Marine Investigation Report M94L0027

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Grounding of the bulk carrier "CHRISTOFFER OLDENDORFF"
Lake St. Pierre, Quebec
12 September 1994

Summary

At about 0617 EDT on 12 September 1994, as the self-unloading bulk carrier "CHRISTOFFER OLDENDORFF" was transiting Lake St. Pierre bound for Sorel, Quebec, with a load of anthracite, a complete power failure caused the main engine and the steering gear to stop operating. The vessel sheered and ran aground. No injuries or pollution were reported as a result of this occurrence.

Factual Information

Particulars of the Vessel

Name « CHRISTOFFER OLDENDORFF »
Port of Registry Monrovia, Liberia
Flag Liberian
Official Number 9972
Type Self-unloading bulk carrier
Gross Tonnage 37,959
Length 227.73 m
Draught Forward: 10.00 m
Aft: 10.35 m
Built Steel
Propulsion One diesel engine, 11,382 kW driving a single fixed-pitch propeller.
Owners Egon Oldendorff
Allemagne

Just before coming abreast of buoy S77, the vessel experienced a complete power failure when the two auxiliary generators shut down. The main engine then stopped because its electric pumps had stopped working. An emergency generator came on line shortly thereafter, but it was not designed to provide power to the steering gear or the main engine pumps. The vessel sheered and ran aground on the edge of the channel, some four cables downstream of buoy S77. The "CHRISTOFFER OLDENDORFF" was able to manoeuvre free and refloat herself in the hours following the grounding.

Analysis

An overload on the No. 2 generator reportedly tripped its circuit breaker. The overload was apparently caused by the simultaneous starting of two compressors, one which is started manually and the other which is automatic. A second generator, operating in parallel with the first, experienced a voltage overload which exceeded the resistance of its circuit breaker. When the two generators shut down, the main engine stopped working.

Post-occurrence tests seemed to indicate that this scenario is unlikely. Each generator can produce a maximum load of 625 kW. As these generators are connected in parallel, they have a combined total capacity of 1,250 kW.

Before the compressors started up, the power consumption on each generator was 250 kW. These compressors require 46 kW each to operate. Even given the overload needed to start them up, the load applied could not have been sufficient to trip either of the circuit breakers.

The generators were started up again within minutes of the grounding, and the whole system resumed operating normally. No mechanical problem was noted during subsequent tests, and there is no indication that such an overload did cause the two generators to shut down.

Findings

  1. The vessel experienced a complete power failure.
  2. The fact that the generators shut down caused the main engine and the steering gear to stop operating.
  3. No mechanical problem was noted on the generators and/or the electrical system after the power failure.

Causes

The "CHRISTOFFER OLDENDORFF" grounded because of a complete power failure on board the vessel. This power failure cannot be attributed to a mechanical problem. The cause of the complete power failure could not be determined.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, John W. Stants, and members   Zita Brunet and Hugh MacNeil, authorized the release of this report on 10 May 1995.

Rapport d'enquête maritime M94L0027

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

ÉCHOUEMENT
du vraquier «CHRISTOFFER OLDENDORFF»
Lac Saint-Pierre (Québec)
12 september 1994

Résumé

Le 12 septembre 1994 vers 6 h 17 HAE, le vraquier auto-déchargeur «CHRISTOFFER OLDENDORFF» faisait route sur le lac Saint-Pierre à destination de Sorel (Québec) avec un chargement d'anthracite lorsqu'une panne totale a entraîné l'arrêt de la machine principale et de l'appareil à gouverner. Le navire a fait une embardée et s'est échoué. On n'a signalé aucun blessé ni aucune pollution par suite de cet accident.

Autres renseignements factuels

Fiche technique du navire

Nom « CHRISTOFFER OLDENDORFF »
Port d'immatriculation Monrovia, Liberia
Pavillon Libérien
Numéro officiel 9972
Genre vraquier auto-déchargeur
Jauge brute 37 959 tonneaux
Longueur 227,73 m
Tirant d'eau Avant : 10,00 m
Arrière : 10,35 m
Construction acier
Propulsion Un diesel de 11 382 kW entraînant une hélice à pas fixe.
Propriétaires Egon Oldendorff
Allemagne

Peu avant d'arriver à la hauteur de la bouée S77, le navire a subi une panne totale attribuable à l'arrêt des deux génératrices auxiliaires. La machine principale a cessé de fonctionner étant donné l'arrêt de ses pompes électriques. Après quelques instants, une génératrice d'urgence s'est mise en marche. Cependant, elle n'était pas conçue pour faire fonctionner l'appareil à gouverner ou les pompes de la machine principale. Le navire a fait une embardée et s'est échoué en bordure du chenal, soit à quatre encablures en aval de la bouée S77. Dans les heures qui ont suivi l'échouement, le «CHRISTOFFER OLDENDORFF» a pu se dégager et se renflouer de lui-même.

Analyse

On a signalé qu'une surcharge de la génératrice no 2 aurait ouvert son disjoncteur. Il semble que cette surcharge ait été causée par le démarrage simultané de deux compresseurs; l'un à démarrage manuel et l'autre, automatique. Une deuxième génératrice, qui fonctionne en parallèle avec la première, a subi un survoltage, ce qui a eu pour effet de dépasser la résistance du disjoncteur. Lorsque les deux génératrices ont cessé de fonctionner, la machine principale s'est arrêtée.

Des essais subséquents portent à croire qu'un tel déroulement des événements est peu probable. En effet, chaque génératrice peut produire une charge maximale de 625 kW. Étant donné que ces génératrices sont connectées en parallèle, elles ont une capacité totale de 1 250 kW.

Avant le démarrage des compresseurs, la consommation électrique sur chacune des génératrices était de 250 kW. Ces compresseurs ont chacun besoin de 46 kW pour fonctionner. Même en tenant compte de la surcharge nécessaire pour les faire démarrer, la charge appliquée ne pouvait entraîner l'ouverture de l'un ou l'autre des disjoncteurs.

Dans les minutes qui ont suivi l'échouement, les génératrices ont été remises en marche et tout le système s'est remis à fonctionner normalement. Aucun problème mécanique n'a été remarqué lors des essais subséquents, et rien n'indique qu'une telle surcharge ait causé la panne des deux génératrices.

Conclusions

  1. Le navire a subi une panne totale de courant.
  2. L'arrêt des génératrices a entraîné l'arrêt de la machine principale et de l'appareil à gouverner.
  3. On n'a observé aucun problème mécanique des génératrices ou du circuit électrique après la panne de courant.

Causes

Le "CHRISTOFFER OLDENDORFF" s'est échoué à cause d'une panne totale de courant à bord du navire. Cette panne ne peut être attribuable à un problème mécanique. La cause de la panne totale de courant n'a pu être établie.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 10 mai 1995 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président, John W. Stants, et des membres Zita Brunet et Hugh MacNeil.