Aviation Investigation Report A09C0172

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Controlled Flight into Terrain
Lockhart Air Services Limited
Cessna 310R, C-GFIT
Cat Lake, Ontario, 8 nm SW
06 November 2009

Summary

The Lockhart Air Services Limited Cessna 310R (registration C-GFIT, serial number 310R1865) departed Sioux Lookout, Ontario, on a night visual flight rules flight to Cat Lake, Ontario, with a pilot and two passengers on board. The aircraft was on a company flight itinerary. When the aircraft did not arrive at its destination, a search was launched. The wreckage of the aircraft was located two days later in a wooded area about eight nautical miles southwest of Cat Lake. The occupants of the aircraft were fatally injured upon impact and the aircraft was destroyed.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

History of the Flight

Lockhart Air Services Limited (Lockhart Air Services) operates a commercial air taxi service under subpart 703 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) and services various communities in northwestern Ontario. The company operates a pilot self-dispatch system. 1 The purpose of the flight was to transport two passengers and baggage from Sioux Lookout to Cat Lake, Ontario. The flight departed on 06 November 2009 at about 1800 2 with an estimated time en route of 45 minutes. After take-off, the pilot advised the Sioux Lookout Flight Service Station that they were clear of the zone and were climbing to 5500 feet above sea level (asl).

Upon arrival in the Cat Lake area, the aircraft flew over the airport and proceeded southwest. The aircraft’s flight path was consistent with a visual inspection of the runway and a downwind leg to intercept the final approach to Runway 11. While manoeuvring to join the final approach, the aircraft collided with rising terrain approximately eight nautical miles (nm) southwest of Runway 11.

The aircraft struck a densely wooded area. During the impact sequence, the fuel cells ruptured, resulting in an explosion and torching of tree tops. The pilot and both passengers were fatally injured upon impact and the aircraft was destroyed. The fuselage was not consumed by fire.

At 2200, when the aircraft had not yet arrived at its destination, the operator notified the Joint Rescue Coordination Centre (JRCC) in Trenton, Ontario, and a search was initiated. The aircraft was located at 1930 on 08 November 2009.

The aircraft was equipped with a Dorne & Margolin ELT 8.1 emergency locator transmitter (ELT). The ELT antenna was torn off during impact and, as a result, no ELT signal was transmitted.

Weather

There is no recorded or reported weather for Cat Lake. The nearest reported weather is for Pickle Lake, Ontario, 70 nm to the east. The weather at Pickle Lake at 1900 was as follows: wind 170° True (T) at 10 knots, variable from 080° to 230°, visibility 15 statute miles, a few clouds at 24 000 feet above ground level (agl), temperature 4ºC, dew point 2ºC, altimeter 29.41 inches of mercury, remarks cirrus 1 okta, 3 sea level pressure 977 hectopascals.

The barometric pressure in the area was active before the occurrence; the Pickle Lake pressure had decreased from 30.18 to 29.41 inches in a 24-hour period.

Sunset on November 6 occurred at 1633 and the end of official twilight was 1709. Moonrise did not occur until 1936; the flight arrived in the Cat Lake area in total darkness.

Topography

The topography southwest of Cat Lake consists of muskeg and bush and, at night, is devoid of any lights or other distinguishable features that could assist a pilot in discerning a horizon. Darkness and the absence of visual cues can adversely influence a pilot’s perception of the aircraft’s position and movement, and make it more difficult for a pilot to maintain control and to avoid terrain. In some situations, the limited visual cues in sparsely settled areas may lead pilots to believe that they are at a higher altitude than they actually are. 4

Pilot

The pilot was certified and qualified in accordance with existing regulations and met the crew rest requirements. The pilot held a commercial licence with a current instrument rating and had a total of 1819 hours of flying time including a total of 176 hours on the Cessna 310.

There was no indication of any physical issue with the pilot that may have contributed to the accident.

Aircraft

The Cessna 310R is a twin-engine, piston-powered aeroplane equipped to carry a pilot and five passengers. It was approved for day/night visual flight rules (VFR) and instrument flight rules (IFR) operations. It was also equipped with an autopilot and a global positioning system (GPS).

Records indicate that the aircraft was maintained in accordance with Lockhart Air Services’ approved maintenance control system. A review of the aircraft’s weight and balance information indicated that the aircraft was within the prescribed limits during the occurrence flight. A review of the operational flight plan and fuel upload receipts indicated that the aircraft had approximately 400 pounds of fuel on board at the time of the occurrence.

The pilot did not report any technical difficulties with the aircraft prior to the accident. A review of technical records indicates that there were no deferred or outstanding defects on the aircraft.

The aircraft was equipped with two barometric pressure altimeters. Both altimeters incorporated the three-pointer type of display. This display format has a higher potential for being misread, as compared to altimeters incorporating other types of displays, such as the drum-and-pointer type. 5 Nearly 12 full turns of the adjustment knob are required to effect a one-inch barometric pressure change in the altimeter setting. A one-inch decrease in barometric pressure results in an increase of indicated altitude of about 1000 feet if no adjustment is made. An adjustment of this magnitude is uncommon in day-to-day operations. New, larger, technologically advanced aircraft are increasingly being equipped with a drum‑and‑pointer type of altimeter system from the factory.

The aircraft’s last flight before the accident flight occurred on 05 November 2009. The altimeter setting at Sioux Lookout at the conclusion of that flight was 30.13 inches. The altimeter setting for Sioux Lookout at the start of the accident flight was 29.44.

Wreckage Information

The tree strikes and wreckage information indicated that the aircraft contacted the trees on rising terrain in a near-level flight attitude (see Photo 1). The initial tree strikes involved just the tips of the trees, for approximately 150 yards, and progressed to severe shearing and breaking of the tree trunks for another 150 yards until the remaining aircraft fuselage came to rest (see Photo 2). The direction of the wreckage trail was 340° magnetic, indicating that C‑GFIT was tracking away from the village of Cat Lake at the time of impact. The wreckage site elevation was 1460 feet asl.

Photo 1. Tree damage
Photo 1. Tree damage

Photo 2. Final impact point
Photo 2. Final impact point

Most of the flight instruments were destroyed by impact forces; however, investigators were able to read the altimeter setting on the right side altimeter. Its setting scale was set to approximately 30.40 inches of mercury.

An inspection of the aircraft wreckage including the engines, propellers, and flight controls revealed no pre‑impact anomalies. The engine instruments and GPS were removed from the wreckage and sent to the TSB Laboratory in Ottawa. Analysis of the tachometer, oil pressure gauges, cylinder head temperature gauges and manifold pressure gauges indicated that the engines were producing power at the time of impact.

Global Positioning System (GPS)

The GPS was identified as a Bendix/King KLN 94 (part number 069-1034-0101). According to the manual and the manufacturer, this panel-mounted device does not retain any flight track data.

The operator was authorized to conduct GPS approaches using the Cessna 310R. The aircraft was equipped with a GPS under the authority of a limited supplemental type certificate, and the pilot was trained and qualified to carry out GPS approaches.

Arrival Procedures

The Cat Lake Airport is a certified aerodrome, located in uncontrolled airspace, at an elevation of 1344 feet asl. An RNAV GNSS 6 approach is published for Runway 11; however, no radio communication facilities are provided.

The CARs require that pilots arriving at an aerodrome under VFR must ascertain that the runway of intended landing is suitable for landing and that there is no risk of collision with other aircraft or vehicles. 7

Lockhart Air Services pilots were trained to set and cross-check both altimeters to the current setting as well as enter the altimeter setting into the GPS. On the ground, altimeters are cross‑checked to confirm that both read the same field elevation and, in the air, by confirming that they both read a similar altitude. The Lockhart Air Services standard operating procedures (SOPs) contain the following night VFR arrival procedure:

Night approaches are difficult and pilots should be aware of the Black Hole effect. Circling at night is not advisable unless there are two pilots flying the aircraft. Wherever possible a complete circuit or straight in approach should be flown. Turns onto base leg shall be made at least 3 nm from the airport. 1000’ agl shall be maintained until on final and on the glide path. Utilize the autopilot as much as possible.

Lockhart Air Services trained its pilots to use RNAV GPS approaches as a backup, whenever such approaches were available. Pilots arriving at an airport under night VFR conditions were to program the GPS unit with the approach, overfly the airport, join a downwind leg, and then to intercept the final approach at or outside of the final approach waypoint (FAWP). The aircraft’s track during the approach was consistent with this procedure.

Safety Management System

Lockhart Air Services was not required to have a safety management system (SMS) in place. 8 However, in June 2009, the Transport Canada Ontario region offered operators in its region an opportunity to voluntarily enter into a Transitioning to Safety Management Systems program. This program requires that participating companies establish an internal reporting system, procedure for root cause analysis, and a corrective action plan. Lockhart Air Services participated in this program. A review of program-related information did not reveal any occurrences involving the accident pilot that were similar in nature to this occurrence.

Analysis

The degree of damage indicated that the engines were producing power and the aircraft was operating at significant speed at impact. This, coupled with the wings-level shallow descent angle at which the aircraft contacted the trees, indicates that the aircraft was likely operating normally and under the control of the pilot at impact.

The right altimeter subscale was set to 30.40 inches, which was approximately one inch higher than the prevailing altimeter setting of approximately 29.41 inches. The Lockhart Air Services SOPs require pilots to set and cross-check both altimeters, so the left altimeter was likely set to 30.40 inches as well. Because it requires many turns of the setting knob to achieve a one-inch change in the setting, it is likely that the pilot set the fractional subscale to 0.40, thereby setting the barometric pressure of both altimeters approximately one inch too high. Setting the

altimeters one inch too high would cause them to read approximately 1000 feet higher than the aircraft’s actual altitude, and the pilot would be led to believe that he was about 1000 feet higher than he actually was.

In total darkness and with no visual cues, the pilot would have to rely solely on his altimeters to determine his altitude. A 1000-foot error could be more difficult to detect with the three-pointer type of altimeter installed on the occurrence aircraft because the longer pointers (the ones most often referenced) would be in a similar position at either setting (see Appendix A – Altimeter Comparison). As a result, the pilot likely did not notice the incorrect altimeter settings and, during the downwind leg, descended to terrain height believing that he was descending to the circuit altitude.

The aircraft overflew the airport and then turned away from the airport in a westerly direction, in accordance with the Lockhart Air Services procedure of confirming that the runway was suitable for use, and then joined the downwind leg. The position of the wreckage indicates that the pilot intended to intercept the final approach for Runway 11. In total darkness, flying the aircraft away from a lighted community and runway placed the aircraft in a position where the pilot was left without any visual clues that might help him determine his position relative to the ground and increased the risk of collision with terrain.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The aircraft’s altimeters were likely set incorrectly, resulting in a higher reading that led the pilot to descend below a safe altitude.
  2. While manoeuvring for the approach to Runway 11 at Cat Lake, the aircraft descended and collided with trees on rising terrain.

Finding as to Risk

  1. Manoeuvring at night away from visual cues may result in a sudden loss of visual reference, thereby increasing the risk of collision with the ground.

Other Finding

  1. The aircraft would have been operated at a lower altitude throughout the flight, risking a potential conflict with other en route traffic or terrain.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board’s investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 29 April 2010.

Appendix A – Altimeter Comparison

Appendix A – Altimeter Comparison

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A09C0172

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n’est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Impact sans perte de contrôle
du Cessna 310R  C-GFIT
exploité par Lockhart Air Services Limited
à 9 nm au sud-ouest de Cat Lake (Ontario)
le 6 novembre 2009

Résumé

Le Cessna 310R (immatriculé C-GFIT et portant le numéro de série 310R1865) exploité par Lockhart Air Services Limited quitte Sioux Lookout (Ontario) pour effectuer un vol à vue de nuit jusqu’à Cat Lake (Ontario) avec un pilote et deux passagers à bord. L’avion suivait un itinéraire de vol de la compagnie. Des recherches sont lancées lorsque l’aéronef n’arrive pas à destination. L’épave de l’avion est trouvée deux jours plus tard dans une zone boisée à environ 8 milles marins au sud‑ouest de Cat Lake. Les occupants de l’avion ont péri au moment de l’impact et l’avion a été détruit.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Déroulement du vol

Lockhart Air Services Limited (Lockhart Air Services) exploite un service commercial de taxi aérien conformément à la sous-partie 703 du Règlement de l’aviation canadien (RAC) et dessert diverses collectivités du nord-ouest de l’Ontario. La compagnie utilise un système de régulation des vols par les pilotes1. Le vol avait pour but de transporter deux passagers et des bagages de Sioux Lookout à Cat Lake. L’avion est parti à environ 18 h2, et le vol devait durer environ 45 minutes. Après le décollage, le pilote a informé la station d’information de vol de Sioux Lookout qu’il quittait la zone et montait jusqu’à 5500 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (asl).

À l’arrivée dans la région de Cat Lake, l’avion a survolé l’aéroport et s’est dirigé vers le sud‑ouest. La trajectoire du vol de l’avion était conforme à une inspection visuelle de la piste et à une étape vent arrière en vue d’entamer l’approche finale de la piste 11. Alors qu’il manœuvrait pour rejoindre l’approche finale, l’avion est entré en collision avec le relief ascendant à environ 8 milles marins (nm) au sud-ouest de la piste 11.

L’avion s’est écrasé dans une zone densément boisée. Durant l’impact, les réservoirs de carburant se sont rompus, ce qui a provoqué une explosion qui a brûlé la cime de certains arbres. Le pilote et les deux passagers ont péri au moment de l’impact et l’avion a été détruit. Le fuselage n’a pas été détruit par le feu.

À 22 h, l’avion n’étant pas rendu à destination, l’exploitant a donc fait appel au Centre conjoint de coordination des opérations de sauvetage de Trenton (Ontario), qui a lancé les recherches. L’avion a été retrouvé à 19 h 30 le 8 novembre 2009.

L’avion était muni d’une radiobalise de repérage d’urgence ELT 8.1 de Dorne & Margolin. L’antenne de l’ELT ayant été arrachée pendant l’impact, l’ELT n’a pas transmis de signal.

Conditions météorologiques

Les conditions météorologiques de Cat Lake au moment de l’accident n’ont pas été enregistrées ou signalées. Les conditions signalées les plus proches, celles de Pickle Lake (Ontario), à 70 nm à l’est, étaient à 19 h les suivantes : vent de 170 degrés vrai (V) à 10 nœuds, de direction variable entre 080° et 230°, visibilité de 15 milles terrestres, quelques nuages à 24 000 pieds au-dessus du sol (agl), température de 4 ºC , point de rosée de 2 ºC , calage altimétrique de 29,41 pouces de mercure, remarques : 1 octa de cirrus3,  pression au niveau de la mer de 977 hectopascals.

La pression barométrique avait fluctué avant l’accident. La pression à Pickle Lake était passée de 30,18 à 29,41 pouces de mercure dans une période de 24 heures.

Le 6 novembre, le coucher du soleil a eu lieu à 16 h 33, la fin du crépuscule officiel, à 17 h 9, et le lever de la lune, à 19 h 36. Le vol est arrivé à Cat Lake dans l’obscurité totale.

Topographie

La topographie au sud‑ouest de Cat Lake est composée de marécages et de broussailles et, la nuit, il n’y a ni lumière ni point de repère qui pourrait aider le pilote à distinguer un horizon. L’obscurité et l’absence de repères visuels peuvent nuire à la perception qu’a le pilote de la position et du déplacement de l’aéronef, ce qui complique sa tâche de maîtriser l’appareil et d’éviter le relief. Dans certaines situations, la présence minimale de repères visuels dans les zones peu habitées peut faire croire aux pilotes qu’ils sont à une plus grande altitude qu’ils ne le sont réellement4.

Pilote

Le pilote était certifié et qualifié pour effectuer le vol conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et il respectait les exigences en matière de repos. Il était titulaire d’une licence de pilote professionnel et d’une qualification de vol aux instruments, et il avait à son actif 1819 heures de vol, dont 176 sur le Cessna 310.

Rien n’indique que le pilote avait été affecté par un problème physiologique qui aurait pu contribuer à l’accident.

Avion

Le Cessna 310R est un bimoteur à pistons pouvant transporter un pilote et cinq passagers. Il était approuvé pour voler selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR) et selon les règles de vol aux instruments (IFR) de jour et de nuit. L’appareil était également équipé d’un pilote automatique et d’un système de positionnement global (GPS).

Les dossiers indiquent que l’avion était entretenu conformément au système de contrôle de la maintenance approuvé de Lockhart Air Services. Une évaluation des renseignements de masse et de centrage de l’avion indique qu’il était à l’intérieur des limites pendant le vol en question. Une évaluation du plan de vol et des reçus de carburant montre que l’avion avait environ 400 livres de carburant à bord au moment de l’accident.

Le pilote n’a pas signalé de difficultés techniques concernant l’avion avant l’accident. Une évaluation des dossiers techniques révèle que l’avion ne présentait aucune défectuosité dont le règlement avait été reporté ou mis en attente.

L’avion était équipé de deux altimètres à pression barométrique. Les deux altimètres comportaient un type d’affichage à trois aiguilles. Ce type d’affichage risque davantage d’être mal lu que les autres types d’affichage d’altimètre, comme celui de l’altimètre à tambour et aiguille5. Il faut tourner la molette de réglage près de 12 fois pour modifier d’un pouce le calage de la pression barométrique de l’altimètre. Une baisse d’un pouce de la pression barométrique entraîne une hausse de 1000 pieds de l’altitude indiquée si aucun ajustement n’est effectué. Un ajustement de cette ampleur n’est pas commun durant les opérations quotidiennes. Les nouveaux aéronefs, plus gros et plus avancés sur le plan technologique, sont de plus en plus équipés dès l’usine d’un système d’altimètre à tambour et aiguille.

Le dernier vol de l’avion avant le vol en question avait eu lieu le 5 novembre 2009. Le calage altimétrique à Sioux Lookout à la fin de ce vol était de 30,13 pouces. Au départ de Sioux Lookout au moment du vol en question, le calage altimétrique recommandé était de 29,44 pouces.

Renseignements sur l’épave

Les renseignements tirés des arbres heurtés et de l’épave indiquent que l’avion est entré en collision avec les arbres sur un relief ascendant dans une assiette quasiment horizontale (voir la photo 1). Sur les quelque 150 premières verges du contact avec les arbres, l’avion n’en touchait que la cime, puis il a endommagé et fauché de nombreux arbres sur les 150 verges suivantes avant que son fuselage restant ne s’immobilise (voir la photo 2). Le sillon laissé par l’épave était orienté selon un cap magnétique de 340 degrés, ce qui indique que C‑GFIT s’éloignait du village de Cat Lake au moment de l’impact. L’épave était située à une altitude d’environ 1460 pieds asl.

Photo 1. Dommages aux arbres
Photo 1. Dommages aux arbres

Photo 2. Point d’impact final
Photo 2. Point d’impact final

La plupart des instruments de vol ont été détruits par l’impact. Cependant, les enquêteurs ont pu lire le calage altimétrique de l’altimètre côté droit. L’échelle de calage affichait environ 30,40 pouces de mercure.

Une inspection de l’épave de l’avion, y compris des moteurs, des hélices et des commandes de vol, n’a révélé aucune anomalie antérieure à l’impact. Les instruments moteurs et le GPS ont été retirés de l’épave et envoyés au laboratoire du BST à Ottawa. L’analyse du tachymètre, des jauges de pression d’huile, des indicateurs de température de culasse de cylindre et des manomètres de pression d’admission indiquait que les moteurs produisaient de la puissance au moment de l’impact.

Système de positionnement mondial

Le GPS était de type Bendix/King KLN 94 (référence 069-1034-0101). Selon le manuel du fabricant, ce dispositif que l’on pose sur le tableau de bord ne conserve pas de données sur la trajectoire de vol.

L’exploitant était autorisé à effectuer des approches GPS sur le Cessna 310R. L’avion était équipé d’un GPS en vertu d’un certificat de type supplémentaire restreint. Le pilote avait été formé et il était qualifié pour effectuer des approches GPS.

Procédures d’arrivée

L’aéroport de Cat Lake est un aérodrome certifié situé dans un espace aérien non contrôlé à une altitude de 1344 pieds asl. Une approche RNAV GNSS6 est publiée en ce qui concerne la piste 11, mais il n’existe aucune installation de communication radio.

Selon le RAC, le pilote qui arrive à un aérodrome en VFR doit s’assurer que la piste où il compte atterrir convient à l’atterrissage et qu’il n’y a pas de risque de collision avec un autre aéronef ou un véhicule7.

Dans leur formation, les pilotes de Lockhart Air Services apprennent à caler les deux altimètres et à effectuer une contre-vérification pour que le calage soit celui du moment, ainsi qu’à entrer le calage altimétrique dans le GPS. Au sol, les altimètres doivent être contre-vérifiés afin de garantir que les deux affichent la même élévation de terrain et, en vol, une même altitude. Les procédures d’utilisation normalisées (SOP) de Lockhart Air Services comprennent la procédure d’arrivée VFR de nuit suivante :

[Traduction]
Les approches de nuit sont difficiles et les pilotes devraient connaître l’illusion du trou noir. Une approche indirecte la nuit n’est pas recommandée à moins qu’il n’y ait deux pilotes aux commandes de l’aéronef. Chaque fois où cela est possible, il faut effectuer un circuit ou une approche directe. Les virages en étape de base doivent avoir lieu à au moins 3 nm de l’aéroport. Il faut demeurer à 1000 pieds agl jusqu’à ce que l’aéronef soit en étape finale et sur la trajectoire de descente. Il faut utiliser le pilote automatique autant que possible.

Lockhart Air Services a formé ses pilotes à utiliser les approches RNAV GPS comme solution de remplacement à chaque fois que ce genre d’approche est possible. Les pilotes qui arrivent à un aéroport la nuit en VFR doivent programmer l’approche dans leur récepteur GPS, survoler l’aéroport, rejoindre l’étape vent arrière et entamer l’approche finale au point de cheminement d’approche finale (FAWP) ou à l’extérieur de celui-ci. La trajectoire de l’aéronef durant l’approche était conforme à cette procédure.

Système de gestion de la sécurité

Lockhart Air Services n’était pas tenue d’avoir un système de gestion de la sécurité (SGS) en place8. Cependant, en juin 2009, la région de l’Ontario de Transports Canada a offert aux exploitants de la région l’occasion de participer volontairement à un programme de transition vers un SGS. Les entreprises qui participent au programme doivent établir un système de comptes rendus internes, une procédure d’analyse des causes profondes et un plan de mesures correctives. Lockhart Air Services a participé à ce programme. Une évaluation de l’information liée au programme n’a révélé aucun événement concernant le pilote en question qui présentait des similitudes avec le présent accident.

Analyse

L’ampleur des dommages indique que les moteurs produisaient de la puissance et que l’avion se déplaçait à grande vitesse au moment de l’impact. De plus, l’avion descendait à faible pente, les ailes à l’horizontale, lorsqu’il est entré en contact avec les arbres. Ces deux renseignements indiquent que selon toute probabilité, l’avion fonctionnait normalement et que le pilote en avait la maîtrise au moment de l’impact.

L’échelle mobile de l’altimètre côté droit affichait un calage altimétrique de 30,40 pouces, soit environ un pouce de plus que le calage altimétrique en vigueur d’environ 29,41 pouces. Les SOP de Lockhart Air Services exigent que les pilotes calent les deux altimètres et qu’ils effectuent une contre-vérification, donc l’altimètre côté gauche était probablement calé à 30,40 pouces lui aussi. Puisqu’il faut tourner la molette de réglage de nombreuses fois pour modifier le calage d’un pouce, le pilote a probablement calé l’échelle mobile des centièmes à 0,40, ce qui a calé la pression barométrique des deux altimètres à environ un pouce de trop. Caler les altimètres d’un pouce de trop aurait fait en sorte qu’ils indiquaient une altitude d’environ 1000 pieds de plus que l’altitude réelle de l’avion, et le pilote aurait donc cru qu’il était à 1000 pieds de plus qu’il ne l’était réellement.

Dans l’obscurité totale et sans repère visuel, le pilote devait se fier entièrement à ses altimètres pour connaître son altitude. Une erreur de 1000 pieds peut être plus difficile à détecter sur un altimètre à trois aiguilles du type posé sur l’avion en question parce que les grandes aiguilles (celles qui sont le plus consultées) auraient été dans une position similaire dans les deux calages (voir l’annexe A – Comparaison des altimètres). Par conséquent, le pilote n’a probablement pas remarqué les calages incorrects des altimètres et, durant l’étape vent arrière, il serait descendu au niveau du sol en croyant qu’il descendait vers l’altitude de circuit.

L’avion a survolé l’aéroport avant d’effectuer un virage et de s’en éloigner en direction ouest, conformément à la procédure de Lockhart Air Services qui consiste à s’assurer que la piste convient à l’atterrissage, puis il a rejoint l’étape vent arrière. La position de l’épave indique que le pilote avait l’intention d’entamer l’approche finale de la piste 11. L’appareil, qui s’éloignait d’une collectivité et d’une piste éclairées, se trouvait dans l’obscurité totale. Le pilote n’avait donc aucun repère visuel qui aurait pu l’aider à déterminer sa position par rapport au sol, ce qui augmentait le risque de collision avec le relief.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Le calage des altimètres de l’avion était probablement incorrect. Par conséquent, l’altitude affichée était trop élevée et le pilote est donc descendu au-dessous de l’altitude de sécurité.
  2. Pendant les manœuvres d’approche de la piste 11 à Cat Lake, l’avion est descendu et est entré en collision avec des arbres sur un relief ascendant.

Fait établi quant aux risques

  1. De nuit, il est possible de perdre tout point de référence visuel pendant des manœuvres loin des repères visuels, ce qui accroît le risque d’impact au sol.

Autre fait établi

  1. L’avion aurait volé à une altitude plus basse pendant tout le vol et aurait donc pu entrer en conflit avec d’autres aéronefs en route ou percuter le relief.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l’enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 29 avril 2010.

Annexe A – Comparaison des altimètres

Annexe A – Comparaison des altimètres