Aviation Investigation Report A08O0235

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.


Nose Landing Gear Failure During Landing
Air Creebec Inc
Embraer EMB-110P1 C-FPCU
Cochrane, Ontario
31 August 2008

Summary

The Air Creebec Inc. Embraer EMB-110P1 aircraft (registration C-FPCU, serial number 110445) was on a training flight with two pilots on board. At approximately 1130 eastern daylight time while landing on Runway 13 at Cochrane, Ontario, the nose landing gear partially collapsed during the landing roll. The aircraft veered to the right and briefly exited the edge of the runway. The left brake was applied to prevent a complete runway excursion and directional control was regained, whereupon the aircraft was manoeuvred back onto the runway where it was brought to a stop. The aircraft received substantial damage to the nose section and the right propeller was damaged when it struck a runway edge light. There were no injuries to either of the pilots.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

History of the Flight

The training flight originated from Timmins, Ontario. The aircraft had behaved normally on departure from Timmins and there were no indications prior to landing at Cochrane that a nose gear collapse was imminent.

The crew performed a simulated instrument flight rules (IFR) non-directional beacon (NDB) Runway 31 approach circling for Runway 13 at Cochrane. After a low approach for Runway 13, a visual circuit was flown, culminating with the accident landing. The aircraft landed on the main landing gear with the nose gear being lowered normally with no excessive force at touchdown.

Runway 13/31 at the Cochrane Airport is asphalt covered, 4500 feet long, and 100 feet wide. At the time of the landing, the runway surface was dry.

Records indicate that the aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. The weight and centre of gravity were within the prescribed limits.

Flight Crew

The pilot-in-command held an Airline Transport Pilot License with a current medical certificate and pilot proficiency check. The co-pilot held a Commercial Pilot License with a current medical certificate and was undergoing training on type. The flight crew was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations.

Weather

Weather at the time of the occurrence was clear skies, visibility 15 miles, and the wind was calm. The weather is not considered to have been contributory to this accident.

Recorders

The aircraft was not equipped with a flight data recorder and none was required by regulation. The airplane was equipped with a cockpit voice recorder.

Service History of the Nose Gear Assembly

The complete nose gear assembly was shipped to the TSB Engineering Laboratory for examination. In service records since overhaul were also obtained from the operator. The nose landing gear (see Figure 1) was identified as part number 110P2-410-21, serial number 507 and was originally manufactured by a French company called ERAM (now Messier-Dowty).

Figure 1. Nose landing gear
Figure 1. Nose landing gear

The area of the nose gear failure is shown in Figure 2.

Figure 2. Nose landing gear - failure point
Figure 2. Nose landing gear - failure point

The nose landing gear (see Photo 1) was overhauled by Aeromil (formerly Aeromech PTY LTD) in Australia on 11 January 2007. The time since new on the Authorised Release Certificate from Aeromil was marked "Unknown," indicating Aeromil may not have been provided with this information when the nose gear was shipped to them for overhaul. Air Creebec Inc. received the nose gear and installed it on the aircraft on 28 January 2007. At the time of installation, the aircraft had 24 859 hours and 37 591 cycles in service.

Photo 1. Top nose gear assembly
Photo 1. Top nose gear assembly

Since the nose gear was installed on the aircraft, it had accumulated 1408 hours and 1893 cycles in service.

From the time the nose landing gear was overhauled to this date, there were no maintenance arrangements between Transport Canada and the Australian civil aviation authority. Therefore, the Authorized Release Certificate that Aeromil used to certify the work performed on the nose landing gear did not meet the requirements of subsections 571.11(3) and 571.08(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs). The nose landing gear should not have been installed on the aircraft. Air Creebec was unaware of this when the landing gear was installed on the airplane. Maintenance records indicated that this was the third nose landing gear installed by Air Creebec on its fleet of EMB 110 aircraft. The company has since altered its maintenance practices.

Aeromil Procedures During Overhaul

The overhaul procedures Aeromil used were in accordance with the most recent version of the Embraer Component Maintenance Manual, Rev. 2, 30 March 2005 TP110/251. Aeromil's process for non-destructive testing (NDT) of aluminum alloy parts, which included the nose landing gear strut housing of the failed landing gear, was performed using ARDROX Fluorescent Penetrant 970P25 and by following the procedures in subsection 3-8 to 3-11 of the Embraer Component Maintenance Manual.

Examination of the Nose Landing Gear

A visual inspection of the fractured surfaces identified several visible features on the fractured strut housing trunnion arm. The main fatigue crack consisted of a large dark area; in addition, smaller fingernail-shaped fatigue cracks were visible on the opposite bore diameter of the fractured housing. The rest of the fracture indicated a ductile overload failure. The inner surface of the aluminum alloy strut housing arm displayed an uneven yellowish colour, which is characteristic of anodized aluminum. The colour became paler towards the opening of the arm, indicating some wear at the surface (see Photo 2). Ratchet marks and progression marks were also visible and are characteristic of fatigue cracks.

Photo 2. Close-up of the extremity of the strut housing arm
Photo 2. Close-up of the extremity of the strut housing arm

The observed damage to the strut housing locking head was mostly plastic deformation on one of the corners. The damage was considered as secondary to the trunnion link failure.

Optical Microscopy

Optical microscopy confirmed some of the surface features identified during the visual inspection, such as beach marks and small fatigue cracks. After the degreasing of the parts, an obvious distinction remained between two sections of the main fatigue crack. The bore surface also displayed evidence of surface wear, and the surface colour changed from an anodized aluminum surface to almost bare metal (see Photo 2).

Fracture Surface Examination

Scanning Electron Microscopy (SEM) and Energy Dispersive X-Ray Spectroscopy (EDS) examinations were performed. Two distinctive sections of the bore were heavily oxidized and covered with a substance in many places. An EDS spectra was performed to distinguish their composition. The section without the substance primarily showed an aluminum and oxygen composition. At higher magnifications the areas had a "dry mud" appearance, which is not typical for alumina scale on an aluminum surface. Such composition may be an indication of aluminum hydroxide. The other section was also covered with an unidentified substance.

Fatigue striations became evident in a section of the main fatigue crack. The striations did not have a sharp appearance, possibly due to rubbing and oxidation. EDS spectrum and maps of the substance covering the inner bore of the arm showed a compound that was rich in carbon, oxygen, sulphur, and silicon.

One section of the main fatigue crack under SEM examination displayed clear fatigue striations and was clean and free of debris. EDS spectra from these sections revealed insignificant amounts of oxidation, but did show the elements that are identifiable with the aluminum alloy of the strut housing.

The small broken strut piece displayed two small fingernail-shaped fatigue cracks. An SEM examination of these cracks showed signs of oxidation, suggesting they were not recently developed cracks. Bright deposits near the origin of the cracks had similar chemistry to the compound which was also found in the main fatigue crack.

Housing Bore Surface and Compound Identification

The bare sections of the bore surface had identifiable circumferential machining or grinding marks. All of the bare areas should have been anodized aluminum alloy as per specification. It appears that the anodized layer on the bore surface was substantially worn. The worn areas are identifiable by the lighter yellow colour that was observed during the initial visual inspection.

The compound on the bore fracture was recognizable even after the part was degreased. The compound was identified as a bushing locking adhesive, Wurth A-04-0368 DOS Flange Sealant. Aeromil used the adhesive during the bushing installation into the trunnion arm on the nose gear assembly. The adhesive contains elements of carbon, oxygen, silicon, and sulphur. There was also a higher quantity of silicon within the crack, more so than the level within the adhesive, which may have been residual from the dye penetrant (developer) used for the bore inspection during the overhaul.

Inner Surface near Fatigue Crack Origin

The region within the bore's surface near the crack origin displayed not only circumferential grooves (attributable to machining or grinding), but also evidence of significant wear. Numerous pits were found in some of the sections as were multiple secondary cracks, some filled with the above-mentioned adhesive. Other features found around this location were uneven contrast of bands with different shades of grey, suggesting compositional differences due to different degrees of oxidation as a result of uneven wear of the anodized layer.

Identification of Other Foreign Material

Within the housing bore surface, other elements were found. Some of these elements were of the same composition as those found on the fatigue fracture surface. One was identified as molybdenum disulfide. The identified element is commonly used in other areas of the aircraft, possibly as a lubricant, but should not have been found between the bushing and the bore because the two should be tightly sealed together.

Analysis

The nose landing gear was overhauled and certified by Aeromil, an Australian company. Canada and Australia do not have any maintenance agreements in place, meaning that each country does not accept the other's certification on any parts where maintenance has been performed. Unknowingly, Air Creebec installed the overhauled nose landing gear on its aircraft with an Australian Authorized Release Certificate that is not recognized or accepted by Transport Canada.

Examination of the fractured surfaces by visual, optical and SEM methods suggested that the failure of the strut housing in a single-cycle ductile overstress mode was preceded by progressive mode cracks. These cracks were fatigue cracks and the main larger crack led to the eventual failure of the nose landing gear. The main fatigue crack had two distinctive areas that grew in two stages over an unknown period of time. One area had clear fatigue striations with little oxidation and debris. The second area had severe oxidation, rubbing, and an integrated substance, and is considered to be the older of the two sections. The substance was identified as hardened bushing locking adhesive, with elements of carbon, oxygen, silicon, and sulphur.

The main fatigue crack in the housing displayed multiple initiation sites. There were also imperfections on the inner surface of the housing that could have contributed to the initiation of the crack. This could not be proven because the bore surface was worn and damaged. The multiple initiation fatigue crack origins possibly indicate more than one point of initiation for the fatigue crack. The origin of the initial crack could not be ascertained. It may have been induced during the machining process of the inner bore surface at manufacture, or possibly due to the condition of the tooling used in fabrication, or it could have been initiated by the introduction of foreign matter or debris.

Entry of a foreign material, identified as molybdenum disulfide, into the bore suggests a small gap developed between the bushing and the bore, which likely occurred during the gradual opening of the main fatigue crack during post-overhaul service. The wear on the bore surface and pitting also suggest looseness of the bushing in the bore. The pitting was possibly a result of moisture entry into this area during the service life of the nose landing gear.

Traces of the bushing locking adhesive were found in an area of the fatigue section of the crack and in secondary cracks nearby. If the adhesive had cured (solidified), it is unlikely that it could have penetrated the cracks. Therefore, it is reasonable to believe that the cracks were present when the adhesive was in liquid state, such as during the installation of the bushing at the time of overhaul, and that it penetrated into the pre-existing cracks in the bore arm.

The crack should have been identified during overhaul but, for unknown reasons, it was not. This could have been due to workload, working conditions, tools, operator ability, lack of supervision, misreading or misinterpretation of instructions. As the component was overhauled in Australia approximately two years prior to the event, it was deemed unlikely that further investigation would uncover issues prevailing at that time, and this was not pursued.

The following TSB Engineering Laboratory report was completed:

LP 121/2008 – Nose Landing Gear Failure

This report is available from the Transportation Safety Board upon request.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The nose landing gear failure was caused by the fracture of the oleo strut housing trunnion link arm, which was initiated by an existing fatigue crack in the bore of the link arm.
  2. The crack propagated during the pre-overhaul service life of the nose gear and progressed further during the post-overhaul service of the aircraft, leading to an overload fracture.
  3. For undetermined reasons, the crack went unnoticed at overhaul.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 24 September 2009.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A08O0235

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Rupture du train avant à l'atterrissage
de l'Embraer EMB-110P1 C-FPCU
exploité par Air Creebec Inc.
à Cochrane (Ontario)
le 31 août 2008

Résumé

Deux pilotes effectuent une séance d'entraînement à bord de l'Embraer EMB-110P1 immatriculé C-FPCU, numéro de série 110445, exploité par Air Creebec Inc. Vers 11 h 30, heure avancée de l'Est, lors de la course à l'atterrissage sur la piste 13 de l'aéroport de Cochrane (Ontario), le train avant de l'avion s'affaisse partiellement. L'avion vire à droite et sort un instant sur le côté de la piste. Le pilote met du frein à gauche pour empêcher l'avion de quitter complètement la piste. La maîtrise en direction de l'appareil est reprise, l'avion est ramené sur la piste puis immobilisé sur la piste. Le nez de l'avion a subi des dommages importants. L'hélice droite a été endommagée quand elle a heurté un feu de bord de piste. Aucun des deux pilotes n'a été blessé.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Déroulement du vol

La séance d'entraînement avait débuté à Timmins (Ontario). L'avion s'était comporté normalement au départ de Timmins et rien ne laissait présager avant l'atterrissage à Cochrane qu'un affaissement du train avant était imminent.

L'équipage a fait une approche simulée selon les règles de vol aux instruments (IFR) à l'aide du radiophare non directionnel (NDB) de la piste 31, puis il a fait une approche indirecte sur la piste 13 de l'aéroport de Cochrane. Après une approche à basse altitude sur la piste 13, l'équipage a fait un circuit à vue avant de procéder à l'atterrissage. Le train d'atterrissage principal a touché la piste, et le train avant est sorti normalement sans force excessive au toucher des roues.

La piste 13/31 de l'aéroport de Cochrane mesure 4500 pieds de longueur sur 100 pieds de largeur, et sa surface est asphaltée. La surface de la piste était sèche au moment de l'atterrissage.

Les dossiers indiquent que l'avion était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. La masse et le centrage se trouvaient dans les limites prescrites.

Équipage de conduite

Le commandant de bord possédait une licence de pilote de ligne en état de validité et un certificat médical de validation, et il avait réussi sa vérification de compétence pilote. Le copilote était titulaire d'une licence de pilote professionnel en état de validité et d'un certificat médical de validation, et il était en formation sur type. L'équipage de conduite possédait les licences et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur.

Conditions météorologiques

Ciel dégagé, visibilité de 15 milles, vent calme. La météo n'est pas un facteur contributif de l'accident.

Enregistreurs de bord

L'avion n'était pas équipé d'un enregistreur de données de vol (FDR), et il n'y avait pas d'exigence réglementaire en ce sens. L'avion était équipé d'un enregistreur de la parole dans le poste de pilotage (CVR).

Antécédents en service du train avant

Le train d'atterrissage avant au complet a été envoyé au Laboratoire technique du BST pour examen. Les antécédents en service depuis la dernière révision ont également été obtenus de l'exploitant. Le train avant (Figure 1) porte la référence 110P2-410-21 et le numéro de série 507, et il a été construit par un fabriquant français nommé ERAM (aujourd'hui Messier-Dowty).

Figure 1. Train d'atterrissage avant
Figure 1. Train d'atterrissage avant

On peut voir le point de rupture du train avant sur la Figure 2.

Figure 2. Point de rupture du train avant
Figure 2. Point de rupture du train avant

Le train d'atterrissage avant (Photo 1) avait été révisé par Aeromil (anciennement Aeromech PTY LTD) en Australie le 11 janvier 2007. Sur le certificat après maintenance délivré par Aeromil, il était indiqué « unknown » (inconnu) à la case « temps depuis la mise en service initiale », ce qui indique que ce renseignement n'a peut-être pas été fourni à Aeromil lorsqu'on lui a envoyé le train d'atterrissage avant pour révision. Air Creebec Inc. a reçu le train d'atterrissage avant et l'a installé sur le C-FPCU le 28 janvier 2007. Au moment de l'installation, l'avion totalisait 24 859 heures en service et 37 591 cycles.

Photo 1. Partie supérieure du train avant
Photo 1. Partie supérieure du train avant

Depuis l'installation du train avant, l'avion avait accumulé 1408 heures de service et 1893 cycles.

Entre la révision du train avant et la présente date, il n'y a pas eu d'accord sur la maintenance entre Transports Canada et l'organisme de réglementation de l'Aviation civile de l'Australie. Ainsi, le certificat après maintenance utilisé par Aeromil pour certifier les travaux effectués sur le train d'atterrissage avant n'était pas conforme aux paragraphes 571.11(3) et 571.08(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC). Le train d'atterrissage avant n'aurait pas dû être installé sur l'avion. Air Creebec n'était pas au courant de cela, lorsque le train d'atterrissage a été installé sur l'avion. Les dossiers de maintenance indiquent qu'il s'agissait du troisième train d'atterrissage avant installé par Air Creebec sur sa flotte d'EMB 110. Depuis, la compagnie a modifié ses pratiques de maintenance.

Procédures de révision d'Aeromil

Les procédures de révision d'Aeromil étaient conformes à la dernière version du manuel de maintenance des composants d'Embraer (Embraer Component Maintenance Manual), révision 2, en date du 30 mars 2005, TP110/251. Le processus d'essai non destructif (END) utilisé par Aeromil pour les pièces en alliage d'aluminium (et qui a été utilisé pour le corps de l'amortisseur du train d'atterrissage avant qui s'est rompu) faisait appel à un liquide fluorescent ARDROX 970P25, et il était conforme aux sous-parties 3-8 et 3-11 du manuel de maintenance des composants d'Embraer.

Examen du train d'atterrissage avant

Un examen visuel des faciès de rupture a révélé quelques détails visibles sur le bras rompu du corps de l'amortisseur logeant le tourillon. La principale crique de fatigue occupait une large zone noire; en outre, de petites criques de fatigue en forme d'ongle étaient visibles sur le côté opposé de l'alésage du bras rompu. Le reste de la fracture indiquait une rupture ductile due à une surcharge. La surface intérieure du bras du corps de l'amortisseur en alliage d'aluminium avait une couleur jaunâtre répartie inégalement, ce qui est typique de l'aluminium anodisé. La coloration était plus pâle vers l'ouverture du bras, signe que la surface était usée (Photo 2). L'examen a également révélé des marques dentelées et des signes de progression de la fatigue qui sont typiques des criques de fatigue.

Photo 2. Gros plan de l'extrémité du bras du corps de l'amortisseur
Photo 2. Gros plan de l'extrémité du bras du corps de l'amortisseur

Les dommages relevés sur la tête de blocage du corps de l'amortisseur consistaient essentiellement en une déformation plastique sur un des coins. Ces dommages ont été attribués à la rupture du tourillon de liaison.

Microscopie optique

La microscopie optique a permis de confirmer les détails observés sur le faciès de rupture lors de l'examen visuel, comme des marques concentriques et de petites criques de fatigue. Un contraste notable entre deux sections de la crique de fatigue principale est demeuré à la suite du dégraissage des pièces. La surface de l'alésage présentait également des signes d'usure. La couleur de la surface allait de la couleur de l'aluminium anodisé à la couleur du métal nu. (Photo 2).

Examen de la surface de rupture

Des examens par microscopie électronique à balayage (MEB) et par spectroscopie de rayons X à dispersion d'énergie (EDS) ont été effectués. Deux zones de l'alésage étaient très oxydées et recouvertes d'une substance en plusieurs endroits. Un spectre EDS a permis de déterminer la composition de ces substances. La zone sans substance était essentiellement composée d'aluminium et d'oxygène. L'examen sous fort grossissement des zones a révélé une surface ressemblant à de la « boue séchée » non typique d'un revêtement anodique d'aluminium. Cette composition peut indiquer la présence d'hydroxyde d'aluminium. L'autre zone était recouverte d'une substance inconnue.

La zone de la principale crique de fatigue présentait des stries de fatigue. Les stries ne semblaient pas aiguisées, vraisemblablement en raison du frottement et de l'oxydation. Les spectres EDS et les cartes de la substance recouvrant la surface de l'alésage du bras indiquent un composé riche en carbone, en oxygène, en soufre et en silicium.

L'examen par MEB de l'une des sections de la principale crique de fatigue a révélé des stries de fatigue claires et dépourvues de débris. Un spectre EDS de ces sections a révélé des quantités négligeables d'oxydation, mais a révélé des  éléments propres à l'alliage d'aluminium du corps de l'amortisseur.

Le petit morceau de l'amortisseur qui s'est rompu présentait deux petites criques de fatigue en forme d'ongle. Un examen par MEB des criques a révélé des signes d'oxydation, ce qui donne à penser que ces criques n'étaient pas récentes. Des dépôts brillants près du point d'origine des criques avaient une composition chimique similaire à la substance trouvée dans la principale crique de fatigue.

Surface intérieure de l'alésage et identification du composé

On pouvait clairement voir des marques d'usinage ou de polissage sur toute la circonférence des sections à nu de la surface de l'alésage. La surface de toutes les sections à nu aurait dû être un alliage d'aluminium anodisé, comme le veulent les spécifications. Il semble que le revêtement anodique de la surface intérieure de l'alésage était très usé. On peut discerner les endroits usés grâce à leur coloration jaunâtre plus pâle constatée lors de l'examen visuel initial.

Le composé trouvé sur le faciès de rupture de l'alésage était reconnaissable même après le dégraissage. On a déterminé que le composé était un adhésif servant à fixer la bague, appelé Wurth A-04-0368 DOS Flange Sealant. Aeromil a utilisé cet adhésif lors de l'installation de la bague dans le bras de liaison du tourillon sur le train avant. L'adhésif comprend du carbone, de l'oxygène, du silicium et du soufre. Il y avait également une plus grande concentration de silicium dans la crique qu'il n'y en avait dans l'adhésif, ce qui peut être dû à des résidus du liquide pénétrant utilisé lors de l'inspection par ressuage de l'alésage pendant la révision.

Surface intérieure près du point d'origine de la crique de fatigue

L'endroit sur la surface de l'alésage près du point d'origine de la crique présentait non seulement des rainures sur toute la circonférence (dues à l'usinage ou au polissage), mais également des signes d'usure importante. De nombreuses piqûres ont été constatées en certains endroits, ainsi que de nombreuses criques secondaires qui étaient parfois remplies de l'adhésif précité. Parmi les autres caractéristiques observées à cet endroit, il y avait un contraste inégal de différentes teintes de gris, ce qui indique des compositions différentes dues à des degrés d'oxydation différents, donc d'une usure inégale du revêtement anodique.

Identification des autres matières étrangères

D'autres éléments ont été trouvés sur la surface de l'alésage du bras. Certains de ces éléments avaient la même composition que les éléments trouvés sur le faciès de la rupture. Parmi ces composés, on a pu identifier du sulfure de molybdène. Ce composé est régulièrement utilisé dans d'autres parties de l'aéronef, vraisemblablement comme lubrifiant, mais il n'aurait pas dû se trouver entre la bague et l'alésage, puisque les deux pièces auraient dû être étroitement scellées ensemble.

Analyse

Le train d'atterrissage avant avait été révisé et certifié par l'entreprise australienne Aeromil. Le Canada et l'Australie n'ont pas conclu d'accord sur la maintenance, ce qui signifie qu'aucun des deux pays ne reconnaît la certification par l'autre de pièces qui ont fait l'objet de maintenance. Air Creebec a installé sur son avion le train d'atterrissage avant, qui avait été révisé par une entreprise australienne, et qui avait reçu un certificat après maintenance qui n'est pas reconnu ni accepté par Transports Canada, ce que Air Creebec ne savait pas.

L'examen des faciès de rupture par des méthodes visuelles, par des méthodes optiques ou par MEB suggère qu'avant la rupture du corps de l'amortisseur sous l'effet de contraintes ductiles monocycliques excessives, il y avait eu progression des criques. Ces criques étaient des criques de fatigue, et c'est la crique principale qui a fini par causer la rupture du train d'atterrissage avant. La principale crique de fatigue avait deux zones distinctes qui ont progressé en deux étapes pendant une durée inconnue. Une des zones présentait des stries de fatigue claires sans oxydation ni débris. L'autre zone était très oxydée, elle présentait des signes de frottement et une substance s'y trouvait; elle est donc considérée comme la première des deux zones à s'être développée. Il a été établi que cette substance était de l'adhésif solidifié servant à fixer la bague comportant du carbone, de l'oxygène, du silicium et du soufre.

La principale crique de fatigue dans le bras avait plusieurs points d'origine. La surface intérieure du bras présentait également des imperfections qui auraient pu contribuer à l'amorce  de la crique. Cependant, cette théorie n'a pu être prouvée, puisque la surface de l'alésage était usée et endommagée. Les multiples points d'origine de la principale crique de fatigue indiquent qu'il y a peut-être eu plus d'un point d'initiation de la crique de fatigue. L'origine de la crique initiale n'a pu être déterminée. Elle peut avoir été provoquée par le processus d'alésage du bras de liaison lors de la fabrication, par l'état des outils utilisés lors de la fabrication, ou par la présence de matière étrangère ou de débris.

La présence d'une matière étrangère (le sulfure de molybdène) dans l'alésage indique qu'un petit espace est apparu entre la bague et l'alésage, probablement alors que la principale crique de fatigue progressait pendant la période d'utilisation de la pièce après révision. L'usure et les piqûres présentes sur la surface d'alésage indiquent également que la bague était desserrée dans l'alésage. Les piqûres étaient vraisemblablement dues à la présence d'eau pendant la période d'utilisation du train d'atterrissage avant.

Des traces de l'adhésif servant à fixer la bague ont été trouvées dans une zone du faciès de rupture en fatigue ainsi que dans des criques secondaires avoisinantes. Si l'adhésif s'était solidifié, il est peu probable qu'il aurait pu imprégner les criques. Par conséquent, il est raisonnable de penser que les criques étaient présentes lorsque l'adhésif était à l'état liquide au moment de l'installation de la bague lors de la révision, et que le liquide a imprégné les criques déjà existantes sur l'alésage du bras.

La présence de la crique aurait dû être décelée lors de la révision, mais pour des raisons inconnues, elle ne l'a pas été. La charge de travail, les conditions de travail, les outils, la compétence du préposé, le manque de surveillance, ou une erreur de lecture ou d'interprétation des instructions pourraient être à l'origine de la non-détection de la présence de la crique. Comme le composant avait été révisé en Australie environ deux ans avant le vol ayant mené à l'accident, on a jugé qu'une enquête plus poussée ne permettrait probablement pas de déterminer les problèmes qui existaient à cette époque, et une enquête plus poussée n'a pas été entreprise.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

LP 121/2008 – Nose Landing Gear Failure (Rupture du train d'atterrissage avant).

On peut obtenir ce rapport en s'adressant au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. La rupture du train d'atterrissage avant a été causée par la fracture du bras de liaison du corps de l'amortisseur oléopneumatique logeant le tourillon. La fracture a été provoquée par la présence d'une crique de fatigue dans l'alésage du bras de liaison.
  2. La crique s'est propagée pendant la période d'utilisation du train d'atterrissage avant précédant la révision, et a poursuivi sa progression pendant la période d'utilisation après révision de l'avion, ce qui a fini par causer une rupture en surcharge.
  3. Pour des raisons inconnues, la présence de la crique n'a pas été décelée lors de la révision.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 24 septembre 2009.