Aviation Investigation Report A11O0222

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Collision with terrain
Great Lakes Helicopter Corp.
Robinson R22 Beta (helicopter) C-GVAR
Region of Waterloo International Airport, Ontario
28 November 2011

Summary

The Robinson R22 helicopter (registration C-GVAR, serial number 2110) was departing the Region of Waterloo International Airport, Ontario, for a local training flight with a student and instructor on board. At 1131 Eastern Standard Time, approximately 1 minute after take-off, the helicopter crashed in a drainage swamp on airport property fatally injuring the instructor and seriously injuring the student. The helicopter was destroyed by impact forces; there was no post-impact fire. The emergency locator transmitter did transmit a signal.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Factual information

History of flight

The occurrence flight was to be a basic navigation training exercise in an area extending approximately 28 miles to the southwest of the Region of Waterloo International Airport, Ontario (CYKF). The pre-flight inspection, start-up and engine run-up were completed near the company’s hangar located to the west of the air traffic control tower at CYKF. Buildings obstruct the view from the control tower to the hangar area, so company procedure is to reposition (air taxi) after run-up to a departure area south of the approach path to Runway 08. 

After C-GVAR repositioned to the grassy departure area there was a short delay due to tower frequency congestion. During this 5-minute time period the crew decided to practice touchdowns and lift-offs from the hover. At 1130, the air traffic controller instructed C-GVAR to lift off at the crew’s discretion and make a turn around the control tower for a southbound departure (Figure 1).

Flight path
Figure 1. Flight path

C-GVAR lifted off from the grassy area with the student pilot in control and proceeded as instructed by the air traffic controller. After reaching approximately 200 feet above ground level (agl), at a typical departure speed, southbound over an area of multiple hangars and overhead wires, the instructor instructed the student to apply carburetor heat. It is not clear whether this instruction was actioned; however, shortly thereafter the engine shuddered, the engine rpm (revolutions per minute) decreased, and the instructor assumed control. The helicopter yawed first to the left then back to the right and began to descend. At 1131, C-GVAR impacted the ground in a level pitch attitude with little forward velocity.

The crash site was a 4-foot deep drainage swamp on the airport’s southern perimeter, approximately 60 feet short of an open field. The helicopter was destroyed. The instructor was fatally injured by the vertical impact force and the student was seriously injured.

Weather information

The weather at CYKF was appropriate for visual flight rules (VFR) flight. The wind was light and variable, visibility was greater than 9 statute miles, ceiling was overcast at 1300 feet agl, temperature was 4°C and the dew point was 1°C. It had rained most of the previous day and at the time of the occurrence the ground, including the grassy area, was very wet.

Flight crew information

Records indicate that the instructor was licensed and qualified in accordance with existing regulations. In addition to the required training, a Robinson Helicopter Company Pilot Safety Course was completed in December 2008, which focused on emergency procedures including autorotation. At the time of the occurrence the instructor had approximately 1040 total flight hours, mostly on Robinson helicopters. The instructor was off duty the preceding 2 days and the occurrence flight was the second flight of the day.

The student pilot had approximately 18 total flight hours, the most recent flight being 1 week earlier.

Helicopter information

Records indicate that C-GVAR was equipped and maintained in accordance with existing regulations. The helicopter had accumulated a total of 5448.5 hours since new. The last inspection was a scheduled 50-hour inspection performed on 01 November 2011 when the helicopter had 5441.6 hours. There were no recorded current or deferred defects at the time of the occurrence. The helicopter was being operated within published weight and balance limitations. 

The helicopter was equipped with a Lycoming O320-B2C engine, a 4-cylinder, carbureted, normally aspirated engine producing 160 horse power. The engine controls include a twist grip throttle, fuel mixture control, carburetor heat control, and an RPM governor. The following gauges are installed to monitor engine performance: engine and rotor dual tachometer, manifold pressure gauge, ammeter, oil pressure and temperature, and a carburetor air temperature gauge.

The fuel mixture and carburetor heat controls are located on the centre pedestal in close proximity to each other. To aid in identification, the control knobs are shaped differently. Furthermore, the fuel mixture control knob is red while the carburetor heat control knob is black (Photo 1). To prevent the inadvertent deployment in flight, the manufacturer’s checklist directs the pilot to place a removable cylindrical plastic guard over the mixture control knob before starting the engine (Photo 2). This guard is not to be removed until engine shutdown when the mixture control knob is pulled to the idle cut-off position (Photo 3). This plastic guard is not permanently attached to the control panel.

C-GVAR was not equipped with on-board recorders nor were these required by regulation. 

Photo 1. Mixture control top right and carburetor heat control bottom right
Photo 1. Mixture control top right and carburetor heat control bottom right 

Photo 2. Mixture control with guard installed
Photo 2. Mixture control with guard installed 

Mixture control in idle cut-off position
Photo 3. Mixture control in idle cut-off position 

Wreckage examination

The crash site was a drainage swamp on the airport perimeter which had thin wires strung across it in a checkerboard fashion to prevent birds from occupying it. The helicopter’s position amongst the wires indicated a near vertical descent. Most of the damage and deformation to the helicopter was on the bottom surface, consistent with a near vertical impact with little forward velocity. One of the main rotor blades was bent in a fashion consistent with coning, which may have resulted from low rotor rpm in flight or from impact with the water. There was no evidence of rotor mast bumping or main rotor blade contact with the tail boom.

There were no pre-impact mechanical failures or system malfunctions that would have contributed to this accident. A teardown of the engine and accessory gearbox revealed that although they were serviceable, they were not turning at impact. The plastic mixture guard was not found at the crash site.  The fuel mixture control was found in the full rich position.  The carburetor heat control knob was found in the cold position.  Examination of the cable-operated guillotine valve in the carburetor air box confirmed that the carburetor heat was selected to cold prior to impact.

The helicopter was equipped with a Pointer Sentry 4000-10 emergency locator transmitter  (serial number 342606), which activated on impact.

Carburetor icing

Carburetor icing is a phenomenon where the temperature of air entering the carburetor is reduced by the effect of fuel vaporization and by the decrease in air pressure caused by the Venturi effect. If water vapor in the air condenses when the carburetor temperature is at or below freezing, ice may form on internal surfaces of the carburetor, including the throttle valve. As ice forms, this increases the Venturi cooling effect due to narrowing of the carburetor throat and this narrowing reduces power output. Unchecked, the ice can quickly lead to a complete engine failure. To overcome carburetor icing aircraft manufacturers provide a system to heat the incoming air and prevent ice accumulation.

Unlike piston-powered aeroplanes, which normally take off at full throttle, helicopters take off using only as much power as required. This partial throttle position makes them more vulnerable to carburetor ice, especially when the engine and induction system are still cold. The Robinson R22 is equipped with a throttle governor which can easily mask carburetor icing by automatically increasing the throttle to maintain engine rpm, which will also result in a constant manifold pressure (Appendix A). To alert pilots to the possibility of carburetor ice, the helicopter is also equipped with a carburetor air temperature (CAT) gauge which displays a yellow arc outlining the range of temperatures to be avoided during possible icing conditions. Robinson R22 pilots are instructed to apply carburetor heat as required to keep the CAT out of the yellow arc during power settings above 18 inches manifold pressure and to apply full carburetor heat at settings below 18 inches (Appendix A and Appendix B).

If significant ice is allowed to develop within the carburetor and full heat is applied to melt it, the resultant water flow through the engine causes the engine to run rough temporarily and to lose further power. 1

To help determine whether flight conditions are more or less susceptible to carburetor ice, charts based on a knowledge of dry (ambient) air and wet (dew point) air temperatures have been produced (Appendix C). The temperature and dew point at the time of the occurrence when referenced against these charts describe the conditions as the most severe or “Serious Icing – Any Power”. In addition, the likelihood of accumulating ice can be exacerbated by operations in cloud, fog, rain, areas of high humidity, or in this case, ground operations over wet surfaces, especially wet grass. 2

Low RPM rotor stall

The manufactuer notes that rotor stall due to low RPM causes a very high percentage of light helicopter accidents (Appendix D and Appendix E). This risk is greatest in small helicopters such as the R22 with low main rotor blade inertia. When engine power is lost, the collective must be lowered immediately which induces a rate of descent. If this rate of descent is reduced by raising the collective, the rotor RPM will reduce. If the RPM reduces too much the rotor will stall and no longer provide the lift required to support the helicopter.

Robinson Helicopter Company safety notices

Following a series of accidents and incidents the Robinson Helicopter Company issued safety notices (SN) to its operators to reduce the likelihood of similar accidents. These are published on its website and at the back of the pilot’s operating handbook (POH). Of particular relevance are the following SNs (see appendices):

  • SN-01 – Inadvertent Actuation of Mixture Control in Flight
  • SN-10 – Fatal Accidents Caused by Low RPM Rotor Stall
  • SN-24 - Low RPM Rotor Stall Can Be Fatal
  • SN-25 – Carburetor Ice
  • SN-31 – Governor Can Mask Carb Ice

Analysis

The helicopter’s engine was not running at impact although there were no mechanical anomalies which would have prevented its operation.

The weather conditions at CYKF were highly conducive to carburetor icing. In addition to the temperature/dew point spread, the operation conducted over the wet grass would have intensified the rate of ice accumulation.

The investigation could not determine whether the carburetor heat control was adjusted as required to keep the CAT out of the yellow arc during the period the helicopter was hovering over the wet grass or during the take-off; however, when the helicopter struck the ground, the carburetor heat was selected to cold. This cold selection may have been the result of not applying carburetor heat, or if it was applied after ice had formed in the carburetor and the immediate result was a rough running engine, the carburetor heat may have been de-selected. In either case the engine likely stopped due to ice blocking the airflow through the carburetor.

An instructor flying with a relatively new student would likely be carefully monitoring the student’s actions, particularly during the critical take-off phase. The possibility that the mixture control was inadvertently selected to idle cut-off was considered to be unlikely as the student would have had to remove the mixture guard, pull the mixture control to idle cut-off and return it to full rich without the instructor’s intervention. In addition, the fact that the carburetor heat, which would have been required given the conditions, was found in the cold position would further suggest that this scenario is unlikely.

At the time the engine failed, the position of the helicopter would have made a successful auto rotation very difficult; it was at low altitude over a group of hangars with multiple overhead wires strung between numerous poles. The closest spot which was free of obstacles was the field 60 feet beyond the crash location.

The quick yawing following the engine failure most likely resulted from torque changes due to the power loss. This yawing would have decreased forward velocity, and increased the angle of descent. In an attempt to decrease the angle of descent and reach the field, the pilot likely raised the collective causing the rotor rpm to decrease to a point which could no longer sustain flight. The helicopter subsequently fell almost vertically into the swamp area short of the field.   

Findings as to causes and contributing factors

  1. Environmental conditions were conducive to serious carburetor icing. It could not be determined if carburetor heat was applied.
  2. The helicopter’s engine failed during departure most likely due to ice accumulation in the carburetor.
  3. The departure path took the helicopter over an area of buildings and obstacles which would have made a successful autorotation difficult.
  4. The pilot likely raised the collective in an attempt to reach a suitable field causing the rotor rpm to decay to a point which could no longer sustain flight. The helicopter subsequently fell, almost vertically, into the swamp.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 07 August 2012. It was officially released on 05 September 2012.

Appendix A – Safety notice SN-31

Safety Notice <abbr title='safety notice'>SN</abbr>-31

Appendix B - Safety notice SN-25

Safety Notice <abbr title='safety notice'>SN</abbr>-25

Appendix C - Carburetor icing probability chart

Carburetor Icing Probability Chart

Appendix D - Safety notice SN-10

Safety Notice SN-10

Appendix E - Safety notice SN-24

Safety Notice SN-24

Safety Notice SN-24

Appendix F – Safety notice SN-01

Safety Notice SN-01

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A11O0222

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le but d'améliorer la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Collision avec le relief
d'un hélicoptère Robinson R22 Beta C-GVAR
exploité par Great Lakes Helicopter Corp.
à l'Aéroport international de la région de
Waterloo (Ontario)
le 28 novembre 2011

Résumé

L’hélicoptère Robinson R22 (immatriculé C-GVAR et portant le numéro de série 2110) quitte l’aéroport international de la région de Waterloo (Ontario), pour un vol d’entraînement local avec à son bord un élève et un instructeur. À 11 h 31, heure normale de l’Est, approximativement une minute après le décollage, l’hélicoptère s’écrase dans un bassin de drainage sur la propriété de l’aéroport, infligeant des blessures mortelles à l’instructeur et de graves blessures à l’élève. L’hélicoptère est détruit sous la force de l’impact, et aucun incendie ne se déclare après l’impact. La radiobalise de repérage d’urgence transmet un signal.

This report is also available in English.

Renseignements de base

Déroulement du vol

Le vol devait être un exercice de navigation élémentaire dans une zone s'étendant jusqu'à une distance d'environ 28 miles au sud-ouest de l'aéroport international de la région de Waterloo, en Ontario (CYKF). La vérification avant le vol, le démarrage et le point fixe ont été effectués près du hangar de la compagnie, situé à l'ouest de la tour de contrôle de CYKF. Des bâtiments obstruent la vue entre la tour de contrôle et la zone du hangar; la procédure de la compagnie consiste donc à déplacer l'hélicoptère (taxi aérien) après le point fixe vers une aire de départ située au sud de la trajectoire d'approche de la piste 08. 

Une fois l’aéronef C-GVAR en place sur l’aire de départ gazonnée, un encombrement des fréquences à la tour de contrôle a entraîné un court retard. L’équipage a profité de cette période de 5 minutes pour s’exercer à décoller et à atterrir en vol stationnaire. À 11 h 30, le contrôleur aérien a informé les membres de l’équipage de l’aéronef C -GVAR qu’ils pouvaient décoller à leur discrétion et contourner la tour de contrôle pour partir en direction sud (Figure 1).

Trajectoire de vol
Figure 1. Trajectoire de vol

L’aéronef C-GVAR a décollé de la surface gazonnée alors que l’élève était aux commandes selon une trajectoire conforme aux instructions du contrôleur aérien. Ayant atteint une altitude d’environ 200 pieds au-dessus du sol (agl), alors qu’il volait à une vitesse de départ normale, en direction sud au-dessus d’une zone occupée par de nombreux hangars et surplombée par des câbles aériens, l’instructeur a demandé à l’élève de mettre en marche le réchauffeur du carburateur. Il n’est pas certain que cette instruction a été suivie, mais, peu de temps après, le moteur s’est mis à vibrer, le régime du moteur (rpm) a baissé, et l’instructeur a pris les commandes. L’hélicoptère a fait un mouvement en lacet vers la gauche puis vers la droite et s’est mis à descendre. À 11 h 31, l’aéronef C-GVAR a percuté le sol en maintenant une assiette en tangage nulle et une vitesse de translation vers l’avant faible.

Le site de l’écrasement est un bassin de drainage d’une profondeur de 4 pieds qui se trouve le long du terrain de l’aéroport du côté sud, à environ 60 pieds d’un champ libre. L’hélicoptère a été détruit. L’instructeur a subi des blessures mortelles en raison de la force de l’impact sur le plan vertical et l’élève a subi des blessures graves.

Renseignements météorologiques

Les conditions météorologiques à CYKF étaient propices au vol selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR). Le vent était léger et variable, la visibilité était supérieure à 9 milles terrestres, le ciel était couvert à 1300 pieds agl, la température était de 4 °C et le point de rosée était de 1 °C. Il avait plu presque toute la journée la veille et au moment de l’accident, le sol, y compris le gazon, était très mouillé.

Renseignements sur l'équipage

Selon les dossiers, l’instructeur était titulaire d’un brevet de pilotage et avait les qualifications nécessaires conformément à la réglementation. En plus de la formation obligatoire, il avait suivi un cours sur le pilotage sécuritaire, offert par la compagnie Robinson Helicopter, qui portait surtout sur les procédures d’urgence, notamment l’autorotation, en décembre 2008. Au moment de l’accident, l’instructeur avait accumulé environ 1040 heures de vol en tout, surtout aux commandes d’hélicoptères Robinson. L’instructeur était en congé au cours des 2 jours précédents et l’accident est survenu lors du deuxième vol de la journée.

L’élève-pilote avait accumulé environ 18 heures de vol au total et son vol le plus récent avait été effectué 1 semaine plus tôt.

Renseignements sur l'hélicoptère

Selon les dossiers, l’aéronef C-GVAR était équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. L’hélicoptère avait accumulé un total de 5448,5 heures de vol depuis sa mise en service. La dernière fois que l’aéronef avait été inspecté était le 1er  novembre 2011; il s’agissait d’une inspection périodique aux 50 heures qui avait été effectuée alors que l’aéronef avait effectué 5441,6 heures de vol. Au moment de l’accident, l’aéronef ne présentait aucune anomalie connue ni point d’entretien différé. L’hélicoptère était exploité conformément à ses limites de masse et de centrage.

L’hélicoptère était équipé d’un moteur Lycoming O320-B2C. Il s’agit d’un moteur à 4 cylindres, à carburateur, normalement alimenté en air et produisant 160 chevaux. Les commandes du moteur comprennent un accélérateur à poignée tournante, une commande de mélange air/carburant, un réchauffeur de carburateur et un régulateur de régime (rpm). Les jauges suivantes servent à vérifier le rendement du moteur : un tachymètre double pour le moteur et le rotor, un indicateur de pression d’admission, un ampèremètre, un indicateur de pression et de température d’huile, et une jauge de température du carburateur.

La commande de mélange air/carburant et celle du réchauffeur du carburateur sont situées sur la console centrale à proximité l’une de l’autre. Afin de les distinguer plus facilement, les manettes de commande ont une forme différente. En outre, la manette de commande de mélange air/carburant est rouge tandis que celui de la commande du réchauffeur du carburateur est noir (photo 1). Afin d’éviter qu’il soit actionné par inadvertance en vol, la liste de vérification du fabricant recommande fortement au pilote de placer un protecteur cylindrique en plastique amovible sur la manette de commande de mélange air/carburant avant de lancer le moteur (photo 2). Ce protecteur ne doit pas être retiré avant de procéder à l’arrêt du moteur en tirant sur la manette de commande de mélange air/carburant jusqu’en position étouffoir (photo 3). Ce protecteur en plastique n’est pas fixé en permanence au panneau de contrôle.

L’aéronef C-GVAR n’était pas équipé d’enregistreurs de bord et n’était pas tenu de l’être en vertu de la réglementation.

Photo 1. Commande de mélange air/carburant en haut à droite et commande du réchauffeur du carburateur en bas à droite
Photo 1. Commande de mélange air/carburant en haut à droite et commande du réchauffeur du carburateur en bas à droite 

Photo 2. Commande de mélange air/carburant avec protecteur en place
Photo 2. Commande de mélange air/carburant avec protecteur en place 

Commande de mélange air/carburant en position étouffoir
Photo 3. Commande de mélange air/carburant en position étouffoir 

Examen de l'épave

Le site de l’écrasement est un bassin de drainage qui se trouve le long du terrain de l’aéroport; ce bassin est recouvert de minces fils métalliques joints les uns aux autres de manière à former un damier afin d’empêcher les oiseaux de s’y poser. Selon la position de l’hélicoptère par rapport aux fils métalliques, la descente de l’aéronef fut quasi verticale. Les dommages et la déformation que l’hélicoptère a subis étaient, en grande partie, localisés sous le châssis, ce qui indique que l’impact s’est produit en descente quasi verticale à une vitesse de translation vers l’avant faible. La manière dont l’une des pales principales du rotor était pliée rappelle le type de dommages normalement associés à la conicité des pales, ce qui peut avoir été causé par le faible régime de rpm en vol ou le contact entre les pales et l’eau. Rien ne permet de conclure qu’il y ait eu cognement du mât ou contact entre une des pales principales du rotor et la poutre de queue.

Rien n’indique qu’il y ait eu une défaillance mécanique ou une défaillance du système avant l’impact qui aurait pu contribuer à l’accident. Le démontage du moteur et du boîtier d’entraînement des accessoires moteur a révélé qu’ils étaient utilisables, mais qu’ils ne tournaient pas au moment de l’impact. Le protecteur en plastique de la commande de mélange air/carburant n’a pas été trouvé sur les lieux de l’accident. La commande de mélange air/carburant était en position plein riche. La manette de commande du réchauffeur du carburateur était en position froide. Un examen du robinet-vanne à guillotine actionné par câble du carburateur confirme que le réchauffeur du carburateur a été mis en position froide avant l’impact.

L’hélicoptère était équipé d’une radiobalise de repérage d’urgence Pointer Sentry 4000-10 (numéro de série 342606) qui s’est déclenchée lors de l’impact.

Givrage du carburateur

Le givrage du carburateur se produit lorsque la température de l’air entrant dans le carburateur est réduite en raison de l’évaporation du carburant et de la diminution de la pression d’air provoquée par l’effet Venturi. Si la vapeur d’eau contenue dans l’air se condense lorsque la température du carburateur est égale ou inférieure au point de congélation, il peut se former de la glace sur les surfaces internes du carburateur, notamment la soupape de la manette de commande des gaz. La formation de glace accentue le refroidissement causé par l’effet Venturi en raison du rétrécissement de la cavité du carburateur; ce rétrécissement entraîne également une réduction de la puissance de sortie. Si rien n’est fait, la glace peut rapidement causer une panne complète du moteur. Pour éviter le problème de givrage du carburateur, les fabricants installent un système visant à réchauffer l’air entrant et à prévenir l’accumulation de glace.

Contrairement aux avions équipés de moteur à pistons qui, normalement, décollent à plein régime, les hélicoptères n’utilisent que la puissance nécessaire lors du décollage. En raison de cette activation partielle de la manette de commande des gaz, l’aéronef est plus susceptible de subir un givrage du carburateur, surtout lorsque le moteur et le dispositif d’admission sont encore froids. L’aéronef Robinson R22 est équipé d’un régulateur des gaz qui peut facilement masquer le givrage du carburateur en actionnant automatiquement la manette de commande des gaz afin de maintenir constants le régime moteur et la pression d’admission (Annexe A). Afin de prévenir les pilotes du risque de givrage du carburateur, l’hélicoptère est également doté d’un indicateur de température du carburateur affichant un arc jaune qui représente la plage des températures à éviter dans des conditions où le givrage du carburateur est susceptible de se produire. Il est fortement recommandé aux pilotes de l’aéronef Robinson R22 d’activer le réchauffeur du carburateur au besoin pour que l’aiguille de l’indicateur de température demeure en dehors de la plage représentée par l’arc jaune lorsque la pression d’admission est supérieure à 18 pouces et de le faire fonctionner à plein régime lorsque la pression d’admission est inférieure à 18 pouces (Annexe A et Annexe B).

Si une couche de glace importante se forme dans le carburateur et que le réchauffeur est réglé au maximum pour la faire fondre, la quantité d’eau entrant dans le moteur qui en résulte provoque un fonctionnement irrégulier du moteur pendant un certain temps et donne lieu à une réduction supplémentaire de la puissance 1.

Un graphique aidant à déterminer si les conditions de vol risquent ou non d’engendrer un givrage du carburateur, en fonction de la température de l’air sec (ambiante) et de l’humidité (point de rosée), a été créé (Annexe C). Les conditions de température ambiante et de point de rosée au moment de l’accident sont définies, selon ce graphique, comme étant les plus défavorables, soit « Givrage important – quelle que soit la puissance ». En outre, la probabilité que de la glace se forme peut augmenter lorsque l’aéronef est piloté dans les nuages, le brouillard, la pluie ou des zones de forte humidité, ou dans ce cas-ci, lorsque l’aéronef fonctionne au sol lorsque la surface est humide, particulièrement sur du gazon mouillé 2.

Décrochage du rotor à bas régime

Le fabricant indique qu’une des principales causes d’accident impliquant des hélicoptères légers est le décrochage du rotor à bas régime (Annexe D et Annexe E). Ce risque est plus élevé pour les petits hélicoptères, comme le R22, dotés d’un rotor à faible inertie. Lorsque le moteur subit une perte de puissance, le levier de pas collectif doit être abaissé immédiatement, ce qui amorce la descente. Si le taux de descente est réduit en relevant le levier de pas collectif, le régime du rotor diminue. Si la baisse de régime est excessive, le rotor décroche et ne fournit plus la portance nécessaire pour soutenir le poids de l’hélicoptère.

Avis de sécurité de l'entreprise Robinson Helicopter

Après que se soient produits plusieurs accidents et incidents, l’entreprise Robinson Helicopter a émis des avis de sécurité (SN) à l’intention des exploitants de ses aéronefs en vue d’atténuer ces risques. Ils sont publiés sur son site Internet et à la fin du manuel d’utilisation de l’aéronef. Les avis de sécurité suivants sont particulièrement pertinents (se reporter aux annexes) :

  • SN-01 – Activation involontaire de la commande de mélange air/carburant en vol
  • SN-10 – Accidents mortels provoqués par un décrochage du rotor à bas régime
  • SN-24 – Le décrochage du rotor à bas régime peut être fatal
  • SN-25 – Givrage du carburateur
  • SN-31 – Le régulateur des gaz peut masquer le givrage du carburateur

Analyse

Le moteur de l’hélicoptère n’était pas en marche au moment de l’impact même si aucune défaillance mécanique ne l’empêchait de fonctionner.

Les conditions météorologiques à CYKF étaient très propices à la formation de glace dans le carburateur. En plus des conditions de température et de point de rosée, les manœuvres effectuées sur le gazon mouillé peuvent avoir accéléré le givrage.

L’enquête n’a pas permis de déterminer si la commande du réchauffeur du carburateur avait été réglée comme il se doit pour maintenir l’aiguille de l’indicateur de température en dehors de la plage représentée par l’arc jaune pendant que l’hélicoptère était en vol stationnaire au-dessus du gazon mouillé ou au moment du décollage; cependant, lorsque l’hélicoptère a percuté le sol, le réchauffeur du carburateur était en position froide. Cela est peut-être attribuable au fait que le réchauffeur du carburateur n’a pas été actionné; par contre, il est également possible qu’il ait été actionné après que de la glace s’est formée et qu’en raison du fonctionnement irrégulier du moteur qui s’en est suivi, le pilote ait décidé de le désactiver. Dans les deux cas, le moteur s’est probablement arrêté en raison de la glace qui bloquait l’arrivée d’air dans le carburateur.

Un instructeur de vol en compagnie d’un élève ayant relativement peu d’expérience surveillerait probablement de près tous ses gestes, en particulier durant la phase critique du décollage. La possibilité que la commande de mélange air/carburant ait été mise en position étouffoir par inadvertance est jugée peu probable puisqu’il aurait fallu que l’élève enlève le protecteur de la commande, tire sur la manette jusqu’en position étouffoir et qu’il le remette en position plein riche, sans que l’instructeur intervienne. En outre, le fait que le réchauffeur du carburateur, normalement actionné dans ces conditions, a été trouvé dans la position froide vient appuyer le raisonnement selon lequel ce scénario est improbable.

Au moment de la panne du moteur, en raison de la position de l’hélicoptère, il aurait été très difficile de réussir la procédure d’autorotation; l’aéronef volait à basse altitude au-dessus d’un groupe de hangars et de nombreux poteaux auxquels étaient suspendus plusieurs câbles. L’endroit libre de tout obstacle le plus près était le champ situé à 60 pieds au-delà du lieu de l’accident.

Le mouvement rapide en lacet suivant la panne du moteur est fort probablement attribuable au changement de couple causé par la perte de puissance. Ce mouvement a probablement contribué à diminuer la vitesse de translation vers l’avant, et à augmenter l’angle de descente. En tentant de diminuer l’angle de descente et d’atteindre le champ, le pilote a probablement relevé le levier de pas collectif ce qui a entraîné une baisse du régime du rotor au point où il n’était plus en mesure d’assurer la sustentation de l’aéronef. L’hélicoptère est ensuite tombé presque verticalement dans le bassin situé avant le champ.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Les conditions météorologiques étaient propices au givrage du carburateur. Il n’a pas été possible de déterminer si le réchauffeur du carburateur avait été actionné.
  2. Le moteur de l’hélicoptère s’est arrêté lors du décollage, fort probablement en raison d’une accumulation de glace dans le carburateur.
  3. En raison de la trajectoire de départ, qui a amené l’hélicoptère à survoler une zone où se trouvaient des bâtiments et des obstacles, il aurait été très difficile de réussir la procédure d’autorotation.
  4. Le pilote a probablement relevé le levier de pas collectif en tentant d’atteindre un terrain propice, ce qui a causé une baisse de régime du rotor suffisante pour qu’il ne soit plus en mesure d’assurer la sustentation de l’aéronef. L’hélicoptère est ensuite tombé, presque verticalement, dans le bassin.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l’enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 7 août 2012. Il est paru officiellement le 5 septembre 2012.

Annexe A –Avis de sécurité SN-31

Note : Ce document est disponible uniquement en anglais.

Safety Notice <abbr title='avis de sécurité'>SN</abbr>-31

Annexe B - Avis de sécurité SN-25

Note : Ce document est disponible uniquement en anglais.

Safety Notice <abbr title='avis de sécurité'>SN</abbr>-25

Annexe C - Diagramme des probabilités de givrage du carburateur

Diagramme des probabilités de givrage du carburateur

Source : Manuel de pilotage des hélicoptères, TP9982F, de Transports Canada, 2e édition, page 14

Annexe D - Avis de sécurité SN-10

Note : Ce document est disponible uniquement en anglais.

Safety Notice -10

Annexe E - Avis de sécurité SN-24

Note : Ce document est disponible uniquement en anglais.

Safety Notice -24

Safety Notice -24

Annexe F – Avis de sécurité SN-01

Note : Ce document est disponible uniquement en anglais.

Safety Notice -01