Aviation Investigation Report A12P0136 accessibility page

Figure 1. Map showing the probable route up the lake to the accident site (dashed/double-dotted line), the published VFR route to the west of the lake (dashed line) and the low ground route connecting the two (dotted line)

A line superimposed on a Google satellite image of the region west of Okanagan Lake between Kelowna and Penticton, British Columbia, shows the probable flight path. The line extends northward over the lake, then turns westward near Peachland to the accident site. Two other lines indicate, respectively, the published VFR route extending to the west of the lake, and the low ground route connecting the occurrence flight's probable flight path with the VFR route.

<< Back to figure 1

Figure 2. Modified sign at Penticton Airport

A photograph shows the sign installed at a new location at Penticton Airport with modified content, which reads: "NOTICE TO PILOTS / Due to high terrain surrounding this airport, it is recommended that pilots proceeding east or west under VFR attain an altitude of 5 000 feet (asl) minimum before leaving the Okanagan Valley. / Airport elevation is 1 129 feet (asl)".

<< Back to figure 2

Photo 1. Aerial view of the accident site, showing the likely flight path before the initial tree strike

A dotted line superimposed on an aerial photograph shows the last portion of the likely flight path over the tailings dam, the location of the initial tree strike, and the aircraft wreckage.

<< Back to photo 1

Photo 2. Fuel-flow indicator, 23 March 2012

A photograph of a portion of the instrument panel shows the same throttle setting and manifold pressure indications for both the right and left engines, but a fuel-flow indication that is 45% higher for the right engine than for the left.

<< Back to photo 2

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A12P0136 : page d'accessibilité

Figure 1. Carte montrant la trajectoire probable le long du lac et jusqu'au lieu de l'accident (ligne en traits et en points), l'itinéraire VFR publié à l'ouest du lac (ligne en tirets) et la route à basse altitude qui relie les deux (ligne pointillée).

Une ligne superposée à une image satellite Google de la région à l'ouest du lac Okanagan entre Kelowna et Penticton (Colombie-Britannique), montrant la trajectoire probable du vol. La ligne s'étend vers le nord, au-dessus du lac, tourne vers l'ouest, près de Peachland, et continue jusqu'au lieu de l'accident. Deux autres lignes montrent, respectivement, l'itinéraire VFR publié, à l'ouest du lac, et la route à basse altitude qui relie la trajectoire probable du vol en cause et l'itinéraire VFR.

<< Retour à la figure 1

Figure 2. Placard modifié, aéroport de Penticton

Photographie du placard modifié qui a été installé à un nouvel emplacement à l'aéroport de Penticton, et qui indique ce qui suit : « AVIS AUX PILOTES / En raison de l'élévation des terrains entourant l'aéroport, nous recommandons aux pilotes se dirigeant vers l'est ou l'ouest sous VFR, d'atteindre une altitude minimale de 5000 pieds (ASL) avant de quitter la vallée de l'Okanagan. / Altitude de l'aéroport est 1129 pieds (asl) ».

<< Retour à la figure 2

Photo 1. Photo montrant le lieu de l'accident et la trajectoire de vol probable avant l'impact avec le premier arbre.

Une ligne de tirets superposée à une photographie aérienne montrant la dernière portion de la trajectoire probable du vol au-dessus de la digue de résidus, l'endroit où l'aéronef a frappé le premier arbre et l'épave de l'aéronef.

<< Retour à la photo 1

Photo 2.– Photo de l'indicateur de débit de carburant prise le 23 mars 2012

Photographie d'une partie du tableau de bord montrant que le réglage de la manette des gaz et la pression d'admission sont identiques pour les deux moteurs, alors que l'indicateur du débit de carburant du moteur droit affiche un débit plus élevé de 45% que celui du moteur gauche.

<< Retour à la photo 2

Annexe A. Desc

LongDesc

<< Retour à l'Annexe A

Annexe B. Desc

LongDesc

<< Retour à l'Annexe B