Marine Investigation Report M95C0118

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Damage
to the bulk carrier "KAPITONAS MESCERIAKOV"
on Lac St. François, Quebec
21 December 1995

Summary

At approximately 1200 on 21 December 1995, the "KAPITONAS MESCERIAKOV" was transiting Lac St. François, Quebec, in restricted visibility and severe ice conditions for the time of year. Abreast of buoys D6 and D4, the ice field south of the channel was observed to be moving northward and closing the track of open water left by the other vessels transiting through the area. The "KAPITONAS MESCERIAKOV", driven toward the north edge of the channel by the ice field, tried unsuccessfully to counteract the drift; however, the vessel eventually did return to the middle of the channel. Subsequently, an ingress of water was discovered in the No. 3 port double-bottom tank. Although the crew did not feel any jolt and the vessel did not strike the bottom, the crack in the tank appears to have occurred when the vessel was driven toward the north edge of the channel by the ice. There were no injuries or pollution as a result of this occurrence.

Factual Information

Particulars of the Vessel

Name "KAPITONAS MESCERIAKOV"
Port of Registry Klaipeda, Lithuania
Flag Lithuanian
Official Number 7733473
Type Bulk carrier
Gross Tonnage 9, 965
Length 146 m
Draught Forward: 7.95 m Aft: 7.83 m
Cargo 9,978 metric tonnes of potassium
Built 1978, Russia
Propulsion One B&W engine, 4,928 kW
Crew 20
Owners Lithuanian Shipping Company Klaipeda, Lithuania

At daybreak on the morning of 21 December 1995, the "KAPITONAS MESCERIAKOV", under the conduct of two pilots, departed the berthing wall downstream of the Snell Lock, bound for Ireland. In an area of open water abreast of the Saint-Zotique anchorage, the vessel reduced speed to pass safely with an upbound vessel. After passing the vessel, the "KAPITONAS MESCERIAKOV" resumed her course and, at a speed of about eight knots, entered a section of the channel between the Saint-Zotique anchorage and the Beauharnois Canal. The bridge watch noticed that the ice field to the south had moved northward and was closing the track of open water left by preceding vessels.

The pressure of the ice caused the vessel to veer constantly to port. To counteract this effect, the pilots repeatedly had to correct the vessel's course to starboard. Despite the course corrections, it was impossible to keep the vessel in the middle of the channel. She drifted on a course that took her very close to the north edge of the channel abreast of buoy D4. The crew did not feel any abnormal jolt or vibration, but, when the vessel had left the ice zone and was transiting the Beauharnois Canal, the crew noticed that the vessel had a list to port. Soundings indicated that the No. 3 port double-bottom tank was full of water. Shortly thereafter, a crack was found in the turn of the bilge in way of the No. 3 port double-bottom tank.

Analysis

The heavy snow and intense cold of November and December 1995 promoted the formation of ice in the St. Lawrence Seaway. At the time of this occurrence, the concentration of ice was estimated at 10/10 grey ice. According to the Sailing Directions for the Great Lakes, navigation is considered difficult where the ice concentration is 7/10 to 9/10. The current in the Lac St. François channel sets fair with the channel, and its rate increases to two knots upstream of the entrance to the Beauharnois Canal. The weather conditions recorded on board the vessel show that visibility was restricted by snow. The south-west wind was blowing at between 25 and 35 knots, and the air temperature was minus 8C.

Once she had entered the section of the channel between the Saint-Zotique anchorage and the Beauharnois Canal, the "KAPITONAS MESCERIAKOV" was no longer able to return to the Saint-Zotique anchorage or to stop because of the ice.

The position of the "KAPITONAS MESCERIAKOV" and the prevailing environmental conditions made it very difficult to prevent the vessel from drifting toward the north edge of the channel.

Findings

  1. The vessel was sailing in restricted visibility in severe ice conditions.
  2. The ice field to the south of the Lac St. François channel was pushed northward by the winds.
  3. Once she had entered the channel, the vessel was no longer able to return to the Saint-Zotique anchorage or to stop.
  4. The bridge watch tried to counteract the drift to keep the vessel in the middle of the channel.
  5. The vessel appears to have struck the north edge of the channel abreast of buoy D4, causing a crack in the No. 3 port double-bottom tank.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The "KAPITONAS MESCERIAKOV" sustained damage when she was driven toward the north edge of the channel by ice. The pressure exerted by the ice on the sides of the hull hampered the vessel's efforts to return to the middle of the channel.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 14 August 1996.

Rapport d'enquête maritime M95C0118

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Avaries
au vraquier «KAPITONAS MESCERIAKOV»
sur le lac Saint-François (Québec)
21 décembre 1995

Résumé

Le 21 décembre 1995, vers 12 h, le «KAPITONAS MESCERIAKOV» transite sur le lac Saint-François (Québec) par visibilité réduite et dans des conditions de glace graves pour la période de l'année. À la hauteur des bouées D6 et D4, on constate que le champ de glace situé au sud du chenal se déplace vers le nord fermant ainsi le sillage en eau libre laissé par les autres navires qui transitent dans le secteur. Le «KAPITONAS MESCERIAKOV», drossé par le champ de glace vers la bordure nord du chenal, tente sans succès de contrecarrer cette dérive; toutefois, le navire revient éventuellement au centre du chenal. Par la suite, on découvre une voie d'eau dans la citerne no 3 du double-fond bâbord. L'équipage n'a ressenti aucune secousse et le navire n'a subi aucun talonnage, mais il semble que la fissure dans la citerne se soit produite lorsque le navire a été drossé vers la bordure nord du chenal par les glaces. Cet événement n'a fait ni blessé ni pollution.

Autres renseignements de base

Fiche technique du navire

Nom « KAPITONAS MESCERIAKOV »
Port d'immatriculation Klaipeda, Lituanie
Pavillon Lituanien
Numéro officiel 7733473
Genre Vraquier
Jauge brute 9 965 tonneaux
Longueur 146 m
Tirant d'eau Avant : 7,95 m
Arrière : 7,83 m
Cargaison 9 978 tonnes métriques de potasse
Construction 1978, Russie
Propulsion Un moteur B&W de 4 928 kW
Équipage 20
Propriétaires Lithuanian Shipping Company
Klaipeda, Lituanie

Au lever du jour le 21 décembre 1995, sous la conduite de deux pilotes, le «KAPITONAS MESCERIAKOV» appareille du mur d'attente en aval de l'écluse Snell à destination de l'Irlande. Dans un secteur d'eau libre à la hauteur du mouillage de Saint-Zotique, le navire réduit sa vitesse pour effectuer une rencontre en toute sécurité avec un navire montant. Après cette rencontre, le navire reprend sa route et file environ huit noeuds pour s'engager dans une section du chenal entre le mouillage de Saint-Zotique et le canal de Beauharnois. Le personnel navigant s'aperçoit que le champ de glace situé au sud s'est déplacé vers le nord refermant ainsi le sillage en eau libre laissé par les navires précédants.

Sous la pression des glaces, le navire cherche constamment à abattre vers la gauche. Pour contrecarrer cet effet, les pilotes doivent corriger le cap du navire vers la droite à plusieurs reprises. Malgré les corrections de cap, il n'est pas possible de maintenir le navire au centre du chenal. Le navire dérive sur une route qui l'amène tout près de la bordure nord du chenal à la hauteur de la bouée D4. L'équipage ne ressent aucune secousse ou vibration anormales. Toutefois, lorsque le navire sort de cette zone de glace et qu'il navigue dans le canal de Beauharnois, les membres de l'équipage remarquent que le navire gîte sur bâbord. Les sondages indiquent que la citerne no 3 du double-fond bâbord est pleine d'eau. Peu après, on constate qu'il y a une fissure dans l'arrondi de bouchain au droit de la citerne no 3 du double-fond bâbord.

Analyse

La neige abondante et le froid intense de novembre et décembre 1995 ont favorisé la formation de glace dans la voie maritime du Saint-Laurent. Au moment de l'événement à l'étude, la concentration de glace a été estimée à 10/10 de glace grise. Selon les Instructions nautiques pour les Grands Lacs, on considère que la navigation est difficile lorsque la concentration de glace est de 7/10 à 9/10. Le courant dans le chenal du lac Saint-François porte dans l'axe du chenal et sa vitesse augmente à deux noeuds en amont de l'entrée du canal de Beauharnois. Les conditions météorologiques enregistrées à bord du navire indiquent que la visibilité était réduite par la neige. Le vent soufflait du sud-ouest de 25 à 35 noeuds et la température de l'air était de moins 8 C.

Après s'être engagé dans la section du chenal entre le mouillage de Saint-Zotique et le canal de Beauharnois, le navire ne pouvait plus revenir vers le mouillage de Saint-Zotique ou s'arrêter à cause des glaces.

En raison de la position du «KAPITONAS MESCERIAKOV» et des conditions environnementales qui prévalaient, la dérive du navire vers la bordure nord du chenal devenait très difficile à éviter.

Conclusions

  1. Le navire naviguait par visibilité réduite dans des conditions de glace graves.
  2. Le champ de glace situé au sud du chenal du lac Saint-François s'est déplacé vers le nord sous l'effet des vents.
  3. Une fois engagé dans le chenal, le navire ne pouvait plus revenir vers le mouillage de Saint-Zotique ou s'arrêter.
  4. Le personnel navigant a tenté de contrecarrer la dérive pour maintenir le navire au centre du chenal.
  5. Il semble que le navire ait heurté la bordure nord du chenal à la hauteur de la bouée D4, causant une fissure dans la citerne no 3 du double-fond bâbord.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Le «KAPITONAS MESCERIAKOV» a subi des avaries lorsqu'il a été drossé par la glace vers la bordure nord du chenal. La pression exerçée par les glaces sur les parois de la coque a nui aux manoeuvres du navire pour revenir vers le centre du chenal.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 14 août 1996 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président, Benoît Bouchard, et des membres Maurice Harquail et W.A. Tadros.