Marine Investigation Report M96C0032

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View report in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file; find out more on our help page.

Dangerous Occurrence
Passenger-Car Ferry "WOLFE ISLANDER III"
Leaving the Ferry Terminal at
Marysville, Ontario
29 May 1996

Summary

At 0745 on 29 May 1996, the "WOLFE ISLANDER III" was embarking passengers and vehicles at Marysville, Wolfe Island. The master had left the wheel-house unattended and the ferry was not secured to the terminal by moorings. While the master was below deck, the emergency steering override system of the ferry's propulsion units failed. As a result, two of the units released from the locked position and turned slowly from the direction in which they had been set. The ferry moved about 45 m off the terminal before control was regained. No one was injured and there was no pollution as a result of this occurrence.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

Particulars of the Vessel

Name "WOLFE ISLANDER III"
Port of Registry Kingston, Ont.
Flag Canada
Official Number 197730
Type Passenger-car ferry
Gross Tonnage 985 Tons
Length 51.5 m
Built 1975, Thunder Bay, Ont.
Propulsion Four 410 HP "Aquamaster"(1) power units
Crew 6
Owners Transportation and Communications (MTO),Queen's Park, Ont.

At 0745(2) on 29 May 1996, having completed several return journeys between Kingston and Marysville, the ferry was embarking passengers and vehicles at the Marysville terminal on Wolfe Island. The master had set the emergency override control to lock the propulsion units in the position in which they would keep the ferry alongside. The mooring ropes (double-eyed short snubs) were not made fast to secure the ferry to the terminal. The master then shouted to the mate on deck to come to the wheel-house to replace him while he went to the washroom. The master did not wait for the mate to arrive on the bridge before he went below. The mate had not heard the master calling to him and went about his duties at the ferry ramp. The master had other means of communication from the wheelhouse to the deck, by two way portable radio and by the ship's PA system. However, neither of these means was used.

While the master was below deck, the emergency steering override system of the ferry's propulsion units failed. As a result, two of the units released from the locked position and turned slowly from the direction in which they had been set. The duty engineer in the engine-room was not aware of what was happening. As the vessel's stern began to turn, the ferry started to leave the terminal by herself. Witnesses estimated that the traffic was from 0.5 m to 7 m from the open apron on the shore side when the mate, positioned on the ferry's ramp, directed the embarking traffic to stop. Two minutes previously, several cars and two school buses filled with school children had embarked.

From the main deck, the mate could not determine if the master or anyone else was in the wheel-house. After making a telephone call to the bridge and not receiving a reply, the mate ran to the wheel-house, which he found unattended. On arrival, the mate switched the emergency override to normal steering and began to bring the ferry back to the terminal which was now about 45 m away. Shortly afterward, the master returned to the bridge, unhurriedly, according to some witnesses. The master took over the controls from the mate and redocked the ferry at the terminal. Embarkation resumed.

After the occurrence, it was found that several turns of the valve handle were required to close the main steering by-pass distribution valve for units 3 and 4.

The previous day, 28 May, the master had found the steering sluggish. Although the problem was not serious, he had asked the engineer on duty to check the system when the ferry was alongside. The engineer partly opened the main steering by-pass distribution valve for units 3 and 4 as part of his check. He had not completed his examination of the system when he was advised to prepare the ferry for departure. When he reactivated the steering component of the units, he forgot about the partly open valve and did not close it.

According to the Ministry of Transportation of Ontario (MTO) operations standing orders for the ferry, the person on watch must be relieved on the bridge before leaving his post. The standing orders also require that the ferry be secured by mooring ropes when at the terminal. Neither of these safety rules was followed. In addition to the Ministry of Transportation Standing Orders, a letter was sent to all ferry operators in the Kingston District attaching Ship Safety Bulletin 10/92, and an audit was conducted by Marine Safety.

In June 1996, the MTO received information from two members of the travelling public that a similar incident had occurred on 25 February. The MTO internal audit section investigated these reports with a view to disciplinary action but the section was unable to substantiate them.

It was also determined that reports to the effect that the master was "moonlighting" as master for another company in addition to his duties as master with the MTO were unsubstantiated.

The master, mate and engineer all had joined the "WOLFE ISLANDER III" in October 1989. All held the appropriate certification for the vessel.

On 22 April 1996, the MTO had revised the work schedule for the shift crew of the "WOLFE ISLANDER III", and three positions had been eliminated. As a result, the normal number of hours worked daily by the deck crew increased from 8 to 10 over the four-day work period. The change did not affect the ferry's engineers.

Analysis

The emergency steering override system failed because the operating pressure in its hydraulic control line was lowered by the partly open main steering by-pass distribution valve. Operating at the lowered pressure, the system failed to fully maintain the lock on the direction of propulsion units 3 and 4, which rotated slowly from the direction in which they had been set.

All four units were initially set to turn ahead. However, as units 3 and 4 were at the offshore end of the ferry, they were able to draw more water than units 1 and 2. The flow of water to the latter units was restricted by the terminal. Therefore, the thrust from the less restricted offshore units (3 and 4) was greater than the thrust generated by units 1 and 2. When units 3 and 4 rotated from their setting, the after end of the ferry started to turn away from the terminal.

It would appear that the safety rules regarding making the vessel fast by moorings when alongside were not observed. This may have been due to a lack of discipline on the part of the crew whose job it was to make the vessel fast, and to a lack of supervision by the vessel's officers. Although officers and crew are fully occupied at this time, the fundamental and simple standard task of making the vessel fast should not have been overlooked.

It would also appear that it was ship's practice not to make the vessel fast when alongside and that this practice went undetected before this occurrence because the vessel's shoreside managers did not carry out safety audits to ensure that standard safety rules were observed.

Because the moorings had not been made fast, the ferry, while slowly turning, departed the terminal, fortuitously at a time when no passenger or vehicle was embarking. If either the master or mate had been in the wheel-house at this time, the propulsion unit-induced movement of the ferry would have become apparent sooner and could have been corrected.

The mate did not hear the master's call to come to the bridge to relieve him, probably because of ambient noise levels on the main loading deck. At the time, he was attending to his duties at the loading ramp, and had he responded to the master's call, he would not have been in a position to stop further passenger and vehicle traffic from embarking.

The master had been on an altered work shift schedule since 22 April 1996, and his daily work period had increased from 8 to 10 hours. Unfortunately, the master lived on the mainland and the ferry overnighted on Wolfe Island. As a result, the master needed to join the ferry at 0100 on the mainland to travel to Wolfe Island to begin his 10-hour shift there at 0530. Thus, there was little remaining time at the end of each work shift for rest and sleep. At midnight, this work cycle would repeat itself.

Analysis by the TSB found that this schedule, for persons working and travelling similar hours to the master, would not allow for adequate sleep. Over the four-day work period, a significant sleep deficit would accumulate. A sleep deficit can cause a reduced attention span and forgetfulness; a tendency to make riskier decisions; and a general decline in performance.

The master's performance in this instance is consistent with the effects of fatigue in that he did not ensure that the bridge was crewed during his absence and he did not return to the bridge urgently. The vessel was not made fast to the terminal and was left unattended with the engines running, and with the wheel-house and engine controls accessible to the public.

Findings

  1. The day before the occurrence, the engineer on duty did not completely close the distribution valve controlling the hydraulic pressure for the emergency steering override for propulsion/steering units 3 and 4.
  2. The effect of the incompletely closed valve was that units 3 and 4 could not be reliably locked in the emergency steering override position.
  3. While the "WOLFE ISLANDER III" was embarking passengers and vehicles at the Marysville terminal, the master locked units 3 and 4 in override and left the wheel-house unattended.
  4. The ferry was not secured to the terminal by moorings.
  5. During the master's absence from the wheel-house, propulsion/steering units 3 and 4 rotated from the locked position, causing the ferry to move slowly off the terminal.
  6. The mate acted quickly to stop passengers and vehicles from embarking. By the time he also regained control of the ferry, she was about 45 m off the terminal.
  7. On 22 April 1996, the MTO had revised the work schedule for the shift crews, and three positions had been eliminated, increasing the normal number of hours worked daily from 8 to 10.
  8. During the four-day work period of the new schedule, a crew member living on the mainland is required to catch the 0100 ferry to Marysville to be ready to begin his 10-hour shift at 0530, leaving little time for rest and sleep.
  9. It is likely that the master was suffering from fatigue which may have adversely affected his judgement and performance.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The "WOLFE ISLANDER III" accidentally departed from the terminal because the emergency steering override system failed due to an incompletely closed valve in the engine-room. Propulsion/steering units 3 and 4 turned slowly from the direction in which they had been set, causing the ferry to swing off the terminal.

Contributing to the occurrence was the fact that the ferry was not secured to the terminal, the wheel-house was not crewed, and the master's judgement may have been affected by an accumulated sleep deficit caused by recent changes in his work schedule.

Action Taken

Following the occurrence, ferry masters were reminded of safe operating practices and the MTO internal audit branch reviewed the operation and looked at mechanical means to prevent a reoccurrence of this nature. It was also reported that as of February 1997, the work schedule returned to the 8-hour shift.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 7 October 1997.


[1]The Aquamaster propulsion unit is an azimuthing thruster driven by a medium-speed prime mover. In normal use, the unit may be turned through 360 degrees and maintain the direction to which it has been set to within a few degrees on either side of the setting. The unit may be positively locked in direction by the emergency steering override system. There are about 2,000 of these units in service worldwide.

[2]  All times are EDT (Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) minus four hours) unless otherwise stated.

Rapport d'enquête maritime M96C0032

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) du Canada a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Incident dangereux
Traversier mixte « WOLFE ISLANDER III »
Au départ du débarcadère de traversiers
de Marysville (Ontario)
le 29 mai 1996

Résumé

À 7 h 45, le 29 mai 1996, le « WOLFE ISLANDER III » faisait monter des passagers et des véhicules à Marysville sur l'île Wolfe. Le capitaine avait laissé la timonerie inoccupée et le traversier n'était pas amarré au débarcadère. Alors que le capitaine se trouvait en bas, la commande prioritaire de blocage des unités de propulsion du traversier a fait défaut. En conséquence, deux des unités se sont déverrouillées et se sont lentement déplacées de leur position de réglage. Le traversier s'est écarté d'environ 45 m du quai avant qu'on n'en reprenne la maîtrise. Personne n'a été blessé et l'événement n'a pas fait de pollution.

This report also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Fiche technique du bâtiment

Nom « WOLFE ISLANDER III »
Port d'immatriculation Kingston (Ont.)
Pavillon Canada
Numéro officiel 197730
Type Traversier mixte
Jauge brute 985 tonneaux
Longueur 51,5 m
Construction 1975, Thunder Bay (Ont.)
Propulsion Quatre unités de propulsion «Aquamaster»[1] de 410 HP
Équipage 6 personnes
Propriétaire Ministère des Transports de l'Ontario (MTO), Queen's Park (Ont.)

À 7 h 45[2], le 29 mai 1996, après plusieurs voyages aller-retour entre Kingston et Marysville, le traversier embarquait des passagers et des véhicules au débarcadère de Marysville sur l'île Wolfe. Le capitaine avait réglé la commande de blocage prioritaire de manière à verrouiller les unités propulsives à la position voulue pour maintenir le traversier contre le quai. Les amarres (courts câbles à oeil double) n'avaient pas été frappées au quai pour y retenir le traversier. Le capitaine a crié au second qui se trouvait sur le pont de venir le remplacer dans la timonerie pendant qu'il allait aux toilettes. Il n'a pas attendu l'arrivée du second sur la passerelle pour la quitter et descendre. Or le second, qui vaquait à ses fonctions sur la rampe du traversier, n'a pas entendu l'appel du capitaine. Celui-ci avait à sa disposition dans la timonerie d'autres moyens de communiquer avec le pont, à savoir un appareil de communication radio bidirectionnel portatif ainsi que le système de sonorisation du bord, mais il ne s'en est pas servi.

Alors que le capitaine se trouvait en bas, la commande de blocage prioritaire des unités propulsives du traversier a fait défaut : deux des unités se sont déverrouillées et se sont lentement déplacées de leur position de réglage, à l'insu du mécanicien de service dans la salle des machines. L'arrière du bâtiment s'est mis à éviter, et le traversier a commencé à s'écarter du quai. Des témoins estiment que les véhicules se trouvaient à une distance de 0,5 m à 7 m de l'ouverture de la contre-étrave, sur le quai, lorsque le second, placé sur la rampe du traversier, leur a ordonné de s'immobiliser. Plusieurs voitures et deux autobus scolaires remplis d'écoliers venaient d'embarquer, deux minutes auparavant.

Du pont principal, le second ne pouvait voir si le capitaine ou quelqu'un d'autre se trouvait dans la timonerie. Après avoir téléphoné à la passerelle sans recevoir de réponse, le second s'y est rendu en toute hâte et l'a trouvée déserte. À son arrivée, il a actionné la commande de blocage prioritaire pour rétablir le mode de gouverne normal et il a entrepris de ramener vers le quai le traversier qui s'en trouvait alors éloigné d'environ 45 m. Peu après, le capitaine est revenu sur la passerelle, sans se presser, selon certains témoins. Le capitaine a repris les commandes et il a ramené le traversier à quai. L'embarquement a repris.

Après l'événement, on a constaté qu'il fallait plusieurs tours de la poignée pour fermer la vanne principale de dérivation des unités 3 et 4.

La veille, le 28 mai, le capitaine avait constaté que le bâtiment répondait mal à la barre. Même si le problème n'était pas grave, il avait demandé au mécanicien de service de faire des vérifications lorsque le traversier serait à quai. Ce faisant, le mécanicien avait partiellement ouvert la vanne de dérivation principale des unités 3 et 4. Il n'avait pas terminé son inspection quand on lui a donné l'ordre de préparer le traversier à l'appareillage. Lorsqu'il a rétabli la capacité directionnelle des unités, il a oublié de fermer la vanne à demi-ouverte.

Selon les ordres permanents d'opérations du ministère des Transports de l'Ontario (MTO), la personne qui est de quart doit être relevée sur la passerelle avant de quitter son poste. Les ordres permanents exigent aussi que le traversier soit attaché au quai par des amarres. Ces consignes de sécurité n'ont pas été suivies. En plus des ordres permanents du ministère des Transports, une lettre a été envoyée à tous les exploitants de traversiers du district de Kingston, accompagnée du bulletin no 10/92 de la Sécurité des navires, et la Sécurité maritime a procédé à une vérification.

En juin 1996, deux voyageurs ont informé le MTO qu'un incident analogue était survenu le 25 février. La section de la vérification interne du MTO a fait enquête afin de prendre des mesures disciplinaires le cas échéant, mais elle a été incapable de corroborer ces allégations.

D'autres allégations selon lesquelles le capitaine travaillait clandestinement comme capitaine pour une autre compagnie, en plus de cumuler ses fonctions de capitaine au MTO, n'ont pu être vérifiées.

Le capitaine, le second et le mécanicien avaient entrepris leur service à bord du «WOLFE ISLANDER III» en octobre 1989. Chacun d'eux possédait certificats et brevets requis pour l'exploitation du bâtiment.

Le 22 avril 1996, le MTO a révisé les horaires de travail des différents quarts à bord du «WOLFE ISLANDER III» et trois postes ont été supprimés, ce qui a fait passer de huit à dix le nombre quotidien d'heures de travail de l'équipe de pont pour chacun des quatre jours de la période de service. Le changement ne touchait pas les mécaniciens du traversier.

Analyse

La commande prioritiare de blocage a fait défaut à cause d'une pression insuffisante dans le circuit de commande hydraulique due à la vanne de dérivation principale de l'appareil à gouverner qui était restée à demi-ouverte. À cause de la pression réduite, la commande n'a pu maintenir le verrouillage en azimut des unités propulsives 3 et 4, lesquelles se sont lentement déplacées de leur position de réglage.

Les quatre unités avaient d'abord été réglées pour une rotation en marche avant. Toutefois, les unités 3 et 4, placées à l'extrémité éloignée du quai du traversier, brassaient plus d'eau que les unités 1 et 2, auxquelles l'afflux d'eau était limité par le quai. Par conséquent, elles généraient une poussée supérieure à celle des unités 1 et 2. Lorsque les unités 3 et 4 se sont déplacées de leur position de réglage, l'arrière du traversier a commencé à s'écarter du quai.

Il semblerait que les consignes de sécurité touchant l'amarrage du navire le long du quai n'aient pas été observées. La situation a pu être attribuable à un manque de discipline des membres de l'équipage chargés d'amarrer le navire, ainsi qu'à un manque de surveillance de la part des officiers du bâtiment. Même si les officiers et les membres d'équipage sont très occupés en pareils moments, ils n'auraient pas dû négliger la tâche essentielle, répétitive et simple d'amarrer le navire.

Il semblerait que c'était l'usage à bord de ne pas amarrer le navire lorsqu'il était à quai. Toutefois, cette pratique n'avait pas été décelée avant l'incident parce que les gestionnaires du navire à terre n'avaient procédé à aucune vérification pour s'assurer du respect des consignes de sécurité réglementaires.

Comme il n'était pas retenu par ses amarres, le traversier, évitant lentement, s'est écarté du quai inopinément à un moment où il n'y avait ni passagers ni véhicules en train d'embarquer. Si le capitaine ou le second s'était trouvé dans la timonerie à ce moment, il aurait vite remarqué le mouvement généré par les unités propulsives et aurait pu corriger la situation.

Le second n'a pas entendu le capitaine lui demander de venir le remplacer sur la passerelle, probablement à cause du bruit ambiant sur le pont principal d'embarquement. À ce moment-là, il vaquait à ses tâches sur la rampe d'embarquement, et s'il avait répondu à l'appel du capitaine, il n'aurait pas été en mesure de stopper le reste des passagers et des véhicules qui se préparaient à monter à bord.

Depuis le 22 avril 1996, le capitaine avait un nouvel horaire qui avait fait passer sa période de travail quotidienne de 8 à 10 heures. Comme il résidait sur le continent alors que le traversier passait la nuit sur l'île Wolfe, il lui fallait malheureusement prendre le traversier de 1 h sur le continent afin de se rendre sur l'île Wolfe pour son quart de travail de dix heures qui ne commençait qu'à 5 h 30. Il ne lui restait donc que très peu de temps à la fin de chaque quart pour se reposer et dormir. À minuit, ce cycle recommençait.

Selon l'analyse faite par le BST, un tel horaire de travail ne permet pas à des personnes qui doivent voyager autant que le capitaine de dormir suffisamment. Au cours de la période de travail de quatre jours, le manque de sommeil accumulé est alors considérable. Une personne dans cette situation manquera de vigilance et sera sujette aux oublis; elle aura tendance à prendre des décisions risquées; et elle verra son rendement général diminuer.

Le comportement du capitaine en l'occurrence correspond à celui d'une personne fatiguée : il ne s'est pas assuré qu'il y avait quelqu'un sur la passerelle pendant son absence et il ne s'est pas non plus hâté de revenir dans la timonerie. Le bâtiment n'était pas amarré au quai et il était laissé sans surveillance alors que les moteurs tournaient, et que les commandes de la timonerie et des moteurs étaient accessibles au public.

Faits établis

  1. La veille de l'incident, le mécanicien de service n'a pas complètement fermé la vanne de dérivation dosant la pression hydraulique de la commande prioritaire de blocage des unités propulsives/directionnelles 3 et 4.
  2. À cause de cette vanne mal fermée, les unités 3 et 4 ne sont pas restées verrouillées en position de blocage.
  3. Alors que le « WOLFE ISLANDER III » faisait monter des passagers et des véhicules au débarcadère de Marysville, le capitaine a verrouillé les unités 3 et 4 en mode de blocage et a laissé la timonerie sans surveillance.
  4. Le traversier n'était pas retenu au quai par des amarres.
  5. Pendant que le capitaine était absent de la timonerie, les unités propulsives/directionnelles 3 et 4 se sont déplacées de leur position de réglage, et le traversier s'est lentement éloigné du quai.
  6. Le second a réagi avec promptitude pour interrompre l'embarquement des passagers et des véhicules. Avant qu'il ait pu reprendre la maîtrise du traversier, celui-ci se trouvait à environ 45 m du débarcadère.
  7. Le 22 avril 1996, le MTO avait remanié les horaires de travail des différents quarts, et trois postes avaient été supprimés, ce qui augmentait de huit à dix le nombre normal d'heures de travail quotidiennes.
  8. Pendant la période de quatre jours de travail consécutifs prévue dans le nouvel horaire, un membre d'équipage qui réside sur le continent doit prendre le traversier de 1 h à Marysville pour être prêt à commencer son quart de dix heures à 5 h 30, ce qui lui laisse peu de temps pour se reposer et dormir.
  9. Il est probable que le capitaine était fatigué, ce qui a pu avoir des effets néfastes sur son jugement et son rendement.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Le « WOLFE ISLANDER III » s'est accidentellement écarté du quai à cause d'une défaillance de la commande de blocage prioritaire des unités propulsives attribuable à une vanne mal fermée dans la salle des machines. Les unités propulsives/directionnelles 3 et 4 se sont lentement déplacées de leur position de réglage et le traversier a évité et s'est écarté du débarcadère.

Le fait que le traversier n'était pas amarré au quai, que personne ne se trouvait dans la timonerie et que le jugement du capitaine était peut-être altéré par un manque de sommeil imputable au remaniement récent de son horaire de travail ont été des causes accessoires de l'incident.

Mesures de sécurité prises

Après l'incident, on a rappelé aux capitaines de traversiers les méthodes d'exploitation sécuritaires, et la direction de la vérification interne du MTO a examiné le fonctionnement et s'est mise à la recherche de dispositifs mécaniques susceptibles de prévenir la répétition de tels incidents. On rapporte aussi qu'en février 1997, les quarts de travail de huit heures ont été rétablis.

Le présent rapport conclut l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. Par conséquent, le Bureau, composé du président, Benoît Bouchaurd, ainsi que des membres, Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros, en a autorisé la publication, le 7 octobre 1997.


[1]  L'unité de propulsion Aquamaster est un propulseur orientable en azimut entraîné par un moteur à régime. En usage normal, l'Aquamaster peut pivoter sur 360 degrés et maintenir la direction pour laquelle il a été réglé à quelques degrés près. L'unité peut être verrouillée en azimut au moyen d'une commande prioritaire de blocage. Il y a environ 2 000 de ces unités en service dans le monde.

[2]  Toutes les heures sont exprimées selon l'HAE (Temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins quatre heures), sauf indication contraire.