Aviation Investigation Report A08P0035

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of Visual Reference/Collision with Terrain
Sequoia Helicopters Limited
Bell 212 (Helicopter) C-GERH
Golden, British Columbia, 9 nm W
07 February 2008

Summary

During the approach to a landing site to drop off skiers at approximately 1454 mountain standard time, the Bell 212’s (registration C-GERH, serial number 30768) main rotor blades struck the mountainside. The helicopter remained upright, but the main rotor separated from the helicopter and struck the fuselage. The pilot received fatal injuries and the ski guide seated in the front left seat received serious injuries. The guide and skiers seated in the rear of the helicopter were uninjured. The uninjured guide shut off the fuel valves and turned the battery switches off. There was no fire. The survivors were evacuated using local helicopter operators.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

History of the Flight

The helicopter operated by Sequoia Helicopters Ltd. was being used to transport skiers for Purcell Helicopter Skiing (PHS) near Golden, British Columbia. At 1027 mountain standard time 1 on the morning of the accident, the helicopter departed PHS’s lodge, located approximately one nautical mile (nm) east 2 of Golden, for its first flight of the day. A total of 28 flight legs were flown before the accident occurred at 1454. The flights consisted of transporting three groups of skiers from the lodge to an area near the headwaters of Canyon Creek, approximately nine nm west of Golden. Throughout the day, the groups of skiers were repeatedly dropped-off at the top of three ski runs and picked up at the bottom of those runs.

On the accident flight, two guides and seven skiers boarded the helicopter at Serenity Cabin, located at approximately 7000 feet above sea level (asl) near the Canyon Creek valley bottom. Three skiers previously with the group remained at the cabin. The intention was to take the skiers to the Dawn Mountain ski run, approximately 0.8 nm north of Serenity Cabin, but a snow squall at the drop-off site was causing poor visibility. As a result, the decision was made to take the skiers to the Whitehorn ski run, approximately 0.4 nm northeast of Serenity cabin, where visibility appeared better. The Whitehorn drop-off site, marked with four flagged poles (also referred to as pins or stakes), was located on a bench 3 at approximately 8100 feet asl, several hundred feet above the treeline and approximately 300 feet below the ridgeline. Terrain above the treeline was predominantly snow-covered, but included some areas of exposed rock, including one such area immediately behind the accident site and another immediately below the flagged site.

The helicopter was equipped with a GPS-based tracking system. It was configured to transmit data, including the helicopter’s position, speed, heading, and altitude via satellite phone link about every 60 seconds. The system was designed such that if data could not be transmitted (as would be the case if the satellite phone link reception was temporarily lost), the data would be stored in the unit and sent after reception was re-established. Post-crash inspection of the unit showed that the last nine minutes of data was stored and had not been transmitted. It was not determined why the data had not been transmitted.

The data indicate that the route flown on the accident flight (see Figure 1) was similar to the routes flown between Serenity Cabin and the Whitehorn drop-off site on three flights completed earlier in the day. All of the approaches to the landing area were made from the southeast, across the mountainside. However, the helicopter’s rate of climb during the enroute part of the accident flight was greater than on previous flights and the approach to the drop-off site was flown at a slightly lower altitude. The last GPS data indicate that the helicopter had slowed to 30 knots (ground speed) when it was approximately 30 feet above and 900 feet southeast of the flagged site. On the previous flight to Whitehorn, the helicopter had slowed to 25 knots while approximately 95 feet above and 600 feet southeast of the flagged site.

Figure 1. Helicopter flight path
Figure 1. Helicopter flight path

In the Bell 212, translational lift occurs at approximately 20 knots. If the helicopter slows below that airspeed in level flight, the rotor’s efficiency is reduced and the helicopter will descend unless more power is applied. Just as the flagged site came into view at about their altitude, engine power was increased and light turbulence was experienced just before the helicopter’s rotor blade struck the mountainside. It is normal for the engine power to increase as a helicopter’s forward and vertical speeds are arrested prior to landing.

Impact forces during collision with the mountainside were low enough that the impact felt like a hard landing. No indication was found of forward motion of the helicopter after the skids contacted the snow. The helicopter remained upright and oriented towards the flagged site, which was located approximately 600 feet across the mountainside (northwest) and 100 feet higher than the accident site. The rotor and main rotor gearbox separated from the helicopter. The rotor mast fractured just below the main rotor hub and the main rotor blades struck the tail rotor 90º gearbox and the forward fuselage roof.

The pilot, seated in the right front seat, was struck by a rotor blade and received fatal injuries. The ski guide seated in the left front seat received serious injuries. The skiers and guide seated in the aft cabin area were uninjured. Fuel from fractured fuel lines began leaking down into the cabin. The uninjured ski guide pulled the emergency T‑handles to shut off the fuel valves and turned the battery switches off in accordance with the annual training he had received from Sequoia Helicopters Ltd. and PHS. The fuel leak stopped and there was no fire. The uninjured guide also radioed for assistance and the PHS emergency response plan was implemented. Medical attention was immediately provided to the injured guide and the pilot by a medical doctor on board the accident helicopter; however, the pilot succumbed to his injuries. The guides and skiers were evacuated from the site by local helicopter operators.

Pilot

Records indicate that the pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. He had accumulated nearly 8000 hours flying helicopters, of which more than 1500 hours were accumulated flying Bell 212 helicopters. He had flown for PHS for several winters and was familiar with the Canyon Creek area and the Whitehorn ski run. The pilot was wearing a helmet as well as shoulder and lap restraints. The pilot had two weeks off from the 14th to the 28th of January 2008. He had flown every day from January 29 until the day of the accident. He flew 13 hours in this 10-day period.

Aircraft

A review of the technical records indicated that the helicopter was serviced and maintained in accordance with existing directives. There were no outstanding or deferred defects recorded in the technical records and a post-accident examination of the helicopter did not reveal any pre‑accident defects that would have contributed to the accident. Approximately 400 pounds of fuel was found on board the helicopter after the accident. The fuel sampled was of the proper grade and quality and contained no contamination. The helicopter weight was approximately 2200 pounds below maximum gross weight and was within balance limits. Examination of the main rotor blades and main rotor gearbox showed damage consistent with high engine power being delivered at the time the main rotor blades struck the mountainside. Separation of the main rotor gearbox from the helicopter damaged the fuel/oil heat exchanger on the number one engine and the fuel control unit on the number two engine, allowing fuel to leak through the fuselage roof and into the aft cabin.

Meteorological Information

There is no official weather recording station at the accident site. However, weather conditions in the Canyon Creek area were recorded by the PHS guides throughout the day. Weather conditions were also recorded at the Kicking Horse Mountain Resort (KHMR) weather station, located at 8038 feet asl (approximately four nm southeast of the accident site), as well as at the Golden Airport (CYGE).

The wind was consistently from the west-southwest throughout the day, varying between 214º at 0900 and 240º at 1500. Wind from this direction would have blown predominantly uphill at the accident site. Wind speed increased substantially throughout the day. Between 0800 and 1500, recorded wind speed at the KHMR increased from 4 knots to 13 knots and gust speed increased from 8 knots to 23 knots. At 1500 the temperature was at −13ºC at the Whitehorn drop-off site and the altimeter setting at CYGE was 29.68 inches of mercury (in Hg). Calculations show that density altitude at the Whitehorn drop-off site (8100 feet asl) would have been approximately 6950 feet.

Broken cloud conditions were present until approximately 1400, after which the conditions were overcast. Localized snow showers occurred periodically, including immediately prior to the accident flight when a snow squall obscured visibility over the Dawn Mountain ski run drop-off site 0.8 nm from the accident site. The flags at the Whitehorn drop-off site, located approximately 600 feet across the mountainside from the accident site, had come into view moments before the accident occurred. Visibility is often obscured for several seconds during landings on dry, light snow because of the snow being blown up by the rotor downwash. In these conditions, flagged poles often provide pilots with their only visual references at landing areas.

Analysis

Examination of the helicopter did not reveal any defects that would have contributed to the accident. The helicopter was carrying three fewer passengers on the accident flight than on previous flights and had minimal though sufficient fuel, thus decreasing the helicopter’s gross weight. The density altitude was lower than the actual altitude and the prevailing wind was blowing strongly uphill. The combination of helicopter gross weight, density altitude, and wind would have increased the helicopter’s performance including its rate of climb on the accident flight.

The pilot was familiar with the Whitehorn ski run and had flown to the drop-off site three times earlier in the day. Although the enroute flight path during the accident flight was similar to the paths flown on earlier flights, the approach to the drop-off site was flown at a lower altitude than on the previous flight, resulting in a flatter approach profile.

Visibility above the treeline varied. The accident flight destination was changed because a snow squall obscured visibility at the original drop-off site. The sky cover was overcast, a condition creating a uniform, diffused (flat) light that, particularly on monochromic and relatively featureless surfaces such as snow, provides no shadows or reflections that can be used as visual references. As well, blowing snow may have obscured ground features. The flags at the drop-off site, 600 feet ahead of the helicopter, were visible moments before the accident. However, it is not known if visibility towards the featureless, snow-covered mountainside adjacent to the helicopter was compromised by flat light and blowing snow. It is also not known why the approach on the accident flight was flown at a lower altitude than on the previous flight. It is possible that, due to poor visibility, the pilot was not aware of the helicopter’s proximity to the mountainside.

The helicopter’s forward and vertical speeds were very low when it contacted terrain, consistent with a normal landing. The helicopter did not slide forward after the skids contacted the snow; it remained upright and oriented in the direction it had been travelling. The low vertical and forward speeds at touchdown are consistent with the pilot intentionally landing the helicopter at the accident site. It is possible that, due to a lack of visual references and to blowing snow from the rotor downwash, the pilot was unaware that the helicopter was close enough for the rotor blades to strike the mountainside.

Wind direction had remained steadily uphill (approximately 90º to the flight path) for several hours prior to the accident, but wind and gust speeds had increased substantially. The upflowing air would have provided lift, allowing the helicopter to operate using less power than would have been required in still or downflowing air. It is possible that a decrease in the upflowing air caused a momentary decrease in lift and the helicopter descended into the mountainside before adequate additional power was applied. As well, if the helicopter’s airspeed had been allowed to decrease to below 20 knots, the resulting reduction of rotor efficiency may have caused the helicopter to descend into the mountainside.

The ski guide’s shutdown of the helicopter’s fuel and electrical system after the accident prevented injury to the passengers from leaking fuel and may also have prevented fire. The implementation of Purcell Helicopter Skiing’s emergency response plan also reduced risk of further injury to the survivors.

Finding as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The helicopter’s main rotor blades contacted the mountainside during the landing in poor visibility for undetermined reasons. The main rotor separated and struck the fuselage.

Other Finding

  1. Further injury was reduced by the ski guide’s shutdown of the helicopter’s fuel and electrical systems and by implementing Purcell Helicopter Skiing’s emergency response plan.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board’s investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 04 November 2008.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A08P0035

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n’est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de référence visuelle et collision avec le relief
de l’hélicoptère Bell 212  C‑GERH
exploité par Sequoia Helicopters Limited
à 9 nm à l’ouest de Golden (Colombie‑Britannique)
le 7 février 2008

Résumé

Vers 14 h 54, heure normale des Rocheuses, pendant l'approche vers un lieu d'atterrissage devant servir à débarquement des skieurs, les pales du rotor principal du Bell 212 (portant l’immatriculation C‑GERH et le numéro de série 30768) heurtent le contrefort montagneux. L’hélicoptère demeure à l’endroit, mais le rotor principal se détache de l’hélicoptère et percute le fuselage. Le pilote subit des blessures mortelles et le guide de ski prenant place dans le siège avant gauche subit des blessures graves. Le guide et les skieurs prenant place à l’arrière de l’hélicoptère s’en tirent indemnes. Le guide en question ferme les robinets de carburant et place les interrupteurs de la batterie en position d’arrêt. Aucun incendie ne se déclare. Les survivants sont évacués grâce à des exploitants d’hélicoptères locaux.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Déroulement du vol

L’hélicoptère, exploité par Sequoia Helicopters Ltd., servait à transporter de skieurs pour le compte de Purcell Helicopter Skiing (PHS), près de Golden (Colombie‑Britannique). Le matin de l’accident, à 10 h 27, heure normale des Rocheuses (HNR)1, l’hélicoptère a décollé du pavillon de PHS, situé à environ un mille marin (nm) à l’est2 de Golden, pour effectuer son premier vol de la journée. L’hélicoptère a effectué au total 28 étapes de vol avant l’accident, lequel est survenu à 14 h 54. Ces vols servaient à transporter trois groupes de skieurs du pavillon jusqu’à une région située près du cours supérieur du ruisseau Canyon, à quelque 9 nm à l’ouest de Golden. Pendant toute la journée, on avait à répétition déposé ces groupes de skieurs au sommet de trois pentes de ski et les avait embarqués au pied de ces pentes.

Pendant le vol en question, deux guides et sept skieurs avaient pris place à bord de l’hélicoptère au chalet Serenity, situé à quelque 7 000 pieds au‑dessus du niveau de la mer (asl), près du fond de la vallée du ruisseau Canyon. Trois skieurs, qui étaient antérieurement avec le groupe, étaient demeurés au chalet. Le but consistait à transporter ces skieurs jusqu’à la pente de ski de Dawn Mountain, située à quelque 0,8 nm au nord du chalet Serenity, mais des bourrasques de neige au point de débarquement y réduisaient la visibilité. On a donc décidé de transporter les skieurs jusqu’à la pente de ski de Whitehorn, située à quelque 0,4 nm au nord‑est du chalet Serenity, où la visibilité semblait meilleure. Le point de débarquement de Whitehorn, marqué au moyen de quatre poteaux munis de drapeaux (également appelés tiges ou piquets), était situé sur un replat3, à quelque 8 100 pieds asl, à plusieurs centaines de pieds au‑dessus de la limite forestière et à quelque 300 pieds au‑dessous de la ligne de crête. Au‑dessus de la limite forestière, le relief était principalement recouvert de neige, mais comportait certaines régions de roc exposé, notamment à un endroit qui était situé immédiatement derrière les lieux de l’accident et à un autre immédiatement au-dessous des lieux délimités par les drapeaux.

L’hélicoptère était muni d’un système de suivi au GPS configuré pour transmettre des données liées à la position, à la vitesse, au cap et à l’altitude de l’hélicoptère, et ce, environ toutes les 60 secondes grâce à une liaison par téléphone satellite. Ce système était conçu de telle sorte que, si la transmission des données ne pouvait s’effectuer (comme cela se produisait en cas de perte temporaire de réception de la liaison par téléphone satellite), les données étaient sauvegardées dans le système et envoyées une fois la réception rétablie. L’inspection du système effectuée après l’écrasement a permis d’établir que les données concernant les neuf dernières minutes avaient été sauvegardées et qu’elles n’avaient pas été transmises. On ne sait pas pourquoi ces données n’avaient pas été transmises.

D’après ces données, la route parcourue pendant le vol en question (voir la figure 1) ressemblait aux routes parcourues entre le chalet Serenity et le point de débarquement de Whitehorn pendant trois vols effectués plus tôt au cours de la journée. Toutes les approches vers le lieu d'atterrissage avaient été effectuées du sud‑est, par le travers du contrefort montagneux. Cependant, le taux de montée de l’hélicoptère pendant la partie en route du vol en question a été supérieur à celui des vols antérieurs et l’approche vers le point de débarquement s’est effectuée à une altitude légèrement inférieure. Les données les plus récentes du GPS indiquent que l’hélicoptère avait ralenti jusqu’à 30 nœuds (vitesse sol) lorsqu’il s’est trouvé à quelque 30 pieds au‑dessus et à 900 pieds au sud‑est des lieux délimités par des drapeaux. Pendant le vol précédent jusqu’à Whitehorn, l’hélicoptère avait ralenti jusqu’à 25 nœuds, alors qu’il se trouvait à quelque 95 pieds au‑dessus et à 600 pieds au sud‑est des lieux délimités par des drapeaux.

Figure 1. Trajectoire de vol de l’hélicoptère.
Figure 1.Trajectoire de vol de l’hélicoptère.

Quant au Bell 212, il y a sustentation en translation à quelque 20 nœuds. Si l’hélicoptère ralentit jusqu’à une vitesse inférieure à cette vitesse pendant un vol en palier, l’efficacité du rotor est réduite et l’hélicoptère descend, à moins qu’on augmente la puissance. Au moment où le pilote a aperçu les lieux délimités par des drapeaux, environ à l’altitude à laquelle il se trouvait, la puissance moteur a augmenté et l’hélicoptère a subi de la turbulence légère avant que les pales du rotor ne heurtent le contrefort montagneux. Il est normal que la puissance du moteur augmente lorsque les vitesses avant et verticale d’un hélicoptère sont stoppées avant un atterrissage.

Au moment de la collision avec le contrefort montagneux, les forces d’impact ont été suffisamment faibles que l’impact a semblé être un atterrissage dur. On n’a trouvé aucun signe de déplacement vers l’avant de l’hélicoptère après que les patins ont touché la neige. L’hélicoptère est demeuré à l’endroit et orienté vers les lieux délimités par des drapeaux, lesquels se trouvaient à quelque 600 pieds par le travers du contrefort montagneux (au nord‑ouest) et à 100 pieds plus haut que les lieux de l’accident. Le rotor et la boîte de transmission du rotor principal se sont détachés de l’hélicoptère. Le mât du rotor s’est rompu juste au‑dessous du moyeu du rotor principal, et les pales du rotor principal ont percuté la boîte de transmission à 90º du rotor de queue ainsi que le toit de la partie avant du fuselage.

Le pilote, qui prenait place dans le siège avant droit, a été heurté par une pale de rotor et a subi des blessures mortelles. Le guide de ski qui prenait place dans le siège avant gauche a subi des blessures graves. Les skieurs et le guide qui prenaient place dans la partie arrière de la cabine s’en sont tirés indemnes. Du carburant provenant des conduites carburant qui s’étaient rompues a commencé à fuir à l’intérieur de la cabine. Le guide de ski indemne a tiré sur les poignées d’urgence en forme de té pour fermer les robinets de carburant et a placé les interrupteurs de la batterie en position d’arrêt, conformément à la formation annuelle qu’il avait reçue de Sequoia Helicopters Ltd. et de PHS. La fuite de carburant a cessé, et aucun incendie ne s’est déclaré. Le guide indemne a également utilisé la radio pour demander de l'aide, et on a mis en œuvre le plan d’intervention d’urgence de PHS. Un médecin a immédiatement prodigué des soins médicaux au guide et au pilote blessés à bord de l’hélicoptère en question, mais le pilote a succombé à ses blessures. Les guides et les skieurs ont été évacués des lieux par des exploitants d’hélicoptères locaux.

Le pilote

D’après les dossiers, le pilote possédait les licences et les qualifications nécessaires au vol, conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. Il avait accumulé près de 8 000 heures de vol aux commandes d’hélicoptères, dont plus de 1 500 sur des hélicoptères Bell 212. Il pilotait pour PHS depuis plusieurs hivers et il connaissait bien la région du ruisseau Canyon ainsi que la pente de ski de Whitehorn. Il portait un casque ainsi que des bretelles et une ceinture de sécurité. Il avait été deux semaines sans travailler, soit du 14 au 28 janvier 2008. Il avait volé tous les jours du 29 janvier 2008 au jour de l’accident. Il a effectué 13 heures de vol au cours de cette période de 10 jours.

L’aéronef

D’après les dossiers techniques, l’hélicoptère était entretenu selon les directives en vigueur. Les dossiers techniques ne comportaient aucune défectuosité non rectifiée ou différée, et l’inspection de l’hélicoptère après l’accident n’a permis de déceler aucune défectuosité antérieure à l’accident qui aurait pu contribuer à ce dernier. Après l’accident, on a trouvé quelque 400 livres de carburant à bord de l’hélicoptère. L’échantillon de carburant prélevé était d’indice d'octane et de qualité appropriés, et il ne renfermait aucun contaminant. La masse de l’hélicoptère était inférieure de quelque 2 200 livres à la masse brute maximale et elle respectait les limites de centrage. L’inspection des pales et de la boîte de transmission du rotor principal a permis d’établir la présence de dommages s’expliquant par la puissance moteur élevée fournie au moment où les pales du rotor principal ont heurté le contrefort montagneux. Le détachement de la boîte de transmission du rotor principal de l’hélicoptère a endommagé l'échangeur de chaleur carburant/huile du moteur numéro un et le régulateur de carburant du moteur numéro deux, ce qui a permis à du carburant de fuir à travers le toit du fuselage et de pénétrer dans la partie arrière de la cabine.

Renseignements météorologiques

Il n’y a aucune station météorologique officielle sur les lieux de l’accident, mais les guides de PHS avaient enregistré les conditions météorologiques de la région du ruisseau Canyon pendant toute la journée. Les conditions météorologiques avaient également été enregistrées à la station météorologique de Kicking Horse Mountain Resort (KHMR), située à 8 038 pieds asl (à quelque 4 nm au sud‑est des lieux de l’accident), ainsi qu’à l’aéroport de Golden (CYGE).

Un vent constant a soufflé de l’ouest‑sud‑ouest pendant toute la journée, passant du 214º à 9 h au 240º à 15 h. Le vent aurait soufflé de cette direction de façon prédominante en amont par rapport aux lieux de l’accident. La vitesse du vent a augmenté de façon importante pendant toute la journée. Entre 8 h et 15 h, la vitesse du vent enregistrée à la station de KHMR est passée de 4 à 13 nœuds et la vitesse des rafales est passée de 8 à 23 nœuds. À 15 h, la température était de − 13 ºC au point de débarquement de Whitehorn et le calage altimétrique à CYGE était de 29,68 pouces de mercure (po de Hg). D’après les calculs, l’altitude‑densité au point de débarquement de Whitehorn (situé à 8 100 pieds asl) aurait été de quelque 6 950 pieds.

Il y a eu présence de nuages fragmentés jusqu’à environ 14 h, heure après laquelle s’est installé un couvert nuageux. Il y a eu périodiquement des averses de neige localisées, notamment immédiatement avant le vol en question, lorsqu’une bourrasque de neige a réduit la visibilité au‑dessus du point de débarquement de la pente de ski de Dawn Mountain, situé à 0,8 nm des lieux de l’accident. Quelques instants avant l’accident, le pilote a aperçu les drapeaux qui se trouvaient au point de débarquement de Whitehorn, situé à quelque 600 pieds par le travers du contrefort montagneux des lieux de l’accident. La neige étant projetée vers le haut par la déflexion du souffle rotor vers le bas, la visibilité est souvent réduite pendant plusieurs secondes au cours d’atterrissages sur de la neige légère sèche. Dans de telles conditions, les poteaux ornés de drapeaux fournissent souvent aux pilotes leurs seules références visuelles sur les aires d’atterrissage.

Analyse

L’inspection de l’hélicoptère n’a permis de déceler aucune défectuosité qui aurait pu contribuer à cet accident. Pendant le vol en question, l’hélicoptère transportait trois passagers de moins que pendant les vols antérieurs et avait à son bord une quantité minimale mais suffisante de carburant, ce qui réduisait donc la masse brute de l’hélicoptère. L’altitude‑densité était inférieure à l’altitude réelle et un fort vent prédominant soufflait dans le sens ascendant. Pendant le vol en question, la combinaison de la masse brute de l’hélicoptère, de l’altitude‑densité et du vent a pu améliorer le rendement de l’hélicoptère, et notamment son taux de montée.

Le pilote connaissait la pente de ski de Whitehorn et s’était déjà rendu au point de débarquement à trois reprises au cours de la journée. Même si, pendant le vol en question, la trajectoire de vol en route ressemblait aux trajectoires parcourues au cours des vols antérieurs, l’approche vers le point de débarquement a été effectuée à une altitude inférieure à l’altitude à laquelle elle avait été effectuée pendant le vol précédent, ce qui a donné lieu à un profil d’approche moins accentué.

La visibilité au‑dessus de la limite forestière était variable. La destination du vol en question a changé parce qu’une bourrasque de neige avait réduit la visibilité au point de débarquement original. Un couvert nuageux s’était installé, se traduisant par une luminosité uniforme, diffuse (laiteuse) qui, en particulier sur des surfaces monochromes et relativement sans relief comme la neige, ne produit aucune ombre ni aucun reflet utilisable comme référence visuelle. De plus, il se peut que de la poudrerie ait obscurci les traits caractéristiques du relief. Les drapeaux qui se trouvaient au point de débarquement, situé à 600 pieds en avant de l’hélicoptère, ont été visibles quelques instants avant l’accident. On ignore cependant si la visibilité vers le contrefort montagneux sans relief et recouvert de neige, près de l’hélicoptère, a été compromise par le temps laiteux et la poudrerie. On ignore également pourquoi, pendant le vol en question, l’approche a été effectuée à une altitude inférieure à l’altitude à laquelle elle avait été effectuée au cours du vol précédent. Il se peut qu’en raison d’une mauvaise visibilité, le pilote n’ait pas eu conscience de la proximité de l’hélicoptère par rapport au contrefort montagneux.

Les vitesses avant et verticale de l’hélicoptère étaient très faibles lorsque ce dernier a heurté le relief, ce qui correspond à un atterrissage normal. L’hélicoptère n’a pas glissé vers l’avant après que ses patins ont touché la neige; il est demeuré à l’endroit et orienté dans la direction vers laquelle il volait. Les vitesses verticale et avant faibles au toucher avec le sol correspondent à l’intention du pilote d’atterrir sur les lieux de l’accident. Il se peut qu’en raison d’une absence de références visuelles, et de la présence de poudrerie due à la déflexion du souffle rotor vers le bas, que le pilote n’ait pas eu conscience que l’hélicoptère se trouvait suffisamment près pour que les pales du rotor heurtent le contrefort montagneux.

La direction du vent est demeurée dans le sens ascendant de façon constante (à quelque 90º par rapport à la trajectoire de vol) pendant plusieurs heures avant l’accident, mais la vitesse du vent et des rafales a augmenté de façon importante. L’air ascendant aurait fourni une portance qui aurait permis à l’hélicoptère de voler en utilisant une puissance inférieure à celle requise en air calme ou descendant. Il se peut qu’une diminution du volume d’air ascendant ait occasionné une réduction momentanée de la portance et que l’hélicoptère soit descendu heurter le contrefort montagneux avant augmentation suffisante de la puissance. De plus, si on avait laissé la vitesse de l’hélicoptère diminuer jusqu’à moins de 20 nœuds, la réduction de l’efficacité du rotor qui en aurait résulté aurait pu faire que l’hélicoptère descende heurter le contrefort montagneux.

Le fait que le guide de ski ait coupé le circuit de carburant et le circuit électrique de l’hélicoptère après l’accident a empêché que les passagers ne subissent des blessures dues à la fuite de carburant et peut‑être aussi qu’un incendie ne se déclare. La mise en œuvre du plan d’intervention d’urgence de Purcell Helicopter Skiing a également réduit les risques que les survivants subissent d’autres blessures.

Fait établi quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Pour des raisons qui n’ont pu être déterminées, les pales du rotor principal de l’hélicoptère ont heurté le contrefort montagneux à l’atterrissage, dans des conditions de visibilité réduite. Le rotor principal s’est détaché et a percuté le fuselage.

Autre fait établi

  1. Puisque le guide de ski a coupé le circuit de carburant et le circuit électrique de l’hélicoptère et que le plan d’intervention d’urgence de Purcell Helicopter Skiing a été mis en œuvre, les risques de blessures additionnelles ont été réduits.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l’enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 4 novembre 2008.