Aviation Investigation Report A08W0237

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Aerodynamic Stall and Hard Landing
Northwestern Air Lease Ltd.
British Aerospace BAe 3112 C-FNAY
Fort Smith, Northwest Territories
27 November 2008

Summary

The Northwestern Air Lease Ltd. BAe Jetstream 3112 (registration C-FNAY, serial number 768) was operating as PLR 734 on an instrument flight rules (IFR) flight from Hay River to Fort Smith, Northwest Territories. After conducting an IFR approach to Runway 11, PLR 734 executed a missed approach and flew a full procedure approach for Runway 29. At approximately 0.2 nautical miles from the threshold, the crew sighted the approach strobe lights and continued for a landing. Prior to touchdown, the aircraft entered an aerodynamic stall and landed hard on the runway at 1515 mountain standard time. The aircraft remained on the runway despite the left main landing gear collapsing. The two flight crew members and three passengers were uninjured and evacuated the aircraft through the left main cabin door. There was no post-impact fire.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

Northwestern Air Lease Ltd. holds valid air operations certificates issued under Subparts 703 - Air Taxi Operations, and 704 - Commuter Operations, of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) and is based in Fort Smith, Northwest Territories. In this occurrence, the aircraft was being operated under Subpart 704.

The occurrence aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations. There was no evidence to indicate that an airframe failure or systems malfunction contributed to this occurrence.

The aircraft was equipped with a cockpit voice recorder (CVR). The CVR was removed from the aircraft and forwarded to the TSB Engineering Laboratory for analysis. The data recorded on the CVR covered the 30-minute period prior to the occurrence.

The flight crew were licensed and qualified for the flight in accordance with the existing regulations. The pilot-in-command (PIC) had approximately 5500 hours of flight time, with 3000 hours on type and 1800 hours as PIC. The co-pilot had approximately 500 hours of flight time, with about 230 hours on type.

On the occurrence flight, the captain was the pilot flying (PF) from the left seat and the co-pilot was the pilot not flying (PNF). The crew's duty day was within the prescribed regulations. Fatigue was not a factor.

PLR 734 began its operational day on 27 November 2008 at Fort Smith. The aircraft was to depart Fort Smith for a scheduled flight to Yellowknife and return. The crew arrived at the airport at approximately 0630 mountain standard time1 to prepare for the flight and departed at 0730.

At Yellowknife, prior to returning to Fort Smith, the crew checked the weather and determined that visibilities at Fort Smith at the time of arrival would be reduced to approximately ½ statute mile (sm). After consulting with company flight operations, it was decided that the crew would return to Fort Smith as scheduled, using Hay River as an alternate airport.

Upon arrival at Fort Smith, the crew conducted two approaches: a VOR RWY 11 (GNSS) and a VOR/DME RWY 29 (GNSS). As visual reference to the runway could not be achieved, the crew diverted to Hay River, arriving at 1040, where they remained for approximately five hours waiting for the weather to improve.

The weather conditions forecast at Fort Smith from 1100 to 2300 were as follows: winds were calm; visibility was ½ sm in freezing fog; vertical visibility was 500 feet. During that period, Fort Smith would experience a temporary condition of 6 sm visibility with no significant weather and an overcast ceiling of 600 feet above ground level (agl).

The 1400 weather at Fort Smith was reported as follows: winds 100º magnetic (M) at 2 knots; visibility 1 sm in mist; vertical visibility 400 feet; temperature -7ºC; dew point -8ºC; altimeter setting 29.97 inches of mercury (in. Hg); remarks: 8 oktas2 fog, visibility to the southwest and southeast ½ sm. By 1500, the weather was observed to be: wind 170ºM at 2 knots; visibility ½ sm in freezing fog; vertical visibility 500 feet; temperature -7ºC; dew point -8ºC; altimeter setting 29.98 in. Hg.; remarks 8 oktas fog, visibility to the north 5/8 sm.

As visibility was reported to have improved to 1 sm, the crew departed Hay River for Fort Smith at 1427.

Advisory Landing Visibilities3

Published landing visibilities associated with all instrument approach procedures are advisory only. Their values are indicative of visibilities that, if prevailing at the time of the approach, should result in required visual reference being established. They are not limiting and are intended to be used by pilots only to judge the probability of a successful landing when compared against available visibility reports at the aerodrome to which an instrument approach is being carried out.

While en route, the crew was advised that the visibility at Fort Smith had deteriorated to ½ sm. The crew continued on to Fort Smith and conducted the VOR RWY 11 (GNSS) approach. Visual reference to the runway was not achieved and the crew elected to conduct a missed approach followed by the full procedure approach for VOR/DME RWY 29 (GNSS) which had an advisory visibility of 1 sm (see Appendix A — VOR/DME RWY 29 (GNSS) Fort Smith, N.W.T.).

Once established on final approach for Runway 29, the aircraft was configured with the landing gear extended and 20º of flap. The airspeed was 130 knots. PLR 734 descended to the minimum descent altitude (MDA) of 1000 feet above sea level (asl), 329 feet above ground level (agl), and planned to continue to the missed approach point (MAP) of 0.7 DME (distance measuring equipment), located at the threshold of Runway 29.

Required Visual Reference4

In respect of an aircraft on an approach to a runway, that section of the approach area of the runway or those visual aids that, when viewed by the pilot of the aircraft, enable the pilot to make an assessment of the aircraft position and the rate of change of position, relative to the normal flight path.

At approximately 0.9 DME, the approach strobe lights were sighted and the decision was made to land. Power was reduced to flight idle and 35º of flap were selected. Almost simultaneously, the crew slowed the aircraft down to the normal Vref5 speed of 105 knots when the stall warning horn activated. Shortly thereafter, PLR 734 entered an aerodynamic stall and impacted the runway. Power was applied prior to impact in an attempt to recover from the stall. However, the aircraft came into contact with the runway before the descent could be arrested. The company standard operating procedures (SOP) manual states that an altitude loss of between 200 and 600 feet may be experienced during a stall, depending on the aircraft configuration, power setting, and rapidity of action taken to recover from the stall. The calculated stall speed in landing configuration for the occurrence aircraft was 83 knots (no ice contamination). The landing distance required with 35ºflap was 3700 feet. The runway length at Fort Smith was 6000 feet.

Northwestern Air Lease's Jetstream SOP for non-precision straight-in approaches (2 engines) are as follows:

The initial portion of the instrument approach is flown at 140 kts with Flaps 10º, until established on the inbound track. When established on the inbound track, outside the FAF [final approach fix], the normal descent rate is 1500 FPM [feet per minute]. This, of course, may be modified, depending on the altitude to lose and distance available. When level at the beacon crossing altitude, approximately 2 miles from the FAF, the landing check is initiated with the PF calling, "GEAR DOWN, LANDING CHECKS, FLAPS 20" and the aircraft stabilized at 130 KIAS [knots indicated airspeed] prior to crossing the FAF. Upon crossing the FAF, the aircraft is descended to the MDA at 1000 FPM, under normal conditions. Flaps 35º are selected when the airport is visual.6

British Aerospace issued a Notice to Aircrew for the Jetstream 31, dated 20 November 2008, that made the following recommendation:

35º flap for landing should be selected at the marker or at 1000 feet, whichever comes first when on an instrument approach, and at 500 feet, when on a visual approach. Speed should then be controlled at 130 knots. Care should be taken to ensure that the speed does not fall below 125 knots until the aircraft is below 200 feet, then the speed may be reduced to achieve the required threshold speed.7

The company had not incorporated information from this notice into its SOP manual at the time of the occurrence.

PLR 734 touched down approximately 1053 feet past the threshold of Runway 29, on the left side of the centreline. There was an indication that the right wing tip struck the runway about 100 feet from the initial impact point. The left main landing gear collapsed and the aircraft skidded for 1778 feet before coming to rest on the runway.

The crew and passengers were able to evacuate the aircraft through the left main cabin door, despite the door not fully opening due to the rear fuselage resting on the runway.

Airport and company personnel arrived on site and assisted the crew and passengers to the airport terminal. There was no post-impact fire, despite fuel leaking from the left wing tip vent.

Light to moderate icing conditions were encountered during the two approaches. While the amount of ice was not determined, photos taken of the aircraft by airport operations personnel on the day of the occurrence (1704) indicate that there was an accumulation of rime and clear ice along the wings and propeller spinners. The crew did not activate the aircraft's de-icing equipment during the approaches. Icing is known to disrupt the smooth airflow over the wings, which produces the lift required to support the aircraft in flight. The result is an increase in the aircraft's stalling speed. Additionally, ice formation increases the amount of wing drag which causes the airspeed to decrease at a rate faster than anticipated when power is reduced. The company SOP manual advised that, when encountering icing conditions, the Vref speed should be increased by up to 10 knots and that the airframe de-icing boots must be cycled. The crew did not activate the airframe de-icing boots or increase the Vref speed during the two approaches at Fort Smith.

Analysis

Aircraft icing is known to degrade aircraft performance. This was recognized in the company's SOP, which advised an increase in Vref speed and the cycling of airframe de-icing boots when encountering icing conditions. The crew did not take either of these preventive actions during the course of the two approaches at Fort Smith. This was likely due to a preoccupation with flying the instrument approach in challenging conditions. Light to moderate icing conditions were encountered during the two approaches and this increased the stalling speed of the aircraft.

The crew of PLR 734 flew the instrument approach for Runway 29 in accordance with established regulatory requirements and company SOP, absent icing conditions.

The landing was initiated once the visual reference was established, at 0.9 DME (0.2 nm from the threshold) and 329 feet agl. This was well inside the advisory visibility of 1 sm. As a consequence, the crew had very little time or distance to configure the aircraft for landing.

When the crew reduced the power to flight idle and applied 35º of flap to slow down to the normal Vref speed of 105 knots, the aircraft entered an aerodynamic stall due to the decreased performance caused by the icing. There was insufficient altitude to recover the aircraft prior to impact with the runway.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. Though icing conditions were encountered, the airframe de-icing boots were not cycled nor was the Vref speed increased to offset the effects of aircraft icing.
  2. An abrupt change in aircraft configuration, which included a reduction in power to flight idle and the addition of 35º flap, caused the aircraft's speed to rapidly decrease.
  3. The aircraft entered an aerodynamic stall due to the decreased performance caused by the icing. There was insufficient altitude to recover the aircraft prior to impact with the runway.

Finding as to Risk

  1. The company had not incorporated the British Aerospace Notice to Aircrew into its standard operating procedures (SOP) at the time of the occurrence. Therefore, crews were still required to make configuration changes late in the approach sequence, increasing the risk of an unstabilised approach.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 29 April 2009.

Appendix A: Canada Air Pilot VOR/DME Runway 29 (GNSS) Fort Smith, Northwest Territories

NOT TO BE USED FOR NAVIGATION

Canada Air Pilot VOR/DME Runway 29 (GNSS) Fort Smith, Northwest Territories

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A08W0237

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habileté à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Décrochage aérodynamique et atterrissage brutal
du British Aerospace BAe 3112 C-FNAY
exploité par Northwestern Air Lease Ltd.
à Fort Smith (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)
le 27 novembre 2008

Résumé

L'avion BAe Jetstream 3112 (immatriculé C-FNAY et portant le numéro de série 768) exploité par Northwestern Air Lease Ltd effectue le vol PLR 734 entre Hay River et Fort Smith selon les règles de vol aux instruments (IFR). Après une approche IFR, PLR 734 effectue une procédure d'approche interrompue de la piste 11 puis entreprend une procédure complète d'approche de la piste 29. À une distance d'environ 0,2 mille marin du seuil, l'équipage aperçoit les feux stroboscopiques d'approche et s'apprête à atterrir. À 15 h 15, heure normale des Rocheuses, juste avant le toucher des roues, l'avion entre en décrochage aérodynamique et se pose brutalement. L'aéronef se maintient sur la piste en dépit de l'affaissement du train d'atterrissage principal gauche. Les deux membres d'équipage et les trois passagers ne sont pas blessés et sortent de l'aéronef par la porte principale gauche de la cabine. Aucun incendie ne se déclenche après l'impact.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

La compagnie Northwestern Air Lease Ltd, basée à Fort Smith (Territoires du Nord-Ouest), est titulaire de certificats d'exploitation aérienne valides délivrés en vertu de la sous-partie 703, Exploitation d'un taxi aérien et de la sous-partie 704, Exploitation d'un service aérien de navette du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC). Lors de l'accident en question, l'aéronef était exploité conformément à la sous-partie 704 du RAC.

L'aéronef était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. Rien n'indique que l'accident a été dû à une défaillance de la cellule ou à un mauvais fonctionnement d'un système.

L'aéronef était équipé d'un enregistreur de la parole dans le poste de pilotage (CVR). Le CVR a été retiré de l'aéronef et envoyé au Laboratoire technique du BST pour analyse. Les données enregistrées sur le CVR couvraient la période de trente (30) minutes précédant l'accident.

L'équipage de conduite était titulaire des licences requises et possédait les qualifications nécessaires pour effectuer le vol conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. Le commandant de bord (CdB) avait environ 5 500 heures de vol à son actif, dont 3 000 heures sur type et 1 800 à titre de commandant de bord. Le copilote avait accumulé approximativement 500 heures de vol, dont environ 230 sur type.

Au cours du vol en question, le commandant de bord assis en place gauche était le pilote aux commandes (PF) et le copilote était le pilote qui n'était pas aux commandes (PNF). La journée de travail de l'équipage était conforme aux dispositions réglementaires. La fatigue n'a pas été un facteur.

Le vol assuré par PLR 734 avait débuté le 27 novembre 2008 à Fort Smith. L'aéronef devait décoller de Fort Smith pour un vol régulier aller et retour à destination de Yellowknife. L'équipage était arrivé à l'aéroport vers 6 h 30, heure normale des Rocheuses (HNR)1, pour préparer le vol et le décollage avait eu lieu à 7 h 30.

À Yellowknife, avant de repartir pour Fort Smith, l'équipage s'est informé des conditions météorologiques et a déterminé que la visibilité au moment de l'arrivée à Fort Smith serait réduite à environ ½ mille terrestre (sm). Après consultation auprès des opérations aériennes de la compagne, il a été décidé que l'équipage repartirait pour Fort Smith comme prévu et que l'aéroport de dégagement serait celui de Hay River.

À l'arrivée à Fort Smith, l'équipage a effectué deux approches : une approche VOR RWY 11 (GNSS) et une approche VOR/DME RWY 29 (GNSS). Ne pouvant obtenir de références visuelles de la piste, l'équipage s'est dérouté vers Hay River où il a atterri à 10 h 40. Là, l'équipage a attendu pendant environ cinq heures que les conditions météorologiques s'améliorent.

Les conditions météorologiques prévues pour Fort Smith entre 11 h et 23 h étaient les suivantes : vent calme; visibilité de ½ sm dans du brouillard givrant; visibilité verticale de 500 pieds. Pendant la même période, il devait y avoir à Fort Smith des conditions météorologiques temporaires faisant état d'une visibilité de 6 sm sans phénomène météorologique significatif et d'un plafond à 600 pieds au-dessus du sol (agl).

Les conditions météorologiques signalées à 14 h pour Fort Smith étaient les suivantes : vent du 100º magnétique à 2 nœuds; visibilité de 1 sm dans de la brume; visibilité verticale de 400 pieds; température de -7 ºC; point de rosée à -8 ºC; calage altimétrique de 29,97 pouces de mercure (po Hg); remarques : brouillard occupant 8 octas2 et visibilité de ½ sm vers le sud-ouest et le sud-est. Vers 15 h, les conditions météorologiques étaient les suivantes : vent du 170º magnétique à 2 nœuds; visibilité de ½ sm dans du brouillard givrant; visibilité verticale de 500 pieds; température de –7 ºC; point de rosée à –8 ºC; calage altimétrique de 29,98 po Hg; remarques : brouillard occupant 8 octas et visibilité au nord de 5/8 sm.

La visibilité s'étant améliorée à 1 sm, à 14 h 27, l'équipage a décollé de Hay River à destination de Fort Smith.

Visibilités d'atterrissage3

Les visibilités d'atterrissage reliées à toutes les procédures d'approche aux instruments ne sont publiées qu'à titre consultatif. Leurs valeurs indiquent des visibilités qui équivaudraient, au moment de l'approche, aux références visuelles requises établies. Elles ne sont aucunement limitatives et ne sont publiées que pour permettre aux pilotes de juger s'il leur est possible de réussir un atterrissage lorsqu'ils comparent ces valeurs à celles des comptes rendus de visibilité de l'aérodrome vers lequel ils effectuent une approche aux instruments.

Pendant le vol, l'équipage a été avisé que la visibilité à Fort Smith était tombée à ½ sm. L'équipage a continué jusqu'à Fort Smith et a effectué une approche VOR RWY 11 (GNSS). Devant l'impossibilité d'établir le contact visuel, l'équipage a opté pour une procédure d'approche interrompue puis a effectué une procédure complète d'approche VOR/DME RWY 29 (GNSS) pour laquelle la visibilité recommandée était de 1 sm. (Voir l'Annexe A – Procédure d'approche VOR/DME RWY 29 (GNSS) à Fort Smith (T. N.-O.)

Une fois établi en approche finale de la piste 29, l'avion a été configuré de manière à ce que le train d'atterrissage soit sorti et que les volets soient réglés à 20º. La vitesse était de 130 nœuds. PLR 734 est descendu à l'altitude minimale de descente (MDA) de 1 000 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (asl), soit 329 pieds agl, avec l'intention de poursuivre jusqu'au point d'approche interrompue (MAP) situé à 0,7 DME (équipement de mesure de distance) du seuil de la piste 29.

Référence visuelle requise4

Désigne, à l'égard d'un aéronef qui approche d'une piste, la partie de l'aire d'approche de la piste ou la partie des aides visuelles que le pilote doit pouvoir observer pour estimer la position de l'aéronef et son taux de changement de position par rapport à la trajectoire de vol nominale.

À une distance d'environ 0,9 DME, les feux stroboscopiques d'approche ont été aperçus et il a été décidé d'atterrir. La puissance des moteurs a été ramenée au régime de ralenti vol et les volets ont été réglés à 35º. L'équipage a ralenti l'aéronef à la Vref normale5 de 105 nœuds et presque au même moment l'avertisseur de décrochage a retenti. Peu après, PLR 734 est entré dans un décrochage aérodynamique et a percuté la piste. Avant l'impact, il y a eu une augmentation de la puissance correspondant à une tentative de sortie de décrochage. Mais l'aéronef a heurté la piste avant qu'il ne soit possible d'arrêter la descente. Le manuel des procédures d'utilisation normalisées (SOP) de la compagnie indique qu'il peut y avoir une perte d'altitude de 200 à 600 pieds au cours d'un décrochage, selon la configuration de l'avion, le réglage de la puissance et la rapidité de l'intervention pour sortir du décrochage. D'après les calculs, la vitesse de décrochage en configuration d'atterrissage de l'avion accidenté était de 83 nœuds (sans contamination par le givrage). Un atterrissage effectué avec des volets réglés à 35º nécessite une longueur de piste de 3 700 pieds. La longueur de la piste de l'aérodrome de Fort Smith est de 6 000 pieds.

Les SOP du Jetstream de Northwestern Air Lease relatives aux approches directes de non-précision (sur 2 moteurs) sont les suivantes :

[Traduction]
La première étape de l'approche aux instruments se fait à une vitesse de 140 nœuds avec les volets à 10º jusqu'à ce que l'avion soit établi sur la trajectoire de rapprochement. Le long de la trajectoire de rapprochement et avant le repère d'approche finale [FAF], la vitesse descensionnelle normale est de 1500 pieds par minute (pi/mn). Bien sûr, ces recommandations peuvent être modifiées en fonction de l'altitude à perdre et de la distance disponible. Dès la mise en palier à l'altitude de survol de la balise et à environ 2 milles du FAF, le pilote aux commandes commence les vérifications précédant l'atterrissage en annonçant, « GEAR DOWN, LANDING CHECKS, FLAPS 20 » (TRAIN SORTI, VÉRIFICATIONS AVANT ATTERRISSAGE, VOLETS À 20º) et stabilise l'avion à 130 KIAS [vitesse indiquée exprimée en nœuds] avant d'atteindre le FAF. Dans des conditions normales, au passage du FAF, l'avion est descendu à l'altitude minimale de descente (MDA) à une vitesse de 1 000 pi/min. Les volets sont réglés à 35º dès que l'aéroport est en vue6.

Un avis aux équipages du Jetstream 31 publié par British Aerospace en date du 20 novembre 2008, contenait la recommandation suivante :

[Traduction]
Pendant une approche aux instruments, les volets doivent être sortis à 35 º en prévision de l'atterrissage au moment d'atteindre la radioborne ou l'altitude de 1 000 pieds, selon la première éventualité, et 500 pieds dans le cas d'une approche à vue. La vitesse devrait alors être maintenue à 130 nœuds. Il est important de ne pas ralentir à moins de 125 nœuds tant que l'avion n'est pas à moins de 200 pieds d'altitude. Ce n'est qu'à ce moment-là que la vitesse peut être réduite à la vitesse requise de survol du seuil7.

Au moment de l'accident, la compagnie n'avait pas intégré le contenu de cet avis dans son manuel SOP.

PLR 734 s'est posé sur la piste 29 à environ 1 053 pieds au-delà du seuil et à gauche de l'axe de la piste. Tout porte à croire que l'extrémité de l'aile droite a heurté la piste à quelque 100 pieds avant le point d'impact initial. Le principal train d'atterrissage gauche s'est affaissé et l'avion a glissé sur 1 778 pieds avant de s'immobiliser sur la piste.

L'équipage et les passagers ont pu sortir de l'avion par la porte principale gauche de la cabine, malgré le fait que la porte ne pouvait être que partiellement ouverte parce que la partie arrière du fuselage reposait sur la piste.

Le personnel de l'aéroport et de la compagnie est arrivé sur les lieux et a amené l'équipage et les passagers à l'aérogare. Il n'y a pas eu d'incendie après l'impact, en dépit du fait que du carburant s'écoulait de l'évent de l'extrémité de l'aile gauche.

Les deux approches ont été effectuées dans des conditions de givrage d'intensité faible à modérée. L'accumulation de givre n'a pas été déterminée, mais d'après les photos de l'avion prises par le personnel d'exploitation de l'aéroport le jour de l'accident (17 h 4), il y avait une accumulation de givre et de glace transparente le long du bord d'attaque des ailes et sur les casseroles d'hélice. Pendant les approches, l'équipage n'avait pas mis en marche l'équipement de dégivrage de l'avion. On sait que le givre crée des turbulences sur la surface des ailes, ce qui les empêche de fournir la portance nécessaire pour maintenir l'avion en vol et ce qui augmente donc la vitesse de décrochage de l'avion. De plus, la formation de la glace augmente la traînée de l'aile, ce qui cause une diminution de la vitesse indiquée plus rapide que celle prévue au moment de la réduction de la puissance des moteurs. Selon le manuel des SOP de la compagnie, dans des conditions givrantes, la vitesse d'approche de référence (Vref) devrait être augmentée jusqu'à 10 nœuds et les boudins de dégivrage de la cellule devraient être mis en action. Lors des deux approches vers Fort Smith, l'équipage n'a pas fait fonctionner les boudins de dégivrage de la cellule ni augmenté la Vref.

Analyse

On sait que le givrage nuit aux performances d'un avion. Le fait est reconnu dans le manuel des SOP de la compagnie qui conseille d'accroître la Vref et de faire fonctionner les boudins de dégivrage de la cellule en cas de traversée de conditions givrantes. L'équipage n'a pris aucune de ces deux mesures préventives lors des deux approches à Fort Smith, sans doute parce qu'il était préoccupé par l'approche aux instruments dans des conditions difficiles. Pendant les deux approches, l'avion a traversé des conditions de givrage d'intensité faible à modérée, ce qui a causé l'augmentation de la vitesse de décrochage de l'avion.

L'équipage de PLR 734 a effectué une approche aux instruments de la piste 29 conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et selon les SOP de la compagnie applicables en l'absence de conditions givrantes.

La procédure d'atterrissage a été entamée dès que les références visuelles ont été établies, à 0,9 DME (à 0,2 nm du seuil) et à 329 pieds agl, soit bien en deçà de la visibilité recommandée de 1 sm. En conséquence, l'équipage a disposé de peu de temps et de distance pour configurer l'avion en vue de l'atterrissage.

Lorsque l'équipage réduit la puissance au ralenti vol et qu'il a sorti les volets à 35º afin de ralentir à la Vref normale de 105 nœuds, l'avion est entré en décrochage aérodynamique à cause de la diminution des performances causée par le givrage. L'avion était trop bas pour permettre à l'équipage d'effectuer une sortie de décrochage avant de heurter la piste.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Malgré la présence de conditions givrantes, les boudins de dégivrage de la cellule n'ont pas été mis en action, pas plus que la vitesse de référence n'a été augmentée pour contrecarrer les effets du givrage de l'avion.
  2. Un changement soudain de la configuration de l'avion, notamment une réduction de la puissance jusqu'au ralenti vol et une sortie des volets à 35º, a causé une décélération rapide de l'avion.
  3. L'avion a décroché à cause d'une diminution de ses performances provoquée par le givrage. L'avion était à trop basse altitude pour pouvoir sortir complètement du décrochage avant de heurter la piste.

Fait établi quant aux risques

  1. Au moment de l'accident, la compagnie n'avait pas intégré l'avis aux équipages dans ses procédures d'utilisation normalisées (SOP). Les équipages restaient donc dans l'obligation d'effectuer des changements de configuration à une étape avancée de l'approche, ce qui augmentait les risques d'approche non stabilisée.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 29 avril 2009.

Annexe A : Procédure d'approche VOR/DME RWY29 (GNSS) à Fort Smith (Territoires du Nord-Ouest) tirée du Canada Air Pilot

NOT TO BE USED FOR NAVIGATION (NE PEUT ÊTRE UTILISÉ POUR LA NAVIGATION)

Procédure d'approche VOR/DME RWY29 (GNSS) à Fort Smith (Territoires du Nord-Ouest) tirée du Canada Air Pilot