Marine Investigation Report M96L0111

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View report in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file; find out more on our help page.

Grounding of the
Bulk Carrier "PONTOPOROS"
in the Port of Sorel, Quebec
05 September 1996

Summary

On 05 September 1996, the Cypriot bulk carrier "PONTOPOROS", with a cargo of 27,332 tonnes of wheat, departed the Port of Sorel, Quebec, bound for Naples, Italy. After clearing a berth at the mouth of the Richelieu River, the "PONTOPOROS" swung around in preparation to head downstream in the St. Lawrence River, but she grounded on a shoal at the edge of the channel. At the time of the accident, the vessel was under the conduct of a pilot and was assisted by two tugs.

The vessel sustained minor damage, but there was no pollution as a result of this accident.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

Particulars of the Vessel

Name: "PONTOPOROS"
Port of Registry: Limassol, Cyprus
Flag: Cyprus
Official Number: 708530
Type: Bulk carrier
Gross Tons: 16,912
Length: 179.89 m
Draught Forward: 10.59 m
Aft: 10.84 m
Built 1984, Hakodate, Japan
Propulsion: One Sulzer engine, 7,061 kW
Cargo: 27,332.19 tonnes of wheat
Crew: 28
Owners: Seastone Maritime, Piraeus, Greece

On the evening of 05 September 1996, the "PONTOPOROS" finished loading wheat at berth No. 15 in the Port of Sorel. Two tugs took up positions alongside the vessel, the "OMNI RICHELIEU" forward and the "OMNI ST. LAURENT" aft.

At approximately 2145, the vessel cleared the dock, assisted by the "OMNI ST. LAURENT", which towed the ship out of the Port of Sorel.Footnote 1 At 2149, the order was given to put the main engine at half astern and, at 2150, speed was increased to full astern as the vessel entered the mouth of the Richelieu River.Footnote 2 The vessel swung to port in the St. Lawrence River, and at 2152, the main engine was stopped off berth No. 14.

From 2155 to 2158, the main engine speed was gradually increased from dead slow ahead to full ahead. The "OMNI ST. LAURENT" astern was ordered to pull to port, while the "OMNI RICHELIEU" forward was ordered to pull to starboard. When, at 2201, it was observed that the speed over the ground was negligible, the main engine was stopped, then briefly run at half astern, and then was stopped again.

The vessel continued to swing to starboard and to move toward the middle of the St. Lawrence River. Speeds of dead slow ahead and slow ahead were ordered at 205 and 2206, respectively, when the vessel centre line was almost perpendicular to the channel. Main engine speed was increased to half ahead, and at 2208, the "OMNI ST. LAURENT" cast off the after tow-line of the vessel. Full speed ahead and 20 degrees starboard helm were ordered; starboard movement continued. When the vessel came around to a heading of 055°G at 2209, the "OMNI RICHELIEU" cast off the vessel's forward tow-line.

The helmsman was ordered to steer 065°G. The pilot called the Marine Communications and Traffic Services (MCTS) by radiotelephone to report the vessel's estimated time of arrival at the next calling-in point. Meanwhile, at about 2210, the "PONTOPOROS" grounded in position 46°03.36′N, 073°06.30′W, on a shoal at the edge of the channel. The vessel was on a heading of 063°G, about two cable lengths north of buoy SN28.Footnote 3

With the assistance of the tugs "MAGDELAN SEA" and "DUGA", the "PONTOPOROS" was refloated on 13 September at 0533. No water ingress was found and Transport Canada allowed the vessel to leave Sorel on condition that she anchor in Sept-Îles Bay for a hull inspection. On 15 September, an underwater inspection revealed only minor damage and the vessel departed for Naples.

The MCTS log indicates that at 1545 on 05 September 1996, the water level at Sorel was 0.77 m above chart datum. Low under-keel clearance can affect the performance of the propeller and rudder.

The current vector opposite the mouth of the Richelieu River, as indicated on Canadian Hydrographic Service (CHS) marine chart No. 1312, flows parallel to the île de Grâce course.

Conduct of the vessel was by visual observation. The manoeuvre executed, which consists of swinging to head downstream in the St. Lawrence River, is that adopted by the pilots. A 10 m isobath extends from the mouth of the Richelieu River to the entrance of the ship channel downstream of the port. The channel entrance is not marked.

On 24 August 1995, the bulk carrier "VAKHTANGOV", with a draught of 10.21 m, grounded in position 46°03.76′N, 073°06.76′W, while attempting a similar manoeuvre to depart from the same dock. The "PONTOPOROS" and the "VAKHTANGOV" grounded at the edge of the shoal, south-east of the 10 m isobath.

Analysis

The low under-keel clearance affected the manoeuvrability of the vessel. The use of rudder and main engine did not produce the intended result. The propeller thrust was not sufficient to give the ship enough momentum. The low speed over the ground achieved to reach the île de Grâce course caused the vessel to drift parallel to that course, and she grounded to the south of the ship channel.

During the manoeuvres, the pilot used reference points from landmarks which he was accustomed to using to maintain direction, and he also referred to the rate of turn to monitor the drift of the vessel. However, at night it is more difficult for observers to perceive visual information than in daylight. Thus, when navigating at night, mariners have more difficulty when attempting to identify landmarks. During a swing manoeuvre, the vessel's heading changes continuously; this manoeuvre therefore requires high levels of concentration and skill. Pilots, therefore, must be alert when manoeuvring in such conditions. Their attention must be divided between the progress of the vessel and the observation of visual references, which they must follow continuously. Observation becomes more difficult and further increases the workload, as it is possible to confuse navigation lights, range lights and other illuminated visual references with city lights, which often lie in the background.

Navigation by parallel indexing with the aid of radar in stabilized relative presentation mode helps reduce the additional visual workload created by darkness, thereby preventing spatial disorientation.

Visual observation of references is one of the primary tasks involved in berthing and unberthing manoeuvres. An aid to navigation at the channel entrance would have allowed a more accurate visual assessment of the drift of the vessel toward the shoal, but Coast Guard advises that care must be taken not to proliferate navigational aids in the area because too many aids could cause interference with normal pilotage.

Findings

  1. Low under-keel clearance affected the manoeuvrability of the vessel.
  2. The vessel did not have sufficient momentum to reach the île de Grâce course.
  3. The use of rudder and main engine did not produce the intended result.
  4. Darkness affected the pilot's visual performance.
  5. The radar was not used effectively.
  6. The Sorel channel entrance is not buoyed.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The grounding of the "PONTOPOROS" on a shoal south of the channel was due to limited visual observation of landmarks. Navigation was by visual observation only, although it was dark. The low under-keel clearance, which could affect the manoeuvrability of the vessel, was not duly taken into account.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 22 July 1998.

Appendix A - Sketch of the Occurrence Area

Footnotes

Footnote 1

All times are EDT (Universal Coordinated Time (UTC) minus four hours) unless otherwise stated.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

The record of engine speeds in the engine-room log is 2 minutes fast in relation to those recorded on the bridge.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

According to the pilot, the vessel heading was 065°G.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Rapport d'enquête maritime M96L0111

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Échouement
du vraquier «PONTOPOROS»
dans le port de Sorel (Québec)
5 septembre 1996

Résumé

Le 5 septembre 1996, le vraquier cypriote «PONTOPOROS», chargé de 27 332 tonnes métriques de blé, a appareillé du port de Sorel (Québec) à destination de Naples en Italie. Après s'être éloigné d'un poste d'amarrage à l'embouchure de la rivière Richelieu, le «PONTOPOROS» a effectué une manoeuvre d'évitage en vue de descendre le fleuve Saint-Laurent, mais il s'est échoué sur un haut-fond en bordure du chenal. Au moment de l'accident, le navire était sous la conduite d'un pilote et assisté par deux remorqueurs.

Le navire a subi des avaries mineures, mais l'accident n'a fait aucune pollution.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Fiche technique du navire

Nom « GEORGES ALEXANDRE LEBEL »
Port d'immatriculation Limassol, Chypre
Pavillon Chypre
Numéro officiel 708530
Type Vraquier
Jauge brute 16 912 tonneaux
Longueur 179,89 m
Tirant d'eau Avant : 10,59 m
Arrière : 10,84 m
Construction 1984, Hakodate, Japon
Groupe propulseur Un moteur Sulzer de 7 061 kW
Cargaison 27 332,19 tonnes métriques de blé
Équipage 28 personnes
Propriétaires Seastone Maritime
Le Pirée, Grèce

Dans la soirée du 5 septembre 1996, le "PONTOPOROS" termine un chargement de blé au poste d'amarrage no 15 dans le port de Sorel. Deux remorqueurs prennent place le long du navire; le «OMNI RICHELIEU» à l'avant et le «OMNI ST. LAURENT» à l'arrière.

Vers 21 h 45Footnote 1, le vraquier s'éloigne du quai aidé par le «OMNI ST. LAURENT» qui le tire vers l'extérieur du port de Sorel. à 21 h 49, on ordonne de mettre la machine principale en marche arrière demie, puis à 21 h 50, on augmente l'allure à en arrière toute, alors que le navire s'engage dans l'embouchure de la rivière RichelieuFootnote 2. Le navire vient sur bâbord dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent, et à 21 h 52, on stoppe la machine principale au large du poste d'amarrage no 14.

De 21 h 55 à 21 h 58, l'allure de la machine principale est augmentée graduellement d'en avant très lente à en avant toute. On ordonne au «OMNI ST. LAURENT», à l'arrière, de tirer vers bâbord tandis que le «OMNI RICHELIEU», à l'avant, tire vers tribord. à 22 h 1, on se rend compte que la vitesse-fond est négligeable. On stoppe alors la machine principale et on donne un coup en arrière demie, puis on stoppe de nouveau la machine principale.

Le navire continue à éviter sur tribord et à se déplacer vers le centre du fleuve. à 22 h 5 et 22 h 6, on ordonne respectivement en avant très lente et en avant lente, alors que l'axe du navire est presque perpendiculaire au chenal. Le régime de la machine principale est augmenté à en avant demie, et à 22 h 8, le «OMNI ST. LAURENT» largue l'amarre arrière du navire. On ordonne en avant toute et la barre à droite de 20 degrés; l'évolution sur tribord se poursuit. Quand le navire atteint un cap au 055 °G à 22 h 9, le «OMNI RICHELIEU» largue l'amarre avant du navire.

Le timonier reçoit l'ordre de gouverner au 065 °G. Le pilote rapporte aux Services de communications et du trafic maritime (SCTM), par radiotéléphone, l'heure prévue d'arrivée au prochain point d'appel. Entre-temps, vers 22 h 10, le «PONTOPOROS» s'échoue par 46°03,36′N et 073°06,30′W, sur un haut-fond en bordure du chenal. Le navire, sur un capFootnote 3 au 063 °G, est à environ deux encablures au nord de la bouée SN28.

Avec l'assistance des remorqueurs «MAGDELAN SEA» et «DUGA», le «PONTOPOROS» est renfloué le 13 septembre à 5 h 33. On ne découvre aucune voie d'eau, et Transports Canada autorise le navire à quitter Sorel à condition qu'il mouille dans la baie de Sept-Îles pour une inspection de la coque. Le 15 septembre, l'inspection sous-marine ne révèle que des avaries mineures et le navire appareille à destination de Naples.

Selon le journal des SCTM, le 5 septembre 1996 à 15 h 45, le niveau d'eau à Sorel atteignait 0,77 m au-dessus du zéro des cartes. Une faible profondeur d'eau sous quille peut réduire la performance de l'hélice et du gouvernail.

Pour ce qui est du vecteur courant au large de l'embouchure de la rivière Richelieu, la carte marine no 1312 du Service hydrographique du Canada (SHC) indique un débit d'eau parallèle à la route de l'île de Grâce.

La conduite du navire a été faite par observation visuelle. La manoeuvre exécutée, qui comprend l'évitage en direction de l'aval du fleuve, est celle adoptée par les pilotes. Une courbe isobathe de 10 m s'étend entre l'embouchure de la rivière Richelieu et l'entrée du chenal de la voie navigable, en aval du port. L'entrée du chenal n'est pas balisée.

Le 24 août 1995, le vraquier «VAKHTANGOV», avec un tirant d'eau de 10,21 m, s'est échoué par 46°03,76′N et 073°06,76′W, en effectuant une manoeuvre similaire pour appareiller du même quai. Le «PONTOPOROS» et le «VAKHTANGOV» se sont échoués en bordure du haut-fond, au sud-est de la courbe de 10 m.

Analyse

La faible profondeur d'eau sous quille a réduit la manoeuvrabilité du navire. Les manoeuvres de barre et de la machine principale n'ont pas eu l'effet escompté. La poussée de l'hélice n'était pas assez forte pour donner suffisamment d'erre au navire. à cause de la faible vitesse-fond pour rejoindre la route de l'île de Grâce, le navire a dérivé parallèlement à cette route avant de s'échouer au sud du chenal de la voie navigable.

Durant les manoeuvres, le pilote a utilisé des repères à partir d'amers terrestres auxquels il avait l'habitude de se référer pour s'orienter, en s'aidant de la vitesse angulaire pour déterminer la dérive du navire. Or, la nuit, l'observateur capte moins bien l'information visuelle que le jour. Ainsi, lorsque la navigation se fait de nuit, le navigateur a plus de difficulté à repérer des amers. Lorsqu'on effectue un évitage, le cap du navire change constamment; ces manoeuvres nécessitent donc une concentration et une dextérité de tous les instants. Le pilote doit, par conséquent, être vigilant lorsqu'il manoeuvre dans de telles conditions. Son attention est partagée entre le mouvement du navire et l'observation des repères visuels qu'il doit suivre constamment. Les observations deviennent plus difficiles et alourdissent la charge de travail, étant donné la possibilité de confondre les feux de navigation, les alignements ou tout autre repère visuel lumineux avec les lumières de la ville, qui se trouvent souvent en arrière-plan.

Naviguer en utilisant des repères parallèles à l'aide d'un radar en présentation relative stabilisée contribue à réduire la charge supplémentaire de travail visuel occasionnée par l'obsécuritéé, pour ainsi éviter une désorientation spatiale.

L'observation de repères visuels est une des principales fonctions dans l'exécution de manoeuvres d'appareillage ou d'accostage. Une aide à la navigation à l'entrée du chenal aurait permis de mieux évaluer visuellement la dérive du navire vers le haut-fond, mais la Garde côtière canadienne croit qu'un trop grand nombre d'aides à la navigation dans le secteur pourrait aussi rendre le pilotage plus difficile.

Faits établis

  1. La faible profondeur d'eau sous quille a réduit la manoeuvrabilité du navire.
  2. L'erre du navire n'était pas suffisante pour lui permettre de rejoindre la route de l'île de Grâce.
  3. Les manoeuvres de barre et de la machine principale n'ont pas eu l'effet escompté.
  4. L'obsécuritéé a réduit la performance visuelle du pilote.
  5. On ne s'est pas servi du radar à bon escient.
  6. L'entrée du chenal de Sorel n'est pas balisée.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

L'échouement du «PONTOPOROS» sur un haut-fond au sud du chenal est attribuable aux observations visuelles restreintes des repères terrestres. On s'est limité à une navigation par repères visuels alors qu'il faisait nuit. On n'a pas tenu suffisamment compte de la faible profondeur d'eau sous quille qui pouvait réduire la manoeuvrabilité du navire.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 22 juillet 1998 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.

Annexe A - Croquis du secteur de l'accident

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Les heures sont exprimées en HAE (temps universel coordonné (UTC) moins quatre heures), sauf indication contraire.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

La chronologie des allures en manoeuvre consignée dans le journal de la salle des machines accuse 2 minutes d'avance par rapport à celle consignée sur la passerelle.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Selon le pilote, le navire était sur un cap au 065 °G.

Return to footnote 3 referrer