Aviation Investigation Report A07O0165

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Collision with Terrain
Piper Cub J3C-65 C-FIUH
Essex, Ontario
30 June 2007

Summary

The privately owned Piper Cub J3C-65 (registration C-FIUH, serial number 15482) departed a privately owned, grass covered runway under visual meteorological conditions near Essex, Ontario. This was the first flight following the annual maintenance inspection of the aircraft. Shortly after departure, the aircraft made a planned low pass parallel to the runway in an easterly direction. The aircraft then climbed to approximately 1500 feet above ground level in a northerly direction. Shortly afterwards, the aircraft was observed in a gradual descent, flying in a southeasterly direction. At approximately 1420 eastern daylight time, the aircraft struck the ground in a nearby field. The aircraft was destroyed by impact forces and a post-crash fire. The pilot, who was the sole occupant, did not survive.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The aircraft was manufactured in 1946 and had accumulated approximately 4153 total hours since manufacture. Records indicate that the aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. There was nothing found to indicate that there was any airframe, engine, or system malfunction before or during the flight.

The nearest aviation routine weather observation (METAR) station is located in Windsor, Ontario, eight nautical miles northwest. The 1400 eastern daylight time hourly weather observation indicated that, at the time of the occurrence, there were a few clouds at 5000 feet above ground level, the wind was from the east at 6 knots and the temperature was 25°C. Weather conditions were ideal for visual flight rules (VFR) flight and were not considered a factor in the occurrence.

The 80 year-old pilot had obtained his pilot licence in February 1955 and since that time had accumulated approximately 10 000 hours of flight time including 685 hours in the occurrence aircraft. He also held a current Group 1 instrument rating. His last aviation medical examination was completed in June 2006, his last resting electrocardiograph (ECG) test was completed in October 2003, and his Category 3 medical certificate was valid until 01 July 2008. The pilot, who was also a retired physician, was active in many business ventures which involved piloting aircraft on a regular basis. He had accumulated approximately 105 hours of flying time during the previous year.

The pilot had a history of chronic atrial fibrillation and therefore underwent periodic cardiovascular assessments. These assessments included exercise electrocardiography tests, the latest of which was conducted in April 2006. The results of these assessments did not reveal any significant reduction in his heart functions. The pilot met Transport Canada criteria for a Category 3 medical certification.

The post-mortem examination revealed that the pilot had underlying asymptomatic atherosclerotic coronary artery disease. This put him at risk for a sudden coronary event.

The development of cardiovascular disease in licensed aviation personnel is a major concern among aviation medical practitioners. To address this concern, Transport Canada has developed a set of cardiovascular guidelines intended to assist in the medical assessment of cardiovascular fitness of licensed aviation personnel. These guidelines are published in Transport Canada's Handbook for Civil Aviation Medical Examiners (TP 13312E).

Major risk factors associated with cardiovascular disease are age, family history, hypertension, obesity, diabetes, abnormal blood lipids, and cigarette smoking. The aim of monitoring these risk factors and applying the cardiovascular guidelines is to ensure that the risk of asymptomatic coronary artery disease causing sudden incapacitation of a pilot remains extremely low.

The Transport Canada requirement for a Category 3 medical certificate is that the candidates undergo a routine ECG at the first examination after age 40, and then subsequently within the four years preceding examination. However, in up to 50 per cent of people with advanced coronary artery disease, a routine ECG may not show indications of coronary artery disease. An exercise stress test increases the likelihood the disease will be detected. However, it is not part of the required screening process, but may form part of the medical assessment in those candidates with major risk factors.

Individuals with atrial fibrillation who have two or more of the five major risk factors, including age over 65 years, structural heart disease, diabetes, high blood pressure, and previous thromboembolism, are considered above the risk threshold limit for medical certification. The pilot was over the age of 65, with no indication that any of the other five risk factors were present at the time of the occurrence. Therefore, the applicant was deemed fit for medical certification.

Analysis

The aircraft, which had just undergone its annual inspection, was observed in controlled flight before it began a slow descending turn which ended when it struck the ground. There were no mechanical deficiencies found that could have contributed to the accident. It can be concluded that the gradual descent was not the result of an airframe or control system failure. Based on the manner in which the aircraft descended to the ground and the post mortem examination which revealed well-established coronary artery disease, it is probable that the pilot suffered an acute coronary event during the flight. This resulted in incapacitation and the loss of control of the aircraft.

Finding as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The pilot most likely suffered an incapacitating medical event due to well established, underlying coronary artery disease that resulted in the loss of control of the aircraft.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 23 July 2008.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A07O0165

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Collision avec le relief
du Piper Cub J3C-65 C-FIUH
à Essex (Ontario)
le 30 juin 2007

Résumé

Le Piper Cub J3C-65 privé (immatriculation C-FIUH, numéro de série 15482) quitte une piste gazonnée privée dans des conditions météorologiques de vol à vue près d'Essex (Ontario) à l'occasion de son premier vol suivant l'inspection de maintenance annuelle. Peu après le départ, l'avion exécute un passage à basse altitude parallèle à la piste en direction est. L'avion monte ensuite à environ 1500 pieds au-dessus du sol en direction nord. Peu après, on observe l'avion descendre graduellement et voler vers le sud-est. Vers 14 h 20, heure avancée de l'Est, l'avion percute le sol dans un champ voisin. L'avion est détruit par les forces d'impact et un incendie après l'écrasement. Le pilote, seul occupant à bord, ne survit pas à l'accident.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

L'avion avait été construit en 1946 et il totalisait 4153 heures de vol depuis. Les dossiers indiquent que l'avion était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. Rien n'indique qu'il y ait eu défectuosité de la cellule, du moteur ou d'un système avant ou durant le vol.

La plus proche station d'observation météorologique régulière pour l'aviation (METAR) se trouve à Windsor (Ontario), à huit milles marins au nord-ouest. L'observation météorologique horaire à 14 h, heure avancée de l'Est, indiquait qu'au moment de l'accident quelques nuages se trouvaient à 5000 pieds au-dessus du sol, que le vent soufflait de l'est à 6 nœuds et que la température était de 25°C. Les conditions météorologiques étaient idéales pour le vol selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR) et elles n'ont pas été jugées contributives à l'accident.

Le pilote âgé de 80 ans avait obtenu sa licence de pilote en février 1955 et, depuis ce temps, il avait accumulé environ 10 000 heures de vol, dont 685 dans l'avion en question. Il était également titulaire d'une qualification aux instruments du Groupe 1 valide. Son dernier examen médical remontait à juin 2006, son dernier électrocardiogramme au repos avait été pris en octobre 2003, et son certificat médical de catégorie 3 était valide jusqu'au 1er juillet 2008. Le pilote, médecin à la retraite, était actif dans beaucoup d'entreprises commerciales qui demandaient de piloter régulièrement. Il avait totalisé environ 105 heures de vol au cours de l'année précédente.

Le pilote présentait des antécédents de fibrillation auriculaire chronique et, par conséquent, il subissait des examens cardiovasculaires périodiques. Ces examens comprenaient des électrocardiographies à l'effort, le dernier ayant eu lieu en avril 2006. Les résultats de ces examens n'avaient révélé aucune diminution significative de son activité cardiaque. Le pilote satisfaisait aux critères de Transports Canada pour un certificat médical de catégorie 3.

L'autopsie a révélé que le pilote souffrait d'une cardiopathie athéroscléreuse asymptomatique sous-jacente. Cette maladie le prédisposait à une affection coronarienne soudaine.

L'augmentation des maladies cardiovasculaires chez le personnel de l'aviation titulaire d'une licence constitue une importante préoccupation parmi les médecins praticiens en aviation. Pour faire face à cette préoccupation, Transports Canada a élaboré un ensemble de lignes directrices visant à aider à l'évaluation médicale de la fonction cardiovasculaire du personnel de l'aviation titulaire d'une licence. Ces lignes directrices figurent dans la publication de Transports Canada intitulée Guide pour les médecins examinateurs de l'aviation civile (TP 13312).

Les principaux facteurs de risque associés aux maladies cardiovasculaires sont l'âge, les antécédents familiaux, l'hypertension, l'obésité, le diabète, une quantité anormale de lipides dans le sang et le tabagisme. Lorsqu'on surveille ces facteurs de risque et qu'on applique les lignes directrices liées aux maladies cardiovasculaires, on désire s'assurer que le risque d'une maladie coronarienne asymptomatique pouvant causer une brusque invalidation du pilote demeure extrêmement faible.

Un certificat médical de catégorie 3 de Transports Canada impose aux candidats un électrocardiogramme périodique lors du premier examen après l'âge de 40 ans, puis, par la suite, dans les quatre ans précédant un examen. Toutefois, dans une proportion pouvant atteindre 50 % des gens souffrant d'une maladie coronarienne à un stade avancé, un électrocardiogramme périodique pourrait ne pas révéler de signes d'une maladie coronarienne. Un électrocardiogramme d'effort est plus susceptible de permettre de déceler cette maladie. Cependant, ce type d'électrocardiogramme ne fait pas partie du processus de dépistage requis, mais il peut faire partie de l'évaluation médicale des candidats qui présentent d'importants facteurs de risque.

Les personnes souffrant de fibrillation auriculaire qui présentent deux facteurs ou plus parmi les cinq principaux facteurs de risque, y compris être âgé de plus de 65 ans, souffrir d'une cardiopathie par malformation, de diabète, d'hypertension artérielle et ayant souffert antérieurement de thrombo-embolie, sont considérées au-dessus du seuil limite de risque pour obtenir un certificat médical. Le pilote était âgé de plus de 65 ans, et rien n'indiquait qu'il présentait un des cinq autres facteurs de risque au moment de l'accident. Par conséquent, il avait été jugé en bonne santé pour obtenir son certificat médical.

Analyse

On a observé que l'avion, qui venait tout juste de subir son inspection annuelle, volait normalement avant qu'il n'entame un virage lent en descente qui s'est terminé lorsqu'il a percuté le sol. Aucune anomalie mécanique n'a été découverte qui aurait pu contribuer à l'accident. On peut conclure que la descente graduelle n'a pas été le résultat d'une défaillance de la cellule ni du système de commande. Compte tenu de la façon dont l'avion a descendu au sol et de l'autopsie qui a révélé une maladie coronarienne bien établie, il est probable que le pilote a subi une affection coronarienne aiguë pendant le vol. Il en a résulté une invalidation du pilote et une perte de maîtrise de l'avion.

Fait établi quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Le pilote a fort probablement souffert d'une invalidation médicale causée par une maladie coronarienne sous-jacente qui s'est traduite par la perte de maîtrise de l'avion.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 23 juillet 2008