Marine Investigation Report M95L0001

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View report in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file; find out more on our help page.

Grounding of the tanker "FIFI"
on the Battures de Manicouagan, Quebec
21 January 1995

SUMMARY

On 21 January 1995, the "FIFI" was drifting in the bay Comeau, Quebec, waiting for pilots before proceeding up the St. Lawrence. Radar and a small-scale chart were being used to monitor the vessel's position. The current drove the vessel on to the Battures de Manicouagan, Quebec.

Factual Information

Particulars of the Vessel

Name "FIFI"
Port of Registry Grimstad, Norway
Flag Norwegian
Official Number 8920361
Type Tanker
Gross Tonnage 21,142
Length 164.71 m
Draught Forward: 10.95 m
Aft: 11.10 m
Built 1993, Kherson, Ukraine
Propulsion Diesel B&W, 7,943 kW, driving a single fixed-pitch propeller.
Owners Fram Tankers VII Ltd
Monrovia, Liberia

On 21 January 1995, the tanker "FIFI" was transiting on the St. Lawrence River after a transatlantic voyage, bound for Montreal, Quebec, with a load of 25,000 metric tonnes of naphtha. At about 1000(1), the vessel was instructed to go to bay Comeau to take two St. Lawrence pilots on board. The pilots normally board vessels at Les Escoumins, Quebec, but because of the severe ice conditions at the pilot station, the pilot boats could not be used. The vessel had only British Admiralty chart No. 307, to a scale of 1:225,000, on board. At 1338, the wind was from the north-east at about 20 knots, and the current was south-westerly. The vessel was put on a heading of 090(T) and the main engine was stopped in approximate position 4913.1'N, 06804.3'W, to await the arrival of the pilots, who were expected at 1500. Before leaving the wheel-house, the master instructed the officer of the watch to keep the vessel on a heading of 090(T) and to use the engine if the vessel drifted toward the shoal. The vessel's position was checked a few times by radar, but it was not indicated on the chart. The automatic radar plotting aid (ARPA) was not used.

At 1411, the vessel suddenly swung to starboard. The engine was used in order to bring the vessel back on the right heading and move her away from the shoal. The manoeuvre failed, since the "FIFI" had already run aground in position 4912.6'N, 06805.5'W. The vessel was refloated the next day at about 1825 using two tugs and taking advantage of high tide. The "FIFI" was undamaged, and no injuries or pollution were reported as a result of this occurrence.

Analysis

Upon reaching the bay Comeau, the vessel was put on a heading of 090 so that she could be moved away from the shoal to the west simply by starting the engine in the "ahead" mode if the vessel moved too close to the shoal. Although the master had not specifically warned the officer of the watch that a south-westerly current was driving the vessel toward the Battures de Manicouagan, the officer reported that he was aware that there was such a current in the bay. The Sailing Directions published by the Canadian Hydrographic Service indicate that this tidal current moves at an average speed of two knots along the Battures de Manicouagan.

Studies have shown that assessment of a situation takes place on three different levels:

  • First, the operator must perceive the elements of the situation. That information can come from various sources, including charts.
  • Second, the operator must assimilate this information, in other words, he must form a coherent picture of the situation in his short-term memory.
  • Finally, the operator must project this information into the future, by going beyond the situation; in the area of safety, this is the ultimate objective.

The three levels involve various information-processing steps which may present deficiencies and may result in an incomplete or inaccurate assessment of the situation. Even if the operator succeeds in remedying those deficiencies, his assessment of the immediate situation will simply constitute a snapshot of the situation at a given point in time.

When the "FIFI" left port, she was not expecting to put in at the bay Comeau, and, consequently, she did not have on board a large-scale chart appropriate for navigating along that shoreline. On the chart used while waiting for the pilots, one nautical mile is represented by a distance of about 8 mm, it was therefore not possible to effectively visualize the movement of the vessel over short distances. The "FIFI" was about one nautical mile east of the shoal when the engine was stopped. She ran aground about 33 minutes later. During that time, the officer of the watch did not succeed in fully assessing the situation, and he did not realize that the vessel was about to run aground. Using the ARPA would have increased the chances of effectively assessing the vessel's drift speed.

Findings

  1. The navigating personnel was aware that there was a current in the bay.
  2. The small-scale chart used was not appropriate for coastal navigation.
  3. The officer of the watch did not succeed in fully assessing the situation.
  4. The vessel drifted toward the shoal without the drift speed being correctly assessed.
  5. The radar's automatic radar plotting aid (ARPA) was not used.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The tanker "FIFI" was driven aground by the current around the Battures de Manicouagan because the drift was not correctly assessed. The small-scale chart used made it difficult to assess the drift, and the radar's automatic radar plotting aid (ARPA) was not used.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, John W. Stants, and members   Zita Brunet and Hugh MacNeil, authorized the release of this report on 10 May 1995.


1. All times are EST (Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) minus five hours) unless otherwise stated.

Rapport d'enquête maritime M95L0001

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Échouement
du pétrolier «FIFI»
sur les battures de Manicouagan (Québec)
21 janvier 1995

Résumé

Le 21 janvier 1995, le «FIFI» était à la dérive dans la baie Comeau (Québec) en attente de pilotes pour remonter le Saint-Laurent. On se référait au radar et à une carte à petite échelle pour contrôler la position du navire. Le courant a drossé le navire sur les battures de Manicouagan (Québec).

Autres renseignements factuels

Fiche technique du navire

Nom « FIFI »
Port d'immatriculation Grimstad, Norvège
Pavillon Norvégien
Numéro officiel 8920361
Genre Pétrolier
Jauge brute 21 142 tonneaux
Longueur 164,71 m
Tirant d'eau Avant : 10,95 m
Arrière : 11,10 m
Construction 1993, Kherson, Ukraine
Propulsion Diesel B&W, 7 943 kW, entraînant une hélice à pas fixe.
Propriétaires Fram Tankers VII Ltd
Monrovia, Liberia

Le 21 janvier 1995, le pétrolier «FIFI» faisait route sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent après avoir traversé l'Atlantique à destination de Montréal (Québec) avec un chargement de 25 000 tonnes métriques de naphta. Vers 10 h[1], on a informé le navire qu'il devait se rendre dans la baie Comeau pour prendre deux pilotes du Saint-Laurent à son bord. Les pilotes embarquent habituellement à Les Escoumins (Québec), mais les graves conditions de glace à la station de pilotage interdisaient l'utilisation des bateaux pilotes. Le navire avait seulement la carte de l'Amirauté britannique no 307, à l'échelle de 1:225 000, à bord. À 13 h 38, le vent soufflait du nord-est à environ 20 noeuds et le courant portait au sud-ouest. On a mis le navire sur un cap au 090  (V) et la machine principale a été stoppée à la position approximative de 4913,1'N, 06804,3'W, pour attendre l'arrivée des pilotes prévue pour 15 h. Avant de quitter la timonerie, le capitaine a demandé à l'officier de quart de garder le navire sur un cap au 090 (V) et d'utiliser la machine si le navire se mettait à dériver vers la batture. On a vérifié la position du navire à quelques reprises à l'aide du radar, mais la position n'a pas été pointée sur la carte. L'aide au pointage radar automatique (APRA) n'a pas été utilisée.

À 14 h 11, le navire a soudainement abattu sur tribord. On a alors utilisé la machine en vue de redresser le navire et de l'éloigner de la batture. La manoeuvre a été inefficace puisque le «FIFI» était déjà échoué à la position 4912,6'N, 06805,5'W. Le navire a été renfloué le lendemain vers 18 h 25 avec l'aide de deux remorqueurs et à la faveur de la marée haute. Le «FIFI» n'a subi aucune avarie et on n'a signalé aucun blessé ni aucune pollution par suite de cet événement.

Analyse

À son arrivée dans la baie Comeau, le navire a été mis sur un cap au 090 de façon à permettre de l'éloigner de la batture située à l'ouest par simple démarrage de la machine en marche avant si celui-ci s'en approchait trop. Bien que le capitaine n'ait pas spécifiquement averti l'officier de quart qu'un courant portant au sud-ouest drossait le navire vers la batture de Manicouagan, l'officier a déclaré qu'il savait qu'il y avait un tel courant dans la baie. Les Instructions nautiques publiées par le Service hydrographique du Canada indiquent que ce courant de marée a une vitesse moyenne d'environ deux noeuds le long des battures de Manicouagan.

Des études ont déterminé que l'évaluation d'une situation s'effectue à trois niveaux différents :

  • Premièrement, l'opérateur doit percevoir les éléments de la situation. Pour ce faire, on peut se servir de divers outils, dont les cartes.
  • Ensuite, l'opérateur doit intégrer cette information, c'est-à-dire qu'il doit former une vue cohérente de la situation actuelle dans sa mémoire immédiate.
  • Finalement, l'opérateur doit projeter cette information dans l'avenir, c'est-à-dire qu'il doit aller au-delà de la situation immédiate, ce qui, sur le plan de la sécurité, constitue l'objectif final.

Ces trois niveaux comportent divers stades de traitement de l'information qui peuvent présenter des lacunes et aboutir à une évaluation incomplète ou inexacte de la situation. Même si l'opérateur réussit à combler ces lacunes, son évaluation de la situation immédiate ne constitue qu'une photographie de sa situation à un moment donné.

L'escale du «FIFI» dans la baie Comeau n'était pas prévue au départ du navire, il n'y avait donc pas à bord de carte à grande échelle appropriée à la navigation près de cette côte. Sur la carte utilisée lors de l'attente des pilotes, un mille marin est représenté par une distance d'environ 8 mm, ce qui ne permettait pas de visualiser efficacement les déplacements du navire sur de courtes distances. Le «FIFI» se trouvait à environ un mille marin à l'est de la batture lorsque la machine a été stoppée. Il s'est échoué environ 33 minutes plus tard. Durant ce temps, l'officier de quart n'a pas réussi à évaluer complètement la situation et il ne s'est pas rendu compte que le navire était sur le point de s'échouer. L'utilisation de l'APRA du radar aurait augmenté les chances d'évaluer efficacement la vitesse à laquelle le navire dérivait.

Conclusions

  1. Le personnel navigant savait qu'il y avait du courant dans la baie.
  2. On se référait à une carte à petite échelle qui n'était pas appropriée à la navigation côtière.
  3. L'officier de quart n'a pas réussi à évaluer complètement la situation.
  4. Le navire a dérivé en direction des battures sans qu'on évalue correctement la vitesse à laquelle il dérivait.
  5. L'aide au pointage radar automatique (APRA) du radar n'a pas été utilisée.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Le pétrolier «FIFI» s'est échoué sous l'effet du courant en bordure des battures de Manicouagan parce qu'on n'a pas évalué correctement la dérive. On se référait à une carte à petite échelle qui rendait difficile l'évaluation de la dérive, et l'aide au pointage radar automatique (APRA) du radar n'a pas été utilisée.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 10 mai 1995 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président, John W. Stants, et des membres Zita Brunet et Hugh MacNeil.


[1]  Toutes les heures sont exprimées en HNE (temps universel coordonné (UTC) moins cinq heures), sauf indication contraire.