Marine Investigation Report M94W0018

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Man Overboard from the Small Tug "RED FIR NO. 15"
North Arm of the Fraser River, British Columbia
08 March 1994

Summary

Shortly before midnight on 08 March 1994, in good weather conditions, the "RED FIR NO. 15" was downbound with a loaded chip barge in tow in the North Arm of the Fraser River. When the tow was off the Marine Drive Golf Course, the operator heard a scream and, on looking back, saw the deck-hand in the water ahead of the barge. The tow was turned around but the extensive search which was initiated after the operator radioed for assistance failed to locate the deck-hand.

The Board determined that, although the precise reason for the deck-hand falling overboard could not be established, the design of the tug was a contributing factor in that there are no effective handrails or bulwarks on the afterdeck. The deck-hand could not be found because he probably was not wearing any form of flotation device.


Table of Contents

  1. 1.0 Factual Information
    1. 1.1 Particulars of the Vessel
    2. 1.2 Description of the Vessel
    3. 1.3 Description of the Occurrence
    4. 1.4 Injuries to Persons
    5. 1.5 Certification
    6. 1.5.1 Vessel
    7. 1.5.2 Operator
    8. 1.6 Personnel
    9. 1.6.1 History
    10. 1.6.2 Work Schedule
    11. 1.7 Weather
    12. 1.8 Tide and Current
    13. 1.9 Safety Equipment
    14. 1.10 Search for the Deck-hand
    15. 1.11 Cold Water Survival
    16. 1.12 Other Traffic
  2. 2.0 Analysis
    1. 2.1 Fall Overboard
    2. 2.2 Wearing of Lifejacket
    3. 2.3 Tug Design
  3. 3.0 Conclusions
    1. 3.1 Findings
    2. 3.2 Causes
  4. 4.0 Safety Action
  5. 5.0 Appendices
    1. Appendix A - Sketch of the Occurrence Area
    2. Appendix B - Photographs
    3. Appendix C - Glossary

1.0 Factual Information

1.1 Particulars of the Vessel

  "RED FIR NO. 15"
Official Number 348397
Port of Registry Vancouver, B.C.<1>
Flag Canadian
Type Tug
Gross Tons<2> 14
Length 10.67 m
Draught 2.6 m
Crew 2
Built 1973, Vancouver, B.C.
Propulsion Two 240 BHP (176 kW) diesel engines driving twin fixed-pitch propellers
Owners Rivtow Marine Ltd., Vancouver, B.C.

1.2 Description of the Vessel

The "RED FIR NO. 15" is of steel construction, built to standard design and is used primarily for towing log booms and barges in the North Arm of the Fraser River. The wheel-house and accommodation are forward of amidships and the engine-room below the wheel-house. The towing winch and bollard are located immediately abaft the wheel-house on the afterdeck. There are no bulwarks or handrails abaft the superstructure, but a foot rail approximately 30 cm high is fitted round the outside of the afterdeck. A raised wooden grating-cum-working platform has been constructed over the working area of the afterdeck at a height of some 20 cm above the deck.

1.3 Description of the Occurrence

On 08 March 1994, the "RED FIR NO. 15" was moving the loaded chip barge "RT 1002" from the Crown Zellerbach Kent Street loading berth to the Point Grey tie-up in the North Arm of the Fraser River. Stemming the flood tide, the tow was making between three and four knots over the ground, with the operator steering. He was navigating by both visual means and by radar. The deck-hand was working on deck. The length of the tow-line to the barge was reportedly about 20 m.

At about 2350<3>, with the tow off the Marine Drive Golf Course, the operator was alerted by a scream and looked back to see the deck-hand in the water astern of the tug with the barge bearing down on him. Speed was immediately reduced and the unit turned hard-a-round to starboard. A 180· turn was completed, putting the tow onto the reverse course, but the deck- hand could not be located.

A call for assistance was broadcast on very high frequency radiotelephone (VHF R/T) channel 6. The North Fraser River Patrol responded to the call. Coast Guard Radio Station (CGRS) Vancouver was advised and the incident was reported to the Rescue Co-ordination Centre (RCC) in Victoria, British Columbia. A search and rescue operation was implemented; other vessels in the area responded. The search failed to locate the missing deck-hand.

1.4 Injuries to Persons

The missing deck-hand was presumed to have drowned.

1.5 Certification

1.5.1 Vessel

Being less than 15 gross registered tons, the "RED FIR NO. 15" is not required to be inspected by the Ship Safety Branch of the Canadian Coast Guard (CCG).

1.5.2 Operator

The operator of the "RED FIR NO. 15" was not required to be certificated, but he held a Certificate of Competency as Master of a Home-Trade Steamship of under 350 tons, gross tonnage.

1.6 Personnel

1.6.1 History

The operator has served as mate and master of tugs operating in British Columbia waters for more than 25 years.

The deck-hand had started his new seafaring career some 3 1/2 months before the accident and, in that time, had spent 42 days working on tugs, including 6 days on the "RED FIR NO. 15". The vessel's owners have on record that the victim was also on board as an observer for two days in October 1993.

1.6.2 Work Schedule

The "RED FIR NO. 15" is manned round the clock by two crews working 12-hour shifts: 0600 to 1800 and 1800 to 0600. The operator and, reportedly, the deck-hand were well rested when they reported for duty at 1800, 08 March.

1.7 Weather

The weather was reported as being fine and clear with light airs and a calm sea. The visibility was more than 10 miles.

1.8 Tide and Current

The tide was flooding at the time of the accident, and the tidal stream had reached a rate of about three knots.

1.9 Safety Equipment

The owners require that a lifejacket be worn under certain conditions, including when working on deck, day or night, and reportedly the deck-hand was wearing a lifejacket at the beginning of the trip. Two lifejackets were found on board during the investigation but, as the operator was uncertain as to how many lifejackets had originally been on board, it could not be determined if the deck-hand was wearing one when he fell overboard.

The victim was wearing warm clothing, work gloves and regular work shoes. The shoes were described as being in relatively good condition by members of the victim's family but there was uncertainty as to the composition of the soles. The owners require that shoes with non-slip soles be worn when working on deck.

1.10 Search for the Deck-hand

CGRS Vancouver advised RCC Victoria of the man-overboard report at 2358, 08 March, at which time the "NORTH ARM PATROL" and a small local tug arrived on the scene. Five other vessels were tasked or responded and, over the next three hours, with the assistance of divers and the Vancouver police department, a search for the missing deck-hand was carried out, reaching as far upstream as Mitchell Island, British Columbia. The deck-hand was reported to be a competent swimmer but, when the search was called off at 0300, 09 March, he had not been located.

1.11 Cold Water Survival

The water temperature in the North Arm of the Fraser River was approximately 5·C when checked the next day.

The Sailing Directions for the British Columbia Coast (South Portion), Vol. 1, Fifteenth Edition, 1990, on the subject of "cold water survival" state in part that "in a water temperature of 5·C, persons without thermal protection become too weak to help themselves after about 30 minutes, and after about an hour the chances of survival are slim if rescued."

1.12 Other Traffic

At the time of the accident, there were no other vessels in the immediate vicinity. About 15 minutes before, the tow had passed two vessels, one downbound and one upbound, but no significant residual wake or surge from these vessels was noted.

2.0 Analysis

2.1 Fall Overboard

No precise reason could be established for the deck-hand falling overboard. Given the good weather conditions and the absence of other traffic in the area, there were no outside factors to affect the vessel's movement in the seaway. However, the deck-hand was inexperienced and had only worked on the "RED FIR NO. 15" for six days. Someone who is new to a vessel and less familiar with that vessel's layout and motion is more likely to lose his footing.

2.2 Wearing of Lifejacket

From the information available with regard to the lifejackets on board the "RED FIR NO. 15", it could not be established with certainty if the deck-hand was wearing a lifejacket when he fell overboard. However, given the thoroughness of the search and the fact that neither the deck- hand nor a lifejacket was found during the search, it is considered unlikely that the deck-hand was wearing a lifejacket at the time of the accident.

2.3 Tug Design

The vessel's construction incorporates a 30 cm-high foot rail around the edge of the afterdeck, but the effective height over most of her length is reduced to some 10 cm by the wooden working platform built over the deck area. This raising of the working deck level decreases any personnel safety factor that the foot rail could offer in terms of a foothold and lessens its effectiveness in helping a person recover his balance.

3.0 Conclusions

3.1 Findings

  1. The tug was engaged in towing a loaded chip barge on a short tow-line during the hours of darkness.
  2. The deck-hand was new to the vessel, inexperienced, and working alone on the afterdeck of the tug.
  3. The deck-hand fell overboard into the path of the barge.
  4. There are no bulwarks or shipside rails on the afterdeck.
  5. The raised working platform on the afterdeck limits the foot rail's usefulness as a foothold.
  6. An extensive search of the area failed to locate the deck-hand.
  7. The deck-hand was probably not wearing a lifejacket or any other flotation device.

3.2 Causes

Although the precise reason for the deck-hand falling overboard could not be established, the design of the tug was a contributing factor in that there are no effective handrails or bulwarks on the afterdeck. The deck-hand could not be found because he probably was not wearing any form of flotation device.

4.0 Safety Action

The Board has no marine safety recommendations to issue at this time.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson John W. Stants, and members Zita Brunet and Hugh MacNeil, authorized the release of this report on 16 August 1995.

Appendix A - Sketch of the Occurrence Area

occurrence area

Appendix B - Photographs

RED FIR NO. 15

"RED FIR NO. 15"

layout of afterdeck

Layout of afterdeck.

Appendix C - Glossary

B.C. - British Columbia
BHP - brake horsepower
bollard - Post(s) for belaying, fastening and working ropes and lines.
bulwarks - Vertical plating along each side of vessel above weather deck.
C - Celsius
CCG - Canadian Coast Guard
CGRS - Coast Guard Radio Station
cm - centimetre(s)
foot rail- Length of pipe, low to the deck, with expanded metal between regularly spaced supports.
IMO - International Maritime Organization
kW - kilowatt(s)
m - metre(s)
PST - Pacific standard time
RCC - Rescue Co-ordination Centre
SI - International System (of units)
towing winch - Winch for handling and stowing tow-line.
TSB - Transportation Safety Board of Canada
UTC - Coordinated Universal Time
VHF R/T - very high frequency radiotelephone
· - degree(s)


<1> 1See Glossary for all abbreviations, acronyms, and definitions.
<2> 2Units of measurement in this report conform to International Maritime Organization (IMO) standards or, where there is no such standard, are expressed in the International System (SI) of units.
<3> 3All times are PST (Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) minus eight hours) unless otherwise stated.

Rapport d'enquête maritime M94W0018

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Homme à la mer
à partir du remorqueur «RED FIR NO. 15»
bras nord du fleuve Fraser
(Colombie-Britannique)
8 mars 1994

Résumé

Peu avant minuit, le 8 mars 1994, par beau temps, le «RED FIR NO. 15» descendait le bras nord du fleuve Fraser avec un chaland chargé de copeaux. Le convoi passait à la hauteur du terrain de golf de Marine Drive quand le patron a entendu crier; il a tourné la tête et a aperçu le matelot dans l'eau en avant du chaland. Il a fait faire demi-tour au convoi et a demandé de l'aide par radio, mais les recherches à grande échelle entreprises pour retrouver le matelot ont été infructueuses.

Le Bureau a déterminé que bien que la raison précise pour laquelle le matelot est passé par-dessus bord n'ait pu être établie, la conception du remorqueur a joué un rôle à cause de l'absence de garde-corps efficace ou de pavois sur le pont arrière. Le matelot, qui ne portait probablement pas de vêtement de flottaison, n'a pas été retrouvé.

Table des matières

  1. 1.0 Renseignements de base
    1. 1.1 Fiche technique du navire
    2. 1.2 Renseignements sur le navire
    3. 1.3 Déroulement des événements
    4. 1.4 Victimes
    5. 1.5 Certificats et brevets
    6. 1.5.1 Certificats du navire
    7. 1.5.2 Brevets du patron
    8. 1.6 Renseignements sur le personnel
    9. 1.6.1 Le patron et le matelot
    10. 1.6.2 Horaire de travail
    11. 1.7 Conditions météorologiques
    12. 1.8 Marée et courant
    13. 1.9 Équipement de sauvetage
    14. 1.10 Recherche du matelot
    15. 1.11 Survie en eau froide
    16. 1.12 Autres navires dans le secteur
  2. 2.0 Analyse
    1. 2.1 Chute par-dessus bord
    2. 2.2 Port du gilet de sauvetage
    3. 2.3 Conception du remorqueur
  3. 3.0 Conclusions
    1. 3.1 Faits établis
    2. 3.2 Causes
  4. 4.0 Mesures de sécurité
  5. 5.0 Annexes
    1. Annexe A - Croquis du secteur de l'accident
    2. Annexe B - Photographies
    3. Annexe C - Sigles et abréviations

1.0 Renseignements de base

1.1 Fiche technique du navire

Nom « RED FIR NO. 15 »
Numéro officiel 348397
Port d'immatriculation Vancouver (C.-B.)[1]
Pavillon Canadien
Type Remorqueur
Jauge brute 14 tonneaux[2]
Longueur 10,67 m
Tirant d'eau 2,6 m
Équipage 2
Construction 1973, Vancouver (C.-B.)
Groupe propulseur 2 moteurs diesel de 176 kW chacun (240 BHP) entraînant deux hélices à pas fixe
Propriétaires Rivtow Marine Ltd.
Vancouver (C.-B.)

1.2 Renseignements sur le navire

Le «RED FIR NO. 15» est un bâtiment en acier d'un modèle standard qui est utilisé principalement pour remorquer des trains de flottage de bois et des chalands sur le bras nord du Fraser. La timonerie et les emménagements sont situés à l'avant du milieu et le compartiment machines se trouve sous la timonerie. Le bollard et le treuil de remorquage sont placés juste derrière la timonerie sur le pont arrière. Il n'y a ni pavois ni garde-corps à l'arrière de la superstructure, mais un appuie-pieds d'une hauteur de 30 cm environ entoure le pont arrière. Une plate-forme de travail à claire-voie en bois a été construite à 20 cm environ en contrehaut du pont arrière.

1.3 Déroulement des événements

Le 8 mars 1994, le «RED FIR NO. 15» remorquait le chaland «RT 1002» chargé de copeaux du poste de chargement de la rue Kent, de la Crown Zellerbach au poste d'amarrage de Point Grey sur le bras nord du Fraser. Étalant le flux, le convoi filait de trois à quatre noeuds sur le fond, avec le patron à la barre. Celui-ci naviguait par repères visuels et au radar. Le matelot travaillait sur le pont. La touée était d'environ 20 m.

Vers 23 h 50[3], le convoi se trouvait à la hauteur du terrain de golf de Marine Drive; après avoir entendu un cri, le patron a regardé en arrière, et il a aperçu le matelot dans l'eau derrière le remorqueur, en plein sur le trajet du chaland. Il a immédiatement réduit l'allure et fait éviter le convoi cap pour cap sur tribord. Malgré ce virage à 180· qui a placé le convoi sur une route opposée, le matelot n'a pas été retrouvé.

Le patron a demandé de l'aide sur la voie 6 du radiotéléphone très haute fréquence (VHF). La North Fraser River Patrol a répondu à l'appel. La station radio de la Garde côtière (SRGC) de Vancouver a été prévenue et l'incident a été signalé au Centre de coordination du sauvetage (CCS) de Victoria (C.-B.). Une opération de recherches et sauvetage a été lancée; des navires qui se trouvaient dans le secteur sont venus prêter leur assistance, mais les recherches pour retrouver le matelot ont été infructueuses.

1.4 Victimes

Le matelot a été porté disparu et on présume qu'il s'est noyé.

1.5 Certificats et brevets

1.5.1 Certificats du navire

Comme le «RED FIR NO. 15» jauge moins de 15 tonneaux de jauge brute (tjb), il n'est pas assujetti à des inspections réglementaires par la Direction de la sécurité des navires de la Garde côtière canadienne (GCC).

1.5.2 Brevets du patron

Le patron du «RED FIR NO. 15» n'était pas tenu d'être breveté, mais il était titulaire d'un brevet de capitaine au cabotage valide sur des navires de moins de 350 tjb.

1.6 Renseignements sur le personnel

1.6.1 Le patron et le matelot

Le patron comptait plus de 25 ans d'expérience comme lieutenant et capitaine de remorqueurs dans les eaux de la Colombie-Britannique.

Le matelot avait débuté sa carrière de marin quelque trois mois et demi avant l'accident, et il totalisait 42 jours de travail à bord de remorqueurs, dont 6 jours sur le «RED FIR NO. 15». Selon les dossiers des propriétaires du navire, la victime avait aussi passé deux jours à bord en qualité d'observateur en octobre 1993.

1.6.2 Horaire de travail

Le «RED FIR NO. 15» est armé en personnel 24 heures sur 24 par deux équipages qui font des quarts de 12 heures : de 6 h à 18 h et de 18 h à 6 h. Le patron ainsi que le matelot étaient apparemment frais et dispos avant de prendre leur service à 18 h le 8 mars.

1.7 Conditions météorologiques

Selon les témoignages, il faisait beau, le ciel était dégagé, les vents étaient légers et la mer calme. La visibilité était supérieure à 10 milles.

1.8 Marée et courant

La marée montait au moment de l'accident, et le courant de marée atteignait les trois noeuds environ.

1.9 Équipement de sauvetage

Les propriétaires exigent le port du gilet de sauvetage dans certaines conditions, notamment pour travailler sur le pont, le jour comme la nuit. Le matelot portait apparemment un gilet de sauvetage au début du voyage. Deux gilets de sauvetage ont été trouvés à bord pendant l'enquête mais, comme le patron n'a pu dire avec certitude combien il y avait de gilets de sauvetage à bord au moment de l'appareillage, il est impossible de savoir si le matelot portait son gilet de sauvetage quand il est passé par-dessus bord.

Le matelot était vêtu chaudement et portait des gants de travail et des chaussures de travail ordinaires. Sa famille a indiqué que les chaussures qu'il portait étaient en assez bon état, mais personne n'a pu dire avec certitude quel genre de semelles les chaussures avaient. Les propriétaires exigent le port de chaussures munies de semelles anti-dérapantes pour travailler sur le pont.

1.10 Recherche du matelot

À 23 h 58, le 8 mars, la SRGC de Vancouver a prévenu le CCS de Victoria qu'on lui avait signalé qu'un homme était tombé à la mer. Le «NORTH ARM PATROL» et un petit remorqueur local sont arrivés sur les lieux à ce moment-là. Cinq autres navires ont été dépêchés ou ont répondu à l'appel et au cours des trois heures suivantes, avec l'aide de plongeurs et de la sûreté municipale de Vancouver, les recherches ont été poursuivies jusqu'à l'île Mitchell (C.-B.) en amont. Le matelot était apparemment un bon nageur. Toutefois, les recherches ont été infructueuses, et elles ont été interrompues à 3 h le 9 mars.

1.11 Survie en eau froide

La température de l'eau dans le bras nord du Fraser était d'environ 5 ·C lorsqu'elle a été vérifiée le lendemain.

Les Instructions nautiques pour la côte de la Colombie-Britannique (partie sud), vol. 1, quinzième édition, 1990, indiquent, en ce qui concerne la survie en eau froide, que dans l'eau à une température de 5 ·C, les personnes sans vêtement isotherme deviennent trop faibles pour s'aider au bout d'une trentaine de minutes, et après une heure, leurs chances de survie sont minces même si elles sont repêchées.

1.12 Autres navires dans le secteur

Au moment de l'accident, il n'y avait pas d'autres navires dans les parages. Une quinzaine de minutes plus tôt, le convoi avait rencontré deux navires, un qui montait et l'autre qui descendait, mais aucune perturbation de sillage ni cavalement n'a été remarqué au passage de ces navires.

2.0 Analyse

2.1 Chute par-dessus bord

L'enquête n'a pas permis d'établir la raison précise pour laquelle le matelot est passé par-dessus bord. Comme il faisait beau et qu'il n'y avait pas d'autres navires dans le secteur, il n'y a pas de facteur extérieur qui aurait pu avoir une incidence sur les mouvements du navire sur l'eau. Cependant, le matelot n'avait pas d'expérience et n'avait travaillé que six jours à bord du «RED FIR NO. 15». Un nouveau venu sur un navire connaît moins bien la configuration et le mouvement du bâtiment et court plus de risques de perdre pied.

2.2 Port du gilet de sauvetage

Compte tenu du peu d'information dont on dispose concernant les gilets de sauvetage se trouvant à bord du «RED FIR NO. 15», il n'a pas été possible d'établir avec certitude si le matelot portait un gilet de sauvetage quand il est passé par-dessus bord. Cependant, comme des recherches aussi minutieuses n'ont permis de retrouver ni le corps du matelot ni un gilet de sauvetage, on a jugé qu'il était peu probable que la victime ait porté un gilet de sauvetage au moment de l'accident.

2.3 Conception du remorqueur

Le pont arrière du navire est entouré d'un appuie-pieds de 30 cm, mais dont la hauteur réelle est réduite à environ 10 cm presque partout à cause de la plate-forme de travail en bois en contrehaut du pont. Cette élévation du niveau du pont de travail diminue la protection offerte par l'appuie-pieds, qui est par conséquent moins efficace pour aider quelqu'un à reprendre son équilibre.

3.0 Conclusions

3.1 Faits établis

  1. Le remorqueur remorquait un chaland chargé de copeaux au bout d'une courte touée, dans l'obsécuritéé.
  2. Le matelot sans expérience était nouveau sur le remorqueur et il travaillait seul sur le pont arrière.
  3. Le matelot est tombé à l'eau et s'est retrouvé sur le trajet du chaland.
  4. Il n'y a ni pavois ni garde-corps sur le pont arrière.
  5. La plate-forme de travail en contrehaut du pont arrière diminue la hauteur de l'appuie-pieds qui est, par conséquent, moins efficace comme butoir pour le pied.
  6. Le secteur a été ratissé, mais le matelot n'a pas été retrouvé.
  7. Le matelot ne portait probablement pas de gilet de sauvetage ni de vêtement de flottaison.

3.2 Causes

Bien que la raison précise pour laquelle le matelot est passé par-dessus bord n'ait pu être établie, la conception du remorqueur a joué un rôle à cause de l'absence de garde-corps efficace ou de pavois sur le pont arrière. Le matelot, qui ne portait probablement pas de vêtement de flottaison, n'a pas été retrouvé.

4.0 Mesures de sécurité

Le Bureau n'a, jusqu'ici, recommandé aucune mesure de sécurité.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 16 août 1995 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président John W. Stants et des membres Zita Brunet et Hugh MacNeil.

Annexe A - Croquis du secteur de l'accident

Croquis du secteur de l'accident

Annexe B - Photographies

RED FIR NO. 15

RED FIR NO. 15

Configuration du pont arriére

Configuration du pont arriére.

Annexe C - Sigles et abréviations

BHP - puissance au frein bollard Poteau(x) servant à arrimer, à attacher et à manier les cordages et les filins.
BST - Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
C - Celsius
C.-B. - Colombie-Britannique
CCS - Centre de coordination du sauvetage
cm - centimètre(s)
GCC - Garde côtière canadienne
HNP - heure normale du Pacifique
kW - kilowatt(s)
OMI - Organisation maritime internationale
m - mètre(s)
pavois - Partie de la coque au-dessus du pont.
SI - système international (d'unités)
SRGC - station radio de la Garde côtière
tjb - tonneaux de jauge brute
treuil de remorquage - Appareil servant à enrouler et à arrimer la touée. remorquage
UTC - temps universel coordonné
VHF - très haute fréquence
o - degré(s)


[1]  Voir l'annexe C pour la signification des sigles et abréviations, et les définitions.

[2]  Les unités de mesure dans le présent rapport sont conformes aux normes de l'Organisation maritime internationale (OMI) ou, à défaut de telles normes, elles sont exprimées selon le système international (SI) d'unités.

[3]  Toutes les heures sont exprimées en HNP (temps universel coordonné (UTC) moins huit heures), sauf indication contraire.