Aviation Investigation Report A06Q0114

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of Control and Collision with Terrain
Aviation Mauricie
Cessna U206F (Floatplane) C-FMGP
Pasteur Lake, Quebec
08 July 2006

Summary

The Cessna U206F floatplane, registration C-FMGP, serial number U20602839, operated by Aviation Mauricie, was on a visual flight rules flight with one pilot, one student pilot and one passenger on board. At about 1125 eastern daylight time, the aircraft took off from Pasteur Lake, Quebec, and flew at low altitude over the water for a few seconds. About 30 feet above the surface of the lake, the aircraft made a 90º left turn and headed directly towards the departure wharf where the owners were. At about 100 feet above the wharf, the aircraft was seen in a nose-up attitude and appeared unstable. Shortly after, the right wing pointed towards the ground, and the aircraft pitched nose down and crashed into the trees about 300 feet farther south.

A witness rushed to the crash site. Smoke was coming from the wreckage. Several minutes later, flames appeared at the right wing root. The fire could not be brought under control with a fire extinguisher, and spread to the cabin and the rest of the aircraft. The three occupants sustained fatal injuries.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

At approximately 0940 eastern daylight time1 on the morning of the accident, the floatplane took off from Tortue Lake, Quebec, Aviation Mauricie's main base. The planned flight consisted of a return flight with stops at Pasteur Lake, Quebec, and Taureau Reservoir, Quebec. At 1020, the floatplane docked at a wharf located on the eastern shore of Pasteur Lake. The occupants spent some time with the owner of the premises, who was a friend of the pilot.

Figure 1 - Topographic map of Pasteur Lake

Figure 1. 

Topographic map of Pasteur Lake

The owner of the wharf had a floatplane that he used regularly to travel between Tortue Lake and Pasteur Lake. Before departure, he informed the occurrence pilot of the take-off flight path preferred by other pilots familiar with Pasteur Lake. It consisted in starting the take-off run from the far north end of the lake heading in a southwesterly direction, and after lift off, it was necessary to make a slight turn to the left to continue to climb in the saddle between the two mountains bordering the southern section of the lake (see Figure 1).

At about 1100, the pilot got into the right front seat, the student pilot got into the left front seat and the passenger sat in the right back seat. At approximately 1112, the aircraft left the wharf and taxied on the water towards the northern section of the lake. The floatplane disappeared behind a peninsula (see Figure 1) and shortly after started its take-off run towards the southwest.

Rather than following the suggested flight path, the aircraft took off more or less into the wind in a southwesterly direction. Shortly after becoming airborne near the western shore of the lake, the aircraft turned left heading east with a tailwind, and headed directly towards the departure wharf (see Photo 1). About 1700 feet separated the two shores of the lake where the turn was made. After flying over the wharf, the aircraft stalled and crashed 300 feet to the south. The engine continued to operate for a short time.

Photo 1 - View of the location where the floatplane turned towards the wharf after becoming airborne

Photo 1. 

View of the location where the floatplane turned towards the wharf after becoming airborne

The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. He held a commercial pilot licence (aeroplane) since 12 July 2004. He started working for Aviation Mauricie in July 2004. After being hired, he received, amongst other things, training on floatplanes and on the Cessna 206. The data available indicate that the pilot had accumulated approximately 1000 flying hours. It was the first time that he landed on Pasteur Lake. Although he did not have an instructor rating, the pilot could give training on floatplanes. The pilot, as pilot in command, was responsible for the conduct of the flight.

The student pilot held a private pilot licence (aeroplane) issued in October 1989 by the Direction Générale de l'Aviation Civile in France. He had accumulated 1226 flying hours and was endorsed on single-engine and multi-engine aircraft and seaplanes with a maximum take-off weight of 2700 kg or less. However, his class H seaplane endorsement issued in 1993 in Guyana was not valid at the time of the incident. His French medical certificate was valid until 30 September 2006. Transport Canada had issued a Foreign Licence Validation Certificate on 28 June 2005 valid until 01 July 2006. The certificate had not been renewed.

On 10 April 2006, the student pilot had purchased a block of 40 flying hours from Aviation Mauricie for floatplane training. He had accumulated 14.5 flying hours on C-FMGP since 25 June 2006. The company had no training file for the student pilot and was not required to keep one.

At the time of the accident, the weather conditions were favourable for visual flight. There were few clouds and the temperature was 26ºC. The wind was from the southwest at 15 knots with gusts up to 25 knots. Waves of 20 to 25 cm stirred the surface of the lake.

The Cessna U206F is a high-wing, single-engine aircraft, with seating capacity of up to six people. The aircraft may be flown from the left or right seat. However, the pilot flying usually occupies the left seat. The aircraft journey logbook was not recovered. It was probably destroyed in the post-impact fire. The aircraft technical logbooks were examined to assess the floatplane's airworthiness. The aircraft had undergone a 200-hour recurrent inspection on 19 May 2006 and was found to be airworthy. The aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures.

The weight and balance of the aircraft were calculated using the estimated weight of the occupants and the estimated amount of fuel on board. There was no luggage on board. The aircraft weight at the time of the crash was about 3300 pounds, that is, 300 pounds less than the maximum allowable weight of 3600 pounds. According to calculations, the aircraft centre of gravity was within the specified limits. The pilot had completed the weight and balance form for the aircraft published in the company operations manual. The investigation revealed that the form used for the aircraft wrongfully indicated that the maximum allowable weight for the aircraft was 3800 pounds. However, the mistake on the form had no impact on the accident.

According to the aircraft flight manual, for a floatplane at this estimated weight and balance, using 20º of flap and 0º of bank angle, the stall speed is around 50 knots. The aircraft was equipped with a stall warning system that provided an audible warning. The stall warning system's horn is activated when the aircraft's speed is 5 to 10 knots above the stall speed.

According to Cessna, the optimal rate of climb on take-off using 20º of flap obtained during flight tests is 625 feet per minute. This rate is obtained in the following configuration: full throttle with an indicated airspeed of 76 knots. This rate of climb corresponds to an angle of climb of about 5º with no wind. The angle is steeper with a headwind and less steep with a tailwind. The aircraft climb performance is reduced when the suggested speed is not maintained. However, when it is necessary to clear an obstacle after take-off, the aircraft flight manual suggests using the best climb angle speed of 63 knots and 20º of flap.

In some situations, a pilot's ability to estimate speed, size, distance, the direction to a slope, or even to identify objects can be seriously diminished. Pilots can be subjected to optical illusions when approaching a rising slope at right angles. When getting close to the ridge, the pilot may tend to maintain a constant angle between the extended cowl and the mountain peak; as a result, the pitch attitude of the aircraft increases and speed decreases (see Figure 2). Consequently, aircraft performance decreases and vertical separation with the terrain decreases.

Figure 2 - Possible optical illusion when approaching a rising slope

Figure 2. 

Possible optical illusion when approaching a rising slope

Also, the proximity of the ground tends to hold the pilot's attention and, as a result, can affect the flying of the aircraft. The illusion of increasing speed in relation to the ground in tailwind conditions is easily noticeable, to the point where the pilot may be tempted to reduce speed.

The aircraft crashed on the eastern shore of Pasteur Lake at about 15 feet above the water level. The wreckage was found at the bottom of a 300-foot hill that has a slope of almost 11º. As the aircraft descended, it severed trees for about 40 feet before striking the ground. Based on the marks on the trees and the aircraft damage, the floatplane had a right roll attitude of about 110º and was in a steep nose-down attitude before striking the ground. The aircraft came to rest on its back. The impact damage and the nose-down attitude of the wreckage are consistent with a loss of control following a stall.

An integral fuel tank was located in each wing near the wing root. The right wing had electrical wiring to operate the position light, flap motor and fuel quantity indicator.

A fire broke out about five minutes after the crash. The entire aircraft, except the left float, the wingtips and the empennage, was consumed by fire. The right side of the aircraft appeared to have sustained the most heat damage. The wings were burned in the area of the integral fuel tanks. The flaps were extended at 20º. On a Cessna U206F, this is the normal setting for take-off.

The instrument panel melted in the intense heat of the fire; as a result, it was not possible to determine the condition and operational capabilities of the aircraft systems and their components, or the positions of any controls, switches or indicators. However, examination of all components recovered revealed no pre-impact failures or malfunctions. The flight control system sustained substantial damage, but flight control continuity was established.

All failures were due to overload. The trees severed by the propeller blades and the blade damage indicate that the engine was producing power on impact. Part of the aircraft engine casing had melted. The propeller was sheared from the engine; all the engine crankshaft plate mounting bolts had failed in tension. The examination could not precisely determine the engine power. However, surrounding trees showed propeller strike marks indicating that the propeller was rotating. Examination of the wreckage revealed no evidence of any airframe failure, flight control problems, electrical problems, power loss, or fire during the flight.

Due to the condition of the instruments, it was not possible to determine the instrument readings at the time of impact. From examination of the wreckage, it was not possible to determine the position of the engine controls and fuel tank selector, or the condition of the seat belt attachments and the adjustment of the seat belts.

The emergency locator transmitter (ELT), Technisonic model TEL-82, serial number 12127, was not found in the burnt wreckage. Since the ELT is made almost entirely of plastic, it is likely that it was completely destroyed by heat. According to the aircraft's records, the ELT was installed in accordance with existing regulations.

The cockpit was severely damaged on impact, and the space for the front occupants was reduced to practically nothing. The cabin was then completely destroyed by the post-impact fire. Although the three occupants were wearing their seat belts, the accident was not survivable.

Autopsies and toxicological tests were done on the three occupants. In all three cases, the cause of death was determined to be multiple traumatic injuries. According to the autopsy and toxicological test results, there was no indication that incapacitation affected the pilot's performance. The autopsy performed on the student pilot who was in the front seat revealed the presence of coronary heart disease, but no recent indications of thrombosis or infarction were observed.

Analysis

Examination of the wreckage revealed no deficiencies, engine failure or aircraft system failure. There was no indication of any emergency situation or aircraft problems before the impact. The wreckage damage is consistent with a loss of control following a stall. The aircraft stalled at about 100 feet above the ground, an altitude insufficient to effect a recovery.

There was no evidence that incapacitation affected the pilot's or passenger's performance. Although the autopsy performed on the front seat passenger revealed the presence of coronary heart disease, no recent indications of thrombosis or infarction were observed.

The take-off flight path chosen was shorter than the usual flight path used by local pilots. Thus, the flight path for the initial climb before clearing the obstacles was shorter. As a result, at a given point, the aircraft was not as high over the obstacles as it should have been if the take-off run had been started at the far end of the lake. The investigation was not able to determine why the pilot did not follow the take-off flight path suggested by the owner of the wharf.

After becoming airborne, the aircraft should have made a 60º left turn towards the saddle at the south end of the lake in order to be able to continue the turn over the lowest terrain. However, the floatplane did not stop its turn when it was facing the saddle; it continued to turn until it was facing the departure wharf over which it flew shortly after. In light of these facts, it is reasonable to think that the pilot flying completed this manoeuvre to fly over the wharf from which he had just departed.

The left turn put the aircraft in tailwind conditions at low altitude, which resulted in the aircraft heading towards higher terrain than if it had been flown towards the saddle. It is possible that these conditions caused the pilot flying to increase the aircraft's attitude, thereby inadvertently decreasing the aircraft speed. The stall could thus be due to a combination of these factors, which reduced the difference between the aircraft's speed and the stall speed in conditions that were conducive to optical illusions created by drift and resulting from flying towards rising terrain.

After turning into the tailwind, the ground speed increased, reducing the aircraft climb angle and extending the flight path for the climb. As a result, climbing performance was reduced. The floatplane flew over the wharf at a height that did not allow it to climb over the terrain. It is possible that a lack of familiarity with the area caused the pilot flying to underestimate the distances and effect of the wind on the aircraft's performance.

It could not be determined who was at the controls during take-off or at the time of the accident. Nevertheless, the following possibilities were identified. On one hand, given that it was a training flight and that the student pilot was sitting in the seat usually occupied by the pilot flying, it is believed that the student was at the controls. On the other hand, it is also reasonable to believe that the manoeuvre was performed by the pilot-in-command since the aircraft did not fly towards the saddle, but towards the wharf where his friends were.

It is also possible that the student pilot, if he was at the controls, decided to fly over the wharf without obtaining the pilot's consent. In this eventuality, the pilot would not have reacted in time to correct the flight path. Given that the pilot was not an instructor, he was less likely to rapidly recognize unsafe practices and take the appropriate measures.

The collision with the trees caused a fuel leak in the right tank and damaged the electrical system that powered the various components in the right wing. The fact that the first flames appeared at the right wing root suggests that the fuel in the tank ignited. Several minutes were necessary to create a flammable gas mixture.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The flight path towards the wharf put the aircraft into a tailwind facing a mountain slope that was too high for the floatplane's climbing performance.

  2. The aircraft stalled in conditions conducive to optical illusions created by drift and resulting from flying towards rising terrain; there was insufficient altitude available to effect a recovery.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 31 July 2007.


1.   All times are eastern daylight time (Coordinated Universal Time minus four hours).

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A06Q0114

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de maîtrise et collision avec le relief
du Cessna U206F (hydravion) C-FMGP
exploité par Aviation Mauricie
au lac du Pasteur (Québec)
le 8 juillet 2006

Résumé

Le Cessna U206F sur flotteurs immatriculé C-FMGP de numéro de série U20602839 exploité par Aviation Mauricie effectue un vol selon les règles de vol à vue avec un pilote, un élève-pilote et un passager à son bord. Vers 11 h 25, heure avancée de l'Est, l'appareil décolle du lac du Pasteur (Québec) et poursuit sa course à basse altitude au-dessus de la surface de l'eau pendant quelques secondes. À une trentaine de pieds au-dessus de la surface du lac, l'appareil effectue un virage de 90º vers la gauche et se dirige directement vers le quai de départ où se trouvent ses propriétaires. À une centaine de pieds au-dessus du quai, l'aéronef est cabré et semble instable. Dans les mêmes instants, l'aile droite pointe vers le sol, puis l'avion se met en piqué et s'écrase dans les arbres quelque 300 pieds plus au sud.

Un témoin accourt jusqu'au site de l'écrasement. De la fumée émane de l'épave. Quelques minutes plus tard, des flammes apparaissent à l'emplanture de l'aile droite. L'incendie qui ne peut être maîtrisé avec un extincteur se propage à la cabine et au reste de l'appareil. Les trois occupants perdent la vie dans l'accident.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le matin de l'accident, vers 9 h 40, heure avancée de l'Est1, l'appareil décolle du lac à la Tortue (Québec), base principale d'Aviation Mauricie. Le vol prévu est un aller-retour avec escales au lac du Pasteur (Québec) et au réservoir Taureau (Québec). À 10 h 20, l'hydravion accoste à un quai situé sur la rive est du lac du Pasteur. Les occupants passent quelque temps chez le propriétaire des lieux, un ami du pilote.

Figure 1 - Carte topographique du lac du Pasteur

Figure 1. 

Carte topographique du lac du Pasteur

Le propriétaire du quai possède un hydravion qu'il utilise couramment pour voyager entre le lac à la Tortue et le lac du Pasteur. Avant le départ, il informe le pilote du C-FMGP de la trajectoire préférée de décollage des autres pilotes familiers avec le lac du Pasteur. Cette trajectoire consiste à débuter la course au décollage à partir de l'extrémité nord du lac en direction sud, et après avoir déjaugé, obliquer légèrement vers la gauche afin de poursuivre la montée dans l'ensellement situé entre les deux montagnes qui longent la partie sud du lac (voir la Figure 1).

Vers 11 h, le pilote s'installe en place avant droite, l'élève-pilote en place avant gauche, et le passager en place arrière droite. Vers 11 h 12, l'appareil quitte le quai et circule sur l'eau vers la partie nord du lac. L'hydravion disparaît derrière une presqu'île (voir la Figure 1) puis peu de temps après il amorce sa course au décollage en direction sud-ouest.

Plutôt que de suivre la trajectoire suggérée, l'appareil décolle plus ou moins face au vent en direction sud-ouest. Peu de temps après avoir pris son envol près de la rive ouest du lac, l'hydravion fait un virage à gauche sur un cap est, en vent arrière, et se dirige directement vers le quai de départ (voir la Photo 1). Environ 1700 pieds séparent les deux rives du lac à la hauteur du virage. Après avoir survolé le quai, l'appareil décroche et s'écrase 300 pieds au sud. Le moteur continue à tourner pendant un court temps.

Photo 1 - Vue de l'endroit où l'hydravion a viré vers le quai après avoir déjaugé

Photo 1. 

Vue de l'endroit où l'hydravion a viré vers le quai après avoir déjaugé

Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur. Il était titulaire d'une licence de pilote professionnel (avion) depuis le 12 juillet 2004. Il a commencé à travailler pour Aviation Mauricie en juillet 2004. Après son recrutement, il a entre autres reçu une formation sur flotteurs et sur le Cessna 206. Les données disponibles indiquent que le pilote totalisait environ 1000 heures de vol. C'était la première fois qu'il atterrissait au lac du Pasteur. Même s'il ne possédait pas une qualification d'instructeur de vol, le pilote pouvait donner de la formation sur flotteurs. Le pilote, en tant que commandant de bord, était responsable de la conduite de l'aéronef.

L'élève-pilote était titulaire d'une licence de pilote privé (avion) délivrée en octobre 1989 par la Direction Générale de l'Aviation Civile de la République Française. Il totalisait 1226 heures de vol et était qualifié sur avions monomoteurs, multimoteurs et sur hydravions ayant une masse maximale au décollage égale ou inférieure à 2700 kg. Toutefois, sa qualification de classe H (hydravion) délivrée en 1993 en Guyane n'était pas valide au moment des faits. Son certificat médical français était valide jusqu'au 30 septembre 2006. Transports Canada avait délivré un certificat de validation de licence étrangère le 28 juin 2005 valide jusqu'au 1er juillet 2006. Le certificat n'avait pas été renouvelé.

Le 10 avril 2006, l'élève-pilote avait acheté d'Aviation Mauricie un bloc de 40 heures de vol pour une formation sur flotteurs. Il avait effectué 14,5 heures de vol sur le C-FMGP depuis le 25 juin 2006. La compagnie ne possédait aucun dossier de formation pour l'élève-pilote, et n'avait pas à le faire.

Au moment de l'accident, les conditions étaient favorables au vol à vue. Il y avait peu de nuages et la température était de 26 ºC. Le vent soufflait du sud-ouest à 15 noeuds avec des rafales à 25 noeuds. Des vagues de 20 à 25 cm agitaient la surface du lac.

Le Cessna U206F est un monomoteur à aile haute qui peut transporter six personnes. Il est permis de piloter l'appareil du siège gauche ou du siège droit. Cependant, dans la pratique courante, le pilote aux commandes occupe le siège gauche. Le carnet de route de l'appareil n'a pas été retrouvé. Il a probablement été détruit dans l'incendie qui a suivi l'accident. Les livrets techniques ont été utilisés pour évaluer l'état de navigabilité de l'hydravion. L'appareil avait été déclaré en état de navigabilité le 19 mai 2006 à la suite d'une inspection périodique des 200 heures. Il était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées.

La masse et le centrage de l'appareil ont été calculés à l'aide du poids estimé de ses occupants et à partir d'une estimation de la quantité de carburant à bord. Il n'y avait pas de bagages à bord. L'appareil avait une masse d'environ 3300 livres au moment de l'écrasement, soit 300 livres de moins que la masse maximale autorisée de 3600 livres. Selon les calculs, le centrage se trouvait dans la plage de centrage autorisée. Le pilote avait rempli le formulaire de masse et centrage de l'appareil publié dans le manuel d'exploitation de la compagnie. L'enquête a révélé que le formulaire utilisé indiquait à tort que la masse maximale autorisée était de 3800 livres. L'erreur sur le formulaire n'a eu aucune incidence sur l'accident.

Selon le manuel d'utilisation, pour une masse et un centrage tels qu'on les a estimés, avec un braquage des volets à 20º et un angle d'inclinaison latérale de 0º, la vitesse de décrochage de l'hydravion se situe aux environs de 50 noeuds. L'appareil était équipé d'un avertisseur de décrochage qui fournit une alarme sonore. Le klaxon de l'avertisseur de décrochage se déclenche lorsque la vitesse de l'appareil se trouve 5 à 10 noeuds au-dessus de la vitesse de décrochage.

Selon Cessna, le taux de montée optimal au décollage avec 20º de volets obtenu lors d'essais en vol est de 625 pieds par minute; il s'obtient en configuration suivante : pleins gaz et vitesse indiquée de 76 noeuds. Cette vitesse ascensionnelle correspond à un angle de montée d'environ 5º par vent nul; l'angle est plus prononcé vent debout et plus faible par vent arrière. Les performances de montée sont réduites quand la vitesse suggérée n'est pas maintenue. Cependant, lorsqu'il faut franchir un obstacle après le décollage, le manuel de vol de l'appareil suggère d'utiliser la vitesse du meilleur angle de montée de 63 noeuds et 20º de volets.

Dans certaines conditions, les capacités d'un pilote de juger de la vitesse de l'appareil, de la taille, de la distance, de la localisation angulaire de la pente ou même de reconnaître un objet peuvent être fortement diminuées. Le pilote peut subir les effets d'illusions d'optique lorsqu'il se dirige perpendiculairement à un terrain ascendant. En se rapprochant de la crête, le pilote peut avoir tendance à maintenir le même angle formé par le prolongement du capot de l'appareil et le sommet de la montagne; ainsi, l'assiette de l'avion augmente et la vitesse diminue (voir la Figure 2). Par conséquent, les performances de l'appareil sont réduites et l'espacement vertical avec le sol diminue.

Figure 2 - Illusion d'optique possible face à un relief ascendant

Figure 2. 

Illusion d'optique possible face à un relief ascendant

En outre, la proximité du sol tend à capter l'attention du pilote, et, de ce fait, peut se répercuter sur le pilotage de l'avion. L'illusion d'augmentation de la vitesse par rapport au sol lorsque l'appareil se retrouve avec un vent arrière devient facilement remarquable, au point où le pilote peut être tenté de réduire la vitesse.

L'appareil s'est écrasé sur la rive est du lac du Pasteur à quelque 15 pieds au-dessus du niveau de l'eau. L'épave a été retrouvée au pied d'une colline qui culmine à quelque 300 pieds et dont la pente du versant atteint presque 11º. Dans sa descente, l'avion a fauché des arbres sur une distance d'environ 40 pieds avant de percuter le sol. D'après les traces sur les arbres et les dommages observés sur les débris, l'hydravion avait une inclinaison d'environ 110º à droite et était en piqué prononcé avant de percuter le sol. L'appareil s'est immobilisé sur le dos. Les dommages attribuables à l'impact et à l'assiette en piqué de l'épave correspondent à une perte de maitrise à la suite d'un décrochage.

Un réservoir structural de carburant est situé dans chacune des ailes près de l'emplanture. L'aile droite renferme du câblage électrique qui alimente le feu de position, le moteur des volets et l'indicateur de quantité de carburant.

Un incendie s'est déclaré environ cinq minutes après l'écrasement. Tout l'appareil, sauf le flotteur gauche, les extrémités d'aile et l'empennage, a été consumé par le feu. Le côté droit de l'appareil semble avoir le plus subi les effets de la chaleur. Les ailes-réservoirs ont brûlé au niveau des réservoirs intégraux. Les volets étaient braqués à 20º. Sur le Cessna U206F, un tel braquage est normalement utilisé lors du décollage.

Le tableau de bord a fondu sous l'effet de la chaleur intense du feu; il n'a donc pas été possible de déterminer l'état et les capacités opérationnelles des systèmes de bord et de leurs composants ainsi que la position de toutes les commandes, des commutateurs et des indicateurs. Toutefois, l'examen de tous les composants récupérés n'a révélé aucune rupture ni mauvais fonctionnement avant l'impact. Le système de commandes de vol a subi des dommages importants, mais sa continuité a pu être confirmée.

Toutes les ruptures ont été attribuées à des surcharges. Des arbres fauchés par l'hélice ainsi que les dommages observés sur les pales indiquent que le moteur tournait au moment des faits. Une partie de l'enveloppe du moteur a fondu. L'hélice n'était pas fixée au moteur; tous les boulons qui la retenaient à la plaque du vilebrequin du moteur ont cédé en tension. L'examen n'a toutefois pas permis de déterminer précisément la puissance du moteur. Cependant, les arbres environnants montraient des coupures franches attribuées au passage de l'hélice entraînée par le moteur. L'examen de l'épave n'a révélé aucun indice permettant de croire que l'avion aurait subi une défaillance structurale, des problèmes de commandes de vol, des problèmes électriques ou une perte de puissance ou qu'un incendie se serait déclaré en vol.

L'état des instruments n'a pas permis de déterminer les indications qu'ils affichaient au moment de l'impact. L'examen de l'épave n'a pas permis d'établir la position des commandes moteur et du sélecteur des réservoirs carburant, ni l'état des points de fixation des ceintures de sécurité et de l'ajustement des ceintures.

La radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT) de marque Technisonic (modèle TEL-82, numéro de série 12127) n'a pas été retrouvée dans les débris de l'avion calciné. Comme l'ELT est presque entièrement composée de matière plastique, il est probable qu'elle a été complètement détruite par la chaleur du brasier. L'examen des dossiers de l'appareil indique que l'ELT était installée conformément à la réglementation en vigueur.

Le poste de pilotage a été fortement endommagé par l'impact qui a réduit l'espace vital des occupants avant pratiquement à néant. L'incendie qui s'est déclaré par la suite a consumé entièrement la cabine. Les trois occupants portaient leur ceinture de sécurité, mais l'accident n'offrait aucune chance de survie.

Des autopsies et des analyses toxicologiques ont été faites sur les occupants. Le décès des trois occupants est attribuable à un polytraumatisme lors de l'accident. D'après les résultats de l'autopsie et de l'analyse toxicologique, rien n'indique qu'une incapacité ait perturbé les capacités du pilote. Le résultat de l'autopsie de l'élève-pilote en place avant a révélé la présence d'une maladie coronaérienne, mais aucun indice récent de thrombose ou d'infarctus n'a été observé.

Analyse

L'examen de l'épave n'a permis de découvrir aucune anomalie ou défaillance du moteur ou des systèmes de l'appareil. Rien n'indique qu'il y ait eu une situation d'urgence ou que l'appareil ait présenté des problèmes avant l'impact. Les dommages observés sur l'épave correspondent à une perte de contrôle à la suite d'un décrochage. Le décrochage s'est produit à une centaine de pieds au-dessus du sol, une altitude trop basse pour permettre un redressement.

Rien n'indique qu'une incapacité ait perturbé les capacités du pilote ou du passager. L'autopsie du passager en place avant a révélé la présence d'une maladie coronaérienne, mais aucun indice récent de thrombose ou d'infarctus n'a été observé.

La trajectoire de décollage choisie était plus courte que la trajectoire privilégiée par les pilotes locaux. Ainsi, la trajectoire de montée initiale avant le franchissement des obstacles était moins longue. En conséquence, à un point donné, l'appareil était moins haut au-dessus des obstacles que s'il avait amorcé sa course à l'extrémité du lac. L'enquête n'a pas permis de déterminer pourquoi le pilote n'a pas suivi la trajectoire de décollage suggérée par le propriétaire du quai.

Normalement, après avoir pris son envol, l'appareil aurait dû effectuer un virage de 60º vers la gauche pour se diriger vers l'ensellement au sud du lac afin de poursuivre sa montée au-dessus du relief le moins élevé. Toutefois, l'hydravion n'a pas interrompu son virage lorsqu'il était vis-à-vis l'ensellement; il a poursuivi son virage jusqu'à ce qu'il fasse face au quai de départ qu'il a survolé quelques instants plus tard. À la lumière de ces faits, il est raisonnable de penser que le pilote aux commandes a exécuté cette manoeuvre afin de survoler le quai qu'il venait de quitter.

Le virage à gauche a placé l'appareil en vent arrière, à basse altitude, face à un relief plus haut que s'il s'était dirigé vers l'ensellement. Il est possible que ces conditions aient incité le pilote aux commandes à augmenter l'assiette de l'avion, diminuant ainsi par inadvertance la vitesse. Le décrochage peut donc être attribué à la combinaison de ces facteurs qui ont éliminé l'écart entre la vitesse de l'avion et la vitesse de décrochage dans des conditions favorables aux illusions d'optique créées par la dérive et associées au vol face à un relief ascendant.

Après avoir viré en vent arrière, la vitesse sol a augmenté, réduisant ainsi l'angle de montée et allongeant la trajectoire de montée. En conséquence, les performances de montée étaient diminuées. L'hydravion a survolé le quai à une hauteur qui ne permettait pas de franchir le relief. Il est possible qu'à cause de son manque de familiarité avec les lieux, le pilote aux commandes a sous-estimé les distances et les effets du vent sur les performances de l'appareil.

L'enquête n'a pas permis de déterminer qui était aux commandes, que ce soit au décollage ou au moment de l'accident. Toutefois, les hypothèses suivantes ont été retenues à cet égard. D'une part, étant donné que c'était un vol de formation et que l'élève-pilote occupait la place habituellement réservée au pilote aux commandes, on peut penser que c'est l'élève qui pilotait l'appareil. D'autre part, il est aussi raisonnable de croire que c'est le pilote commandant de bord qui a exécuté la manoeuvre puisque l'appareil ne s'est pas dirigé vers l'ensellement mais plutôt vers le quai où se trouvaient ses amis.

Par ailleurs, il est possible que l'élève-pilote, s'il était aux commandes, ait décidé sans l'assentiment du pilote de survoler le quai. Dans cette hypothèse, le pilote n'aurait pas réagi à temps pour corriger la trajectoire. Comme le pilote n'était pas un instructeur, il était moins apte à reconnaître rapidement les pratiques dangereuses et à prendre les mesures qui s'imposaient.

La collision avec les arbres a provoqué une fuite de carburant du réservoir droit et a endommagé des circuits électriques qui alimentaient les divers composants situés dans l'aile droite. Le fait que les premières flammes sont apparues à l'emplanture de l'aile droite suggère que le carburant du réservoir droit s'est enflammé. Quelques minutes ont été nécessaires pour créer un mélange gazeux inflammable.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. La trajectoire de vol en direction du quai a placé l'appareil en vent arrière face à un versant de montagne dont la hauteur dépassait les performances de montée de l'hydravion.

  2. L'appareil a décroché dans des conditions favorables aux illusions d'optique créées par la dérive et associées au vol face à un relief ascendant; l'altitude était trop basse pour permettre un redressement.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 31 juillet 2007.


1.   Les heures sont exprimées en heure avancée de l'Est (temps universel coordonné moins quatre heures).