Marine Investigation Report M95L0106

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View report in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file; find out more on our help page.

Incident on Board
the ore carrier "FERBEC"
in the approaches to the Pointe des Ormes pilot station
St. Lawrence River, Quebec
19 July 1995

Summary

On 19 July 1995, the "FERBEC" was transiting Lac Saint-Pierre, bound for the pilot station at Pointe des Ormes, Quebec. When an oil tanker passed the vessel, the master came up to the bridge to ask why the vessel's speed had been reduced. A discussion punctuated by offensive remarks ensued between the master and the pilot. It reached a climax when the master told the pilot that the main engine could not be stopped because it was operating on heavy oil. Eventually, the scheduled pilot change took place without the main engine having to be stopped, and without the vessel coming into a close-quarters situation with the oil tanker.

Other Factual Information

Particulars of the Vessel

Name "FERBEC"
Official Number 371560
Port of Registry Montreal, Quebec
Flag Canadian
Type Ore carrier
Gross Tonnage 33,792
Length 223.27 m
Draught F: 5.45 m A: 7.50 m
Built 1966, Tokyo, Japan
Propulsion Sulzer 2SA, six-cylinder engine, 15,000 kW
Owners CSL Group Inc., Montreal, Quebec

On 19 July 1995, at about 1130(1), a pilot boarded the "FERBEC", which was preparing to depart the wharf at Saint-Joseph-de-Sorel, Quebec. Since the preparations for departure had not been completed, the master invited the pilot to have lunch. The vessel departed for Havre-Saint-Pierre, Quebec, at 1215.

During the crossing of Lac Saint-Pierre, the vessel had to reduce speed when passing buoy S41 to allow a deep-draught oil tanker to overtake. The master, who was in his office, went to the bridge to ask why the speed had been reduced and why the vessel had passed so close to the buoy; he had followed the vessel's progress on the secondary screen of the Electronic Chart Display and Information System (ECDIS) installed in his quarters. Upon his arrival on the bridge, the master and the pilot exchanged some offensive remarks about the reasons for reducing speed. At 1423, the engine speed was increased.

At 1432, the vessel was abeam of Port-Saint-François, Quebec. The master was concerned that the oil tanker that had passed the "FERBEC" was less than 0.5 M ahead, the vessel was close to the pilot station, there was a bridge downstream, and the engine of the "FERBEC" was still set to "full ahead".

When the distance between the two vessels continued to decrease and the speed had still not been reduced, the master suggested that the pilot reduce speed since the main engine could not be stopped because it was operating on heavy oil. At 1435, the speed was reduced. An angry discussion ensued. Fifteen minutes later, the scheduled pilot change took place without the two vessels coming into a close-quarters situation and without the main engine having to be stopped.

The owners of the ore carrier had prepared two information exchange cards for masters and pilots. One is entitled "MASTER/PILOT INFORMATION EXCHANGE CARD" and the other, "MASTER/PILOT CHECK LIST" (DISCUSS WHEN PILOT BOARDS). The first is a copy intended for the pilot; the second is supposed to remain on board the vessel. These cards were not completed for the occurrence voyage. The pilot has 24 years' experience and had piloted the "FERBEC" about twenty times.

The main engine of the "FERBEC", a type 6RD90 Sulzer, is designed to start and operate on heavy oil, if there is enough steam for the preheating period. In fact, the main engine can be operated on heavy oil at all times. It can also be started on diesel fuel and then transferred to heavy oil after a departure. The choice of fuel is left up to the operators on board. The manufacturer's manual No. 30173, entitled Service Instructions for Sulzer Diesel Engines, discusses those options on pages 027-4 and 027-5.

The ahead speed of the main engine of the "FERBEC" can be reduced to 35 RPM in order to change pilots.

Analysis

The International Maritime Organization (IMO) Code of Nautical Procedures and Practices states, in part, that "the master and the pilot shall exchange information regarding navigation procedures, local conditions and the ship's characteristics. The master and the officer of the watch shall co-operate closely with the pilot ...."

The accounts of the master and the pilot differ on a number of points; however, they agree that the conversation, especially toward the end of the voyage, was unpleasant. The master reportedly began listing the vessel's characteristics orally for the pilot, but was interrupted when the pilot stated that he knew the vessel because he had piloted her on a number of occasions. However, the pilot reported that the master never listed the ship's characteristics and, had he done so, the pilot would not have interrupted. The two men were alone at that time.

The Board has published a Safety Study of the Operational Relationship Between Ship Masters/Watchkeeping Officers and Marine Pilots (TSB Report No. SM9501). Part 3.0 of that report summarizes findings which could relate to this occurrence. It discusses, among other issues, the fundamental differences in points of view between ship officers and pilots regarding the need for pilotage and the degree of responsibility of pilots during their assignments on board vessels. These factors, which still prevail in the marine industry, do not promote team spirit on the bridge, and may have had an impact in this incident.

During the crossing of Lac Saint-Pierre, the exchanges between the master and the pilot deteriorated to the point that they were punctuated with offensive remarks. The climax seems to have been reached when the master told the pilot that the main engine could not be stopped. According to several experienced chief engineers, this type of engine can in fact be stopped and manoeuvred when it is operating on heavy oil, although all considered that it is preferable to reduce speed to the minimum rather than to stop the engine. Many pieces of equipment are involved in the process of reversing the direction of rotation of the main engine, and this increases the risk of malfunctions. Changing from heavy oil to diesel fuel, or vice versa, also involves manual adjustments to control the operating temperatures of the fuels.

Even though the pilot had had the con of the "FERBEC" on a number of occasions, he apparently had never realized that the engine remained on heavy oil when the pilot change took place at Pointe des Ormes. He considered this practice unsafe. What was of concern to the master was the speed of approach to the pilot station, given the traffic in the area. Because of past experiences, the master was reluctant to stop the main engine for pilot changes. He had even written a note on the bridge telegraph that the main engine should not be stopped without his permission.

In part 4.4 of the Safety Study (SM9501) report, it is indicated that less than half of the ship officers and pilots who responded to the questionnaires stated that they always worked as a team, and the accident record confirms that bridge procedures and practices frequently reflect an absence of teamwork. The report continues "Bridge Resource Management, the managing of human and technical resources in an operational marine environment, is a function comprising several elements. These include the application of effective communication, the use of briefings and debriefings, and the creation of an environment where all members of the bridge team feel free to question assumptions and actions." As a result, the Board recommended that:

  • "The Department of Transport require that the initial training syllabus for all ship officers be modified to include demonstration of skills in Bridge Resource Management; (M95-09)

that:

  • The Department of Transport require that all ship officers demonstrate skills in Bridge Resource Management before being issued Continued Proficiency Certificates; (M95-10)

and that:

  • The Department of Transport require that all pilots demonstrate skills in Bridge Resource Management before the issuance and/or renewal of a pilotage licence. (M95-11)

In response, the Department of Transport indicated that TC and the pilotage authorities will promote the inclusion of a mandatory requirement for completion of a Bridge Resource Management (BRM) training course for obtaining Certificates of Competency and Continued Proficiency Endorsements (CPE) for both pilots and ship officers. (The General Pilotage Regulations will be amended to impose a requirement for pilots to acquire CPEs to maintain the validity of their original Certificates of Competency.)

Conclusions

  1. During the voyage, the exchanges between the master and the pilot were punctuated with offensive remarks and contributed to a reduction in operational safety.
  2. The differences of opinion between the master and the pilot on matters of pilotage contributed to the deterioration in the exchanges between them, yet good communication is essential for maintaining a safe environment, which is the basis of BRM.
  3. The master's reluctance to stop the main engine for pilot changes may have been well founded, but stopping the main engine would not have jeopardized the safety of the vessel.
  4. The main engine of the "FERBEC" can safely be stopped or changed to astern operation when it is operating on heavy oil, provided that it does not remain stopped too long; the period of time it can be stopped depends on the ambient temperature.
  5. The pilot did not know that the engine of the "FERBEC" remained on heavy oil when pilot changes took place and he considered this practice unsafe.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The exact cause of the altercation between the master and the pilot is hard to pinpoint. However, certain factors, such as the reported exchange of information at the start of the voyage, the mistaken belief that the main engine could not be stopped when it was operating on heavy oil, and the differences of opinion between the two men led to the deterioration in their exchanges. This deterioration in communications resulted in a lack of teamwork which contributed to a reduction in operational safety.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 18 September 1996.


1.   All times are EDT (Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) minus four hours) unless otherwise stated.

Rapport d'enquête maritime M95L0106

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Incident à bord
du minéralier «FERBEC»
dans les atterrages de la station de pilotage
de la pointe des Ormes, fleuve Saint-Laurent (Québec)
19 juillet 1995

Résumé

Le 19 juillet 1995, le «FERBEC» transitait le lac Saint-Pierre en direction de la station d'embarquement des pilotes à la pointe des Ormes (Québec). Lorsqu'un pétrolier a dépassé le navire, le capitaine est monté sur la passerelle pour s'enquérir de la réduction de vitesse. Il s'en est suivi une discussion ponctuée de remarques désobligeantes entre ce dernier et le pilote. La discussion a atteint son point culminant lorsque le capitaine a mentionné au pilote qu'on ne pouvait pas stopper la machine principale parce qu'elle fonctionnait alors à l'huile lourde. Finalement, le changement de pilote prévu s'est fait sans qu'il ait été nécessaire de stopper la machine principale et sans que le navire ne se soit retrouvé en situation rapprochée avec le pétrolier.

Autres renseignements factuels

Fiche technique du navire

Nom « FERBEC »
Numéro officiel 371560
Port d'immatriculation Montréal (Québec)
Pavillon Canada
Type Minéralier
Jauge brute 33 792 tonneaux
Longueur 223,27 m
Tirant d'eau av. : 5,45 m
ar. : 7,50 m
Construction 1966, Tokyo, Japon
Groupe propulseur Moteur Sulzer 2SA, six cylindres, développant 15 000 kW
Propriétaires Le groupe CSL inc., Montréal (Québec)

Le 19 juillet 1995, vers 11 h 30[1], un pilote monte à bord du «FERBEC» qui s'apprête à appareiller du quai de Saint-Joseph-de-Sorel (Québec). Les préparatifs de départ ne sont pas terminés, ce qui amène le capitaine à inviter le pilote à prendre le repas. Le navire appareille à 12 h 15 à destination de Havre-Saint-Pierre (Québec).

Pendant la traversée du lac Saint-Pierre, on doit réduire la vitesse à la hauteur de la bouée S41 pour laisser passer un pétrolier à fort tirant d'eau. Le capitaine, qui se trouve alors dans son bureau, se rend à la passerelle pour s'enquérir des raisons de la réduction de vitesse et de la proximité à laquelle le navire a croisé la bouée; il avait suivi la progression du navire sur l'écran secondaire du système électronique de visualisation des cartes marines (SEVCM) installé dans ses emménagements. À son arrivée sur la passerelle, le capitaine et le pilote échangent quelques remarques désobligeantes sur les raisons de la réduction de vitesse. À 14 h 23, le régime de la machine est augmenté.

À 14 h 32, le navire est par le travers de Port-Saint-François (Québec). Le capitaine s'inquiète du fait que le pétrolier qui a dépassé le «FERBEC» n'est qu'à moins de 0,5 M en avant, que la station d'embarquement des pilotes se rapproche, qu'il y a un pont en aval et que la machine du «FERBEC» est toujours à "en avant toute".

Lorsque la distance qui sépare les deux navires diminue encore et que la vitesse n'est toujours pas réduite, le capitaine suggère au pilote de réduire la vitesse, car il ne peut stopper la machine principale, celle-ci étant alimentée à l'huile lourde. À 14 h 35, on réduit la vitesse. Il s'ensuit une discussion animée. Quinze minutes plus tard, le changement de pilote prévu se fait sans que les deux navires ne se retrouvent en situation rapprochée et sans qu'il soit nécessaire de stopper la machine principale.

Les propriétaires du minéralier avaient préparé deux cartes d'échange de renseignements à l'intention des capitaines et des pilotes. L'une est intitulée "MASTER/PILOT INFORMATION EXCHANGE CARD" (carte d'échange de renseignements entre le capitaine et le pilote) et l'autre, "MASTER/PILOT CHECK LIST" (DISCUSS WHEN PILOT BOARDS) (liste de contrôle à l'intention du capitaine et du pilote - à discuter avec le pilote qui monte à bord). La première est une copie destinée au pilote, l'autre doit rester à bord du navire. Ces cartes n'ont pas été complétées lors du voyage en cause. Le pilote oeuvre depuis 24 ans dans le domaine et il avait piloté le «FERBEC» une vingtaine de fois.

La machine principale du «FERBEC», un Sulzer de type 6RD90, est conçue pour démarrer et manoeuvrer à l'huile lourde s'il y a suffisamment de vapeur pour assurer la période de préchauffage. En fait, la machine principale peut fonctionner à l'huile lourde en tout temps. On peut aussi faire démarrer la machine au gasole et ne passer à l'alimentation à l'huile lourde qu'après l'appareillage. Le choix de l'une ou l'autre de ces méthodes est laissé aux opérateurs du bord. Le manuel no 30173 du manufacturier, intitulé Service Instructions for Sulzer Diesel Engines, fait état de ces deux méthodes aux pages 027-4 et 027-5.

Le régime de la machine principale du «FERBEC» peut être réduit jusqu'à 35 tours à la minute en marche avant pour effectuer le changement de pilote.

Analyse

Dans le Code des méthodes et pratiques nautiques de l'Organisation maritime internationale (OMI), il est écrit, notamment, que «le capitaine et le pilote doivent échanger des renseignements sur la conduite du navire, les conditions locales et les caractéristiques du navire. Le capitaine et l'officier de quart doivent coopérer étroitement avec le pilote ....»

Les explications du capitaine et du pilote diffèrent sur plusieurs points, mais les deux s'accordent pour dire que la conversation, surtout vers la fin du voyage, a été désagréable. Le capitaine a apparemment commencé à énumérer verbalement, à l'intention du pilote, les caractéristiques du navire, mais il a été interrompu par le pilote, qui lui a affirmé connaître le navire pour l'avoir piloté à maintes reprises. Toutefois, selon le pilote, le capitaine ne lui a jamais énuméré les caractéristiques du navire et, s'il l'avait fait, le pilote ne l'aurait pas interrompu. Les deux hommes étaient seuls à ce moment-là.

Le Bureau a publié une Étude de sécurité portant sur les rapports de travail entre les capitaines et officiers de quart, et les pilotes de navire (rapport du BST no SM9501). La partie 3.0 de cette étude résume des faits établis qui pourraient être pertinents dans l'événement à l'étude. Il y est fait état, entre autres, de divergences d'opinion fondamentales entre les officiers de navire et les pilotes sur la nécessité du pilotage et la responsabilité des pilotes durant leurs affectations à bord des navires. Ces facteurs, qui perdurent au sein de l'industrie maritime, ne favorisent pas l'esprit d'équipe sur la passerelle, et ont pu avoir une incidence dans l'événement à l'étude.

Pendant la traversée du lac Saint-Pierre, la discussion entre le capitaine et le pilote s'est détériorée au point d'être parfois ponctuée de remarques désobligeantes. La discussion semble avoir atteint son point culminant lorsque le capitaine a mentionné au pilote qu'on ne pouvait pas stopper la machine principale. En fait, selon plusieurs chefs mécaniciens expérimentés, il est possible de stopper et de manoeuvrer ce genre de machine lorsqu'elle fonctionne à l'huile lourde, mais tous sont d'avis qu'il est préférable de réduire le régime au minimum plutôt que de stopper la machine. Les nombreuses pièces d'équipement utilisées lors des manoeuvres pour renverser la rotation de la machine peuvent augmenter les risques d'un mauvais fonctionnement. Le fait de passer de l'alimentation à l'huile lourde au gazole, ou vice versa, implique aussi des ajustements manuels pour contrôler les températures d'opération des carburants.

Même si le pilote avait eu la conduite du «FERBEC» à maintes reprises, il semble qu'il ne s'était jamais rendu compte que la machine continuait à être alimentée à l'huile lourde au moment d'effectuer le changement de pilote à la pointe des Ormes. Cette façon de procéder lui semblait dangereuse. Pour sa part, le capitaine se préoccupait davantage de la vitesse d'approche vers la station d'embarquement des pilotes, compte tenu des autres navires dans le secteur. À cause d'expériences antérieures, ce dernier était réticent à stopper la machine principale lors des changements de pilote. Il avait même indiqué sur le transmetteur d'ordres à la passerelle de ne pas stopper la machine principale à moins d'avoir obtenu sa permission au préalable.

La partie 4.4 de l'étude de sécurité (SM9501) indique que moins de la moitié des officiers de navire et des pilotes qui ont répondu au questionnaire ont dit travailler toujours en équipe, et les données sur les accidents confirment que les méthodes et pratiques sur la passerelle font souvent ressortir l'absence de travail d'équipe. Le rapport poursuit : «La gestion des ressources sur la passerelle, gestion des ressources humaines et techniques dans un milieu maritime opérationnel, est une fonction à plusieurs volets. Elle comprend, entre autres, des communications efficaces, des échanges d'information ainsi que la création d'un milieu où tous les membres de l'équipe à la passerelle se sentent libres de remettre en question les hypothèses et les gestes posés.» Par suite des problèmes relevés, le Bureau a recommandé que :

  • Le ministère des Transports exige que le programme de formation initiale de tous les officiers de navire soit modifié de façon à comporter un volet sur les compétences en gestion des ressources sur la passerelle, (M95-09)

et que :

  • Le ministère des Transports exige que tous les officiers de navire fassent la preuve de leurs compétences en gestion des ressources sur la passerelle avant de se voir délivrer des certificats de maintien des compétences, (M95-10)

et que :

  • Le ministère des Transports exige que tous les pilotes fassent la preuve de leurs compétences en gestion des ressources sur la passerelle avant de se voir délivrer un brevet de pilotage ou avant le renouvellement de ce dernier. (M95-11)

En réponse à ces recommandations, le ministère des Transports a laissé savoir que TC et les administrations de pilotage favoriseraient l'inclusion d'un cours de formation obligatoire portant sur la gestion des ressources sur la passerelle comme exigence pour l'obtention d'un brevet de compétence ou d'un certificat de maintien des compétences tant pour les pilotes que pour les officiers de navire. (Le Règlement général sur le pilotage sera modifié de façon à exiger des pilotes qu'ils obtiennent des certificats de maintien des compétences pour que leur brevet demeure valide.)

Conclusions

  1. Pendant la traversée, la discussion entre le capitaine et le pilote a été ponctuée de remarques désobligeantes, et la sécurité des opérations s'en est trouvée réduite.
  2. Les divergences d'opinion entre le capitaine et le pilote sur des questions en rapport avec le pilotage ont contribué à la détérioration des échanges entre eux, bien qu'une bonne communication, qui est à la base d'une bonne gestion des ressources sur la passerelle, soit essentielle à la sécurité des opérations.
  3. Il se peut que la réticence du capitaine à stopper la machine principale lors des changements de pilote ait été fondée, mais le fait de stopper la machine n'aurait pas compromis la sécurité du navire.
  4. La machine principale du «FERBEC», lorsqu'elle fonctionne à l'huile lourde, peut être stoppée ou mise en marche arrière sans danger à condition qu'elle ne reste pas arrêtée trop longtemps; la période de temps d'arrêt dépend de la température ambiante.
  5. Le pilote ne savait pas que la machine du «FERBEC» continuait à être alimentée à l'huile lourde au moment des changements de pilote, et cette façon de procéder lui semblait dangereuse.

Causes

La cause exacte de l'altercation entre le capitaine et le pilote est difficilement identifiable. Toutefois, certains facteurs tels que le présumé échange de renseignements au début du voyage, la croyance erronée qu'on ne pouvait pas stopper la machine principale lorsqu'elle fonctionnait à l'huile lourde, et les divergences d'opinion des deux hommes ont mené à la détérioration des échanges entre eux. Cette détérioration des communications a entraîné un manque de travail d'équipe, et la sécurité des opérations s'en est trouvée réduite.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 18 septembre 1996 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président, Benoît Bouchard, et des membres Maurice Harquail et W.A. Tadros.


[1].  Toutes les heures sont exprimées en HAE (temps universel coordonné (UTC) moins quatre heures), sauf indication contraire.