Aviation Investigation Report A09C0114

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

In-Flight Collision
Glad Air Spray
Pezetel M18B Dromader, C-GEZV and
Air Tractor AT-401, C-GBDF
Gladstone, Manitoba
13 July 2009

Summary

Two Glad Air Spray aerial application aircraft were conducting independent flights in the vicinity of Gladstone, Manitoba. The Pezetel M18B Dromader (registration C-GEZV, serial number 1Z027 10) was returning from an aerial application flight about 20 nautical miles (nm) west of the Gladstone aerodrome. The Air Tractor AT-401, (registration C-GBDF, serial number 401-0866), was returning from an aerial application flight in the vicinity of Carberry, Manitoba, about 25 nm southwest of the Gladstone aerodrome.

Both aircraft approached Runway 18 at Gladstone. On final approach, the Dromader descended and struck the Air Tractor from above. Both aircraft descended to the ground and crashed. The Air Tractor was destroyed by impact forces and fire. The Dromader was substantially damaged. The Dromader pilot was not injured; the Air Tractor pilot received serious burn injuries. The accident occurred during daylight hours at 1900 central daylight time.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

Gladstone (CJR5) is a registered aerodrome located three nautical miles (nm) south of the town of Gladstone, Manitoba. The main runway at the aerodrome is Runway 18/36, which measures 2695 feet long by 95 feet wide and has a paved surface. Runway 08/26 measures 2050 feet by 75 feet and has a grass surface. The aerodrome does not have a control tower or flight service station and the airspace above it is uncontrolled at the altitudes flown by the occurrence aircraft. There is no mandatory communications frequency for Gladstone; however, an aerodrome traffic frequency (ATF) of 122.8 Mhz is specified for the aerodrome area.

The Pezetel M18B Dromader (Dromader) pilot was monitoring the ATF during the approach, but did not make or receive any traffic calls. The Air Tractor AT-401 (Air Tractor) had been equipped with a communications radio, but it had been removed for repair in the spring of 2009. Glad Air Spray had an office equipped with a communications radio at the aerodrome, but the office was unoccupied at the time of the accident. Glad Air Spray's Director of Flight Operations (DFO) observed the aircraft returning to the airport from their flights. He was working at a tank facility located adjacent to the office, where he was mixing spray chemical to reload into the returning aircraft.

The Air Tractor had been operating near Carberry, Manitoba, earlier in the day. It remained at Carberry mid-day, and then completed a flight as winds subsided in the early evening. Returning to Gladstone, the Air Tractor approached the aerodrome from the southwest, crossed just south of Runway 18/36, and joined the circuit on a left downwind leg for Runway 18, at about 500 feet above ground level (agl).1 The Dromader approached from the west and joined the circuit directly on a descending right base leg, also for Runway 18, starting at about 1000 feet agl. Both aircraft turned onto final approach for Runway 18 and proceeded towards the runway. The aircraft collided on short final, with the Dromader positioned slightly above the Air Tractor.2 Neither pilot saw the other aircraft until the collision.

The forward fuselage and engine area of the Air Tractor was damaged by the propeller of the Dromader during the in-flight collision. The Air Tractor pilot lost control of his aircraft, which crashed in a near-vertical attitude on the asphalt surface of the approach end of Runway 18. The aircraft overturned after impact and came to rest in an inverted position at the side of the runway. A fuel-fed fire ensued almost immediately. The pilot was able to exit the aircraft and crawl away from the burning wreckage. The aircraft was destroyed by impact forces and fire.

After the collision, the Dromader pilot also lost control of his aircraft, which crashed at a shallow angle in a marsh west of the approach end of Runway 18. The aircraft sustained substantial damage to its wings and propeller. The Dromader pilot was not injured, and he exited the aircraft and went to assist the pilot of the Air Tractor. The DFO observed the collision and the crash of both aircraft, drove his truck to the scene to assist the pilots, and transported the Air Tractor pilot to hospital. The fire consumed much of the Air Tractor's fuselage and wing roots before any attempt could be made to bring it under control. The fire consumed the aircraft's fuel supply within several minutes and then subsided.

Both aircraft were single-pilot, low-wing monoplanes designed for aerial application operations. Both aircraft were equipped with radial engines and spray chemical hoppers located between the pilot and the engine. The cockpits of both aircraft are protected by robust structures designed to absorb impact without compromising occupant living space. The Air Tractor had an overall length of 27 feet (8.23 metres (m)), a wingspan of 45 feet (13.75 m), a maximum take-off weight of 7200 pounds (3263 kilograms (kg)), and was painted yellow.

The Dromader had an overall length of 31 feet (9.47 m), a wingspan of 58 feet (17.70 m), a maximum take-off weight of 11 700 pounds (5307 kg), and was painted white and yellow. The nose of the Dromader is about 58 inches wide and extends over 160 inches forward from the pilot's position in the cockpit. Both aircraft were equipped with landing lights; however, they were not selected ON at the time of the accident. Both aircraft were returning from discharging their loads of chemical and were operating at relatively light weights. There were no mechanical discrepancies found with either aircraft that would have contributed to the occurrence.

Both pilots were wearing helmets and the five-point, occupant restraint harnesses installed in each of the aircraft. The pilot of the Dromader was wearing a short-sleeved shirt and gloves; the Air Tractor pilot was wearing a short-sleeved shirt and not wearing gloves. Both pilots were able to operate the release mechanisms of the harnesses and open the aircraft exit doors, unassisted, after the accident.

The aviation weather report for Brandon, Manitoba, 43 nm southwest of Gladstone, for 1900,3 was as follows: winds 130º True (T) at 10 knots, visibility 15 statute miles (sm), broken cloud at 15 000 feet above ground level (agl), overcast cloud at 25 000 feet agl, temperature 19ºC, and dew point 10ºC. The cloud base was well above the flight path of the aircraft and visibility was unlimited.

Neither pilot was aware of the presence of the other aircraft in the vicinity of Gladstone, nor was either pilot expecting the other aircraft to be there. Both aircraft were operating under visual flight rules (VFR). Safe VFR flight is predicated on the see-and-avoid concept and on procedures to ensure aircraft separation during an approach to an aerodrome. The effectiveness of the see-and-avoid concept for collision avoidance is dependent on flight crew detecting other aircraft in time to take evasive action. A pilot's ability to visually detect another aircraft is affected by many factors, including physiological limitations of the human visual and motor response systems, the pilot's awareness of the presence of another aircraft, the pilot's available field of view and obstructions to that field of view, aircraft conspicuity, pilot scanning techniques, and pilot workload.

The Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs)4 specify that before landing at an aerodrome, the pilot of an aircraft shall conform to or avoid the pattern of traffic formed by other aircraft in operation there, give way to any aircraft at a lower altitude that is also approaching the aerodrome for the purpose of landing, and make all turns to the left when operating within the aerodrome traffic circuit, except where right turns are specified. Transport Canada Aeronautical Information Manual, section RAC 4.5.2, Traffic Circuit Procedures - Uncontrolled Aerodromes, states the following:

Unless otherwise specified or required by the applicable distance from cloud criteria, aircraft should approach the traffic circuit from the upwind side. Alternatively, once the pilot has ascertained without any doubt that there will be no conflict with other traffic entering the circuit or traffic established within the circuit, the pilot may also join the circuit on the downwind leg [Figure 1]. When joining from the upwind side, plan the descent to cross the runway in level flight at 1000 feet above aerodrome elevation or the published circuit altitude. Maintain that altitude until further descent is required for landing.

It is generally recognized that traffic advisories improve a pilot's ability to visually acquire another aircraft. The advisory provides advance warning of a potential conflict and will tend to increase the time that a crew will devote to a visual search for the traffic, as well as aiding a pilot in concentrating a visual search in the proper direction.

Figure 1. Standard Left-Hand Circuit Pattern
Figure 1. Standard Left-Hand Circuit Pattern

The pilots of both aircraft had current medical certificates and there was no indication that any physiological factors affected their ability to conduct the flights safely. The Air Tractor pilot had a valid commercial pilot licence with about six years of experience in aerial application flight. He had about 1400 hours of total flight time with about 700 hours on the Air Tractor. The Dromader pilot had a valid commercial pilot license with more than 15 years of experience in aerial application flight. He had about 10 000 hours of total flight time with more than 1000 hours on the Dromader. Both pilots had flown on the morning of the occurrence, but had been off duty during the mid-day. They began flight operations again at about 1600, three hours before the occurrence. Both pilots had several days of rest before the day of the occurrence and neither reported indications of fatigue. Both aircraft had been spraying Follicure fungicide, which was not considered hazardous to the pilots involved in the application flights.

Glad Air Spray was based at Gladstone and operated under a Transport Canada Air Operator Certificate authorizing aerial work (Subpart 702 of the CARs). Glad Air Spray operated two Air Tractors, one Dromader, one Cessna 188, and one Grumman G-164. Its operations manual required the company to provide initial and annual recurrent flight crew training and to certify the competency of its pilots on topics including the CARs, aircraft surface contamination, aircraft systems and servicing, and emergency procedures. For pilots with more than 100 hours of experience within the last three years, 2 hours of annual recurrent ground training was required to ensure a pilot's continued level of competency. No documented recurrent ground training was completed in 2009. One hour of annual recurrent aircraft flight training was required, on topics including pre-flight, pre-take-off, take-off, in-flight manoeuvres, aerial application techniques, landing, and emergency procedures. In the spring of 2009, the accident pilots completed annual recurrent flight training. No record was kept as to the details of this training and no pilot competency check documents were issued.

Transport Canada advised that, as a matter of policy, it does not audit or inspect the operations of air operators engaged in aerial work operations.

Analysis

The Dromader pilot joined the circuit for Runway 18 on a right base leg, contrary to the recommended aerodrome traffic procedure. This compromised his opportunity to observe other traffic in the area and join the circuit without conflict with other traffic.

The Dromader's flight path made it difficult for the Air Tractor pilot to see the Dromader, although both were approaching the same runway. The Dromader was head-on to the Air Tractor, while the latter aircraft was on much of the downwind and base legs of its approach, in which position the Dromader's conspicuity was low. The Dromader's profile would have been that of the engine and the leading edges of the wings and tail, and would not have displayed its brightly painted fuselage. Its relative lateral movement to the Air Tractor was minimal and it would not have drawn the Air Tractor pilot's attention. Neither of the pilots was expecting other aircraft to be in the circuit and neither pilot used landing lights to increase his aircraft's conspicuity. The Air Tractor pilot could not, and the Dromader pilot did not make or receive traffic calls on the ATF. This reduced their ability to gain situational awareness of the traffic in the area.

The Dromader's nose was large enough to obscure its pilot's view of a significant area ahead of and underneath the Dromader. In the right turn onto final approach, the area which was obscured likely kept pace with the flight path of the Air Tractor while the two aircraft lined up on final approach. Although both aircraft were substantial in size, were painted in conspicuous colours, and the weather was favourable, the relative positions of the aircraft would have made each difficult for the other pilot to detect. The pilot of the Dromader would have had to make clearing turns to observe the area under the aircraft's nose, and because the pilot believed there was no local traffic, no such turns were made. After the Dromader turned onto final approach, its flight path converged with that of the Air Tractor. As it descended, it struck the Air Tractor and both aircraft descended to the ground out of control.

Both pilots were wearing five-point harnesses and helmets. The helmets reduced the likelihood of head injury during the crash, and the restraint systems in both aircraft functioned as designed. Together, these systems allowed both pilots to survive significant deceleration forces on impact without serious injury and then exit their aircraft. The cockpit structures of both aircraft maintained sufficient integrity to allow both pilots to open their respective cockpit doors without difficulty. In particular, the Air Tractor maintained its cockpit integrity after its near-vertical impact onto a hard surface, and its inverted position after the crash. The pilot was able to release his restraint system, open the cockpit door, and escape a fire that was already in progress. The Air Tractor pilot's arms and hands were not protected against fire, which likely increased the extent of his injuries. The fire consumed most of the aircraft before a response could be organized.

The operator's training program was not implemented as required by its operations manual. Portions of the program related to circuit procedures and traffic avoidance could have reduced the risk of collision by emphasizing appropriate circuit procedures. Glad Air Spray did not help its pilots enhance their situational awareness by maintaining communications radios capable of making and receiving calls on the Gladstone ATF.

Transport Canada's oversight policy eliminated an opportunity to evaluate Glad Air Spray's operation to suggest improvements to the operation and to ensure that the required standards were maintained. Glad Air Spray was not proactive in reducing the risks that these standards were designed to address.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The Dromader pilot joined the circuit for Runway 18 in a manner that compromised his opportunity to observe, conform to, and avoid conflict with the pattern of other traffic in the circuit.
  2. The Dromader's flight path and lack of conspicuity made it difficult for the Air Tractor pilot to see the Dromader's approach and avoid the impending conflict.
  3. The Dromader's nose likely obscured an area which kept pace with the Air Tractor flight path while the two aircraft converged on final approach. The Dromader pilot did not make clearing turns to observe the area under his aircraft's nose and this made it difficult for him to see the Air Tractor's approach and avoid the impending conflict.
  4. On final approach, the Dromader's flight path converged horizontally and then vertically with that of the Air Tractor, until the Dromader struck the Air Tractor and both aircraft descended out of control to the ground.
  5. The non-use of landing lights and lack of radio communication contributed to the pilots' reduced awareness of traffic in the area.
  6. The Air Tractor pilot's arms and hands were not protected, which likely increased the extent of the injuries resulting from the post-crash fire.

Findings as to Risk

  1. The operator's training program was not implemented as required, and provisions in the required training designed for avoiding in-flight collisions were not completed.
  2. Transport Canada does not audit or inspect air operators engaged in aerial work operations and therefore cannot evaluate operator procedures, suggest improvements, or ensure that the required training is completed.

Other Findings

  1. The use of a five-point harness and helmet reduced the likelihood of injury during the crashes and allowed the pilots to survive significant deceleration forces and exit the aircraft.
  2. The cockpit structures of both aircraft maintained their integrity to allow the pilots to open their respective cockpit doors and exit the aircraft. In particular, the Air Tractor maintained its cockpit integrity after a near-vertical impact onto a hard surface, which allowed its pilot to open the cockpit door and exit the aircraft.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 23 December 2009.

Appendix A — Accident Aircraft Initial Flight Paths

Appendix A - Accident Aircraft Initial Flight Paths

Appendix B — Accident Aircraft Final Flight Paths

Appendix B - Accident Aircraft Final Flight Paths

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A09C0114

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Abordage en vol
entre le Pezetel M18B Dromader, C-GEZV et
le Air Tractor AT-401, C-GBDF
exploités par Glad Air Spray
à Gladstone (Manitoba)
le 13 juillet 2009

Résumé

Deux avions d'épandage de Glad Air Spray effectuaient des vols indépendants près de Gladstone (Manitoba). Le Pezetel M18B Dromader (immatriculé C-GEZV, numéro de série 1Z027 10) revenait d'un vol d'épandage à 20 milles nautiques (nm) environ à l'ouest de l'aérodrome de Gladstone. Le Air Tractor AT-401 (immatriculé C-GBDF, numéro de série 401-0866) revenait d'un vol d'épandage près de Carberry (Manitoba), à environ 25 nm au sud-ouest de l'aérodrome de Gladstone.

Les deux avions ont effectué leur approche sur la piste 18 à Gladstone. En finale, le Dromader a percuté le Air Tractor par dessus pendant la descente. Les deux avions sont descendus jusqu'au sol et se sont écrasés. Le Air Tractor a été détruit par la violence du choc et l'incendie subséquent. Le Dromader a été lourdement endommagé. Le pilote du Dromader n'a pas été blessé, mais le pilote du Air Tractor a été gravement brûlé. L'accident s'est produit de jour à 19 h, heure avancée du Centre.

This report is also available in English.

Renseignements de base

L'aérodrome de Gladstone (CJR5) est un aérodrome enregistré situé à trois milles nautiques au sud de la ville de Gladstone (Manitoba). Il dispose d'une piste principale, la 18-36 mesurant 2695 pieds de long sur 95 pieds de large avec un revêtement en dur, et d'une piste secondaire, la 08-26 mesurant 2050 pieds sur 75 pieds avec un revêtement en herbe. L'aérodrome n'a pas de tour de contrôle ni de station d'information de vol et l'espace aérien au-dessus n'était pas contrôlé aux altitudes utilisées par les avions accidentés. Il n'y a pas de fréquence de communications obligatoire à Gladstone, mais une fréquence de trafic d'aérodrome (ATF) publiée pour l'aérodrome et ses environs sur 122,8 MHz.

Le pilote du Pezetel M18B Dromader (Dromader) était à l'écoute de l'ATF pendant l'approche, mais n'a pas fait d'appel et n'en a pas reçu. Le Air Tractor AT-401 (Air Tractor) était équipé d'une radio, mais celle-ci avait été retirée au printemps 2009 pour réparation. Glad Air Spray avait un bureau doté d'une radio à l'aérodrome, mais il était inoccupé au moment de l'accident. Le directeur des opérations de Glad Air Spray a vu les avions revenir à l'aérodrome. Il était en train de mélanger les produits chimiques d'épandage dans une citerne située près du bureau en vue de ravitailler les avions qui rentraient.

Le Air Tractor avait travaillé près de Carberry (Manitoba) dans la matinée et était resté sur place pendant la mi-journée en attendant que le vent faiblisse, puis avait terminé l'épandage en fin de journée. Au retour à Gladstone, le Air Tractor est arrivé à l'aérodrome par le sud-ouest, a survolé l'axe de la piste 18-36 juste au sud du seuil puis a intégré le circuit par l'étape vent arrière gauche pour la piste 18, à environ 500 pieds au-dessus du sol (agl)1. Le Dromader est arrivé par l'ouest à environ 1000 pieds agl puis est entré directement dans une étape de base droite en descente, également pour la piste 18. Les deux avions ont tourné en approche finale pour la piste 18 et continué en direction de la piste. Les avions se sont percutés en courte finale, le Dromader étant légèrement au-dessus du Air Tractor2. Les pilotes ne se sont pas vus avant l'impact.

La partie avant du fuselage et le capot moteur du Air Tractor ont été endommagés par l'hélice du Dromader au cours de l'abordage. Le pilote du Air Tractor a perdu la maîtrise de son appareil et s'est écrasé presque à la verticale sur la surface asphaltée du seuil de la piste 18. L'avion est retombé sur le dos après l'impact et s'est immobilisé dans cette position en bordure de piste. Un incendie alimenté par l'essence s'est déclaré presque instantanément. Le pilote a réussi à s'extraire de l'avion en flamme et à ramper à l'écart. L'avion a été détruit par l'impact et l'incendie.

Après l'abordage, le pilote du Dromader a également perdu la maîtrise de son avion et s'est écrasé presque en ligne de vol dans un marais à l'ouest du seuil de la piste 18. Les ailes et l'hélice ont été lourdement endommagées. Le pilote est sorti indemne de l'avion et s'est porté au secours du pilote du Air Tractor. Le directeur des opérations a vu l'abordage et les avions s'écraser. Il s'est rendu sur place au volant de son camion afin d'aider les pilotes et a conduit le pilote du Air Tractor à l'hôpital. Le fuselage et l'emplanture des ailes du Air Tractor ont presque entièrement été détruits par l'incendie avant qu'il ne soit possible de le maîtriser. Le brasier a été alimenté par l'essence de l'avion pendant plusieurs minutes avant de diminuer d'intensité.

Ces avions sont des monoplans à voilure basse à un seul pilote conçus pour l'épandage aérien. Ils sont dotés d'un moteur en étoile et d'un réservoir à produits chimiques d'épandage situé entre le moteur et le pilote. Le poste de pilotage de ces avions est protégé par une structure renforcée destinée à absorber un impact sans déformation de l'espace vital du pilote. Le Air Tractor a une longueur hors tout de 27 pieds (8,23 m), une envergure de 45 pieds (13,75 m) et une masse maximale au décollage de 7200 livres (3263 kg). Le Air Tractor accidenté avait une peinture jaune.

Le Dromader a une longueur hors tout de 31 pieds (9,47 m), une envergure de 58 pieds (17,70 m) et une masse maximale au décollage de 11 700 livres (5307 kg). Le Dromader accidenté était peint en blanc et jaune. Le nez du Dromader a une largeur de 58 pouces et une longueur de plus de 160 pouces mesurée depuis le siège pilote. Les deux avions étaient dotés de phares d'atterrissage, mais ceux-ci n'étaient pas allumés au moment de l'accident. Les avions revenaient d'un travail d'épandage et étaient relativement légers. Aucune anomalie mécanique ayant pu contribuer à l'accident n'a été relevée sur les avions.

Les deux pilotes portaient un casque et le harnais cinq points installé dans les appareils. Le pilote du Dromader portait une chemise à manche courte et des gants; le pilote du Air Tractor portait aussi une chemise à manche courte, mais n'avait pas de gants. Les deux pilotes ont pu détacher leur harnais et ouvrir la porte de leur avion sans aide après l'accident.

Le rapport météorologique pour l'aviation de 19 heures3 de Brandon (Manitoba), à 43 nm au sud-ouest de Gladstone indiquait les conditions suivantes : vent 130º vrais (T) à 10 nœuds, visibilité 15 milles terrestres (sm), nuages fragmentés à 15 000 pieds agl, plafond couvert à 25 000 pieds agl, température 19 ºC et point de rosée 10 ºC. La base des nuages était nettement plus haute que l'altitude de vol des avions et la visibilité était illimitée.

Aucun des deux pilotes ne savait que l'autre se trouvait à proximité de Gladstone, et ils ne s'attendaient pas à se rencontrer. Les deux avions volaient selon les règles du vol à vue (VFR). La sécurité du vol à vue repose sur le concept de voir et d'éviter les autres aéronefs ainsi que sur des procédures visant à assurer l'espacement entre les appareils en approche à un aérodrome. L'efficacité du concept dépend de la capacité du pilote à repérer un autre aéronef à temps afin de l'éviter. Cette capacité dépend de plusieurs facteurs comme les limites physiologiques de la vue, la réponse des systèmes moteurs, la conscience de la présence d'un autre avion, le champ de vision disponible et les obstacles à la vue dans ce champ de vision, l'aspect de l'aéronef, les techniques de balayage visuel et la charge de travail du pilote.

Le Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC)4 prévoit qu'avant d'atterrir à un aérodrome, le pilote d'un aéronef doit adopter le circuit de circulation suivi par les autres aéronefs ou s'en tenir à l'écart, céder le passage à un aéronef à une altitude inférieure qui s'approche également de l'aérodrome en vue d'y atterrir, et exécuter tous les virages à gauche quand l'aéronef est utilisé à l'intérieur du circuit d'aérodrome, sauf lorsque les virages à droite sont précisés. L'article RAC 4.5.2 (Circuit d'aérodrome aux aérodromes non contrôlés) du Manuel d'information aéronautique de Transports Canada, prévoit que :

À moins que les critères de distance par rapport aux nuages ne spécifient le contraire, les aéronefs doivent s'approcher du circuit du côté vent debout. Toutefois, si le pilote s'est assuré sans l'ombre d'un doute qu'il n'existe aucun conflit avec la circulation qui entre dans le circuit ou avec la circulation établie à l'intérieur du circuit, l'aéronef peut entrer dans le circuit dans l'étape vent arrière (Figure 1). Lorsque l'aéronef entre dans le circuit du côté vent debout, le pilote doit croiser la piste en palier à 1 000 pi AAE ou à l'altitude publiée pour le circuit. Il doit ensuite maintenir cette altitude jusqu'à ce qu'il soit nécessaire de descendre pour l'atterrissage.

Il est généralement accepté que l'utilisation de la radio pour signaler la position des aéronefs améliore la capacité des pilotes à repérer un trafic. Cette information donne un préavis en cas de conflit potentiel et à tendance à augmenter le temps que les pilotes passent à la recherche visuelle du trafic. Elle les aide également à chercher dans la bonne direction.

Figure 1.  Circuit d'aérodrome standard (à gauche)
Figure 1. Circuit d'aérodrome standard (à gauche)

Les pilotes des deux avions avaient un certificat médical valide et rien n'indique qu'un trouble physiologique quelconque ait affecté leur capacité à voler en toute sécurité. Le pilote du Air Tractor était titulaire d'une licence de pilote professionnel valide avec environ six ans d'expérience dans l'épandage aérien. Il totalisait environ 1400 heures de vol, dont 700 environ sur le Air Tractor. Le pilote du Dromader était titulaire d'une licence de pilote professionnel valide avec plus de 15 ans d'expérience dans l'épandage aérien. Il totalisait environ 10 000 heures de vol, dont plus de 1000 sur Dromader. Les deux pilotes avaient volé le matin de l'accident, mais étaient en repos pendant la mi-journée. Ils ont recommencé à voler vers 16 heures, trois heures avant l'accident. Ils avaient eu plusieurs jours de repos avant le jour de l'accident et aucun d'eux ne montrait des signes de fatigue. Les deux avions larguaient du fongicide Follicure, lequel n'est pas considéré toxique pour les pilotes chargés de son épandage.

La compagnie Glad Air Spray était basée à Gladstone et exploitait en vertu d'un certificat d'exploitation aérienne émis par Transports Canada autorisant le travail aérien (Sous-partie 702 du RAC). Glad Air Spray exploitait deux Air Tractor, un Dromader, un Cessna 188 et un Grumman G-164. Son manuel d'exploitation exigeait que la compagnie dispense une formation initiale et une formation annuelle périodique à ses pilotes et atteste leurs compétences dans des domaines comme le RAC, la contamination des surfaces des aéronefs, les systèmes de bord, l'entretien courant et les procédures d'urgence. Pour les pilotes ayant plus de 100 heures d'expérience dans les derniers trois ans, une formation théorique annuelle de deux heures était obligatoire pour garantir la continuité de leur niveau de compétence. Aucune formation théorique annuelle documentée n'a été donnée en 2009. Une heure de vol de formation périodique annuelle sur les procédures prévol, avant décollage, décollage, les manœuvres en vol, les techniques d'épandage, l'atterrissage et les procédures d'urgence était obligatoire. Au printemps 2009, les pilotes accidentés ont suivi une formation périodique annuelle en vol. Rien concernant cette formation n'a été consigné et aucun document de vérification de compétence pilote n'a été émis.

Transports Canada a indiqué que selon sa politique, les exploitants aériens effectuant des opérations de travail aérien n'étaient pas inspectés ni vérifiés.

Analyse

Le pilote du Dromader a fait un circuit pour la piste 18 en entrant en étape de base droite contrairement à la procédure de circuit d'aérodrome recommandée. Cette pratique a réduit ses chances d'apercevoir d'autres aéronefs à proximité et ne lui a pas permis de faire le circuit pour ne pas être en conflit.

À cause de la trajectoire de vol du Dromader, il était difficile au pilote du Air Tractor de le repérer, même si les deux avions se dirigeaient vers la même piste. En effet, le Dromader est resté face au Air Tractor pendant la presque totalité de l'étape vent arrière et l'étape de base de ce dernier, c'est-à-dire un profile peu visible. Le profil était réduit à son moteur et au bord d'attaque de ses ailes et de sa dérive, sans que la peinture éclatante du fuselage soit visible. Le déplacement relatif du Dromader dans le plan horizontal était insuffisant pour attirer l'attention du pilote du Air Tractor. Les pilotes ne s'attendaient pas à voir un autre avion dans le circuit et ils n'utilisaient pas leur phare d'atterrissage pour mieux signaler leur présence. Le pilote du Air Tractor ne pouvait pas émettre et le pilote du Dromader n'a pas émis ni reçu d'appel sur l'ATF. Cette lacune les a empêchés de prendre connaissance du trafic dans le secteur.

Le capot moteur du Dromader est tellement long qu'il occultait un large secteur du champ de vision du pilote devant et dessous l'avion. Pendant le virage à droite en finale, le secteur occulté s'est probablement déplacé en phase avec la trajectoire de vol du Air Tractor pendant que les deux avions s'alignaient en finale. Malgré leurs dimensions importantes, leurs couleurs voyantes et une bonne visibilité, la position relative des deux avions a certainement empêché les pilotes de se voir. De façon à voir le secteur sous le nez de son avion, le pilote du Dromader aurait dû faire des virages, mais comme il ne s'attendait pas à voir un autre avion, il n'en a pas fait. Après le virage d'alignement en finale du Dromader, sa trajectoire a convergé avec celle du Air Tractor. Pendant la descente, il a percuté le Air Tractor et les deux avions sont descendus jusqu'au sol hors de contrôle.

Les deux pilotes portaient un harnais cinq points et un casque. Les casques ont réduit les risques de blessures à la tête lors de l'écrasement et les harnais ont rempli le rôle pour lequel ils ont été conçus. Ensemble, ces dispositifs ont permis aux deux pilotes de supporter la décélération brutale de l'impact sans blessures graves et d'évacuer leur appareil. La structure du poste de pilotage des deux avions a conservé une intégrité suffisante pour permettre aux pilotes d'ouvrir la porte sans difficulté. Le poste de pilotage du Air Tractor en particulier a résisté à un impact presque vertical sur une surface dure et au basculement de l'avion sur le dos après l'impact. Le pilote a réussi à détacher son harnais, à ouvrir la porte du poste de pilotage et à échapper à l'incendie qui s'était déjà déclaré. Toutefois, ses bras et ses mains n'étaient pas protégés, ce qui a probablement augmenté la gravité de ses blessures. L'avion a presque été entièrement détruit par l'incendie avant qu'une intervention quelconque ne puisse s'organiser.

Le programme de formation de l'exploitant n'était pas appliqué tel que l'exigeait son manuel d'exploitation. Les parties du programme portant sur les procédures de circuit et l'évitement des autres aéronefs auraient pu réduire le risque d'abordage en mettant l'accent sur l'utilisation des procédures de circuit correctes. La compagnie Glad Air Spray n'a pas aidé ses pilotes à améliorer leur conscience de la situation en maintenant en état de fonctionnement des radios permettant des communications bilatérales sur l'ATF de Gladstone.

La politique de surveillance de Transport Canada a éliminé toute possibilité d'évaluer l'exploitation de Glad Air Spray afin de suggérer des améliorations et de vérifier qu'elle répondait aux normes pertinentes. La compagnie ne s'est pas montrée proactive dans la réduction des risques que ces normes étaient censées atténuer.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Le pilote du Dromader a fait un circuit pour la piste 18 d'une façon qui ne lui a pas permis de surveiller la circulation d'aérodrome et d'adopter le circuit de circulation suivi par les autres aéronefs ou de s'en tenir à l'écart.
  2. La trajectoire de vol en rapprochement et le profil à peine perceptible du Dromader l'ont rendu difficile à détecter pour le pilote du Air Tractor qui n'a pu éviter l'abordage.
  3. Le nez du Dromader a vraisemblablement occulté un secteur qui s'est déplacé en phase avec la trajectoire de vol du Air Tractor quand les deux avions ont convergé en approche finale. Le pilote du Dromader n'a pas fait de virages pour voir le secteur occulté par le nez de son avion, ce qui ne lui a pas permis de voir le Air Tractor en approche et d'éviter l'abordage.
  4. En approche finale, la trajectoire de vol du Dromader a convergé dans le plan horizontal puis vertical avec celle du Air Tractor jusqu'à l'abordage, et les deux avions sont descendus hors de contrôle jusqu'au sol.
  5. Le défaut d'utilisation des phares d'atterrissage et l'absence de communications radio ont empêché les pilotes d'avoir conscience du trafic dans le secteur.
  6. Les bras et les mains du pilote du Air Tractor n'étaient pas protégés, ce qui a vraisemblablement augmenté l'étendue de ses brûlures dues à l'incendie après l'impact.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. Le programme de formation de l'exploitant n'était pas mis en application tel que prévu et les parties de la formation obligatoire portant sur l'évitement les abordages en vol n'ont pas été enseignées.
  2. Transports Canada n'inspecte pas et ne vérifie pas les exploitants effectuant des opérations de travail aérien. Par conséquent, il ne peut pas évaluer leurs procédures, suggérer des améliorations ou s'assurer du respect des programmes de formation.

Autres faits établis

  1. L'utilisation du harnais cinq points et le port du casque ont réduit les risques de blessures lors de l'écrasement et ont permis aux pilotes de survivre à la décélération brutale et d'évacuer leur avion.
  2. Les structures du poste de pilotage des deux avions ont conservé leur intégrité permettant aux pilotes d'ouvrir la porte et d'évacuer leur avion. Le poste de pilotage du Air Tractor en particulier a résisté à un impact presque vertical sur une surface dure ce qui a permis au pilote d'ouvrir la porte du poste de pilotage et d'évacuer l'appareil.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 23 décembre 2010.

Annexe A — Trajectoire de vol initiale des avions accidentés

Annexe A - Trajectoire de vol initiale des avions accidentés

Annexe B — Trajectoire de vol finale des avions accidentés

Annexe B - Trajectoire de vol finale des avions accidentés