Aviation Investigation Report A06W0106

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Dynamic Rollover
Remote Helicopters (NWT) Ltd.
Bell 206B (Helicopter) C-GRHM
Wabasca, Alberta, 23 nm NE
04 July 2006

Summary

The pilot of the Remote Helicopters (NWT) Ltd. Bell 206B helicopter (registration C-GRHM, serial number 600) was conducting water-bucketing operations in support of forest-fire suppression activities approximately 23 nautical miles northeast of Wabasca, Alberta. At approximately 1600 mountain daylight time, the helicopter contacted trees adjacent to a shoreline, broke up, and came to rest in an inverted position. The pilot, the sole occupant, was fatally injured.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

History of Flight

Records indicated that the helicopter was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. The aircraft had no known deficiencies before the accident flight. At the time of the occurrence, the aircraft weight was estimated to be under the maximum gross weight limit, and the centre of gravity was within limits. There was sufficient fuel on board to complete the flight.

On the day of the accident, weather observations were taken at the Pelican airstrip, three nautical miles (nm) south of the accident site. At 1430 mountain daylight time,1 the temperature was 32ºC, the wind was from the south-southwest at 5 gusting to 15 mph. At 1730, the temperature was 32ºC, with winds from the south-southwest at 8 gusting to 14 mph.

The pilot departed Wabasca at approximately 1030 and arrived 20 minutes later at the Pelican aerodrome, Alberta. He then began forestry crew and equipment movements and accumulated a total flight time of 3.5 hours for the day.

The pilot was observed to be suffering from allergy-like symptoms. At about 1400, the pilot approached the camp medic to get something for his allergy symptoms, and was provided with a bottle of Reactine® (10 mg pills). He took two pills with him and returned the bottle. The label on the bottle contained a warning advising caution when operating vehicles as the medication may cause drowsiness. Another bottle (Reactine® 10  mg) was found at the accident site with one pill remaining in it.

At approximately 1519, while C-GRHM was on the ground at Pelican, a request was made for C-GRHM to provide water-bucket support for Fire 127. The pilot and two forestry officials prepared the aircraft and external load equipment for the intended flight. Completing the connection of the longline/water bucket and the removal of the right-hand pilot door took 30 minutes. By industry standards, 10 to 15 minutes is considered ample time to complete this task. Door removal is a common practice in preparation for longlining operations, as it facilitates monitoring of the external load.

The pilot departed Pelican at 1550 and proceeded to Fire 127. Once at the fire, the pilot's water drops were being directed by the fire operations officer who was in C-FALP, a second Bell 206. The pilot had difficulty picking up the first water load. After the first load of water was dropped on the fire, C-FALP escorted C-GRHM about halfway back to the lake that was being used for water pickup.

At about 1608, the pilot of C-FALP was unable to contact C-GRHM on any of the three radio frequencies in use. The C-FALP crew located the accident helicopter on the ground along the western shore of the lake used for water pickup. The pilot of C-FALP transmitted a MAYDAY call and proceeded to land near the accident site, where the fire operations officer attended the scene and observed that the pilot was deceased.

Wreckage and Impact Information

The aircraft wreckage was found at latitude 56º13'61" N, longitude 113º18'191" W, along the western shore of the lake that had been used for water pickup. It was lying inverted and on its left-hand side roof, in the middle of a cutline. The aircraft was approximately 54 feet from the edge of the lake and orientated parallel to the shore (160ºM).

A 50-foot longline that had been attached to the bucket was loosely strung in a fairly straight direction from the water-bucket clevis to the belly hook of the aircraft. The bucket clevis was detached from the longline hook; however, no explanation was found for this. This hook was tested on site and later by the manufacturer. It functioned normally in both tests.

The water bucket was found at the shoreline, and its dump valve was in the open position. The bucket is 14 feet long when suspended. The dump valve normally closes automatically by way of a tensioned wire cable when suspended and will only stay open when not suspended. The bucket was tested after the accident and functioned normally.

There was damage to trees between the cutline and shoreline, and there were landing skid marks in the bark of trees bordering the cutline where the helicopter came to rest. These marks were on the lake side of the trees. One tree-top was broken from a bending load. There were indications that, during the break-up sequence, the tail rotor blades struck some trees and bushes between the lake and the cutline.

There were ground scar and component indications that the engine was developing high power at the time of impact, and that the engine continued to run for a brief period after the impact.

Several main rotor blade strike marks were found. One was on the helicopter tail boom just aft of the horizontal stabilizer, where the tail boom was severed. The second strike mark was on the right side of the cabin at the pilot door post. The last strike mark was in the ground immediately to the front of the fuselage. This latter point held most of one blade horizontal and parallel to ground level, buried approximately eight inches. This blade was intact and attached to the main head and trunnion. The other blade was severely damaged, with indications of strike(s) at high power. The mast had been sheared off just below the trunnion, with indications of severe mast bumping by both sides of the trunnion droop stops.

Pilot

The pilot held a valid commercial helicopter licence with five different aircraft type endorsements, and his last medical examination had been conducted on 26 March 2006. Records indicate that he had accumulated 2000 total flight hours, 800 of which were on the Bell 206. His last pilot proficiency check on the Bell 206 type was on 31 March 2006 with his previous employer. An initial visual flight rules (VFR) flight check was completed with Remote Helicopters (NWT) Ltd. on 27 June 2006, and an external load exam was written.

According to his logbook, the pilot had approximately 100 hours of longline experience and 40 hours of sling load experience. The pilot had neither been trained nor authorized to conduct water-bucketing operations by his previous employer or by Remote Helicopters (NWT) Ltd. There was no indication that he had any water-bucketing experience.

Toxicology reports from the medical examiner indicated the presence of an anabolic steroid, but its possible effect could not be determined. The medical examiner's office and Transport Canada have stated that the antihistamine drug Reactine® was a newer type that rarely causes drowsiness.

Transport Canada's Handbook for Civil Aviation Medical Examiners does not contain guidelines for specific types of antihistamines that may or may not be acceptable for use by aircrew. However, the Defence Research and Development Canada Guidelines for Flight Surgeons: Medications and Aircrew2 indicates that Reactine® may produce drowsiness and central nervous system side-effects and is not recommended for aircrew.

Nicholson and Turner (1998)3 conducted a study to examine the effects of cetirizine (generic name for Reactine®) on performance. The study examined measures, which included performance on a tracking task, performance on a vigilance task, sleep latency, and subjective assessments of sleepiness. It was found that cetirizine was not free from central nervous system effects, in that subjects taking the drug reported greater sleepiness, demonstrated shorter sleep latency, and performed more poorly on the tracking task at specific times of the day. The study concluded that cetirizine should not be used by air personnel.

Section 404.06(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations states in part that

no holder of a permit, licence or rating shall exercise the privileges of the permit, licence or rating if
  1. one of the following circumstances exists and could impair the holder's ability to exercise those privileges safely:
    1. the holder suffers from an illness, injury or disability;
    2. the holder is taking a drug; or,
    3. the holder is receiving medical treatment.

Operation

A contract was in place between the Alberta Ministry of Sustainable Resource Development and Remote Helicopters (NWT) Ltd. for helicopter services. The services included, but were not limited to, flights for the monitoring of forests and various forest firefighting activities such as personnel transportation, water bucketing, drip torching, and moving external loads.

Helicopter operations in a forest-fire environment are complex and in a constant state of changing conditions and priorities. This is a stressful environment.

Water bucketing on forest fires is normally done with the bucket clevis attached directly to the belly hook of the helicopter. The bucket is rigged for use with a lateral cargo hook, which was the case for C-GRHM. The correct attachment of the hook is when the name plate on the bucket control head is facing forward. This aligns the ballast pouch of the bucket in a forward direction of flight. However, for this flight, the pilot had attached a longline to the bucket. This allows the bucket to swivel in any direction, requiring a higher skill level when filling the bucket from hovering flight. This method is usually carried out in operations such as when there is a requirement to deposit water into a portable reservoir used by forest firefighting crews on the ground, and the bucket is lowered straight down through trees to the reservoir.

This particular helicopter and pilot had been hired to transport the fire boss to the various fires for assessment purposes, and the pilot had received all the necessary training for this mission. He had already flown in this capacity 6.1 hours on July 2, 7.5 hours on July 3, and 3.5 hours on the day of the accident. At the time of hire, there was no mention by the Alberta Ministry of Sustainable Resource Development that this helicopter and pilot would be required to carry out external load operations. The casual contract with the Alberta Ministry of Sustainable Resource Development (ASRD) indicates, on a minimum mandatory equipment list for rotor wing on fire operations, the many external load equipment pieces that may be required. ASRD expects that both the helicopter and pilot-in-command be equipped and qualified to use the tools at their disposal or advise the on-site supervisor that they cannot carry out the assigned mission.

Section 5.6.31 of the Remote Helicopters (NWT) Ltd. operations manual addresses specialized training. It specifies that "initial/recurrent flight and ground training are required before a pilot is assigned to duties involving specialized techniques, i.e. longline, water bucketing, hover exit, etc." The pilot had not completed this specialized training, nor were all the required forms and/or exams completed. The operator did not have a system in place to ensure that flight crews did not attempt to complete missions or use equipment for which they were not trained.

Analysis

Investigation of the aircraft wreckage and components found no indication of any mechanical malfunction that may have initiated or contributed to the accident sequence. Weather was also not considered to be a factor.

Although the initiating event in the accident sequence could not be determined, it is most likely that the pilot was filling the water bucket near the edge of the lake and drifted toward the shoreline, where the left skid tubes contacted the trees. This then resulted in the loss of control of the aircraft, ending up in a dynamic rollover condition. The damage patterns are consistent with erratic blade movement that resulted in main rotor strikes of the tail boom and torsion shearing of the main rotor mast.

Given the pilot's interaction with the medic and the presence of a Reactine® bottle at the accident site, it is probable that the pilot took some of the medication. It is also probable that allergy symptoms and/or antihistamine effects distracted the pilot from the surrounding obstacles and the complexity of the task. Although there are differing opinions regarding the effects of Reactine®, most of the studies found some central nervous system effects from its use. Those effects could have affected the pilot's ability to stay alert and be aware of all surrounding mission factors. It is up to pilots to evaluate if they are in a safe medical condition to exercise the privileges of their licence.

The extended amount of time taken to set up the water bucket before the occurrence flight could have been caused by a lack of familiarity and/or experience with the equipment. The unusual use of the longline for an operation that did not require it also indicated unfamiliarity with this type of operation. The pilot also had difficulties carrying out the first water pickup just before the accident. Combined, these events indicate that the pilot was likely operating beyond his comfort level. Previous experience and training did not provide sufficient skills and awareness to conduct water bucketing in a very active forest-fire environment.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The pilot undertook a water-bucketing mission for which he did not have the required training and experience.

  2. The pilot engaged in flight operations with pronounced allergy symptoms, which probably contributed to reducing his ability to perform complex multi-task missions.

  3. It is probable that the pilot took a quantity of an allergy medication that could have affected the pilot's ability to stay alert and be aware of all surrounding mission factors.

  4. The operator had no system in place to ensure that flight crews did not undertake missions or use equipment for which they were not trained.

Safety Action Taken

The operator put in place several internal and external audit processes to ensure that pilot training meets all requirements on an ongoing basis. The operator developed a competency card listing all aircraft types and other operations that the individual has been trained on and authorized to perform.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 11 July 2007.


1.   All times are mountain daylight time (Coordinated Universal Time minus six hours).

2.   http://www.toronto.drdc-rddc.gc.ca/medical/meds_e.html, accessed 10 July 2007.

3.   A.N. Nicholson and C. Turner, Central Effects of the H1-Antihistamine, Cetirizine, Aviation, Space, and Environmental Medicine, vol. 69, No. 2, 1998, pp. 166-171.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A06W0106

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Basculement dynamique
de l'hélicoptère Bell 206B C-GRHM
exploité par Remote Helicopters (NWT) Ltd.
à 23 nm au nord-est de Wabasca (Alberta)
le 4 juillet 2006

Résumé

Le pilote de l'hélicoptère Bell 206B de Remote Helicopters (NWT) Ltd. (immatriculation C-GRHM, numéro de série 600) se livrait à des opérations d'écopage dans le cadre de la lutte contre un feu de forêt à environ 23 milles marins au nord-est de Wabasca (Alberta). Vers 16 h, heure avancée des Rocheuses, l'hélicoptère a touché des arbres près d'une rive, s'est disloqué et s'est immobilisé sur le dos. Le pilote, seul à bord, a été mortellement blessé.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Déroulement du vol

Les dossiers indiquent que l'hélicoptère était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. Il ne présentait aucune anomalie connue avant le vol en question. Au moment de l'accident, on estime que la masse de l'hélicoptère se situait sous la limite de la masse brute maximale et que le centre de gravité s'inscrivait dans les limites. Il y avait suffisamment de carburant à bord pour effectuer le vol.

Le jour de l'accident, des observations météorologiques ont été prises à la piste d'atterrissage de Pelican, à trois milles marins (nm) au sud du lieu de l'accident. À 14 h 30, heure avancée des Rocheuses1, la température était de 32 ºC, et le vent soufflait du sud-sud-ouest à 5 mi/h avec des rafales à 15 mi/h. À 17 h 30, la température était de 32 ºC, et le vent soufflait du sud-sud-ouest à 8 mi/h avec des rafales à 14 mi/h.

Le pilote a quitté Wabasca vers 10 h 30 et est arrivé 20 minutes plus tard à l'aérodrome de Pelican (Alberta). Il a alors commencé à déplacer une équipe forestière et du matériel, et a totalisé 3,5 heures de vol pour la journée.

On a remarqué que le pilote souffrait de symptômes apparentés à une allergie. Vers 14 h, il a consulté le médecin du camp pour obtenir quelque chose pour ses symptômes d'allergie, et on lui a remis un flacon de Reactine® (pilules de 10 mg). Il a pris deux pilules avec lui et a remis le flacon. L'étiquette sur le flacon comprenait un avertissement mettant en garde les utilisateurs lorsqu'ils opéraient des véhicules car le médicament pouvait causer de la somnolence. Un autre flacon (Reactine® 10 mg) a été retrouvé sur le lieu de l'accident, et il ne contenait qu'une pilule.

Vers 15 h 19, alors que C-GRHM se trouvait au sol à Pelican, on a demandé à C-GRHM d'assurer l'écopage pour le Feu 127. Le pilote et deux agents forestiers ont préparé l'hélicoptère et le matériel d'élingage pour le vol prévu. Le raccordement de l'élingue à la citerne d'eau et la dépose de la porte droite du pilote ont nécessité 30 minutes. Selon les normes de l'industrie, de 10 à 15 minutes sont considérées comme étant amplement de temps pour effectuer cette tâche. La dépose d'une porte est une pratique courante lorsqu'il s'agit de se préparer à des opérations d'élingage, car elle facilite la surveillance de la charge externe.

Le pilote a quitté Pelican à 15 h 50 et il s'est rendu au Feu 127. Une fois le pilote rendu, ses largages d'eau ont été dirigés par l'officier de lutte contre les incendies se trouvant dans C-FALP, un deuxième Bell 206. Le pilote a eu de la difficulté à écoper la première charge d'eau. Une fois que la première charge d'eau a été larguée sur le feu, C-FALP a escorté C-GRHM sur la moitié du trajet de retour au lac qui était utilisé pour l'écopage.

Vers 16 h 8, le pilote de C-FALP n'a pas été en mesure de communiquer avec C-GRHM sur n'importe laquelle des trois fréquences radio utilisées. L'équipage de C-FALP a localisé l'hélicoptère accidenté au sol, le long de la rive ouest du lac utilisé pour l'écopage. Le pilote de C-FALP a envoyé un MAYDAY et est allé se poser près du lieu de l'accident où l'officier des opérations de lutte contre les incendies se trouvait, et il a noté que le pilote était décédé.

Renseignements sur l'épave et l'impact

L'épave de l'hélicoptère a été retrouvée par 56º 13' 61" de latitude N et 113º 18' 191" de longitude W, le long de la rive ouest du lac utilisé pour l'écopage. Elle reposait sur le dos et sur le côté gauche du toit, au milieu d'une bande défrichée. L'hélicoptère se trouvait à environ 54 pieds du bord du lac et orienté parallèlement à la rive (160ºM).

Une élingue de 50 pieds qui avait été fixée à la citerne était lâche, relativement en droite ligne de la chape de la citerne au crochet ventral de l'hélicoptère. La chape de la citerne était détachée du crochet de l'élingue, et on n'a trouvé aucune explication à ce sujet. Le crochet a été testé sur place et plus tard par le fabricant. Il a fonctionné normalement lors des deux essais.

La citerne a été retrouvée sur la rive, et sa soupape de largage a été retrouvée en position ouverte. La citerne fait 14 pieds de longueur une fois suspendue. La soupape de largage se referme normalement de façon automatique au moyen d'un câble tendu lorsqu'une charge est suspendue, et elle demeure ouverte si aucune charge n'est suspendue. La citerne a été testée après l'accident, et elle a fonctionné normalement.

Des arbres ont été endommagés entre la rive et la bande défrichée, et il y avait des marques de patin d'atterrissage sur l'écorce des arbres bordant la bande défrichée où l'hélicoptère a fini par s'immobiliser. Ces marques se trouvaient du côté des arbres orienté vers le lac. Une cime d'arbre s'est rompue sous une charge de déformation. Il y avait des indices selon lesquels, durant la séquence de dislocation, les pales du rotor de queue avaient heurté quelques arbres et des broussailles entre le lac et la bande défrichée.

Il y avait des marques au sol et des indications sur les composants témoignant que le moteur tournait à puissance élevée au moment de l'impact et qu'il a continué à fonctionner pendant une brève période après l'impact.

Plusieurs marques de pales de rotor principal ont été retrouvées. L'une d'elles se trouvait sur la poutre-fuselage de l'hélicoptère, tout juste derrière le stabilisateur, à l'endroit où la poutre-fuselage a été sectionnée. La deuxième marque d'impact se trouvait sur le côté droit de la cabine, au montant de porte du pilote. La dernière marque d'impact se trouvait au sol, immédiatement devant le fuselage. Ce dernier point tenait la plus grande partie d'une pale horizontale et parallèle au sol, labourant le sol sur environ huit pouces de profondeur. Cette pale était intacte et fixée à la tête et au tourillon du rotor principal. L'autre pale était gravement endommagée et elle présentait des traces d'impact(s) à haute puissance. Le mât avait été cisaillé tout juste sous le tourillon, avec des traces d'un grave cognement du mât par les deux côtés des butées d'affaissement du tourillon.

Pilote

Le pilote était titulaire d'une licence valide de pilote professionnel d'hélicoptère avec annotations pour cinq types d'hélicoptère différents. Son dernier examen médical remontait au 26 mars 2006. Les dossiers indiquent qu'il totalisait 2000 heures de vol, dont 800 sur Bell 206. Sa dernière vérification de compétence pilote sur Bell 206 avait eu lieu le 31 mars 2006 avec son employeur précédent. Une vérification en vol initiale selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR) avait été exécutée avec Remote Helicopters (NWT) Ltd., le 27 juin 2006, et il avait subi un examen écrit sur les charges externes.

Selon son livret de pilote, ce dernier avait approximativement 100 heures d'expérience à l'élingue et 40 heures avec des charges suspendues. Le pilote n'avait pas été formé ni autorisé à effectuer des opérations d'écopage par son employeur précédent ni par Remote Helicopters (NWT) Ltd. Rien n'indique qu'il avait de l'expérience dans l'écopage.

Les rapports toxicologiques du médecin légiste ont indiqué la présence d'un stéroïde anabolisant, mais son effet possible n'a pu être déterminé. Le bureau du médecin légiste et Transports Canada ont déclaré que le médicament antihistaminique Reactine® était un nouveau type de médicament qui causait rarement la somnolence.

Le Guide pour les médecins examinateurs de l'aviation civile de Transports Canada ne contient aucune ligne directrice sur des types précis d'antihistaminiques dont l'administration peut ou ne peut pas être acceptable chez le personnel navigant. Toutefois, les Directives à l'intention des médecins de l'air : Médicaments et personnel navigant2 indiquent que Reactine® peut causer de la somnolence et des effets secondaires sur le système nerveux central et que, de ce fait, il n'est pas recommandé pour le personnel navigant.

Nicholson et Turner (1998)3 ont effectué une étude visant à examiner les effets de la cétirizine (nom générique pour Reactine®) sur le rendement. L'étude a examiné des mesures, notamment le comportement pour une tâche de poursuite, le comportement pour une tâche de vigilance, la latence du sommeil, et des évaluations subjectives de somnolence. On a découvert que la cétirizine avait des effets sur le système nerveux central, en ce que des sujets prenant ce médicament avaient signalé une plus grande somnolence, présentaient une plus courte latence du sommeil et qu'ils exécutaient moins bien une tâche de poursuite à des moments précis de la journée. L'étude a conclu que la cétirizine ne devrait pas être administrée au personnel navigant.

Le paragraphe 404.06(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien stipule en partie que :

il est interdit au titulaire d'un permis, d'une licence ou d'une qualification d'exercer les avantages du permis, de la licence ou de la qualification si, selon le cas :
  1. une des circonstances suivantes se produit et peut réduire la capacité du titulaire à exercer en toute sécurité ces avantages :
    1. le titulaire souffre d'une maladie, d'une blessure ou d'une invalidité,
    2. le titulaire prend une drogue,
    3. le titulaire reçoit un traitement médical.

Exploitation

Il y avait un contrat de services d'hélicoptère entre le ministère albertain du développement durable des ressources et Remote Helicopters (NWT) Ltd. Les services comprenaient, sans s'y limiter, des vols de surveillance des forêts et diverses activités de lutte contre les feux de forêt, comme le transport de personnes, l'écopage, l'allumage de contre-feux et le déplacement de charges externes.

Les vols d'hélicoptère dans un environnement de feux de forêt sont complexes et assujettis à un changement constant de conditions et de priorités. C'est un environnement très stressant.

L'écopage de feux de forêt se fait normalement au moyen d'une chape de citerne fixée directement au crochet ventral de l'hélicoptère. La citerne est réglée pour utilisation au moyen d'un crochet délesteur latéral, ce qui était le cas de C-GRHM. Le crochet est bien fixé lorsque la plaque signalétique de la tête de commande de la citerne fait face à l'avant. De cette façon, le sac de lest de la citerne est aligné dans le sens du vol vers l'avant. Toutefois, pour le vol en question, le pilote avait fixé une élingue à la citerne. La citerne pouvait donc pivoter dans toutes les directions, ce qui demandait des habiletés plus élevées lorsqu'on écopait en vol stationnaire. Cette méthode est habituellement utilisée lorsqu'il faut déposer de l'eau dans un réservoir portable dont se servent les équipes de sapeurs-pompiers au sol; la citerne est alors abaissée directement à travers les arbres jusqu'au réservoir.

Les services de l'hélicoptère et du pilote en question avaient été retenus pour transporter le chef de lutte vers divers feux de forêt pour évaluation, et le pilote avait reçu toute la formation nécessaire pour la mission. Il avait déjà volé à ce titre 6,1 heures le 2 juillet, 2,75 heures le 3 juillet et 3,5 heures le jour de l'accident. Au moment où ses services avaient été retenus, le ministère albertain du développement durable des ressources n'avait pas mentionné que l'hélicoptère et son pilote devaient effectuer le transport de charges extérieures. Le contrat général avec le ministère albertain du développement durable des ressources indique, sur une liste minimale d'équipement obligatoire pour les hélicoptères affectés aux opérations de lutte contre les feux de forêt, les nombreuses pièces d'équipement pour charge externe qui pourraient être nécessaires. Le ministère s'attend à ce que l'hélicoptère soit équipé, et le pilote, qualifié dans l'utilisation des outils à sa disposition ou avise le superviseur sur place qu'il ne peut s'acquitter de la mission qui lui est confiée.

L'article 5.6.31 du manuel d'exploitation de Remote Helicopters (NWT) Ltd. porte sur la formation spécialisée. Il précise que la formation au sol et en vol initiales et périodiques sont requises avant qu'un pilote soit affecté à des tâches faisant appel à des techniques spécialisées, c.-à-d. élingage, écopage, débarquement en stationnaire, etc. Le pilote n'avait pas suivi cette formation spécialisée, et les formulaires ou examens requis n'avaient pas été rédigés. L'exploitant ne disposait pas d'un système en place visant à assurer que les équipages de conduite n'entreprenaient pas de mission ni n'utilisaient d'équipement pour lesquels ils n'avaient pas été formés.

Analyse

L'examen de l'épave et des composants de l'hélicoptère n'a permis de découvrir aucun signe de défaillance mécanique qui aurait pu amorcer la séquence d'accident ou y contribuer. Les conditions météorologiques n'ont pas été considérées comme un facteur non plus.

Bien qu'il n'ait pas été possible de déterminer quel avait été l'élément déclencheur de la séquence d'accident, selon toute probabilité, le pilote écopait la citerne près du bord du lac et il a dérivé vers la rive où les tubes du patin gauche ont accroché les arbres. Il s'en est suivi une perte de maîtrise de l'hélicoptère, laquelle s'est terminée par un basculement dynamique. Les types de dommages correspondent à des mouvements de pale erratiques, ce qui a amené le rotor principal à heurter la poutre-fuselage et à causer un cisaillement en torsion du mât du rotor principal.

Compte tenu de l'interaction entre le pilote et le médecin ainsi que de la présence du flacon de Reactine® sur les lieux de l'accident, il est probable que le pilote a pris le médicament. Il est aussi probable que les symptômes d'allergie ou les effets de l'antihistamine, ou les deux, ont distrait le pilote des obstacles environnants et de la complexité de la tâche. Biens que les opinions divergent sur les effets du médicament Reactine®, la plupart des études ont montré que son utilisation entraînait certains effets sur le système nerveux central. Ces effets pourraient avoir compromis la capacité du pilote à demeurer alerte et à être conscient de tous les facteurs entourant la mission. Il incombe aux pilotes d'évaluer s'ils sont en bonne santé pour exercer les avantages de leur licence.

Le long temps pris pour installer la citerne avant le vol en question pourrait avoir été causé par un manque de familiarisation ou d'expérience avec l'équipement. L'utilisation inhabituelle d'une élingue pour une opération qui n'en avait pas besoin dénote un manque de familiarisation avec ce type d'opération. Le pilote a aussi eu de la difficulté à exécuter le premier écopage, tout juste avant l'accident. Combinés, ces événements indiquent que le pilote travaillait dans des conditions dépassant son niveau de confort. Sa formation et son expérience antérieures ne lui ont pas donné des habiletés ni une sensibilisation suffisantes pour effectuer de l'écopage lors d'un feu de forêt très actif.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Le pilote a entrepris une mission d'écopage pour lequel il n'avait ni la formation ni l'expérience requises.

  2. Le pilote a entrepris un vol alors qu'il souffrait de symptômes d'allergie prononcés, ce qui a probablement contribué à réduire sa capacité à exécuter des missions à tâches multiples complexes.

  3. Il est probable que le pilote a absorbé un médicament contre les allergies en quantité qui aurait pu compromettre sa capacité à demeurer alerte et vigilant à tous les facteurs entourant la mission.

  4. L'exploitant n'avait aucun système en place pour assurer que les équipages de conduite n'entreprenaient pas des missions ni n'utilisaient de l'équipement pour lesquels ils n'étaient pas formés.

Mesures de sécurité prises

L'exploitant a mis en place plusieurs processus de vérification internes et externes pour assurer que la formation des pilotes réponde à toutes les exigences de façon continue. L'exploitant a produit une carte de compétence indiquant tous les types d'aéronef et les autres opérations pour lesquels la personne avait été formée et qu'elle était autorisée à exécuter.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 11 juillet 2007.


1.   Les heures sont exprimées en heure avancée des Rocheuses (temps universel coordonné moins six heures).

2.   http://www.toronto.drdc-rddc.gc.ca/medical/meds_f.pdf, consulté le 10 juillet 2007.

3.   A.N. Nicholson et C. Turner, Central Effects of the H1-Antihistamine, Cetirizine, Aviation, Space, and Environmental Medicine, vol. 69, No. 2, 1998, pp. 166-171.