Marine Investigation Report M94L0039

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Bottom Contact
by the Cypriot bulk carrier "EUROPEGASUS"
Canal de la Rive Sud, Port of Montreal, Quebec
18 December 1994

Summary

On 18 December 1994, the bulk carrier "EUROPEGASUS", laden with 16,677 metric tonnes of barley from Superior, Wisconsin, was under way in the Seaway bound for berth No. 94 in the Port of Montreal.

The "EUROPEGASUS" exited the St. Lambert Lock under the conduct of a Montreal harbour pilot and proceeded in the Canal de la Rive Sud. When the vessel was about three cables downstream of the end of the lock approach wall, she yawed to port. Although helm and main engine manoeuvres were carried out, the vessel struck the western edge of the canal. The bottom plating was slightly dented and adjacent supports were distorted. The vessel returned to the middle of the channel. There was no injury or pollution as a result of this occurrence.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Factual Information

Particulars of the Vessel

Name "EUROPEGASUS"
Port of Registry Limassol, Cyprus
Flag Cypriot
Official Number 708422
Type Bulk carrier
Gross Tonnage 15,620
Length 175.65 m
Draught Forward: 7.92 m
Aft: 7.92 m
Built Steel, 1972
Propulsion One M.A.N. engine, 8,238 kW, driving a single fixed-pitch propeller
Owners Pearlboat Maritime Co. Ltd.
Limassol, Cyprus

While the vessel was in the St. Lambert Lock, the Montreal Vessel Traffic Centre (VTC) confirmed that berth No. 94 in the harbour was not available and that the vessel had to anchor off Pointe-aux-Trembles. The vessel requested access to the Montreal East anchorage, but the VTC could not confirm the availability of this anchorage before the vessel departed from the lock.

The "EUROPEGASUS" exited the lock in daylight in fair weather. Pilotage was done by visual observation.

At 0634(1), the pilot advised Seaway-Beauharnois that the vessel had reached the downstream end of the lock approach wall. The vessel then contacted the VTC to report her position. A radiotelephone conversation ensued over where the vessel would have to anchor in the harbour. The uninterrupted conversation was cut off abruptly at 0638.

The "EUROPEGASUS" yawed to port, and the helmsman put the helm hard-a-starboard, but the vessel did not respond. After being informed of the situation by the officer of the watch, the pilot ordered the helm hard-a-starboard and full speed ahead. It was pointed out to the pilot that the helm was already hard-a-starboard, but the vessel kept on yawing to port. The starboard anchor was ordered dropped, but there were no crew members on the forecastle. The pilot then ordered full speed astern. When the vessel was about three cables downstream of the lock approach wall, in position 4530'30"N, 7331'20"W, she struck the western edge of the channel and then swung to starboard.

When the vessel resumed a course parallel to the channel, the pilot ordered slow speed ahead, followed immediately by dead slow ahead. The vessel returned to the middle of the channel and exited the Canal de la Rive Sud without further incident.

The port authorities had reserved the Montreal East anchorage for a vessel downbound in the Seaway behind the "EUROPEGASUS". The VTC expected that berth No. 94 would not be free until 0800. The Montreal East anchorage lies off berth No. 94.

There were three vessels at the Pointe-aux-Trembles anchorage. The VTC expected them to depart at 0700. This anchorage lies downstream of berth No. 110.

The helmsman was using approximately 10 of helm to stay on course and was using the gyrocompass and landmarks as references.

Analysis

From experience, the pilot preferred not to manoeuvre in the vicinity of the Pointe-aux-Trembles anchorage early in the morning because of the heavy traffic caused by the departure of downbound vessels. When the VTC assigned the vessel to the Pointe-aux-Trembles anchorage, the pilot immediately asked about the availability of the Montreal East anchorage. Even though the pilot raised the possibility to VTC that the selection of the anchorage at Pointe-aux-Trembles could affect the safety of the ship and the vessel did not receive permission immediately to anchor at the Montreal East anchorage, the choice of anchorage could have been negociated after the vessel had left the confines of the narrow Seaway channel.

The pilot's primary task was the conduct of the vessel. When the radiotelephone conversation between the pilot and the VTC evolved into an argument, it increased the pilot's workload. A typically succinct conversation was not carried out and the pilot's attention was divided between conducting the vessel and pressing his arguments in order to obtain the Montreal East anchorage. The uninterrupted conversation prevented him from focussing his full attention on the conduct of the vessel.

The helmsman was using the gyrocompass and landmarks to determine the direction of the vessel in order to keep the vessel on track. Because of the good visibility in the confined waters of the Canal de la Rive Sud, he was able to make good use of landmarks rather than the gyrocompass, which had some directional response lag. Sustained concentration on the navigational equipment or a distraction prevented the helmsman from assessing in time the extent of the initial yaw.

Findings

  1. The pilot divided his attention between the conduct of the vessel and the uninterrupted radiotelephone conversation.
  2. The extent of the yaw was not assessed in time.
  3. The helm manoeuvres did not cancel the yaw.
  4. There were no crew members on the forecastle to drop the anchor.
  5. The engine manoeuvres did not prevent the vessel from striking the bottom.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The "EUROPEGASUS" struck the edge of the channel because an appropriate watch was not kept to stay on course. The helm and engine manoeuvres were not carried out in time to prevent the vessel from striking the bottom, and there was no one on the forecastle to drop the anchor.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, Chairperson John W. Stants and member Zita Brunet authorized the release of this report on 24 October 1995, pending ratification by the full Board.

Appendix A - Photos

"EUROPEGASUS"

EUROPEGASUS

In Trois-Rivières, Quebec, to complete loading barley.

View from the bridge

View from the bridge, forward.


1. All times are EST (Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) minus five hours) unless otherwise stated.

Rapport d'enquête maritime M94L0039

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Talonnage
du vraquier cypriote «EUROPEGASUS»
Canal de la Rive Sud, port de Montréal (Québec)
18 décembre 1994

Résumé

Le 18 décembre 1994, le vraquier «EUROPEGASUS», avec une cargaison de 16 677 tonnes métriques d'orge en provenance de Superior (Wisconsin), faisait route sur la Voie maritime vers le poste d'amarrage no 94 du port de Montréal.

Sous la conduite d'un pilote du port de Montréal, le «EUROPEGASUS» a appareillé de l'écluse de Saint-Lambert et a fait route dans le canal de la Rive Sud. Alors qu'il se trouvait à environ trois encablures en aval de l'extrémité du mur d'approche de l'écluse, le navire a embardé vers bâbord. Malgré des manoeuvres de barre et de la machine principale, le navire a talonné la bande ouest du canal. Le bordé de carène a été légèrement enfoncé et les membrures connexes ont été gauchies. Le navire a regagné le centre du chenal. L'accident n'a fait ni blessé ni pollution.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements factuels

Fiche technique du navire

Nom « EUROPEGASUS »
Port d'immatriculation Limassol, Chypre
Pavillon Cypriote
Numéro officiel 708422
Type Vraquier
Jauge brute 15 620 tonneaux
Longueur 175,65 m
Tirant d'eau Avant: 7,92 m
Arrière: 7,92 m
Construction Acier, 1972
Groupe propulseur Un moteur M.A.N. développant 8 238 kW, entraînant une hélice à pas fixe
Propriétaire Pearlboat Maritime Co. Ltd.
Limassol, Chypre

Alors que le navire se trouvait à l'écluse de Saint-Lambert, le Centre de trafic maritime (CTM) de Montréal a confirmé que le poste d'amarrage no 94 dans le port n'était pas disponible et que le navire devait aller mouiller l'ancre au large de Pointe-aux-Trembles. Le navire a demandé à se rendre au mouillage de Montréal est, mais le CTM n'a pas pu lui confirmer la disponibilité de ce mouillage avant que le navire ne quitte l'écluse.

Par temps clair et à la lumière du jour, le «EUROPEGASUS» a appareillé de l'écluse. Le pilotage se faisait par observation visuelle.

À 6 h 34[1], le pilote a avisé Voie maritime-Beauharnois que le navire avait atteint l'extrémité aval du mur d'approche de l'écluse. Par la suite, le navire a communiqué avec le CTM pour lui rapporter sa position. Il s'en est suivi une conversation radiotéléphonique concernant l'endroit où le navire devrait mouiller dans le port. À 6 h 38, la conversation continue s'est interrompue brusquement.

Le «EUROPEGASUS» a embardé vers bâbord et le timonier a mis la barre à droite toute, mais le navire n'a pas répondu. L'officier de quart a informé le pilote de la situation et ce dernier a ordonné de mettre la barre à droite toute et de faire allure avant toute. On a souligné au pilote que la barre était déjà à droite toute, mais le navire a continué d'embarder vers bâbord. On a demandé de mouiller l'ancre tribord, mais il n'y avait aucun membre d'équipage sur le gaillard d'avant. Le pilote a ordonné l'allure arrière toute. Alors qu'il se trouvait à environ trois encablures en aval du mur d'approche de l'écluse, à la position 4530'30"N par 7331'20"W, le navire a talonné la bande ouest du chenal puis a évité vers tribord.

Quand le navire est revenu sur un cap parallèle au chenal, le pilote a ordonné l'allure avant lent, suivi aussitôt de avant très lent. Le navire a regagné le centre du chenal et est sorti du canal de la Rive Sud sans autre incident.

Les autorités du port avaient réservé le mouillage de Montréal est pour un navire qui descendait la Voie maritime derrière le «EUROPEGASUS». Le CTM prévoyait que le poste d'amarrage no 94 ne se libèrerait pas avant 8 h. Le poste de mouillage de Montréal est se trouve au large du poste d'amarrage no 94.

Trois navires occupaient un poste au mouillage de Pointe-aux-Trembles. Le CTM prévoyait leur départ vers 7 h. Ce mouillage se situe en aval du poste d'amarrage no 110.

Le timonier utilisait environ 10 de barre pour maintenir le cap et il se servait du gyrocompas et d'amers comme repères.

Analyse

Par expérience, le pilote préférait ne pas manoeuvrer dans les parages du mouillage de Pointe-aux-Trembles tôt le matin en raison du trafic accru causé par le départ des navires vers l'aval. Quand le CTM a affecté le navire au mouillage de Pointe-aux-Trembles, le pilote s'est aussitôt informé de la disponibilité du mouillage de Montréal est. Bien que le pilote n'avait pas encore été autorisé à mouiller l'ancre au mouillage de Montréal est même après avoir souligné au VTC que le fait de l'affecter au mouillage de Pointe-aux-Trembles pouvait avoir des répercussions pour la sécurité du navire, il aurait été possible de poursuivre les négociations pour obtenir le poste de mouillage voulu une fois le navire sorti du chenal restreint de la Voie maritime.

La tâche première du pilote était la conduite du navire. Lorsque la conversation radiotéléphonique entre le pilote et le CTM s'est changée en discussion animée, la charge de travail du pilote s'en est accrue. Il ne s'agissait plus d'une courte conversation d'usage et le pilote a dû partager son attention entre conduire le navire et faire valoir ses arguments pour obtenir le mouillage de Montréal est. Cette conversation continue a empêché le pilote de consacrer toute son attention à la conduite du navire.

Pour déterminer l'orientation du navire afin d'en contrôler la trajectoire, le timonier se servait du gyrocompas et d'amers. La bonne visibilité dans les eaux resserrées du canal de la Rive Sud lui permettait d'utiliser avantageusement les repères terrestres plutôt que le gyrocompas, lequel accusait un certain retard. Un effort de concentration soutenu sur les instruments de navigation ou une distraction a empêché le timonier d'évaluer à temps l'ampleur de l'embardée initiale.

Conclusions

  1. Le pilote a partagé son attention entre la conduite du navire et une conversation radiotéléphonique continue.
  2. On n'a pas évalué à temps l'ampleur de l'embardée.
  3. Les manoeuvres de barre n'ont pas mis fin à l'embardée.
  4. Il n'y avait aucun membre d'équipage sur le gaillard d'avant pour mouiller l'ancre.
  5. Les manoeuvres de la machine n'ont pas permis d'éviter le talonnage.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Le «EUROPEGASUS» a talonné la bande du chenal parce qu'on n'a pas assuré une veille appropriée de manière à maintenir le cap. Les manoeuvres de barre et de la machine n'ont pas été effectuées suffisamment à temps pour éviter le talonnage, et il n'y avait personne sur le gaillard d'avant pour mouiller l'ancre.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. Par conséquent, la publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 24 octobre 1995 par le président, John W. Stants, et Zita Brunet, membre, en attendant l'approbation formelle du Bureau.

Annexe A - Photographies

"EUROPEGASUS"

À Tros-Rivières (Québec) pour compléter le chargement en orge

À Tros-Rivières (Québec) pour compléter le chargement en orge.

De la passerelle, vue vers l'avant

De la passerelle, vue vers l'avant.


[1]  Toutes les heures sont exprimées en HNE (temps universel coordonné (UTC) moins cinq heures), sauf indication contraire.