Aviation Investigation Report A07A0025

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.


Loss of Separation
Serco Facilities Management Inc.
Goose Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador
13 March 2007

Summary

Air traffic control services at Goose Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador, are provided by Serco Facilities Management Inc., a company under contract to the Department of National Defence. The inbound Prince Edward Air Beech 1900, operating as Comet 9732, was descending from flight level 210 through 13 000 feet, approximately 65 nautical miles (nm) west of Goose Bay. An outbound Air Labrador de Havilland DHC-8, operating as Labair 8301, was in level cruise flight at 12 000 feet when the crew received a traffic alert and collision-avoidance system resolution advisory. The two aircraft passed each other 50 nm west of Goose Bay with approximately 1.8 nm lateral and 300 feet vertical spacing, where 3 nm lateral or 1000 feet vertical spacing is required. Weather at the time was clear with unlimited visibility. Both aircraft were flying under instrument flight rules, and under the control of Goose Bay terminal control.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

At 1225:31 Coordinated Universal Time (UTC),1 Labair 8301 (LAL8301) took off from Goose Bay en route to Wabush and was assigned a heading of 290º magnetic (M), and cleared to climb to 12 000 feet. At 1226:26, Speedair 7901 (SPD7901), a Saab 340, reported airborne off Goose Bay Runway 26 also en route to Wabush, maintaining runway heading (259ºM) and climbing to flight level (FL) 200. The separation standard in use for the departure was in accordance with Section 531.2A of the NAV CANADA Air Traffic Control Manual of Operations (ATC MANOPS) as adopted by the Canadian Forces. The aircraft were radar-identified after take off within 1 nm of the end of the runway. Radar separation was established from that point by having SPD7901 maintain a runway heading that diverged from the track of LAL8301. Radar separation required in the Goose Bay terminal area is 3 nm. This separation standard was established and maintained between LAL8301 and SPD7901 as they climbed outbound to Wabush.

At 1231:49, Comet 9732 (CME9732), inbound to Goose Bay from Wabush, contacted Goose Bay terminal control, reporting level at FL 210. This cargo flight had departed Wabush about one-half hour earlier than normal, and was not usually in Goose Bay terminal airspace at the same time as were these outbound scheduled flights. The controller issued a descent clearance to 6000 feet and advised the crew to begin descent soon because of the outbound traffic from Goose Bay. CME9732 started descent immediately. The separation plan was to descend CME9732 below the altitude of the two outbound aircraft so that, by the time they were within 3 nm horizontally on their reciprocal tracks, at least 1000 feet of vertical separation would be in force. The plan was initiated when the controller issued the descent clearance to CME9732. All that remained to be done was to monitor the progress of the three aircraft to ensure that the plan evolved as desired.

Approximately three minutes later, at 1234:47, CME9732 requested the altitudes of the opposite direction traffic. The controller replied that one was level at 12 000 feet (LAL8301) and the other was through 13 000 feet, climbing to FL 210. SPD7901 had actually been cleared to FL 200, not FL 210.

At 1235:37, the controller dealt with another aircraft operating in the vicinity of Goose Bay. At 1239:26, the controller's attention was drawn back to the west, when the crew of SPD7901 requested a change in final altitude from FL 200 to 16 000 feet. The controller noted that SPD7901 was now above the altitude of CME9732 (which was noted to be below 16 000 feet), and issued descent clearance to 16 000 feet to SPD7901. No mention was made of the whereabouts of LAL8301, nor did the controller notice the proximity of CME9732 and LAL8301.

At 1239:40, after deviating in response to a traffic alert and collision-avoidance system (TCAS) resolution advisory (RA), the crew members of LAL8301 contacted Goose Bay terminal asking if there was other traffic in the area, adding that they were showing traffic on the TCAS.

Figure 1. Aircraft positions at 1239:56
Figure 1. Aircraft positions at 1239:56

The controller immediately issued a left turn of approximately 30º to LAL8301, followed by an instruction to CME9732 to fly a heading of 080º. The crew of CME9732 reported LAL8301 in sight passing on the right, and the crew of LAL8301 reported CME9732 in sight. At the point of closest approach, the two aircraft had about 300 feet vertical and 1.8 nm horizontal spacing.

There is no conflict warning capability on the Goose Bay radar equipment. There were no impediments to visibility.

The controller had 14 years of experience in air traffic control and had been qualified in the Goose Bay terminal control position for three years. The controller was on the first day of work after four days off, was well rested, and had been on duty for about one hour.

CME9732 was operating in a cargo configuration and was not equipped with TCAS, nor was it required to be.

In 1995, the Transport Canada Director of Air Traffic Services issued one of a series of air traffic services safety bulletins entitled Squawk 7700.2 These bulletins are intended to remind controllers of topical safety issues, and are available and distributed together with other publications with the current issue of the ATC MANOPS on compact disc. The title of Squawk 7700 number 9501 is "Reciprocal Track Syndrome." It describes one of the flaws in the "Plan - Execute - Monitor" cycle as it applies to the resolution of altitude changes for aircraft on reciprocal tracks. In the example cited in the article, the author notes that:

. . . all involved aircraft . . . were radar identified and being provided with radar service. The specific conflict situations were recognized and the PLANned (sic) solutions were simple; clear A to climb/descend through the altitude of B who was on a reciprocal track and watch (MONITOR) the progress carefully.

Unfortunately, the intention to MONITOR, if not supported by any triggering event (altitude report, distance check, etc.) that allows time to initiate an alternate PLAN if things aren't going well, is of no benefit if memory fails or one succumbs to distraction.

. . . The head-on (reciprocal track) situation is very unforgiving. Many controllers are getting trapped by a separation PLAN that has no alerting check points and no escape route. Built in checks or an offset track may prevent the worst from happening if you forget to watch or become distracted.

In Aviation Investigation Report A01W0160, the TSB determined that

The . . . controller lost situational awareness when his attention became focused on separating two of the five aircraft in his sector, to the detriment of seeing and resolving another separation problem involving [another aircraft].

There are no air traffic control procedures in place that require controllers to indicate potential conflicts on the radar display in a standard manner, similar to that required for flight progress strips. This increases the risk that controllers will forget about a conflict because it may not be evident on the radar display.

Furthermore, in Aviation Investigation Report A01P0127, the TSB determined that there is

. . . an increased risk in directing altitude changes while vectoring aircraft on reciprocal tracks. This type of control plan is considered . . . to be very unforgiving; it increases a controller's monitoring requirement, increases the risk of error from distraction, and makes recovery from any potential error more difficult.

The controller did not ensure that vertical separation was established before lateral separation was lost.

There is no regulation or separation standard within the ATC MANOPS, the Canadian Aviation Regulations, or Goose Bay local operating procedures that requires controllers to insert a triggering event, closer in time or space to the potential conflict, to remind them that the plan must be closely monitored and an alternate plan implemented if required.

Section 902.5 of the ATC MANOPS requires the use of warning indicators on the appropriate flight data strip(s) to identify any conflict between aircraft. These warning indicators consist of a red "W" posted on the appropriate flight data strip(s). They are used to attract controller attention to potentially hazardous or critical situations. No warning indicators were posted on the flight data strips to remind the controller of the potential conflict. The electronic target marker (range/bearing line) on the radar display, which can also be used to identify those aircraft requiring specific attention, was not activated by the controller.

Analysis

Though there was not normally a conflict between these flights because of their different schedules, the controller was aware that the descending aircraft and the two outbound climbing aircraft would need to be separated.

There were sufficient cues offered to the controller to continue to be aware of the potential conflict among the three aircraft. CME9732 asked for the altitudes of the outbound aircraft, requiring the controller to note the positions and altitudes of the three aircraft. Later, SPD7901 requested 16 000 feet as a final altitude, which required the controller to refocus attention to the situation and realize that one altitude conflict had been resolved exactly as it had been planned when CME9732 descended below the altitude of the outbound SPD7901. However, the partial success of the separation plan may have detracted from the realization that there remained yet another altitude conflict to resolve.

The following combination of factors played a role in this occurrence:

  • the aircraft were established on reciprocal tracks;
  • no vectors or offset headings were given to ensure lateral separation;
  • no triggering events or alerting check points were used as reminders;
  • there was no conflict warning capability on the Goose Bay radar equipment; and
  • no warning indicators were posted on the flight strips.

A separation plan that depends entirely upon memory as a defence in a conflict situation is subject to the dangers of memory failure or distraction. A multi-aircraft plan that provides a partial solution, but that requires further monitoring for complete success is even more subject to error because there may be a sense that the strategy has already been successful.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The controller created the memory-dependent conflict condition when the descent clearance was given to CME9732.
  2. In successfully resolving one conflict using the separation plan, as originally devised, the controller did not remember that there were two potential conflicts in the original plan, and did not take action to resolve the second conflict.

Finding as to Risk

  1. There is no conflict warning capability on the Goose Bay radar equipment. Such equipment could have given early warning of the loss of separation.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 13 February 2008.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A07A0025

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte d'espacement
mettant en cause l'entreprise Serco Facilities Management Inc.
à Goose Bay (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)
le 13 mars 2007

Résumé

Les services de contrôle de la circulation aérienne à Goose Bay (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador) sont fournis par Serco Facilities Management Inc., une entreprise sous contrat avec le ministère de la Défense nationale. Le Beech 1900 de la compagnie Prince Edward Air, portant l'indicatif de vol Comet 9732, en rapprochement, descend du niveau de vol 210 et passe 13 000 pieds à environ 65 milles marins (nm) à l'ouest de Goose Bay. Le Havilland DHC-8 de la compagnie Air Labrador, portant l'indicatif de vol Labair 8301, en éloignement, vole en palier à 12 000 pieds lorsque l'équipage reçoit un avis de résolution du système de surveillance du trafic et d'évitement des collisions. Les deux avions se croisent à 50 nm à l'ouest de Goose Bay avec un espacement d'environ 1,8 nm sur le plan latéral et 300 pieds sur le plan vertical, là où l'espacement requis est de 3 nm sur le plan latéral ou 1000 pieds sur le plan vertical. Au moment de l'incident, le ciel est clair et la visibilité est illimitée. Les deux avions volent selon les règles de vol aux instruments et sont sous le contrôle du contrôle terminal de Goose Bay.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

À 12 h 25 min 31, temps universel coordonné (UTC)1, Labair 8301 (LAL8301) a décollé de Goose Bay en direction de Wabush. On lui a assigné un cap de 290º magnétiques (M) et on l'a autorisé à monter jusqu'à 12 000 pieds (pi). À 12 h 26 min 26, Speedair 7901 (SPD7901), un Saab 340, a signalé qu'il venait de décoller de la piste 26 de Goose Bay en direction lui aussi de Wabush, qu'il maintenait le cap de la piste (259 ºM) et qu'il montait au niveau de vol (FL) 200. L'espacement réglementaire utilisé pour le départ était conforme l'article 531.2A du Manuel d'exploitation du contrôle de la circulation aérienne (MANOPS ATC) de NAV CANADA utilisé par les Forces canadiennes. Les avions ont été identifiés au radar après le décollage à moins de 1 nm de l'extrémité de la piste. L'espacement radar a été établi à partir de ce point en demandant à SPD7901 de maintenir le cap de la piste, qui était différent de la trajectoire de LAL8301. L'espacement radar requis dans la région de contrôle terminal de Goose Bay est de 3 nm. Cet espacement a été établi et maintenu entre LAL8301 et SPD7901 pendant leur montée en direction de Wabush.

À 12 h 31 min 49, Comet 9732 (CME9732), qui était en route de Wabush à Goose Bay, a communiqué avec le contrôle terminal de Goose Bay pour signaler qu'il se trouvait au FL 210. Ce vol de transport de marchandises avait quitté Wabush environ une demi-heure plus tôt que d'habitude. Il n'était donc pas habituel qu'il se trouve dans l'espace aérien du contrôle terminal de Goose Bay au même moment que les vols réguliers au départ. Le contrôleur a donné l'autorisation de descendre à 6000 pi et a dit à l'équipage de commencer à descendre bientôt en raison du trafic en provenance de Goose Bay. CME9732 a immédiatement commencé à descendre. Le plan d'espacement consistait à faire descendre CME9732 à une altitude inférieure à celle des deux avions au départ afin que, au moment où ces avions se trouveraient à moins de 3 nm de CME9732 sur le plan horizontal sur leurs trajectoires respectives, l'espacement soit d'au moins 1000 pi sur le plan vertical. Le plan a été mis en œuvre au moment où le contrôleur a donné l'autorisation de descendre à CME9732. Il restait maintenant à surveiller l'évolution des trois avions afin de s'assurer que le plan s'exécute comme prévu.

Environ trois minutes plus tard, à 12 h 34 min 47, CME9732 a demandé les altitudes des avions volant en direction opposée. Le contrôleur a répondu qu'un avion était en palier à 12 000 pi (LAL8301) et que l'autre montait vers le FL 210 et qu'il venait de passer 13 000 pi. SPD7901 avait en fait reçu l'autorisation de se rendre au FL 200 et non au FL 210.

À 12 h 35 min 37, le contrôleur s'est occupé d'un autre avion qui se trouvait près de Goose Bay. À 12 h 39 min 26, le contrôleur a reporté son attention vers l'ouest lorsque l'équipage de SPD7901 a demandé de prendre comme altitude finale 16 000 pi plutôt que le FL 200. Le contrôleur a constaté que SPD7901 se trouvait maintenant à une altitude supérieure à celle de CME9732 (qui se trouvait à moins de 16 000 pi) et il a autorisé SPD7901 à descendre à 16 000 pi. Il n'a été fait aucune mention de la position de LAL8301, et le contrôleur n'a pas remarqué que CME9732 et LAL8301 étaient près l'un de l'autre.

À 12 h 39 min 40, après avoir modifié leur trajectoire en réponse à un avis de résolution du système de surveillance du trafic et d'évitement des collisions (TCAS), les membres d'équipage de LAL8301 ont communiqué avec le contrôle terminal de Goose Bay afin de demander s'il y avait d'autres avions dans le secteur en précisant que le TCAS indiquait la présence d'autres appareils.

Figure 1. Position des avions à 12 h 39 min 56
Figure 1. Position des avions à 12 h 39 min 56

Le contrôleur a immédiatement ordonné à LAL8301 d'effectuer un virage à gauche d'environ 30º puis à CME9732 de prendre le cap 80º. L'équipage de CME9732 a signalé que LAL8301 était en vue sur la droite et l'équipage de LAL8301 a signalé que CME9732 était en vue. Au moment où l'espacement a été le plus faible, les deux avions se sont trouvés à environ 300 pi sur le plan vertical et 1,8 nm sur le plan horizontal l'un de l'autre.

Le radar de Goose Bay n'a pas de fonction d'avertissement de conflit. Il n'y avait aucun obstacle à la visibilité.

Le contrôleur possédait 14 ans d'expérience en qualité de contrôleur de la circulation aérienne et il était qualifié depuis trois ans pour travailler au poste de contrôle terminal de Goose Bay. Il revenait d'un congé de quatre jours, il était bien reposé et il était en service depuis environ une heure.

CME9732 était exploité en configuration cargo, il n'était pas équipé d'un TCAS et il n'était pas tenu de l'être.

En 1995, le directeur des Services de la circulation aérienne de Transports Canada a publié un des bulletins de sécurité des Services de la circulation aérienne intitulés Squawk 77002. Ces bulletins visent à rappeler aux contrôleurs les mesures de sécurité courantes, et ils sont offerts et distribués, de même que d'autres publications, avec la version actuelle des MANOPS ATC sur disque compact. Le titre du bulletin Squawk 7700 numéro 9501 est « Le syndrome de la trajectoire inverse ». Il décrit une des erreurs des phases de planification, d'exécution et de surveillance en ce qui a trait à la résolution des changements d'altitude d'avions qui se trouvent sur des trajectoires inverses. Dans l'exemple cité dans l'article, l'auteur précise ceci :

. . . des aéronefs qui étaient identifiés radar et à qui un service radar était fourni. Les situations spécifiques de conflit étaient connues et les solutions PLANIFIÉES étaient simples : autoriser A à monter/descendre au travers de l'altitude de B qui était sur une trajectoire inverse, et SURVEILLER l'évolution attentivement.

Malheureusement, l'intention de SURVEILLER, si elle n'est pas rattachée à un événement de rappel (compte rendu d'altitude, vérification de distance, etc.) qui permet d'initier un PLAN alternatif si les événements ne fonctionnement pas comme prévus, ne donnera pas les bénéfices escomptés si la mémoire flanche ou si l'on succombe à la distraction.

. . . Une situation de face-à-face (trajectoire inverse) est sans pitié. Plusieurs contrôleurs se font prendre par un PLAN d'espacement qui n'a aucun point de vérification d'alerte ou de sortie de secours. Des vérifications systématiques ou une trajectoire décalée peut prévenir le pire si vous oubliez de surveiller ou êtes distrait.

Dans le rapport d'enquête aéronautique no A01W0160, le BST a déterminé que :

Le contrôleur . . . a perdu la vue d'ensemble de la situation lorsque son attention s'est concentrée sur le problème d'espacement de deux des cinq appareils présents dans son secteur, et ce, au détriment d'un autre problème d'espacement, avec [un autre appareil] qu'il n'a ni décelé ni résolu.

Aucune procédure de contrôle de la circulation aérienne n'exige que les contrôleurs indiquent les conflits possibles sur l'écran radar de façon normalisée, comme c'est le cas pour les fiches de progression de vol. Cet état de fait accroît les risques qu'un contrôleur oublie un conflit parce que ce dernier n'est pas manifeste sur l'écran radar.

De plus, dans le rapport d'enquête aéronautique no A01P0127, le BST a déterminé qu'il y avait :

. . . des risques plus grands . . . à ordonner des changements d'altitude à des appareils sous guidage radar qui suivent des trajectoires inverses. Au niveau du contrôle . . . on considère qu'un tel plan ne pardonne pas la moindre erreur, car il impose au contrôleur une surveillance accrue, il augmente le risque d'erreur due à la distraction et il rend toute erreur potentielle beaucoup plus difficile à corriger.

Le contrôleur ne s'est pas assuré de la présence d'un espacement vertical avant la perte de l'espacement latéral.

Aucune règle ni aucune norme d'espacement dans les MANOPS ATC, le Règlement de l'Aviation canadien ou les procédures d'exploitation locales de Goose Bay exige que les contrôleurs indiquent un événement de rappel, plus rapproché dans le temps et l'espace du conflit potentiel, afin de ne pas oublier que le plan doit être surveillé de près et qu'un plan de rechange doit être mis en œuvre, au besoin.

L'article 902.5 du MANOPS ATC exige que des indicateurs d'avertissement (« W » rouge) soient tracés sur les fiches de progression de vol appropriées pour identifier tout conflit entre aéronefs. Ces indicateurs d'avertissement servent à attirer l'attention du contrôleur sur une situation potentiellement dangereuse ou critique. Aucun indicateur d'avertissement n'a été tracé sur les fiches de progression de vol pour rappeler au contrôleur le conflit potentiel. Le contrôleur n'a pas non plus actionné le marqueur de cible électronique (ligne de direction/de relèvement) de l'affichage radar, qui peut aussi être utilisé pour identifier les aéronefs qui nécessitent une attention particulière.

Analyse

Même s'il n'y avait généralement aucun conflit entre ces vols en raison de leur horaire différent, le contrôleur était conscient que l'avion en descente et les deux avions en montée auraient besoin d'être espacés.

Le contrôleur avait eu suffisamment d'indications pour ne pas perdre de vue le conflit potentiel entre ces trois avions. CME9732 a demandé les altitudes des deux avions au départ, ce qui a forcé le contrôleur à noter les positions et les altitudes des trois avions. Plus tard, SPD7901 a demandé une altitude finale de 16 000 pi, ce qui a obligé le contrôleur à reporter son attention sur la situation et à se rendre compte qu'un conflit d'altitude avait été réglé, comme cela avait été planifié, au moment où CME9732 était descendu à une altitude inférieure à celle de SPD7901 au départ. Par contre, le succès partiel du plan d'espacement a peut être empêché le contrôleur de se rendre compte qu'il y avait un autre conflit d'espacement à résoudre.

La combinaison de facteurs ci-dessous à contribué à l'incident :

  • les avions se trouvaient sur des trajectoires inverses;
  • aucun vecteur ni changement de cap n'a été donné pour assurer un espacement sur le plan latéral;
  • aucun événement de rappel ni point de vérification d'alerte n'a été utilisé comme aide-mémoire;
  • il n'y avait pas de fonction d'avertissement de conflit sur le radar de Goose Bay;
  • aucun indicateur d'avertissement n'a été tracé sur les fiches de progression de vol.

Un plan d'espacement qui s'appuie uniquement sur la mémoire pour régler une situation de conflit risque de faire l'objet d'oublis ou de distractions. Un plan à plusieurs aéronefs qui fournit une solution partielle mais qui exige une surveillance supplémentaire pour être mené à bien risque encore plus d'être source d'erreurs, car il peut donner le sentiment que la stratégie a déjà porté fruit.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Le contrôleur a créé une situation de conflit qui faisait appel à sa mémoire lorsqu'il a donné à CME9732 l'autorisation de descendre.
  2. En réussissant à résoudre un conflit grâce au plan d'espacement élaboré à l'origine, le contrôleur a oublié qu'il y avait deux conflits potentiels dans le plan d'origine et il n'a pas pris les mesures qui s'imposaient pour résoudre le second conflit.

Fait établi quant aux risques

  1. Le radar de Goose Bay n'a pas de fonction d'avertissement de conflit. Une telle fonction aurait pu déceler rapidement la perte d'espacement.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 13 février 2008.