Aviation Investigation Report A07C0082

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.


Loss of Control - Collision with Terrain
Chimo Air Service
Cessna 180 C-FDNZ
Miller Lake, Ontario
17 May 2007

Summary

The float-equipped Cessna 180J (registration C-FDNZ, serial number 3004) was en route from Miller Lake, Ontario, to Roderick Lake, Ontario, returning from a series of camp re-supply and maintenance flights. The aircraft was reported as missing at 2130 central daylight time when it did not arrive at Roderick Lake. Search and rescue personnel discovered the wreckage in a wooded area near the shoreline of Miller Lake. The pilot had sustained fatal injuries. The single passenger was trapped in the wreckage and had sustained serious injuries. The aircraft was substantially damaged.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot held a valid Canadian commercial pilot licence, which was endorsed for seaplane operations, and was qualified and fit to act as pilot-in-command of C-FDNZ. The pilot's total flight time was 382 hours, including 138 hours of seaplane flight time, 123 hours of which were on the Cessna 180 aircraft type. He had flown approximately nine hours in the preceding week and had started work at 0700 central daylight time1 on the day of the accident.

The nearest recorded weather was for the Red Lake Airport, Ontario, and the weather recorded at 1500 was as follows: wind 230º magnetic (M) at 13 knots gusting to 20 knots variable from 180º to 260º, visibility 15 statute miles, few clouds at 21 000 feet, few clouds at 23 000 feet, temperature 19ºC, dew point -1ºC, altimeter setting 29.94 inches. The wind conditions in the area of Miller Lake were reported as high and extremely gusty, which could have produced low-level windshear.2 When aircraft encounter low-altitude windshear at low airspeeds (such as shortly after take-off), the potential for a wing stall increases.

C-FDNZ was a commercially registered aircraft and was required to be maintained in accordance with an approved maintenance control system by the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs).3 A review of the aircraft's records indicated that it had been maintained on an annual inspection program, which was not approved as part of the operator's maintenance control system.

Although it was commercially registered, C-FDNZ was not used to transport revenue passengers or freight. It was used solely to carry out camp maintenance and supply functions. The camp maintenance flights were dispatched on an as-required basis. The flight itineraries for camp maintenance were non-specific as to the time and duration of each flight and were accomplished by specifying an estimated time of arrival (ETA) for the day's final destination.

On the day of the occurrence, the pilot of C-FDNZ departed Red Lake to complete a series of flights for the purpose of checking the operator's boat caches north of Red Lake. At approximately 1045, he picked up a passenger (a private guest of the operator) at Marvin Lake and departed for the operator's camp on Miller Lake. C-FDNZ was heard landing at Miller Lake at approximately 1115 and the pilot reported airborne off Miller Lake at approximately 1430.

Investigators were unable to determine precisely which area of the lake was used for take-off. However, a take-off area of sufficient length for a southwesterly departure, into wind at the time of the occurrence, extends from the operator's camp to the southwest. The accident site is located approximately two nautical miles northwest of the Miller Lake camp. The aircraft's direction of travel at impact was southwest. The reason for the aircraft's change in direction at that point in the flight was not determined; however, the operator had boats located at a portage in the vicinity of the accident site.

Figure 1. Map of the occurrence area
Figure 1. Map of the occurrence area

The aircraft was expected to arrive at the main camp on Roderick Lake by 2000. When it did not arrive, the camp owner reported it as overdue. A search and rescue aircraft was dispatched from Rescue Coordination Centre Trenton. However, several factors delayed discovery of the wreckage and rescue of the surviving passenger. These factors were as follows:

  • no emergency locater transmitter (ELT) signal;
  • inaccurate coordinates for the Miller Lake camp; and
  • poor weather, which required the search personnel to postpone the search.

The surviving passenger was not extracted from the wreckage until the following day, approximately 18 hours after the accident.

Most of the damage to the aircraft was consistent with a near-vertical collision with terrain. The floats, float struts, and fuselage exhibited overload failures due to compression, and the cabin was compressed as a result of impact with a large tree. Damage to the propeller and trees was consistent with high engine power. The flaps were set to the 20º (take-off) position.

The ELT arming switch was found in the OFF position.4 Although it could not be determined if a safety briefing was completed for this flight, on previous flights, the passenger had received a full safety briefing including the location and operation of the ELT. The ELT was mounted in the rear cabin area beyond reach of the pilot and passenger, and search and rescue personnel had not moved the ELT arming switch. Inspection of the wreckage did not indicate that the aircraft had experienced any technical malfunctions.

The aircraft's cargo was recovered at the scene. Weight and balance calculations were completed for various possible aircraft load scenarios (including minimum and maximum fuel), and all showed that the aircraft would have been within its certified weight and balance limitations at the time of accident.

Analysis

Damage to the aircraft was consistent with an impact with the ground after a low-level wing stall. The aircraft's exact flight path could not be determined. However, conditions were conducive for low-level windshear at the time of the accident, and the aircraft was configured for take-off or manoeuvring flight. A possible accident scenario is that the aircraft encountered windshear while manoeuvring in the vicinity of the operator's boat cache north of Miller Lake, resulting in a stall at an altitude from which the pilot could not recover.

Because C-FDNZ was maintained on an annual inspection program, its maintenance program did not meet the requirements of the CARs maintenance standards for commercially registered aircraft. However, the absence of any indication of a technical malfunction suggests that the maintenance program was not a contributing factor in the accident.

The accident occurred at approximately 1430. However, the aircraft was not reported as missing until 2130 because it was not expected to arrive at Roderick Lake until 2000. Consequently, the flight watch system used by the camp operator and pilot delayed initiation of the search and rescue mission by seven hours. The late start, deteriorating weather, and the absence of an ELT signal all contributed to a lengthy rescue mission, which extended the time that the passenger was trapped in the wreckage to approximately 18 hours.

The location of the ELT arming switch precluded the trapped passenger from having operated it, indicating that it must have been turned off at some time before the occurrence flight. Its location also prevented the passenger from activating the ELT after the accident.

Finding as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The aircraft stalled while manoeuvring at an altitude from which recovery was not possible. The stall was most likely induced by low-level windshear.

Findings as to Risk

  1. The company's flight watch system delayed the initiation of the search and rescue response.
  2. The emergency locator transmitter (ELT) had been turned off and was out of reach of the trapped passenger. The absence of an ELT signal compounded the difficulty in locating the aircraft and extended the duration of the search.

Safety Action Taken

After the accident, the operator purchased an aircraft satellite tracking system for its aircraft.

The operator implemented a procedure whereby a satellite telephone is carried on all camp maintenance flights and pilots are required to report flight-following information to the operator's dispatch personnel.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 23 October 2007.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A07C0082

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de maîtrise et collision avec le relief
du Cessna 180  C-FDNZ
exploité par Chimo Air Service
au lac Miller (Ontario)
le 17 mai 2007

Résumé

Le Cessna 180J équipé de flotteurs (immatriculation C-FDNZ, numéro de série 3004) est en route entre le lac Miller (Ontario) et le lac Roderick (Ontario) après avoir effectué une série de vols de ravitaillement et d'entretien des camps. L'hydravion n'étant pas arrivé au lac Roderick, sa disparition est signalée à 21 h 30, heure avancée du Centre. Le personnel de l'équipe de recherches et sauvetage découvre l'épave dans une zone boisée située près de la rive du lac Miller. Le pilote subit des blessures mortelles. L'unique passager reste coincé dans l'épave et subit de graves blessures. L'hydravion est lourdement endommagé.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote était titulaire d'une licence canadienne de pilote professionnel, valable pour l'exploitation d'hydravions, et il était qualifié et apte à agir en qualité de commandant de bord de C-FDNZ. Le pilote totalisait 382 heures de vol, y compris 138 heures de vol en hydravion, dont 123 sur des appareils de type Cessna 180. Il avait effectué environ neuf heures de vol au cours de la semaine précédente, et il avait commencé à travailler à 7 h, heure avancée du Centre (HAC)1, le jour de l'accident.

Les conditions enregistrées à 15 h par la station météorologique la plus proche, située à l'aéroport de Red Lake (Ontario), étaient les suivantes : vent du 230º magnétique (M) à 13 nœuds avec des rafales à 20 nœuds variant de 180º à 260º, visibilité de 15 milles terrestres, quelques nuages à 21 000 pieds, quelques nuages à 23 000 pieds, température de 19 ºC, point de rosée à -1 ºC, calage altimétrique de 29,94 pouces. On avait signalé que le vent était très élevé et soufflait en rafales dans le secteur du lac Miller, ce qui pourrait avoir provoqué un cisaillement à basse altitude2. Lorsqu'un avion entre dans une zone de cisaillement à basse altitude à vitesse réduite (p. ex.  peu après le décollage), les risques de décrochage de l'aile augmentent.

C-FDNZ était un hydravion portant une immatriculation commerciale qui devait être entretenu conformément à un système de contrôle de la maintenance approuvé en vertu du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC)3. Un examen des dossiers de l'hydravion a indiqué qu'il avait été entretenu selon un programme d'inspection annuelle qui n'était pas approuvé comme faisant partie du système de contrôle de la maintenance de l'exploitant.

Même s'il portait une immatriculation commerciale, C-FDNZ ne servait pas au transport payant de passagers ou de fret. Il était utilisé uniquement pour des besoins d'entretien et d'approvisionnement des camps. Les vols d'entretien des camps étaient effectués au besoin. Les itinéraires de vol pour l'entretien des camps ne précisaient pas l'heure et la durée de chaque vol, mais l'heure d'arrivée prévue (ETA) à la destination finale de la journée.

Le jour de l'accident, le pilote de C-FDNZ a quitté Red Lake pour effectuer une série de vols visant à vérifier les caches de bateau de l'exploitant situés au nord de Red Lake. À environ 10 h 45, il a pris un passager (un invité de l'exploitant) au lac Marvin puis s'est rendu au camp de l'exploitant sur le lac Miller. On a entendu C-FDNZ amerrir au lac Miller à environ 11 h 15 et le pilote a signalé qu'il avait décollé du lac Miller à environ 14 h 30.

Les enquêteurs n'ont pas pu déterminer précisément quel secteur du lac avait été utilisé pour le décollage. Toutefois, une aire de décollage d'une longueur suffisante pour un départ vers le sud-ouest, dans le vent au moment de l'accident, s'étend du camp de l'exploitant vers le sud-ouest. Le lieu de l'accident se trouve à environ deux milles marins au nord-ouest du camp du lac Miller. Au moment de l'impact, l'hydravion se dirigeait vers le sud-ouest. La raison pour laquelle le pilote a changé de direction à ce moment-là du vol n'a pas été déterminée, mais l'exploitant avait des bateaux à un portage situé près du lieu de l'accident.

Figure 1. Carte du secteur de l'accident
Figure 1. Carte du secteur de l'accident

L'hydravion devait arriver au camp principal sur le lac Roderick à 20 h. Quand le propriétaire du camp a constaté qu'il n'était pas arrivé, il a signalé son retard. Un aéronef de recherches et sauvetage a été envoyé du Centre de coordination de sauvetage de Trenton. Cependant, plusieurs facteurs ont retardé la découverte de l'épave et le sauvetage du passager survivant. Ces facteurs sont les suivants :

  • aucun signal de radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT);
  • coordonnées inexactes du camp du lac Miller;
  • mauvaises conditions météorologiques, qui ont forcé le personnel de l'équipe de recherches à reporter les recherches.

Le passager survivant n'a été retiré de l'épave que le lendemain, soit environ 18 heures après l'accident.

La plupart des dommages à l'appareil étaient compatibles avec une collision quasi verticale avec le relief. Les flotteurs, les montants des flotteurs et le fuselage présentaient des signes de défaillance en surcharge causée par la compression, et la cabine était écrasée en raison de l'impact avec un gros arbre. Les dommages à l'hélice et aux arbres correspondaient à une puissance moteur élevée. Les volets étaient braqués à 20º (position de décollage).

Le commutateur d'activation de la radiobalise a été retrouvé en position « OFF »4. Même s'il n'a pas été possible de déterminer si un exposé sur les mesures de sécurité avait été donné pour ce vol, lors des vols précédents, les passagers avaient reçu un exposé de sécurité complet qui précisait l'emplacement de la radiobalise et en expliquait le fonctionnement. La radiobalise était montée à l'arrière de la cabine, hors de la portée du pilote et du passager, et le personnel de l'équipe de recherches et sauvetage n'avait pas modifié le réglage du commutateur d'activation de la radiobalise. L'inspection de l'épave n'a pas montré que l'hydravion avait subi de défectuosités techniques.

Le fret a été récupéré sur les lieux. Des calculs de masse et de centrage ont été effectués pour différents scénarios possibles de chargement de l'aéronef (y compris le minimum et le maximum de carburant) et tous ont montré que l'hydravion aurait évolué à l'intérieur de ses plages certifiées de masse et de centrage au moment de l'accident.

Analyse

Les dommages à l'hydravion étaient compatibles avec un impact au sol après un décrochage de l'aile à basse altitude. La trajectoire de vol exacte de l'appareil n'a pu être déterminée. Toutefois, les conditions étaient propices à un cisaillement à basse altitude au moment de l'accident, et l'hydravion était configuré pour le décollage ou pour des manœuvres. Un scénario d'accident possible est que l'hydravion est entré dans une zone de cisaillement pendant des manœuvres effectuées à proximité de la cache pour bateau de l'exploitant au nord du lac Miller, ce qui a provoqué un décrochage dont le pilote n'a pu sortir en raison de l'altitude trop faible.

Parce que C-FDNZ était entretenu selon un programme d'inspection annuelle, son programme de maintenance ne répondait pas aux exigences des normes de maintenance du RAC pour un aéronef portant une immatriculation commerciale. Toutefois, l'absence de toute indication de défectuosités techniques suggère que le programme de maintenance n'a pas été un facteur contributif à l'accident.

L'accident s'est produit vers 14 h 30. Toutefois, la disparition de l'hydravion n'a été signalée qu'à 21 h 30, car l'appareil ne devait pas revenir au lac Roderick avant 20 h. Le système de surveillance des vols utilisé par l'exploitant du camp et le pilote a donc fait en sorte que le déclenchement des opérations de recherches et sauvetage a été retardé de sept heures. Le déclenchement tardif des opérations, la détérioration des conditions météorologiques et l'absence de signal de radiobalise ont fait en sorte que la mission de sauvetage a été très longue et que le passager est resté coincé dans l'épave près de 18 heures.

L'emplacement du commutateur d'activation de la radiobalise ne permettait pas au passager coincé d'activer la radiobalise, ce qui indique que celle-ci a dû être désactivée quelque temps avant le vol en question. Son emplacement a également empêché le passager d'activer la radiobalise après l'accident.

Fait établi quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. L'hydravion a décroché alors que le pilote effectuait des manœuvres à une altitude à laquelle aucun rétablissement n'était possible. Le décrochage a été vraisemblablement provoqué par un cisaillement à basse altitude.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. Le système de surveillance des vols de l'entreprise a retardé le déclenchement des opérations de recherches et sauvetage.
  2. La radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT) avait été désactivée et était hors de portée du passager coincé. L'absence de signal de radiobalise a augmenté la difficulté à localiser l'hydravion et a prolongé la durée des recherches.

Mesures de sécurité prises

Après l'accident, l'exploitant a acheté un système de repérage par satellite pour ses appareils.

L'exploitant a mis en place une procédure exigeant qu'un téléphone satellite soit transporté à bord de tous les vols d'entretien des camps et que les pilotes transmettent de l'information sur le suivi de vol au personnel de régulation des vols de l'exploitant.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 23 octobre 2007.