Marine Investigation Report M95L0182

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View report in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file; find out more on our help page.

Grounding of the Bulk Carrier "ALGOSOUND"
Port of Montreal, Quebec
14 November 1995

Summary

On 14 November 1995, the Canadian bulk carrier "ALGOSOUND" was bound for Burn's Harbour in the United States with a cargo of 24,743 tonnes of iron ore from Pointe-Noire, Quebec. The vessel was transiting the Port of Montreal, Quebec, in poor visibility, under the conduct of a pilot. When the "ALGOSOUND" was abreast of buoy "Expo", the pilot ordered hard-a-port helm, and the vessel grounded shortly thereafter off buoy M191. There were no injuries or pollution as a result of this occurrence.

Other Factual Information

Particulars of the Vessel

Name "ALGOSOUND"
Port of Registry Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Flag Canadian
Official Number 322232
Type Bulk carrier
Gross Tonnage 17,563.3
Length 222.51 m
Draught Forward: 7.9 m
Aft: 7.9 m
Built 1965, (forepart) Lauzon, Quebec; (afterpart) Montreal, Quebec
Propulsion Two steam turbines totalling 7,282 kW
Crew 21
Owners Algoma Central Marine
St. Catharines, Ontario

On 14 November 1995, the "ALGOSOUND", upbound in the Seaway with a pilot on board, was heading for the approach wall of the Saint-Lambert Lock at a speed of eight knots. The vessel was proceeding to the approach wall to moor until weather conditions improved and navigation resumed in the Seaway. Visibility was restricted in snow, and the wind from the north-north-east was estimated at 35 knots.

At 2237(1), when the vessel was abreast of section 43 SW of the Laurier Pier, the pilot ordered a course of 190 gyro (G), which should have enabled him to see the light of the "Île Ste-Hélène" buoy straight ahead. As the vessel moved through the turn, the pilot noticed a flashing white light on the port beam. Believing that this was the light of the "Île Ste-Hélène" buoy and that the vessel had passed the entrance to the Canal de la Rive Sud, the pilot ordered hard-a-port helm. This sudden order by the pilot apparently surprised the master and the officer of the watch on the bridge, but no one challenged the order because the officer of the watch was at the chart table and the master tried to visually ascertain what had prompted the pilot to give the order before countermanding it. No one asked the pilot to explain the reason for the course alteration. The engine speed remained the same at eight knots until the navigating personnel realized the

As the vessel was already turning to port, the pilot's order for hard-a-port helm increased the rate of the turn. Shortly thereafter, the "ALGOSOUND" grounded off buoy M191, east of the channel.

The vessel managed to refloat herself at 0047 on 15 November 1995. No damage was reported as a result of the grounding.

Analysis

The analysis will focus on why the pilot lost situational awareness and confused the "Expo" buoy for the "Île Ste-Hélène" buoy.

Situational awareness can be defined as all the knowledge that is accessible and can be integrated into a coherent picture, when required, to assess and cope with a situation. To maintain situational awareness, a person scans for signals or cues which can be interpreted to reveal important information, such as location, speed, and the presence of hazards. A pilot who has the conduct of a vessel has to maintain situational awareness to navigate safely.

When performing routine tasks, people can err when they do not attend to all the salient situational cues. Because they do not attend to all relevant cues, they are susceptible to confusing an object that looks like, is in the expected location and/or does a similar job, for the intended object. This error form has been identified as perceptual confusion, that is, during routine tasks, this type of perceptual error usually takes the form of accepting look-alikes for the intended object.(2)

In this occurrence, the pilot, who was familiar with the area, focused his attention ahead. He was expecting to see the white light of the "Île Ste-Hélène" buoy to confirm the vessel's position. The flashing white light that he noted on the port beam, however, was the light of the "Expo" buoy, which he confused with the light of the "Île Ste-Hélène" buoy. The misidentification of the "Expo" buoy for the "Île Ste-Hélène" buoy is consistent with perceptual confusion, in that the light of the "Expo" buoy looked like the light of the "Île Ste-Hélène" buoy, it was in the expected location of the "Île Ste-Hélène" buoy, and both buoys performed the same job of marking the channel. The perceptual confusion of the two buoys indicated that the pilot had experienced a loss of situational awareness, possibly influenced by the restricted visibility.

These two buoys have different signalling sequences, but both are fitted with white lights. The first is a west cardinal light buoy marked "Expo" and is situated on the east side of the channel. Its characteristics [Q(9) W 15s] are that of a group quick flashing white light with a group of 9 flashes regularly repeated 4 times per minute (every 15 seconds). The second buoy is a north cardinal light buoy marked "Île Ste-Hélène" and is situated on the northern tip of Île Sainte-Hélène. Its characteristics [Q 1s] are that of a quick flashing white light in which a flash is regularly repeated at a rate of 60 flashes per minute (a flash every second).

When the pilot saw the light of the "Expo" buoy, he mistook it for the light of the "Île Ste-Hélène" buoy. He did not try to confirm his assessment of the situation, but took the action that seemed appropriate to him without using other means at his disposal to determine the position of the vessel.

In this occurrence, although the pilot had the conduct of the vessel, the master was on the bridge following the vessel's progress on radar, and he judged it to be normal. The pilot made an unexpected alteration of course without informing the master of the situation. No one, however, objected to the course alteration, and no one challenged the order or asked the pilot to explain the reason for this manoeuvre which put the vessel in a precarious situation. Bridge Resource Management (BRM) principles and techniques encourage the use of all available resources to ensure a team approach for the safe completion of the operation. Had BRM practices been in effect, the pilot's misidentification of the one buoy for the other could have been averted.

Findings

  1. The vessel was transiting in the channel under the conduct of a pilot toward the Canal de la Rive Sud in restricted visibility.
  2. The light characteristics of the two buoys are different, but they are both fitted with a white light; this may lead to confusion in restricted visibility if the sequence of the flashes is not observed for at least 15 seconds.
  3. The pilot lost situational awareness and confused the light of the "Expo" buoy with the light of the "Île Ste-Hélène" buoy.
  4. The pilot, who was familiar with the area, did not use the means at his disposal to confirm the vessel's position before ordering the course alteration.
  5. The master, who was following the vessel's progress on the radar screen, did not object to the pilot's order for hard-a-port helm.
  6. Although there was exchange of information between the pilot and the master during the transit, there was no discussion concerning the impromptu course alteration which led to the grounding.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The pilot, who had the conduct of the vessel, was not well aware of the situation and did not use the means at his disposal before ordering the course alteration. The pilot and the master did not consult with each other or exchange information to better assess the situation. The light characteristics of the two buoys are different, but they are both fitted with white lights; this may have led to confusion in restricted visibility if the sequence of the flashes was not observed carefully for at least 15 seconds.

Safety Action Taken

Following this occurrence, the Canadian Coast Guard decided to change the light characteristics of the buoys. The west cardinal light buoy marked "Expo" was changed to a port buoy, and the light characteristics of the north cardinal buoy marked "Île Ste-Hélène" will be changed from [Q 1s] to [VQ 0.5s].

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard and members Maurice Harquail and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 24 September 1996.


1.   All times are EST (Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) minus five hours) unless otherwise stated.

2.   Reason, J. Human Error. Cambridge: Cambridge, 1990.

Rapport d'enquête maritime M95L0182

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Échouement
du vraquier «ALGOSOUND»
Port de Montréal (Québec)
14 novembre 1995

Résumé

Le 14 novembre 1995, le vraquier canadien «ALGOSOUND» faisait route vers Burn's Harbour aux États-Unis avec une cargaison de 24 743 tonnes métriques de minerai de fer en provenance de Pointe-Noire (Québec). Sous la conduite d'un pilote, le navire transitait le port de Montréal (Québec) par mauvaise visibilité. Alors que le «ALGOSOUND» se trouvait par le travers de la bouée «Expo», le pilote a donné l'ordre de mettre la barre à gauche toute, et le navire s'est échoué peu après à la hauteur de la bouée M191. L'accident n'a fait ni blessé ni pollution.

Autres renseignements factuels

Fiche technique du navire

Nom « ALGOSOUND »
Port d'immatriculation Sault Ste. Marie (Ontario)
Pavillon Canadien
Numéro officiel 322232
Genre Vraquier
Jauge brute 17 563,3 tonneaux
Longueur 222,51 m
Tirant d'eau Avant : 7,9 m
Arrière : 7,9 m
Construction 1965, partie avant à Lauzon (Québec); partie arrière à Montréal (Québec)
Propulsion Deux turbines à vapeur développant 7 282 kW en tout
Équipage 21
Propriétaires Algoma Central Marine
St. Catharines (Ontario)

Le 14 novembre 1995, le «ALGOSOUND», qui remonte la voie maritime avec un pilote à son bord, se dirige vers le mur d'approche de l'écluse Saint-Lambert à une vitesse de huit noeuds. Le navire doit s'amarrer le long du mur d'approche pour attendre que les conditions météorologiques s'améliorent et que la navigation reprenne dans la voie maritime. La visibilité est réduite dans la neige, et le vent du nord-nord-est est estimé à 35 noeuds.

À 22 h 37[1], alors que le navire se trouve par le travers de la section 43 SW de la jetée Laurier, le pilote ordonne un cap au 190 gyro (G), ce qui devrait lui permettre d'apercevoir le feu de la bouée «Île Ste-Hélène» droit devant. Alors que le navire progresse dans son virage, le pilote aperçoit un feu blanc scintillant par le travers bâbord. Croyant qu'il s'agit du feu de la bouée «Île Ste-Hélène» et que le navire a dépassé l'entrée du canal de la Rive Sud, le pilote donne l'ordre de mettre la barre à gauche toute. L'ordre inopiné du pilote surprend apparemment le capitaine et l'officier de quart à la passerelle, mais personne ne s'y oppose parce que l'officier de quart est à la table des cartes et que le capitaine essaie de déterminer visuellement ce qui a pu motiver le pilote avant de contremander l'ordre de ce dernier. Personne ne demande au pilote d'expliquer la raison de ce changement de cap. L'allure de la machine demeure la même, soit huit noeuds, jusqu'à ce que le personnel navigant se rende compte de l'erreur quelques secondes plus tard. À ce moment-là, le navire avait déjà touché le fond.

Comme le navire abat déjà sur bâbord, l'ordre du pilote de mettre la barre à gauche toute augmente la vitesse de l'abattée. Peu après, le «ALGOSOUND» s'échoue à la hauteur de la bouée M191 à l'est du chenal.

Le 15 novembre 1995, à 0 h 47, le navire réussit à se renflouer de lui-même. Aucune avarie n'a été rapportée par suite de l'échouement.

Analyse

La présente analyse porte sur la raison pour laquelle le pilote a perdu conscience de la situation et a confondu la bouée «Expo» et la bouée «Île Ste-Hélène».

La conscience de la situation peut se définir comme étant toute l'information dont on dispose et qu'on peut, au besoin, intégrer en un tout cohérent, pour évaluer une situation et y faire face. Pour maintenir sa conscience de la situation, il faut rester à l'affût de signaux ou d'indices qu'on peut interpréter pour en tirer des renseignements importants comme la position ou la vitesse, et la présence de dangers. La conscience de la situation est essentielle au pilote qui a la conduite d'un navire pour naviguer en toute sécurité.

Dans l'exécution de tâches usuelles, on peut se méprendre lorsqu'on néglige certains indices probants. Étant donné qu'on ne tient pas compte de tous les indices pertinents, on peut confondre l'objet attendu et un objet qui lui ressemble et qui se trouve au même endroit ou qui remplit une fonction similaire. Ce type d'erreur a été identifié comme étant de la confusion perceptuelle, ce qui signifie que dans l'exécution de tâches usuelles, ce type d'erreur de perception se manifeste généralement lorsqu'on prend pour l'objet attendu un objet qui lui ressemble.[2]

Dans le cas à l'étude, le pilote, qui connaissait bien le secteur, a porté toute son attention sur l'avant du navire. Il s'attendait à apercevoir le feu blanc de la boué «Île Ste-Hélène» pour confirmer la position du navire. Toutefois, le feu blanc scintillant qu'il a relevé par le travers bâbord était celui de la bouée «Expo», qu'il a pris pour celui de la bouée «Île Ste-Hélène». Le fait d'avoir pris la bouée «Expo» pour la bouée «Île Ste-Hélène» constitue de la confusion perceptuelle, car le feu de la bouée «Expo» ressemblait à celui de la bouée «Île Ste-Hélène», il se trouvait à l'endroit où le pilote s'attendait à apercevoir la bouée «Île Ste-Hélène», et les bouées servaient toutes deux à marquer le chenal. La confusion perceptuelle dont le pilote a été victime lorsqu'il a confondu les deux bouées indique qu'il a perdu conscience de la situation, possiblement en raison de la visibilité réduite.

Ces deux bouées ont des caractéristiques d'éclairage différentes, mais elles ont toutes deux des feux blancs. La première est une bouée lumineuse cardinale ouest marquée «Expo»; elle est placée du côté est du chenal. Ses caractéristiques [Q(9) W 15s] sont celles d'un feu blanc à scintillements, dont les groupes de 9 éclats se succèdent régulièrement 4 fois à la minute (toutes les 15 secondes). La deuxième est une bouée lumineuse cardinale nord marquée «Île Ste-Hélène»; elle est placée à l'extrémité nord de l'Île Sainte-Hélène. Ses caractéristiques [Q 1s] sont celles d'un feu blanc à scintillements, dont les éclats se succèdent régulièrement à une fréquence de 60 éclats à la minute (un éclat à la seconde).

Lorsque le pilote a aperçu le feu de la bouée «Expo», il a cru qu'il s'agissait de celui de la bouée «Île Ste-Hélène». Il n'a pas cherché à confirmer son évaluation de la situation avant de prendre la mesure qui lui semblait appropriée sans se servir des autres moyens à sa disposition pour déterminer la position du navire.

Cependant, même si le pilote avait la conduite du navire, le capitaine, qui était sur la passerelle, suivait au radar la progression du navire qu'il a jugée être normale. Le pilote a effectué un changement de cap inopiné sans informer le capitaine de la situation. Toutefois, personne ne s'est opposé à ce changement de cap et personne ne l'a remis en question ou n'a demandé d'explications quant à cette manoeuvre qui mettait le navire en situation précaire. Les principes et les méthodes de gestion des ressources sur la passerelle incite le personnel navigant à utiliser toutes les ressources à leur disposition pour favoriser le travail d'équipe en vue d'effectuer le voyage en toute sécurité. Si on avait utilisé les méthodes de gestion des ressources sur la passerelle, le pilote n'aurait peut-être pas pris une bouée pour l'autre.

Conclusions

  1. Le navire, sous la conduite d'un pilote, a progressé dans le chenal en direction du canal de la Rive Sud par visibilité réduite.
  2. Les caractéristiques d'éclairage des deux bouées sont différentes, mais elles ont toutes deux des feux blancs, ce qui peut, par visibilité réduite, porter à confusion si on n'observe pas la fréquence des scintillements pendant au moins 15 secondes.
  3. Le pilote a perdu conscience de la situation et il a confondu le feu de la bouée «Expo» et celui de la bouée «Île Ste-Hélène».
  4. Le pilote, qui connaissait bien le secteur, ne s'est pas servi des moyens à sa disposition pour confirmer la position du navire avant d'ordonner le changement de cap.
  5. Le capitaine, qui suivait la progression du navire à l'écran radar, ne s'est pas opposé à l'ordre du pilote de mettre la barre à gauche toute.
  6. Il y a eu échange de renseignements entre le pilote et le capitaine pendant le voyage, mais ils n'ont pas discuté du changement de cap inopiné qui a mené à l'échouement.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Le pilote, qui assurait la conduite du navire, n'a pas bien saisi la situation et ne s'est pas servi des moyens à sa disposition avant d'ordonner le changement de cap. Le pilote et le capitaine ne se sont pas consultés et ils n'ont pas échangé de renseignements en vue de mieux évaluer la situation. Les caractéristiques d'éclairage des deux bouées sont différentes, mais elles ont toutes deux des feux blancs, ce qui a pu, par visibilité réduite, porter à confusion si l'on n'a pas observé attentivement la fréquence des scintillements pendant au moins 15 secondes.

Mesures de sécurité prises

Par suite de l'événement à l'étude, la Garde côtière canadienne a décidé de changer les caractéristiques d'éclairage des bouées. La bouée lumineuse cardinale ouest marquée «Expo» a été changée pour une bouée bâbord. En outre, les caractéristiques d'éclairage de la bouée lumineuse cardinale nord marquée «Île Ste-Hélène» passeront de [Q 1s] à [VQ 0,5s].

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 24 septembre 1996 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président, Benoît Bouchard, et des membres Maurice Harquail et W.A. Tadros.


[1]  Toutes les heures sont exprimées en HNE (temps universel coordonné (UTC) moins cinq heures), sauf indication contraire.

[2]  Reason, J. Human Error. Cambridge : Cambridge, 1990.