Marine Investigation Report M96L0052

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Overturning of a Truck
on Board the Ferry "L'HÉRITAGE I" During the Crossing Between
Trois-Pistoles and Les Escoumins, Quebec
29 May 1996

Summary

On the morning of 29 May 1996, the ferry "L'HÉRITAGE I" was on a scheduled voyage. When the vessel was approximately four miles north-west of Île aux Basques, Quebec, she encountered a wave that was higher than the others. A truck parked on the forward vehicle deck broke its tie-downs and overturned. No one was injured as a result of this occurrence, but a small quantity of diesel fuel from the truck's tank was spilled. Smoke was seen emanating from the truck's refrigeration system, creating fears of fire. The damage was minor.

Other Factual Information

Particulars of the Vessel

Nom "L'HÉRITAGE I"
Official Number 329382
Port of Registry Québec, Quebec
Flag Canadian
Type Ferry
Gross Tonnage 456
Length 52.99 m
Draught Forward: 1.73 m Aft: 1.88 m
Built 1973, Les Méchins, Quebec
Propulsion Two diesel engines, driving two fixed-pitch propellers
Owners Compagnie de navigation des basques inc. Trois-Pistoles, Quebec
Passengers 20
Crew 10

The "L'HÉRITAGE I" is a ferry providing seasonal service between Trois-Pistoles on the south shore of the St. Lawrence and Les Escoumins on the north shore. On 29 May 1996, the vessel left the Trois-Pistoles wharf at 1000[1] with 13 cars, one trailer, one truck and 20 passengers on board. The wind was from the north-east at 10 to 20 knots. When the ferry was approximately four miles north-west of Île aux Basques, the sea became very rough, and the vessel began rolling to about 10 degrees.

Two men were sent to the vehicle deck to check the condition of the load. The truck was parked at the forward end. Before departure, the truck wheels had been chocked with wooden wedges and the truck secured to the deck with two tie-downs. Because of the rough sea, the two crew members were preparing to add more tie-downs to the truck. At the same moment, the bridge watch observed a wave that was much higher than the others (approximately 5 to 6 m, compared to an average of 2.5 m). They tried to turn the ferry to take the wave head on. Under the effect of the sudden vertical acceleration caused by the vessel's severe pitching upon encountering this exceptionally large wave, the two men on the deck saw the truck rise up and break its tie-downs. After pitching, the vessel rolled to about 35 degrees on each side, overturning the truck.

At 1045, the Les Escoumins Vessel Traffic Centre (VTC) received a call from the "L'HÉRITAGE I" reporting a fire on board caused by a truck that had overturned. A few minutes later, it was learned that there was no fire, just smoke emanating from the compressor of the truck's refrigeration system. The smoke stopped once the system was turned off. Fuel was found leaking from the overflow pipe of the truck's fuel tank. Once the leak was stopped and the damage was assessed, the vessel returned to Trois-Pistoles where she reported docking at 1224.

The tie-downs used to secure the truck broke at the steel rings permanently attached to the deck. The truck had been secured to the deck with two tie-downs. More tie-downs were not added until it was too late. At the time of departure, no such high waves were expected. The wind was blowing at less than 20 knots at the time of the occurrence.

Analysis

The broken steel rings were examined in the TSB Engineering Laboratory. The examination showed that both rings had ruptured under overload at the welded joint. It was determined that one ring had ruptured at the time of the occurrence, and that there was no prior cracking. The other had been cracked before the occurrence.

Analysis of the welds showed that they did not penetrate the entire cross-section and that they had not been heat-treated after welding. The rings therefore did not have their maximum strength of 74,000 lbs. The stronger ring could bear a load of about 30,000 lbs, whereas a similar ring without a weld joint could bear a load of about 1,000 lbs.

Findings

  1. At the time of departure, only moderately rough seas were expected.
  2. The truck parked at the forward end of the vessel was secured to the ferry deck with only two tie-downs.
  3. An exceptionally large wave made the vessel pitch and then roll violently.
  4. Under the effect of the pitching and rolling, the truck broke its tie-downs and then overturned.
  5. One of the steel rings used to secure the truck to the deck was cracked before the occurrence.
  6. The welding for the joints in both rings did not penetrate the full cross-section.

Causes and Contributing Factors

A truck being transported on the forward deck of the ferry "L'HÉRITAGE I" broke its tie-downs and overturned because there were not enough tie-downs securing it and the vessel met with rougher seas than expected. The steel rings used to secure the tie-downs to the deck were in poor condition and could not withstand the strain.

Safety Action Taken

Following the occurrence, corrective measures were taken to prevent vehicles transported on the ferry (weighing as much as 20 to 25 tonnes) from shifting and turning over. All securing rings attached to the main deck were replaced with rings capable of supporting a test load of 15,000 lbs. From now on, all trucks and heavy vehicles will be secured with at least four tie-downs on each side.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 04 April 1997.


[1]  All times are EDT (Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) minus four hours) unless otherwise stated.

Rapport d'enquête maritime M96L0052

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Renversement d'un camion
à bord du traversier « L'HÉRITAGE I »
au cours de la traversée
Trois-Pistoles / Les Escoumins (Québec)
29 mai 1996

Résumé

Dans la matinée du 29 mai 1996, le traversier « L'HÉRITAGE I » effectuait un voyage régulier. Alors qu'il se trouvait à environ quatre milles au nord-ouest de l'île aux Basques (Québec), le navire a rencontré une vague plus grosse que les autres. Un camion stationné sur le pont des véhicules à l'avant du navire a brisé ses attaches puis s'est renversé. L'accident n'a fait aucun blessé, mais une petite quantité de gazole provenant du réservoir du camion s'est déversée. De la fumée s'est dégagée du système de réfrigération du camion, ce qui a fait craindre un incendie. Les dommages ont été mineurs.

1.0 Renseignements de base

1.1 Fiche technique du navire

Nom « L'HÉRITAGE I »
Numéro officiel 329382
Port d'immatriculation Québec (Québec)
Pavillon Canada
Genre Traversier
Jauge brute 456 tonneaux
Longueur 52,99 m
Tirant d'eau Avant : 1,73 m Arrière : 1,88 m
Construction 1973, Les Méchins (Québec)e
Propulsion Deux moteurs diesel, entraînant deux hélices à pas fixe
Propriétaires Compagnie de navigation des basques inc., Trois-Pistoles (Québec)
Passagers 20
Équipage 10

1.1.1 Autre renseignements factuels

Le « L'HÉRITAGE I » est un traversier qui assure un service saisonnier entre Trois-Pistoles sur la rive sud du Saint-Laurent et Les Escoumins sur la rive nord. Le 29 mai 1996, il quitte le quai de Trois-Pistoles à 10 h[1] avec à son bord 13 voitures, une remorque domestique, un camion et 20 passagers. Les vents soufflent du nord-est de 10 à 20 noeuds. Lorsque le traversier se trouve à environ quatre milles au nord-ouest de l'île aux Basques, la mer est très agitée et le navire roule d'environ 10 degrés.

On envoie deux hommes sur le pont des véhicules pour vérifier l'état du chargement. Le camion est stationné à l'avant. Avant le départ, on a calé les roues avec des blocs de bois et on a fixé deux attaches au pont du navire. Étant donné l'état de la mer, les deux membres de l'équipage se préparent à ajouter d'autres attaches au camion. Au même moment sur la passerelle, on aperçoit une vague beaucoup plus grosse que les autres (environ 5 à 6 m sur une moyenne de 2,5 m). On tente de tourner le traversier pour la prendre de front. Sous l'effet de l'accélération verticale soudaine provoquée par le tangage prononcé du navire par suite de la rencontre avec cette vague exceptionnelle, les deux hommes sur le pont voient le camion se soulever et briser ses attaches. Le coup de tangage est suivi d'un roulis du navire d'environ 35 degrés de chaque coté, ce qui fait se renverser le camion.

À 10 h 45, le Centre de trafic maritime (CTM) de Les Escoumins reçoit un appel en provenance du « L'HÉRITAGE I » qui rapporte un incendie à bord causé par un camion qui s'est renversé. On apprendra quelques minutes plus tard qu'il n'y a pas d'incendie, mais seulement de la fumée provenant du compresseur du système de réfrigération du camion. La fumée cesse lorsqu'on stoppe l'appareil. On découvre que du carburant s'écoule du tuyau de trop-plein du réservoir du camion. Une fois la fuite colmatée et les dégâts constatés, le navire retourne à Trois-Pistoles où il signale s'être accosté à 12 h 24.

Les attaches qui servaient à assujettir le camion ont cédé au droit des anneaux en acier fixés au pont en permanence. Le camion avait été assujetti au pont avec deux attaches. Aucune attache n'a été ajoutée avant qu'il soit trop tard. Au moment du départ, on ne prévoyait pas rencontrer de vagues aussi grosses. Le vent soufflait à moins de 20 noeuds au moment de l'accident.

2.0 Analyse

Les anneaux en acier qui ont cédé ont été examinés au Laboratoire technique du BST. Les examens ont révélé que les deux anneaux s'étaient rompus en surcharge vis-à-vis du joint soudé. Il a été déterminé que l'un s'était rompu au moment de l'accident, et qu'il n'y avait pas de fissure antérieure. L'autre était fissuré antérieurement à l'accident.

L'analyse des soudures a démontré que celles-ci ne pénétraient pas complètement la section et qu'il n'y avait pas eu de traitement thermique post-soudure. Par conséquent, les anneaux n'avaient pas leur résistance maximale de 74 000 livres. L'anneau le plus résistant pouvait supporter une charge d'environ 30 000 livres alors qu'un anneau similaire sans soudure peut résister à une charge d'environ 1 000 livres.

3.0 Conclusions

  1. Au moment du départ, on prévoyait que la mer serait moyennement agitée.
  2. Le camion stationné à l'avant du navire avait été assujetti au pont du traversier à l'aide de deux attaches seulement.
  3. Une vague exceptionnelle a fait tanguer puis rouler violemment le navire.
  4. Sous l'effet du tangage et du roulis, le camion a brisé ses attaches, puis s'est renversé.
  5. L'un des anneaux d'acier servant de point d'attache au pont était fissuré antérieurement à l'accident.
  6. La soudure des joints des deux anneaux ne pénétrait pas entièrement la section.

3.1 Causes et facteurs contributifs

Un camion transporté sur le pont avant du traversier « L'HÉRITAGE I » a brisé ses attaches et s'est renversé parce qu'on n'avait pas fixé suffisamment d'attaches et que le navire a rencontré une mer plus grosse que prévu. Les anneaux d'acier servant de points d'attache au pont étaient en mauvais état et offraient une faible résistance à l'effort.

4.0 Mesures de sécurité

Après l'événement à l'étude, des correctifs ont été apportés afin d'empêcher les véhicules transportés, dont le poids peut atteindre de 20 à 25 tonnes, de se déplacer et de basculer. Tous les anneaux d'assujettissement fixés au pont principal ont été remplacés par des anneaux pouvant résister à une charge d'épreuve de 15 000 livres. Dorénavant, tous les camions et véhicules lourds seront assujettis par au moins quatre saisines de chaque côté.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 4 avril 1997 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.


[1]  Toutes les heures sont exprimées en HAE (temps universel coordonné (UTC) moins quatre heures), sauf indication contraire.