Aviation Investigation Report A09W0146

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of Control – Tail Strike
Wild Water Heli-Fishing Ltd.
Robinson R44 Raven II (Helicopter) C-GNYT
Nahanni Butte, Northwest Territories, 17 nm W
04 August 2009

Summary

The Robinson R44 Raven II (registration C-GNYT, serial number 10883) operated by Wild Water Heli-Fishing Ltd., departed Nahanni Butte, Northwest Territories, with a pilot and two passengers on board for a day visual flight rules flight. At 1655 Mountain Daylight Time, during an aborted landing on a narrow ridge in steep mountainous terrain, the helicopter turned 180 degrees and descended down a slope. The tail boom struck the ground, and the helicopter tumbled down the mountain side, breaking up and coming to rest about 900 feet below the ridge. The helicopter was destroyed by a post-impact fire. The emergency locator transmitter on board did not transmit. The pilot survived with serious injuries, and both passengers sustained fatal injuries.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

History of the Flight

The helicopter was contracted by an outfitter to transport two passengers to a hunting area about 25 nautical miles (nm) west of Nahanni Butte, Northwest Territories. While en route, C‑GNYT flew over four individuals on a ridge―guides and hunters―that would later have to be transported. After the guides and hunters waved at the helicopter to indicate their position, the pilot decided to land to speak with them.

After a circling descent to the northeast, the pilot conducted a shallow straight-in approach from the southeast at about 60 degrees to the ridge. Using hand signals previously agreed to with the pilot, one of the guides on the ridge indicated the best available landing area and wind. Since the ground party was grouped near the landing area, the pilot slowed the approach to allow them time to move away.

As the helicopter neared the ridge, it entered turbulence and yawed slightly from side to side. Rotor speed deteriorated and the sink rate increased. The low rotor revolutions per minute (rpm) warning horn sounded. 1 The pilot attempted to abort the landing initially by overshooting straight ahead over the ridge. Concerned that the ground party near the landing area was in harm’s way, the pilot at the last minute turned away from the ridge. The pilot applied right pedal, turning 60 degrees, and attempted to dive down the steep slope to regain rotor rpm. The tail rotor and tail boom struck the ground on the ridge at a height 4600 feet above sea level (asl). 2 The helicopter spun out of control, with the main rotor blades striking the ground. The helicopter then rolled down the slope that was estimated at about 45 degrees. Parts, including the tail boom and the main rotor system, were shed during the descent. An intense fire broke out in the main wreckage after it came to rest at the 3900-foot level of the ridge.

Survivability

All occupants were wearing three-point harnesses. However, the retention system failed due to structural disintegration during the crash. The pilot was ejected from the helicopter as it tumbled down the slope, came to rest about 150 feet uphill from the main wreckage and sustained non–life-threatening serious injuries. At the time of the accident, the pilot was not wearing a helmet. Both passengers succumbed to blunt force trauma injuries. One passenger was found with the main wreckage, and the other was found 10 feet uphill.

The ground party immediately notified the outfitter of the accident by satellite telephone. A rescue party, dispatched via helicopter from Fort Simpson, Northwest Territories, 90 nm northeast of the site, evacuated the pilot five hours after the accident. The accident helicopter was equipped with a global positioning system (GPS)–based position tracking device, which was used to help find the site. No signal was received from the 406 MHz emergency locator transmitter, likely due to destruction by fire.

Company Operation

Wild Water Heli-Fishing Ltd. held a valid Air Operator Certificate for air taxi operations issued by Transport Canada (TC) under subpart 703 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. The accident helicopter was the only aircraft operated by the company. The pilot fulfilled the duties of chief pilot and operations manager. Maintenance was contracted to a TC approved maintenance organization (AMO) near the company’s main base at Fort Steele, British Columbia. Running maintenance and routine inspections were carried out at Nahanni Butte by a separate AMO based at Fort St. John, British Columbia.

Aircraft Information

Wild Water Heli-Fishing Ltd. had been the owner of C-GNYT since 2006. Technical logs and maintenance records indicated that the helicopter was certified, equipped and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures.

In March 2009, Robinson Helicopter Company issued Service Bulletin SB-68, which called for the replacement of a rigid engine fuel supply line with a flexible one to reduce the likelihood of a post-accident fuel leak. This service bulletin was applicable to C‑GNYT and was completed in May 2009.

Weather

At the site, winds were light from the west, and the temperature was estimated at 20ºC with a clear sky. This was consistent with automatic observations at Environment Canada’s Yohin, Northwest Territories, weather facility, 19 nm northeast. A search and rescue Bell 206B helicopter, which arrived at the accident site within two hours, encountered moderate turbulence and downdrafts in the vicinity of the ridge.

Weight and Balance

In accordance with company practice, the passengers and cargo were weighed before being loaded on the aircraft at Nahanni Butte. The helicopter was fuelled to approximately half of total capacity for a weight of 135 pounds. At the time of the occurrence, the aircraft weight was 2385 pounds, 115 pounds below maximum weight. The weight and centre of gravity were within prescribed limits.

Aircraft Performance

The engine was developing full available power and no mechanical flight control difficulties were encountered during the occurrence. Performance charts in the pilot’s operating handbook indicate that, at 2385 pounds, at 20ºC, zero wind and 100 per cent main rotor rpm, the maximum pressure altitude for hover out of ground effect is 5200 feet (see Appendix A). The maximum pressure altitude for hover in ground effect under the same conditions is 8760 feet, which indicates a large difference in power requirements between hover in and out of ground effect. The pressure altitude at the attempted landing site was 5100 feet, where the helicopter would be operating with an out of ground effect margin of 100 feet.

Landing Site

The 4600-foot ridge was oriented at about 025/205 degrees true. It was above the tree line, mostly razor-backed and uneven in elevation with some flat spots. The proposed landing site was about 20 feet by 25 feet in size. The eastern shale slope was approximately 45 degrees, gradually forming a gully where the main wreckage came to rest.

Pilot Experience and Training

The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. A total flying time of 3000 hours, exclusively on the Robinson R44 helicopter, had been accumulated as well as 100 hours on fixed-wing aircraft. The pilot had undergone mountain flight training in 2006, which included 21 hours of flight time. About 2700 hours of mountain flying experience was accumulated in terrain similar to the accident site, which also included landings on the same ridge many times previously. On the day of the occurrence, the pilot’s duty day began at 0900 3, after having nine hours of rest.

Mountain Flying Techniques

A light wind striking perpendicular to a ridge line will flow smoothly upslope to the top of the ridge and, after passing the peak, will begin to descend, flowing down the lee slope (see Figure 1). Turbulence can be associated with the transition over the peak. Pilots of aircraft entering the region downwind near a ridge line can expect to use higher engine power settings to maintain altitude in the descending air. It is possible that the power necessary to maintain altitude will exceed that available. Attempts to maintain altitude by increasing rotor pitch can demand engine power beyond the aircraft’s capability, resulting in a loss of rotor speed.

Figure 1. Flight path and wind flow
Figure 1 . Flight path and wind flow

Techniques have been developed to minimize the risk inherent in mountain flying operations. The first step is to reconnoitre the intended landing spot to determine site elevation, wind direction, power requirements, and approach path. An important consideration for reconnaissance and landing approach is planning for a drop-off zone to safely fly away should conditions exceed safe handling and power requirements.

Flight procedures for razor-back ridge-line operations typically involve conducting figure 8 reconnaissance passes along the ridge at constant speed. This can be followed by an aborted approach to confirm conditions. The final approach to the landing zone consists of conducting a gradual decelerating shallow descent slightly above and parallel to the ridge and, as much as possible, into wind. This allows for early loading of the rotor disc to stabilize the approach and aid in assessing power requirements and wind.

The transition from effective translational lift 4 to the ground effect 5 is accomplished while keeping last-minute power changes to a minimum. This avoids either a flare or coming to a stop while out of ground effect; both conditions can demand more power than the engine may be able to supply to arrest an uncontrolled descent. It also provides the best option of aborting the landing into wind in the up-flow with the lowest power requirements. The pilot of C-GNYT had been trained and was experienced in these techniques.

Conducting a shallow perpendicular approach on the downwind side of a ridge line exposes a helicopter to subsiding air. This substantially reduces the option of entering a safe drop-off zone in up-flowing air, thus avoiding the need for high engine power.

Analysis

There was no mechanical malfunction of the aircraft. Therefore, this analysis will focus on environmental, geographical and operating factors.

After overflying the ridge en route to the destination, the helicopter turned for a shallow approach, 60 degrees to the ridge. The shallow approach was part of the recommended technique. The approach path downwind of the ridge, however, would have exposed the helicopter to subsiding air near the ridge. As the helicopter slowed through the speed where effective translational lift was lost before it entered the ground effect on the narrow ridge top, rotor pitch had to be increased substantially, accompanied by an increase in engine power. Since the helicopter’s ability to hover out of ground effect was marginal under ideal wind conditions, its ability to do so in subsiding air was substantially reduced.

With deteriorating rotor speed and aircraft controllability nearing the landing zone, the pilot was faced with three choices: overshooting straight ahead, landing hard on uneven terrain on the ridge top, or turning around and attempting to dive down the steep slope. The option of continuing straight ahead into wind posed a risk of injuring the ground party near the landing zone either by striking them on the overshoot or by subjecting them to injury from the helicopter had it rolled over on uneven terrain on the ridge top. Diving off the ridge may have afforded space to allow a reduction of main rotor pitch and a recovery of rotor speed. However, placing the helicopter downwind with deteriorating rotor speed precluded maintaining sufficient height above the ridge to avoid striking the tail on the ground.

The aircraft’s structural integrity was completely lost as it tumbled down the slope, with failure of the occupant retention systems.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The shallow approach downwind of the ridge placed the helicopter in an area of subsiding air, which increased the sink rate.
  2. To overcome the sink rate, the pilot had to demand more engine power than was available, resulting in a loss of rotor speed.
  3. To avoid injury to persons in the landing area, the pilot aborted the landing by turning 60 degrees.
  4. During the aborted landing, the helicopter’s tail struck the top of the ridge, precipitating a fall down the steep shale slope, culminating in complete destruction of the helicopter and a post-crash fire.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board’s investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 04 June 2010.

Appendix A – Hover Out of Ground Effect – Robinson R44 Raven II

Appendix  A – Hover Out of Ground Effect – Robinson R44 Raven II

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A09W0146

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n’est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de maîtrise et impact de la poutre de queue
de l’hélicoptère Robinson R44 Raven II  C-GNYT
exploité par Wild Water Heli-Fishing Ltd.
à 17 nm à l’ouest de Nahanni Butte
(Territoires du Nord-Ouest)
le 4 août 2009

Résumé

Le Robinson R44 Raven II (immatriculé C-GNYT et portant le numéro de série 10883) exploité par Wild Water Heli-Fishing Ltd. quitte Nahanni Butte (Territoires du Nord‑Ouest) avec 1 pilote et 2 passagers à bord pour un vol de jour selon les règles de vol à vue. À 16 h 55, heure avancée des Rocheuses, pendant un atterrissage interrompu sur une crête étroite dans un relief montagneux abrupt, l’hélicoptère vire de 180 degrés et descend une pente. La poutre de queue heurte le sol et l’hélicoptère dévale le long du flanc de la montagne, puis se disloque et s’immobilise à environ 900 pieds au-dessous de la crête. L’hélicoptère est détruit dans l’incendie qui éclate après l’impact. La radiobalise de repérage d’urgence n’a pas transmis de signal. Le pilote, grièvement blessé, survit, mais les 2 passagers perdent la vie.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Déroulement du vol

L’hélicoptère transportait, pour le compte d’une pourvoirie, deux passagers jusqu’à un territoire de chasse à environ 25 milles marins (nm) à l’ouest de Nahanni Butte (Territoires du Nord‑Ouest). Pendant le vol, C‑GNYT a survolé quatre personnes sur une crête ― des guides et des chasseurs ― qui allaient devoir être transportés plus tard. Les guides et les chasseurs ont fait signe à l’hélicoptère pour indiquer leur position et le pilote a décidé d’atterrir pour leur parler.

Après une descente indirecte au nord-est, le pilote a adopté une trajectoire d’approche directe à faible pente du sud-ouest à environ 60 degrés par rapport à la crête. Un des guides sur la crête a indiqué le vent et l’endroit le plus favorable pour atterrir en utilisant les signaux manuels sur lesquels il y avait eu entente avec le pilote. Puisque les gens au sol étaient regroupés près de la zone d’atterrissage, le pilote a ralenti son approche pour leur donner le temps de s’éloigner.

Alors que l’hélicoptère se rapprochait de la crête, il a traversé de la turbulence et pris un léger mouvement de lacet d’un côté et de l’autre. La vitesse rotor a diminué et le taux d’enfoncement a augmenté. Le klaxon d’avertissement de bas régime rotor a retenti1. Le pilote a d’abord tenté d’interrompre l’atterrissage par une remise des gaz en se dirigeant droit devant au-dessus de la crête. Cependant, il avait peur que les gens au sol, regroupés près de la zone d’atterrissage, soient en danger, donc au dernier instant il a viré pour s’éloigner de la crête. Le pilote a mis du pied à droite pour virer de 60˚ et a tenté de descendre le long de la pente abrupte pour augmenter le régime rotor. Le rotor de queue et la poutre ont percuté le sol sur la crête à une hauteur de 4600 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (asl)2. L’hélicoptère s’est mis à tournoyer de manière ingouvernable et le rotor principal est entré en contact avec le sol. Ensuite, l’appareil a fait des tonneaux en dévalant la pente, dont l’inclinaison était estimée à 45 degrés. Des pièces, notamment la poutre de queue et le rotor principal, se sont détachées de la cellule pendant la descente. Un violent incendie a éclaté dans l’épave principale, laquelle s’était immobilisée à 3900 pieds de hauteur sur la crête.

Possibilités de survie

Tous les occupants portaient une ceinture-baudrier à trois points d’attache. Cependant, elles n’ont pas fonctionné comme prévu en raison de la désintégration de la structure pendant l’écrasement. Le pilote a été éjecté de l’hélicoptère qui dévalait le long de la pente et il s’est immobilisé, grièvement blessé, à environ 150 pieds en amont de l’épave principale. Au moment de l’accident, le pilote ne portait pas de casque. Les deux passagers ont succombé aux traumatismes qu’ils ont subis. L’un des passagers se trouvait dans l’épave principale, alors que l’autre se trouvait à 10 pieds en amont.

Le groupe au sol a immédiatement informé la pourvoirie de l’accident par téléphone satellite. Une équipe de sauvetage dépêchée sur les lieux par hélicoptère à partir de Fort Simpson (Territoires du Nord-Ouest), à 90 nm au nord-est du lieu de l’accident, a retiré le pilote de l’appareil 5 heures après l’accident. L’hélicoptère en cause était équipé d’un dispositif de suivi de la position par le système de positionnement mondial (GPS), et ce dispositif a servi à trouver le lieu de l’accident. Aucun signal n’a été reçu de la radiobalise de repérage d’urgence, qui émettait sur la fréquence de 406 MHz, probablement en raison de sa destruction dans l’incendie.

Exploitation

Wild Water Heli-Fishing Ltd. était titulaire d’un certificat d’exploitation aérienne valide délivré par Transports Canada qui lui permettait d’exploiter un service de taxi aérien conformément à la sous‑partie 703 du Règlement de l’aviation canadien. L’hélicoptère en cause était le seul hélicoptère exploité par l’entreprise. Le pilote occupait les fonctions de pilote en chef et de gestionnaire des opérations. L’entretien était confié à forfait à un organisme de maintenance agréé (OMA) approuvé par Transports Canada situé à proximité de la base principale de l’entreprise, à Fort Steele (Colombie‑Britannique). L’entretien et les inspections régulières étaient effectués à Nahanni Butte par un autre OMA basé à Fort St. John (Colombie‑Britannique).

Renseignements sur l’aéronef

Wild Water Heli-Fishing Ltd. était propriétaire de C-GNYT depuis 2006. Les livrets techniques et les dossiers d’entretien indiquent que l’hélicoptère était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. 

En mars 2009, la Robinson Helicopter Company a publié le bulletin de service SB-68, qui indiquait la nécessité de remplacer une conduite rigide d’alimentation carburant du moteur par une conduite souple pour réduire le risque de fuite de carburant après un accident. Ce bulletin de service s’appliquait à C‑GNYT et le remplacement a eu lieu en mai 2009.

Conditions météorologiques

Sur les lieux de l’accident, le vent soufflait légèrement de l’ouest, la température était estimée à 20 ºC et le ciel était dégagé. Des observations météorologiques automatiques similaires avaient été signalées par la station d’observation météorologique automatique d’Environnement Canada située à Yohin (Territoires du Nord-Ouest), à 19 nm au nord‑est. Un hélicoptère Bell 206B de recherche et sauvetage qui est arrivé sur les lieux près de deux heures après l’accident a traversé des turbulences modérées et des courants descendants à proximité de la crête.

Masse et centrage

Conformément aux pratiques de l’entreprise, les passagers et le fret ont été pesés avant le départ de l’aéronef à Nahanni Butte. L’hélicoptère a été ravitaillé à environ la moitié de sa capacité totale, soit 135 livres de carburant. Au moment de l’accident, la masse de l’appareil était de 2385 livres, soit 115 livres de moins que la masse maximale. La masse et le centrage se situaient dans les limites prescrites.

Performances de l’hélicoptère

Le moteur développait toute la puissance disponible et il n’y a eu aucun problème de commandes de vol d’ordre mécanique durant l’événement. Les tableaux des performances dans le manuel d’utilisation de l’hélicoptère indiquent qu’à 2 835 livres, 20 ºC, aucun vent et un régime rotor principal de 100 %, l’altitude‑pression maximale pour un vol stationnaire hors effet de sol est de 5200 pieds (voir l’annexe A). L’altitude‑pression maximale d’un vol stationnaire en effet de sol dans les mêmes conditions est de 8760 pieds; donc, il existe une grande différence dans la puissance nécessaire entre un vol stationnaire en effet de sol et un autre qui ne l’est pas. L’altitude‑pression à la zone d’atterrissage était de 5100 pieds, ce qui ne laissait que 100 pieds de jeu à l’hélicoptère pour le vol stationnaire hors effet de sol.

Surface d’atterrissage

La crête de 4600 pieds avait une orientation d’environ 025/205 ˚ vrais. Elle se situait au‑dessus de la limite des arbres et comportait des arêtes en grande partie effilées à des hauteurs irrégulières accompagnées de quelques endroits plats. La zone d’atterrissage proposée faisait environ 20 pieds sur 25 pieds. Le flanc, en schiste argileux, présentait une pente d’approximativement 45 degrés et prenait graduellement la forme d’une ravine, où l’épave principale s’est immobilisée.

Expérience et formation du pilote

Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires pour effectuer le vol, conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. Il avait à son actif 3000 heures de vol exclusivement à bord de l’hélicoptère Robinson R44, ainsi que 100 heures de vol à bord d’aéronefs à voilure fixe. Le pilote avait reçu une formation de vol en région montagneuse en 2006, formation qui comprenait 21 heures de  temps de vol. Il avait accumulé environ 2700 heures d’expérience de pilotage en région montagneuse dans un relief semblable à celui du lieu de l’accident. Cette expérience comprenait également de nombreux atterrissages antérieurs sur la même crête. Le jour de l’événement, le pilote avait pris son service à 9 h, heure avancée des Rocheuses (HAR)3, après avoir bénéficié d’un repos de neuf heures.

Techniques de vol en région montagneuse

Un vent léger perpendiculaire à une ligne de crête circule avec régularité le long d’une pente ascendante jusqu’au sommet de la crête où, après avoir franchi son sommet, il s’écoule le long de la pente sous le vent (voir la figure 1). De la turbulence peut se produire où la transition se fait au sommet. Les pilotes d’aéronefs qui traversent la zone sous le vent à proximité d’une ligne de crête peuvent s’attendre à augmenter la puissance moteur pour maintenir l’altitude dans l’air descendant. Il est possible que la puissance nécessaire pour maintenir l’altitude excède la puissance disponible. Tenter de maintenir l’altitude en augmentant le pas collectif peut exiger plus de puissance du moteur qu’il ne peut en fournir, ce qui entraîne une perte de vitesse rotor.

Figure 1. Trajectoire de vol et écoulement du vent
Figure 1. Trajectoire de vol et écoulement du vent (n’est pas disponible en français)

Des techniques ont été mises au point pour réduire au minimum les risques inhérents aux opérations de vol en région montagneuse. Il faut d’abord recueillir des renseignements sur la zone prévue d’atterrissage pour déterminer son altitude, la direction du vent, la puissance nécessaire et la trajectoire d’approche. Pendant la reconnaissance et l’approche à l’atterrissage, il est important de prévoir une zone de débarquement où il est possible de s’éloigner en toute sécurité si les conditions sont trop exigeantes pour la maîtrise de l’appareil et si la puissance demandée devient trop importante.

Les procédures de vol en présence d’une ligne de crête aux arêtes effilées indiquent habituellement qu’il faut effectuer des passages de reconnaissance en 8 le long de la crête à vitesse constante. Ensuite, une approche interrompue peut être effectuée pour confirmer les conditions. La procédure d’approche finale de la zone d’atterrissage consiste à décélérer graduellement dans une descente à faible pente, un peu au-dessus de la crête, selon une trajectoire parallèle à celle-ci et, autant que possible, face au vent. Cette procédure permet de charger tôt le disque du rotor afin de stabiliser l’approche et d’aider à évaluer la puissance nécessaire et le vent.

La transition entre la portance de translation4 et l’effet de sol5 se fait en modifiant le moins possible la puissance à la dernière minute. Ce faisant, on évite un arrondi ou un arrêt hors effet de sol; dans ces deux cas, la demande de puissance du moteur risque d’être supérieure à la puissance disponible pour freiner une descente intempestive. La technique présente également la meilleure option pour interrompre l’atterrissage, dans le vent sur le versant ascendant où la demande de puissance est minimale. Le pilote de C-GNYT avait eu de la formation sur cette technique et avait de l’expérience en la matière.

Un hélicoptère qui effectue une approche à faible pente perpendiculaire à une ligne de crête du côté sous le vent est vulnérable à des courants descendants, ce qui réduit fortement la possibilité d’arriver à une zone de débarquement sécuritaire dans un courant ascendant et permet ainsi d’éviter une forte demande de la puissance du moteur.

Analyse

L’hélicoptère ne présentait aucun dysfonctionnement mécanique. Ainsi, la présente analyse se concentre sur les facteurs environnementaux et géographiques et sur l’exploitation.

Après avoir survolé la crête alors qu’il se dirigeait vers sa destination, l’hélicoptère a viré pour effectuer une approche à faible pente à 60 degrés par rapport à la crête. L’approche à faible pente faisait partie de la technique recommandée. Cependant, la trajectoire d’approche du côté sous le vent de la crête exposait l’hélicoptère aux courants descendants proches de la crête. Alors que l’hélicoptère ralentissait et quittait la vitesse de portance de translation avant d’arriver en effet de sol au-dessus de l’étroit sommet de la crête, le pas du rotor et la puissance du moteur ont dû être augmentés de façon importante. Même dans des conditions de vent idéales, l’hélicoptère avait peu de jeu pour se mettre en vol stationnaire hors effet de sol, donc sa capacité en la matière était encore plus réduite dans des courants d’air descendants.

La vitesse rotor diminuant et la maîtrise de l’hélicoptère devenant difficile en approche de la zone d’atterrissage, le pilote avait trois choix : remettre les gaz et continuer droit devant, se poser brutalement sur un relief accidenté au sommet de la crête ou bien faire demi-tour et tenter de descendre le long de la pente abrupte. S’il continuait tout droit dans le vent, il risquait de blesser les gens au sol en les heurtant pendant la remise des gaz, ou l’hélicoptère aurait pu les blesser s’il s’était renversé sur un relief accidenté au sommet de la crête. Descendre le long de la pente aurait pu donner à l’hélicoptère l’espace pour permettre au pilote de réduire le pas collectif du rotor principal et de gagner de la vitesse rotor. Toutefois, la descente sous le vent de l’hélicoptère en perte de vitesse rotor a fait en sorte qu’il était impossible de maintenir une hauteur suffisante au-dessus de la crête pour éviter que la poutre de queue heurte le sol.

L’hélicoptère s’est disloqué pendant qu’il effectuait des tonneaux en dévalant la pente, et les occupants n’ont pas été retenus par leurs ceintures.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Du fait de son approche à faible pente du côté sous le vent de la crête, l’hélicoptère était dans une zone de courants descendants qui ont augmenté son taux d’enfoncement.
  2. Pour compenser le taux d’enfoncement, le pilote devait demander plus de puissance du moteur qu’il ne pouvait en fournir, ce qui a entraîné une diminution de la vitesse rotor.
  3. Pour éviter de blesser les personnes dans la zone d’atterrissage, le pilote a interrompu l’atterrissage en virant de 60 degrés.
  4. Pendant l’atterrissage interrompu, la poutre de queue de l’hélicoptère a heurté la crête et l’appareil a dévalé la pente abrupte de schiste argileux, ce qui a provoqué une destruction complète de l’hélicoptère et un incendie après impact.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l’enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 4 juin 2010.

Annexe A – Vol stationnaire hors effet de sol du Robinson R44 Raven II

Annexe A – Vol stationnaire hors effet  de sol du Robinson R44 Raven II
(n’est pas disponible en français)