Marine Investigation Report M94L0029

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View report in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file; find out more on our help page.

Grounding of the tanker "MIMI"
Lanoraie Anchorage
St. Lawrence River, Quebec
21 September 1994

Summary

On 21 September 1994, the tanker "MIMI", carrying 24,320 metric tonnes of miscellaneous petroleum products, was en route from Porvoo, Finland, to Montreal, Quebec, with a pilot on board. Because of her draught, the vessel had to anchor off Tracy, Quebec, to wait for a berth in Montreal.

At about 0323 EDT, the "MIMI" manoeuvred at reduced speed for the approach to the Lanoraie, Quebec, anchorage. When the vessel was in position, the anchor was dropped and the lever of the engine telegraph was placed on astern to stop the vessel. However, the main engine engaged on "ahead", and before the crew realized what was happening, the vessel gained speed and ran aground on the south-east bank. No injuries, damage or pollution were reported as a result of this occurrence.

Factual Information

Particulars of the Vessel

Name "MIMI"
Port of Registry Grimstad, Norway
Flag Norwegian
Official Number 8920347
Type Oil tanker
Gross Tonnage 21,145
Length 178.90 m
Draught Forward: 10.6 m
Aft: 10.3 m
Construction Steel, 1992
Propulsion One B&W 7,943 kW engine driving a fixed-pitch propeller.
Owners Fram Tankers V Ltd.
Monrovia, Liberia

Manoeuvring speed orders are transmitted from the bridge to the control room in the engine-room by engine telegraph. A mechanism automatically synchronizes the direction on the engine telegraph in the control room with the direction of rotation of the main engine. To start the main engine and give it the necessary speed during a manoeuvre, the control console in the control room is equipped with another lever located parallel to the engine telegraph. There is only one such lever, and it can be activated only by the engine-room personnel. However, control of the main engine can be transferred from the control room to the bridge console. The bridge personnel acknowledge this transfer by pressing a single button on the console. In this case, the bridge personnel chose to have the engine-room personnel control the main engine while the vessel was in confined waters.

When the "full astern" order was given, before the vessel ran aground, the lever of the engine telegraph in the engine-room was in the "full astern" position. The main engine was placed into reverse and the engine revolutions were increased using the throttle. Shortly afterward, it was noticed that the main engine was not turning in the right direction; the vessel's speed could not be reduced in time to stop the vessel, and she ran aground.

From the computer listing of the data recorder, it was possible to confirm that the main engine was turning in the "ahead" direction and that the throttle was set for reverse. However, the tachometer indicated that the main engine was turning in the "ahead" direction whereas the indicator light of the main engine rotation direction selector indicated "astern".

Analysis

The mechanism is a pneumatic system, equipped with an indicator light, which changes the synchronization circuit and, hence, the direction of rotation of the main engine.

The computer listing of the data recorder and the indicator light of the main engine rotation direction selector indicate that the lever of the engine telegraph in the engine-room was in fact placed in the "astern" position. However, the tachometer and the thrust of the propeller indicate that the main engine was turning in the "ahead" direction.

It was reported that this failure of the mechanism was an isolated case, and that it had been reliable in the past. Subsequent tests did not indicate any malfunction.

Findings

  1. The main engine manoeuvres were controlled from the engine-room.
  2. The direction of rotation of the main engine is selected automatically when the engineer of the watch carries out the manoeuvring orders sent from the bridge via the engine telegraph.
  3. Although the main engine controls were set for "astern", it was noticed shortly afterward that the engine was actually turning in the "ahead" direction.
  4. Subsequent tests of the engine telegraph mechanism in the control room did not indicate any malfunction.

Causes

The "MIMI" ran aground because of the unexpected thrust of the propeller in the "ahead" direction. Although the main engine was set for reverse rotation, it was noticed shortly afterward that it was turning in the "ahead" direction. The exact cause of the malfunction of the mechanism could not be determined.

Safety Action Taken

Subsequently, a service engineer from the engine manufacturer investigated the malfunction in the manoeuvring system. No error in the system was discovered. The malfunction has not re-occurred.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, John W. Stants, and members Zita Brunet and Hugh MacNeil, authorized the release of this report on 14 June 1995.

Rapport d'enquête maritime M94L0029

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

ÉCHOUEMENT
du pétrolier «MIMI»
Mouillage de Lanoraie
Fleuve Saint-Laurent (Québec)
21 septembre 1994

Résumé

Le 21 septembre 1994, le pétrolier «MIMI», qui transportait 24 320 tonnes métriques de produits pétroliers divers en provenance de Porvoo en Finlande, se dirigeait vers Montréal (Québec) avec un pilote à son bord. Étant donné son tirant d'eau, le navire a dû mouiller au large de Tracy (Québec) pour attendre un quai à Montréal.

Vers 3 h 23 HAE, le «MIMI» a effectué des manoeuvres d'approche à vitesse réduite pour se rendre au mouillage de Lanoraie (Québec). Une fois le navire en position, on a mouillé l'ancre et placé la manette du transmetteur d'ordres à la position «marche arrière» pour casser l'erre du navire. Cependant, la machine principale s'est engagée en marche avant et, avant que l'équipage ne se rende compte de ce qui se passait, le navire a pris de la vitesse et s'est échoué sur la berge sud-est. On n'a signalé aucun blessé, ni aucune avarie ou pollution par suite de cet événement.

Autres renseignements factuels

Fiche technique du navire

Nom « MIMI »
Port d'immatriculation Grimstad, Norvège
Pavillon Norvégien
Numéro officiel 8920347
Genre Pétrolier
Jauge brute 21 145 tonneaux
Longueur 178,90 m
Tirant d'eau Avant : 10,6 m
Arrière : 10,3 m
Construction Acier, 1992
Propulsion Un moteur B&W de 7 943 kW, entraînant une hélice à pas fixe.
Propriétaires Fram Tankers V Ltd.
Monrovia, Liberia

Les allures en manoeuvre sont transmises de la passerelle vers la salle des commandes, située dans la salle des machines, au moyen d'un transmetteur d'ordres. Un mécanisme synchronise automatiquement la direction sur le transmetteur d'ordres, dans la salle des commandes, avec le sens de rotation de la machine principale. Pour lancer la machine principale et lui donner le régime nécessaire lors d'une manoeuvre, le tableau de commande de la salle des commandes est muni d'une autre manette qui est placée parallèlement au transmetteur d'ordres. Cette manette unique ne peut être actionnée que par le personnel de la salle des machines. Toutefois, on peut faire passer la manoeuvre de la machine principale de la salle des commandes à la commande-passerelle. Le personnel à la passerelle n'a qu'à appuyer sur un seul bouton pour exécuter ce changement. Dans le cas à l'étude, le personnel à la passerelle a préféré laisser le personnel de la salle des machines commander la machine principale tandis que le navire se trouvait en eaux restreintes.

Lorsqu'on a transmis l'ordre de mettre la machine en marche arrière toute, avant l'échouement, la manette du transmetteur d'ordres à la salle des machines était à la position «marche arrière toute». La machine principale a été mise en marche arrière et le régime a été augmenté à l'aide de la manette des gaz. Peu après, on a constaté que la machine principale ne tournait pas dans le bon sens; on n'a pas pu réduire la vitesse à temps pour casser l'erre et le navire s'est échoué.

Le relevé informatique de l'enregistreur de données a permis de confirmer que la machine principale tournait en marche avant et que les gaz étaient en marche arrière. Toutefois, le tachymètre indiquait que la machine principale faisait marche avant tandis que le voyant lumineux du sélecteur de sens de rotation de la machine principale affichait «marche arrière».

Analyse

Le mécanisme est une installation pneumatique, munie d'un voyant lumineux, qui modifie le circuit de synchronisation et, par conséquent, le sens de rotation de la machine principale.

Le relevé informatique de l'enregistreur de données et le voyant lumineux du sélecteur de sens de rotation de la machine principale laissent supposer que la manette du transmetteur d'ordres de la salle des machines a bel et bien été placée à la position «marche arrière». Par contre, le tachymètre et la poussée de l'hélice indiquent que la machine tournait en marche avant.

On a signalé que la panne du mécanisme est un cas isolé et que le mécanisme s'est avéré être fiable par le passé. Des essais ultérieurs n'ont révélé aucune anomalie.

Conclusions

  1. Les manoeuvres de la machine principale étaient commandées à partir de la salle des machines.
  2. La sélection du sens de rotation de la machine principale se fait automatiquement lorsque le mécanicien de quart exécute les ordres de manoeuvre transmis de la passerelle au moyen du transmetteur d'ordres.
  3. Bien que les commandes de la machine principale aient été mises en marche arrière, on s'est rendu compte, peu après, que la machine tournait en marche avant.
  4. Des essais ultérieurs sur le mécanisme du transmetteur d'ordres de la salle des commandes n'ont révélé aucune anomalie.

Causes

Le «MIMI» s'est échoué à cause de la poussée imprévue de l'hélice en marche avant. Bien que la machine principale ait été mise en marche arrière, on s'est aperçu peu après qu'elle faisait marche avant. Il n'a pas été possible de déterminer la cause exacte du mauvais fonctionnement du mécanisme.

Mesures de sécurité prises

Par la suite, un mécanicien d'entretien du fabricant de la machine principale s'est penché sur ce mauvais fonctionnement du mécanisme de manoeuvre de la machine. Aucune anomalie n'a été relevée. Le mauvais fonctionnement ne s'est pas reproduit.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 14 juin 1995 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président, John W. Stants, et des membres Zita Brunet et Hugh MacNeil.