Marine Investigation Report M95L0183

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View report in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file; find out more on our help page.

Injury to a Crew Member
of the Oil Tanker "ENERCHEM REFINER"
on the St. Lawrence River
Tracy, Quebec
15 November 1995

Summary

The Canadian oil tanker "ENERCHEM REFINER", with a cargo of 5,882 tonnes of fuel oil, was en route to the marine terminal at Tracy, from the Port of Québec, Quebec.

During berthing manoeuvres, under the conduct of a pilot, the port bow of the vessel struck the middle dolphin of the terminal. One of the terminal's two unloading arms extended outward and struck the bulwark of the vessel. Crew members at the bow mooring station tried to clear it, but while they were doing this, one of them had his hand crushed. The injured crew member was taken to a local hospital by ambulance. The vessel sustained minor damage, and the fender on the middle caisson was slightly damaged.

Other Factual Information

Particulars of the Vessel

Name "ENERCHEM REFINER"
Port of Registry Toronto, Ontario
Flag Canadian
Official Number 329353
Type Oil tanker
Gross Tonnage 4,982
Length 119.2 m
Draught Forward: 6.4 m
Aft: 6.55 m
Built 1969, Lauzon, Quebec
Propulsion Two Morse Fairbanks engines, 2 451 kW, driving two propellers
Crew 21
Owners Enerchem Transport Inc.
Montreal, Quebec

At about 0800(1) , 15 November 1995, a north-east wind was blowing at 30 knots. On approaching the marine terminal at Tracy, the crew noted that the winds were gusting stronger in the heavy rain.

At 0855, with the vessel under the conduct of a pilot, the master made an initial bridge-control speed reduction of the two main engines. At first, the ship's centre line formed a sharp angle with the face of the three dolphins of the terminal. Then, the vessel was steered toward the middle dolphin. When the ship's bow was about 20 metres off the downstream dolphin, the third officer, on the forecastle, started calling out the closing distance to the bridge.

At approximately 0908, the port shoulder of the vessel struck the downstream corner of the middle dolphin. The impact caused one rubber section of the fender on the ship's port shoulder to separate from its mount and become wedged in the rubber fender of the middle dolphin. The crew felt no jarring, but the wharf operator, who was taking the No. 2 head spring, felt a jerky movement that shook the middle dolphin and the unloading arms.

The wharf operator heard the lever that holds the lock screw against the coupling ball of the upstream unloading arm fall. The upstream unloading arm, which was no longer secured, extended outward and fell on the forecastle break, then on the port bulwark. The unloading arm slid aft along the bulwark rail, as the vessel still had some headway.

The third officer and an ordinary seaman tried to clear the unloading arm to prevent it from striking the landing boom. While they were doing this, the seaman's left hand was crushed between the unloading arm and the landing boom guy wire, which was secured to the bulwark rail. The injured crew member moved away from the bulwark and the third officer was able to clear the unloading arm, while the vessel was manoeuvred astern away from the dolphin. The injured man went to his cabin, where the first mate noted the seriousness of the injury and notified the master.

Meanwhile, the operator called the chief wharf operator by radiotelephone, and then called the Hydro-Québec employee in charge. The turnbuckle connecting the landing boom guy wire to the bulwark rail was severed in two places and the steel cable which served as a guy wire was unravelled. There were rubber scuff marks on the ship's port shoulder.

At the request of the master, the pilot telephoned for an ambulance. The Hydro-Québec equipment mechanics rushed to the middle dolphin, started up the hydraulic system, raised the unloading arm and stowed it in place. At 0923, the bow of the vessel was manoeuvred against the middle dolphin and, at 0925, the injured crew member disembarked. At 0942, the seaman was taken to Hôtel-Dieu Hospital in Sorel, where he underwent surgery on the ring finger and little finger of his left hand.

The tanker was manoeuvred into position and the berthing manoeuvre was completed around 1000. Hydro-Québec personnel inspected the unloading arm and found no apparent damage. The unloading arm was secured to the manifold of the tanker.

The three dolphins are mounted on piles and linked by catwalks. One vertical section of the rubber fender on the middle dolphin was shifted and frayed where the piece of rubber from the ship's fender was wedged.

There are two unloading arms on the middle dolphin, one upstream and one downstream. Each unloading arm has a securing mechanism. The securing mechanism consists of a coupling ball on one end of the unloading arm and a lock screw on a hinged lever at the base of the unloading arm frame. There was no apparent damage to the securing mechanisms or the unloading arm frames. The lock screw lever is not held in the secured position by force of gravity. The lock screw that did not come loose (downstream) has a wing head. The lock screw that did come loose (upstream) has a square head. The axis of the coupling ball is not perpendicular to the axis of the lock screw lever.

Analysis

The crew reported that they felt no jarring when the vessel struck the middle dolphin, but the wharf operator felt a jerky movement in the dolphin. A conventional wharf will absorb more of the impact from a vessel striking it than will a dolphin mounted on piles. It is possible that the crew felt no jarring from the impact due to the low approach speed of the vessel.

Before the tanker arrived, the two unloading arms were secured in place. As no Hydro-Québec mechanic was on duty on the wharf and the hydraulic system had not been started up, the only event that could have caused the securing mechanism of the unloading arm to release and the unloading arm to move was jarring caused by impact.

The design of the securing mechanism is such that the lock screw lever does not remain in position on the coupling ball if the lock screw is not tightened. The lever must be raised in order to engage it on the coupling ball of the unloading arm. For the securing mechanism of the upstream unloading arm to release without being damaged, the lock screw must not have been tight enough. The square-head lock screw of the upstream unloading arm was more difficult to tighten than the wing-head lock screw of the downstream unloading arm.

In addition, the berthing manoeuvre consisted of bringing the port side of the vessel into contact with the face of the middle dolphin, then slipping the vessel into position alongside the three dolphins. However, the rubber scuff marks on the port shoulder and the damage to the ship's fender indicate that the ship pressed against the downstream oblique corner of the fender. Therefore, before slipping alongside the dolphin, the vessel glanced off the downstream corner of the dolphin.

As the hydraulic system was not in operation, the north-east wind blew the unloading arm outward.

Findings

  1. The port shoulder of the vessel struck the downstream corner of the middle dolphin.
  2. The striking of the vessel shook the dolphin which was mounted on piles.
  3. The lock screw of the securing mechanism of the unloading arm was not tight enough on the coupling ball.
  4. The jarring released the lock screw from the coupling ball and, under the pull of gravity, the lever fell, thereby releasing the unloading arm.
  5. With no pressure in the hydraulic system and with the force of the wind against it, the unloading arm extended outward.
  6. The unloading arm fell on the bulwark rail of the ship as she slipped alongside the dolphin.
  7. The crew was unable to clear the unloading arm from the bulwark before it reached the rigging of the landing boom.
  8. The seaman's hand was crushed between the unloading arm and a landing boom guy wire.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The crew was unable to clear the unloading arm before it struck the rigging of the landing boom. The crew member's hand got stuck between the unloading arm and the guy wire. The striking of the vessel against the dolphin shook the unloading arms, and a securing mechanism that was not tight enough released. Because of the wind pushing against it, the unloading arm extended outward.

Safety Action Taken

To prevent the unloading arms from falling if they are jarred loose, safety chains have been installed.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 23 April 1997.


1.   All times are EST (Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) minus five hours) unless otherwise stated.

Rapport d'enquête maritime M95L0183

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Blessure à un membre de l'équipage
du pétrolier «ENERCHEM REFINER»
sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent
Tracy (Québec)
15 novembre 1995

Résumé

Le pétrolier canadien «ENERCHEM REFINER», chargé de 5 882 tonnes métriques de mazout, se dirigeait vers le terminal maritime de Tracy, en provenance du port de Québec (Québec).

Durant l'accostage effectué sous la conduite d'un pilote, l'avant bâbord du navire a heurté le duc d'albe situé au centre du terminal. Un des deux bras de déchargement du terminal s'est étendu vers l'extérieur et a heurté le pavois du navire. Des membres de l'équipage qui se trouvaient au poste d'amarrage à l'avant du navire ont essayé de dégager le bras mais, ce faisant, l'un d'eux s'est fait écraser la main. Le blessé a été transporté par ambulance jusqu'à un hôpital de la région. Le navire n'a subi que des avaries mineures et la défense du caisson central a été légèrement endommagée.

Autres renseignements factuels

Fiche technique du navire

Nom « ENERCHEM REFINER »
Port d'immatriculation Toronto (Ontario)
Pavillon Canadien
Numéro officiel 329353
Genre Pétrolier
Jauge brute 4 982 tonneaux
Longueur 119,2 m
Tirant d'eau Avant : 6,4 m
Arrière : 6,55 m
Construction 1969, Lauzon (Québec)
Propulsion Deux moteurs Morse Fairbanks développant 2 451 kW et entraînant deux hélices
Équipage 21
Propriétaires Enerchem Transport inc.
Montréal (Québec)

Vers 8 h[1] le 15 novembre 1995, un vent du nord-est souffle à 30 noeuds. À l'approche du terminal maritime de Tracy, l'équipage observe que les rafales augmentent dans la forte pluie.

À 8 h 55, alors que le navire est sous la conduite d'un pilote, le capitaine effectue une première réduction du régime des deux machines principales avec la commande-passerelle. L'axe longitudinal du navire forme initialement un faible angle par rapport à la façade des trois ducs d'albe du terminal. Par la suite, on met le cap sur le duc d'albe central. Quand la proue du navire se situe à 20 m environ au large du duc d'albe d'aval, le troisième officier, sur le gaillard d'avant, commence à rapporter les distances d'approche à la passerelle.

Vers 9 h 8, la joue bâbord du navire heurte le coin aval du duc d'albe central. Sous le choc, une section en caoutchouc de la défense placée sur la joue bâbord du navire se détache de son socle pour venir se coïncer dans la défense en caoutchouc du duc d'albe central. L'équipage ne ressent aucune secousse, mais l'opérateur du quai, qui prend la garde montante avant n° 2, ressent un mouvement brusque qui ébranle le duc d'albe central et les bras de déchargement.

L'opérateur du quai entend tomber le levier qui retient la vis de serrage à la boule d'accouplement du bras de déchargement d'amont. Ce dernier n'étant plus assujetti s'étend vers l'extérieur et tombe sur le décrochement du gaillard d'avant puis sur le pavois bâbord. Il glisse ensuite sur la lisse de pavois vers l'arrière du navire qui a toujours de l'erre vers l'avant.

Le troisième officier et un simple matelot essaient de dégager le bras de déchargement pour qu'il ne heurte pas la bôme de débarquement, ce faisant, le matelot se fait écraser la main gauche entre le bras de déchargement et le hauban de la bôme de débarquement, qui est assujetti à la lisse de pavois. La victime s'éloigne du pavois et le troisième officier parvient à dégager le bras de déchargement pendant qu'on fait culer le navire pour l'éloigner du duc d'albe. Le blessé se dirige vers sa cabine où le second capitaine constate la gravité de la blessure et en informe le capitaine.

Entre-temps, l'opérateur communique par radiotéléphone avec l'opérateur en chef du quai, puis il téléphone au responsable de la société Hydro-Québec. Le ridoir qui relie le hauban de la bôme de débarquement à la lisse de pavois est sectionné à deux endroits et le câble d'acier qui sert de hauban est effiloché. Il y a des traces de caoutchouc sur la joue bâbord du navire.

À la demande du capitaine, le pilote demande les services d'une ambulance par téléphone. Les mécaniciens d'appareillage de la société Hydro-Québec se précipitent vers le duc d'albe central, font démarrer le système hydraulique, remontent le bras de débarquement et l'arriment en place. À 9 h 23, l'avant du navire est manoeuvré contre le duc d'albe central, et à 9 h 25, la victime est débarquée. À 9 h 42, on transporte le blessé à l'hôpital Hôtel-Dieu de Sorel où il subit une intervention chirurgicale à l'annulaire et à l'auriculaire de la main gauche.

Le pétrolier est manoeuvré pour prendre sa place au quai et l'accostage se termine vers 10 h. Le personnel de l'Hydro-Québec inspecte le bras de déchargement et ne trouve aucun dommage apparent. Le bras est assujetti au collecteur du pétrolier.

Les trois ducs d'albe sont montés sur pilotis et reliés entre eux par des passerelles. Une section verticale de la défense en caoutchouc du duc d'albe central est déplacée et effilochée à l'endroit où s'est coïncé le morceau de caoutchouc qui s'était détaché de la défense du navire.

Il y a deux bras de déchargement sur le duc d'albe central, un en amont et un en aval. Chacun des bras est muni d'un dispositif d'assujettissement. Le dispositif comprend une boule d'accouplement à l'une des extrémités du bras de déchargement et une vis de serrage sur un levier articulé à la base de la charpente. Il n'y a aucun dommage apparent aux dispositifs d'assujettissement ni aux charpentes des bras de déchargement. Le levier de la vis de serrage ne repose pas en position d'assujettissement par gravité. La vis de serrage qui ne s'est pas délogée (aval) est une vis de type papillon. La vis de serrage qui s'est délogée (amont) a une tête carrée. L'axe de la boule d'accouplement n'est pas perpendiculaire à l'axe du levier de la vis de serrage.

Analyse

L'équipage affirme n'avoir ressenti aucune secousse lorsque le navire a heurté le duc d'albe central, alors que l'opérateur du quai a ressenti un brusque mouvement du duc d'albe. Un quai conventionnel absorbe davantage le choc du heurt d'un navire qu'un duc d'albe monté sur pilotis. Il se peut que l'équipage n'ait pas ressenti de secousse lors de l'impact en raison de la faible vitesse d'approche du navire.

Avant l'arrivée du pétrolier, les deux bras de déchargement étaient assujettis en place. Étant donné qu'il n'y avait pas de mécanicien de l'Hydro-Québec de service sur le quai et que le système hydraulique n'avait pas été mis en marche, le dispositif d'assujettissement du bras de déchargement n'a pu se disloquer et le bras de déchargement se mettre en mouvement qu'à la suite d'une secousse causée par un heurt.

La conception du dispositif d'assujettissement est telle que le levier de la vis de serrage ne demeure pas en place sur la boule d'accouplement si la vis de serrage n'est pas serrée. Le levier doit être soulevé pour l'accoupler à la boule d'accouplement du bras de déchargement. Pour que le dispositif d'assujettissement du bras d'amont se disloque sans avoir été endommagé, il a fallu que la vis de serrage ne soit pas serrée suffisamment. La tête carrée de la vis de serrage du bras d'amont ne permettait pas un assujettissement aussi serré que la vis de serrage de type papillon du bras d'aval.

En outre, la manoeuvre d'accostage consiste à appuyer la muraille bâbord du navire contre la façade du duc d'albe central, puis à faire glisser le navire le long des trois ducs d'albe jusqu'à son poste d'amarrage. Cependant, les traces de caoutchouc sur la joue bâbord et l'avarie à la défense du navire indiquent que celui-ci se serait appuyé sur le coin oblique aval de la défense. Ainsi, avant de glisser le long du duc d'albe, le navire aurait ricoché sur le coin aval du duc d'albe.

Étant donné que le système hydraulique n'était pas en marche, le vent du nord-est a poussé le bras de déchargement vers l'extérieur du quai.

Conclusions

  1. La joue bâbord du navire a heurté le coin aval du duc d'albe central.
  2. Le heurt du navire a ébranlé le duc d'albe qui était monté sur pilotis.
  3. La vis de serrage du dispositif d'assujettissement du bras de déchargement n'était pas serrée suffisamment sur la boule d'accouplement.
  4. La secousse a délogé la vis de serrage de la boule d'accouplement et, sous l'effet de la gravité, le levier est tombé, libérant ainsi le bras de déchargement.
  5. En l'absence de pression dans le système hydraulique et sous l'effet du vent, le bras de déchargement s'est étendu vers l'extérieur.
  6. Le bras de déchargement est tombé sur la lisse de pavois du navire qui glissait le long du duc d'albe.
  7. L'équipage n'a pas pu dégager le bras de déchargement du pavois avant qu'il n'atteigne le gréement de la bôme de débarquement.
  8. La victime s'est fait écraser la main entre le bras de déchargement et un hauban de la bôme de débarquement.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

L'équipage n'a pu dégager le bras de déchargement avant qu'il ne heurte le gréement de la bôme de débarquement. Un membre de l'équipage a eu la main coïncée entre le bras de déchargement et le hauban. Le heurt du navire contre le duc d'albe a ébranlé les bras de déchargement, et un dispositif d'assujettissement qui n'était pas assez serré s'est disloqué. Le vent qui soufflait sur le bras de déchargement a favorisé son extension vers l'extérieur.

Mesures de sécurité prises

Des chaînes de sécurité ont été installées pour empêcher les bras de déchargement de se détacher sous le coup d'une secousse.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 23 avril 1997 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.


[1]  Toutes les heures sont exprimées en HNE (temps universel coordonné (UTC) moins cinq heures), sauf indication contraire.