Aviation Investigation Report A08C0124

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Fuel Starvation / Forced Landing
Meadow Air Limited
Cessna 337D, C-GYHW
Buffalo Narrows, Saskatchewan, 14 nm NE
13 June 2008

Summary

The Meadow Air Cessna 337D (C-GYHW, serial number 337-1111) was returning to Buffalo Narrows, Saskatchewan (SK), from Stony Rapids, SK, after having dropped-off a passenger. Approximately 14 miles northeast of the airport, the pilot declared an emergency due to a double engine power loss. The pilot completed a forced landing in a swampy area on the east shore of Churchill Lake, SK. The aircraft was substantially damaged. The pilot was transported to hospital in Île-à-la-Crosse, SK, and was subsequently released with minor injuries. The accident occurred at about 1140 central standard time.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The aircraft was contracted to the Saskatchewan Government Ministry of Environment for forest fire detection purposes. The operator owned two other Cessna 337s (C-337s) and had operated the type for several years. On 12 June 2008, the day before the occurrence flight, the aircraft had been fully refueled and had completed a 0.9-hour training flight1. The aircraft was not refueled prior to departing for Stony Rapids on June 13, as it was believed that there was sufficient fuel remaining on board the aircraft to complete a round trip flight to Stony Rapids.

The pilot completed the two-hour flight to Stony Rapids without incident, and the aircraft was not refueled for the return flight to Buffalo Narrows. At approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes into the return flight from Stony Rapids, the front engine began losing power and, shortly afterwards, the rear engine lost power. The pilot switched both fuel selectors to the auxiliary fuel tank positions and turned on the auxiliary boost pumps; however, the engines would not restart or regain power. The pilot had not tried to use any fuel from the auxiliary tanks prior to the engine power loss because he believed there was sufficient fuel remaining in the main tanks to complete the flight. The total elapsed flight time since the aircraft was refueled and prior to the engines losing power was approximately 4.5 hours.

Records indicate that the pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. At the time of the occurrence, he had accumulated 1100 hours of total flying time. He was a new hire with Meadow Air Limited and had completed his initial company flight training the day before the occurrence. He had approximately 10 hours on the C-337 aircraft type, all of which was initial training. The occurrence flight was his first operational trip on the C-337 for Meadow Air Limited. At the time of the occurrence, the pilot had been on duty for five hours.

The weather for Buffalo Narrows at 1200 central standard time2 was as follows: wind 270º at four knots variable from 240º to 310º, visibility four statute miles in smoke, a few clouds at 3000 feet, scattered clouds at 10 000 feet above ground level (agl), ceiling overcast at 23 000 feet agl, temperature 21ºC, and dew point 9ºC.

Wreckage and Site Information

Examination of the aircraft wreckage at the accident site revealed no indication of any pre-accident anomalies. The nature of the damage to the aircraft's propellers indicated that the engines were not operating at the time of impact. The main fuel tanks were completely empty, and when selected on, the auxiliary fuel pumps were cavitating due to fuel starvation. Both auxiliary fuel tanks were full.

C-337D Fuel System

The C-337D fuel system is comprised of two outboard main-wing fuel tanks and two inboard auxiliary (aux) fuel tanks. There are two engine-driven fuel pumps which supply fuel to their respective engines during normal operations. There are also two auxiliary fuel pumps which supply fuel to the engine-driven pumps for starting and emergency operations. The design of the system is such that the auxiliary pumps can only pump fuel from the main tanks. In the event that fuel is depleted from the main tanks, operation of the auxiliary pumps will not draw fuel from the auxiliary tanks.

The fuel tank selector controls are mounted overhead in tandem on the cockpit ceiling. The forward mounted selector controls fuel for the front engine and is marked with positions Left Main (normal operation), Fuel Off Front Engine, Right Main (cross feed operation), and Left Aux. The rear-mounted selector controls fuel for the rear engine and is marked with positions Right Main (normal operation), Fuel Off Rear Engine, Left Main (cross feed operation), and Right Aux3.

Accessing fuel from the aircraft's auxiliary tanks is accomplished by first burning-off one hour's fuel from the main tanks and then switching to the auxiliary tanks. This method prevents return-line fuel from being vented overboard.

Information contained in the C-337's owner's manual indicated that cruise power fuel consumption would have been approximately 18 US gallons per hour (gph). The rate of fuel consumption for the previous day's training flight could have been as high as 25 gph. The main fuel system can carry 92 gallons of fuel and the auxiliary system can carry 36 gallons for a total fuel capacity of 128 gallons.

The investigation revealed several similar fuel management occurrences for this type of aircraft4. As well, an article was found which refers to a high number of fuel management issues for this aircraft type5.

C-337D Owner's Manual

The procedures in the C-337D owner's manual for "Engine Out During Flight" and "Engine Starts in Flight" require that fuel selectors are set to either of the main tanks for airborne restarts. The information contained in the C-337D owner's manual on selection of auxiliary fuel is listed only in the optional systems section and not in Section II (description and operating details). The owner's manual does not caution pilots to avoid running the main tanks dry.

Meadow Air Limited Company Training Program

Meadow Air's C-337D ground school is based, among other things, on pilot self-study of the C-337D owner's manual. The company's C-337D exam contains questions that require knowledge of determining fuel consumption, but none relating to the procedure for accessing fuel in the auxiliary tanks.

Analysis

The pilot did not use any auxiliary tank fuel prior to completely exhausting the fuel in the main tanks. This procedure prevented a successful restart of either engine and is contrary to the procedures outlined in the C-337D owner's manual. The pilot's departure from the specified procedures and incorrect fuel estimate indicated that he did not fully understand the aircraft's fuel system.

The fuel selectors are located overhead on the cockpit ceiling, which requires that the pilot divert his attention from monitoring primary flight information when changing fuel selections. In a high-workload situation such as dealing with a dual-engine power loss, this cockpit configuration could complicate the management of the fuel system. The overhead location and tandem layout of the fuel selectors, along with the nomenclature of the system, which includes "aux" pumps that do not pump fuel from the "aux" tanks, can make operation of the C-337's fuel system confusing to pilots who are not totally familiar with its operation.

The higher rate of fuel consumption for the training flight as compared to cruise power fuel consumption contributed to the exhaustion of the fuel remaining in the main tanks.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The pilot's estimates of the fuel remaining in the main tanks and the amount required to complete a round trip to Stony Rapids were inaccurate. Consequently, both engines stopped operating when the fuel in the aircraft's main tanks was depleted.
  2. The pilot did not have a full understanding of the aircraft's fuel system and was unaware of the method and sequence for accessing the fuel in the aircraft's auxiliary (aux) fuel tanks. As a result, the pilot's operation of the fuel system rendered the fuel in the aux tanks unusable after the fuel in the main tanks was depleted and the engines could not be restarted.
  3. The operator's training program for the C-337D did not establish or test the pilot's knowledge on how to operate the C-337D's fuel system.

Finding as to Risk

  1. The design and nomenclature of the C-337D fuel system complicates its operation during periods of high cockpit workload, thus increasing the risk of confusion.

Safety Action Taken

The operator has added questions to the C-337D training exam which test for knowledge of the operation of the fuel selectors, fuel management, and the auxiliary boost pumps.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 30 December 2008.

Appendix A — Fuel Schematic (simplified)

Fuel Schematic (simplified)

Source: www.consultresearch.com/337fuel.htm
Internet address confirmed accessible as of report release date.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A08C0124

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles et pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Panne d'alimentation en carburant et atterrissage forcé
du Cessna 337D, C-GYHW
exploité par Meadow Air Limited
à 14 nm au nord-est de Buffalo Narrows (Saskatchewan)
le 13 juin 2008

Résumé

Le Cessna 337D de Meadow Air (immatriculation C-GYHW, numéro de série 337-1111) revient à Buffalo Narrows (Saskatchewan) après avoir déposé un passager à Stony Rapids (Saskatchewan). À environ 14 milles au nord-est de l'aéroport, le pilote déclare une situation d'urgence en raison d'une perte de puissance des deux moteurs. Le pilote effectue un atterrissage forcé dans une zone marécageuse sur la rive est du lac Churchill (Saskatchewan). L'avion est lourdement endommagé. Le pilote est transporté à l'hôpital d'Île-à-la-Crosse (Saskatchewan), d'où il obtient son congé par la suite. Il a subi des blessures mineures. L'accident s'est produit vers 11 h 40, heure normale du Centre.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

L'avion était utilisé pour la détection des feux de forêt en vertu d'un contrat avec le ministère de l'Environnement de la Saskatchewan. L'exploitant possédait deux autres Cessna 337 (C-337), et il exploitait ce type d'avion depuis de nombreuses années. Le 12 juin 2008, la veille de l'accident, on a procédé au ravitaillement complet de l'avion, et celui-ci a été utilisé pour un vol d'entraînement d'une durée de 0,9 heure1. Aucun ravitaillement n'a été effectué avant le départ pour Stony Rapids le 13 juin, car on croyait qu'il restait suffisamment de carburant à bord de l'avion pour pouvoir effectuer un vol aller-retour à destination de Stony Rapids.

Le vol de deux heures jusqu'à Stony Rapids s'est déroulé sans incident, et l'avion n'a pas été ravitaillé avant le vol de retour vers Buffalo Narrows. Au cours du vol de retour, après environ 1 heure et 30 minutes de vol, le moteur avant s'est mis à perdre de la puissance et, peu après, le moteur arrière s'est arrêté. Le pilote a mis les deux sélecteurs de réservoir de carburant sur la position des réservoirs auxiliaires et mis les pompes de suralimentation des réservoirs auxiliaires en marche, mais les moteurs n'ont ni redémarré ni repris de la puissance. Le pilote n'avait pas essayé d'utiliser de carburant provenant des réservoirs auxiliaires avant la perte de puissance des moteurs, car il croyait qu'il restait suffisamment de carburant dans les réservoirs principaux pour effectuer le vol. Entre le moment où l'avion a été ravitaillé et où les moteurs se sont arrêtés, l'avion a volé pendant environ 4,5 heures.

Selon les dossiers, le pilote possédait la certification et les qualifications nécessaires pour effectuer le vol conformément à la réglementation existante. Au moment de l'accident, il totalisait 1100 heures de vol. Il venait d'être embauché par Meadow Air Limited et il avait suivi la formation en vol initiale de la compagnie la veille de l'accident. Il totalisait environ 10 heures de vol sur le C-337, accumulées au moment de sa formation initiale. Le vol en question était son premier vol opérationnel à bord du C-337 de Meadow Air Limited. Au moment de l'accident, le pilote était en service depuis cinq heures.

Les conditions météorologiques à Buffalo Narrows à 12 h, heure normale du Centre (HNC)2 étaient les suivantes : vent du 270º à quatre nœuds variant de 240º à 310º, visibilité de quatre milles terrestres dans de la fumée, quelques nuages à 3000 pieds, nuages dispersés à 10 000 pieds au-dessus du niveau du sol (agl), plafond couvert à 23 000 pieds agl, température de 21 ºC et point de rosée à 9 ºC.

Renseignements sur l'épave et les lieux de l'accident

L'examen de l'épave de l'avion sur les lieux de l'accident n'a révélé aucune anomalie préexistante. La nature des dommages subis par les hélices de l'avion indique que les moteurs ne fonctionnaient pas au moment de l'impact. Les réservoirs de carburant principaux étaient complètement vides, et la mise en marche des pompes des réservoirs auxiliaires a causé une cavitation de celles-ci en raison du manque de carburant. Les deux réservoirs de carburant auxiliaires étaient pleins.

Circuit de carburant du C-337D

Le circuit de carburant du C-337D comprend deux réservoirs d'aile principaux extérieurs et deux réservoirs auxiliaires intérieurs. Deux pompes à carburant entraînées par les moteurs alimentent chacune leur moteur respectif en situation normale. Il y a aussi deux pompes auxiliaires qui alimentent les pompes entraînées par moteur au moment du démarrage et en situation d'urgence. La conception du système fait en sorte que les pompes auxiliaires peuvent uniquement pomper du carburant des réservoirs principaux. S'il n'y a plus de carburant dans les réservoirs principaux, la mise en marche des pompes auxiliaires ne permettra pas de pomper le carburant des réservoirs auxiliaires.

Les sélecteurs des réservoirs de carburant sont placés en tandem au plafond du poste de pilotage. Le sélecteur avant commande l'alimentation en carburant du moteur avant et comporte quatre positions indiquées comme suit : Left Main [réservoir principal gauche](fonctionnement normal), Fuel Off Front Engine [alimentation coupée au moteur avant], Right Main [réservoir principal droit] (intercommunication) et Left Aux [réservoir auxiliaire gauche]. Le sélecteur arrière commande l'alimentation en carburant du moteur arrière et comporte quatre positions indiquées comme suit : Right Main [réservoir principal droit](fonctionnement normal), Fuel Off Rear Engine [alimentation coupée au moteur arrière], Left Main [réservoir principal gauche] (intercommunication) et Right Aux [réservoir auxiliaire droit]3.

Avant d'utiliser le carburant des réservoirs auxiliaires de l'avion, il faut d'abord brûler du carburant des réservoirs principaux pour l'équivalent d'environ une heure de vol avant de passer aux réservoirs auxiliaires, le but étant d'empêcher le carburant de la conduite de retour d'être évacué à l'extérieur.

Selon les renseignements fournis dans le manuel d'utilisation du C-337, la consommation de carburant à la puissance de croisière était d'environ 18 gallons US par heure (gal/h). Il se peut que le taux de consommation de carburant pour le vol d'entraînement de la veille ait atteint 25 gal/h. Le circuit de carburant principal peut contenir 92 gallons de carburant et le circuit auxiliaire peut en contenir 36, ce qui donne une capacité totale de carburant de 128 gallons.

L'enquête a révélé que de nombreux autres incidents de gestion de carburant s'étaient déjà produits avec ce type d'avion4. De plus, on a trouvé un article qui traitait de plusieurs questions relatives à la gestion du carburant de ce type d'avion5.

Manuel d'utilisation du C-337D

Selon les procédures du manuel d'utilisation du C-337D relatives aux pannes de moteur et au démarrage de moteur en vol, les sélecteurs des réservoirs de carburant doivent être placés à une des positions correspondant aux réservoirs principaux pour les redémarrages en vol. Les renseignements relatifs aux positions correspondant aux réservoirs auxiliaires se trouvent uniquement dans la section traitant des systèmes optionnels et non à la section II (description et renseignements d'exploitation) du manuel d'utilisation du C-337D. Le manuel ne prévient pas les pilotes de ne pas vider complètement les réservoirs principaux.

Programme de formation de la compagnie Meadow Air Limited

La formation au sol sur le C-337D de Meadow Air est fondée, entre autres, sur l'étude individuelle par les pilotes du manuel d'utilisation du C-337D. L'examen sur le C-337D que fait passer la compagnie comprend des questions sur la façon de déterminer la consommation de carburant, mais aucune question sur la procédure à suivre pour utiliser le carburant des réservoirs auxiliaires.

Analyse

Le pilote n'a pas utilisé de carburant provenant des réservoirs auxiliaires avant que les réservoirs principaux soient vides. Cette procédure ne lui a pas permis de remettre les moteurs en marche et va à l'encontre des procédures du manuel d'utilisation du C-337D. Le non-respect des procédures prescrites et la mauvaise estimation de la quantité de carburant indiquent que le pilote n'avait pas une bonne connaissance du fonctionnement du circuit de carburant de l'avion.

Les sélecteurs des réservoirs de carburant se trouvent au plafond du poste de pilotage. Le pilote doit donc interrompre sa surveillance des renseignements de vol primaires pour modifier la position des sélecteurs. Dans une situation où la charge de travail est élevée, p. ex. lorsqu'il y a perte de puissance des deux moteurs, la configuration du poste de pilotage pourrait compliquer la gestion du circuit de carburant. L'emplacement des sélecteurs et leur disposition en tandem ainsi que la désignation de certains éléments du circuit, comme des pompes « aux » qui ne pompent pas de carburant des réservoirs « aux », peuvent causer une certaine confusion chez les pilotes qui ne connaissent pas bien le fonctionnement du circuit de carburant du C-337.

Le taux de consommation de carburant élevé pendant le vol d'entraînement par rapport au taux de consommation à la puissance de croisière a contribué à l'épuisement du carburant restant dans les réservoirs principaux.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Le pilote a mal évalué la quantité de carburant restant dans les réservoirs principaux et la quantité de carburant requise pour effectuer le vol aller-retour à destination de Stony Rapids. Par conséquent, les deux moteurs se sont arrêtés lorsque le carburant dans les réservoirs principaux de l'avion a été épuisé.
  2. Le pilote n'avait pas une bonne connaissance du fonctionnement du circuit de carburant de l'avion et ne connaissait pas la marche à suivre pour utiliser le carburant des réservoirs de carburant auxiliaires de l'avion. Sa gestion du carburant a donc fait en sorte qu'il a été impossible d'utiliser le carburant dans les réservoirs auxiliaires après que le carburant dans les réservoirs principaux de l'avion a été épuisé et de remettre les moteurs en marche.
  3. Le programme de formation de l'exploitant sur le C-337D ne permettait pas de cerner ni d'évaluer les connaissances du pilote sur le fonctionnement du circuit de carburant du C-337D.

Fait établi quant aux risques

  1. La conception et la désignation des éléments du circuit de carburant du C-337D en compliquent le fonctionnement pendant les périodes de charge de travail élevée dans le poste de pilotage, ce qui augmente les risques de confusion.

Mesure de sécurité prise

L'exploitant a ajouté à son examen de formation sur le C-337D des questions sur le fonctionnement des sélecteurs des réservoirs de carburant, sur la gestion du carburant et sur les pompes de suralimentation des réservoirs auxiliaires.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 30 décembre 2008.

Annexe A — Schéma du circuit de carburant (simplifié)

Schéma du circuit de carburant (simplifié)

Source : www.consultresearch.com/337fuel.htm
Accessibilité de l'adresse internet confirmée à la date de publication du rapport.