Marine Investigation Report M95W0020

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View report in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file; find out more on our help page.

The striking and damaging of floats, pilings
small vessels and dock by the tug "SEACAP XII"
and its towed barge "SEASPAN 619" in the vicinity
of Celtic Shipyards in the North Arm of the Fraser River
11 May 1995

Summary

The small tug "SEACAP XII" was towing the barge "SEASPAN 619" upstream in the North Arm of the Fraser River on 11 May 1995. While under the con of the deckhand, the tug veered when the wheel was left unattended, and the tug and the barge struck and damaged the dock, pilings and small vessels in the vicinity of Celtic Shipyards. The voyage to the Fraser River Terminals was resumed by the "SEACAP XII" after it had extricated the barge "SEASPAN 619" from the various other craft with which it was fouled.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

Particulars of the Vessels

Name "SEACAP XII"  "SEASPAN 619"
Port of Registry  New Westminster, B.C.  Vancouver, B.C.
Flag  Canadian  Canadian
Official Number   348570  314859
Type  Tugboat  Barge
Gross Tonnage  51  513
Crew Two  None
Length  13.77m  40.84m
Built  1979, Vancouver, B.C.  1962, Esquimalt,B.C.
Propulsion  Twin Screw/4 Rudders
Kort Nozzles
None
Power  1040bhp  None
Owners Valley Towing Ltd.,
New Westminster, B.C. 
SeaspanInternational
North Vancouver B.C.

Name "CELTIC"  "FULBOR"
Port of Registry  Vancouver, B.C.  Nanaimo, B.C.
Flag  Canadian  Canadian 
Official Number   391870  188296
Type  Tugboat  Tugboat
Gross Tonnage  10  7
Crew    
Length  8.14 m  7.31 m
Built  1978, Delta, B.C.  1956, Vancouver,B.C.
Propulsion  Diesel  Diesel 
Power  240 H.P. 240 H.P.
Owners Hodder Tugboat Co. Ltd., 
Richmond, B.C. 
Q.B. Towing Ltd.,
Delta, B.C.

Name "CANADIAN NATURAL NO. 1"
Port of Registry  Vancouver, B.C.
Flag  Canadian
Official Number    
Type  Barge
Gross Tonnage  139
Crew  
Length  22.86m
Built  1988, North Vancouver, B.C.
Propulsion  None
Owners Isamu M. Matsumoto
Burnaby, B.C.

In addition to the above vessels, the campbarge "JOE'S SALMON LODGE" and a five-metre runabout also suffered minor damage.The "SEACAP XII" is a steel tug primarily used in the Fraser River. It has twin propellers operating in Kort Nozzles and four rudders connected by a bar. There is an amidships deckhouse which has a galley at the after end and navigation equipment, steering controls and engine controls at the forward end.

There are two steering wheels, one in the deckhouse and another on top of the deckhouse. Both steering wheels use direct hydraulic means to control two hydraulic rams which actuate the four rudders through a common connecting bar.

There is also an alternative system of steering consisting of four electrical controllers (jog sticks). One is located at the aft steering position, a second on top of the wheel-house and two within the wheel-house. These jog sticks operate an electro-hydraulic shuttle control valve in the steering compartment, which in turn controls the two hydraulic rams which actuate the rudders through the connecting bar. Any single jog stick can control the steering at any time and they each override the steering wheel. The steering gear is of the Wagner type and the jog sticks are of the Square D type, having been changed to the Square D type from the Wagner type some years ago.

The jog sticks are spring loaded so that they return to the neutral position when released. The aft deck jog stick was found to be defective in as much as it would remain in the port-engaged position until manually returned to the neutral position. Examination of the switch revealed that this defect had existed for some time prior to this occurrence. (See photographs). However, it was reported that the skipper never used the aft jog and the deckhand had not used it in the recent past. It was also reported that this jog stick had not jammed at any earlier date.

The barge "SEASPAN 619" is a rectangular steel barge surmounted by a covered box rising to a height of 4.8 metres above the hull and extending to about 90 percent of the length and 90 percent of the breadth of the barge. The barge is built for carrying paper.

Celtic Shipyards (1988) Ltd. is located on the north side of the North Arm of the Fraser River. There is a 35-ton Travelift hoist and berthing facilities on a floating dock for a number of small vessels. On the morning of 11 May 1995, a campbarge known as "JOE'S SALMON LODGE" was berthed at the floating dock. Some people were living on the barge and were asleep at the time of the occurrence. There were also a number of smaller pleasure boats and tugs berthed on the outside of the floating jetties. The shipyard employs round-the-clock security at its site.

The tug took the loaded barge in tow off the North Arm Jetty at 0345(1) on 11 May 1995 and was bound for the Fraser River Terminals. The tug had on board a master and a deckhand who had been on duty since 1800 on 10 May 1995.

The master had a certificate of competency as Master of a Home Trade Steamship under 350 tons, the deckhand was uncertificated.

Shortly after taking the barge in tow, the master handed the con to the deckhand and went to the galley in the after part of the deckhouse to rest.

At about dawn, while approaching Celtic Shipyards the tug and tow were approximately in the middle of the river. The deckhand, intending to make a small port correction in the vessel's heading, moved the aft deck jog stick to port and went to the side of the tug. During his absence the aft deck jog stick jammed in the port position. It did not return to neutral as designed.

Instead of making the small correction intended, the tug veered sharply to port when the rudder reached the hard-over position. At this time the master was in the after part of the deckhouse. Observing the port swing, he tried to correct it by using the steering wheel in the wheelhouse but the wheel had been rendered inoperative by the jammed aft deck jog stick. The jog-stick was freed by the deckhand and control of the steering regained.

Except for the master and deckhand of the tug "SEACAP XII", no other witness saw the initial striking of floats and vessels by the tug and the tow. However the noise of the collision alerted the shipyard security guard and awoke some of the persons asleep on the camp barge. These persons witnessed the latter part of the occurrence.

It is believed that the tug "SEACAP XII" and barge "SEASPAN 619" first struck the aluminum barge "CANADIAN NATURAL 1" berthed at the old dock which is to the west of the shipyard. Both tug and tow rebounded, striking and damaging the guide piers which lead to the Travelift hoist.

The tug "CELTIC" and fishing vessel "MAY", berthed on the outside of the U-shaped main dock structure, were the next to be struck. The upper cabin structure of the "CELTIC" was damaged, setting off the interior security alarm. The tug "FULBOR" and a pleasure craft suffered crushing damage. The dock structure was damaged extensively as the piles holding the floats were knocked over and the floats themselves were damaged. These floats had electrical wiring in the form of overhead and other wires, which were also damaged. The gangway accessing the floats shifted when the floats moved and was tilted dangerously.

The "SEACAP XII" manoeuvered to extricate its barge "SEASPAN 619" which had become fouled with the other boats.

As a result of the striking, the dock structure became unsafe for use and the camp barge was moved to another location. After inspecting the damage to the dock and boats, the "SEACAP XII" resumed its voyage to the Fraser River docks. Damage to the "SEACAP XII" and the "SEASPAN 619" was negligible.

Valley Towing does not have a regime in place encouraging crew training. Neither the master nor the deckhand could recollect participating in a safety drill and there was no written company safety policy or instruction regarding the testing of control equipment on board. The crew lacked training in standard first aid and marine emergency duties. However, the tug complied with existing certification and manning requirements and the Fraser River By-laws regarding manning.

There is no specific by-law concerning navigation in the vicinity of the shipyard. McDonald Slough is on the south side of the river opposite the shipyard. Vessels tend to keep towards the north side of the river in order to avoid set when passing the slough.

The North Fraser Harbour Commission confirmed that the tidal stream in the vicinity of Celtic Shipyard on the morning of 11 May 1995 would not have been strong enough to have contributed to the above occurrence.

Analysis

The jog stick was examined by TSB investigators and an independent firm hired by the tugowner. It was conclusively established that, at some time in the past, the steering controller (jog) had been forced past the limiting screw on the port side. Thereafter it became easier to go past the limit position without meeting the resistance of the port side limiting screw. When this happened, as on 11 May 1995, the jog would not return to the neutral position on its own and would remain jammed in the port-engaged position. The crew on board the tug were not aware of this fault as they had not used the aft-deck steering jog during the few days prior to the occurrence.

Although the master's certificate of competency had been obtained twenty nine years ago, existing regulations do not require updates to his training. The deckhand had no formal training at all.

Training, in addition to reinforcing knowledge and skill, reinforce safe working practices. Because navigation in restricted waters like the Fraser River is a challenging task, shipping companies usually invest in training, particularly where some time has elapsed since the acquisition of a certificate of competency.

The International Chamber of Shipping in their "Bridge Procedures Guide" recommend the use of standard bridge check lists. The testing of the steering gear and controls is one of the most important checks prior to sailing. It is likely that, had there been shipboard regime or a company policy or instruction to ensure that controls and steering were tested before sailing, the previously undetected fault in the steering controller would have been discovered.

Findings

  1. The incident occurred in partial darkness.
  2. The master of the tug was taking a break and was resting in the galley section of the deckhouse at the time of the occurrence.
  3. The deckhand left the jog stick by which he was steering immediately prior to the occurrence.
  4. The tug veered sharply as the jog stick had jammed in the hard to port position.
  5. It was positively established that the limiting screw on the aft jog stick for the steering had worn out rendering the jog stick defective and liable to jamming in the port-alteration position.
  6. The defect in the aft electrical controller had been present for some time prior to the accident.
  7. Any jog stick located on the tug overrides the steering wheel in the wheel-house.
  8. The tug and barge struck the docks and other facilities at Celtic Shipyards and also other vessels berthed there before the tugmaster could regain control of the tug.
  9. The tug "SEACAP XII" and barge "SEASPAN 619" were not damaged as a result of the occurrence, however the dock structure and other vessels were damaged to different extents.

Causes and Contributory Factors

The "SEACAP XII" with "SEASPAN 619" in tow struck various vessels and shore facilities in the Fraser River because the jog stick for the steering on the tug jammed due to an undetected defect. The steering control was left unattended for a brief period and the consequent delay in recognizing the problem and rectifying it contributed to the occurrence.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 14 August 1996.


1. All times are PDT (Coordinated Universal Time minus seven hours).

Rapport d'enquête maritime M95W0020

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Le remorqueur « SEACAP XII » et
la barge remorquée « SEASPAN 619 »
ont heurté et endommagé des quais flottants,
des pieux, des petits bâtiments et un quai
à proximité du chantier maritime de la Celtic
Shipyards dans le bras nord du fleuve Fraser
le 11 mai 1995

Résumé

Le petit remorqueur « SEACAP XII » remorquait la barge « SEASPAN 619 » en remontant le bras nord du fleuve Fraser le 11 mai 1995. Alors qu'il était sous la commande du matelot de pont, le remorqueur se mit à changer de cap, car le matelot avait laissé la barre sans surveillance pendant quelques instants. Le remorqueur et la barge remorquée ont heurté et endommagé un quai, des pieux et de petits bâtiments à proximité du chantier maritime de la Celtic Shipyards. Le « SEACAP XII » a pu continuer son voyage à destination des terminaux du fleuve Fraser après que la barge a été dégagée des divers bâtiments avec lesquels elle était entrée en collision.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Fiche technique des bâtiments

Nom « SEACAP XII » « SEASPAN 619 »
Port d'immatriculation New Westminster (C.-B.) Vancouver (C.-B.)
Pavillon  Canadien Canadien
Numéro officiel  348570 314859
Type  Remorqueur Barge
Jauge brute  51 tonneaux 513 tonneaux
Équipage  Deux Aucun
Longueur  13,77 m 40,84 m
Construction  1979, Vancouver (C.-B.) 1962, Esquimalt (C.-B.)
Propulsion  Deux hélices, 4 gouvernails, tuyères Kort Aucune
Puissance  1 040 BHP Aucune
Propriétaires Valley Towing Ltd.,
New Westminster (C.-B.)
Seaspan International 
North Vancouver (C.-B.)

Nom « CELTIC » « FULBOR »
Port d'immatriculation Vancouver (C.-B.) Nanaïmo (C.-B.)
Pavillon  Canadien Canadien
Numéro officiel  391870 188296
Type  Remorqueur Remorqueur
Jauge brute  10 tonneaux 7 tonneaux
Équipage     
Longueur  8,14 m 7,31 m
Construction  1978, Delta (C.-B.) 1956, Vancouver (C.-B.)
Propulsion  Moteur diesel Moteur diesel
Puissance  240 HP 240 HP
Propriétaires Hodder Tugboat Co. Ltd., 
Richmond (C.-B.)
Q.B. Towing Ltd.,
Delta (C.-B.)

Nom « CANADIAN NATURAL NO.1 »
Port d'immatriculation Vancouver (C.-B.)
Pavillon  Canadien
Numéro officiel   
Type  Barge
Jauge brute  139 tonneaux
Équipage  
Longueur  22,86 m
Construction  1988, North Vancouver (C.-B.)
Propulsion  Aucune
Propriétaires Isamu M. Matsumoto
Burnaby (C.-B.)

Outre les bâtiments susmentionnés, la barge-pourvoirie « JOE'S SALMON LODGE » et un runabout de cinq mètres ont aussi subi des dommages légers. Le « SEACAP XII » est un remorqueur en acier exploité surtout sur le fleuve Fraser. Il est muni de deux hélices tournant dans des tuyères Kort et de quatre gouvernails reliés par un timon. Un rouf disposé au milieu du remorqueur abrite une cuisine à l'arrière ainsi que le matériel de navigation et les commandes de barre et du moteur à l'avant.

Le bâtiment comporte deux volants de manoeuvre, un dans le rouf, l'autre sur le toit de ce dernier. Les deux volants de manoeuvre à fonctionnement hydraulique commandent deux vérins hydrauliques qui orientent les quatre gouvernails par l'intermédiaire d'un timon commun.

Le remorqueur est aussi muni d'un appareil à gouverner auxiliaire comprenant quatre manettes de commande électriques. Une des manettes se trouve au poste de barre arrière, une deuxième se trouve sur le toit de la timonerie et les deux autres sont montées dans la timonerie. Ces manettes de commande actionnent une vanne sélectrice hydraulique dans le compartiment de l'appareil à gouverner, qui elle commande deux vérins hydrauliques assurant la manoeuvre des gouvernails par l'entremise d'un timon commun. N'importe laquelle des manettes peut commander la manoeuvre de barre à tout moment et chacune a priorité sur le volant de manoeuvre. L'appareil à gouverner est de type Wagner et les manettes de commande sont de type Square D. Les manettes étaient auparavant de type Wagner, mais ont été modifiées au type Square D il y a quelques années.

Les manettes de commande sont à ressort; elle reviennent ainsi à la position neutre lorsqu'on les relâche. On a constaté que la manette du poste de barre arrière était défectueuse en ce sens qu'elle restait bloquée dans la position «bâbord» et qu'il fallait la ramener manuellement en position neutre. L'examen du contact électrique a révélé que l'anomalie était présente depuis un certain temps avant l'accident (voir les photos). Cependant, on a signalé que le capitaine n'avait jamais utilisé cette manette et que le matelot de pont ne l'avait pas utilisée récemment. Selon les témoignages, la manette ne s'était jamais bloquée auparavant.

La barge « SEASPAN 619 » est une barge rectangulaire en acier surmontée d'un caisson fermé s'élevant à une hauteur de 4,8 mètres au-dessus de la coque et se prolongeant sur environ 90 p. 100 de la longueur et sur 90 p. 100 de la largeur de la barge. La barge est destinée au transport de papier.

Le chantier maritime de la Celtic Shipyards (1988) Ltd. se trouve sur la rive nord du bras nord du fleuve Fraser. On y trouve un engin de levage Travelift de 35 tonnes et des installations d'accostage sur quai flottant pouvant accommoder un certain nombre de petits bâtiments. Au matin du 11 mai 1995, une barge-pourvoirie (« JOE'S SALMON LODGE ») était amarrée au quai flottant. Un certain nombre de personnes habitent la barge et dormaient au moment de l'accident. D'autres embarcations de plaisance de plus petite taille et des remorqueurs se trouvaient aussi amarrés du côté extérieur des quais flottants. Le chantier maritime assure la sécurité de ses installations 24 heures sur 24.

Le remorqueur a pris en remorque la barge chargée au quai du bras nord à 3 h 45[1] le 11 mai 1995 à destination des terminaux du fleuve Fraser. Le remorqueur avait à son bord le capitaine ainsi qu'un matelot de pont qui était en service à bord depuis 18 h 00 le 10 mai 1995.

Le capitaine était titulaire d'un brevet de compétence de capitaine de navire de cabotage de moins de 350 tonnes et le matelot de pont ne détenait aucun brevet.

Peu après la prise en remorque de la barge, le capitaine a passé la commande au matelot de pont et s'est rendu à la cuisine dans la partie arrière du rouf afin de se reposer.

À l'aube, en approchant du chantier de la Celtic Shipyards, le remorqueur et la barge se trouvaient au milieu du fleuve. Voulant corriger légèrement le cap du remorqueur sur bâbord, le matelot de pont a déplacé la manette de commande arrière sur bâbord et s'est rendu sur le côté du remorqueur. Pendant son absence, la manette de commande s'est bloquée à la position «bâbord» et n'est pas revenue en position neutre comme prévu.

Plutôt que de suivre le cap corrigé prévu, le remorqueur a viré brusquement sur bâbord lorsque le gouvernail s'est mis en position maximale sur bâbord. À ce moment-là, le capitaine se trouvait dans la partie arrière du rouf. En constatant le mouvement sur bâbord, il a tenté de corriger la manoeuvre au moyen de la barre de la timonerie, mais la roue ne réagissait pas en raison du blocage de la manette de commande arrière. Le matelot de pont a pu débloquer manuellement la manette et le capitaine a pu reprendre la maîtrise du remorqueur.

À l'exception du capitaine et du matelot de pont du remorqueur « SEACAP XII », aucune autre personne n'a été témoin de l'abordage initial des quais flottants et des bâtiments par le remorqueur et la barge. Cependant, le bruit de l'abordage a alerté le garde de sécurité du chantier maritime et réveillé plusieurs personnes qui dormaient à bord de la barge-pourvoirie. Ces personnes ont assisté à la suite des événements.

On prétend que le remorqueur « SEACAP XII » et que la barge « SEASPAN 619 » ont d'abord heurté la barge en aluminium « CANADIAN NATURAL 1 » amarrée au vieux quai se trouvant à l'ouest du chantier maritime. Le remorqueur et la barge ont « rebondi », puis frappé et endommagé les jetées de guidage menant à l'engin de levage Travelift.

Le remorqueur « CELTIC » et le bateau de pêche « MAY » qui étaient amarrés sur le côté extérieur de la structure du quai principal en forme de «U» ont ensuite été heurtés. La structure supérieure de la cabine du « CELTIC » a été endommagée, ce qui a déclenché l'avertisseur de sécurité à l'intérieur. Le remorqueur « FULBOR » et une embarcation de plaisance ont subi des avaries par écrasement. La structure du quai a été fortement endommagée, les pieux des quais flottants ayant été renversés et les quais flottants eux-mêmes ayant aussi été endommagés. Les quais flottants portaient des câbles électriques aériens ainsi que d'autres câbles qui ont aussi subi des dommages. Lorsque les quais flottants se sont déplacés, la passerelle y donnant accès a ripé et s'est inclinée dangereusement.

Le remorqueur « SEACAP XII » a manoeuvré de manière à libérer la barge « SEASPAN 619 » qui avait abordé les autres bateaux.

En raison de l'abordage, la structure du quai n'était plus sécuritaire et la barge-pourvoirie a été amarrée à un autre endroit. Après une inspection des avaries au quai et aux bâtiments, le remorqueur « SEACAP XII » a poursuivi son voyage à destination des quais du fleuve Fraser. Les avaries au remorqueur « SEACAP XII » et à la barge « SEASPAN 619 » étaient négligeables.

La Valley Towing ne dispose pas d'un programme favorisant la formation des équipages. Le capitaine et le matelot de pont ne se rappelaient pas d'avoir participé à des exercices sur la sécurité et la compagnie n'avait aucune politique ou instruction écrite concernant l'essai du matériel de commande à bord. L'équipage n'avait pas reçu de formation en matière de premiers soins et de fonctions d'urgence en mer. Cependant, le remorqueur était conforme aux exigences existantes en matière de certification et d'armement en hommes et aux règlements du fleuve Fraser concernant les équipages.

Il n'existe aucun règlement particulier sur la navigation à proximité du chantier maritime. Le faux chenal McDonald se trouve sur le côté sud du fleuve, vis-à-vis du chantier maritime. Les navires essaient de demeurer du côté nord du fleuve afin d'éviter le courant en passant dans le faux chenal.

La Commission du havre de North-Fraser a confirmé que le courant de marée à proximité du chantier de la Celtic Shipyards au matin du 11 mai 1995 n'était pas assez fort pour avoir contribué au sinistre susmentionné.

Analyse

Des enquêteurs du BST et d'une firme indépendante embauchée par le propriétaire du remorqueur ont examiné la manette de commande. Il a été clairement établi qu'à un certain moment auparavant, la manette de commande de barre avait été forcée au-delà de sa position maximale «bâbord». Par la suite, il était plus facile de dépasser cette position sans que la vis de butée (position maximale bâbord) n'offre de résistance. Dans cette situation, comme ce fut le cas le 11 mai 1995, la manette ne revenait pas automatiquement à la position neutre et restait bloquée dans la position «bâbord». Les membres de l'équipage du remorqueur n'étaient pas au courant de la défectuosité car ils n'avaient pas employé la manette de commande arrière durant les jours qui avaient précédé l'accident.

Même si le capitaine avait obtenu son brevet de compétence il y a de cela vingt-neuf ans, la réglementation en vigueur n'oblige pas le titulaire à mettre ses compétences à jour. Le matelot de pont n'avait aucun brevet de compétence.

En plus de favoriser l'acquisition de connaissances et de compétences, la formation permet aussi de prendre des mesures de sécurité au travail. La navigation dans les eaux restreintes du fleuve Fraser constitue une tâche exigeante et c'est pourquoi les compagnies maritimes investissent normalement dans la formation, en particulier si les marins ont obtenu leur brevet de compétence depuis un certain nombre d'années.

Dans son ouvrage intitulé « Bridge Procedures Guide », la Chambre internationale de la marine marchande recommande d'utiliser des listes normalisées de contrôle de passerelle. L'essai de l'appareil à gouverner et des commandes est l'une des plus importantes vérifications à effectuer avant l'appareillage. Il est probable que si un programme à bord ou une politique ou une instruction de la compagnie visant à vérifier les commandes et l'appareil à gouverner avant l'appareillage avaient été en vigueur, la défectuosité de la manette de commande de barre non détectée au préalable aurait sans doute été décelée.

Faits établis

  1. L'accident est survenu pendant un période d'obsécuritéé partielle.
  2. Le capitaine du remorqueur se reposait dans la partie cuisine du rouf au moment de l'accident.
  3. Juste avant l'accident, le matelot de pont a laissé sans surveillance la manette de commande qu'il utilisait.
  4. Le remorqueur a fait une embardée brusque lorsque la manette de commande a bloqué en position maximale «bâbord».
  5. Il a été clairement établi que la vis de butée de la manette de commande de gouverne arrière était usée, rendant la manette défectueuse et susceptible de se bloquer dans la position «bâbord».
  6. La manette de commande électrique arrière était défectueuse depuis un certain temps avant l'accident.
  7. Toutes les manettes de commande de barre du remorqueur ont priorité sur le volant de manoeuvre dans la timonerie.
  8. Avant que le capitaine du remorqueur puisse reprendre la maîtrise du remorqueur, ce dernier et la barge ont heurté les quais et d'autres installations au chantier maritime de la Celtic Shipyards, ainsi que d'autres bâtiments qui y étaient amarrés.
  9. Le remorqueur « SEACAP XII » et la barge « SEASPAN 619 » n'ont pas subi d'avaries dans l'accident, mais la structure du quai et d'autres bâtiments ont été endommagés à divers degrés.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Le remorqueur « SEACAP XII » et la barge « SEASPAN 619 » qu'il remorquait ont heurté divers bâtiments et des installations à terre donnant sur le fleuve Fraser en raison du blocage d'une manette de commande de barre à bord du remorqueur, blocage attribuable à une défectuosité non décelée. La manette de commande a été laissée sans surveillance pendant une courte période et le temps mis à cerner le problème et à le corriger a été un des facteurs de l'accident.

Le présent rapport conclut l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. Par conséquent, le Bureau, composé du président, Benoît Bouchard, ainsi que des membres, Maurice Harquail et W. A. Tadros, en a autorisé la publication, le 14 août 1996.


[1]  Toutes les heures sont exprimées selon l'HAP (Temps universel coordonné moins sept heures).