Marine Investigation Report M95L0003

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Dangerous Good Spill
in No. 1 Hold of the Cypriot-flag
Container Ship "MOR U.K."
in the North Atlantic
16 February 1995

Summary

While the "MOR U.K." was crossing the Atlantic, the container ship sailed into adverse weather conditions. The rolling, pitching, heaving and pounding moments to which the vessel was subjected stressed the metal support structure of a tank container to the limit of its tensile strength. As a result of the support structure bending against the tank, dangerous and corrosive goods leaked out and spilled into No. 1 hold. These goods were discharged into the sea with the permission of the Canadian Coast Guard. No one appears to have been incapacitated as a result of this spill.

Factual Information

Particulars of the Vessel

Name "MOR U.K."
Port of Registry Limassol, Cyprus
Flag Cypriot
Official Number 7614367
Type Container ship
Gross Tonnage 17,304
Length 169.75 m
Draught Forward: 6.5 m
Aft: 8.4 m
Built 1979, VEB Warnowwerft
Warnemuende, Germany
Propulsion One Sulzer engine developing 12,799 kW, driving a single fixed-pitch propeller
Owners Uniship Shipping & Trading S.A. Piraeus, Greece

On 16 February 1995, the container ship "MOR U.K.", laden with containers, was under way in the North Atlantic bound for Montreal, Quebec. During the crossing, the vessel encountered a storm with 55-knot westerly winds blowing for two days. The vessel sailed westward head on to the wind at an estimated speed of 10 knots. The bow pounded violently against the waves and vibrations were felt throughout the ship.

During a routine inspection in No. 1 hold, a leak was discovered from tank container No. RMCU 454 274 (0) holding 25,576 kg of BORINO. This product has the property of reacting chemically with metals to release hydrogen. The girders forming the metal support structure framing the tank were bent and the tap was damaged. The crew tried to staunch the leak, but was only partly successful. Foam was noticed in the bilges.

On 18 February 1995, the master requested permission from the Canadian authorities to discharge into the sea an estimated one and a half tonnes of the product which had spilled into the hold. Permission was granted, and pumping was done at a low flow rate from position 4651.6'N, 04407'W. The quantity of BORINO remaining in the container was checked on arrival at destination, and it was concluded that approximately eight tonnes of product had been discharged into the sea.

Analysis

The tank container was built in June 1993 to US Department of Transport (US DOT) specification IM 101. Although the International Maritime Dangerous Goods (IMDG) Regulations applied at the time of the occurrence, the tank had been certificated to meet 49CFR, and, therefore, should also have met those requirements. The IMDG vertical loading requirement is 2W (where W represents the weight of the tank, its fittings and its contents) as compared with the 49CFR which states that the calculated stress of the tank support structure must not exceed 80 per cent of its tensile strength when the tank is subjected to a vertical inertial load factor of 3W.

If the tank had been loaded to its maximum permissible weight of 29,030 kg, excluding the weight of the frame, a vertical inertial load factor of between 3.25 and 3.5W would have been required to cause this failure. The actual tank weighed somewhat less at 28,246 kg and would have required a slightly higher vertical inertial load factor of 3.3 to 3.6W to fail. However, because of the location of the container in the forward hold, the rough seas experienced during the storm and the speed of the ship, the container would have been subjected to multiple high impact loads because of the ship's pitching and pounding.

Further, given that containers are free to move within their guides, and that only one container was stacked on top of the failed container, it is possible that the failed container was able to move vertically from its footings while the vessel was pitching and pounding, causing significant vertical impact loads.

The failed container was filled to 77 per cent of its capacity. As per the IM 101 requirements, tanks containing between 20 and 80 per cent of their capacity should not be offered for transport by ship, and, therefore, the failed container was marginally underfilled. This could have resulted in liquid surge, shifting the centre of gravity to one end. This effect, combined with vertical acceleration, can significantly increase the vertical loads at one end. The IMDG Code has a similar requirement, although the exact ullage allowance must be determined using a formula which takes into account the temperatures and expansion characteristics of the contents.

The damage pattern on the container was consistent with the damage having occurred as a result of operational loads during a storm at sea. However, the possibility exists that the longitudinal I-beams may have been slightly buckled or otherwise damaged prior to loading. If a buckle was present on the longitudinal I-beam prior to loading aboard the ship, the load required to cause the type of failure observed would have been much less than on an undamaged frame.

To reduce the damage resulting from handling in the railway transportation system, and to facilitate observation of such damage, the container manufacturer has instituted a 36-ton upgrade of the unit by welding diagonal braces in two additional holes in the web, stiffening the latter and increasing its buckling strength. To date, more than 46 per cent of the 1,448 tank containers produced in the 30-ton series have been upgraded to the 36-ton level. At this time, there has been no reported failure of the new 36,000 kg-rated tank container frame.

The chemical that spilled into the No. 1 hold of the "MOR U.K." is listed in the IMDG Code published by the International Maritime Organization (IMO). Its properties are given under numerical index UN No. 1760. Its safety data sheet indicates that it is a Class 8 product, which means it is corrosive. This solution is composed of sodium borohydride, sodium hydroxide and water, and its properties are to react chemically when exposed to metals to release hydrogen.

Findings

  1. The vessel sailed westward head on to the wind at an estimated speed of 10 knots.
  2. A spill of a corrosive chemical occurred in No. 1 hold when the ship encountered adverse weather conditions.
  3. The vessel had to discharge an estimated eight tonnes of the chemical into the sea, with the permission of the Canadian Coast Guard, in order to stop the formation of hydrogen in the holds, as it might have caused an explosion.
  4. If the tank had been loaded to its maximum permissible weight of 29,030 kg, excluding the weight of the frame, a vertical inertial load factor of between 3.25 and 3.5W would have been required to cause this failure.
  5. The metal support structure of the tank container was damaged by the acceleration forces generated by the heaving and pounding of the vessel in the storm.
  6. Established norms require that a container be filled to 80 per cent of its capacity for shipment by sea. At 77 per cent of its capacity, the failed container was marginally underfilled.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The failure of the metal support structure of the tank container was probably caused by the combination of several factors, including the storage location of the containers in the forward hold, the severe storm conditions, the speed of the ship during the storm, the marginal ullage conditions, and possible pre-loading damage.

Action Taken

Following this occurrence, Marine Safety Information Letter No. 4/95 and TSB Engineering Laboratory Report LP 32/95 on the structural analysis of the tank container were forwarded to Transport Canada. In addition, TC-Marine was apprised, via Marine Safety Advisory No. 08/96, of the mode of failure of the container and of the adequacy of present inspection procedures to account for such failures.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, John W. Stants, and members Zita Brunet and Maurice Harquail, authorized the release of this report on 13 June 1996.

Damage to the structure of the tank container

Damage to the structure of the tank container.

Damage to the tap
Damage to the tap.

General view of the tank container
General view of the tank container.

Different container located in the same hold and carrying the same product; undamaged
Different container located in the same hold and carrying the same product; undamaged.

Information on the tank container
Information on the tank container.

Damage to the tank container
Damage to the tank container.

Rapport d'enquête maritime M95L0003

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Déversement de marchandise dangereuse
dans la cale no 1
du porte-conteneurs cypriote «MOR U.K.»
dans l'Atlantique Nord
16 février 1995

Résumé

Au cours de sa traversée de l'Atlantique, le «MOR U.K.» a navigué dans des conditions météorologiques difficiles. Les périodes de roulis, de tangage, de pilonnement et de martèlement subies par le navire ont poussé à la limite la résistance à la traction du bâti métallique d'un conteneur-citerne. Le gauchissement du bâti contre la citerne a entraîné des fuites de marchandises dangereuses et corrosives qui se sont déversées dans la cale no 1. Ces matières ont été vidangées en mer après que la Garde côtière canadienne en ait donné l'autorisation. Personne ne semble avoir souffert des suites de ce déversement.

Autres renseignements factuels

Fiche technique du navire

Nom « MOR U.K. »
Port d'immatriculation Limassol, Chypre
Pavillon Cypriote
Numéro officiel 7614367
Genre Porte-conteneurs
Jauge brute 17 304 tonneaux
Longueur 169,75 m
Tirant d'eau Avant : 6,5 m
Arrière : 8,4 m
Construction 1979, VEB Warnowwerft
Warnemuende, Allemagne
Propulsion Un moteur Sulzer développant 12 799 kW, entraînant une hélice à pas fixe
Propriétaires Uniship Shipping & Trading S.A.
Le Pirée, Grèce

Le 16 février 1995, le porte-conteneurs «MOR U.K.», chargé de conteneurs, fait route dans l'Atlantique Nord en direction de Montréal (Québec). Durant la traversée, le navire affronte une tempête dont les vents d'ouest, de 55 noeuds, soufflent pendant deux jours. Le navire, debout au vent, fait route vers l'ouest à une vitesse estimée à 10 noeuds. L'avant du navire heurte violemment contre les lames et des vibrations se font ressentir sur tout le navire.

Au cours d'une inspection de routine dans la cale no 1, on découvre une fuite provenant du conteneur-citerne no RMCU 454 274 (0), qui contient 25 576 kg de BORINO; ce produit a comme particularité de réagir chimiquement avec les métaux et de libérer de l'hydrogène. Les poutres, qui font partie du bâti métallique et qui encadrent la citerne, sont gauchies et le robinet est endommagé. L'équipage tente de colmater la fuite, mais n'y arrive que partiellement. On remarque la présence de mousse dans les bouchains.

Le 18 février 1995, le capitaine demande aux autorités canadiennes l'autorisation de vidanger à la mer une quantité estimée à une tonne et demie du produit qui s'est déversé dans la cale. La permission lui est accordée et le pompage se fait à faible débit, à partir de la position 4651.6'N par 04407'W. Une fois rendu à destination, on vérifie la quantité de BORINO qui reste dans le conteneur et on conclut qu'environ huit tonnes de produit ont été vidangées à la mer.

Analyse

Le conteneur-citerne a été construit en juin 1993 selon les spécifications IM 101 du département des transports américain (US DOT). Bien que le règlement du Code maritime international des marchandises dangereuses (IMDG) s'appliquait au moment de l'événement à l'étude, la citerne avait reçu un certificat de conformité avec la norme 49CFR; elle devait donc répondre aux exigences de cette norme également. L'exigence de l'IMDG en ce qui concerne la charge verticale est de 2W (W représentant le poids de la citerne, de ses fixations et de son contenu), alors que selon la norme 49CFR, la traction calculée du bâti de la citerne ne doit pas excéder 80 p. 100 de sa résistance à la traction, lorsque celui-ci est soumis à un facteur de charge verticale de 3W.

Si la citerne avait été remplie jusqu'à son poids maximal permis de 29 030 kg, sans compter le poids du bâti, il aurait fallu un facteur de charge verticale de 3,25 à 3,5W pour entraîner cette rupture. La citerne endommagée pesait un peu moins de 28 246 kg et il aurait fallu un facteur de charge verticale un peu plus élevé, soit de 3,3 à 3,6W, pour qu'elle se rompe. Toutefois, étant donné qu'il se trouvait dans la cale avant, que la mer était démontée pendant la tempête et compte tenu de la vitesse du navire, le conteneur a dû être soumis à d'importantes charges verticales répétées sous l'effet du tangage et du martèlement du navire.

En outre, comme les conteneurs peuvent se déplacer entre leurs guides et comme il n'y avait qu'un seul autre conteneur sur le conteneur endommagé, il est possible que ce dernier ait pu se déplacer de haut en bas sous l'effet du tangage et du martèlement du navire, ce qui l'aurait soumis à des charges verticales considérables.

Le conteneur endommagé était rempli à 77 p. 100 de sa capacité. En vertu des exigences de l'IM 101, les citernes qui ne sont remplies que de 20 à 80 p. 100 de leur capacité ne devraient pas être expédiées par bateau; le conteneur endommagé n'était donc pas tout à fait assez rempli. Ceci a pu permettre au liquide de se déplacer brusquement, déplaçant ainsi le centre de gravité vers une des extrémités de la citerne. Cet effet, combiné à une force d'accélération verticale, peut augmenter considérablement la charge verticale qui s'exerce à une extrémité du conteneur. L'exigence du Code IMDG en la matière est semblable quoique, pour déterminer précisément le creux permis, il faille se servir d'une formule qui tient compte des températures et des propriétés d'expansion du produit contenu dans la citerne.

D'après la configuration des dommages subis par le conteneur, il est plausible que le conteneur ait été endommagé par suite de charges s'étant exercées sur lui pendant la tempête en mer. Toutefois, il se peut également que les poutres en I horizontables étaient déjà légèrement gauchies ou endommagées avant que le conteneur soit chargé à bord du navire. Si tel était le cas, il aurait fallu, pour entraîner la rupture observée, une force beaucoup moindre que si le bâti était intact.

Afin de diminuer les dommages subis par les conteneurs-citernes pendant la manutention pour le transport par train et pour permettre de détecter plus facilement de tels dommages, le fabricant a augmenté la résistance de ces conteneurs à 36 tonnes en y soudant des contrefiches dans deux trous supplémentaires percés dans l'âme des poutres en I pour les renforcer et en augmenter la résistance au flambage. À ce jour, la résistance de plus de 46 p. 100 des 1 448 conteneurs-citernes de la série des 30 tonnes a été augmentée à 36 tonnes. Aucune rupture de ces bâtis améliorés d'une résistance nominale de 36 000 kg n'a encore été signalée.

Le produit chimique qui s'est déversé dans la cale no 1 du

«MOR U.K.» est répertorié dans le Code IMDG, publié par l'Organisation maritime internationale (OMI). On y retrouve ses caractéristiques sous l'index numérique no ONU 1760. Sa fiche de sécurité indique qu'il est de classe 8, ce qui le place parmi les produits corrosifs. Cette solution est composée de borohydride de sodium, d'hydroxyde de sodium et d'eau; ses propriétés sont de réagir chimiquement quand elle est exposée aux métaux et de libérer de l'hydrogène.

Conclusions

  1. Le navire, debout au vent, a fait route vers l'ouest à une vitesse estimée à 10 noeuds.
  2. Un déversement de produit chimique corrosif s'est produit dans la cale no 1, lorsque le navire a affronté des conditions météorologiques difficiles.
  3. Le navire a dû vidanger une quantité de produit chimique estimée à huit tonnes à la mer, avec l'autorisation de la Garde côtière canadienne, pour arrêter la formation, dans les cales, d'hydrogène pouvant causer une explosion.
  4. Si la citerne avait été remplie jusqu'à son poids maximal permis de 29 030 kg, sans compter le poids du bâti, il aurait fallu, pour entraîner cette rupture, un facteur de charge verticale de 3,25 à 3,5W.
  5. Le bâti métallique du conteneur-citerne a été endommagé par les forces d'accélération générées par les pilonnements et les martèlements du navire dans la tempête.
  6. En vertu des normes établies, un conteneur doit être rempli à 80 p. 100 de sa capacité pour être expédié par bateau. Le conteneur endommagé n'était pas tout à fait assez rempli, puisqu'il n'était rempli qu'à 77 p. 100 de sa capacité.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

La rupture du bâti métallique du conteneur-citerne est probablement attribuable à plusieurs facteurs, notamment le fait que les conteneurs se trouvaient dans la cale avant, les conditions de violentes tempêtes, la vitesse du navire dans la tempête, le creux de la citerne qui dépassait légèrement les normes, et la possibilité que le bâti était déjà endommagé avant que le conteneur ne soit chargé à bord du navire.

Mesures prises

À la suite de cet événement, la lettre d'information sur la sécurité maritime no 4/95 et le rapport du laboratoire technique du BST no LP 32/95 sur l'analyse structurelle du conteneur-citerne ont été transmis à Transports Canada. En outre, l'avis de sécurité maritime no 8/96 portant sur le mode de défaillance du conteneur et sur des lacunes dans les procédures actuelles d'inspection pour tenir compte de telles ruptures a été envoyé à TC-Marine.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 13 juin 1996 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président, John W. Stants, et des membres Zita Brunet et Maurice Harquail.

Avaries au bâti du conteneur-citerne

Avaries au bâti du conteneur-citerne.

Avaries au robinet
Avaries au robinet.

Vue générale du conteneur-citerne
Vue générale du conteneur-citerne.

Conteneur différent situé dans la même cale et transportant la même marchandise; aucune avarie
Conteneur différent situé dans la même cale et transportant la même marchandise; aucune avarie.

Inscriptions sur le conteneur-citerne
Inscriptions sur le conteneur-citerne.

Avaries au conteneur-citerne.
Avaries au conteneur-citerne.