Aviation Investigation Report A10O0045

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Cabin Smoke and Passenger Evacuation
Air Canada
Airbus A320-211, C-FTJO
Toronto, Ontario
23 March 2010

Summary

An Air Canada Airbus A320-211 (registration C-FTJO, serial number 183), operating as Air Canada flight (ACA 433), departed Montréal/Pierre Elliot Trudeau International Airport, Québec, for Toronto/Lester B. Pearson International Airport, Ontario, with 98 passengers and 6 crew members on board. In cruise, 1 of the 3 hydraulic systems failed. The flight continued toward destination where, at 0844 Eastern Daylight Time, the flight made an uneventful landing. While stopped on the runway awaiting a tow, smoke entered the cabin and an evacuation was ordered. Two crew members and 2 passengers received minor injuries during the evacuation.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

History of Flight

The flight was scheduled to depart Montréal at 0730 1. As part of its pre-flight preparations, the flight crew performed an external inspection where nothing unusual was found. The aircraft logbook indicated that 6 litres of hydraulic fluid had been added overnight to the green hydraulic system. The entry included an instruction to monitor the quantity levels.

As per normal pre-flight preparations, the auxiliary power unit (APU) was started. Shortly thereafter, there was an odour in the cabin. Such odours are not uncommon and are often caused by engine washes or residue in the air conditioning system from the previous flight. The flight crew increased the cabin airflow and reduced the temperature. The smell soon dissipated and was not a problem for the remainder of ground operations. Shortly after takeoff, however, the odour returned. Again, the crew increased airflow and reduced the temperature; the odour dissipated.

While the aircraft was approaching the top of climb, the flight crew attempted to locate the source of the odour. At that time, the electronic centralized aircraft monitor (ECAM) system alerted the crew to a low reservoir level in the green hydraulic system. The ECAM actions were completed, which included turning off the hydraulic power transfer unit (PTU) and the green system engine driven hydraulic pump. The crew then verified these actions in the Quick Reference Handbook.

At that time, the flight was almost half way to Toronto, Ontario, where the weather was more favourable than in Montréal. A decision was made to continue to destination. Due to the green hydraulic system being de-energized, several systems were inoperative, including:

  • nose wheel steering;
  • normal brakes;
  • normal gear extension; and
  • number 1 (left) engine thrust reverser.

With systems inoperative, the aircraft would have to stop on the runway and be towed to the gate. The crew advised air traffic control and company maintenance. Aircraft Rescue and Firefighting (ARFF) was placed on standby. The crew briefed the passengers.

Following an emergency extension of the landing gear, the aircraft made an uneventful landing on runway 05 and came to a complete stop. Aircraft rescue personnel conducted an infrared and visual inspection; no anomalies were discovered. The flight crew started the APU, shutdown both engines and waited for company maintenance personnel and a tow vehicle to arrive.

The Evacuation

Company procedure calls for all passenger, cargo and service doors to be closed before towing an aircraft. The landing gear doors on the aircraft were open, as the green hydraulic system, which would normally close them, was de-energized. The tow vehicle operator asked that the gear doors be closed. Extension of the landing gear on approach caused hydraulic fluid to be returned to the reservoir, which was back in normal range. After conferring with maintenance personnel, it was decided to reenergize the green hydraulic system in order to close the gear doors. As such, the flight crew turned on the electric hydraulic pump and PTU.

Almost immediately, smoke began to enter the cabin and cockpit. Previous actions were reversed and the pump was turned off. Both left side passenger doors (L1 and L2) were disarmed and opened in an attempt to clear the smoke from the cabin. This did little to dissipate the smoke, as it continued to enter the cabin through the air vents. Passengers became uneasy and a few made their way towards the open doors. The service director stationed at the L1 door called the flight crew to inform them of the situation, whereupon the captain ordered an evacuation.

The cabin crew stationed at doors L1 and L2 closed the doors to rearm the emergency slides. All 4 doors were then opened and the slides were deployed. The passengers seated next to the 4 over-wing emergency windows opened their exits and the slides were deployed. The flight attendants commanded the passengers to leave everything behind and evacuate via the nearest exit; these instructions were also included on the passenger safety cards. Several passengers brought carry-on baggage and personal belongings to the exits. Some were again instructed to leave their baggage behind, while others were allowed to exit with their items to prevent blockage of the exits. 

The evacuation was completed in approximately 2 minutes. As the evacuation progressed, the slides began to become damp from light rain. Two passengers who exited the aircraft with their baggage reported having received minor injuries, including scraped knuckles and sore backs. Two crew members, whose responsibilities required the carriage of emergency equipment, were the last to evacuate. They also hurt their backs exiting via the slide.

As the temperature was 3°C with light rain, the crew gathered the passengers together to await a bus to transport them to the terminal. Many passengers had taken their carry-on baggage because they were travelling on business and were concerned about the delay, while others were worried about making connections onto other flights.

Crew

The 2 flight crew and 4 cabin crew members were certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. All crew members had received adequate rest within the 72 hours preceding the incident.

Aircraft

Records indicate that the aircraft was certified, equipped and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. The weight and balance were within the prescribed limits.

Maintenance checks the night before revealed the fluid quantity was low in the green hydraulic system. Maintenance personnel topped up the quantity and tested the system for leaks. No anomalies were found. Without an explanation for the fluid loss, maintenance made an entry in the logbook and raised the item to MONITOR status.

A post-flight inspection showed that a faulty yaw damper had leaked fluid, which had run down the sides of the aft fuselage and into the intake for the APU. The APU had compressed and heated the fluid, which was then sent through the bleed air system to the air conditioning pack, through the filters and eventually into the cabin.

The green hydraulic system, 1 of 3 such systems on this model of aircraft, runs several of the aircraft systems, including 1 of the 2 yaw dampers. The yaw dampers are relatively small, hydraulic actuators located in the lower aft portion of the vertical stabilizer.

Following the post-flight inspection, the number 1 or green yaw damper was sent for examination. The leak was due to degradation of the piston rod seals caused by a rough surface finish on the piston rod. This defect had been previously noticed by the manufacturer, and 2 non-mandatory Service Bulletins (SBs) were published, detailing modifications to address the problem (SC4700-27-26-02 Rev2 and SC4700-27-04). In addition, the manufacturer published a Service Information Letter (SIL 27-127), which outlines scheduled inspections of the yaw dampers to ensure their continued functionality. Although Air Canada completed the inspections as per the SIL, neither modification outlined in the SBs was made on C-FTJO, as the risk to safety was considered low.

The cockpit voice recorder (CVR) was recovered. However, it did not record the event, as it is designed to automatically stop 5 minutes after the last engine is shutdown. In this case, the shutdown occurred 16 minutes before the evacuation.

Carry-On Baggage

In 2007, the Transportation Safety Board issued a recommendation (A07-07) asking that Transport Canada (TC) require passenger safety briefings to include clear direction to leave all carry-on baggage behind during an evacuation. TC agreed with the recommendation and opted for regulatory change via the normal Canadian Aviation Regulation Advisory Council regulatory consultation process. At the time of this report, a draft regulation proposal had yet to be submitted. As this process can take in excess of 5 years, TC decided in the interim to publish a non-mandatory Advisory Circular (#700-012, 16 March 2009) reminding operators of the risks that may arise if clear direction to leave all carry-on baggage behind during an evacuation is not included in their passenger safety briefings. The Board assessed TC's response as "Satisfactory in Part".

At the time of the occurrence, Air Canada's pre-takeoff and pre-landing passenger safety briefings did not include this information. The company is currently implementing the recommendations in AC 700-012, with expected completion in 2011.

Analysis

As the loss of hydraulic fluid on the green system had already been noted in the logbook, it is likely that the yaw damper was the source of the previous leak. While no fluid leaks were noted during overnight maintenance or the flight crew walk-around, a small amount of residual fluid may have accumulated near the APU intake, which would account for the odour created during APU start. The odour noticed during climb may have been from the accumulation of particulates trapped in the air condition system filters.

Extension of the landing gear on approach caused a significant amount of fluid to be returned to the reservoir. This increase was sufficient to bring the reservoir quantity indication back into the normal range. Upon receiving the request to close the gear doors, the flight crew re-evaluated the status of the green hydraulic system and, noting no defects, reenergized the system. This caused high pressure fluid to leak from the number 1 yaw damper actuator. This fluid, now with no airflow to displace it from the aircraft, flowed down along the side of the fuselage into the APU intake. This caused smoke to enter the cabin. The flight crew disabled the pump and stopped the leak, but a quantity of fluid had already accumulated and continued to be ingested into the APU.

The L1 and L2 doors were disarmed and opened in an effort to provide some ventilation. The cabin crew opted to reclose and rearm the doors before evacuation. This did not, however, lead to a significant increase in the time it took to complete the evacuation.

Many passengers deplaned with their carry-on luggage. It could not be determined whether this was due to the fact that they were not aware of the instructions given by the flight attendants and included in the safety card, or if they were aware, but chose to disregard them. Passengers would have been more aware of this restriction if information was included during the pre-takeoff and pre-landing passenger briefings, as per TSB recommendation A07-07.

The few injuries that did occur may have been aggravated by the fact that the slides were wet from the rain, and the resultant speed of the exiting persons was higher than normal. While the baggage did cause some minor injuries and delays at the bottom of the slides, it did not appreciably increase the evacuation time. Were this a higher level of threat or emergency, however, even a slight delay could have resulted in more serious consequences.

TC agreed with the Board's recommendation (A07-07) that called for passenger safety briefings to include clear direction to leave all carry-on baggage behind during an evacuation. However, to date, no regulatory change has been implemented. Due to the extensive delay between TC's acceptance of this recommendation and the implementation of actual regulatory change, identified safety dificiencies continue to persist.

The following TSB Laboratory report was completed:

LP032/2010 – FDR / CVR Analysis

This report is available from the Transportation Safety Board of Canada upon request.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. A leak from the number 1 yaw damper caused fluid to be ingested into the auxiliary power unit and sent through the air conditioning system, resulting in smoke entering the cabin.
  2. When the crew ordered the evacuation as a result of the smoke, several persons received minor injuries while exiting the aircraft via the emergency slides.

Finding as to Risk

  1. Several passengers deplaned from the aircraft through the emergency exits while in possession of their carry-on baggage. This has the potential to increase evacuation time and risk of injuries, and possibly block emergency exits.

Other Finding

  1. The extensive delay between Transport Canada's acceptance of this Board recommendation and actual regulatory change permits identified safety deficiencies to persist. 

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 10 March 2011.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A10O0045

 Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Fumée dans la cabine et évacuation des passagers
de l'Airbus A320-211  C-FTJO
exploité par Air Canada
à Toronto (Ontario)
le 23 mars 2010

Résumé

L'Airbus A320-211 d'Air Canada (immatriculé C-FTJO, portant le numéro de série 183) qui assure le vol Air Canada 433 (ACA 433), quitte l'aéroport international Pierre-Elliott-Trudeau de Montréal (Québec) à destination de l'aéroport international Lester B. Pearson de Toronto (Ontario) avec 98 passagers et 6 membres d'équipage à bord. Pendant la croisière, 1 des 3 circuits hydrauliques tombe en panne. Le vol se poursuit et, à 8 h 44, heure avancée de l'Est, l'avion atterrit sans autre incident. Alors que l'avion attend l'arrivée des services de remorquage sur la piste, de la fumée pénètre dans la cabine et une évacuation est ordonnée. Deux membres d'équipage et 2 passagers subissent des blessures légères pendant l'évacuation.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Déroulement du vol

L'appareil devait quitter Montréal à 7 h 301. Dans le cadre de la préparation du vol, l'équipage de conduite a effectué une inspection extérieure qui n'a rien révélé d'anormal. D'après le carnet de route de l'avion, 6 litres de liquide hydraulique avaient été ajoutés au circuit hydraulique vert pendant la nuit. L'inscription au carnet mentionnait qu'il fallait surveiller les niveaux de liquide.

On a démarré le groupe auxiliaire de bord (APU), conformément aux procédures normales de préparation de vol. Peu après, une odeur s'est répandue dans la cabine. De telles odeurs ne sont pas rares et sont souvent causées par le nettoyage d'un moteur ou par des résidus qui demeurent dans le circuit de climatisation à la suite d'un vol précédent. L'équipage de conduite a augmenté le débit d'air cabine et a baissé la température, après quoi, l'odeur s'est vite dissipée et n'a plus posé de problème pendant le reste des opérations au sol. Toutefois, peu après le décollage, l'odeur est réapparue. Une fois de plus, l'équipage a augmenté le débit d'air et a baissé la température; l'odeur s'est dissipée à nouveau.

Lorsque l'avion s'approchait de la fin de montée, l'équipage a essayé de trouver d'où provenait l'odeur. En même temps, le moniteur électronique centralisé de bord (ECAM) lui a signalé le bas niveau d'une bâche du circuit hydraulique vert. L'équipage a pris les mesures demandées par l'ECAM, dont l'arrêt du groupe de transfert d'énergie (PTU) du circuit hydraulique et de la pompe hydraulique entraînée par moteur du circuit vert. Il a ensuite vérifié ces mesures dans le manuel de référence rapide.

À ce moment-là, le vol avait déjà franchi presque la moitié du trajet vers Toronto (Ontario) où les conditions météorologiques étaient plus favorables qu'à Montréal. Il a été décidé que l'avion se rendrait jusqu'à destination. Étant donné que le circuit hydraulique vert avait été coupé, plusieurs systèmes étaient inopérants, dont :

  • le dispositif d'orientation du train avant;
  • le circuit de freinage normal;
  • le dispositif de sortie normale du train d'atterrissage;
  • l'inverseur de poussée numéro 1 (gauche).

Vu que ces systèmes étaient inopérants, l'avion allait être obligé de s'immobiliser sur la piste avant d'être remorqué jusqu'au poste de stationnement. L'équipage en a avisé le contrôle de la circulation aérienne et le service de maintenance de la compagnie. Les services de sauvetage et de lutte contre les incendies d'aéronefs (SLIA) ont été mis en alerte, et l'équipage a informé les passagers de la situation.

Après la sortie du train d'atterrissage à l'aide du dispositif d'urgence, l'avion s'est posé sans incident sur la piste 05 et s'y est immobilisé. Le personnel de sauvetage a effectué une inspection visuelle et à l'infrarouge, et aucune anomalie n'a été constatée. L'équipage de conduite a démarré l'APU, a coupé les 2 moteurs et a attendu l'arrivée du personnel de maintenance de la compagnie et du tracteur de remorquage.

L'évacuation

Selon les procédures de la compagnie, toutes les portes passagers, de soute et de service doivent être fermées avant le remorquage d'un avion. Les trappes de train d'atterrissage de l'avion étaient ouvertes, vu que le circuit hydraulique vert, lequel normalement les aurait fermées, avait été coupé. L'opérateur du tracteur de remorquage a demandé que l'on ferme les trappes. La sortie du train d'atterrissage lors de l'approche avait causé un reflux du liquide hydraulique vers la bâche, et ce liquide était par conséquent retourné dans la plage normale. À la suite d'une discussion avec le personnel de maintenance, l'équipage a décidé de réactiver le circuit hydraulique vert afin de fermer les trappes. Pour ce faire, l'équipage a mis en marche la pompe hydraulique électrique et le PTU.

Presque immédiatement après, de la fumée a pénétré dans la cabine et le poste de pilotage. On a repris en ordre inverse les mesures précédentes et a coupé la pompe. Les 2 portes passagers de gauche (L1 et L2) ont été désarmées et ouvertes afin d'aérer la cabine. Cependant, il a été impossible de dissiper la fumée puisqu'elle continuait à s'échapper des prises d'air de la cabine. Les passagers sont devenus inquiets et quelques-uns se sont dirigés vers les portes ouvertes. Le directeur de bord, qui se trouvait à la porte L1, a communiqué avec l'équipage de conduite pour lui faire part de la situation, ce après quoi, le commandant de bord a ordonné une évacuation.

Les agents de bord qui se trouvaient aux portes L1 et L2 les ont fermées afin de réarmer les glissières d'évacuation. On a ensuite ouvert les 4 portes et a déployé les glissières. Les passagers qui occupaient les sièges situés à côté de chacun des 4 hublots issues de secours installés au-dessus des ailes les ont dégagés, déployant ainsi d'autres glissières. Les agents de bord ont ordonné aux passagers de tout laisser dans la cabine et de sortir par l'issue la plus proche. Ces instructions figuraient également sur les cartes de mesures de sécurité. Plusieurs passagers avaient emporté leurs bagages à main et leurs effets personnels jusqu'aux issues. On a ordonné à nouveau à certains d'entre eux de laisser leurs bagages, tandis qu'on permettait à d'autres de sortir avec leurs biens afin d'éviter de bloquer les sorties.

L'évacuation s'est faite en environ 2 minutes. Au fur et à mesure que progressait l'évacuation, les glissières sont devenues humides à cause d'une pluie légère. Deux passagers qui avaient quitté l'avion avec leurs bagages ont signalé qu'ils avaient subi des blessures légères, dont des éraflures sur les articulations des doigts et des contusions au dos. Deux membres d'équipage, qui étaient responsables du transport de l'équipement de secours ont été les derniers à sortir. Ils se sont également fait mal au dos sur la glissière.

Vu qu'il faisait 3 °C et qu'il y avait une pluie légère, l'équipage a rassemblé les passagers en attendant qu'un autobus les conduise jusqu'à l'aérogare. De nombreux passagers avaient quitté l'avion avec leurs bagages à main parce qu'ils effectuaient un voyage d'affaires et qu'ils étaient préoccupés par ce retard, tandis que d'autres avaient peur de manquer leur vol de correspondance.

Renseignements sur l'équipage

Les 2 membres d'équipage de conduite et les 4 membres du personnel de cabine possédaient les qualifications et les compétences nécessaires pour effectuer le vol, conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. Tous les membres d'équipage avaient eu suffisamment de repos dans les 72 heures précédant l'incident.

Renseignements sur l'aéronef

Selon les dossiers, l'appareil était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. La masse et le centrage se trouvaient à l'intérieur des limites prescrites.

Les vérifications de maintenance effectuées au cours de la nuit précédente avaient révélé que la quantité de liquide dans le circuit hydraulique vert était faible. Le personnel de maintenance avait fait l'appoint et avait procédé à des essais visant à s'assurer qu'il n'y avait pas de fuites. Aucune anomalie n'avait été décelée. Le personnel de maintenance avait ensuite fait une inscription dans le carnet de route sans toutefois pouvoir fournir une explication quant à la perte de liquide et y avait inséré la mention
« à surveiller ».

L'inspection qui a eu lieu après le vol a révélé qu'un amortisseur de lacet défectueux avait provoqué la fuite de liquide hydraulique, lequel a coulé sur les côtés du fuselage et dans l'entrée d'air de l'APU. Celui-ci avait compressé et chauffé le liquide, qui a été ensuite acheminé au groupe de conditionnement d'air par le circuit de prélèvement d'air, ainsi que par les filtres pour atteindre, enfin, la cabine.

Le circuit hydraulique vert, soit 1 des 3 circuits que comporte ce modèle d'avion, sert au fonctionnement de plusieurs des circuits de l'avion, y compris à l'un des 2 amortisseurs de lacet. Ceux-ci sont des vérins hydrauliques relativement petits situés dans la section inférieure à l'arrière de la dérive.

À la fin de l'inspection qui a suivi le vol, l'amortisseur de lacet numéro 1 ou vert a fait l'objet d'un examen. La fuite était causée par la dégradation des joints d'étanchéité de la tige de piston, laquelle avait été provoquée par la surface rugueuse de la tige. Ce défaut avait été relevé préalablement par le constructeur qui avait publié 2 bulletins de service facultatifs. Ces bulletins énumèrent les modifications à apporter afin de régler le problème (SC4700-27-26-02, révision 2 et SC4700-27-04). De plus, le constructeur avait publié une lettre d'information en service (SIL 27-127), laquelle précisait les inspections régulières des amortisseurs de lacet à faire afin d'assurer leur maintien en fonctionnement. Air Canada avait beau avoir effectué les inspections conformément à la SIL, aucune des modifications stipulées dans les bulletins n'avait été apportée à C-FTJO, étant donné qu'on avait jugé que le risque pour la sécurité était faible.

On a récupéré l'enregistreur de la parole dans le poste de pilotage (CVR). Toutefois, l'incident n'y figurait pas parce que, selon sa conception, le CVR cesse automatiquement d'enregistrer 5 minutes après le dernier arrêt moteur. Dans l'affaire en question, le dernier arrêt moteur a eu lieu 16 minutes avant l'évacuation.

Bagages à main

En 2007, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports a formulé une recommandation (A07-07) à l'intention de Transports Canada (TC) pour qu'il exige que les exposés de sécurité donnés aux passagers contiennent des instructions claires enjoignant aux passagers de ne pas emporter leurs bagages à main lors d'une évacuation. TC a accepté la recommandation et a décidé d'apporter la modification règlementaire par l'entremise du Conseil consultatif sur la réglementation aérienne canadienne. Au moment de publier le présent rapport, l'ébauche d'un projet de réglementation n'avait pas encore été présentée. Étant donné que ce processus peut s'échelonner sur plus de 5 ans, TC a décidé de publier en attendant une Circulaire d'information (CI) facultative (No 700-012, 16 mars 2009) afin de rappeler aux exploitants les risques possibles si les exposés de sécurité donnés aux passagers ne contiennent pas des instructions claires prescrivant aux passagers de ne pas emporter leurs bagages à main lors d'une évacuation. Le Bureau a jugé « satisfaisante en partie » la réponse de TC.

Au moment de l'incident, les exposés de sécurité donnés aux passagers en préparation pour le décollage et l'atterrissage des vols d'Air Canada ne comportaient pas ces renseignements. La compagnie aérienne procède actuellement à la mise en œuvre des recommandations énoncées dans la CI 700-012 et prévoit avoir terminé en 2011.

Analyse

Étant donné que la perte de liquide hydraulique du circuit vert avait déjà été consignée dans le carnet de route, il est probable que l'amortisseur de lacet était à l'origine de la fuite précédente. Bien qu'aucune perte de liquide n'ait été décelée pendant la maintenance qui avait eu lieu au cours de la nuit ou pendant l'inspection extérieure effectuée par l'équipage de conduite, une petite quantité de liquide résiduel s'était peut-être accumulée près de l'entrée d'air de l'APU, ce qui pourrait expliquer l'odeur au démarrage de l'APU. L'odeur perçue pendant la montée aurait pu être causée par l'accumulation de particules sur les filtres du circuit de climatisation.

La sortie du train d'atterrissage pendant l'approche a provoqué le refoulement d'une quantité importante de liquide vers la bâche. Cette augmentation était suffisante pour que l'indicateur de quantité de la bâche affiche à nouveau un niveau normal. Lorsque l'équipage de conduite a reçu l'avis de fermer les trappes du train d'atterrissage, il a réévalué l'état du circuit hydraulique vert et, n'y repérant aucune défectuosité, a décidé d'activer le circuit de nouveau. C'est alors que du liquide sous haute pression s'est échappé du vérin de l'amortisseur de lacet numéro 1. Vu qu'il n'y avait plus de circulation d'air pour évacuer ce liquide, il a coulé sur les côtés du fuselage jusque dans l'entrée d'air de l'APU. Par conséquent, de la fumée a pénétré dans la cabine. L'équipage a coupé l'alimentation de la pompe et a arrêté la fuite, mais l'APU a continué de laisser pénétrer une certaine quantité de liquide qui s'y était déjà accumulée.

Les portes L1 et L2 ont été désarmées et ouvertes afin d'essayer d'aérer la cabine. Bien que l'équipage de cabine ait décidé de refermer et de réarmer les portes avant l'évacuation, cette mesure n'a eu aucune incidence importante sur le temps qu'il a fallu pour mener l'évacuation à bien.

De nombreux passagers sont sortis avec leurs bagages à main. On n'a pas pu déterminer si cette situation découle du fait qu'ils n'avaient pas prêté attention aux instructions données par les agents de bord et figurant également sur les cartes de mesures de sécurité, ou bien si tout simplement les passagers avaient décidé d'en faire fi. Ils auraient été plus conscients de cette contrainte si l'information leur avait été transmise pendant les exposés de sécurité donnés en préparation pour le décollage et l'atterrissage, conformément à la recommandation A07-07 du BST.

Les quelques blessures dont certains ont souffert ont peut-être été aggravées par le fait que la pluie avait mouillé les glissières et les avait rendues plus glissantes et, par conséquent, provoquait une descente plus rapide que la normale. Quoique les bagages aient occasionné de légères blessures et des retards au bas des glissières, leur présence n'a pas considérablement augmenté le temps d'exécution de l'évacuation. Toutefois, si le niveau de menace ou d'urgence avait été supérieur, même un léger contretemps aurait pu entraîner de graves conséquences.

TC a accepté la recommandation (A07-07) du Bureau qui prescrit l'ajout d'instructions claires aux exposés de sécurité donnés aux passagers pour enjoindre à ces derniers de ne pas emporter leurs bagages à main lors d'une évacuation. Toutefois, jusqu'à présent, aucune modification réglementaire n'a été mise en œuvre. En raison du délai considérable entre l'acceptation par TC de la recommandation et la mise en œuvre effective de la modification réglementaire, les lacunes de sécurité décelées perdurent.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

LP032/2010 – FDR / CVR Analysis (Analyse de FDR/CVR).

On peut obtenir ce rapport en s'adressant au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Une fuite en provenance de l'amortisseur de lacet numéro 1 a fait en sorte que le liquide s'est infiltré dans le groupe auxiliaire de bord et a pénétré dans le circuit de climatisation, par lequel de la fumée s'est échappée dans la cabine.
  2. Lorsque l'équipage a ordonné l'évacuation en raison de la fumée, plusieurs personnes ont subi de légères blessures en quittant l'avion par les glissières d'évacuation.

Fait établi quant aux risques

  1. Plusieurs passagers sont sortis par les issues de secours en emportant leurs bagages à main, ce qui aurait pu augmenter le temps d'évacuation et le risque de blessures, en plus de bloquer potentiellement les issues de secours.

Autre fait établi

  1. En raison du délai considérable entre l'acceptation par Transports Canada de la recommandation du Bureau et la modification effective de la réglementation, les lacunes de sécurité perdurent.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l’enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 10 mars 2010.