Aviation Investigation Report A08Q0187

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.


Visual Flight Rules Flight into Adverse Weather and Forced Landing
DHC-2 MK1 C-FYNT
Club César (1993) Inc.
Parent, Quebec, 27 nm SW
23 September 2008

Summary

The float-equipped DHC-2 Mk 1 aircraft, registration C-FYNT, serial number 1054, owned by Club César (1993) Inc., with the pilot and one passenger on board, was on a visual flight rules flight from Sainte-Véronique, Quebec to the outfitting operation on Lac César, Quebec. When the aircraft was about 30 nautical miles from the destination, the weather deteriorated. After a few minutes, the pilot could neither continue the flight nor reverse course. For several minutes, the pilot tried to find a safe spot for a water landing, without success. He then decided to set the aircraft down in the trees. The two occupants were wearing their seatbelts, were not injured, and had no difficulty evacuating the aircraft. The aircraft sustained substantial damage. The occurrence happened at approximately 1530 eastern daylight time.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

Club César (1993) Inc. owns an outfitter facility at its main base on Lac César, Quebec, in the Haute-Mauricie region of the province. The company owns several hunting and fishing camps that are accessible only by floatplane. For that reason, Club César operates two aircraft: a Cessna 185 and a DHC-2 Beaver. The company was issued an air operator certificate on 10 October 1996 under approval number 8468. As an air operator, Club César (1993) Inc. is authorized to use these two aircraft types pursuant to subparts 702 and 703 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs).

The DHC-2 Mk 1 was fitted with EDO 679-4930 floats. As of the time of the accident, it had flown a total of 15 813 hours since it was built in 1956. Review of the technical records indicates that the aircraft was certified and maintained in accordance with existing regulations. There was no evidence found of any airframe failure or system malfunction during the flight.

The pilot, owner of the Club César (1993) Inc. outfitting operation since 2005, held a valid commercial pilot licence endorsed for single-engine landplanes and seaplanes. He had about 2600 flying hours, including 900 on the DHC-2. He held the positions of operations manager and chief pilot of Club César (1993) Inc. since 2007. Generally, his daily activities break down as follows: 20 per cent as outfitter manager and 80 per cent as operations manager and chief pilot. He was well-rested on the day of the accident. Fatigue was not a contributing factor.

At approximately 1030 eastern daylight time (EDT)1 on the day of the accident, the aircraft departed the Lac César base for Sainte-Véronique, Quebec, some 78 nautical miles (nm) to the south, with the pilot and two passengers on board. This flight lasted 55 minutes and was without incident. The weather was suitable for visual flight rules (VFR) flight. As indicated in the company operations manual with regard to flight watch, the pilot called the Lac César base upon arrival at Sainte-Véronique. The pilot had no operational obligation to return to the Lac César base by a specific time. The return flight would generate no revenue.

After eating lunch and refuelling and loading the aircraft, the pilot called the base at Lac César around 1330 to inquire about the weather. The flight service employee advised him that conditions were suitable for flight but there were scattered rain showers at times. The pilot advised the employee that he was just about to leave. He did not file a flight plan, nor was he required by regulation to do so.

On the return flight, the pilot was accompanied by one passenger in the right seat. The aircraft was carrying 775 pounds of cargo, consisting mostly of perishable foods. According to the weight and balance sheet, the aircraft weight and balance on departure from Sainte-Véronique was within the prescribed limits. The weight of the cargo could not be determined by the investigators. When the aircraft was recovered, the perishable foods had been scattered and eaten by wildlife.

C-FYNT is equipped with three fuel tanks (forward, centre, and aft tanks) in the belly of the aircraft. On departure from Sainte-Véronique, the forward and centre tanks contained 28 and 10 Imperial gallons, respectively, and the aft tank was empty. This quantity of fuel was sufficient for a just over two hours of flight, which is in compliance with the CARs2 because the flight was expected to take about 50 minutes.

The aircraft took off from Sainte-Véronique at around 1430 and established a cruising altitude varying between 2600 and 2700 feet above sea level (about 600 feet above ground level). The pilot had flown the route often and was very familiar with it. In the area of Mitchinamecus reservoir and 30 nm from the destination, the weather deteriorated to the point where the pilot was forced to descend. By the time the aircraft had passed the power line at the Bazin River, its altitude and the low ceiling prevented the pilot from clearing the mountains that lay between him and Lac César. An option at that point was one of the outfitter camps near his position on Lac Gilberte. However, that location was now inaccessible because the ceiling prevented him from crossing back over the power line again (See Appendix A – Map of the Area).

For about 20 minutes, the pilot flew circles about five miles in radius, hoping that the weather would improve. However, conditions did not improve and the pilot was no longer able to either reverse course or divert. The pilot looked for a safe water landing site, but the only lake available to him was too short for a landing.

The pilot tried several times to contact the employee at the Lac César base, but was unsuccessful, probably because the aircraft altitude was too low. Because he was not qualified for instrument flight, he decided not to climb into cloud and instrument flight rules (IFR) conditions. Seeing that he was low on fuel, he decided to set the aircraft down in the trees rather than land on a lake that was too short. Both occupants were wearing their seatbelts—consisting of a lap belt and shoulder strap—and they were not injured.

The aircraft crashed at approximately 1530 about eight miles from its destination. It struck the trees at low speed and the floats absorbed most of the impact forces. After the collision, the front part of the floats was touching the ground and the wings and empennage were holding the aircraft in a nose-down position. The aircraft sustained major damage to its two floats and damage was also observed on the underside of both wings. The cabin was not significantly deformed and the two forward seats and seatbelts withstood the impact forces; this explains the absence of injuries to the occupants. The emergency locator transmitter (ELT) activated on impact and its signal was readable.

Because the pilot knew the terrain, the occupants agreed that they would leave the site. Before leaving, the pilot switched the ELT in the cockpit to the ON position and took his portable global positioning system (GPS) device with him.

The pilot and passenger walked to a logging road; from there they were able to reach the Lac Gilberte base by about 1800. No one was there when they arrived. It was not until an hour and a half later that the base personnel arrived and they were able to contact the Lac César base. When the employee at Lac César received the call, which was at about 1930, she understood that the pilot and aircraft were at Lac Gilberte, but satellite communication was suddenly lost and could not be restored. The employee mistakenly believed that the pilot had landed at Lac Gilberte and was waiting for the weather to clear.

Meanwhile, the Canadian Forces Search-and-Rescue (SAR) Centre at Trenton, Ontario and aircraft at altitude had picked up a distress signal in the area of Parent, Quebec. A Hercules airplane and a Griffon helicopter were dispatched to the site. The accident aircraft was located at 1923. Seeing no signs of life, SAR personnel were parachuted onto the site. They observed that no one was in or near the accident aircraft. Subsequent searches could not locate the occupants of the accident aircraft.

The employees at Lac César could see and hear the SAR aircraft in the area. The employee contacted the SAR Centre around 2028. She was informed that the SAR Centre had received a distress signal and they were searching for an aircraft in the Parent area. It was not until the pilot and passenger of C-FYNT arrived at around 2100 that the employee learned that the pilot and passenger had had an accident and were the objects of the search.

The emergency plan in the company operations manual requires that the operations manager or other person responsible immediately advise the SAR Centre if an aircraft does not arrive at its destination one hour following its scheduled arrival time and if no flight plan has been filed with an air traffic services unit. When she saw that the flight was late and the weather conditions were unfavourable, the employee took initial action in the late afternoon and called Sainte-Véronique to confirm that the aircraft had taken off.

This was not the first time that a company aircraft failed to arrive at its destination. In some cases pilots have been forced to land on a lake because they encountered poor weather conditions. In some cases, they had to spend the night on the lake. But in all such cases, the pilots used a satellite telephone to advise the flight service employee of the situation. In this occurrence, the pilot of C-FYNT did not have his satellite telephone on board, but the employee did not know that.

The pilot of C-FYNT was not in the habit of requesting a full meteorological briefing from the flight information centre (FIC). The aerodromes closest to the outfitter that issued routine meteorological terminal air reports (METARs) and terminal aerodrome forecasts (TAFs) are: Montreal/Mirabel 132 nm to the southeast, Roberval 127 nm to the east, and Val-d’Or 103 nm to the west-northwest. The pilot preferred to get verbal briefings on the current conditions from his base and other operators in the area. The TSB asked Environment Canada for a detailed analysis of the weather conditions in the area traversed by the return flight on 23 September 2008.

The graphic area forecast (see Appendix B – Graphic Area Forecast – GFACN33 CWAO) for Ontario and Quebec (GFACN33 CWAO) issued at 1741 Z3 on 23 September 2008, valid at 1800 Z (1400 EDT) was as follows:

[Translation]
An area of broken cloud based at 4000 feet with tops at 12 000 feet was over Parent, located 28 nm northeast of the outfitter base. Visibility was over 6 statute miles. Approximately 60 miles west of Parent and embedded in the previously mentioned area was an area of overcast cloud based at 3000 feet with tops at 10 000 feet, with visibility from 4 to over 6 statute miles in showers and mist. Scattered towering cumulus with tops to 22 000 feet were also forecast within this area of cloud. No turbulence or icing was forecast for the area near Parent on 23 September 2008. Although these conditions are suitable for VFR flight, the graphic area forecast (GFA) did indicate the possibility of showers and mist in the Parent area. No short-term weather advisories (AIRMET)4 or significant meteorological information (SIGMETs)5 were issued during this period.

Data from the automated weather observation station (AWOS) for the Parent area revealed increasing water vapour levels starting at 1700 Z, with near-total saturation 6 occurring between 2000 Z and 2100 Z (see Appendix C – Temperature and dew point based on surface weather observations at Parent [WPK] on 23 September 2008). As a result, mist, fog and low ceilings were possible in the area of Parent at 1900 Z.

Analysis

The pilot was qualified for the flight. There was no pressure on him to return to Lac César, particularly because the flight would generate no revenue. The aircraft had no known deficiencies and was maintained in good condition for flight.

The pilot checked the local weather with the Lac César camp before departing Sainte-Véronique. According to the camp employee, the flying conditions were suitable for the return flight. The pilot did not request a weather briefing from the FIC, nor was he in the habit of doing so. In any event, even if he had checked with the FIC, there was nothing in the forecast to suggest that the weather would be such as he encountered en route. The pilot’s decision to make the flight was justified. When the conditions deteriorated en route, he delayed making a decision as to whether to turn back or land. It is possible that being close to his destination and being very familiar with the area influenced his decision to continue the flight until he had exhausted all options.

The pilot decided to set the ELT to ON even though he had decided to leave the site. This decision may have had adverse consequences if one of the accident aircraft occupants was injured while walking, especially considering that there was no means of communication available to them. As well, with the main reason for activating an ELT being to save lives, the SAR team was deployed in adverse weather, needlessly putting them at risk.

It was not unusual for aircraft to not arrive at the destination at the expected time. Consequently, the employee at Lac César was not overly concerned. She did not know that the pilot was unable to contact her and inform her of the occurrence because he had not brought his satellite phone with him on this trip. The call received that evening from Lac Gilberte, which became disconnected, gave reason to believe that the flight had diverted due to weather and had landed safely. However, knowing that the aircraft had departed Sainte-Véronique, that it was past its expected arrival time, and that no call had been received to explain why it was late, the emergency plan should have been activated automatically in accordance with the procedure set out in the company operations manual. Not having activated the company emergency plan could have led to grave consequences if the occupants had been seriously injured in this accident.

Finding as to Causes and Contributing Factors

The pilot delayed making a decision as to whether to turn back or land when he saw that the weather was deteriorating. Being close to his destination and being very familiar with the area probably influenced his decision to continue the flight until he had exhausted all options.

Findings as to Risk

  1. Although the main reason for activating an emergency locator transmitter (ELT) is to save lives, the pilot decided to depart the site and leave the ELT set to ON. As a result, the search and rescue team was deployed in unfavourable weather conditions, needlessly putting them at risk.
  2. Not having activated the company emergency plan could have led to grave consequences if the occupants of the downed aircraft had been seriously injured.

Other Finding

  1. There was nothing in the forecast to suggest that the weather would be as the pilot encountered en route. The pilot’s decision to make the flight was therefore justified.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board’s investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 12 June 2009.

Appendix A — Map of the Area

Appendix A — Map of the Area

Appendix B — Graphic Area Forecast – GFACN33 CWAO

Appendix B — Graphic Area Forecast – GFACN33 CWAO

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A08Q0187

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Vol dans des conditions météorologiques
défavorables au vol à vue et atterrissage forcé
du DHC-2 MK1 C-FYNT
exploité par Club César (1993) inc.
à 27 nm au sud-ouest de Parent (Québec)
le 23 septembre 2008

Résumé

Le DHC-2 MK1 équipé de flotteurs, immatriculé C-FYNT, numéro de série 1054, propriété de la compagnie Club César (1993) inc., avec à son bord le pilote et une passagère, effectue un vol selon les règles de vol à vue entre Sainte-Véronique (Québec) et la pourvoirie du lac César (Québec). À environ 30 milles marins de sa destination, les conditions météorologiques se détériorent. Quelques minutes plus tard, le pilote ne peut poursuivre sa route ni faire demi-tour. Le pilote tente pendant plusieurs minutes de localiser un endroit sécuritaire pour amerrir mais sans succès. Il choisit donc de poser l'appareil dans les arbres. Les deux occupants portent leurs ceintures de sécurité et ne sont pas blessés. Ils évacuent l'appareil sans difficulté. L'appareil a subi des dommages importants. L'événement est survenu vers 15 h 30, heure avancée de l'Est.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

La compagnie Club César (1993) inc. possède une pourvoirie à sa base principale du lac César (Québec), dans la région de la Haute-Mauricie (Québec). La pourvoirie dispose de plusieurs camps de chasse et pêche, accessibles uniquement par hydravion. Pour les besoins, la compagnie exploite deux appareils, un Cessna 185 et un DHC-2 Beaver. Un certificat d'exploitation aérienne leur a été émis le 10 octobre 1996, sous le numéro d'approbation 8468. En tant qu'exploitant aérien, Club César (1993) inc. est autorisé à utiliser ces deux types d'aéronefs, en vertu des sous-parties 702 et 703 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC).

Le DHC-2 MK 1 était équipé de flotteurs EDO 679-4930. Au moment de l'accident, il totalisait 15 813 heures de vol depuis sa construction en 1956. Les dossiers techniques ont été examinés et indiquent que l'appareil était certifié et entretenu selon la règlementation en vigueur. Rien n'indique qu'il y ait eu une défaillance de la cellule ou un mauvais fonctionnement d'un système pendant le vol.

Le pilote, propriétaire de la pourvoirie Club César (1993) inc. depuis 2005, possédait une licence de pilote professionnel valide, avec annotation pour avions terrestres monomoteurs et hydravions. Il totalisait environ 2600 heures de vol, dont 900 heures sur le DHC-2. Il occupait les fonctions de directeur de l'exploitation et de chef-pilote pour la compagnie Club César (1993) inc., depuis 2007. La majorité de ses activités journalières sont en général réparties comme suit : 20 % pour le travail de gestion de la pourvoirie et 80 % pour le poste de directeur de l'exploitation et de chef-pilote. Il était bien reposé la journée de l'accident. La fatigue n'a pas été un facteur contributif.

Le jour de l'accident, l'appareil, avec à son bord le pilote et deux passagers avait quitté la base du lac César vers 10 h 301, en direction de Sainte-Véronique, située à 78 milles marins (nm) au sud. Le vol a duré 55 minutes et s'est déroulé sans difficulté. Les conditions atmosphériques étaient propices au vol à vue. Tel qu'indiqué dans le manuel d'exploitation de la compagnie concernant la surveillance des vols, le pilote a appelé la base du lac César dès son arrivée à Sainte-Véronique. Le pilote n'avait pas d'obligation opérationnelle de retourner à la base du lac César, dans un délai précis. Le vol de retour n'était pas un vol payant.

Après avoir dîné et avoir ravitaillé et chargé l'appareil, le pilote a rappelé la base du lac César vers 13 h 30, pour s'informer des conditions météorologiques. Il a été avisé par la préposée au vol que les conditions étaient propices au vol, mais qu'il y avait à l'occasion des averses de pluie dispersées. Il a informé la préposée de son départ imminent. Il n'a pas déposé de plan de vol; la règlementation ne l'exigeait pas.

Pour le vol de retour, le pilote était accompagné d'une passagère en place droite. L'appareil transportait une cargaison de 775 livres, composée majoritairement de denrées périssables. La masse et le centrage de l'appareil au départ de Sainte-Véronique était, selon le devis de masse et centrage, dans les limites prescrites. Le poids de la marchandise embarquée n'a pu être évalué par les enquêteurs. Lors de la récupération de l'appareil, les denrées périssables avaient été dispersées et dévorées par les animaux sauvages.

Le C-FYNT est équipé de trois réservoirs de carburant (un réservoir avant, un réservoir central et un réservoir arrière) situés dans la partie ventrale de l'appareil. Au départ de Sainte-Véronique, les réservoirs avant et central contenaient 28 gallons et 10 gallons impériaux respectivement alors que le réservoir arrière était vide. La quantité de carburant emportée offrait une autonomie de vol d'un peu plus de 2 heures, ce qui était conforme au RAC2, puisque la durée du vol prévu était d'environ 50 minutes.

L'appareil a décollé de Sainte-Véronique vers 14 h 30 et s'est établi à une altitude de croisière variant entre 2600 pieds et 2700 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (environ 600 pieds au-dessus du sol). Le pilote était très familier avec le parcours, l'ayant emprunté fréquemment. Aux environs du réservoir Mitchinamecus, soit à 30 nm de sa destination, les conditions météorologiques se sont détériorées au point où le pilote a été contraint de descendre. Une fois que l'avion a franchi la ligne électrique à la hauteur de la rivière Bazin, l'altitude de l'appareil et le plafond bas ne permettaient plus au pilote de traverser la chaîne de montagnes qui le séparait du lac César. L'option qui se présentait au pilote à ce moment-là était un des camps de la pourvoirie, situé sur le lac Gilberte, à proximité de sa position. Cependant, cet endroit était devenu inaccessible parce que le plafond ne permettait plus de franchir de nouveau la ligne électrique. (Voir Annexe A – Carte de la région survolée).

Pendant près de 20 minutes, le pilote a effectué des cercles d'un rayon d'environ 5 milles dans l'espoir que les conditions météorologiques s'améliorent. Cependant, les conditions ne se sont pas améliorées, au point que le pilote n'était plus en mesure de rebrousser chemin, ni de se dérouter. Le pilote a cherché un endroit sûr pour amerrir. Cependant, le seul lac à sa disposition était trop court pour tenter un amerrissage.

Le pilote a tenté à quelques reprises de communiquer par radio avec la préposée à la pourvoirie du lac César, mais sans succès, probablement à cause de l'altitude peu élevée à laquelle il volait. Comme il n'avait pas la qualification de vol aux instruments (IFR), le pilote a jugé bon de ne pas monter dans les nuages et de se retrouver en conditions IFR. Voyant que la quantité de carburant diminuait, il a décidé de poser l'appareil dans les arbres plutôt que d'amerrir sur le lac trop court. Les deux occupants portaient leurs ceintures de sécurité composées d'une ceinture sous-abdominale et d'une ceinture baudrier et n'ont subi aucune blessure.

L'appareil s'est écrasé vers 15 h 30 à environ 8 milles de sa destination. L'avion a heurté les arbres à basse vitesse, et les flotteurs ont amorti la majorité des forces d'impact. Après la collision, la partie avant des flotteurs touchait le sol, et les ailes et l'empennage retenaient l'appareil en position piquée. Les dommages importants à l'appareil se sont limités aux deux flotteurs. Des dommages à l'intrados des deux ailes ont été constatés. La cabine n'a pas subi de déformations importantes, les deux sièges avant et les ceintures de sécurité ont résisté aux forces d'impact, ce qui explique l'absence de blessures aux occupants. Suite à l'impact, la radiobalise de secours (ELT) s'est activée et son signal était audible.

Puisque le pilote était en terrain connu, il a été convenu d'un commun accord de quitter les lieux. Avant de quitter les lieux, le pilote a mis le sélecteur de la radiobalise de secours du poste de pilotage en position ON et a emporté son GPS3 portatif.

Le pilote et la passagère ont marché jusqu'à un chemin forestier et de là, ils ont atteint la base du lac Gilberte vers 18 h. À leur arrivée, il n'y avait personne sur place. Ce n'est qu'une heure et demie plus tard que le personnel de la base est arrivé et a été en mesure de communiquer avec la base du lac César. Lorsque la préposée au lac César a reçu l'appel, soit vers 19 h 30, elle a cru comprendre que le pilote et l'appareil se trouvaient au lac Gilberte, mais la communication satellite a été coupée soudainement et n'a pu être rétablie. La préposée a cru à tort que le pilote avait amerri au lac Gilberte, en attente de conditions météorologiques favorables.

Entre-temps, le centre de recherche et sauvetage des Forces canadiennes à Trenton (Ontario) ainsi que des aéronefs évoluant à haute altitude avaient capté un signal de détresse dans la région de Parent (Québec). Un avion Hercules et un hélicoptère Griffon ont été dépêchés sur les lieux. À 19 h 23, l'appareil accidenté a été localisé. Ne constatant aucun signe de vie, les membres du personnel de secours ont été parachutés sur le site. Ils ont constaté qu'il n'y avait plus personne à bord de l'appareil accidenté ni aux alentours. Les recherches ultérieures n'ont pas permis de localiser les occupants de l'avion accidenté.

Les employés du lac César pouvaient apercevoir et entendre les appareils de recherche évoluer dans les alentours. Vers 20 h 28, la préposée a communiqué avec le centre de recherche et sauvetage. Elle a alors appris que le centre avait reçu un signal de détresse et qu'il était à la recherche d'un avion dans la région de Parent. Ce n'est qu'à l'arrivée du pilote et de la passagère du C-FYNT vers 21 h que la préposée a appris que le pilote et la passagère avaient eu un accident et que c'était eux que le centre de recherche et sauvetage recherchait.

Selon le plan d'urgence du manuel d'exploitation de la compagnie, le directeur de l'exploitation ou une personne responsable doit aussitôt aviser le centre de recherche et sauvetage si l'avion n'est toujours pas arrivé à destination dans l'heure qui suit son heure d'arrivée prévue et si aucun plan de vol n'a été déposé auprès d'une unité des Services de la circulation aérienne. Après avoir constaté le retard et les conditions météorologiques défavorables, la préposée avait entrepris des démarches initiales en fin d'après-midi et avait rappelé à Sainte-Véronique pour s'assurer que l'appareil avait décollé.

Ce n'était pas la première fois qu'un appareil de la compagnie n'arrivait pas à destination. Dans certains cas, les pilotes avaient dû se poser sur un lac parce qu'ils avaient rencontré de mauvaises conditions météo. Il leur était même déjà arrivé d'y passer la nuit. Par contre, dans de telles circonstances, les pilotes communiquaient par téléphone satellitaire avec la préposée de façon systématique afin de l'informer. Dans le cas présent, le pilote du C-FYNT n'avait pas son téléphone satellitaire à bord, mais la préposée ne le savait pas.

Le pilote du C-FYNT n'avait pas l'habitude d'obtenir un exposé météorologique complet de la part du centre d'information de vol (FIC). Les aérodromes les plus proches de la pourvoirie qui émettent des messages d'observations météorologiques régulières (METAR) et des prévisions d'aérodrome (TAF) sont Montréal/Mirabel à 132 nm au sud-est, Roberval à 127 nm à l'est et Val- d'Or à 103 nm à l'ouest-nord-ouest. Le pilote préférait obtenir un exposé verbal des conditions actuelles environnantes par le biais de sa base et des autres opérateurs de la région. Le BST a demandé à Environnement Canada une analyse détaillée des conditions météorologiques qui prévalaient dans le secteur où s'est déroulé le vol de retour le 23 septembre 2008.

Les prévisions de zone graphique (Voir Annexe B – Prévision de zone graphique - GFACN33 CWAO) pour l'Ontario et le Québec (GFACN33 CWAO) émises à 1741Z4 le 23 septembre 2008, valides à 1800 Z (14 h 00 HAE) étaient les suivantes :

Parent, situé à 28 nm au nord-est de la pourvoirie, se trouvait dans une zone nuageuse fragmentée de 4000 à 12000 pieds avec des visibilités de plus de 6 milles terrestres. À approximativement 60 milles à l'ouest de Parent se trouvait une zone nuageuse imbriquée, dans la zone précédente, définie comme étant couverte de 3000 à 10 000 pieds comportant des visibilités de 4 à plus de 6 milles terrestres dans les averses et la brume. Des cumulus bourgeonnant épars avec sommets jusqu'à 22 000 pieds étaient aussi prévus dans cette zone nuageuse. Aucune turbulence et aucun givrage n'étaient prévus près de Parent le 23 septembre 2008. Quoique ces conditions répondent aux exigences de vol à vue, il demeure que la prévision de zone graphique (GFA) indiquait la possibilité d'averse et de brume dans le secteur de Parent. Aucun avis météorologique aux aviateurs (AIRMET)5 ni renseignements météorologiques significatifs (SIGMET)6 n'avait été émis durant cette période.

Les données de la station automatisée d'observations météorologiques (AWOS) de la région de Parent (Voir Annexe C – Température et point de rosée selon les observations météorologiques de surface à Parent [WPK] le 23 septembre 2008) ont révélé la présence d'une saturation7 croissante à partir de 1700Z devenant presque saturé entre 2000Z et 2100Z. Par conséquent, la présence de brume, de brouillard et de plafonds bas était possible dans les environs de Parent à 1900Z.

Analyse

Le pilote possédait les qualifications requises pour effectuer le vol. Aucune pression n'était exercée sur lui pour qu'il retourne au lac César, d'autant plus que ce n'était pas un vol payant. L'avion ne présentait pas d'anomalies et il était maintenu en bon état de navigabilité.

Le pilote a vérifié les conditions météorologiques locales auprès de la pourvoirie du lac César avant son départ de Sainte-Véronique. Selon la préposée, les conditions de vol étaient propices pour entreprendre le vol de retour. Le pilote n'a pas demandé un exposé météorologique du FIC et n'avait pas l'habitude de le faire. Par contre, même s'il avait consulté le FIC, rien dans les prévisions ne laissait présager des conditions météo comme celles que le pilote a rencontrées en route. La décision du pilote d'entreprendre le vol était justifiée. Lorsque les conditions météorologiques se sont détériorées en route, il a tardé à prendre la décision de rebrousser chemin ou d'amerrir. Il est possible que le fait qu'il était près de sa destination et qu'il soit très familier avec l'environnement ait influencé sa décision de poursuivre le vol, et ce, jusqu'à ce qu'il ait épuisé toutes ses options.

Le pilote a choisi de mettre le sélecteur de la radiobalise de secours en position ON même s'il a décidé de quitter les lieux. Cette décision aurait pu avoir des conséquences malheureuses si un des deux occupants du C-FYNT accidenté s'était blessé en marchant, d'autant plus qu'ils n'avaient aucun moyen de communication à leur disposition. De plus, la raison primordiale d'activer la radiobalise de secours étant de sauver des vies, l'équipe de recherche et sauvetage a été mise à contribution dans des conditions météorologiques défavorables, les exposant inutilement à des risques.

Il n'était pas inhabituel que les appareils n'arrivent pas à destination à l'heure attendue. Par conséquent, la préposée au lac César ne s'est pas inquiétée outre mesure. La préposée ignorait que le pilote n'était pas en mesure de la contacter et de l'informer de l'événement puisqu'il n'avait pas emporté son téléphone satellitaire lors de ce vol. L'appel entrecoupé reçu en soirée du lac Gilberte laissait croire que l'appareil s'était dérouté en raison de la météo et s'était posé en toute sécurité. Par contre, sachant que l'appareil avait quitté Sainte-Véronique, que l'heure prévue d'arrivée était dépassée et qu'il n'avait pas reçu d'appel pour expliquer le retard de l'appareil, le plan d'urgence aurait dû être activé systématiquement, en conformité avec les procédures du manuel d'exploitation de la compagnie. Le fait de ne pas avoir activé le plan d'urgence de la compagnie aurait pu avoir des conséquences graves si les occupants avaient subi des blessures importantes.

Fait établi quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

Le pilote a tardé à prendre la décision de rebrousser chemin ou d'amerrir lorsqu'il a constaté que les conditions météorologiques se détérioraient. Le fait d'être près de sa destination et d'être très familier avec l'environnement a probablement influencé sa décision de poursuivre le vol et ce, jusqu'à ce qu'il ait épuisé toutes ses options.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. Alors que la raison primordiale d'activer la radiobalise de secours est de sauver des vies, le pilote a décidé de quitter les lieux en laissant la radiobalise de secours (ELT) en position ON. Par conséquent, l'équipe de recherche et sauvetage a été mise à contribution dans des conditions météorologiques défavorables, les exposant inutilement à des risques.
  2. Le fait de ne pas avoir activé le plan d'urgence aurait pu avoir des conséquences graves si les occupants de l'avion accidenté avaient eu des blessures importantes.

Autre fait établi

  1. Rien dans les prévisions ne laissait présager des conditions météo comme celles que le pilote a rencontrées en route. Par conséquent, la décision du pilote d'entreprendre le vol était justifiée.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 12 juin 2009.

Annexe A – Carte de la région survolée

Annexe A — Carte de la région survolée

Annexe B – Prévision de zone graphique - GFACN33 CWAO

Annexe B — Prévision de zone graphique - GFACN33 CWAO