Aviation Investigation Report A07P0123

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.


Reduction Gearbox Failure/Engine Power Loss
Pacific Western Helicopters
Bell 212 (Helicopter) C-GPWX
Prince George, British Columbia
26 April 2007

Summary

The Bell 212 helicopter (registration C-GPWX, serial number 30535) was being ferried from Grande Cache, Alberta, to a company maintenance base in Prince George, British Columbia, following several chip light illuminations. Shortly before the helicopter reached Prince George, the number one engine decelerated and ejected engine parts from its exhaust. The helicopter was able to continue flight on the remaining engine and landed safely at Prince George.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

Flight History

The helicopter was being used for visual flight rules flight training in the Grande Cache area. During the 6.7 hours of operation prior to the occurrence flight, four separate chip light illuminations1 from the number one engine were reported by the flight crew. After each chip light illumination, black paste and a small number of metallic particles were found on the number one chip plug in the reduction gearbox (RGB). After the third chip light illumination, fine metal particles were also found in the oil filter. Following the fourth chip light illumination, the company temporarily grounded the helicopter and then issued a ferry permit in accordance with its Maintenance Control Manual to ferry the helicopter to a maintenance base in Prince George, B.C., approximately 135 nautical miles away.

About 48 minutes into the 70-minute flight, the chip light began to flicker on and off. About nine minutes later, the chip light became steadily illuminated and, about five minutes after that, the helicopter yawed and the number one engine decelerated. The flight continued single-engine for a further six minutes to the maintenance base in Prince George, where an uneventful landing was conducted. There were no injuries and there was no fire. The five chip light illuminations, including the chip light illumination during the occurrence flight, occurred over 7.5 flight hours.

An inspection of the helicopter conducted by company maintenance personnel following the occurrence flight determined that debris ejected from the number one engine exhaust had struck the main and tail rotor blades, the latter being damaged beyond repair. The number one chip plug in the RGB was examined and was found to have the previously-noted black paste as well as small metal particles on it.

Maintenance Instructions

The Pratt & Whitney Canada Maintenance Manual indicates, in part, that if the material found on the RGB chip plug or in the oil filter is flakes or particles not in the category of fuzz or fine slivers, then excessive wear is indicated and the RGB should be replaced.

Drivetrain Inspection

The helicopter was powered by a "Twin-Pac"" ® that consisted of two Pratt & Whitney Canada PT6T-3B engines (referred to by the manufacturer as "power sections") coupled to a single Pratt & Whitney Canada reduction gearbox (also referred to as the "combining gearbox"). Coupling shafts between the power sections and RGB connect the power turbines (PTs) to the number one and number two main input driveshafts. Each main input driveshaft is supported on its forward end by a number five duplex ball bearing and on its aft end by a number six roller bearing. The PTs, coupling shafts, main input driveshafts, and their associated bearings operate at about 33 000 revolutions per minute.

Figure 1. PT6T-3B engine, side view
Figure 1. PT6T-3B engine, side view

Post-occurrence examination of the RGB revealed that the rolling elements (balls) and raceways of the number five bearing (part number 3021467, serial numbers F619A and F619B) installed on the number one main input driveshaft had deteriorated, allowing the main input driveshaft to move aft until the coupling shaft decoupled from the PT. The PT subsequently oversped, the PT bearing support failed, and the PT blades contacted the shroud. All of the PT blades suffered severe tip damage and several blades broke off near their platform.

The post-occurrence examination also found two areas of localized spalling (also referred to as surface contact fatigue) on the aft (furthest from the power section) inner race of the failed bearing. The 38 balls were found in varying states of distress, with the most heavily damaged being from the aft bearing half. The balls were heavily worn, some to half the size of others. Examination determined that bearing preload2, lubrication, and materials were unlikely to have been factors in the bearing's failure. The cause of the spalling was not determined.

Reduction Gear Box

The RGB (model PT6-3-6, assembly number 3024780, serial number CPGB 1288) was overhauled on 26 June 1995 by Consolidated Heliflight, Inc. (now known as Northstar Aerospace) and had accumulated about 2331 flight hours at the time of the occurrence. The number five bearings installed on the main input driveshafts during that overhaul had been reconditioned in September 1994 by Bearing Inspection, Inc (BII). In part, the reconditioning performed at BII involved disassembling the bearing, honing the inner and outer raceways, and reassembling the bearing using balls with diameters larger than those originally installed. Although still approved by the United States Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) to perform that work, BII has stopped reconditioning number five bearings based on a history of failures that have occurred to both new and reconditioned bearings. Issues believed to have contributed to previous reconditioned number five bearing failures include lack of bearing preload and incorrect ball cages.

The Transport Canada and FAA service difficulty report databases contain several reports of number five bearing failures in Bell 212 helicopters. At least one major RGB overhaul facility has found several additional cases of premature bearing wear and failure involving both new and reconditioned number five bearings. That overhaul facility recalled all RGBs in which it had installed reconditioned number five bearings. It removed those bearings and replaced them with new bearings.

The Pratt & Whitney Canada Overhaul Manual states: "No bearing repairs are permitted other than the repairs contained in Pratt & Whitney Canada approved manuals or the Anti-Friction Bearing Overhaul Visual Inspection Standard P/N 3039731." None of the referenced manuals approves the BII reconditioning procedure. The Pratt & Whitney Aircraft Overhaul Standard Practices Manual, Antifriction Bearing Inspection section states: "No work is permitted on internal load carrying surfaces of bearing."

Analysis

The number five bearing on the number one main input driveshaft failed, likely as a result of the balls jamming in the cage due to spalling-generated debris. Once the balls jammed, they ceased rolling and began skidding on the bearing races, rapidly wearing the balls. Reduction of the ball size allowed the main input driveshaft to move aft until the coupling shaft decoupled. Once the power section was no longer driving the reduction gearbox (RGB), the power turbine (PT) oversped, the PT bearing support failed, the PT blades contacted the shroud, and the engine decelerated. The progressive failure of the bearing occurred over many hours as evidenced by the five chip light illuminations during a 7.5-hour period.

Pratt & Whitney Canada states that bearing repairs, such as those performed during the bearing reconditioning procedure, are not permitted. It is not known if the reconditioning procedure contributed to the failure of this bearing.

The Transport Canada and Federal Aviation Administration service difficulty report databases contain several reports of number five bearing failures. Other sources, including an RGB overhaul facility, also report numerous instances of premature wear and failure of number five bearings, particularly number five bearings that have been reconditioned.

When multiple, consecutive chip light illuminations occur and metal particles are found, it is common practice to ground the aircraft until a determination is made as to the source of the metal particles.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The number five bearing on the number one main input driveshaft failed due to spalling. The cause of the spalling was not determined.
  2. The helicopter continued to be operated following several consecutive chip light illuminations, resulting in failure of the engine.

Finding as to Risk

  1. It is not known if the reconditioning procedure contributed to the failure of this bearing; however, there are numerous instances of premature wear and failure of number five bearings.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 08 July 2008.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A07P0123

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Défaillance du réducteur et perte de puissance
de l'hélicoptère Bell 212 C-GPWX
exploité par Pacific Western Helicopters
à Prince George (Colombie-Britannique)
le 26 avril 2007

Résumé

L'hélicoptère Bell 212 (immatriculation C-GPWX, numéro de série 30535) est convoyé de Grande Prairie (Alberta) jusqu'à une base de maintenance de la compagnie à Prince George (Colombie-Britannique) après l'allumage à plusieurs reprises du voyant lumineux du détecteur de particules. Un peu avant d'atteindre Prince George, le moteur numéro un décélère et expulse des morceaux de moteur par son échappement. L'hélicoptère est en mesure de poursuivre le vol au moyen de l'autre moteur et il se pose en toute sécurité à Prince George.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Déroulement du vol

L'hélicoptère était utilisé pour l'entraînement au pilotage en fonction des règles de vol à vue dans le secteur de Grande Cache. Au cours des 6,7 heures d'exploitation précédant le vol en question, l'équipage de conduite a signalé que le voyant du détecteur de particules s'était allumé1 à quatre reprises distinctes. À chaque occasion, on a découvert par la suite une pâte noire et un petit nombre de particules métalliques sur le bouchon du détecteur numéro un dans le boîtier réducteur. À la troisième reprise, de fines particules métalliques ont aussi été découvertes dans le filtre à huile. Après que le voyant s'est allumé une quatrième fois, la compagnie a temporairement interdit de vol l'hélicoptère, puis a délivré un permis de convoyage, conformément à son manuel de contrôle de la maintenance pour que l'hélicoptère soit convoyé à une base de maintenance située à Prince George (C.-B.), à environ 135 milles marins de là.

Environ 48 minutes après le début du vol de 70 minutes, le voyant du détecteur de particules a commencé à clignoter. Environ neuf minutes plus tard, le voyant est demeuré allumé et, à peu près cinq minutes plus tard, l'hélicoptère est parti en lacet, et le moteur numéro un a décéléré. Le vol s'est poursuivi sur un moteur pendant encore six minutes jusqu'à la base de maintenance de Prince George, où l'hélicoptère s'est posé sans problème. Personne n'a été blessé, et il n'y a pas eu d'incendie. Le voyant du détecteur de particules s'est allumé à cinq reprises, y compris lors du vol en question, sur une période de 7,5 heures.

Après le vol en question, le personnel de maintenance de la compagnie a effectué une inspection de l'hélicoptère qui a permis de déterminer que l'échappement du moteur numéro un avait éjecté des débris qui avaient atteint les pales du rotor principal et du rotor de queue. Les pales de ce dernier ont été irrémédiablement endommagées. Le bouchon du détecteur numéro un du boîtier réducteur a fait l'objet d'un examen, et on a découvert qu'il était recouvert de la pâte noire relevée précédemment ainsi que de petites particules métalliques.

Instructions de maintenance

Le manuel de maintenance de Pratt & Whitney Canada indique, en partie, que si le matériau découvert sur le bouchon du détecteur de particules du boîtier réducteur ou dans le filtre à huile se présente sous la forme de paillettes ou de particules qui ne sont pas de la poussière métallique ni de fins copeaux, il y a alors usure excessive qui appelle le remplacement du boîtier réducteur.

Inspection de la chaîne dynamique

L'hélicoptère était motorisé par un « Twin-Pac® », qui comprenait deux turbomoteurs PT6T-3B de Pratt & Whitney Canada (que le motoriste désigne groupes moteurs) accouplés à un boîtier réducteur (aussi appelé boîte de transmission transfert). Les arbres d'accouplement entre les groupes moteurs et le boîtier réducteur relient les turbines de travail aux arbres d'entraînement d'entrée principaux numéro un et numéro deux. Chaque arbre d'entraînement d'entrée principal est supporté à son extrémité avant par le roulement à billes à double rangée numéro cinq, et à son extrémité arrière, par le roulement à rouleaux numéro six. Les turbines de travail, les arbres d'accouplement, les arbres d'entraînement d'entrée principaux et leurs roulements connexes tournent à environ 33 000 tours par minute.

Figure 1. Vue en coupe du moteur PT6T-3B
Figure 1. Vue en coupe du moteur PT6T-3B

Un examen du boîtier réducteur après l'incident a révélé que les éléments de rotation (billes) et les voies de roulement du roulement numéro cinq (référence 3021467, numéros de série F619A et F619B) monté sur l'arbre d'entraînement d'entrée principal s'étaient détériorés au point de déplacer vers l'arrière cet arbre d'entraînement jusqu'à ce que l'arbre d'accouplement se désaccouple de la turbine de travail. La turbine de travail a alors tourné à une vitesse excessive, le support de son roulement s'est rompu, et des aubes de cette turbine ont touché le carter. L'extrémité de toutes les aubes mobiles a été gravement endommagée, et plusieurs aubes se sont rompues près de leur plateau.

L'examen qui a eu lieu après l'incident a aussi permis de découvrir deux zones d'écaillage localisé (aussi appelé fatigue des surfaces de contact) sur la bague intérieure arrière (la plus éloignée du groupe moteur) du roulement endommagé. Les 38 billes ont été retrouvées diversement endommagées, les plus fortement atteintes étant celles de la coquille arrière du roulement. Les billes étaient très usées, certaines n'ayant plus que la moitié de la taille des autres. L'examen a permis de déterminer que la précharge2 du roulement, la lubrification et les matériaux n'avaient probablement pas contribué à la défaillance du roulement. La cause de l'écaillage des surfaces n'a pas été déterminée.

Boîtier réducteur

Le boîtier réducteur (modèle PT6-3-6-6, numéro d'assemblage 4780, numéro de série CPGB 1288) avait été révisé le 26 juin 1995 par Consolidated Heliflight, Inc. (maintenant connue sous le nom de Northstar Aerospace), et il totalisait environ 2331 heures de vol au moment de l'incident. Les roulements numéro cinq montés sur les arbres d'entraînement d'entrée principaux durant cette révision avaient été remis en état en septembre 1994 par Bearing Inspection, Inc (BII). En partie, la remise en état effectuée chez BII comprenait le démontage du roulement, le polissage des voies de roulement intérieure et extérieure, et le remontage du roulement au moyen de billes d'un diamètre supérieur à celles qui avaient été montées à l'origine. Même si elle était toujours agréée par la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) des États-Unis pour exécuter ce travail, BII avait cessé de remettre en état des roulements numéro cinq après des cas de défaillances touchant autant des roulements neufs que des roulements remis en état. Les éléments qui auraient contribué aux défaillances des roulements numéro cinq remis en état précédemment comprenaient l'absence de précharge et des cages à billes inappropriées.

Les bases de données des rapports de difficultés en service de Transports Canada et de la FAA renferment plusieurs rapports de défaillance de roulements numéro cinq dans les hélicoptères Bell 212. Au moins un important atelier de révision de boîtiers réducteurs a découvert plusieurs autres cas d'usure prématurée et de défaillance de roulements numéro cinq neufs et remis en état. Cet atelier de révision a rappelé tous les boîtiers réducteurs dans lesquels il avait installé des roulements numéro cinq remis en état. Il a retiré ces roulements et les a remplacés par des roulements neufs.

Le manuel de révision de Pratt & Whitney Canada précise que les roulements ne doivent faire l'objet d'aucune réparation, exception faite de celles qui figurent dans les manuels approuvés de Pratt & Whitney Canada ou dans la norme d'inspection visuelle pour la révision des roulements, réf. 3039731. Aucun des manuels référencés n'approuve la procédure de remise en état de BII. Le manuel des pratiques standard pour la révision des aéronefs de Pratt & Whitney, à la section sur l'inspection des roulements, précise qu'aucun travail n'est autorisé sur les surfaces internes d'un roulement qui encaissent des charges.

Analyse

Le roulement numéro cinq de l'arbre d'entraînement d'entrée principal a subi une défaillance, probablement à la suite du coincement des billes dans la cage à cause des débris produits par l'écaillage. Une fois que les billes se sont coincées, elles ont cessé de rouler et ont commencé à patiner sur les bagues du roulement, ce qui a rapidement usé les billes. La réduction de la taille des billes a permis à l'arbre d'entraînement d'entrée principal de se déplacer vers l'arrière jusqu'à ce que l'arbre se désaccouple. Dès que le groupe moteur a cessé d'entraîner le boîtier réducteur, les turbines de travail ont tourné à une vitesse excessive, le support du roulement de la turbine de travail s'est rompu, les aubes mobiles de cette turbine ont touché le carter, et le moteur a décéléré. La défaillance progressive du roulement s'est échelonnée sur de nombreuses heures, comme en a témoigné l'allumage à cinq reprises du voyant du détecteur de particules sur une période de 7,5 heures.

Pratt & Whitney Canada affirme que les réparations au roulement, comme celles effectuées lors de la remise en état du roulement, ne sont pas autorisées. On ne sait pas si la remise en état du roulement a contribué à sa défaillance.

Les bases de données des rapports de difficultés en service de Transports Canada et de la Federal Aviation Administration renferment plusieurs rapports de défaillance du roulement numéro cinq. D'autres sources, dont l'atelier de révision du boîtier réducteur, signalent également de nombreux cas d'usure prématurée et de défaillance des roulements numéro cinq, surtout des roulements numéro cinq remis en état.

Dans les cas où le voyant du détecteur de particules s'allume à plusieurs reprises et que des particules métalliques sont découvertes, on interdit habituellement de vol l'aéronef jusqu'à ce qu'on ait déterminé la source des particules métalliques.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Le roulement numéro cinq de l'arbre d'entraînement d'entrée principal numéro un a subi une défaillance à cause d'un écaillage. La cause de l'écaillage n'a pas été déterminée.
  2. L'hélicoptère a continué à être exploité, même après l'allumage à plusieurs reprises du voyant du détecteur de particules, ce qui a mené à la défaillance du moteur.

Fait établi quant aux risques

  1. On ne sait si la remise en état a contribué à la défaillance de ce roulement. Toutefois, il y a eu de nombreux cas d'usure prématurée et de défaillance des roulements numéros cinq.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 8 juillet 2008.