuit qui, par définition, survient ½ heure après le coucher du soleil, a eu lieu officiellement à 20 h 16.

L'œil de l'être humain s'adapte au changement des conditions d'éclairage, mais il s'adapte lentement au passage de conditions de luminosité élevée à faible. Le passage d'un extrême à l'autre peut nécessiter une période d'adaptation d'une durée pouvant atteindre 45 minutes2. Chaque fois que l'œil est exposé à une luminosité élevée, le processus d'adaptation à l'obscurité doit recommencer.

Analyse

Le pilote possédait une vaste expérience de vol et il avait piloté le Pitts S1S pendant 160 heures au cours des sept années précédentes. Il possédait également de l'expérience en voltige à basse altitude. Rien ne permet de croire que le tonneau à basse altitude était autre chose qu'une manœuvre intentionnelle de voltige. Le fait que l'avion a heurté le sol les ailes à l'horizontale immédiatement après la fin du tonneau laisse croire que le pilote a probablement maîtrisé l'appareil pendant toute la durée de la manœuvre, et que les systèmes de commande de la gouverne de direction et des ailerons étaient fonctionnels.

Il a été impossible d'établir pourquoi l'avion a heurté le sol. L'appareil ne présentait aucun problème décelable, le pilote était apte à effectuer le vol prévu, et l'autopsie n'a permis de déceler aucun problème médical préexistant qui aurait pu contribuer à l'accident. On a de plus jugé que les conditions météorologiques n'avaient pas contribué à cet accident. La présente analyse portera donc principalement sur les aspects physiologiques du vol.

Le soleil qui se couchait à l'ouest était lumineux et il avait tendance à éclairer les champs dans cette direction. Il faisait beaucoup plus sombre à l'est, ce qui rendait l'horizon plus difficile à distinguer dans cette direction.


Le pilote avait décollé vers l'ouest et effectué au moins un virage vers l'est ainsi que deux virages à 360 degrés, avant d'amorcer le tonneau vers l'est. Chaque fois que le pilote virait vers le soleil couchant, ses yeux étaient exposés à la luminosité élevée du soleil et, chaque fois qu'il se dirigeait vers l'est, il apercevait un horizon relativement obscur. Chaque fois que les yeux du pilote étaient exposés à la luminosité élevée, le processus d'adaptation à l'obscurité devait recommencer. Puisqu'il n'existe pas de façon de déterminer vers où le pilote regardait lorsqu'il virait vers le soleil couchant, il est impossible de quantifier l'adaptation à l'obscurité qui aurait été nécessaire. On peut cependant affirmer que chaque fois que l'avion virait de l'ouest vers l'est, l'horizon vers l'est devenait plus difficile à distinguer.

Deux facteurs qui ont probablement contribué à cet accident sont les conditions d'éclairage et la basse altitude à laquelle le tonneau a été amorcé. Les conditions de luminosité faible auraient rendu plus difficile pour le pilote l'identification de l'assiette de l'avion pendant une manœuvre dynamique comme un tonneau. L'horizon vers l'est était plus sombre que l'horizon vers le nord ou vers le sud. Ainsi, même s'il était relativement facile de vérifier si les ailes étaient à l'horizontale, il aurait été plus difficile de vérifier si l'avion se trouvait dans une assiette de vol en palier. La basse altitude est un facteur important, car elle a réduit le temps dont disposait le pilote pour déceler et corriger toute erreur d'appréciation pendant qu'il effectuait le tonneau. Il est probable que le pilote ne se soit pas aperçu que l'avion était en descente et qu'il ait dirigé ce dernier vers le sol.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport du Laboratoire technique du BST suivant :

LP 008/2007 - GPS and Instruments Analysis (Analyse du GPS et des instruments).

On peut obtenir ce rapport en s'adressant au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Pendant que le pilote effectuait un tonneau à basse altitude, l'avion était en descente. Il est probable que le pilote ne se soit pas aperçu de la situation et qu'il ait dirigé l'avion vers le sol.

  2. Il se peut qu'il ait été difficile pour le pilote de s'apercevoir que l'avion était en descente en raison des conditions de luminosité variable qui prévalaient au cours de la manœuvre.

Fait établi quant aux risques

  1. Le pilote du Pitts a volé très près d'un autre avion sans avoir discuté de ses plans au préalable avec l'autre pilote.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 27 novembre 2007.


  1. Les heures sont exprimées en HAE (temps universel coordonné moins quatre heures).

  2. Richard O. Reinhart. Fit to Fly, A Pilot's Guide to Health & Safety. Blue Ridge Summit, PA, TAB Books, 1993.